Sinclair to stay on at WP

Canadian international Jebb Sinclair will play for Western Province in the Currie Cup.

Sinclair was utilised in the Stormers’ recent Super Rugby campaign, although his late arrival meant he was ineligible for the semi-final against the Sharks. Nevertheless, he has remained in Cape Town and coach Allister Coetzee told Die Burger that he will feature for WP in the Currie Cup.

WP will open their domestic campaign with a match against the Sharks next week. Injured loose forwards Schalk Burger, Nick Koster and Duane Vermeulen are still not available, while Nizaam Carr has been ruled out for the season, and so Sinclair is likely to face the Sharks.

40 Comments

• 1.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

He was actually a better Dragon than I expected!

Canadian Dragon – whats that all aboot?

• 2.pompies2: Reply to this comment

AC at his best. No better way to kill the ambition of club rugby players (mostly referring to SLA players) After all the hard work Dobson has done in building some depth with the vodacom team winning the vc, you’d have thought there would be some continuity.

I maintain AC is the biggest weakness in WP rugby, closely followed by Tobi Titus and Robbie Fleck.

• 3.pompies2: Reply to this comment

Another thing, the fact that he’s not needed by his club in europe can only mean that he’s not that good anyway. i think his performances have shown him to be a vanilla player.

• 4.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

And people ask why so many youngsters move away from WP?

don’t die wondering.

you are importing canadians to play cc ?

• 5.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Stocktake of current situation:

Burger- probably out for season
    Koster- ditto
    Carr- definitely out for season
    Lobberts- out for season (broken arm)
    Vermeulen- who knows, every week there ie a different story.
    Fenton – left for England
    Elstadt- will have to move to lock as Etzebeth/Bekker will be at boks, Roux is in Ireland.
    Kitshoff- off to France
    Tyrone Holmes- doubtful whether he is good enough
    Don Armand- has potential.

In the light of above i dont think AC should be blamed for keeping the Canadian here for the CC season.

The flankers who left (Fenton and Kitschoff) are certainly no superstars and i don’t blame AC for not being prepared to pay big bucks to keep them in CT. Quinn Roux is another story, he should not have been “allowed” to move to Ireland as he certainly offers a lot more than journeyman Steenkamp.

• 6.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-2:

Seems you only come out once there’s a chance of knocking AC neh?

Jebb is/was an average Super Rugby player, did just enough to hold his own.

AC tried the Fenton Wells (sp?) boy and he didn’t look the part at all.

Carr, Duane, Burger & Koster are still out.

@Brigadier Van Zyl-4:

He’s there on a short stint, as soon as Koster and co come back he’ll be gone.

• 7.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-5:

Quin Roux is a big loss, really hope he returns to Newlands after his overseas stint.

• 8.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-4: The Bulls have already bought every other loose forward in SA who is able to tie his own laces and catch a ball….

I have asked 3 times already but no-one seems to know….Is Jacque Nienaber going to the Bulls as their defence coach?

• 9.ali: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-2: @Brigadier Van Zyl-4:

All WP’s no.8′s are currently injured.

Those that are likely to come back soon (Schalk and Vermeulen) are likely to be part of bok squad.

WP’s current development no.8 is Carr, and he’s out for the season. Their backup no8 is Koster, and he’s out for majority of season. Don Armand can play there, so in total this has the number of 8′s in the squad at 2, bolstered as the season progresses.

Any no.8 further down the development line is likely to be best served in the u20 competition. The rest are journeyman or stopgap measures.

So the decision to keep Sinclair on for the immediate future seems reasonable. WP do, after all, want to win the trophy. There’s no point in developing a player who will not be part of their plans for the next couple seasons.

• 10.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-7: He really should have got more game time this year regardless. Good hands and vision for a lock as well, besides his obvious physical presence.

• 11.wpstormerbok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-10:

And with Eben on Bok duty he would’ve been the perfect player to hold the fort.

• 12.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-7: He is just going for one season he will be back May next year.

I think this is the wrong decision.

Is Duane Vermeulen not fit?

Was 70% before the semi, Currie Cup starts in a weeks time, he might be ready by then.

Also why not give Don Armand or Tyrone Holmes some game time. I mean they both played in the S15 and they both played for the victorious VC team.

Also where is that coloured flanker with the mohawk…..i forget his name.

6. Holmes
    7. Armand
    8. Kolisi

Not a bad loose trio

coupled with

1. Kitshoff
    2. Deon Fourie
    3. Malherbe
    4. Elstadt
    5. De Kock

Bench
    16. Tiaan
    17. Brok
    18. any youngster (not sure who is next in the pecking order)
    19. ditto or Duane if he is not injured.

• 13.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-10: Yes he has great skills for a lock. Do you think if he started ahead of Eben in the beginning of the season he would of made the Bok squad?

• 14.David: Reply to this comment

@ali-9:
    Didn’t AC recently state that HM would like Schalk and Duane to initially feature in the CC before he’ll consider them for the Boks?

• 15.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@wpstormerbok-7:

The last time i have heard Wagner was still “working on it” to ensure he comes back so I guess it is not more than a 50% chance.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-8:

I have not heard anything about it but I know that he was not overeager to renew his contract at WP earlier this season as he probably wanted to keep his options open- won’t be surprised if they bought him too. They seem to have more money to spend than Manchester City.

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-15: all that Oasis BEE money goes a long way mate… :D

• 17.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Will he still be getting R 300 k a month?

• 18.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-13: He and Eben were a formidable 4 and 5 combination at age group level. I thought that was the future for WP at the time. I am not an Andries Bekker praise singer, as I feel he has underachieved full stop. Be it the fault of injury or personal issues, the fact is he is becoming more of a long term liability for WP than an asset. De Kock Steenkamp is a journeyman, nothing more, and Eben at 5, with Quinn at 4 (knowing Elstadt could also fit in at 4 if required) would have been my “future”. Quinn has been wasted…and I know John Dobson (who rated Quinn and Eben as a pair very highly if I remember correctly) must be fuming. (Because I doubt Quinn will return).

@Robzim-15: The Messiah Meyer is pulling all the strings in SA rugby at the moment. The Sharkies delight at all their Boks is only temporary….. Meyer will ensure all future Boks end up in Pta (with the best coaching on defence and attack) and then he can be true to his heart and select all the Bulls on merit, as no-one will be able to argue that.
    For those who do not want to see this…..dark days are coming :)

• 19.ali: Reply to this comment

@David-14: Yes he did.

Which is an indication that the pair will not be present for the full duration of the CC. Someone capable has to fill in when they’re gone.

• 20.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-16: SARU payoff money….for taking the Bulls coaches. Hougaard didn’t become the highest paid player in SA on sponsorship dosh. If the Bulls hadn’t dipped into their SARU payoff slush fund, Hougaard would have moved back to CT I reckon.

Deny it Gunther? :)

• 21.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ali-9: Why not identify a promising youngster in the U19 or U21 age group and give him so game time, instead of Jebb who is only going to be here a few weeks before returning for the Start of the European season.

• 22.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@ali-9: AC is ****, so i’ll voice my opinion every chance I can. You on the other hand can console yourself with the fact that your crappy coach has delivered exactly zilch. A simple alteration to the Sharks midfield flummoxed him. Until you realize that AC has serious limitations, WP will suffer.

• 23.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Hoagie isn’t the highest paid player in SA.

That award goes to a stormer and a shark.

• 24.pompies2: Reply to this comment

And I keep asking. How good is Sinclair if his club aren’t fighting to get his services back?

• 25.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Where is Jaja?

• 26.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-25: Hartzenberg?

@the artist formerly known as gunther-23: List your sources. Admit at the very least that without the SARU payoff money Hougie was a gonner up north :)

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-24: Sinclair says it’s hard to compare
    the English league to Super
    Rugby, for the weather and
    schedule if nothing else.
    The English league is a grind,
    with more games to start with
    and the total growing from
    various cup competitions. Plus
    there is inclement weather.
    Super Rugby is shorter but more
    intense.
    “Both leagues view themselves
    as the premier leagues in the
    world. But you know it’s too tough
    to call really,” Sinclair said. “But
    from my view of it, the first four
    games with the Stormers were
    faster than anything I’ve played.”
    A plus of playing for the Stormers
    is being based in Cape Town.
    “It’s unbelievable. Nicest city I’ve
    ever been to,” said Sinclair, who
    returns to South Africa for five
    more weeks after his current
    international duty with Canada.

• 28.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-25: @The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-26: Ja where is he? He is good!

Bulls at it again!

The Blue Bulls Rugby Union have pulled off another coup by signing top SA under-20 lock Paul Willemse from the Golden Lions.

• 29.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27: A plus of playing for the Stormers
    is being based in Cape Town.
    “It’s unbelievable. Nicest city I’ve
    ever been to,” said Sinclair

Surely he is talking kak…. He got to see Pretoria, Durban and Bloemfontein in the S15.

• 30.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-24: Stormers big boys are like most women at a flea market……koop enigge kak wat hulle sien.

• 31.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27: Fact remains, his rugby intelligence should shine through, regardless of the situation.

Me thinks he’s enjoying the cape and his cosy little clifton digs

For such a frugal union, WP surely do seem to know how to spend stupidly.

• 32.ufo: Reply to this comment

another season… another comp… and the haters still be a-hatin’ AC…

the guy is damned if he does… damned if he doesn’t…

nothing wrong with keeping jeb around to fill the gap… as/when/if schalk, duane or another as yet uninjured, unidentified youngster can play, i have no doubt jeb will drop to the bench or out of the squad to accommodate whoever it may be…

CC starts in 10 days time… easy for keo keyboard warriors to be brave and wise about who AC should play, when AC knows there’s practically no one else READY RIGHT NOW…

but i can just imagine what the same haters would say if AC let jeb go and played an 18-year-old number 8 and the kid gets shown up…

you same people would all say ‘why is AC so dof to let the canadian go…? shoulda kept him…!’

• 33.ufo: Reply to this comment

unless of course AC makes an offer to josh…!!

• 34.ali: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-21: Our promising youngster in Carr is already injured.

Anyone further down the line will be best served in the age group competition. Especially since they will arguably not be in contention for senior rugby any time soon (seeing as they’ll be behind a considerable queue, when this freak injury run ends.)

Besides, there’s enough youngsters in this team as is, and WP desperately need to start winning silverware.

• 35.pompies2: Reply to this comment

@ufo-33: Would that no make sense?

• 36.ufo: Reply to this comment

@pompies2-35:

it would make sense… to me anyway… but i don’t know what josh’s situation is contract-wise…

reckon he’d fit in well down here being a cape boy n’all

and he’s a really good player… could also captain the side…

• 37.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-26:

I can’t.

But I have seen the figures.

Bulls had to up his contract when it came up for removal.

But remember no Victor, Bakkies, Guthro, FDP on the books.

Lots of cash around.

With Olivier pissing of we will have more.

To buy Elstadt and Kitschoff.

The future’s so blue I gotta wear shades.

• 38.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@ali-34: Dude there are promising youngsters every season and if there is an injury crisis we need to fast track the guys. Give them a taste of professional rugby, it will just drive their ambition more to get into the senior squad! You cant say our only promising youngster is just Nizaam Carr. If you are good enough, you are old enough.

Where is Robyn Johannes? I think that is his name.

• 39.ali: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-38: I agree that there are plenty of promising youngsters in WP setup. And if they’re on form they will be presented with opportunities.

But winning a senior trophy is the first target, and having Sinclair there puts WP in a better position to achieve that. Even if he is eventually unseated by a new no.8.

• 40.Beast: Reply to this comment

Well done WP!! Buy more Auslandders and keep on wondering why you loose young tallent. There is no medicine for stupidity!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.