Bulls reel in second Lions player
3 Aug 2012
The Bulls have signed Baby Bok and Lions lock Paul Willemse.
According to media reports, the Bulls have recruited one of the top junior locks in the country in Willemse. The 19-year-old Monument old boy, who stands at 2m and weighs 127kg, played a key part in the SA U20s’ maiden Junior World Championship triumph in June as a primary ball carrier and solid defender.
Willemse also made his Super Rugby debut for the Lions and has featured in three U21 provincial matches so far this season.
Willemse is the second Lions player to make the move to Pretoria in a space of a month. Flank Grant Hattingh – who joined the Lions from Maties during the Super Rugby campaign – made his exit recently and will start for the Bulls in a Currie Cup warm-up match against the Lions on Friday.

83 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
3 Aug 2012, 07:22 am
You’re about to experience the pecking order my boy. And lack of top flight game time.
3 Aug 2012, 08:04 am
Bulls are going overboard now. Is Hattingh starting on the Flank for the warm up game?
3 Aug 2012, 08:29 am
You can’t blame Paul for bailing. Good luck kid.
3 Aug 2012, 08:32 am
@Lions_Soutie-1: At least he will be part of a team not scraping the barrel. This guy is ideal for typical Bulls rugby. All the best young man and welcome to Pretoria!!
3 Aug 2012, 08:39 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-4: How many minutes of game time did Louis Fouche get this year? Then when he gets a chance on the field (5 minutes) and look rusty Bulls fans **** their pants and chant for (overplayed) Morne. Nice way to *** up talent imo.
3 Aug 2012, 08:41 am
@HHS-5: How long did Morne shadow Hougaard? Fouche will have his time to shine and he will.
3 Aug 2012, 08:43 am
@HHS-5: what ever happened to Lionel Cronje? The next best thing as the Cape Media dubbed him.
3 Aug 2012, 08:46 am
@HHS-5: Where else will he go and play anyways and get this quality of exposure to top level rugby. For him the waiting game is the best game. Given that the Bulls bought Pollard but he is not guaranteed playing time either. Only the strongest survive.
Morne will probably be done in year or two and we will have those two as back up. Wow what a position to be in!!
3 Aug 2012, 08:48 am
@RL-7: Our friend down in the south have always had the ability to hype up anyone with the slightest bit of talent to superstar status. The list is long and not distinguished.
3 Aug 2012, 08:49 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-9: …friends
3 Aug 2012, 08:50 am
This has been old news on the Bulls blog for about a month. Nice to see it officially confirmed by the Lions.
I’ve always said that the current crop of Bulls locks are just placeholders to cover the gap between the Matfield/Bakkies/Rossouw era and the next generation of superstars.
Let’s face it. Flip is no Bakkies, and Wilhelm Steenkamp is a hard worker, but ain’t no Matfield.
Willemse is exactly the type of lock we need to go into our new era. If he continues to grow into his potential.
I expect he will play Currie Cup rugby this year already, and be in the Super Rugby squad next year.
3 Aug 2012, 08:51 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-6: Just like Brummer and Jaques Louis Potgieter? If Hougraard didn’t go overseas you think Morne would have gotten a his fair shot? Morne played poor in most games and still he retained his starting position. Why not give Fouche a run? The story goes you give this rusty guy a run who has been sitting on the bench for weeks, now you want him to perform and it will not happen and then straight to the bench for the next gam. You need game time to find your groove and some of these guys are not getting it. Now with the signing of Pollard what message is being send to XXXL gumguard (Fouche)? Also you have Cronje there in the mix. I’m sorry the Bulls are raping the system, but if it’s flawed why not exploit it? IMO spread the talent evenly across the board or some of these guys will just fade away or take a trip over the ocean.
3 Aug 2012, 08:53 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-10:
Hahaha kuk man, jy het net een vriend daar!
3 Aug 2012, 08:54 am
@Tacitus-11: Willemse and Kruger as a pairing with Flip off the bench…… but the young man will have to prove himself first. Looking forward to it.
3 Aug 2012, 08:54 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-8: Look I don’t blame him for leaving the Lions. **** I would too but all these recent signings of the Bulls grabbing all the top talent in the country is just plain silly, but like I said if you can exploit it and have the $$ to do so… then go for it. He (Paul) is a great talent and I hope he will get the right exposure.
3 Aug 2012, 08:55 am
@Slartibartfast-13: Hey jou blerrie rubbish wat se jy?
3 Aug 2012, 08:55 am
@RL-7: Like Kwagga said…. the hype was created in the Cape.
3 Aug 2012, 08:56 am
@Tacitus-11: was in the CC u19 final where he literally ran over blue cows leaving bodies everywhere. That was impressive stuff by the then 135Kg giant.
3 Aug 2012, 08:57 am
disgusting
the bulls basically signed the whole SA schools team after craven week
i thought there was no scouting allowed at craven week?
now this..
why is SARU allowing this to happen…we need to spread the talent
3 Aug 2012, 08:58 am
@HHS-15: We need to bolster our second row in order to sort out our tight five issues. We got moerred up front in a number of games this year. Havent seen enough of him to see if he is a big scrummer but time will tell.
3 Aug 2012, 08:59 am
@jacoshark-19: We sign the SA school team and the Sharks can carry on raping the Cheetah system….fair trade I would say.
3 Aug 2012, 09:00 am
@RL-18: Solid scrummer?
3 Aug 2012, 09:02 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-16:
Lekker man, daai kant?
3 Aug 2012, 09:03 am
@HHS-12: Brummer and Potgieter was not really up there with the best and I do not think they were headed there either but I do agree that Fouche needs more gametime.
3 Aug 2012, 09:04 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-21:
fair enough trade
im just worried none of these kids will ever make a bulls team
too many darlings, not enough tough love up north
would be a real waste of talent
ie jan serfontein is already better than meisiekind ever was
3 Aug 2012, 09:04 am
@Slartibartfast-23: Nee wat gooi nog groot klippe. Geld word minder en bier raak duurder…….sommer kak.
3 Aug 2012, 09:09 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-22: he and his Lions lock partner were solid enough in the JRWC a few months ago. Destroyed the baby blacks in the scrums.
3 Aug 2012, 09:09 am
@jacoshark-25: I am really excited to see this kid in action. He is the complete package. The Bulls have now got some serious talent at their disposal but they need to manage and develop it into something great. I have faith in the structures so watch this space.
3 Aug 2012, 09:11 am
Its one thing buying all this talent. it is another getting the best out of them. The Bulls gameplan this year was worse than the Stormers, and that is saying something.
3 Aug 2012, 09:11 am
@jacoshark-25: On Meisiekind….he did his bit for Bulls success and it is time for the young blood to take over. Never his biggest fan but not as kak as most made him out to be.
3 Aug 2012, 09:12 am
@stormer in a teacup-29: The Stormers had a gameplan………..?
3 Aug 2012, 09:14 am
Gents have a great day and a super weekend and enjoy the ruggas. Off to a couple of meetings and then a beer or two or ten.
Adios.
3 Aug 2012, 09:16 am
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-31: Puts things in perspective, doesn’t it?
3 Aug 2012, 09:18 am
@stormer in a teacup-29: Stormers do not have a gameplan – it is do what Nienaber says, boring.
3 Aug 2012, 09:22 am
@RL-34: My point exactly, and it is still a better plan than the Bulls have come up with.
3 Aug 2012, 09:26 am
Cilliers in Boks’ surprise package
Craig Ray | 03 August, 2012
Kanko fights for Bok spot THE biggest surprise when Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer unveils his squad for the southern hemisphere’s Four Nations tournament tomorrow will be the inclusion of Lions prop Pat Cilliers.
The uncapped Cilliers has impressed Meyer this season, and his ability to cover both tighthead and loosehead is a valuable asset on the bench.
With Coenie Oosthuizen still injured and Werner Kruger struggling with form, there are no other real contenders for the job. Stormers youngster Frans Malherbe could also be in the frame, but Cilliers is set for an important role in the campaign.
The exact number of players who will be in the coach’s first squad for the new competition that includes New Zealand, Australia and newcomers Argentina is not known.
Meyer will name between 30 and 32 players and, injury permitting, the squad will not be different from the one that claimed a 2-0 series win over England in June.
Cheetahs flank Heinrich Brüssow will not be in the group as a shoulder injury is likely to sideline him for six weeks. Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen were also not considered because of injuries.
PROBABLE SQUAD
Forwards: Willem Alberts, Andries Bekker, Pat Cilliers, Marcell Coetzee, Keegan Daniel, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Dean Greyling, Ryan Kankowski, Juandre Kruger, Tendai Mtawarira, Jacques Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Pierre Spies, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe.
Backs: Jean de Villiers (captain), Bjorn Basson, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Elton Jantjies, Zane Kirchner, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen, Frans Steyn, Morne Steyn, Jano Vermaak.
3 Aug 2012, 09:31 am
@RL-34:
how does it feel to have your union being fisted by the bulls?
like the goths and vandals sacking rome.
3 Aug 2012, 09:32 am
I cant see that being the squad, really.
3 Aug 2012, 09:32 am
@Transformation-36: yihlo umphathi wam olibala elikhanyanyo izolo, undixele ukuba ndiNouveau riche. sisezaku qhelwa zezimpetu.
3 Aug 2012, 09:38 am
@SHARKattack-39: hehehe yena uzicingela ukuba ukoluphi udidi?
3 Aug 2012, 09:41 am
@RL-34: Nienaber is going to the Bulls as well. I think the so called rumour, is in fact 100% truth.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-37: Please be advised that Mervin Simmons (aka the MMA fighter ‘Dusky’) stole my nic for a while yesterday (later afternoon/evening). I do hope you are aware of who is who in the zoo. When I did return to reclaim my nic, I found him enjoying a conversation with himself. It became rather entertaining after that.
3 Aug 2012, 09:42 am
@stormer in a teacup-38: I can, all the Bulls poster children are there.
3 Aug 2012, 09:49 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-41:
It wan’t him.
It was extratesticular.
Boyswill need to assert themselves today.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-42:
I’m always suspicious of “leaked squads”.
they are mostly wrong.
3 Aug 2012, 09:52 am
Word of the Day: Le Clos (Verb). Meaning: to take something deemed to belong to another right at the last second with bursting flair.
eg. of use: The SA Lightweight 4s Rowing team Le Clossed their way to a gold medal yesterday
3 Aug 2012, 09:53 am
Sharks should get in on the action and resign Cilliers, sign up Jantjies and get Pienaar back from overseas to add depth where they are currently thin.
They will then have one hell of a squad for next year’s S15.
Consider:
1. Mtawarira
2. Du Plessis
3. Du Plessis
4. Alberts
5. Bresler
6. Daniel
7. Coetzee
8. Kankowski
9. Pienaar
10. Lambie
11. Mvovo
12. Steyn
13. Whitehead
14. Pieterson
15. Ludik
16. Burden
17. Cilliers
18. Sykes
19. Botes
20. McLeod
21.Jantjies
22. Jordaan
23. Herbst
24. Marais
25. Steph Du Toit
26. Deysel
27. Sithole
28. Mjekevu
29. Ndungane
30. Viljoen
3 Aug 2012, 09:53 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-42: I think your fears of HM being a recruiter for the Bulls are misplaced. He is swimming in a much bigger pond now.
3 Aug 2012, 09:54 am
@Transformation-44: See here for a typical reaction te being Le Clossed:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TidAcA0IGFE
3 Aug 2012, 09:54 am
@Transformation-44: leaving the other guy Le Clos, but no cigar.
3 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-43: What is the weather going to do? Chance of a full days play? I haven’t visited windguru.com yet
That Kim Jong-Un fellow also hacked my nic? Dusky was bust doing it a few days ago, and now this revolutionary ebola virus twat has done the same…Now I’m certain they don’t like me **sadfacewithtearsrolllllllllllllingdownquiveringcheeks**
I hope the Pat Cilliers part is correct though re: the squad.
3 Aug 2012, 09:55 am
@Transformation-44:
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All