Super Rugby format a failure
7 Aug 2012
Sports scientist Ross Tucker says there’s little to be positive about when looking back at the 2012 Super Rugby campaign.
The Super Rugby play-off rounds painted an entertaining picture. The Chiefs and Sharks surprised many with their runs into the title decider, following semi-final victories over seven-time champions the Crusaders and table-topping Stormers respectively. The New Zealand franchise then powered to their first Super Rugby crown with a 37-6 triumph in front of their cowbell-ringing fans.
However, as a spectator, one was left disappointed after the Hamilton final. We had to witness one team, who enjoyed a week’s break before the final four stage, capitalise on a side that travelled across the Indian Ocean three times in as many weeks.
One may argue that the Chiefs earned this advantage by securing a higher position on the overall standings. But shouldn’t a final be a fair contest? A match which sees the two in-form teams of the tournament battle it out on more equal grounds?
We saw the Crusaders struggle in the same scenario last season, as they traveled from Nelson to Cape Town before losing in Brisbane to the Reds, who had the advantage the Chiefs had this season.
What’s worse is that there’s nothing that can be done to change the current style of the 15-team tournament. Well … not for the next three seasons at least as Sanzar is committed to a broadcasting contract that only expires in 2015.
Tucker believes the current Super Rugby format isn’t successful.
‘Super Rugby has become a money-driven competition, with a strong bias towards to the Australian teams,’ Tucker told keo.co.za. ‘It’s a shame because Super Rugby was such a strong competition, especially when it was still the Super 12. It was strength versus strength every weekend.
‘In the current format, Australia, who have the weakest conference in Super Rugby, are promised at least one team in the play-offs. And their conference winner will be guaranteed home-ground advantage in their play-off game, despite having less log points than some of the other teams placed below them [the Crusaders, Bulls and Sharks had more log points than the Reds this year].
‘This disadvantages the strongest nation in Super Rugby, which was South Africa this season as they had three teams in the top six. We had to see the Bulls and Sharks travel for their play-off matches, which had a negative impact on their momentum. The Sharks did well, but the travel factor caught up to them.’
Tucker also questioned whether the extended tournament schedule was favoured by supporters.
‘Time to time, Sanzar have been raving about increases in ratings for certain matches and at certain stadiums, but I’m sure that the amount of rugby played has had a negative overall impact. Especially when it comes to rugby in South Africa. With the Currie Cup, we could see the Sharks play the Bulls up to five times a year, which is too much.
‘This structure also robs the spectators of major matches. The top teams don’t always face each other, so some fans would have to wait three to four years before a side like the Crusaders or the Chiefs tour to their stadium.’
Injuries were also a major concern during the season. While several players suffered long-term spells on the sidelines midway through the campaign, it was a common sight to see players limping off early during the play-offs. There were nine injury-forced changes before half-time during the knockout rounds, while there were several substitutions made shortly after the second half restart.
While the annual player exodus is already an issue in all three Sanzar nations, the hectic Super Rugby schedule is likely to encourage more players jet off to Japan and Europe. Japan will become an ideal move as players play half the amount of rugby (because of their foreign player restrictions that only allows three international players in the starting line-up) and get paid more.
Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Ryan Kankowski, Wynand Olivier, Jerome Kaino and Sonny Bill Williams have already formed part of this Asian trend, and many more top players could be lost to Super Rugby by the end of 2015. And who could blame them? Test players have to go through Super Rugby, June inbound tours midway through the competition, the Rugby Championship and the end-of-year tour.
‘The current Super Rugby format does not take the players’ welfare into consideration,’ argued Tucker. ‘I think if we had to do a study by the end of 2015, I’m sure we’d notice players’ careers ending far earlier than compared to past studies. It’s quite unfortunate actually – players would actually have to suffer long-term injuries to prolong their careers. A guy like Schalk Burger would have benefitted from the rest he received this year, even though it was because of injury.
‘There is a point that coaches will need to build bigger squads and use better management plans. They’ll need three quality players in every position to survive the campaign. But there’s still no reason for the season to stretch over so many months. The NFL in America has the shortest season of all the top sports, but it’s the richest code in the world.
‘These changes to Super Rugby have been made for the wrong reasons. The powers in charge will need to take all the negative factors into account.’

297 Comments
7 Aug 2012, 10:50 am
Enough with the Ross Tucker quotes!
7 Aug 2012, 10:51 am
you see, you will need 3 good players in every position……thats why my bullies are buying everyone.
everyone except dejong.
that rumour is categorically rubbish.
7 Aug 2012, 10:52 am
wonder if the tackler will rubbish this tucker oke?
or is that only Noakes?
tackler is atwat.
7 Aug 2012, 10:53 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-2: Dankie tog!!!
7 Aug 2012, 10:54 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-2: I don’t see 3 reserves in each position working in rugby. Everyone wants to be on the field all the time. Being benched is equivalant to being dropped. That’s the mentality in rugby.
7 Aug 2012, 10:58 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-3:
By the time Old Tickles is finished with Ross,
…………………………………. he will be Dog tucker.
7 Aug 2012, 10:59 am
The playoffs should not be a fair contest. Why have nearly FIVE months of round robin if it does not give you an substantial advantage in the end?
I sure was not “left disappointed as a spectator” after the 2009 final when the Bulls gave the Chiefs a spanking.
7 Aug 2012, 11:01 am
this comp is a failure more for the lack of officiating/judicial competency wrt dealing with nz cheating than it is wrt travel fatigue even though jetlag is worse for sa teams going that way than it is for oz/nz teams coming this way.
7 Aug 2012, 11:01 am
@Beertjie-7: The Chiefs didn’t have to travel across the Indian Ocean three times in three weeks.
7 Aug 2012, 11:02 am
SARU had no cojones to stand up to that pig from Australia(Can’t of his name) and protect their players from player burnout etc.
Now all 3 countires are losing players to big injuries some even career ending ijuries.
The playing stucture is insane and if it continues i can only see more injuries.
SANZAR have to address this soon, increase S15 to S16, team from Argentina, and have 2 groups of 8 teams. Top 4 go through to playoffs and then the bottom 4 get joined to the top 4 of the other group for
the following year and so on.
Current format is dangerous to players!!
7 Aug 2012, 11:08 am
@Gareth-9: 2009 Chiefs had a smilar travel schedule to the Sharks, flying to and fro over the ocean in two weeks. Bulls thrashed them in the final and everything was fine and dandy. Now the shoe is on other foot and we (SA) are not happy. The new format is flawed, but even under the old format is had its issues. Seems like it evened out – for the Chiefs at least.
7 Aug 2012, 11:09 am
Is it Sanzar’s fault that the sharkievarkies ended sixth on the log?
7 Aug 2012, 11:10 am
@Gareth-9: because they won enough games to end no 2 on the log.
7 Aug 2012, 11:12 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-8:
but for a three or so seminal tmo decisions the crusaders would not have been in the playoffs this season.
7 Aug 2012, 11:12 am
Agree with Tucker. Something has to change and have said it here a few times, this format will frighten the players away from our shores to Europe. Where the travel will be less.
Format has to change. Far too much rugby and it is all greed. Not fair on the players bodies that is taking its toll.
7 Aug 2012, 11:13 am
and the bulls would not have had to travel to nz.
7 Aug 2012, 11:14 am
There is nothing wrong with the format. Why should the Sharks or any team that finishes 5 or 6 on the log be given any favour? By definition you shouldnt actually be there, so be grateful for being allowed another chance to make the semi’s and play rugby. This season has been great, lots of upsets and lots determination and fight by teams to make it into the top six.
7 Aug 2012, 11:15 am
@gecko-11:
Chiefs 2009 schedule:
Bulls 61 Chiefs 17 Loftus
Chiefs 14 Hurricanes 10 Hamilton
Chiefs 10 Brumbies 7 Hamilton
Chiefs 16 Hurricanes 8 Hamilton
Stormers 14 Chiefs 28 Newlands
Bulls 33 Chiefs 27 Loftus
Cheetahs 10 Chiefs 28 Kimberley
Chiefs 36 Lions 29 Hamilton
Reds 26 Chiefs 50 Brisbane
Chiefs 63 Blues 34 Hamilton
Highlanders 10 Chiefs 14
Chiefs 31 Western Force 13 Hamilton
Chiefs 15 Sharks 22 Hamilton
Waratahs 11 Chiefs 7 Sydney
Crusaders 19 Chiefs 13 Christchurch
How can you compare?
7 Aug 2012, 11:18 am
@gecko-11:
no the chiefs did not have a similar schedule in 2009.
no top 2 side had the extra week rest.
there was no conference so there was no ozzie side meddling to bugger up the final standings where the sharks had to travel to brisbane even though they had accumulated more points?
nontheless, there should be a neutral venue but Keo has not considered how that would be selected?
if a kiwi side plays a sa side…..an oz venue is still heavily lopsided in favor of the kiwi one. The only almost neutral venue would be perth.
And if an ozzie vs kiwi side……what, all trek to ellis park? nuts?
And an ozzie vs Sa side….all trek to Auckland?
how exactly would one select a neutral venue in superrugby I ask?
7 Aug 2012, 11:22 am
You end sixth you take the pain of crossing the Indian ocean three times.Sorry,but the two best teams don’t end fifth and sixth on the log.Great format that rewards the top two teams.
7 Aug 2012, 11:24 am
I agree! The schedule for the 2011 was also wrong. The only Schedule that works is the one where an SA team wins! In the world cup France was meant to beat the Abs in pool play and Australia was meant to beat Ireland! So unfair!!
In super rugby 2012 the Bulls were meant to beat the Crusaders and the Sharks should of played the Chiefs in the Semi Final. Then have a Stormers and Sharks final! Whats wrong with these people!
In all seriousness Australia have a major advantage. I read a really good article on tv numbers and attendance. Australia lag very far behind. SA should have more teams based on viewers, player pools and attendance. NZ has the talent but not the financial backing to have more teams – crusaders could not even sell out a 16000 stadium for a semi final! The conference system is stupid as it means the comp cant be expanded easily. Needs to be simpler.
7 Aug 2012, 11:27 am
@Sharks were raped by the Chiefs-20: Agree
7 Aug 2012, 11:27 am
@Sasuke-17:
The Whole Tournament is an unnatural aberation.
It can only be fixed by a complete overhaul and shake-down.
To travel 10,000 odd kms, and then play a single game of rugby within days of arriving………………………………….is crazy.
Then to go home, and do the same, is even crazier.
But Wait There Is More…………………………………..Sharkies had to do it all over again.
Can it get any worse……………………………………………Well yes.
I’m told the Sharks have a CC Game this weekend.
A complete farce.
7 Aug 2012, 11:31 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-19:
Neutral Venue……………………………………………………………Not even worth talking about.
7 Aug 2012, 11:37 am
cane – I guess bigger squads and forced player rest is the only solution, for now!
7 Aug 2012, 11:39 am
@race of tan-10: Players will face burn out or they will all leave. With this format we will start to lose many players to Europe where they don’t need to do this travel.
Format just has to change. Far too much travel and most I don’t think want to play home and way derby games against each other either. Once only in the S15 is enough. Shoud be a top 10 play in 1st division and the bottom 6 or more that it will become play in the 2nd division. That way less travel and also it will be strength against strength.
7 Aug 2012, 11:41 am
i for one am all for putting an end to this farce
but not for reasons of travel alone
7 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
Maybe they should look at a four year cycle:
Y1: Super Rugby the whole year, double round, everything
Y2: Super Rugby: Domestic > 4Nations > Super Rugby: International
Y3 Super Rugby: Domestic > Lions Tour + other Tours > 4Nations
Y4 Shortend Super Rugby > World Cup
7 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
Well one of those trips for the Sharks could have been avoided had the Reds not been promoted to hosting a home semi from 6th place. The other option was for the Sharks to win their home games at the start of the season and not be put in the position where they had to travel back and forth. They dropped their home game to the Chiefs mid season, had they won that the roles may have been reversed. The final option is quit whinging, next year another team will suffer and so on every year until a different format is used.. the only option to avoid this is to win every game or hope for luck of the draw.
7 Aug 2012, 11:45 am
We need to consider other nations also in the revamping of super rugby e.g. Argentina and the Islands
7 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-27:
Go on Bakkies …………………………………………………..make my day.
Go North, young man.
Go North.
7 Aug 2012, 11:51 am
Hold all the playoffs in a different country every year.
Dimples.
7 Aug 2012, 11:53 am
@Sharks were raped by the Chiefs-20:
Your team were rewarded with a brutal fisting at the hands of the sharks.
Woof woof Capo.
7 Aug 2012, 11:55 am
@Sasuke-30:
Now you are talking Sasuke.
Why aren’t you on the SANZAR Board?
An Atlantic Conference of SA and Arg.
A Pacific Conference of NZ, Aus and maybe a team based in Fiji.
Neither Conference meets until Semi’s Finals.
End Off………………………………………..Period.
Now how hard was that Sas.
Get elected.
7 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
There is way, way too much rugby…of all forms, not just Super 15. That along with other factors is really starting to devalue the sport. For a kick off:
- 11 months of rugby doesn’t afford players any time for proper conditioning. You don’t always notice this because *all* players are being impacted by having no proper off-season.
- That we are even debating the Lions participation in S15 shows how far things have slid. Just look at the absolute shambles one of our premier unions is in.
- Refs / officials have an impossible job and are making mistakes. They didn’t impact the outcome on Saturday, but if this is supposed to be the pinnacle of the game, we shouldn’t have blatant mistakes that lead to tries. Why can’t coaches challenge x decisions / half? Or the captain? It’s a farce. Either the touch judges need more power, or we need video review.
- Last 5 minutes of a game has degenerated into an unwatchable mess of pick-and-goes to preserve possession for the team in the lead. Who wants to watch this?
7 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@Beertjie-28:
Y1: cc (premier div, 1st div), vodacom cup, varsity cup, sevens: everything
Y2: cc (premier div, 1st div) > 4Nations > Internationals
Y3 cc > Lions Tour > internationals
Y4: cc, vc, sevens, varsity cup > World Cup
7 Aug 2012, 11:58 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-27:
Its cos you hate losing, end off.
Crusaders were the team you hated and now its the Chiefs…… dont you think thats a bit strange?
Look out if you head north, there are teams like leicester and munster….you know Bok eaters.
Those teams cheat as well if they win.
7 Aug 2012, 12:05 pm
@cane-23: It is a total farce Cane. Too much rugby right now and really it is over kill of a sport we all love.
7 Aug 2012, 12:06 pm
I would rather have a two tier competition – a super 12 plus a not so super 9. Each conference (SA + Arg, Aus + Fiji, NZ + Samoa) has 4 teams in the super competition, and the rest play in the lower tier. For a start have the top 4 teams of the current conferences qualify for the super league, and then have a promotion-relegation system to allow the lower conference winners to have a chance to move up.
7 Aug 2012, 12:07 pm
@cane-31:
we wont go north, caner.
will just establish the worlds preeminent rugby competition here in sa.
and will fund it with the money supersort gives to newskorp, plus sponsorships.
see your pie survive once newskorp ‘revalues’ the worth of paying for broadcasting rugby to a 23 million market in which rugby is not even remotely the most popular sport (except in that one small ozzie province).
and then there’s the bonus of your ‘gratuitous’ gate takings from overflowing stadiums…. ja… will be fun to watch indeed…
7 Aug 2012, 12:09 pm
@Puma-38:
Makes you wonder how NHL plays 82 games a season not including playoff etc.
7 Aug 2012, 12:10 pm
Why did this not come up last year when the homeless saders had to travel the world? Is it because they were not moered black and blue in the final.
As usual Keo and his thick minions are way too late with the story.
7 Aug 2012, 12:11 pm
@Hurricane-37: Huh? Whoever said they hated the Crusaders and/or the Chiefs?
7 Aug 2012, 12:11 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-36:
Money is the problem Bakkies. Money.
The Sanzar member Nations are basically funded by the S15 and the now Rugby Championship.
EOY Tours, I think, generate nothing or very little.
7 Aug 2012, 12:13 pm
@Sasuke-17: I really don’t think it is just about the play offs and where you finish. The whole format should change. Why must we play against each other twice in our conference? Why not once. Also we should be playing every team in the S15 once not missing one from Oz and Nz conference. Players bodies just can’t keep going on and on. They will look somewhere else to play their rugby if this is the amount they have to play every year.
There should be a 1st division and 2nd division in S15 that will probably grow to S16. Far too much rugby is being played and it has become over kill. Players will tire of this super long schedule they have to play and then to top it off some have to play CC or head straight into Test rugby. Then there was Winter Test Tour. Still eoyt too. Far to much rugby. Some where it has to be made shorter.
7 Aug 2012, 12:15 pm
@RL-42: Agreed. But I do feel they should just have the normal top 4 and not a ‘top 6′ system. Conferences should also just determine the top team from the country, and not influence the standing in the combined log.
@Bouts-43:
The person i was replying to.
@Bokhoring-39: Base the Argy team in SA (as the current Vodacom one is), the Fijian teams in Aus and the Samoan ones in NZ. Work out a decent deal so that these unions benefit financially
7 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
@Hurricane-37:
they both cheat, its pretty obvious.
i dont hate them
but i do despise their ways… and perhaps them, a little.
7 Aug 2012, 12:18 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-40:
Yeah Right.
Like the CC is worth US$250,000,000 in broadcasting rights.
What makes the S15 so marketable, is it’s International flavour.
7 Aug 2012, 12:19 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-49:
What about other teams that cheat?
Do you have a word for them?
7 Aug 2012, 12:20 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-49:
Turn the other cheek bakkies,
turn the other cheek.
Feel the love.
@cane-44:
yes, but in our case the amount we pay (supersport to newskorp) for super 15 is more than enough to fund cc and 4nations takes care of itself broadcasting wise (we’ll only pay for our market size, which is the biggest).
having finished 6th the sharks shouldn’t have been in the playoffs anyway!
7 Aug 2012, 12:24 pm
@cane-50:
no, but it is worth the amount supersport pays to newskorp for the broadcasting rights to screen it in the republic (which is a lot).
supersport could just pay that money to saru for rights to screen cc instead and would still be making a profit from us the rugby dstv subscribers.
7 Aug 2012, 12:25 pm
should the supercomp expand I imagine we could then go to 4 groups of 4.
which could then possibly lead to quarter final and semis with home and away formats with at least a 2 week break inbetween but with games overlapping. eg…2 games the one weekend with the other two the following.
adding an exciting new tangent…..points against count double if both teams have won 1 game each. As in champions league but even more exciting than champions leabue because in rugby there is hardly ever a “draw”.
Drop the “bonus point” for 4 tries or more and by losing by less than 7 in the knockout stages. Keep them for the group stages only maybe?
I am a genuis and that is how it should be.
Except, I have no idea how to select a neutral venue for the final of superrugby.
London maybe? or Paris?
That could also add an exciting new slant which would definately generate a huge crowd and more cash surely?
@Bouts-46: It would be a bit unfair if everyone is not playing everyone else = plus some conferences are weaker than others. That was probably the point of the 3rd and 4th place playoffs – to make up for that
@Transformation-54:
Yeah i really dont get it.
A team comes second on table and the team that came 6th saying its not fair they had to travel.
I understand that all finals should be even but it sort off takes away the meaning
of finishing top or second on the table.
7 Aug 2012, 12:26 pm
@cane-50:
Well it’s certainly worth more than that glorified quidditch tournament that passes for your domestic competition.
In fact one of your kiwi scribes was moaning about the discrepancy in revenues between SA and Pongoland when it comes to inbound tours and domestic comp.
I think it was when you were threatening to boycott the next world cup.
7 Aug 2012, 12:27 pm
@Transformation-54: Neither should the Reds
@Hurricane-41: Far too much rugby. The reason SA and NZ are losing many players abroad.
@cane-52: I was watching Valerie last night – it was so unfair on her losing her gold to that man from Belarus.
7 Aug 2012, 12:28 pm
This rugby stuff is boring.
Most exciting sport sport coming up is the men triathlon at the Olymoics.
Can the incredible Brownlee brothers from England be beaten? – Unlikely
Can the kiwi Beven Docherty cause an upset and take gold?- possibly
Can the South African Richard Murray get a medal-? Unlikely but if he is not too far behind after the swim and stay in touch on the bike he might be in with a shot as he is a blistering fast runner.
The race is going to be all out action, starting very soon and will be broadcasted live on SSHD4 in SA.
7 Aug 2012, 12:30 pm
@Puma-61:
I think it has to do with money mostly Puma.
We know even SA cant compete when comparing money earnt against the NH teams.
7 Aug 2012, 12:30 pm
Lots of discussion about player burnout etc, but isn’t it the ever increasing remuneration demands of the players that mostly drives the need for increased revenues? Increased revenues mostly come from playing more games, so how do you even contemplate expanding the competition and adding even more wage bills to the already huge pile whilst at the same time talk about reducing the number of games. Unless you have a magic wand it doesn’t work. Bottom line is that if the players want more money, they need to work harder or increase the value of what they produce. In todays world it is the ‘work harder’ that is required because there isn’t much more blood in the ‘value stone’.
7 Aug 2012, 12:31 pm
See Bulls have made a huge offer to Stormers Defence Coach Nienaber.
They seem to be on a huge buying spree of young talent too.
If Stormers lose their Defence Coach they could be in a bit of trouble next year.
7 Aug 2012, 12:33 pm
@Hurricane-51:
any and all low, cynical, dirty filthy play is condemned equally, hurri.
trouble is, its mostly you know who.
@cane-52:
thanks
but no thanks
caner
the love is not there
the honest kiwi rugby playing cupboard is bare
7 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
@Robzim-63:
I find these type of events mesmerising.
Things don’t happen…………………….
They evolve.
The Women’s Marathon was like Tolstoy’s “War and Peace”.
@Puma-66:
nothing to worry about…you guys still have Fleckie.
@Puma-66:
He will most likely go. The bloke is also a qualified physiotherapist so they are getting 2 for the price of one (if he goes).
7 Aug 2012, 12:36 pm
@Robzim-70:
yes but you also have proudfoot who can play frontrow any time aswell.
@Hurricane-58: if you finish 6th, a team better hope for a miracle and stop whinging that the format is flawed…the “flawed” format allowed the SIXTH best team after round robin to compete in the playoffs. suck it up and play well next year to be @ the top!
@cane-68:
It’s my favourite events of the games, specially the triathlons. Lots can go wrong while it “evolves”.
7 Aug 2012, 12:37 pm
@Hurricane-64: It has to do with money but some super talented youngsters have left too. It is a combined thing I think. Money for sure first and quite a lot will be wanting less travel and more time with their family. They can only get that in Europe or Japan I suppose. Here in the sh the travel takes the players away from their family for long periods of time. Rugby year here should be made shorter or much larger squads should be allowed.
@wait for it, wait for it…-67:
So you agree that constant offsides, pulling on the halfbacks arms and jersey while he does not have the ball, its in ruck is also dirty and filthy play?
@Brigadier Van Zyl-71:
Brock is also very versatile. We are well covered.
7 Aug 2012, 12:38 pm
@Puma-66: It might also be the best thing
Without Nienaber (who leaves a wonderful legacy, and a fabulous system) the remaining coaches might be forced to focus on a few other facets of play…….
That said: The Bulls are ‘Illuminati-ing’ all of you. They are becoming Bok central, with Meyer calling the shots about what players, consultants, coaches etc the Bulls must contract. He wants the Bulls union to be BOK CENTRAL. This is his way of putting Bulls systems in place, that benefit the Boks by default. Pretoria – Bok central
Every future Bok resource is being draggd there.
Not paranoia @Gunther – watching it unfold before my eyes, and those who can’t see it, wellllll.
7 Aug 2012, 12:39 pm
@Transformation-72:
@RL-62:
I never ever…………………………ever……………….. thought I would say this RL.
But Valerie was the best looking woman in that event.
By a country mile.
But the Woman from Belerus, she was The Champ. Also by a country mile.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-71:
frontrow at an all you can eat buffet maybe
7 Aug 2012, 12:40 pm
@Robzim-70: Jeez those Bulls are buying up everything. Stormers will be in a bit of trouble without him.
In the Olympics can we pick up aonther medal? From anywhere? Someone said yesterday we had someone in the javlin but looked and no saffa there. Unless I missed the name. What about Caster you think she could pick up a medal in the 800m?
@Puma-81: typo – another
@Hurricane-75:
yes
still pales in comparison to you know who
7 Aug 2012, 12:41 pm
@Puma-82: and another….lol. javelin
7 Aug 2012, 12:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-77:
would you say the kiwis have benefited from a similar approach wrt the ab’s and crusaders over the years?
7 Aug 2012, 12:43 pm
@Puma-81: Sunette Viljoen should have just started the heats for javelin. She is the current world #1 – so should have a good chance for a medal
just posing a devils avocado.
@Bokhoring-86:
that is awesome to hear
i hope she gets one
7 Aug 2012, 12:44 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-83:
Ok so instead of bringing up all the kiwis as cheats and filthy…..well scum is the word you normally use. Would you say the Sharks cheated and are filthy as well and are they scum?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-77: hehehe. Knew as I typed that you would ‘appear’ all of a sudden…..
It looks like he does want it to be ‘Bok Central’ ….. hahaha.
Good one, that was funny man…. lol.
@Puma-81:
I think we have chances in the woman’s javelin (Viljoen) , maybe the triathlon but I doubt, and certainly in the mountainbike cross country. Caster has not been on good form lately so i doubt whether she will get a medal but it is a possibility I guess.
7 Aug 2012, 12:45 pm
Its the free market baby.
Live and let live.
PS If Meyer wanted Nina then he’d sign him.
7 Aug 2012, 12:47 pm
@Bokhoring-86: Was looking for a womans name from sa. Saw nothing this morning. Katman said yesterday we have someone in the Javelin. Hope we pick up at least another medal.
7 Aug 2012, 12:48 pm
@Transformation-72:
Hey Transie,
because I know YOU CARE.
Total medals per million population Rank Country Gold Silver Bronze Total
Medals Total Medals
/Million
1 Grenada 1 0 0 1 9.1734
2 Slovenia 1 1 2 4 2.0034
3 New Zealand 3 1 4 8 1.8485
4 Denmark 2 4 2 8 1.4431
5 Jamaica 2 1 1 4 1.3845
6 Australia 2 12 8 22 0.9993 .
52 South Africa 3 1 0 4 0.0819
53 Guatemala 0 1 0 1 0.0709
54 Spain 0 2 1 3 0.0638
55 Islamic Republic of Iran 2 1 1 4 0.0507
56 People’s Republic of China 31 19 14 64 0.0476
Another 3N Title for us humble Kiwi’s………………………………..maybe, maybe not. But probably.
@Hurricane-75:
i have said this before but will say it again. i hope this answers your questions:
@Te Rangatira-133:
again, thank you rangi.
you are a reasonable person to voice one’s opinions too. i may state them harshly, and do apologise for doing so, but this is the extent to which rugby in the super comp has been allowed to rot.
unfortunately, it is by and large the kiwi teams (mostly the chiefs & crusaders) who overwhelmingy seem to behave in this way. by this i mean they exhibit organised, well thought out and trained behaviour with regard to playing rugby in a negative, cynical, spoiling and illegal fashion for the purpose of gaining an advantage over any opposition.
the most cynical of the ozzies has of course been the reds, so add them to the pile.
illegal play in sa teams seems to mostly involve offsides at the present but is not showing signs of being well drilled into teams as it’s extent varies from game to game.
as for cheap shot late hits, head high tackles, holding on to players around rucks, pulling back, pulling jerseys, taking out player around the rucks who dont have the ball and are not yet part of the ruck too, targeting with scant regard of seriously injuring players, obstructive running, just plain obstructing without even forming part of a ‘running line play/movement’, blocking…. and so on…
i dont see it forming a major part of the sa teams behaviour or practise. they seem to be playing as hard and physically as humanly possible, but doing so within the spirit of the law. meaning hard but legal tackles, physical cleanouts of rucks and so forth.
sa teams are not being trained to cynically cheat and its costing them. of course to do so is contrary to the spirit of the game and needless to say illegal.
i can only hope this young bulls side will steel themselves over the coming seasons in order to negate these factors by way of a very physical approach.
this has worked for them in the past. the best way to disable this kind of play it seems is to just hammer it out of the teams who practise it.
well, either that or adopt a similar cynical attitude.
but like you say, it all come back to the refereeing officials and the standard of refereeing in the comp. if the judical/referees component of sanzar actually worked and was effective then these sort of trends would have been better managed and not allowed to develop to the extent that it has.
for me it sulllies the contest and the game, in the romantisised idealist instance somewhat. in the realist case i would at the least aprove of a level playing field with regard to unsporting behaviour, meaning that if nz rugby can be allowed to get away with it over other then others should be allowed to get away with it over nz too.
at least in this way rugby is the winner because then we can look back and say this or that team truly was the better. at the present its all rather hollow for the victors.
Viljoen qualifies with her first throw.
7 Aug 2012, 12:49 pm
When Super rugby started out the main attraction was that the best teams from SA would get to play the best teams from NZ and Australia. It was exciting to watch “your” team slug it out with their Kiwi and Wallabie counterparts. We already had a competition where the local teams had a go at other every year.
Now Super rugby has morphed into a behemoth whereyou will have to watch “your” team play the other local teams every other weekend. What is so exciting about that? We already have the Currie Cup where we can do this to our hearts content.
Please SANZAR, sit down and review this monstrosity you have created. Streamline it, cut down on the number of games please.
This year I have actually missed games that I did not feel like watching, it is just too much rugby.
7 Aug 2012, 12:50 pm
South African Murray 1.15 behind leader after the 1500 meter swim- not too bad, bike will be vital for him to try and catch up.
7 Aug 2012, 12:50 pm
@Robzim-91: Will take note to watch. Just hope we pick up another medal. That would take us to 5 medals if we do. Or more if we get another.
7 Aug 2012, 12:51 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-96:
vat so..!!!
7 Aug 2012, 12:54 pm
Bolt is too cool for school.
He reminds me of my buddy in China.
7 Aug 2012, 12:58 pm
@Robzim-98: @Puma-99:
This event show casing London as a magnificent venue.
7 Aug 2012, 12:59 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-85: The fact that they are doing it irks me, but it’s not my main gripe
The fact that many can’t see it happening is what p # sses me off most though…..
Is it good for SA rugby? It can’t be.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-92: I am talking future Bok resources being hauled to the Bulls. Meyer is still pulling the strings up north. This is all part of the master plan my friend.
7 Aug 2012, 13:00 pm
Brownlee Brothers already forcing the pace on the bike in a breakaway group of 5. They going to be very hard to stop from here. Murray 1.15 behind.
7 Aug 2012, 13:01 pm
The Super Rugby format is not only a failure, but a joke too.
7 Aug 2012, 13:04 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-92: not so FREE if you’re a new zealand player! check the last paragraph hehehe “overseer”
Sabbaticals an issue for NZRU
7/8/2012 4:15 AM Lynn McConnell
Rugby administrators are wrestling with the prospect of more players wanting to take sabbaticals, playing or otherwise, after the Super Rugby season but at the expense of involvement in the ITM Cup.
The New Zealand Rugby Union’s general manager of professional rugby, Neil Sorensen said it was an increasing issue, especially among non-All Blacks, and he attributed it to franchise contracting.
“What we have to say is: how is this going to pan out, what is in the best interests of the ITM Cup unions, Super Rugby, the All Blacks, the kids themselves? The key thing is we have to take a mature approach about it,” he said.
Former Otago and now Crusaders lock Tom Donnelly was one player who had taken the approach recently.
Hurricanes and Wellington loose forward Faifili Levave was different. He had a resignation clause in his contract once the Super Rugby season was completed.
“He resigned, Wellington couldn’t contract him, the Hurricanes were desperate to, he was off to Japan, and then the Hurricanes said, ‘Why don’t you come back at the end of Japan for Super Rugby next year?”he said.
That was why it had been expected that all the players would look to take up overseas contracts instead of playing the ITM Cup.
But Sorensen said the NZRU would not allow them to do that.
However, at the same time there were exceptions. There had been a player who had approached them to do the same thing but he was coming back after injury not having played too much for a couple of years.
“He’d been paid a lot of money to play two or three games, so we said no to him but we will take it on a case-by-case basis.
“If you said that you gave a guy an ITM Cup season off, as long as he committed to coming back and playing two years for New Zealand rugby at both Super and ITM Cup level then you might consider it.”
While there was a policy decision forthcoming from the NZRU board, Sorensen said a thought might be if a player had played seven seasons of Super Rugby maybe the player had the right to apply for a sabbatical and the NZRU would be more lenient on those types of people.
If there were 10-20 players who had given service that warranted consideration for such a sabbatical it was something that might be worth considering, especially if they were to be retained by New Zealand after the break.
There was concern from the chief executives of the ITM Cup member sides over what the consequences of such a policy but Sorensen said it wasn’t something the NZRU agreed with because it wasn’t in their interests, however, they did show flexibility.
Sabbatical breaks had been negotiated by Dan Carter, Richie McCaw, Ma’a Nonu and Tony Woodcock.
Sorensen said if the NZRU was going to be contracting players until 2016 it was his belief that some time out of rugby was a good thing.
“Rather than just play rugby I would rather they took time off and went and saw the pyramids or went on a trek to the base camp in the Himalayas, or something like that because I think we have a moral obligation that when we give these kids, some of them are 22-years-old and earning $200,000 a year, to assist them in managing that
7 Aug 2012, 13:04 pm
@cane-102:
Indeed, and to make things even better for the Brits their cyclists and triathletes are /were really performing in the events that are taking place in the streets of London. Cycling has never been as popular in that place as right now and Bradly Wiggins has overnight became a national hero.
7 Aug 2012, 13:08 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-95: Didn’t Just-in Marshall pretty much admit it gets coached into them, on live TV? Why are you still surprised? Especially considering the wonderful integrity *gag* of that duo of Hansen and Smith…if ever there were two guys you wouldn’t leave your kids alone with haha “anything’s ok as long as you don’t get caught”
7 Aug 2012, 13:14 pm
Gauteng looking like a winter wonderland…. Snow snow everywhere, but not enough yet to make a snowman… Wow this is quite spectacular…
7 Aug 2012, 13:14 pm
I agree with your above article Gareth Duncan and I also agree with 105 Willie VZ The comp format is a joke, by rights the Queensland Red should of been placed in 6th spot o the log, then they would of travelled to Sth Africa and the Sharks may of got a home game. The same problem exisits between NZ and the Aussies…we play 3 of our game for the Bledisloe cup, but we have to play 2 of the games in Australia because there’s so little chance of them beating NZ 2 out of 3 games. The Holders of the Bledisloe cup is suppose to have 2 home games. But No we have to catter to the weak Australian side who think they are the best….
7 Aug 2012, 13:16 pm
@Gumboots-109: A mate has sent me a few pics – unreal.
7 Aug 2012, 13:16 pm
Murray (SA) up to 23rd in the Triathlon.
So far has improved 20 places on the cycle stage.
7 Aug 2012, 13:19 pm
@Gumboots-109:
The beauty of a single snowfake.
Tis something to behold.
7 Aug 2012, 13:20 pm
@cane-94:
hey cane…
because i know you’re objective… and of course you care…
please give us the stats for yellow cards and citings in super rugby as a total per million population for sa, nz and aus over the last few years…
7 Aug 2012, 13:21 pm
@cane-112:
He is a very fast runner but still more than a minute behind – the one Brownlee brother must still do a 15 sec penalty for jumping on his bike too soon in the transition area so it could become interesting. I think their is a kiwi in the front bunch as well who is still in with a good shot.
7 Aug 2012, 13:21 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-103:
Must they all rather stay in Cape Town my angel?
Nienaber is from the United Free States.
he can go where he wants until the ANC decides otherwise.
7 Aug 2012, 13:24 pm
@cane-112: There is a Kiwi riding on his butt in the chase group. What’s the bet the Kiwi tries to knock Murray off his bicycle?
7 Aug 2012, 13:25 pm
The Super Rugby competition is Super S.hi.t. There is way too much rugby overall all which detracts from the enjoyment of the game.
We should go back to the format where the top 4 teams from the Currie Cup earns the right to participate in Super 12.
Get rid of these endless local derbies. The CC will cater for that.
7 Aug 2012, 13:26 pm
@Gumboots-109:
check out the links on news24…
jozi looking like saskatoon, canada…
and plenty of snow
menpeople to be seen…7 Aug 2012, 13:27 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-116: Yes Gunther. He can go where he wants until the Bok coach and his BBRU cohorts decide otherwise
Talk to me about Heyneke saying that he will ‘coach’ Morne Steyn back into form? HTF does that work, and will he be able to do this in 2 weeks? Or should I ask Taccy? (Meyer’s conscience…)
7 Aug 2012, 13:28 pm
@Robzim-115: Johnny has to sit on the pavement… 15 secs a long time in this.
7 Aug 2012, 13:28 pm
@cane-113:
Absolutely
@ufo-119:
Will do! It is still sleeting here in Pretoria and is causing traffic chaos… LOL
Not used this type of weather…
7 Aug 2012, 13:31 pm
@TooMuchRugby-118:
yes exaclty.
divide the super rugby competition into two bits.
local bit 6 top teams play home and away local derbies call it the Currie Cup (the others can call theirs what they want) top 3 go through to super rugby against top 3 from new Zealand and Australia. top two from that play a final.
bring back proper tours instead.
7 Aug 2012, 13:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-121:
If I was him I do it asap and get it over with. I think his brother Alistair is the faster of the 2 but not by much, going to be very exciting.
7 Aug 2012, 13:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-117:
What’s the bet,
the Saffa, Murray, hands Gemmell (the Kiwi), a dodgy drink bottle.
deja vue.
7 Aug 2012, 13:37 pm
@ufo-114:
You give me more credit than I deserve UFO.
Among the arse-holes on Keo…………….and there are many…………………….I consider myself as good as the best.
In short……………………………..I do not know how to access the information you request.
7 Aug 2012, 13:38 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-123: That makes a lot of sense.
At last we agree on something.
It will mean the end of regional teams though,although teams like the Bulls and Stormers haven’t been truly regional for a couple of years now.
7 Aug 2012, 13:41 pm
@cane-126:
@cane-125:
typical kiwi… expecting a saffa to come to his aid and solve his problems…
he should have his own bottle/seconds/kitbag…
deja vue.
7 Aug 2012, 13:42 pm
@TooMuchRugby-127:
I exactly.
I don’t think thats a bad thing.
Neither have the sharks or the Lions.
This would also solve the kings lions issue.
Kings can be one of the 6 teams and compete for the right to play in the international leg.
@Robzim-124:
Are they going to hold hands over the finish line again?
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120:
no he can go where he wants.
if the boks want to hire him then they must pay.
you haven’t answered my question.
must he stay in the cape because you want him to?
7 Aug 2012, 13:45 pm
@cane-125:
And while Murray and Gemmell are brawling, John o Neill will enter the race on a scooter, and pull the Aussies to victory (but not before scoring a $555555555555555555555555555 broadcasting deal)
7 Aug 2012, 13:47 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-129:
At some or other time the one will have to take a tea break for 15 seconds and I doubt whether the other one will wait for him.
7 Aug 2012, 13:49 pm
Murray is 1.15 behind with run to go- impossible to catch up over 10km at this level of running.
7 Aug 2012, 13:50 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-129: Most of us were aware he didn’t renew his contract here. But just in case this final bit of info didn’t reach the masses: Rassie wants Nienaber to help with the Boks.
He (like all others) can go where he wants. I just don’t understand why anyone would want to leave CT to live anywhere else in SA…(even for $$$$):)
I would actually not be ‘that’ distressed if he left here to be honest. He has made our other coaches lazy…..If he goes, those remaining will need to up their game (READ: Fleck…., which might not be the worst thing in the world.
7 Aug 2012, 13:56 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-130:
I think O’Neils days are numbered Mad Eye.
He married himself to Dingo Deans and will pay the price.
7 Aug 2012, 13:56 pm
@Robzim-124: Fantastic crowds watching this! (Then again, every event has seen people flock in their thousands)
7 Aug 2012, 13:59 pm
First time since 1964.
Snow in Pretoria
7 Aug 2012, 13:59 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-133:
I’m sure he does.
they are very close.
he would leave province whilst Rassie was still there.
and now he will.
so let’s not blame this whole thing on Meyer.
there is enough to blame him for without that.
7 Aug 2012, 14:02 pm
@Atreides-108:
exaclty
i mean ‘if kevvie says he didn’t do it’…
duh,,?,,
(rolling eyes smiley)
7 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
Come on Gomez……………………………………..
Go mez.
These Brownlees piss me off more than those Du Plessis.
7 Aug 2012, 14:04 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-135:
Ja, they have been lucky as far as the weather is concerned as well. Jonny is gone.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-137: Meyer and ‘taking the blame’ are going to be tight mates for the near future
Now tell me how he is going to “coach” Morne into form in 2 weeks? I would like the recipe.@Atlas-136: You are going to find thousands of lunatics taking to the streets of Pretoria, waiting to be raptured (If Spies is one of them, let him go. The end is near and all that jazz.
Gomez is cracking.
7 Aug 2012, 14:05 pm
@Atlas-136:
is it blou snow?
7 Aug 2012, 14:09 pm
johny calls the Chemist- the chemist does not call.
7 Aug 2012, 14:10 pm
@Robzim-144: Falling mirror?
7 Aug 2012, 14:11 pm
@>^..^< katman-145:
Sharp!!
7 Aug 2012, 14:13 pm
Kevin Pietersen’s having one of his angst moments. What a character
7 Aug 2012, 14:14 pm
@Robzim-146: This is supposedly “live” in the Goodhope Centre, although I strongly suspect this is the album version dubbed over the footage.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IgcFKj6F8Uc
Good track nonetheless.
7 Aug 2012, 14:14 pm
2 Medals for the brothers here…..these two are in the Chris Ashton/Stuart Broad mould of Pom sportsmen. (and they run funny – gawky as hell)
7 Aug 2012, 14:15 pm
This bloke must be the best triathlete over the standard distance ever. Amazing that he can swim so well as he is so skinny.
7 Aug 2012, 14:16 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-141:
I would like to think the kicking coach is looking after morne.
Meyer will be concentrating on the mental side of things.
like not worrying when pre menstrual stormers fans boo him at newlands.
7 Aug 2012, 14:19 pm
For me the conference system is a compromise too far for the NZRU and SARU.
Super Rugby’s evolution over the years has mitigated the Australian’s lack of a 3rd tier competition with each and every iteration. The latest iteration, the conference system, all but *replicates* derbies in the Currie Cup and the NZ inter provincial series.
Why go to see Auckland play Otago when the Blues have played the Highlanders home and away a couple of months previously?
South Africa has an advantage here over NZ, in terms of larger population lending to larger audiences but more importantly, more of a parochial loyalty to the local Curry Cup side than Kiwi fans tend to have for their province.
Nonetheless, it’s an expense to *both* Unions in order to benefit Australia. My opinion is that both have done more than enough, sacrificed their own best interests enough, already. The Curried Cup and inter-provincial/Ranfurly Shield
7 Aug 2012, 14:20 pm
..must be nurtured. Let the Aussies do as they wish but not at the expense of NZ and RSA.
7 Aug 2012, 14:21 pm
@Robzim-150: Gawky!
Looks as though he would fall over if I put my glass down too hard.
Fabulous effort though, not always easy being the fave to win.
7 Aug 2012, 14:23 pm
@>^..^< katman-148:
Great stuff, thanks…. they were ahead of their time— the one was asked to replace Trevor Rabin as lead guitarist/vocalist when Rabin left Rabitt but he refused. Quite weird blokes apparently and difficult to work with.
7 Aug 2012, 14:24 pm
Bridgitte Hartley won her semi-final in the 500m Women’s Kayak Sprint, she’ll be competing in the finals on Thursday.
Only competitor who qualified faster than her was the Hungarian, Kozak.
On the day anything can happen, Hartley might well win SA another medal.
7 Aug 2012, 14:24 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-151: It was the Eastern Cape
And those were Bok fans booing him.
A true Pre menstrual Stormer’s fan throws plastic items at players. (They don’t BOO)
7 Aug 2012, 14:26 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120:
maybe you should write a letter to him to get to the bottom of all this ?
here, i’ll start you off:
liewe oom heyneke,
hoekom kan die stormers se spelers nie die span maak nie?…
(the restt is all you)…
vriendlike groete,
mal oog
7 Aug 2012, 14:28 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-157:
Try telling Lukas Watsembembi that.
Or any opposition player that kicks for poles.
7 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-141:
7 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
@Robzim-155:
Triathletes became smaller and smaller through the years- the sport was dominated in SA by a bloke called Keith Anderson (RIP)- ex navy diver- he was massive in comparison to these guys but an incredibble athlete and once lead the Hawai Ironman after about 120km’s into the bike but then the sun got to him – he did the whole event only wearing his speedo in heat of over 40 degrees- he also won the SA tri champs in PE on a Suturday and then flew back to CT to win the Argus Cycle tour (non registered riders) the sunday morning- also won the PE to Durban surfski marathon.
He used to like his beers and the odd sigarette too
— won these events on raw guts and talent and a bit of training.
7 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
@Robzim-155: I loved that track. The guitar is quite Knopfler-esque at times.
7 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
If sport’s administrators had any brains(global problem) the order of the triathlon would be to run first then the swim and lastly the bike ride.
The swim in that position would do wonders for the recovering body including cooling it down.
7 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
@Robzim-161: My perfect build for a Tri-athlete would be Dominique Donner.
7 Aug 2012, 14:38 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-151: That really irretates the snot out of me. I though that sh it died in the 90′s
7 Aug 2012, 14:38 pm
@Robzim-161:
I believe you were a navy diver? If so, you might have served with my father, he was there around 1975 I believe.
7 Aug 2012, 14:43 pm
@>^..^< katman-164:
For sure- she is a babe
Moerse fast swimmer but had the most terrible running style- he one leg nearly hit he ear when she got tired.
@Robzim-161:
What I find interesting is that Triathlon is quite recent – the first “official” triathlon was in 1974, at Mission Bay, San Diego, just four years before the first Hawaii Ironman.
I can run but I can’t hide and I still remain vile
7 Aug 2012, 14:45 pm
@Robzim-167: Sorry, I lost you at “leg”…
http://www.ddonner.com/pictures.htm
7 Aug 2012, 14:46 pm
@WP Till I Die-166:
He was marginally ahead of me
Last time I mentioned the word “national service” ET kakked me out, lol.
7 Aug 2012, 14:48 pm
@Robzim-171:
You should get my e-mail address from Dawn, I have some navy diver photos.
7 Aug 2012, 14:48 pm
@>^..^< katman-170:
Sorry, i meant “her” one leg and “her” ear.,
I got a bit carried away or i need a new laptop.
7 Aug 2012, 14:50 pm
@Robzim-161:
Who else but me can challenge WPTID for Wiki king, as this post shows? Being original does not belong to us.
7 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
@Robzim-171: ET’s idea of National Service is a set of dinner plates with the government crest on them.
7 Aug 2012, 14:54 pm
@Robzim-171: @WP Till I Die-172:
Note who among us talk Esme Ev. kak.
7 Aug 2012, 14:54 pm
@>^..^< katman-175: What happened to poepsak? Have’nt seen him here for a while now.
7 Aug 2012, 14:55 pm
@WP Till I Die-168:
Ja, i read sbout it- i think the Hawaian event started after competitors from different sporting disciplines took bets on who is the fittest.
Here in CT it was mostly people from a water sport background who took part in the sport when it became popular- the 1.5km sea swim used to put the runners and cyclists off- these days it’s completedly different as most seem to start off as ttriathletes never having specialised in either swimming/running or biking.
7 Aug 2012, 14:55 pm
@Robzim-176:
Forgot the smiley
7 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-177: He changed his name to something equally stupid recently, but you know what they say about a munki in silk…
7 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@>^..^< katman-170:
There goes my productivity, might as well go home now…
7 Aug 2012, 14:57 pm
@Robzim-174:
OK, we have an imposter here.
@Robzim-176: These kids today know nothing about etiquette.
@Robzim-171:
Khakiballs did his nation a service by pissing off to Philly.
Awesome.
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120: “Talk to me about Heyneke saying that he will ‘coach’ Morne Steyn back into form? HTF does that work, and will he be able to do this in 2 weeks?” – between Spies, Morne & FdP, the ONLY coach that can “press (their) buttons” is Meyer. He seems to know it and they also are aware of it.
they can play as kak as they please for the Bulls but it doesn’t matter because come Bok call up time, Meyer will tell us, he knows how to “coach” them back to form, players from other franchises who are out of form or don’t fit into his gameplan he will DROP and not “coach” to play the way he wants.
7 Aug 2012, 14:58 pm
@Robzim-178:
Quite correct, it was a bunch of mates on Hawaii who all participated in different events and, as you say, argued about who was fittest and decided to put the three events together – the Waikiki Rough Water Swim, the Hawaii Marathon, and I can’t recall what the cycle event was called.
7 Aug 2012, 14:59 pm
@WP Till I Die-181: O donner…
7 Aug 2012, 14:59 pm
@WP Till I Die-181: Gaan sort daai stiffy uit ou maat.
7 Aug 2012, 15:00 pm
@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-188:
Touch wood!
7 Aug 2012, 15:02 pm
@WP Till I Die-189: Bwahahaha!! Slat palm aan eie vlees.
7 Aug 2012, 15:03 pm
@WP Till I Die-181:
Will anyone notice?
7 Aug 2012, 15:05 pm
@Robzim-178:
Ah, here we go.
In 1977 members of the Mid-Pacific Road Runners and the Waikiki Swim Club participated in the Oahu Perimeter Relay – a 5-person relay around the island of Oahu. For years the members of the two clubs had been debating which athletes were fitter, runners or swimmers. John Collins, a US Navy officer, pointed out that a recent Sports Illustrated article had declared Eddy Mercx the fittest person ever (highest oxygen uptake) and that perhaps cyclists were the fittest. Collins and his wife, as it happens, had taken part in the first two triathlons staged in and around Mission Bay, San Diego.
Collins suggested they settle the debate through a race combining the Waikiki Roughwater Swim (3.86km), the Around-Oahu Bike Race (185km) and the Honolulu Marathon (42.2km).
7 Aug 2012, 15:05 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-191: I think he’s referring to his Wikikeo service.
7 Aug 2012, 15:07 pm
@>^..^< katman-193:
@WP Till I Die-189:
just think of khakiballs in his floral swimming cap and his All Black speedo with the vrot elastic.
That should sort it out sharpish.
7 Aug 2012, 15:09 pm
personally i think that stormers/wp should FIRE NIENABER…!!
reason…?
he’s done his job too damn well… we don’t need these agents with their defensive tendencies destroying everything that is sacred about province rugby and stifling our attacking running rugby…
we don’t want a defensive coach we can rely on to win games for us… heaven forbid…!!
without nienaber putting up the saffa version of the great wall of china on the stormers try-line… our guys may remember how to attack again…
we need an innovative attacking coach who will give us the saffa version of curiosity the marsian rover going where few current stormers phases have ever gone… over the opposition try-line…!
we should hire those sharks world guys to start a petition to fire nienaber…!!
7 Aug 2012, 15:09 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-194:
Thanks to you, I got to taste my Moroccan chicken pie twice.
7 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
@WP Till I Die-192:
Thanks, i remember having read about it. I guess it is impossible to really say which sporting code has the fittest athletes as it just depends how one defines “fitness”.
7 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
@WP Till I Die-196:
You should only ever reall buy drugs from the Moroccans.
Certainly not pies.
7 Aug 2012, 15:12 pm
@WP Till I Die-196: Morrocan jy mos twee keer proe hoe lekker smaak hy :;):
7 Aug 2012, 15:12 pm
@Atlas-136: And I almost made the comment that that it will snow in Pretoria before the Bulls win the Currie Cup again.
Oops!
7 Aug 2012, 15:13 pm
@>^..^< katman-193: @the artist formerly known as gunther-194:
7 Aug 2012, 15:14 pm
@Robzim-197:
Well, the highest VO2max (that is, maximum amount of oxygen that can be used in one minute per kilogram of body weight) figures are consistently achieved by Nordic cross-country skiers, followed by cyclists.
7 Aug 2012, 15:15 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-198:
Leave Cyril’s (RIP) crew out of this…
7 Aug 2012, 15:16 pm
@WP Till I Die-202: Old ET, doing his best Dirty Dancing Patrick Swayze, comes pretty close to those numbers.
Saw the writing on the wall…
7 Aug 2012, 15:18 pm
@WP Till I Die-203:
best rotis I’ve ever had were at his wake.
@>^..^< katman-204:
Nobody puts baby in the korma.
7 Aug 2012, 15:19 pm
@WP Till I Die-202:
I guess that is one way of testing it and it certainly makes sense that athletes from trhose disciplines would have achieved consistently the highest “scores” Other tests include VO2 max but also strenght, flexibility, speed, etc … and apparently gymnasts, olympic wrestlers… and wait for it…… motorcross riders performed overall the best.
7 Aug 2012, 15:22 pm
@Robzim-206:
I would have thought professional boxers might be up there?
7 Aug 2012, 15:32 pm
@Robzim-206:
Janee ons is “Wiki kings” maar ons verstaan min of net mooi fokkol.
7 Aug 2012, 15:34 pm
@WP Till I Die-207:
The tests I referred to was done by some or other institution in America over a long period of time but the article in which I read it was not not clear on whether they really tested professional athletes or only amateurs and whether they tested athletes from all codes – i don’t think someone like Mike Tyson for example would have volunteered for those tests- the other sport that they also mentioned as having extremely overall fit participants is soccer.
I agree re the boxers, it must be just about the toughest sport on earth and it requires a lot more than only endurance.
7 Aug 2012, 15:46 pm
@Robzim-209:
Note how evasive I am here with my some or other? Maybe these are just anecdotes as it is in the media.
7 Aug 2012, 15:46 pm
@WP Till I Die-208:
Imposter.
7 Aug 2012, 15:47 pm
@Robzim-210:
Imposter.
7 Aug 2012, 15:52 pm
KHAKIBOLLOCKS!
7 Aug 2012, 15:53 pm
@WP Till I Die-211: @WP Till I Die-212:
But it is correct we understand very little
7 Aug 2012, 15:58 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther-213
Have to say tho’ have never seen that nic here ever
7 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
Tucker and Noakes must shurrup! Where were they and their sob stories when Bulls beat Chiefs at Loftus.
7 Aug 2012, 16:39 pm
Just do a top 8, and have a full set of quarter finals. Are these okes thick or something ? Its this stupid top 6 kak that’s causing the problem. If an Aussie team cant end in the top 8, then they dont play a playoff – end of story.
And have a extra week between the semi-finals and the final, or else an away opponent that has to fly more than a few hours is never going to win.
7 Aug 2012, 16:40 pm
@rossoneri-216: Yep – that is true. What is good for the goose is good for the gander. Unfortunately the Chiefs got their payback against the Sharks, and not the Bulls.
7 Aug 2012, 16:41 pm
@rossoneri-216:
But you know we always have to find an excuse for our failures.
7 Aug 2012, 16:43 pm
@Robzim-219: What’s the Stormers excuse ? Two home semi-finals in as many years against teams that had played an additional game, and come across serious time zones to play them ? Two in a row….
Interested to hear…..
7 Aug 2012, 16:44 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-95:
An excellent post and I share your sentiments completely. I can assure you that any right-thinking Kiwi who knows anything about rugby will know within him/herself that what you are saying is true but to admit it is another thing. The problem is a two-fold one, the way I see it from watching rugby (particularly since re-admission) and observing the main-stream Anglo-media over the past 12 years or so (I live in the UK). Firstly, South Africans have over a sustained period of time been portrayed as outliers if you like. South African rugby teams are often characterised as brutish, thuggish, dirty, lacking skill and do well at times only because of size and physicallity. The fact that the Boks, for example, scored some 33 tries in the 2007 WC, often with sublime skills and deft touches, is downplayed or kept under the carpet. The use and choice of descriptive language combined with the choice of timing of the appropriete live picture or image (or lack therof), for example is a very powerful tool in projecting how a particular play/player is perceived by the audience. It is all about congruency. Jona Lomu or Chabal smashing someone out of the way will be portrayed (rightly) as a thing of awe, power and athletisism whilst Bakkies Botha doing the same to Courtney Lawes will not be shown on the replay or otherwise will be written up as typical South African bish bash bosh.The BBC, Sky, Planet Rugby etc. understand this very well and have been able to condition their audiences over a long period that in essence South Africans (read white South Africans) are not to be loved and admired as it were but loathed and tolerated. This has happened not by accident but by design and is driven from powerful leadership positions which transcends to officiating behaviour. Since readmission, the Boks have consistently been shafted (to put it mildly) with such blatentcy (hope there is such a word!) and with little condemnation from the Ango-mainstream media and administrators that one can only conclude that all this has been tacitly supported from high up circles of influence. The vast majority of the audience are sheep who cannot think analytically or for themselves when Planet Rugby for example insinuates that Bryce Lawrence is just human and Saffa supporters are just uncouth whingeing vindictive people with little to complain about. The fact that he made 46 ‘errors’ in a WC QF compared to his average of 6 per game and then gets NZ ref of the year award is conveniently not scrutinised by them. Even a highly respected person like Tim Noakes is discredited for daring to highlight that something seriously was not right and should have been investigated. Graham Henry, on the other hand has been treated far more gently afer his views about potential match-fixing in the 2007 NZ QF with France. The respective media reactions are like chalk and cheese in these ywo instances. I will not even go into the issue of citings/non-citings but I don’t have to draw you a picture.
The second point relates to cultural differences. I don’t know if this is correct to generalise, but as a schoolboy in SA, I was brought up to try to do your best, play hard but fair. The feeling I often get from watching Kiwis, Aussies especially and most Anglo commentators is that if a Richie MCaw can ‘get away with’ that is cool and good for him for being so smart. I absolutely despise that stance. I mean what kind of example is that for kids to follow. But what I hate even more is that officials turn a blind eye while the suits no doubt have a good laugh at our expense. You see, us passionate supporters are largely just useful idiots and it will take leadership from SA with huge balls of courage and sufficient influence to put a halt to all this bullshit. If the trend continues, my days as a rugby watcher and Bok supporter are numbered because it has become a despicable farce.
7 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@the artist formerly known as gunther said @WP Till I Die-212: @>^..^< katman-
I see clearly from this talk now who loves this Tannie Esme stront. It is not the likes of Transie, Nama, Pompies or such like. We were really trained, if need be, to shot at people like them.
The 'nation' was us and we served it for our selfish selves and glorified in its vulgarity, violence and culture to this day even.
Sorry ET and others but forgive now and please forget.
7 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@itsamyth-221: All that might be true, but the reason we are shafted in other aspects is because we are doff….slow on the draw. Our saving grace is that we are incredibly hard workers, but in no system in nature do the ‘workers’ ever get the sweet end of the stick unfortunately.
One thing that will now advantage the South African conference is the inclusion of the Kings which will give the Stormers, Sharks, Bulls and Cheetahs 10 free log points without a doubt.
Still a stupid setup. Why we dont just play a full round of quarter finals for the top 8 sides goodness only knows. This lot is just complicating it for themselves, and by the intellect behind some of their decisions I would say it would be best to keep things as simple as possible.
Add a quarter final stage chops….and lets dispense with this stupid conference kak.
7 Aug 2012, 16:53 pm
Bring back the Super12. 4 teams from each country.
1 month of rugby – 4 games. 1 week break for everyone.
Next round of 4 games and 1 week break.
Final round of 3 games, everyone has played 11, then the semis hosted by top 2 teams. 1 week break, top finalist hosts final. Boom. Simple, fair.
Entire competition spans 16 weeks. Leaves plenty of rest and time for preparation.
Surely no one would be able to complain with this format?
7 Aug 2012, 17:04 pm
@blank-224: I agree. It was flippin greed though. On a good wicket, they just couldn’t be happy with what they had – had to reach for more.
7 Aug 2012, 17:05 pm
@blank-224: And make a fixed qualification system for South Africa. Franchises linked to the Currie Cup semi-finalists play in the Super 12 – end of story. If you dont play a Currie Cup semi-final you dont play Super rugby that year.
7 Aug 2012, 17:12 pm
@itsamyth-221:
yes ,thank you. your post is equally instructive too.
i can tell you with certainty that i am done with super rugby, will never watch it again even if a sa team wins it and even if that team were the bulls (i can be stubborn and when my minds made up that’s usually it).
i cannot stand these kiwi teams and have come to despise them and the farce that is the super comp.
i will rather watch cc, vc, varsity cup and any games involving the boks, which means the championship and eoyt (i will watch the boks play nz, because its the boks).
i can only hope that international rugby (barring some intervetion from the administrators/judiciary and/or power people connected in some capacity) does not reach the despicably farcical proportions which it may do as you suggest, because then it will certainly lose me too.
yes, it is already as bad and as biased as you say, but could become worse yet. i hope not.
7 Aug 2012, 17:21 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-227: Almost as big a farce as WWF. They should call it World Rugby Federation – Slam down 15….or something like that…..and let some of the players wear costumes – like Pierre Spies could wear a Pink tutu with ballet shoes and call himself ‘The Pacifist’
7 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@blank-224:
@Dusky-225:
fark the super 12
i say create a rugby premier league in sa and use supersports broadcasting fee paid to newscorp to fund it (stop paying for the super 15 when the contract expires).
add to this sponsorship and advertising earnings and we’d be able to host a revamped and strengthend cc comp with more than enough money going to both the premier and first division teams/unions.
we could probably attract quality top class foreign players to participate with that kind of cash. the format and length can be dtermined and around this a championship of some type involving the boks or even just home and away tours involving the boks could be decided against any countries willing to play us.
only sticking point with international is getting actually neutral refs (or at the least not biased against sa but biased in favour of nz one’s)
7 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
@Dusky-228:
‘the pacifist’ i like it
reechee ‘no hands’ macaw
jannie ‘the doctor’ du plessis
7 Aug 2012, 17:37 pm
@Dusky-226:
That defeats the original object of the S12, which in my opinion was the right one. It was to have each countries top players (120 in SA) play in a regional competition a level just below international competition. These regional sides would effectively replace Springbok and NZ trials, whilst adding the extra excitement of pitting them against each other as well. The Kiwis have managed this concept to the advantage of AB rugby, whilst SARU has allowed the provinces to turn it into a Super Club competition. Did you notice that the NZRU sat on the selection panel to choose Kirwin as the new Blues coach?
7 Aug 2012, 17:37 pm
@RL-62: The Russian bird wasn’t too bad if you like em big. Bit of a glamour photo but here she is dolled up
http://www.sportfoto.ru/en/foto.php?photo=32430&type=1&stat=0%20style=
7 Aug 2012, 17:41 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-229: Considering the experience the Spencer and Mitchell had, I think you might have trouble attracting a lot of foreigners. You’re already struggling to hold on to your own players – not as much as NZ – but it’s happening.
So what you’d get is Currie Cup 1 and Currie Cup 2 played each year. Enjoy it.
7 Aug 2012, 17:41 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-230: You got it dude. Jannie could play in a doctor’s suit…..Bryan ‘The Mouth’ Habana, Jean ‘The Choker’ De Villiers…..Tiaan ‘kontkop’ Liebenberg.
7 Aug 2012, 17:50 pm
@Dusky-234: For this – Bryan wouldn’t have to dress up at all – he possesses all the natural characteristics to match his WRF name.
We could get Jean a choker to wear around his neck in the colors of the team that knocked the Stormers/WP out of whatever playoff in that specific year. So in 2013 he would wear a black and white one.
And, Tiaan Liebenberg could wear a head piece shaped like a p#&s – which would be exactly accurate.
7 Aug 2012, 17:51 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-227:
Another interesting development for me is the move to have Graham Henry helping out the Pumas. Does this mean that Argentina will inevitably fall under the perfidious ANZAC sphere of influence, protracting and extending our position as the ‘outlier’. Historically, SA rugby has had close ties to South American rugby but we shall see if this will be allowed to remain so. Time will soon tell.
7 Aug 2012, 18:04 pm
@gonzo-233:
really?
sa had about 650 000 foreign visitors between jan and march this year.
how many did nz have?
if the money’s there i dont see why foreign players would not be interested. we could even pay your kiwi super rugby players more money than they make in nz.
considering the number of registered players and the size of our professional and amature clubs/teams i hardly think we’re in danger of losing all our players.
and as i said, if the money right why wouldnt they want to stay.
if you build it, they will come.
remember, with our cc 1 and cc 2 you’ll end up the poorer without our subsidies. imagine your rugby then.. enjoy it..?..
@Dusky-234:
i prefer tiaan ‘dirty looks’ liebenberg
@itsamyth-236:
yes, interesting point.
for my part, i’ll say any of their influence cant be a good thing.
7 Aug 2012, 18:05 pm
ok
i’m outta here
and nice chatting
7 Aug 2012, 18:26 pm
Can’t we give some kind of memorial trophy to the team that has lost 4 super finals in four starts?
7 Aug 2012, 18:56 pm
@Sharks were raped by the Chiefs-239: But you see, that would complicate matters, since then we would have to have memorial trophies for teams that have lost the most home semi-finals in Super rugby etc. It would get very difficult to manage all the categories and most teams want the trophy, not some token acknowledgement of performance within a subset.
7 Aug 2012, 18:58 pm
I voted ‘Its ok’ since I think some players that got their backsides handed to them in the semi-final should probably not have been rewarded for that but have been.
7 Aug 2012, 19:04 pm
Who’s who in this zoo
7 Aug 2012, 21:36 pm
@Atreides-108:
You sick phcuk throwing stones from your anonymous ivory tower. They are better men than you.
7 Aug 2012, 21:45 pm
1st round of Playoffs should be on Friday pms and SemiFs should follow Sat or Sunday pms the next week – the extra 24hrs of player recovery time should be paramount over the tv schedule.
There should then be 2 weeks until the Final. Allows player preparation and injury recovery. Which encourages a huge increase in touring rugby fan numbers with the home venue allotting no less than 15% seat allocation, thereby better atmosphere and tourist-$ cash injection. Also encourages greater advertising/sponsor opportunities ala SuperBowl.
Assigning neutral venues for the Final in advance doesnt work across such great distances as it does the closer proximity in Europe for Heineken Cup with a wider array of viable transport options.
8 Aug 2012, 02:18 am
wait for it, wait for it…-95:
Great post mate, amen. And i further agree on the schooling. Having lived abroad I have also noticed these “other” english speaking countries are well uducated on the “wrong side” of things. They all seem to know too well , schooled if you like, all the steps it takes and be “cheats”/”dishonest”/ “while the ref aint looking” attituded where in SA it was all about honesty and integrity. We tend to try and be too honest and show the world who the dishonest people are but genrally this is then turned against them, Look at the earlier days Bruce Grobbalaar a southafrican liverpool goal keeper relises that match fixing is accuring. Playing Mr Honest he films himself and the fixcator trying to expose corruption in the Premier league.
England, be effing England dont want such things exposed and the next day all the papers accuse him of match fixing. Amaising how they twist it around to suit themselves. Politics- it all about politics. You must play the political way or you get punished, typical in all businesses in UK and Ireland too. it s just so fake and against our culture and because it is ,we always burn, because we are the outspoken lot.
perhaps its time to stop playing Mr policeman and play their ways.
This article is also very true. It is time to show the middle finger and put our foot down, enough is enough. Personally as a rugby fan, there is far too much rugby and to watch all of it would mean i would do nothing else on the weekends. Because so much is exposed to the audience it has reached saturation point and diluted the game. If their was enough rugby to to aired one Sat every 3rd weekend( 2 games) for the year meaning(34 matches) a year which would include a currie cup(most NB) (11- watching only your team)and tri nations(6 only your team) , northen tour(3) and super 15(16- your team only). So if you watch just your two teams local and national totals 36 already. But who only watches just your teams you want to watch other teams too. in the currie cup their is nearly 34 matches in its self. So yes if all i did was watch rugby, I would want a robotic fetcher and braaifleis meaning i would die a beer-bellied, meat bellied couch – potatoe at the ripe age of thirty! There seems tobe this big thing about keeping Ozzie rugby alive and how they adapt the rules so their rugby league players can be accomodated to fix the small pool of union players there. To actually change the rules of union for such poor measures just shows the despiration and greed for the green paper. The law in rugby these days, just look at the final in the Super15. Players line the whole fiels , commit a few people, at one stage the Sharks were commiting one person to the ruck, the rest lined the field, guess like, yip rugby league. Its simple. If you want rugby league go to rugby league, union is different and should remain so. It almost appears these twats are trying to merge these two sports in the long run.
Bring in the old rules i say!! and keep it that way. A sport should not be changed to gain audience. A sport should attract audience for what it is and if a small group is attracted then so be it. The mission of the IRB is disgraceful.
SA Rugby provides the most comercial value of the tri-nation countries and the other two couterparts need our presence as their greed for cash keeps them smiley-green. I personally would not care if we were not part of the Super15, our currie cup is amaising compared to world domestic standards. We dont really need the Super 15 we managed to survive without it for 100 yrs, I am sure we could continue without it. There is enough rugby just there… and we would not have to deal with all the **** that comes with the mentalities of Oz and Nz. Nz supporters must be the worst bad sportmen i have ever come to meet.
8 Aug 2012, 02:55 am
@Greenies-245:
Grobelaar was a Zimbo not a Saffa mate!
8 Aug 2012, 04:15 am
@Greenies-245:
Well thanks for your views but if you want bad sportmens, just take a look at Bryce and the letter,e-mails and death threats from South Africans.
If you really think South Africans are honest then Hansie Cronje begs to differ.
But carry on with the back slapping, South Africans are honest and fair, it is everyone else around them that cheats and lies.
You guys need to settle down with the world is against you.
Your rugby isnt that great at the moment, except it. It is no one elses fault.
8 Aug 2012, 04:30 am
‘Super Rugby has become a money-driven competition, with a strong bias towards to the Australian teams,’ Tucker told keo.co.za
who is Ross Tucker and where is he from?
he makes it sound that RSA and NZ connived together to give Australia the advantage. yet this boofhead should know that Aus and NZ had to bow to RSA demands to ensure a home playoff….with playoffs! if Aus and NZ totally bowed to RSA demands RSA would have got 2 home finalists regardless on their final positions on the ladder without playoffs.
Remember RSA negotiating for this format started before the bulls won any super titles!!!
Anyways I dont agree with the format but blame it on RSA and dont make it sound like Aus pushed for it.
8 Aug 2012, 04:34 am
If Travel is such a bad thing has anyone told the Crusaders that because they seem to forget.
did not the stormers get a home semi and lose last year to a team that had traveled the most in a super tournament…in any tournament without even playing at home! Ross tucker what you have to say?
what similar between the Crusaders and Viagra and not with the Stormers? they at least can get passed a semi!
8 Aug 2012, 04:38 am
@Dusky-223:
already the RSA conference is giving its own top two teams an 18-20 point leg up. Bulls and Stormer got at least 18 points each from playing the cheetahs and lions!
8 Aug 2012, 07:36 am
@Hurricane-247:
Which death threats are these?
The only ones I know of are the ones your fellow Hobbitses sent to Barnsey after 2007?
8 Aug 2012, 07:44 am
Geez the same old boring nonsense on this site.
8 Aug 2012, 08:44 am
How about a tournament format with 16 teams and 4 groups of 4. Teams will play each other home and away. Therefore group stage is just 6 games
Top two progress to the quarters. Knock-out tournament from there onwards. Home and away for the quarters and semi’s. 4 games if you progress to the semi’s. 5 games if you make the Final
Therefore a team will play 11 games for the season if they make the final.
Each team is also guaranteed of playing 8 games (6 group games plus quarters which each team qualifers for)
Final at a neutral venue decided the year before or at the beginning of the season. (like the champions league)
Bottom two gets put into a smaller tournament where they will also play knock-out style home and away ( Like the Europa League in soccer)
How about this line-up
Group 1
Stormers
Hurricanes
Blues
16 th team (Kings, Arg, PI)
Group 2
Chiefs
Brumbies
Waratahs
Lions
Group 3
Red
Sharks
Cheetahs
Force
Group 4
Crusaders
Bulls
Highlanders
Rebels
8 Aug 2012, 09:13 am
i do not like this competition.
i would prefer a curry cup (promotion/relegation) premier league combining both the premier and first divisions, and with the vodacom cup serving as a lower league competition from which teams can be promoted into the curry cup premier league and to which teams can be relegated when ending bottom of the log.
to this we can add varsity cup, sevens and jwc for a mix of rugby entertainment and outside of which we can undertake international tests (home or away) against nh and sh teams (there does not have to be a set schedule which adds to the excitement).
cap this off with the four yearly lions series and the rwc and bob’s your uncle.
perfect entertainment.
8 Aug 2012, 09:23 am
this format SUCKS!
8 Aug 2012, 09:30 am
@Sasuke-253: The bulls and lions and possible the Stormers will get a bad deal in those groups. They would have to undertake 3 week tours where the Sharks and Cheetahs can enjoy two week tours. But even 3 week tours will be better than what the guys go through now.
8 Aug 2012, 09:33 am
Although I am more than happy with the current format. It produced some great rugby this season.
8 Aug 2012, 09:35 am
@Sasuke-257:
no, i am certain that if mutlichoice/supersport undertook a poll of their subscriber base wrt super rugby it would show a great degree of dissatisfaction.
8 Aug 2012, 09:37 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-258: you really think so? Why though?
8 Aug 2012, 09:40 am
@Sasuke-259:
its kak
8 Aug 2012, 09:45 am
@wait for it, wait for it…-260: lol but why?
8 Aug 2012, 09:48 am
@Sasuke-259:
people watch it because they have no other choice. no other choice to see their provinces best players take on traditional rivals, mostly.
this is not the case anymore in the cc.
pull the viewership stats for the big derbies/clashes in cc and compare to the viewership stats for the same provinces in super rugby, is there a big difference?
if the provinces better squads were not competing in super rugby what would the difference be?
8 Aug 2012, 09:49 am
@Sasuke-261:
refer post #262
8 Aug 2012, 09:50 am
The final is a problem we have seen this two seasons in a row now – it needs to be re thought
8 Aug 2012, 10:03 am
@Greenies-245:
You are no South African and clearly a troll from the far side judging by the time you sent your post and your pathetic and **** attempt to potray yourself as the ‘jaapie’ with your deliberate misspelling and childish writing style – nah, fail – you have exposed yourself. TWAT. Now stay in your hole.
8 Aug 2012, 10:16 am
@Hurricane-247: Eish wena, you’re twisitng thing around a little. He’s talking about cheating not being drilled into SA schoolkids. I did a fair bit of sport at school and i can confirm it was always hammered into us to do our best but play fair, within the spirit of the law, and ‘getting away with it’ was not within that spirit. (I have no idea of the sport culture in NZ and Aus schools btw) maybe it had to do with the strong christian, almost puritanical school backdrop back in those days, it was just frowned upon and seen as making you less of a sportsman.
But I think a) this attitude is pretty laughable in the eyes of the professional sporting world and b) that in general SA pros (with one or two exceptions) are a bit naive in this regard.
I think the concept of coach-sponsored cheating still rankles the average south african because of this upbringing, and often the reaction on the rugby field is violence which then leads to the ‘thug’ labels etc because its so so so frustrating seeing the opponents doing it so wilfully, and then fagbag refs like Walsh giving a ‘tut tut’ and a pat on backside because he so desperately wants to be invited for a beer with the boys afterward.
Note I’m not saying saffas are angels at all, we’re just worse at cheating under the radar because they aren’t taught how
8 Aug 2012, 10:32 am
I found this season pretty shi t to be completely honest. Far less than the sum of its parts. For one, the conference system is a joke. A grossly extended season of rugby and some of the best placed teams at the end dont even get a look in.
The whole slew of Aussie derbies have been terribly dull, our derbies didn’t live up to expectations after seeing the insane skill level and speed of the Kiwi derbies. Trying to follow the competetion after a test rugby interval was also a complete anti-climax. Final was a joke just like the time the Chiefs were klapped away.
8 Aug 2012, 10:38 am
@itsamyth-265:
i too thought that but its hard to say i guess.
‘braaifleis’..?…
8 Aug 2012, 10:41 am
@Atreides-266:
my point exactly
8 Aug 2012, 10:42 am
@Atreides-266: If South Africans are taught to play fair, why is it that three important players in your current squad have been banned for eye gouging (Burger, Botha, du Plessis) and a few more for (admittedly not too serious) doping (Chiliboy, Basson, Goosen)?
I’m not saying NZ are angels but I can’t believe people here are trying to paint the boks as fairer.
No doubt we are coached to hold on to players at the ruck and slow them down at any possible moment but it’s the same in every country. Just watch McCaw constantly next time we play you and you’ll see that, yes he cheats, but he also spends plenty of time stuck under Bok forwards long after the ruck has finished
8 Aug 2012, 10:48 am
I kind of agree, the sharks shouldn’t of had such a hard schedule. They should have instead been at home watching the finals on TV since fifth/sixth place don’t deserve to be in a finals series.
8 Aug 2012, 10:49 am
@gonzo-270: Look I think everyone has their own opinion on the wrongs and rights of it, and I certainly don’t think ALL saffas are angels and ALL kiwis are cheats. I just think the cynical attitude of ‘anything goes as long as you aren’t seen’ has not taken hold as much here, and it’s not a part of training drills.
To me the blame here lies with the officials, they need to police it and it will stop – the players can only get away with what you allow. eg: Saffa sides are always living off sides, Kiwi sides run blocking lines and slow down ball etc. if the refs had the balls to stamp it out it would stop. One of the reasons I argue that there should be one ref for forward play and another policing the backs. 1 guy can’t do both
8 Aug 2012, 10:55 am
@gonzo-270: Botha was found not guilty of gouging by the way. As was Bismarck.
8 Aug 2012, 10:57 am
@gonzo-270:
“why is it that three important players in your current squad… Burger, Botha, du Plessis…”…?
with that you prove you’re not a serious rugby fan… which leaves only one option…
don’t expect too many people to take your opinions seriously…
8 Aug 2012, 11:05 am
@Atreides-272: And what did you think of woodcock attacking heinrich brussow’s eyes in 2010? NOTHING was ever made of that, not a word, not a peep….bit like Kevvie the angel’s headbut…and the spear tackle….etc etc…you really want to get into this? Cos the kiiwis outmatch the saffas for dirty play mate, and walk away scot-free far more often
8 Aug 2012, 11:12 am
@Atreides-272: And what were they banned for then?
@ufo-274: Not a serious rugby fan because I have a different opinion to you?
8 Aug 2012, 11:15 am
@Atreides-275: Like I said, the ABs aren’t angels. I agree Mealamu should’ve been banned for the spear. I don’t remember the Woodcock incident
8 Aug 2012, 11:17 am
@gonzo-276: Botha was banned for ‘attacking the face’ but there was no video evidence to suggest biting or a gouge.
Bismarck for careless play, his hand made contact with Thompson’s cheek and left no mark (this happens numerous times in any match, just watch the guys defending a rolling maul)
8 Aug 2012, 11:27 am
@Atreides-278: Ok so they were both guilty for attacking the face – real fair play. Bismark’s fingers happen to end up in Thompson’s eye, while he watched him face on. I’m sure it happens all the time
8 Aug 2012, 11:32 am
@gonzo-279: Not saying they didn’t do anything wrong, you asked a question and I answered it. And Bismarck’s finger didn’t end up in Thompson’s eye
8 Aug 2012, 11:33 am
@gonzo-276:
ahh… no dude…
differences of opinion are cool… why most of us post on this site…
but when you get the facts SO wrong you reveal the depth of your interest in rugby…
neither schalk burger or bakkies botha are members of the current bok squad… burger is out injured for the year and botha is playing in fence… the squad was announced on the weekend and neither are in it…
so you see… differences of opinion are not the issue here…
but the fact that you are not even aware that schalk has been injured all season or that bakkies left to play in france show you up as a lightweight… intent more on shitstirring than discussing rugby and differing opinions…
8 Aug 2012, 11:34 am
botha playing in france..
8 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
@ufo-281: I know Schalk is injured but if he wasn’t he would be in the squad. And with Etzebeth injured, Meyer has said he may bring Botha back.
But that’s not really the point is it?
8 Aug 2012, 11:43 am
@Atreides-280:At 1:37, and so where did his finger end up?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOYy1LZHswI
8 Aug 2012, 11:45 am
@gonzo-283:
you made the point dude… live with it…
neither was named in the current bok squad as proclaimed by you…
no.. it’s not really the point…
the point is that you’re not here to discuss rugby… so don’t expect anyone to take you seriously from here on out…
you gonna talkcrap on this site you’re gonna get called on it…
8 Aug 2012, 11:52 am
@ufo-285: I’m not here to discuss rugby? Seems to me 90% of threads here break down into some RSA vs NZ b*tchfest so at least I’m not alone.
People here are claiming NZ has a system to promote cheating and it’s not the case in SA. That’s the point I’m arguing against.
8 Aug 2012, 11:54 am
@gonzo-284: Dude are you kidding me? His hand was in a fist, you can’t gouge someone with a fist. He made reckless contact with the face, and sat 3 weeks.
For your info, this is eye gouging; http://bit.ly/OQqgFT
8 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@gonzo-286: Uh bud one of your most prominent scrumhalves proclaimed on live tv that they get coached to cheat, so I think the cat’s out of the bag already
8 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@Atreides-287: Oh sorry, you’re right, crushing your fist (which by the way is formed of fingers) into someone’s eye is fair play.
8 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@gonzo-286:
obviously not…
what you’re missing gonzo is that the vast majority of bloggers here… whether from sa, nz or aus do in fact know their rugby… whether they get caught up in the spats or not… they still know what they’re talking about when they do discuss the rugby…
seems you’re just here to mix it in the bitchfests… so enjoy them…
but as i said… don’t expect anyone to take you seriously…
gonzo… you are the weakest link…
goodbye
8 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@Atreides-288: I’m not disagreeing with that – no doubt, NZers are coached to hold on to people, slow them down, all illegally. What I’m arguing against is this suggestion it’s not the same in SA.
8 Aug 2012, 12:11 pm
@gonzo-289: When did i say it’s fair play? I said it’s not gouging. Stop putting words in my mouth!
8 Aug 2012, 23:52 pm
@Atreides-288:

You actually believed that?
What if he said that we are not coached illegal tactics in NZ, would you believe him then?
@ufo-290:
Man very picky i must say.
He got the current players point wrong, but does not mean the rest of what he is saying is incorrect.
You seemed to have dodged that. This is proof of an expert blogger
9 Aug 2012, 05:19 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-251:
Well with a south african making a FB page for the haters of Bryce, you see plenty of ” Go Die ” and ” when i see you i am going to beat your head in ” etc. Couldn’t get through the 80,000+ haters comments on there. But to deny anything of the sort, you really have your head in the sand.
9 Aug 2012, 06:17 am
@Hurricane-294:
Sounds fake, most of those haters can’t speak English, let alone write/type it!
9 Aug 2012, 06:44 am
@Hurricane-293:
au contraire, mon ami
not playing dodgeball at all…
simply pointing out that any self-acclaimed kiwi rugby fan who did not know that burger is out injured for the year and that bakkies is playing in france… and that neither were named in the CURRENT bok squad as gonzo asserted is no more than a fair-weather fan… and is not here to discuss rugby per se… but to mix it in the bitchfests (his word)…
i won’t take anything he says seriously… if you wish to take that burden upon yourself…
please do so…!!
9 Aug 2012, 10:23 am
@ufo-296:
UFO you have a dodge and step that Christian Cullen would be proud of.