Deysel leads new-look Sharks

The Sharks have made 14 changes to the side that started in the Super Rugby final for their Currie Cup opener against WP in Cape Town.

With most of the Sharks’ first-choice players training with the Springboks or being rested following their trip from Hamilton, a youthful side has been selected for the team’s clash at Newlands.

Deysel will captain the Durban union, who will bank on the likes of wing Odwa Ndungane, centre Meyer Bosman, flank Jacques Botes and hooker Craig Burden for experience. Paul Jordaan, who is the only survivour from the run-on side that played in the Super Rugby final, will start at outside centre.

Sharks – 15 Gouws Prinsloo, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Meyer Bosman, 11 Sbura Sithole, 10 Riaan Viljoen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jean Deysel (c), 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Jandre Marais, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Dale Chadwick.
Subs: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Peet Marais, 19 Francois Kleinhans, 20 Conrad Hoffmann, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 Rosko Specman.