Super Rugby preview – Final

JON CARDINELLI and RYAN VREDE analyse the key match-ups and pick the winner of the title.

So the boys got a zero from two return last week, backing the Crusaders’ pedigree in the first semi and the Stormers’ defensive excellence in the second.

This week someone’s going to be right, with Vrede giving it to the hosts comfortably and JC, for the third successive year, backing the underdog. Vrede hopes that it’s third time lucky for Cardinelli. A Sharks win would be glorious, wouldn’t it?

CHIEFS vs SHARKS, HAMILTON, SATURDAY 09:35

KEO.CO.ZA SUCCESS RATE
VREDE: 88/124 (71%)
JC: 91/124 (73%)

WHY THE CHIEFS ARE FAVOURITES:
JC: The Chiefs must be feeling the pressure. They will enjoy home advantage this Saturday while the Sharks will be at a significant disadvantage given their taxing travel schedule. The expectation to win will be enormous. If Dave Rennie’s side were to lose this match, it would go down as one of the biggest chokes in sporting history. Even if the Sharks had come into this match well-rested, the Chiefs would hold the edge given the balance between their attack and defence. They may not boast many All Blacks in their pack, but the forwards have been excellent in terms of laying the platform and exhibiting the handling skills needed to play a high-tempo game. And in the halfbacks, they have the decision-making nous to hurt the best defences. The Sharks haven’t been consistent in this regard, and it won’t help that they will be forced to make further changes to their midfield now that Tim Whitehead is unavailable. Sonny Bill Williams will benefit from a strong forward platform, and take his side beyond the gainline to set up further attacking chances. On defence, the Chiefs boast a great record and watch for their terrific line speed, it should cut down the Sharks’ momentum. All in all, they’re an 80-minute side, and even if the game is in the balance in the final quarter you’d back the Chiefs to win it, as this is when the Sharks will tire.
VREDE: I had reservations about their ability to match the Crusaders’ outstanding forwards in set and general play last week, but their heavies were outstanding, sustaining their effort through 80 minutes. Their victory will be built on a performance that calls on that strength once more, with Kane Thompson, Tanerau Latimer, Craig Clarke, Ben Tameifuna, and Sona Taumalolo particularly prominent in the tight exchanges, establishing the platform that has been at the heart of their attacking potency. The Sharks’ heavies reached down to somewhere special to produce the defensive performance they did against the Stormers, but 35 000km worth of travel in the last three weeks will reflect in their capacity to resist the Chiefs, particularly in the last quarter. From there the Chiefs’ 9-10-12 combination have offered them every attacking dimension possible. Fatigue will have a telling effect on the Sharks’ attacking play as well, with their key strike runners to be blunted by the abrasive, organised and accurate Chiefs.

WHY THE SHARKS ARE CAPABLE OF DEFYING EXPECTATIONS:
JC: I called the Stormers to win in the 2010 final and the Crusaders to win in the 2011 decider (two away wins in Super Rugby finals) – so to say I’m a dreamer who believes that the fairytale ending is possible is an understatement. The Sharks have certainly given me good cause to believe a win in Hamilton is well within their power. Their victory in Cape Town last week highlighted the belief within the side, and while belief alone won’t be enough to win a Super Rugby final, it will certainly give the men from Durban a fighting chance. They are going to fade in the latter stages, so they will need to catch the Chiefs early on and build a substantial lead in the first half. What’s in their favour is their superior scrum, lineout and breakdown exponents, and so it would be wiser to force the Chiefs to play a tighter game. They also have a master tactician in flyhalf Freddie Michalak, who will play them into the right areas of the field, and take kickable opportunities be they penalties or drop goals. Finals are typically tighter than league matches, and in this environment the Sharks should prosper. But they have to take their early chances if they are going to end on the right side of the final scoreline.
VREDE’S CALL: I live in hope that the words I’m about to type next reflect how the match will unfold. If, man it’s a big if, but if the Sharks’ forwards somehow summon the energy, strength, clarity of thought and raw desperation to boss the gainline, they will force the Chiefs to revert to a cavalier approach. Then it’s game on. The Chiefs’ vulnerabilities have been exposed a couple of times when pinned in their half, and a platform that would allow Frederic Michalak, Charl McLeod and Pat Lambie to drive their side into Chiefs territory, then force infringements through pressure defence, is essential. Michalak has kicked superbly and can steadily grow a lead through his boot if given opportunities. The Sharks have also consistently shown their ability to convert scoring opportunities into tries. Their aim should be a 12-point lead going into the last 20 minutes. Then it’s down to their desire and resolve.

JC’S CALL: Sharks by 3
VREDE’S CALL: Chiefs by 12

Chiefs – 15 Robbie Robinson, 14 Tim Nanai-Williams, 13 Andrew Horrell, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Asaeli Tikoirotuma, 10 Aaron Cruden, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kane Thompson, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Craig Clarke (c), 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Mahonri Schwalger, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Hika Elliot, 17 Ben Afeaki, 18 Michael Fitzgerald, 19 Sam Cane, 20 Brendon Leonard, 21 Jackson Willison, 22 Lelia Masaga

Sharks – 15 Pat Lambie, 14 Louis Ludik, 13 JP Pietersen, 12 Paul Jordaan, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Frederic Michalak, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Keegan Daniel (c), 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Willem Alberts, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Steven Sykes, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Jacques Botes, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Riaan Viljoen.

324 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

• 201.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-191:

Bumble is a knobend.

Who can forget hios we flippen murdered ‘em comment when he was England coach and they squeaked home against Zim.

He is to cricket commentary what Paris Hilton is to quantam physics.

John Arlott is turning in his grave.

• 202.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

he is to cricket commentary what Gunther is to quantum physics.

qunatam indeed.

• 203.ufo: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-191:

yeah… i love his enthusiasm…

makes a boring game of cricket sound exciting and a good game of cricket sound like a drunk crossing a 6-lane highway at rush hour…!!

• 204.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mako-200: I dont think so. I think it might be the other way around. I think a lot of people will express support for the Sharks but in their own selfish, feeble minds they will be hoping the Sharks lose on Saturday. That way another SA union doesn’t get the glory above theirs.

That is what I was saying about this on another thread – just be honest.

The amount of bitter gall spilled here after the weekend was spectacular to say the least. I guess that’s what happens when a bubble or rather a gall bladder bursts !

• 205.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mako-200: you think if the Stormers were playing in the final guys like Tacitus and Xkreni-WP would be cheering for them? no way jose.

tell you something for free, they’d be cheering for the opposition as a win for them would keep their little exclusive title of being the only saffa team to win a championship…

you think all this hullabaloo we’re making about “if the sharks win in hamilton, it will be the greatest super rugby title win EVER”, is endearing to Tacitus, who cares more about the bulls than even the springboks?

• 206.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-201: “quantam physics” is that a study of how the toyota quantum build to sit 16 passengers is able to carry 35 and still move at high speed in traffic?

• 207.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

This is a colossal task for the Sharks. No team has had such a horrendous route to the final. In the eyes of Sharks supporters they are already champions. Everyone pronounced this team DOA before the Cheetahs game. Yet they defied all the negative conclusion, they defied their bodies and they defied common sense. It’s truly amazing what a strong mind and sheer determination can do. I too, thought they would lose to the Cheetahs. I never dreamed of them getting to the final. Yet they held up a middle finger to their detractors. Not only have they won but they’ve won in style. To get this far after the toughest draw in the comp, a list of injuries longer than my arm, a nightmare travel schedule is a massive achievement they should be immensely proud of.

In my eyes the Sharks are champions for getting this far.

• 208.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-207: you’re not a champion UNTIL you win the final, if the nonsense you say above was the case, then the Crusaders team of last year would also be going around calling themselves “champions” based only on the fact that they didn’t play “home” games last year.

the sharks MUST WIN on saturday to be called champions, “nothing else matters”

• 209.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-207: I am with you buddy. If you had told me at the beginning of the season that the Sharks would make the top 6, I would have been very satisfied.

If you had told me they would make the semi-final, I would have been overjoyed. But if you told me they would be in the final this year I would have told you that you should check yourself in for electro shock therapy at the nearest psychiatric hospital….

All I wished for at the beginning of the season was that the Sharks would do well enough to avoid the ‘Kings’ debate.

I am actually totally relaxed for this weekends game. All of this is slightly surreal to me and a huge bonus. If the Sharks do win, this will be the kind of story that the ‘underdog movies’ are based on. Extremely unlikely, but the Sharks will be motivated to achieve the impossible.

Come on boys….

• 210.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-208: You are stating the obvious chop head. Of course this will be the stance of non-Sharks fans when it suits them. But I have also heard Stormers fans boasting about their performance this year, when in fact – according to you they have achieved F all.

Oh wait – they have the conference trophy….

• 211.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-210: the STORMERS aren’t super rugby champions, they are not, they topped the overall conference log. even in the NBA they don’t give rings and the trophy to the team that finished top in regular season, the team that won the PLAYOFFS are the champions!

get with it…sharks as of this moment aren’t champions in an shape or form…they must just beat one more team in 80 min of rugby and they’ll be immortal.

now i’m leaving for gym, so you can swear and namecall all you like just don’t steal my nic :D

• 212.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211: Yes we know that. We aren’t all as patently dumb as you.

• 213.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-208: Eish you’re like a pathetic school boy trying to be a bully. Haha. You don’t even have a team to support and you want to pass judgement on the Sharks? Really sad the lengths some people go to try and ‘piss on our parade’.

As a South African you should be lauding the Sharks achievements for defying all odds and negative criticism and overcoming some truly massive hurdles. Yet hear you are pointing out all of the negatives like a jealous housewife.

Eish, I see provincialism dies very hard in SA. You can guarantee 99% of Kiwis will be backing the Chiefs come Saturday. Yet in SA, its just the Sharks fans and a handful of Bulls backing them.

When the Bulls played in the 2009 final I supported them. I would do the same for the Stormers. Yet because its the Sharks, everyone is acting like a disaster they got to the final. What? The Sharks are in final? No that can’t be right!! There must be something wrong!! They must have paid the ref a million rand! Eish no way this can’t be allowed to happen.

The joke is that the Stormers think they could’ve beaten the Chiefs in a home final? Sorry to burst that bubble but they would’ve been overpowered. I’d rather see an SA team valiantly fall against a foreign team on their soil then see them fail at home in SA.

Going from being pronounced as down-and-outs to title contenders is a massive turnaround that should be applauded and I can tell you that this has earned some respect from our ‘friends’ across the Indian ocean. I even saw a NZ herald article saying how unfair the travel schedule has been to the Sharks.

But ya bru you keep negatively deriding the Sharks, while we’ll keep believing they can achieve the impossible.

• 214.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-211: What a sad oke you are. I would love it if the Sharks smacked the smugness out of your head by winning.

• 215.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-212: Just a bitter little Kings supporter, though I’ve never seen him say one bad thing about the Stormers. They’ve achieved f all this season yet he puts them up on a pedestal. Pathetic little chop.

• 216.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-213: Actually – I wouldn’t support the Stormers in a final. So I am actually just as bad as the feeble minded, bitter mountain moffies.

@Sydney Shark-214: Don’t concern yourself with Transvie. Firstly he has multiple nics and personas on this blog including a female one – so hardly a stable individual and he has very vivid delusions of grandeur.

To boot he supports the Kings……a team which cant even knock out the Pumas or Leopards to get a Currie Cup slot. So – dont worry yourself about what he says about the Sharks.

And he is ultra thick.

• 217.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-215: Oh well – what is good for the goose is good for the gander. It suits the Stormers fans this week to say that the Sharks have achieved nothing without silverware, but when this excitement has all died down and we move onto the Currie Cup and next years competition they will recall conveniently how they finished top of the log. Mark my words !

• 218.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther

So charming of you, Gunther to find your level and talk cricky with me and a few others.
    We all know so much about the sexploits of Smith, Kallis, Gibbs etc. but so little about the cricky exploits of Lance, Lindsey and many more. :roll:

It is frustrating sometimes as your words here show, ” fucksticks, wtf?, fuckpants” but it is appreciated. :smile:

• 219.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions-218: You’re not a Sharks fan right ?

• 220.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-219: Nope he’s one of the resident Sharks haters. In fact I’ve only ever seen him (or her) post disparaging comments specifically to get a rise out of Sharks fans. Its probably Skop in disguise!

• 221.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-219:

If you do not yet know I am a sad Stormer then you never will. Chiefs to win, have I proved my point?

• 222.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

Has JC given us the kiss of death to us by backing the Sharks or does that only apply to Keo’s predictions?

Flying out from Sydney tomorrow night. Nerves and apprehension mixed with excitement and anticipation. Whatever happens I hope its a great spectacle of rugby and not a one-sided affair. The Sharks are still champions in my eyes for their sheer determination and mental toughness. The Bulls crumbled and so did the Stormers despite a home semi. Going into this game as underdogs is probably the best label for the Sharks.

SHARRRKKKKSSSSSSS!!!!!!

• 223.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions: Reply to this comment

Am I not just a less coarse and more acceptable version of the french bread stuffed into the channel tunnel to stauch the flow, Helen, that was so loved?

A tweak here annd there and presto, the same. She shouted Sharks though.

Watch the innocence now.

• 224.Sydney Shark: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions-221: Probably Tranny!

• 225.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions-221: So why the referral in your nic to the Sharks ? Are you obsessed ? Seems to me like you are – you called yourself this long before the Sharks annihilated your team in the semi-final.

• 226.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-224: I dont know, but the last thing I would call myself is ‘The Stormers are a bunch of premature ej@culating, prancing, parambulating powder poefters’

I would rather not mention ‘Stormers’ in my nic.

What is a ‘Stormer’ anyway ? A loud **** ?

• 227.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-224: And why are they hanging around here ? Wasn’t their team emphatically booted from this competition last weekend ?

• 228.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions-223: Andre – is that you ?

• 229.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Sydney Shark-224: I think Stormer = sticky kak that you cant wipe off. They have hung around here regardless of the fact that the Sharks wiped them off last weekend.

• 230.David: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-227:
    This persecution complex you have regarding Stormers supporters being against the Sharks winning on saturday is based on the comments of a couple of Stormers fans. Using these as a straw man to perpetuate your conspiracy rants is rather pitiful to say the least.
    As for your claims that the Sharks are somehow approaching legendary status, just look at the facts.
    They were the favourites of the SA sides going into the tournament, yet managed to end up in 6th position with 6 losses against the Stormers 2.
    They had a playoff against a team which scored less log points than they did.
    With their strongest team after players returned from injury, they beat the Stormers who were reduced to playing a hooker at 8, in order to make the final.
    Now I’m not saying that they don’t deserve to be in the final, but legends?
    I, like the majority of SA fans will hope they beat the Chiefs, but don’t expect us to suddenly become avid Sharks fans.

• 231.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Elviro goes to 100 in style

• 232.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Nice ton Alviro. Great fighting spirit.

• 233.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David-230: WHAT !? They were the favourites ? In your mind maybe…

Do you think the Stormers injuries despite their week off and home advantage made them weaker than a Sharks team (with its own injury issues) just returning from Australia !? Wow – you do rate the Sharks highly !

Your 2 loss record means fokkol – Stormers are out with a game left to go. Stormers achieved about the same as the Lions did this season – nothing.

I said **** all about ‘legends’. Please direct me to the post by a Sharks fan that said that.

• 234.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David-230: You guys are so obsessed by the Sharks, you are making up your own stories in your heads already. Its very amusing.

• 235.mako: Reply to this comment

@David-230: Hey David. There have been some comments from a few Stormers fans on this site that I find incomprehensible. (Some of the sam by Sharks supporters, mind you..)
    I am a loyal Sharks supporter, always have been as I live in KZN.

I disagree with some of your comments though. If the sharks win on saturday it will be a great achievement. In fact just getting to the final has been a big achievement. I don’t think playing a hooker at 8 made you guys lose that game. You could look at your 9/10 axis for that. I am pleased that you will support the Sharks on the day, I wouldn’t expect anyone to suddenly become an avid Sharks fan, but I bet even the Stormers players will be rooting for the Sharks.

• 236.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mako-235: The okes in Cape Town are so flippin thick, they still cant comprehend how a team that ended 6th beat their beloved Stormers. One stupid doos even said it shouldn’t have been allowed (like the result should have been overturned or something) because a team ending 6th does not deserve to play in the final.

Its the entitlement mentality again. The word ‘deserves’ means something different in South Africa to any other country.

• 237.PoPe: Reply to this comment

Stormers supporter here. Go Sharks!!!!

And now. Dusky, Syndney Shark, Mako etc.

I hope you despicable people don’t even get to watch the game. All you seem to do is bring disgrace to the Sharks brand with your comments here. Read through all 240 odd comments on this article and try find the mountains of disparaging comments made about the Sharks that you imagine are being made. I like the way the Sharks play (more than how the Stormers played this season). But wow, you guys make it hard to like the brand and leave a really bitter taste in the mouth. This doesn’t arise from being beaten by a better team on the day last Saturday (because that is what happened), it arises due to ego centric pr1cks who think that everyone is out to get them. Please grow up and try not make general demeaning comments about all of SA except a “handful of Bulls supporters”. You bring shame only yourself.

• 238.IAAS: Reply to this comment

Too many people are behaving like girl’s blouses.

The Stormers are a great side. The Sharks are a great side. The Stormers lost to a better side on the day. And that’s it.

Any team in this comp has the ability to beat any other side. The Blues beat the Bulls. The Rebels beat the Crusaders. The Lions beat the Sharks. To mention a few. Pressure games are pressure games. The Sharks got it right. That is what this comp is all about. To be able to play the big points in the pressure games.

As many have said on this site, the majority will be behind the Sharks on Saturday. Wanting them to succeed.

Now, Dusky reign your neck in. You’ve been out of the country too long.

• 239.mako: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-236: Ha ha, entitlement is quite a South African thing, yes. The Stormers would have deserved to be in the final if they had beaten the Sharks. They couldn’t do it, so out they went. Blaming their #8 hooker is definitely a bit of a reach though. They weren’t complaining about him before the game.
    The Sharks really do deserve to be in the final. Perhaps an extra week’s rst between the semi’s and the final would have levelled the playing field a bit. In my heart I believe that the Sharks can still surprise the whole world and pull it off. It means coming out with all guns blazing in the first half and building a lead. Then hanging on wih tired legs in the 2nd half. It is going to be a great game either way, the Sharks won’t just lie down because they have travelled, they are there to win.

• 240.mako: Reply to this comment

@PoPe-237: I am not sure what I said to be included in your despicable people comment, yoh, that is harsh! Anyway, the good news is that I will be watching the game on saturday, whether you like it or not. I will be the guy in the front with the Sharks kit on, yelling for my team.

• 241.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Coupla Shark blowhards here

• 242.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mako-239: Hopefully the Sharks will be up for it.

• 243.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-241:

And the naughty thing is they are all blowing each other.

• 244.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-243: Dont get excited berg moffie – this is a blog. Nobody is blowing anyone. But if you would like to watch that, book yourself a place in the Stormers change room for next year.

• 245.mako: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-241: Hello Dawn. We are busy getting worked up for our final on Saturday, that we got into by beating the necessary teams to do so. You are welcome to join us in our spectator preparations. After all the thread is a preview to the finals.

• 246.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-244:

Looks like you camp in front of keo.

Are the chemicals kicking in?

• 247.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-246: I got lots of time on my hands at the moment. I dont know what that has to do with chemicals but you appear to have a very active imagination gaylord – so, knock yourself out. Think whatever you want.

• 248.mako: Reply to this comment

If you open your Shark Identification guide you will see that although Duskies and Mako are both shark species, they do not interbreed. They don’t even indulge in a bit of petting or blowing. Blowing is something you get in stormy weather, therefore I would consider it Stormers territory, and I bow to your superior experience.

• 249.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-244: Why the need to steal my nic time and time again? Do I fascinate you? As far as I know, imitation (although your efforts are poor to say the least) is supposedly flattery, when you do it, it’s just fake (like a mock up Adidas tracksuit)

And then talking to yourself to try and make it seem more legit?

Dude, you are as exposed as a flasher. Except there in your case, there ain’t nothing to see. Don’t blame the cold, blame the roids.

• 250.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-228: You are talking to yourself here. Is it a half decent conversation?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.