Super Rugby format a failure

Sports scientist Ross Tucker says there’s little to be positive about when looking back at the 2012 Super Rugby campaign.

The Super Rugby play-off rounds painted an entertaining picture. The Chiefs and Sharks surprised many with their runs into the title decider, following semi-final victories over seven-time champions the Crusaders and table-topping Stormers respectively. The New Zealand franchise then powered to their first Super Rugby crown with a 37-6 triumph in front of their cowbell-ringing fans.

However, as a spectator, one was left disappointed after the Hamilton final. We had to witness one team, who enjoyed a week’s break before the final four stage, capitalise on a side that travelled across the Indian Ocean three times in as many weeks.

One may argue that the Chiefs earned this advantage by securing a higher position on the overall standings. But shouldn’t a final be a fair contest? A match which sees the two in-form teams of the tournament battle it out on more equal grounds?

We saw the Crusaders struggle in the same scenario last season, as they traveled from Nelson to Cape Town before losing in Brisbane to the Reds, who had the advantage the Chiefs had this season.

What’s worse is that there’s nothing that can be done to change the current style of the 15-team tournament. Well … not for the next three seasons at least as Sanzar is committed to a broadcasting contract that only expires in 2015.

Tucker believes the current Super Rugby format isn’t successful.

‘Super Rugby has become a money-driven competition, with a strong bias towards to the Australian teams,’ Tucker told keo.co.za. ‘It’s a shame because Super Rugby was such a strong competition, especially when it was still the Super 12. It was strength versus strength every weekend.

‘In the current format, Australia, who have the weakest conference in Super Rugby, are promised at least one team in the play-offs. And their conference winner will be guaranteed home-ground advantage in their play-off game, despite having less log points than some of the other teams placed below them [the Crusaders, Bulls and Sharks had more log points than the Reds this year].

‘This disadvantages the strongest nation in Super Rugby, which was South Africa this season as they had three teams in the top six. We had to see the Bulls and Sharks travel for their play-off matches, which had a negative impact on their momentum. The Sharks did well, but the travel factor caught up to them.’

Tucker also questioned whether the extended tournament schedule was favoured by supporters.

‘Time to time, Sanzar have been raving about increases in ratings for certain matches and at certain stadiums, but I’m sure that the amount of rugby played has had a negative overall impact. Especially when it comes to rugby in South Africa. With the Currie Cup, we could see the Sharks play the Bulls up to five times a year, which is too much.

‘This structure also robs the spectators of major matches. The top teams don’t always face each other, so some fans would have to wait three to four years before a side like the Crusaders or the Chiefs tour to their stadium.’

Injuries were also a major concern during the season. While several players suffered long-term spells on the sidelines midway through the campaign, it was a common sight to see players limping off early during the play-offs. There were nine injury-forced changes before half-time during the knockout rounds, while there were several substitutions made shortly after the second half restart.

While the annual player exodus is already an issue in all three Sanzar nations, the hectic Super Rugby schedule is likely to encourage more players jet off to Japan and Europe. Japan will become an ideal move as players play half the amount of rugby (because of their foreign player restrictions that only allows three international players in the starting line-up) and get paid more.

Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Ryan Kankowski, Wynand Olivier, Jerome Kaino and Sonny Bill Williams have already formed part of this Asian trend, and many more top players could be lost to Super Rugby by the end of 2015. And who could blame them? Test players have to go through Super Rugby, June inbound tours midway through the competition, the Rugby Championship and the end-of-year tour.

‘The current Super Rugby format does not take the players’ welfare into consideration,’ argued Tucker. ‘I think if we had to do a study by the end of 2015, I’m sure we’d notice players’ careers ending far earlier than compared to past studies. It’s quite unfortunate actually – players would actually have to suffer long-term injuries to prolong their careers. A guy like Schalk Burger would have benefitted from the rest he received this year, even though it was because of injury.

‘There is a point that coaches will need to build bigger squads and use better management plans. They’ll need three quality players in every position to survive the campaign. But there’s still no reason for the season to stretch over so many months. The NFL in America has the shortest season of all the top sports, but it’s the richest code in the world.

‘These changes to Super Rugby have been made for the wrong reasons. The powers in charge will need to take all the negative factors into account.’

297 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

• 251.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-247:

Which death threats are these?

The only ones I know of are the ones your fellow Hobbitses sent to Barnsey after 2007?

• 252.Sharks fans are genuine Bok supporters: Reply to this comment

Geez the same old boring nonsense on this site.

• 253.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

How about a tournament format with 16 teams and 4 groups of 4. Teams will play each other home and away. Therefore group stage is just 6 games

Top two progress to the quarters. Knock-out tournament from there onwards. Home and away for the quarters and semi’s. 4 games if you progress to the semi’s. 5 games if you make the Final

Therefore a team will play 11 games for the season if they make the final.
    Each team is also guaranteed of playing 8 games (6 group games plus quarters which each team qualifers for)

Final at a neutral venue decided the year before or at the beginning of the season. (like the champions league)

Bottom two gets put into a smaller tournament where they will also play knock-out style home and away ( Like the Europa League in soccer)

How about this line-up

Group 1
    Stormers
    Hurricanes
    Blues
    16 th team (Kings, Arg, PI)

Group 2
    Chiefs
    Brumbies
    Waratahs
    Lions

Group 3
    Red
    Sharks
    Cheetahs
    Force

Group 4
    Crusaders
    Bulls
    Highlanders
    Rebels

• 254.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

i do not like this competition.

i would prefer a curry cup (promotion/relegation) premier league combining both the premier and first divisions, and with the vodacom cup serving as a lower league competition from which teams can be promoted into the curry cup premier league and to which teams can be relegated when ending bottom of the log.

to this we can add varsity cup, sevens and jwc for a mix of rugby entertainment and outside of which we can undertake international tests (home or away) against nh and sh teams (there does not have to be a set schedule which adds to the excitement).

cap this off with the four yearly lions series and the rwc and bob’s your uncle.
    perfect entertainment.

• 255.How kak must you be to lose a home semi?: Reply to this comment

this format SUCKS!

• 256.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-253: The bulls and lions and possible the Stormers will get a bad deal in those groups. They would have to undertake 3 week tours where the Sharks and Cheetahs can enjoy two week tours. But even 3 week tours will be better than what the guys go through now.

• 257.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

Although I am more than happy with the current format. It produced some great rugby this season.

• 258.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-257:
    no, i am certain that if mutlichoice/supersport undertook a poll of their subscriber base wrt super rugby it would show a great degree of dissatisfaction.

• 259.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-258: you really think so? Why though?

• 260.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-259:
    its kak

• 261.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-260: lol but why?

• 262.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-259:
    people watch it because they have no other choice. no other choice to see their provinces best players take on traditional rivals, mostly.

this is not the case anymore in the cc.

pull the viewership stats for the big derbies/clashes in cc and compare to the viewership stats for the same provinces in super rugby, is there a big difference?

if the provinces better squads were not competing in super rugby what would the difference be?

• 263.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Sasuke-261:
    refer post #262

• 264.stew: Reply to this comment

The final is a problem we have seen this two seasons in a row now – it needs to be re thought

• 265.itsamyth: Reply to this comment

@Greenies-245:

You are no South African and clearly a troll from the far side judging by the time you sent your post and your pathetic and **** attempt to potray yourself as the ‘jaapie’ with your deliberate misspelling and childish writing style – nah, fail – you have exposed yourself. TWAT. Now stay in your hole.

• 266.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-247: Eish wena, you’re twisitng thing around a little. He’s talking about cheating not being drilled into SA schoolkids. I did a fair bit of sport at school and i can confirm it was always hammered into us to do our best but play fair, within the spirit of the law, and ‘getting away with it’ was not within that spirit. (I have no idea of the sport culture in NZ and Aus schools btw) maybe it had to do with the strong christian, almost puritanical school backdrop back in those days, it was just frowned upon and seen as making you less of a sportsman.

But I think a) this attitude is pretty laughable in the eyes of the professional sporting world and b) that in general SA pros (with one or two exceptions) are a bit naive in this regard.

I think the concept of coach-sponsored cheating still rankles the average south african because of this upbringing, and often the reaction on the rugby field is violence which then leads to the ‘thug’ labels etc because its so so so frustrating seeing the opponents doing it so wilfully, and then fagbag refs like Walsh giving a ‘tut tut’ and a pat on backside because he so desperately wants to be invited for a beer with the boys afterward.

Note I’m not saying saffas are angels at all, we’re just worse at cheating under the radar because they aren’t taught how

• 267.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

I found this season pretty shi t to be completely honest. Far less than the sum of its parts. For one, the conference system is a joke. A grossly extended season of rugby and some of the best placed teams at the end dont even get a look in.

The whole slew of Aussie derbies have been terribly dull, our derbies didn’t live up to expectations after seeing the insane skill level and speed of the Kiwi derbies. Trying to follow the competetion after a test rugby interval was also a complete anti-climax. Final was a joke just like the time the Chiefs were klapped away.

• 268.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@itsamyth-265:
    i too thought that but its hard to say i guess.
    ‘braaifleis’..?…

• 269.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-266:
    my point exactly

• 270.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-266: If South Africans are taught to play fair, why is it that three important players in your current squad have been banned for eye gouging (Burger, Botha, du Plessis) and a few more for (admittedly not too serious) doping (Chiliboy, Basson, Goosen)?

I’m not saying NZ are angels but I can’t believe people here are trying to paint the boks as fairer.

No doubt we are coached to hold on to players at the ruck and slow them down at any possible moment but it’s the same in every country. Just watch McCaw constantly next time we play you and you’ll see that, yes he cheats, but he also spends plenty of time stuck under Bok forwards long after the ruck has finished

• 271.Pencil: Reply to this comment

I kind of agree, the sharks shouldn’t of had such a hard schedule. They should have instead been at home watching the finals on TV since fifth/sixth place don’t deserve to be in a finals series.

• 272.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-270: Look I think everyone has their own opinion on the wrongs and rights of it, and I certainly don’t think ALL saffas are angels and ALL kiwis are cheats. I just think the cynical attitude of ‘anything goes as long as you aren’t seen’ has not taken hold as much here, and it’s not a part of training drills.

To me the blame here lies with the officials, they need to police it and it will stop – the players can only get away with what you allow. eg: Saffa sides are always living off sides, Kiwi sides run blocking lines and slow down ball etc. if the refs had the balls to stamp it out it would stop. One of the reasons I argue that there should be one ref for forward play and another policing the backs. 1 guy can’t do both

• 273.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-270: Botha was found not guilty of gouging by the way. As was Bismarck.

• 274.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-270:

“why is it that three important players in your current squad… Burger, Botha, du Plessis…”…?

with that you prove you’re not a serious rugby fan… which leaves only one option…

don’t expect too many people to take your opinions seriously…

• 275.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-272: And what did you think of woodcock attacking heinrich brussow’s eyes in 2010? NOTHING was ever made of that, not a word, not a peep….bit like Kevvie the angel’s headbut…and the spear tackle….etc etc…you really want to get into this? Cos the kiiwis outmatch the saffas for dirty play mate, and walk away scot-free far more often

• 276.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-272: And what were they banned for then?

@ufo-274: Not a serious rugby fan because I have a different opinion to you?

• 277.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-275: Like I said, the ABs aren’t angels. I agree Mealamu should’ve been banned for the spear. I don’t remember the Woodcock incident

• 278.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-276: Botha was banned for ‘attacking the face’ but there was no video evidence to suggest biting or a gouge.

Bismarck for careless play, his hand made contact with Thompson’s cheek and left no mark (this happens numerous times in any match, just watch the guys defending a rolling maul)

• 279.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-278: Ok so they were both guilty for attacking the face – real fair play. Bismark’s fingers happen to end up in Thompson’s eye, while he watched him face on. I’m sure it happens all the time

• 280.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-279: Not saying they didn’t do anything wrong, you asked a question and I answered it. And Bismarck’s finger didn’t end up in Thompson’s eye

• 281.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-276:

ahh… no dude…

differences of opinion are cool… why most of us post on this site…

but when you get the facts SO wrong you reveal the depth of your interest in rugby…

neither schalk burger or bakkies botha are members of the current bok squad… burger is out injured for the year and botha is playing in fence… the squad was announced on the weekend and neither are in it…

so you see… differences of opinion are not the issue here…

but the fact that you are not even aware that schalk has been injured all season or that bakkies left to play in france show you up as a lightweight… intent more on shitstirring than discussing rugby and differing opinions…

• 282.ufo: Reply to this comment

botha playing in france..

• 283.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@ufo-281: I know Schalk is injured but if he wasn’t he would be in the squad. And with Etzebeth injured, Meyer has said he may bring Botha back.

But that’s not really the point is it?

• 284.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-280:At 1:37, and so where did his finger end up?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOYy1LZHswI

• 285.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-283:

you made the point dude… live with it…

neither was named in the current bok squad as proclaimed by you…

no.. it’s not really the point…

the point is that you’re not here to discuss rugby… so don’t expect anyone to take you seriously from here on out…

you gonna talkcrap on this site you’re gonna get called on it…

• 286.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@ufo-285: I’m not here to discuss rugby? Seems to me 90% of threads here break down into some RSA vs NZ b*tchfest so at least I’m not alone.

People here are claiming NZ has a system to promote cheating and it’s not the case in SA. That’s the point I’m arguing against.

• 287.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-284: Dude are you kidding me? His hand was in a fist, you can’t gouge someone with a fist. He made reckless contact with the face, and sat 3 weeks.

For your info, this is eye gouging; http://bit.ly/OQqgFT

• 288.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-286: Uh bud one of your most prominent scrumhalves proclaimed on live tv that they get coached to cheat, so I think the cat’s out of the bag already

• 289.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-287: Oh sorry, you’re right, crushing your fist (which by the way is formed of fingers) into someone’s eye is fair play.

• 290.ufo: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-286:

obviously not…

what you’re missing gonzo is that the vast majority of bloggers here… whether from sa, nz or aus do in fact know their rugby… whether they get caught up in the spats or not… they still know what they’re talking about when they do discuss the rugby…

seems you’re just here to mix it in the bitchfests… so enjoy them…

but as i said… don’t expect anyone to take you seriously…

gonzo… you are the weakest link…

goodbye

• 291.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-288: I’m not disagreeing with that – no doubt, NZers are coached to hold on to people, slow them down, all illegally. What I’m arguing against is this suggestion it’s not the same in SA.

• 292.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-289: When did i say it’s fair play? I said it’s not gouging. Stop putting words in my mouth!

• 293.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Atreides-288:
    You actually believed that?
    What if he said that we are not coached illegal tactics in NZ, would you believe him then?
    @ufo-290:
    Man very picky i must say.
    He got the current players point wrong, but does not mean the rest of what he is saying is incorrect.
    You seemed to have dodged that. This is proof of an expert blogger :-)

• 294.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-251:
    Well with a south african making a FB page for the haters of Bryce, you see plenty of ” Go Die ” and ” when i see you i am going to beat your head in ” etc. Couldn’t get through the 80,000+ haters comments on there. But to deny anything of the sort, you really have your head in the sand.

• 295.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-294:

Sounds fake, most of those haters can’t speak English, let alone write/type it!

• 296.ufo: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-293:

au contraire, mon ami

not playing dodgeball at all…

simply pointing out that any self-acclaimed kiwi rugby fan who did not know that burger is out injured for the year and that bakkies is playing in france… and that neither were named in the CURRENT bok squad as gonzo asserted is no more than a fair-weather fan… and is not here to discuss rugby per se… but to mix it in the bitchfests (his word)…

i won’t take anything he says seriously… if you wish to take that burden upon yourself…

please do so…!!

• 297.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ufo-296:
    UFO you have a dodge and step that Christian Cullen would be proud of.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.