Mix of old and new for Wallabies

The returns of Drew Mitchell and Radike Samo and the selection of youngsters Liam Gill and Jake Schatz highlight the 30-man Wallabies squad for the Rugby Championship.

Mitchell and Samo missed the June Tests, but coach Robbie Deans believes their experience and skills will be valuable in the tournament.

Three uncapped players named on Tuesday include Gill and Schatz, recent captains of Australia’s U21 side, and the Brumbies’ impressive flank Michael Hooper.

Nathan Sharpe continues to be a central part of Deans’s plans, the 34-year-old earlier agreeing to delay his retirement to stay on for the Rugby Championship

Wallabies squad:

Ben Alexander, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Quade Cooper, Dave Dennis, Kane Douglas, Anthony Faingaa, Saia Faingaa, Will Genia, Liam Gill, Mike Harris, Scott Higginbotham, Michael Hooper, Rob Horne, Digby Ioane, Sekope Kepu, Drew Mitchell, Stephen Moore, Nick Phipps, David Pocock (capt), Tatafu Polota-Nau, Benn Robinson, Radike Samo, Jake Schatz, Nathan Sharpe, Rob Simmons, James Slipper, Sitaleki Timani, Nic White