Super Rugby format a failure

Sports scientist Ross Tucker says there’s little to be positive about when looking back at the 2012 Super Rugby campaign.

The Super Rugby play-off rounds painted an entertaining picture. The Chiefs and Sharks surprised many with their runs into the title decider, following semi-final victories over seven-time champions the Crusaders and table-topping Stormers respectively. The New Zealand franchise then powered to their first Super Rugby crown with a 37-6 triumph in front of their cowbell-ringing fans.

However, as a spectator, one was left disappointed after the Hamilton final. We had to witness one team, who enjoyed a week’s break before the final four stage, capitalise on a side that travelled across the Indian Ocean three times in as many weeks.

One may argue that the Chiefs earned this advantage by securing a higher position on the overall standings. But shouldn’t a final be a fair contest? A match which sees the two in-form teams of the tournament battle it out on more equal grounds?

We saw the Crusaders struggle in the same scenario last season, as they traveled from Nelson to Cape Town before losing in Brisbane to the Reds, who had the advantage the Chiefs had this season.

What’s worse is that there’s nothing that can be done to change the current style of the 15-team tournament. Well … not for the next three seasons at least as Sanzar is committed to a broadcasting contract that only expires in 2015.

Tucker believes the current Super Rugby format isn’t successful.

‘Super Rugby has become a money-driven competition, with a strong bias towards to the Australian teams,’ Tucker told keo.co.za. ‘It’s a shame because Super Rugby was such a strong competition, especially when it was still the Super 12. It was strength versus strength every weekend.

‘In the current format, Australia, who have the weakest conference in Super Rugby, are promised at least one team in the play-offs. And their conference winner will be guaranteed home-ground advantage in their play-off game, despite having less log points than some of the other teams placed below them [the Crusaders, Bulls and Sharks had more log points than the Reds this year].

‘This disadvantages the strongest nation in Super Rugby, which was South Africa this season as they had three teams in the top six. We had to see the Bulls and Sharks travel for their play-off matches, which had a negative impact on their momentum. The Sharks did well, but the travel factor caught up to them.’

Tucker also questioned whether the extended tournament schedule was favoured by supporters.

‘Time to time, Sanzar have been raving about increases in ratings for certain matches and at certain stadiums, but I’m sure that the amount of rugby played has had a negative overall impact. Especially when it comes to rugby in South Africa. With the Currie Cup, we could see the Sharks play the Bulls up to five times a year, which is too much.

‘This structure also robs the spectators of major matches. The top teams don’t always face each other, so some fans would have to wait three to four years before a side like the Crusaders or the Chiefs tour to their stadium.’

Injuries were also a major concern during the season. While several players suffered long-term spells on the sidelines midway through the campaign, it was a common sight to see players limping off early during the play-offs. There were nine injury-forced changes before half-time during the knockout rounds, while there were several substitutions made shortly after the second half restart.

While the annual player exodus is already an issue in all three Sanzar nations, the hectic Super Rugby schedule is likely to encourage more players jet off to Japan and Europe. Japan will become an ideal move as players play half the amount of rugby (because of their foreign player restrictions that only allows three international players in the starting line-up) and get paid more.

Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Ryan Kankowski, Wynand Olivier, Jerome Kaino and Sonny Bill Williams have already formed part of this Asian trend, and many more top players could be lost to Super Rugby by the end of 2015. And who could blame them? Test players have to go through Super Rugby, June inbound tours midway through the competition, the Rugby Championship and the end-of-year tour.

‘The current Super Rugby format does not take the players’ welfare into consideration,’ argued Tucker. ‘I think if we had to do a study by the end of 2015, I’m sure we’d notice players’ careers ending far earlier than compared to past studies. It’s quite unfortunate actually – players would actually have to suffer long-term injuries to prolong their careers. A guy like Schalk Burger would have benefitted from the rest he received this year, even though it was because of injury.

‘There is a point that coaches will need to build bigger squads and use better management plans. They’ll need three quality players in every position to survive the campaign. But there’s still no reason for the season to stretch over so many months. The NFL in America has the shortest season of all the top sports, but it’s the richest code in the world.

‘These changes to Super Rugby have been made for the wrong reasons. The powers in charge will need to take all the negative factors into account.’

297 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

• 151.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-141:

I would like to think the kicking coach is looking after morne.

Meyer will be concentrating on the mental side of things.

like not worrying when pre menstrual stormers fans boo him at newlands.

• 152.oob: Reply to this comment

For me the conference system is a compromise too far for the NZRU and SARU.

Super Rugby’s evolution over the years has mitigated the Australian’s lack of a 3rd tier competition with each and every iteration. The latest iteration, the conference system, all but *replicates* derbies in the Currie Cup and the NZ inter provincial series.

Why go to see Auckland play Otago when the Blues have played the Highlanders home and away a couple of months previously?

South Africa has an advantage here over NZ, in terms of larger population lending to larger audiences but more importantly, more of a parochial loyalty to the local Curry Cup side than Kiwi fans tend to have for their province.

Nonetheless, it’s an expense to *both* Unions in order to benefit Australia. My opinion is that both have done more than enough, sacrificed their own best interests enough, already. The Curried Cup and inter-provincial/Ranfurly Shield

• 153.oob: Reply to this comment

..must be nurtured. Let the Aussies do as they wish but not at the expense of NZ and RSA.

• 154.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-150: Gawky!
    Looks as though he would fall over if I put my glass down too hard.
    Fabulous effort though, not always easy being the fave to win.

• 155.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-148:

Great stuff, thanks…. they were ahead of their time— the one was asked to replace Trevor Rabin as lead guitarist/vocalist when Rabin left Rabitt but he refused. Quite weird blokes apparently and difficult to work with.

• 156.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Bridgitte Hartley won her semi-final in the 500m Women’s Kayak Sprint, she’ll be competing in the finals on Thursday.

Only competitor who qualified faster than her was the Hungarian, Kozak.

On the day anything can happen, Hartley might well win SA another medal.

• 157.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-151: It was the Eastern Cape :) And those were Bok fans booing him.

A true Pre menstrual Stormer’s fan throws plastic items at players. (They don’t BOO)

• 158.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120:

maybe you should write a letter to him to get to the bottom of all this ?

here, i’ll start you off:

liewe oom heyneke,

hoekom kan die stormers se spelers nie die span maak nie?…

(the restt is all you)…

vriendlike groete,
    mal oog

• 159.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-157:

Try telling Lukas Watsembembi that.

Or any opposition player that kicks for poles.

• 160.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-141:

• 161.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-155:

Triathletes became smaller and smaller through the years- the sport was dominated in SA by a bloke called Keith Anderson (RIP)- ex navy diver- he was massive in comparison to these guys but an incredibble athlete and once lead the Hawai Ironman after about 120km’s into the bike but then the sun got to him – he did the whole event only wearing his speedo in heat of over 40 degrees- he also won the SA tri champs in PE on a Suturday and then flew back to CT to win the Argus Cycle tour (non registered riders) the sunday morning- also won the PE to Durban surfski marathon.

He used to like his beers and the odd sigarette too :) — won these events on raw guts and talent and a bit of training.

• 162.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-155: I loved that track. The guitar is quite Knopfler-esque at times.

• 163.boogieloo: Reply to this comment

If sport’s administrators had any brains(global problem) the order of the triathlon would be to run first then the swim and lastly the bike ride.
    The swim in that position would do wonders for the recovering body including cooling it down.

• 164.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-161: My perfect build for a Tri-athlete would be Dominique Donner. :)

• 165.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-151: That really irretates the snot out of me. I though that sh it died in the 90′s

• 166.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-161:

I believe you were a navy diver? If so, you might have served with my father, he was there around 1975 I believe.

• 167.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-164:

For sure- she is a babe :)
    Moerse fast swimmer but had the most terrible running style- he one leg nearly hit he ear when she got tired.

• 168.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-161:

What I find interesting is that Triathlon is quite recent – the first “official” triathlon was in 1974, at Mission Bay, San Diego, just four years before the first Hawaii Ironman.

• 169.Sharks were raped by the Chiefs: Reply to this comment

I can run but I can’t hide and I still remain vile :smile:

• 170.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-167: Sorry, I lost you at “leg”…

http://www.ddonner.com/pictures.htm

• 171.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-166:

He was marginally ahead of me :)
    Last time I mentioned the word “national service” ET kakked me out, lol.

• 172.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-171:

You should get my e-mail address from Dawn, I have some navy diver photos.

• 173.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-170:

Sorry, i meant “her” one leg and “her” ear.,
    I got a bit carried away or i need a new laptop.

• 174.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-161:

Who else but me can challenge WPTID for Wiki king, as this post shows? Being original does not belong to us.

• 175.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-171: ET’s idea of National Service is a set of dinner plates with the government crest on them.

• 176.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-171: @WP Till I Die-172:

Note who among us talk Esme Ev. kak.

• 177.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-175: What happened to poepsak? Have’nt seen him here for a while now.

• 178.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-168:

Ja, i read sbout it- i think the Hawaian event started after competitors from different sporting disciplines took bets on who is the fittest.

Here in CT it was mostly people from a water sport background who took part in the sport when it became popular- the 1.5km sea swim used to put the runners and cyclists off- these days it’s completedly different as most seem to start off as ttriathletes never having specialised in either swimming/running or biking.

• 179.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-176:

Forgot the smiley :smile:

• 180.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-177: He changed his name to something equally stupid recently, but you know what they say about a munki in silk…

• 181.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-170:

There goes my productivity, might as well go home now…

• 182.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-174:

OK, we have an imposter here.

• 183.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-176: These kids today know nothing about etiquette.

• 184.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-171:

Khakiballs did his nation a service by pissing off to Philly.

Awesome.

• 185.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-120: “Talk to me about Heyneke saying that he will ‘coach’ Morne Steyn back into form? HTF does that work, and will he be able to do this in 2 weeks?” – between Spies, Morne & FdP, the ONLY coach that can “press (their) buttons” is Meyer. He seems to know it and they also are aware of it.

they can play as kak as they please for the Bulls but it doesn’t matter because come Bok call up time, Meyer will tell us, he knows how to “coach” them back to form, players from other franchises who are out of form or don’t fit into his gameplan he will DROP and not “coach” to play the way he wants.

• 186.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-178:

Quite correct, it was a bunch of mates on Hawaii who all participated in different events and, as you say, argued about who was fittest and decided to put the three events together – the Waikiki Rough Water Swim, the Hawaii Marathon, and I can’t recall what the cycle event was called.

• 187.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-181: O donner…

• 188.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-181: Gaan sort daai stiffy uit ou maat.

• 189.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-188:

Touch wood!

• 190.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-189: Bwahahaha!! Slat palm aan eie vlees.

• 191.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-181:

Will anyone notice?

• 192.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-178:

Ah, here we go.

In 1977 members of the Mid-Pacific Road Runners and the Waikiki Swim Club participated in the Oahu Perimeter Relay – a 5-person relay around the island of Oahu. For years the members of the two clubs had been debating which athletes were fitter, runners or swimmers. John Collins, a US Navy officer, pointed out that a recent Sports Illustrated article had declared Eddy Mercx the fittest person ever (highest oxygen uptake) and that perhaps cyclists were the fittest. Collins and his wife, as it happens, had taken part in the first two triathlons staged in and around Mission Bay, San Diego.

Collins suggested they settle the debate through a race combining the Waikiki Roughwater Swim (3.86km), the Around-Oahu Bike Race (185km) and the Honolulu Marathon (42.2km).

• 193.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-191: I think he’s referring to his Wikikeo service.

• 194.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-193:

@WP Till I Die-189:

just think of khakiballs in his floral swimming cap and his All Black speedo with the vrot elastic.

That should sort it out sharpish.

• 195.ufo: Reply to this comment

personally i think that stormers/wp should FIRE NIENABER…!!

reason…?

he’s done his job too damn well… we don’t need these agents with their defensive tendencies destroying everything that is sacred about province rugby and stifling our attacking running rugby…

we don’t want a defensive coach we can rely on to win games for us… heaven forbid…!!

without nienaber putting up the saffa version of the great wall of china on the stormers try-line… our guys may remember how to attack again…

we need an innovative attacking coach who will give us the saffa version of curiosity the marsian rover going where few current stormers phases have ever gone… over the opposition try-line…!

we should hire those sharks world guys to start a petition to fire nienaber…!!

• 196.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-194:

Thanks to you, I got to taste my Moroccan chicken pie twice.

• 197.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-192:

Thanks, i remember having read about it. I guess it is impossible to really say which sporting code has the fittest athletes as it just depends how one defines “fitness”.

• 198.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-196:

You should only ever reall buy drugs from the Moroccans.

Certainly not pies.

• 199.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die-196: Morrocan jy mos twee keer proe hoe lekker smaak hy :;):

• 200.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-136: And I almost made the comment that that it will snow in Pretoria before the Bulls win the Currie Cup again.
    Oops!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.