Jean: Pumas Tests are crucial
9 Aug 2012
Jean de Villiers says the first two Tests against Argentina will be the Springboks’ most important with regards to building some early momentum in the Rugby Championship.
The Boks will play Argentina in Cape Town on 18 August before facing the Pumas in Mendoza on 25 August. They’re the easiest fixtures when one considers that the Boks have never lost to Argentina, and that the other two teams in the tournament, Australia and New Zealand, have enjoyed a good record against South Africa in recent times.
But on Wednesday, the Bok captain said that Argentina won’t be easy-beats, and that the first two matches of the campaign are vitally important for reasons beyond results.
‘It [complacency] is a trap we won’t fall into,’ said De Villiers. ‘These two games are the most important in the tournament. Argentina will be psyched up given it’s their first appearance, they will be throwing everything they have at us.
‘For us, it’s important to build on what we achieved in that England series. We were disappointed with the way we ended the series [with a draw in Port Elizabeth]. We have to look at the positives of that series and bring it all together in one 80-minute performance.
‘We see it as a big positive to play against Argentina, and we’re not looking past that.’
The majority of the squad got together on Sunday, while the Sharks’ Boks, who competed in the Super Rugby final in Hamilton, have now joined the team in Cape Town.
The Boks will enjoy two weeks of preparation ahead of that first Test against Argentina, a marked difference to the build up to the England series where they were only afforded a few days together before the first Test.
‘There’s a different mindset knowing you don’t have another tournament to go back to,’ said De Villiers. ‘We played against England knowing we would have to go back to the Super 15. But now all of our focus is on this tournament [the Rugby Championship]. It must also be a positive that we have a whole extra week to prepare compared to that England series.’
The Bok captain defended the game plan, and believes it could bring them success in the coming months. He did concede that the team would need to be more accurate in their implementation of this playing pattern.
‘We didn’t have much time for preparation ahead of that England series, so we stuck to a simple game plan. In saying that, we scored two great tries on the counterattack in the second half of that first Test, and we’ve not seen that side of Bok rugby for awhile.
‘The rugby we played in first half of the second Test was outstanding. There are areas that we can improve but there are also good signs. Hopefully we can evolve, but the more rugby changes the more it stays the same. It’s about getting into the right areas and taking your opportunities.’
De Villiers also defended flyhalf Morné Steyn, who along with the Bok game plan came in for some strong criticism after the third Test against England.
The skipper feels that Steyn is the right man for the Boks and that the only area in Steyn’s game that is below par is his goal-kicking.
‘I tend to disagree with that perception [that Steyn is in a bad space mentally]. His general play in that England series was very good, it was only his kicking at goal that let him down a bit.
‘We’re so used to him kicking at 90 percent, so when he doesn’t there is some concern. But his decision making on attack has been good, and he’s varied his play well.
‘He’s in a good place mentally, and hopefully he can sort out the kicking. We are not too concerned.’
By Jon Cardinelli, in Cape Town

310 Comments
8 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
Will Mandoza do the national anthem in Mendoza?
8 Aug 2012, 12:41 pm
am happy with the gist of the article
no problems here
8 Aug 2012, 13:04 pm
jean…better not lose, everyone will blame you.
if we win, we’ll thank the hemel en aarde en heyneke meyer.
thanks
8 Aug 2012, 13:04 pm
Changes I would make before NZ, Aus
3. WP Nel for Jannie
8. Anyone for Spies
9. Pienaar for Hougaard
14. Hougaard for injured JPP
11. Anyone for Habana
8 Aug 2012, 13:07 pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5pS4DFLW_Bg
A good laugh at the Stormers expense
8 Aug 2012, 13:08 pm
A good laugh at the Stormers expense
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bw8C0HLq9xI
8 Aug 2012, 13:10 pm
@Bok fan-4:
jannie du plessis?
are you for real? he’s in the best form of his career. In fact, I genuinely now describe him as a worldclass tight head.
habana is playing very well but I do tend to feel that there are more ruthless finishers out there now.
8 Aug 2012, 13:15 pm
@Bok fan-4: Sorry and Lambie, Elton, Grant for Morne
8 Aug 2012, 13:15 pm
@pillsbury27-6:
classic!
8 Aug 2012, 13:17 pm
No, Jean, don’t kid the kidder, we have never lost to Argentina ( even though Rudolph the Raindeer Straeul brought us very close), so it will not happen, the real question is how many game are we going to win against Australia and New Zealand
8 Aug 2012, 13:20 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-7: Agreed he is playing much better. Still a liability though with his discipline (not referring to the Walsh’s shocker in the final) and can be hot and cold in the scrum. Often hear the NZ’ say they will only worry about our scrum again when we get a genuine tighthead which imo is WP
8 Aug 2012, 13:25 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-2:
You are never happy Bakkies.
Has your Dr changed your pills.
8 Aug 2012, 13:29 pm
@Bok fan-11: It’s just a pity he is dissapearing overseas! The last out and out tighthead we had was BJ Botha, if we could have a player like him with just maybe just a little more size and power that would be the ultimate.
8 Aug 2012, 13:52 pm
@Skeppie-13: Ja major pity and concerns me that Meyer hasnt seen this as a crisis like when Etzebeth is injured and suddenly looking abroad at Bakkies.
BJ was ok but the last time we had someone that made the opposition nervous I think was when Visagie was playing
8 Aug 2012, 13:56 pm
@Bok fan-14:
I had the opportunity of scrumming against Visagie once or twice. I tell you….he was a strong dude. We definitely need a tighthead like that again…. or like Tommy Laubscher
8 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
@TooMuchRugby-15: Respect. Must have been tough. Think Jake missed an opportunity to bring him back in 06
I hope Meyer is doing everything he can to get a decent 3, however I doubt it. Whats the story with Daan Human?
8 Aug 2012, 14:05 pm
Argie forwards are going to be a menace regardless of final outcomes. Can we afford Spies?
8 Aug 2012, 14:07 pm
@TooMuchRugby-15: I sat next to him on a plane once and that was scary enough
You scrummed against him.
8 Aug 2012, 14:07 pm
@Bok fan-16:
I think he was keen to play again, but as you said Jake missed it.
Not sure about Daan Human, he seems to be well seetled in overseas though. He wasalso a good prospect.
8 Aug 2012, 14:09 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.-17: No-one can afford Spies
8 Aug 2012, 14:42 pm
@cane-12:
we know know the reasons for my unhappiness rather well though, dont we caner.
will that change much?
8 Aug 2012, 15:12 pm
1. Beast
2. Bismarck
3. Jannie
4. Etsebeth
5. Bekker
6. Kollisi
7. Coetzee
8. Alberts
9. Pienaar
10. Steyn
11. Habana
12. F Steyn
13. JDV
14. Hougaard
15. Lambie
8 Aug 2012, 15:23 pm
I am worried that Heyneke Meyer is over-rated. We need more than one game plan.
Some additional points
- Springboks need to get better at offloading in the tackle. Teams find this hard to defend against when you get it right.
- Quick ball at the breakdown is an absolute necessity. The human centipede needs to be abandoned. Hougaard usually gets very quick distribution from the rucks and we play better when this is the case. Heyneke’s game plan has hurt Hougaard more than any other player. He is a special player but has been made to look average under Meyer.
- Morné needs to be dropped. Simple.
- Someone needs to speak to Jannie about his penalty count. We need more depth at tighthead to be honest.
- Wings have a shorter life span than any other position on the field and need to be rotated more often. The following players should be considered as part of our rotation policy: Mvovo, Paul Jordaan, Aplon, Sithole, Mjekevu, Mapoe, Basson, Anthony Volmick, Willie Le Roux.
8 Aug 2012, 15:25 pm
@Bok fan-4: Agree with all your points, except for Jannie. I have nothing against WP Nel and he is great, but Jannie is playing very well and has Bok experience.
@Brigadier Van Zyl-7: While I agree Habana is playing “well” – the use of that adjective alone explains why he should not be a Bok. This is a guy who used to be a god! The best player in the world.
There are many other wingers in SA that are better finishers and also less “glory” (my main gripe with Habana is not passing the ball enough).
Habana’s chasing and defence is still awesome but that is not a winger’s job is it? A Wing must score.
eg. Would the ABs keep playing Carter when he is just “good”? Nope – Cruden or someone would get a chance. Habana plays every Bok Test with no worry of having to deliver in his primary role – scoring. Why not give Mvovo another go? (Who scored on debut), or give Hougaard more time on the wing?
@Bok fan-8: I feel this is the FIRST change that must happen – a new #10.
It affects the goal kicking, tactical kicking, kicking for touch, the inability of the backline to function and thus score tries. Boks keep giving the ball away due to inaccurate kicking (a lot of which is the fly half).
It probably knocks the whole team’s confidence if the Fly half is sukkeling!
I would suggest South Africans are more caring about the players who made the team in (and since) 2004 – Habana, Schalk etc. because they brought us so much joy and brought the pride back to Boks after years of ****.
Same with the guys from 2009 – and Morne especially as he is a hero from the B&I Lions. We dont want to disrespect them because they were the best in the world.
Thats what led to the problem with Smit – no one wanted to disrespect him cos he is a legend. Ditto with Habana and to a degree with Morne and Spies.
While I do love all the guys and am very proud of them, the best should play for the Boks.
Morne might need just a rest and come back better than ever (I hope!)
Habana might get his hunger back if he is not picked for the Boks for once (I hope again).
Nothing personal against those guys, we need to reward form and innovate and experiment a bit. (my humble opinion)
8 Aug 2012, 15:29 pm
@Kaizan-23: Excellent post! As if you are reading my mind!
I dont know why or when, but the Boks have almost competely forgotten how to offload or even just be a bit dynamic before, during or after a tackle.
Agree 100% Hougie is not suddenly a bad player, he is being asked to play in an unnatural way for him. I laughed at the “Human Centipede” – it is wrong and embarrassing to watch.
As Above – Morne must be dropped until he shows good form again.
8 Aug 2012, 15:33 pm
@Kaizan-23:
Anthony Volmick?
8 Aug 2012, 15:43 pm
@TooMuchRugby-26: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthony_Volmink
8 Aug 2012, 15:48 pm
@Kaizan-27:
Thanks, but I haven’t been watching Lions games at all. Can’t comment further.
8 Aug 2012, 16:49 pm
“Jean: Pumas Tests are crucial”
JdV may miss Aplon to practice their forward pass ace movement at the test level?
8 Aug 2012, 18:35 pm
@Hondo-29:
Not if we have the right referee.
Then it could work.
I really think so.
8 Aug 2012, 20:26 pm
So in the Olympics our last medal hopes are with these four:
Women’s 800m – Caster
Womens Kayak singles 500m – Hartley
Womens Javelin – Viljoen
Men’s BMX – Sifiso
Not sure if there are anyone else to bring us home a medal.
8 Aug 2012, 20:33 pm
Fourie into the 110m hurdles final!!!! great stuff young man.
8 Aug 2012, 21:05 pm
So now we have 5 that could bring home a medal with Fourie into the the 110m hurdles.
Good luck to all our medal hopes in the next few days. Really do hope we can collect a few more medals.
8 Aug 2012, 21:10 pm
Nooit hey Jean….how did you come up with that revelation !? Just remain composed a bit better than you did against the Sharks buddy – and the Boks should win these easily.
8 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
@Puma-31: I will be supporting Caster – hope he brings home the gold.
BMX !? How did that become an olympic sport ? Is skate boarding an olympic sport ? Surfing ? Roller blading ? Did someone say – lets find a sport that the nerds that go to comic con would enjoy to watch at the olympics ?
Good luck all remaining South Africans.
8 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
anaso also into the 200m final!!!great run young man!
8 Aug 2012, 21:33 pm
@Puma-33:
Burry Stander also has a fair chance in the Mountainbike cross country. He is ranked 6th in the world and with some luck can get at least a bronze.
8 Aug 2012, 21:45 pm
brilliant run by saffa sprinter to come in behind Bolt to go to final as 7th fastest time in 200
But final will be between Bolt and Blake both around 19.5 or less with Martina, Weir, Lemaitre, Mitchell for bronze around 20 secs
8 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
@Robzim-37: Thanks Rob,
Will look out for the Mountain bike cross country race and watch it. Just watched the 200m semi and a saffa came 2nd to Bolt. So we have another that could pick up a medal. Though the other heat was faster. So will see. Still great to see a saffa runner in the 200m final. Never knew we had a runner that could compete there. So great to see.
8 Aug 2012, 22:25 pm
@Robzim-37: Also yesterday just switched on the tv to see this Harteley lady come in 2nd in her semi in the Kayak single 500m. She looked strong coming in too. Looks like a medal hope there. Watched Viljoen in the Javelin yesterday. Never watch the javelin but Katman told me about her, so watched it. Watched Caster in the 800m heat this morning. She seemed in control and looked like she ran with ease there to reach 2nd. The american lady that won that heat was a bit foolish going out so fast in a heat, might not have enough for tomorrows semi.
Anyhow great to know we still have some medal hopes. Like to see us bring home 6 medals at least. We do have 4 so far. So all good.
8 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@Robzim-37: Was just reading about Sifiso and you know he is only 25 and has had a full knee replacement already! Wow that is young to have had that done. Anyhow kudos to him for still doing what he loves best and that is to compete at the top. Hat off to the young man. Hope he gets a medal.
9 Aug 2012, 00:53 am
oh, come on Habanana is rubbish and has been for the last two years. Another John Smit. He is only there because of the possible outcry and racial nonsense that will be stirred. He needs to go and play 7′s for a year and get some mojo, something he never had. I.E. he needs to develop his weaknesses and strengths( if he has any). Certainly not worthy of a Bok spot. Dropping will give him a “catch a wake up” call.
Jannie and Bussie are like kids, a bunch of 20yr olds. “he hit me, boohoo” players.
need to grow up
9 Aug 2012, 04:43 am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oss0bTL14eE&feature=player_detailpage
9 Aug 2012, 07:38 am
I am a massive fan of JDV, but this title to the thread makes him seem really stupid. I mean, what are the next titles:
“Momentum key to building belief”
“Winning critical to confidence”
& my personal favourite
“Winning home games vital to RC cause”
I mean, come on Keo scribes. Surely you can do better than that.
9 Aug 2012, 10:32 am
Jon – Does the loss to South America count as a loss to the Pumas? Nass Bothas Boks lost to South America in 1982, the team was led by the great Argentinian Hugo Porta!!!
9 Aug 2012, 10:37 am
Meyer will pick
Beast
Bizzie
Jannie
Etsebeth
Kruger
Coetzee
Spies
Hougaard
Morne
Habana
Steyn
De Villiers
Engelbrecht
Kirchner
Kick up and unders all day
9 Aug 2012, 10:48 am
@mshiniwami-46:
Can that side win the RC / avoid the wooden spoon?
9 Aug 2012, 10:55 am
NZINCHINA = Its not so much our players as it is more the playing style! The Boks are going the Bulls path, Heyneke, and to some degree it works if executed correctly but if the oppo can counter it then the Boks are stuffed!!
This has been the Boks problem for years, White was the only coach to get the Boks playing the situation rather than just sticking to a game plan no matter what!!
9 Aug 2012, 11:01 am
@race of tan-45: South American jaguars wasnt it?
@NZINCHINA-47: Hey, i wonder what katman thinks of his bronze medal assesment now that it pushed us ahead of SA? this before our second silver…. we may have another gold in the womans 470 sailing, but at the very least our third silver.. all is good
9 Aug 2012, 11:07 am
@poppa69-49: Yes, you’re right – and in Bloemfontein of all places if I remember correctly.
9 Aug 2012, 11:08 am
@race of tan-48:
Bulls rugby has been successful 3 times in 17 super rugby seasons so you are right it doesn’t work very often, 8,9 & 10 are going to screw you if he picks the side from post 46
@poppa69-49:
we shall see mate , SA have quite a few medals prospects over the next few days so bragging rights are going to go down to the wire
9 Aug 2012, 11:08 am
47 Nzinchina
They will avoid wooden spoon by default because Argies are here now
Oz are also weak to some extent especially without Horwill.and a few players under injury cloud.
But Oz will finish ahead of Boks
SA will get chomped away from home big time
Limited gameplan
48Race of Tan
Not really,White played limited defensive rush/umbrella D gameplan which was found out in 2006 and early 2007 as well.Eddie Jones added edge at RWc.so Boks didnt play situation under White really.its was more prevalent under De Villers 2008-2009 who played more situation that any previous era.Then he lost plot under pressure in 2010-2011 and resorted to up and under as primary source of go forward ball
9 Aug 2012, 11:09 am
is keos tweet serious? Meyer having spoken to both FDP and Fourie?
fat boys club is beginning to ring true I must say..
cant wait to see John Smit pass to Victor Matfield who in turn hits the ruck with Bakkies in support, FDP then releases Morne in an attacking gap, who passes it to JDV to crash ball up the centre channel, the ball is recycled with Vic directing traffic at the ruck, Bakkies is off attacking the opposition scrumhalf while John is still getting to the ruck.. this repeats for 4 phases then Morne attempts a drop goal (which he probably should have tried at the WC) for SA to net their best scoring option of 3 points and then it starts all over again from the half way line..
awesome
9 Aug 2012, 11:12 am
@mshiniwami-52:
I reckon the Argies will win at least 1 at home and possibly 2/3, they have all their top players back in front of a hostile Argie crowd – game on.
9 Aug 2012, 11:13 am
@poppa69-53:
twit / tweet banned here in the PRC, where is this incredible depth that we keep hearing about
9 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
@NZINCHINA-55: tweet follows, as shown on keo..
“he has spoken 2 Fourie (13) & Du Preez (9). Neither r interested at this stage & committed only 2 their clubs in Japan”
so not going to happen, but I find it weird that you would want to bring them back…
like us, SA have depth in certain positions, but this incredible depth that so many like to cling too is really a furphy.. they have some outstanding prospects, as do we, but that doesnt translate to bona fide test stars… its like the talk about Goosen, the boy hasnt done anything yet and is only in his first year of super rugby, can he translate the promise to reality? Id suggest he would have a better chance in NZs system, but thats not to say he wont become world class..
9 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
NzinChina
SA won’t lose to Argies,as bad as Boks have been never lost.as good as Pumas have ever been…never won home or away
Boks won’t end stone last
I can see Argies beating oz in buenos airies though especially upfront
9 Aug 2012, 11:23 am
FdP?I seriously hope not.I believe Meyer is realising that Hougie is not the man and that he is basically stucked with only Pienaar .
9 Aug 2012, 11:28 am
I can see the Argies beating SA as well in BA.We are not as wonderful as we would like to believe.
9 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@stormerforlife1-59: they are very difficult in BA, even had a draw against the ABs there…
dismiss them at your peril..
9 Aug 2012, 11:31 am
Nz will be tested in the next 12-18months as a few players will be on their way to the golden paycheck
Mealamu
Woodcock
Ali Williams
Kaino(Japan already)
McCaw
Weepu
Carter
Nonku
Smith
You could see a very different team ie:
1.B.Franks
2.Elliott
3.Franks
4.Whitelock
5.Retallick
6.Messam
7.Cane/McCaw
8.Read(c)
9.Smith
10.Cruden/Carter
11.Gear
12.Ben Smith
13.Ellison
14.Jane
15.Dagg
9 Aug 2012, 11:31 am
@poppa69-53: Good one mate, I had a good chuckle there!
9 Aug 2012, 11:32 am
The latter team doesn’t have quite the glossy look does it.
9 Aug 2012, 11:35 am
Boks in 12 to 18 months
Beast
Bismark
Jannie
Etsebeth
Kruger
Brussow/Kolisi
Coetzee
Hougaard
Goosen
Mvovo
Fran’s Steyn
De Jongh
JPP
Lambie
9 Aug 2012, 11:39 am
With all these talk off roping retired or over the hill players in again I am beginning to suspect that Meyer’s fragile mentality is coming to the fore again.I have been watching him very intently during the England series and believe he will reach breaking point against the Australasian teams if things don’t go his way.
9 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
@mshiniwami-63: I would never project a teamsheet forward 12-18 months ahead…
we dont know who may come through the NZ system in that time…
9 Aug 2012, 11:45 am
Poppa69
Fair enough but said could be said for any other side
Looking at what’s coming through though there isn’t likely to be drastic changes
Look at ab rwc 11 team only new players in current squad that have come from nowhere somewhat is Retallick & Aaron Smith and Sam Cane.
Out of the amount of over 30 players in Nz team as I named prior there is no magic potion Nz conveyor belt that will churn out that many and be world class at same time in next 12 months as awesome as talent base is.
9 Aug 2012, 11:47 am
That’s just silly to try and project how teams will look nearly two years down the line.This is just clutching at straws.I am more concerned at what Meyer is doing now in terms of team selections.At the moment he doesn’t fill me with confidence re his selections and reasons for it.
9 Aug 2012, 11:53 am
@mshiniwami-67: while I agree iwe are looking at losing the core of our experience, it is all part of the cycle of the game..
hence the inculsion of people like Cane, Coles, Faumuian/ Tameifuna/ Barrett etc in wider training groups now, some also already exposed to test match rugby in the Ireland tests..
I am surprised by Shag, he seems to be aware of the impending loss of experience and as such is bringing many youngsters into the AB environment to both look at them and give them work ons and to also expose them to the culture
9 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
Amazing bronze for SA in women sprint Kayaking.Wonderful performance by Hartley against the odds, huge surprise as the country is traditionally very good in marathon canoeing/kayaking but has never been good at the olympic sprint events. First medal by a SA woman at this olympics.
9 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
@Robzim-70:
Some interesting Olympic facts – little New Zealand with 199 atheletes, has was a bigger Olympic squad than countires like Kazakhstan 115, the Netherlands 184, Iran 53, Belarus 173 and Hungary 159 – but odly the kiwis trail them in medals.
If you look at the their spend per athelete they return fewer medals than countries with much smaller squads.
The the kiwis also have a much bigger squad than the good old RSA – fact!
9 Aug 2012, 12:37 pm
@Robzim-70: their convict neighbours have a massive squad of 414. Only Russia the US and the Poms have bigger squads.
The Chinese, Germans, Italians and Koreans have much smaller squads and their spend per athelete retruns more medals – it is very true.
9 Aug 2012, 12:41 pm
@RL-71: not our fault more of our athletes make the olympic qualifying standard is it?
whats also strange is with 12.5 times the population, SA has less medals than NZ…just what is your point?
9 Aug 2012, 12:47 pm
@RL-71: dont look now, but all those countries are ahead of SA on the medal tally too
eish..
9 Aug 2012, 12:57 pm
@poppa69-73: NZ communist socialist spend per athlete is x5 that of the good old RSA – fact. Convict communist socialist spend per athelete is more than what the communist Chinese spend per athelete – fact.
Get it you psyco socialist ******!
9 Aug 2012, 13:08 pm
So Sa and Kenya clash on the bend in men’s 4 x 400 relay second leg, both go tumbling out, Jamaican second leg runner gets spiked and pulls out, Dominican republic come in 4th after astronomical run by their teenage wunderkind on the last leg blitzing 3 teams from behind only to get disqualified on the change over
Bahamas hold USA team to finish top Usa close 2nd
Final 4 x400 excludes Jamaica, Kenya, Dom. Republic and SA
Only Usa, Bahamas, GB and Trinidad left.
9 Aug 2012, 13:10 pm
@RL-75:
again, athletes have to reach certain qualifying standards to compete at the olympics.. if they dont they are not able to attend.. have you grasped this simple concept yet?
do you have proof of this spend? please detail it. its easy to claim “fact” on a blog without proof, so show us your proof..
the fact that your funds are siphoned off by tenderprenuers and the like before it ever reaches athletes is not our concern..
the only thing that matters is the medal table, and you guys are languishing behind us, yet again…
must really irritate you to the point of having to try and justify why NZ is beating you…
dont worry RL, one day you guys may be able to compete with us, one day champ…
9 Aug 2012, 13:12 pm
@RL-75:
18 New Zealand 3 2 5 10
19 Ukraine 3 1 6 10
20 South Africa 3 1 1 5
in facty, we have double the total of medals you guys do..
bwahahahahahahaahaha
9 Aug 2012, 13:18 pm
And in other news, Mount Tongariro, a volcano dormant for over 100 years has “burped” twice this week, causing major problems for NZ domestic air travel amongst other things.
No doubt in my mind it’s Bryce’s fault…
9 Aug 2012, 13:19 pm
@Puma
Burry Stander for mountain biking has a good chance.
I am chillin in The Republic of Chunt du Fernly at the dam,with my gf.
Dec we are extending and having a inside braai room:-)
There are no tv/radio allowed here,only mellow tunes,social and watching a “bush tv” at night.
9 Aug 2012, 13:23 pm
Well done Bridget Hartley
Magnificent effort to go bronze in woman’s 500 kayak. Sa rowers excelled beyond themselves to get gold and bronze in a discipline that is so emphatically under developed in Sa where every Sa sport loving fcknut is either rugby or skittle sticks bevok, where athletics, swimming and every other sporting effort is left Roux the individual to row his / her own canoe with very little support by governing bodies or government.
its no wonder the two archaic colonialist sports efforts that Sa are traditionally strong at are not endorsed as olympic disciplines because they just too insignificant in the real high competition sporting world, where only traditional pompom colonies still think such archaic sporting enterprise is of far greater value than they are.
9 Aug 2012, 13:47 pm
@fitz1ella-81: Why swear at people for their choices?? seriously dude its every persons right to play or support who ever or what ever they want,
9 Aug 2012, 13:50 pm
I wanted to get into my TV and klap that Kenyan who decided to do a right hand turn in front the RSA runner. I so wanted to see the blade runner do his thing.
eish he was disappointed and fair enough.
9 Aug 2012, 13:54 pm
@wallabie.-83: Hi Wallabie, nothing we can do mate, it’s up to officials to do the right thing, can it guarentee us a medal? i think not, Sad but true
9 Aug 2012, 13:55 pm
I never saw it happen, but was it on purpose??
9 Aug 2012, 14:00 pm
Did anyone see the fire at “Kiwi House” in London caused by a gas cylinder explosion? I think they’d run out of fire lighters for their Barbie and used the cylinder instead.
9 Aug 2012, 14:01 pm
@sl
If rugby is inferior why spend time here?
The result of hard lcd use in the hey day
9 Aug 2012, 14:02 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-87: Yeah Fern you prolly right.
Sad but true
9 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
@David-86:
david ya nutter
9 Aug 2012, 14:10 pm
@poppa69-78: Hi there Pops. Long time. I heard that the Poms invested more hard capital in their Olympic badmington squad that SA did on their entire Olympic squad. Our hokey players have day jobs and our female crossbow rep paid her own way to London. Given this scenario, you’d have to wonder how our guys won any medals at all. I suspect they have acquitted themselves very well under the circumstances despite ‘losing’ that medals tally ‘race’ to Kiwi. Or not?
9 Aug 2012, 14:17 pm
Fitzy is absolutely correct. There is more to SA sport than rugby,cricket and football.The Government and corporate SA need to invest more in Olympic sports.We need to get youngsters involved into these sports as a matter of urgency.We need to break this unnatural obsession with rugby, especially amongst the Afrikaner youth etc etc. I hope this great staging of the Olympics in London will inspire the youth to explore other sportsJump on a bike,jump into a swimming pool,jump into a cano etc etc!Just do it youngsters !Not everybody can become rugby,football and cricket internationals.
9 Aug 2012, 14:21 pm
Vodacom investing one billion into Pirates and Chiefs?Seriously!
9 Aug 2012, 14:22 pm
@TASSIES-90: Its fact, If our Govt and co werent bust stealing money etc more kids could have been fed, more jobs created, and of cause more money spent on our sports, I mean money in this country that cant be accounted for runs into billions and billlions
And no doubt i will be attacked in here later for saying this, but its widely known, and daily in every newspaper, yet they are allowed to just continue.
So yeah well done to every athlete, you have gone far and beyond where most other countries athletes have had to go, specially the wealthy countries athletes
9 Aug 2012, 14:25 pm
@fitz1ella-81: they’re the only sports we’re any good at Skop. Makes sense to me. Kinda market driven if you ask me? But I do agree, the government ought to review their strategy on the olympics in terms of investment. A few hundred million more could have a long term positive effect on a nation in serious long term negative head-space right now. I know the cause but this could be counter-balanced by positives on the playing field. After all, that’s pretty much what the Olympics is all about.
9 Aug 2012, 14:26 pm
@TASSIES-90: Hi Tasies, wasnt belittling their achievements, one kiwi athlete owned a brothel to finance his trip to London
not all kiwi athletes got a hand out to attend the games, but Im sure all off them met the olympic qualifying standard to compete… hence the bigger squad sent over, a fact RL cant seem to grasp…
9 Aug 2012, 14:29 pm
SA back in the 4×400 after as successful protest
9 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
The Men’s 4×400 relay team will run in the final. LJ van Zyl will replace Ofentse Mogawane
9 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
@sharks_lover-93: well I’m not sure Pops is well aquainted with what’s going down here, being so far from his shores. But yes, that summary of yours is pretty much the truth afraid.
9 Aug 2012, 14:32 pm
@TASSIES-98: Yeah i was just adding to what you had said mate, its the sad truth
Hell it runs into billions and billions just in the EC never mind all the other provinces
9 Aug 2012, 14:34 pm
@TASSIES-98: Ill be back home in October Tassies… face it, RL was having a crack at NZs olympic campaign, I shot back..
again, not our fault you guys dont allocate funds for your athletes, why be jealous that a place like NZ does?
9 Aug 2012, 14:34 pm
@poppa69-95: Well that’s bl00dy good. I think you’ll find many(if not most) Saffas support Kiwis over other nations when competing in events like this. Where this arguement about who’s got the most medals etc came from I can’t comprehend. Our actual expectations a low given the scenario I painted earlier. Anything the government gets involved with over here, is (99 time out of 100) at total kockup. Our medalists have been quite extrodinary under the circumstances.
9 Aug 2012, 14:38 pm
@poppa69-100: not jealous mate. You’re getting ahead of yourself. I think its great. Just shows what you can do if anything. I think the word “admire” is more appropriate. I’m more interested in the ‘why’.
9 Aug 2012, 14:38 pm
@TASSIES-101: if one reads this site at all regularly thats not the impression one gets mate… .
9 Aug 2012, 14:39 pm
@stormerforlife1-91:
Very good points
@TASSIES-94:
Howzit Tassies,
It is interesting to note that the cost of an olympic medal to GB is nearly £5 million. They spent an extra £165m in comparison to the Beijing Olympics and got 17 more medals, so that’s a “marginal cost” of about £10m for each extra medal. The money is mainly from their national lottery.
Some sports will always be out of reach for poor countries to win a medal – equestrian, sailing and track cycling are good examples.
9 Aug 2012, 14:41 pm
@stormerforlife1-91: yup, I buy that. Create role models for others to follow. A fit and achieving nation is a healthy nation. Not like our bunch of drunkards/druggies. Only a tiny minority actually do anything physical. Which is p1ss poor.
9 Aug 2012, 14:43 pm
@TASSIES-105: not just that mate, but an Olympic champion can put a country on the map, creating many revenue streams from tourism through to investment etc..
look at someone like Usain Bolt, what he has done for Jamaica far outweighs any investment they may have spent on him imho
9 Aug 2012, 14:43 pm
@TASSIES-105: All nations have those druggies and drunkards mate
9 Aug 2012, 14:45 pm
@Robzim-104: yes good points. I’m thinking boxing, judo, weight-lifting, water polo, soccer etc. Low cost entry sports relative to the examples you mention. I mean; not everyone can afford a 50K mountain bike but how much does a pair of boxing gloves cost?
Just extending the point. I agree intirely.
@poppa69-106: This is true, if on a normal society, aint so where we are, here its those in powwer make sure they will always stay in power ,and the money feeding pot will never run dry for them
@sharks_lover-107: they should have an olympics for that
9 Aug 2012, 14:46 pm
to think Gerhard Vd Heever was a SA high hurdler junior champ/record holder with potential to compete at highest international level and some moron convinced him and influenced him to chuck it all up for the chance to play for Northern Transvaal on the wing.
What kind dumb moronic youth development strategically defunct idiocy is THAT?
Any other country and he would have been encouraged to follow his ultimate dream, like Olympic gold, same as Le Clos, which dumb moronic idiot influenced Vd Heever to chuck up his first love for rugby, are they that incessantly stuck in some archaic colonialist driven doer onder die pale sport?
9 Aug 2012, 14:46 pm
@poppa69-110:
9 Aug 2012, 14:47 pm
and high cost applies to swimming too. Chad Le Clos’s father offered some frightening figures he’d had to invest in his son from an early age. Government assistance only came at the end when the finished product was already tangible. Look how the nation benefitted. At minute cost.
9 Aug 2012, 14:49 pm
@fitz1ella-111: ever thought that he loved both and it was his choice??
Just like AB was a brilliant tennis player, got an invite to do the college thing in the States?? yet HE chose to stay and play cricket?? his choice
@sharks_lover-107: I refering to scale. Here the scale is huge.
Seriously pooper
Get a life
Are you a loner that is bitter and twisted?
9 Aug 2012, 14:50 pm
@TASSIES-113: Exactly Tassies, take aussie for example, they have a sports academy where the kids are trained from very young, what ever they decide to take part in is where they get supported
This is not the same here in SA
9 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
@TASSIES-115: well true
9 Aug 2012, 14:53 pm
@TASSIES-115: Even though true tassies , it all comes back to money or the lack there of, and our GOVT not doing right by the it’s people
9 Aug 2012, 14:53 pm
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-116:
have you finished telling everyone about the dam and building an indoor braai? are you that much of a sad sack that you need validation on a blog for how you think everyone will be impressed because you can have an indoor barbeque?
we have them in Australia and NZ
theyre called stoves here mate..
9 Aug 2012, 14:54 pm
@poppa69-106: that be exactly right. Well I guess you’re picking up the frustration. Our government can see it/bask in it. But do you think they can get their minds around actually developing a plan and investing in it. Not on your nana mate. These guys are dirty breedy pr1cks personified. Others can do it but not this lot. I don’t have facts to support this but I’d put my thing on a block and say we have the worst governments in the world today, relative to size. Pathetic really.
9 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@sharks_lover-117: yes. Well Oz is a ‘rich’ country. Kiwi isn’t. But they can get it right with way less. That’s the point. Its how one uses one’s resources. Not how much. We sit somewhere inbetween Oz and Kiwi in terms of resources. We sit about 10 light-years behind Kiwi in terms of leadership nous.
9 Aug 2012, 14:57 pm
@poppa69-120: very
9 Aug 2012, 14:58 pm
@TASSIES-122: Can’t argue with that, it be the truth
9 Aug 2012, 14:59 pm
@TASSIES-121: I guess I’ll never really comprehend the situation in SA mate… but also, a lot of NZs success can be attributed to the parents, the unsung heroes who do all the voluntary, unpaid grass roots stuff…
running little athletic carnivals, the coach of the kids hockey team, the school PE teachers who not only organise events for the kids but get them interested at a young age…
just throwing money at a sport isnt the answer either, it takes many dedicated people, a lot who never really receive any recognition for their efforts
9 Aug 2012, 15:02 pm
now I’m off to my outside ‘stove’ guys. Mine requires sticks, wood and a match. Because I’m bl00dy poor. And its a nice afternoon here in CT before all hell breaks loose over vthe weekend. FYI the weather report claims we are to recieve 9.8m swells/waves off our coast on sunday. Unbelievable. Thats 30 foot guys. I’m off to Kommetjie on sunday(in the rain) to take in the power. Should be quite a sight. I’ve actually paddle-ski’d a 16ft many moons ago and that was mighty large. Imagine double that. ***** that’s big.
9 Aug 2012, 15:06 pm
@120
A braai room is just a braai inside
Stuff like bread ovens are a nice add on.
Ny gf is sleeping now,had a harsh week
And for yourself?
9 Aug 2012, 15:07 pm
@sharks_lover-117:
Kevin Rudd and Julia Gillard put paid to that by cutting massively the funding to the AIS.
Julia gillard was asked what could have been done to prevent such a poor performance…she dodged ot by saying this is not the time for a review but to support the athletes!
She is in for another roasting!
9 Aug 2012, 15:10 pm
@poppa69-125: Understand. I had picked up on that. Over here you are going to see similiar but only at upper middle class upwards. The bulk of the population cannot even afford a car. Totally reliant on taxis and very limited funds. Our government has access to serious money. We’re a large economy. They can easily afford to back this horse but don’t. It all goes into the back shy or wasted on ill-advised projects, like building a city for the pres’s home kia. You wont believe what these folk do. Trust me you wouldn’t.
9 Aug 2012, 15:11 pm
@TASSIES-126: we call that a hangi mate or, depending on where you start it, arson
enjoy..
9 Aug 2012, 15:27 pm
Vd Heever made a poor choice
Imagine Usain Bolt deciding to play for Jamaican bob sled team..
Or this kid Kerani James being influenced by Grenada youth development program to play soccer because he can one day be bought by man united.
Its mind baffling idiocy for someone with natural athletic or any other high discipline talent to be influenced by societal conditioning to chuck up what they’re GOOD AT, for some inferior melodramatic falsely escalated sporting attention which isn’t even recognized as a true sports discipline on the international IOC stage.
Comes down to comprehensive mentoring and sporting excellence identification. If all the Kenyan and Ethiopian athletes had tried playing soccer or rugby how far in real life would they get? Vd Heever was poorly advised and poorly mentored at youth level, and the real question is how many other Vd Heevers, Seme’nya’s, Moekoenas, Sepengs, Mulaudzi’s etc do we have flying unrecognized under the national radar.
9 Aug 2012, 15:36 pm
@fitz1ella-131:
Stop being so damm melodramatic. People make choices in life. Get over it.
9 Aug 2012, 15:45 pm
@fitz1ella-131: Why do you feel the need to rail against rugby? You’re kicking the underdog here – that doesn’t really fit with your persona.
9 Aug 2012, 16:00 pm
Well done to Hartley on getting the bronze. Was a gutsy race by her and near the end thought she might even pick up the silver. She was catching up really fast there. Still great for her to pick up the bronze.
Pleased we are in the final of the 4X400m relay. After our runner was banged out by the Kenyan thought we were gone. Pleased we appealed and in the final. Don’t think we will pick up a medal but great that we are there anyhow.
Go Sifiso in the bmx semi that is coming up right now.
9 Aug 2012, 16:13 pm
damn bad fall in the BMX
9 Aug 2012, 16:25 pm
Who ever said bmx racing is easy hope they were looking at the 3rd quarter final heat. The WHOLE field came crashing down and one big pile up. Only the kiwi rider excaped. Jislaaik! Damn tough those okes riding out there.
Sifiso came 5th in his heat but think they do a 2nd run.
9 Aug 2012, 16:28 pm
@Puma-136:
Hey buddy! I think there are three rounds.
You said earlier we are in the 400 x 4 final. That is great especially that they have 9 lanes instead of the normal 8 in other countries… Wow I was wanting to see Oscar run and then…
9 Aug 2012, 16:42 pm
@Gumboots-137: well Oscar will be running tonight Gummybear,
they launched a protest and won it
9 Aug 2012, 16:44 pm
Sifiso came 6th in his 2nd run. Doubt he will make it to the semi. Pity.
9 Aug 2012, 16:46 pm
@sharks_lover-138:
Great! Just read it on News24! Sifiso not quite up to standard…
9 Aug 2012, 16:47 pm
@Gumboots-137: I don’t know this sport bud. So had no idea. Just heard after the first run they were doing a 2nd. Bloody hard out there……hahaha. Jeez that crash in the 3rd heat of the first run was spectacular! The whole field came crashing down and only the kiwi managed to get through.
9 Aug 2012, 16:49 pm
@Puma-141:
For sure! Very tough indeed. Seems like they crash quite regularly…
It was rather spectacular. The spectators seem to enjoy the action and the crashes…
9 Aug 2012, 16:49 pm
@sharks_lover-138: Howzit bro, how you doing? Did you see that huge crash in the bmx quarter? Crazy stuff out there…lol.
9 Aug 2012, 16:52 pm
Sunette Viljoen and Caster still medal hopes…
Let’s hope so…
9 Aug 2012, 16:52 pm
@Gumboots-142: They must hurt themselves really bad. Read that Sifiso has already had a full knee replacement, he is only 25 years old! Also listening to the commentators there saying one of the riders had broken a collar bone and the other a spleen. Only for the tough and brave this sport.
9 Aug 2012, 16:53 pm
@Puma-143: Good and you bro?? Yeah its very tough, Nhlapo might be up to speed but i dont think he is a street smart when it comes to some of the tactics i have seen being used
9 Aug 2012, 16:55 pm
@Gumboots-144: Yes and Viljoen in the final tonight at 10pm. Hope Caster makes it through to the final as well. Robzim said there is a cross country bike rider that could get a medal. Think he said his name was Stander. Well something like that. We also have a runner into the final of the 200m tonight. But doubt he will pick up a medal. The other heat he was not in was so much faster. Anyhow good to see he made it to the final. Also there is Fourie that has made it to the 110m hurdles final. So who knows we may pick up another few medals.
9 Aug 2012, 16:56 pm
@Puma-145:
Ja they look lekker mal… Jeez it is hectic. Check how they fall…
9 Aug 2012, 16:58 pm
@sharks_lover-146: He was so much better in the last Olympics. He took a big crash there to put him out that time. Was hoping he would get into the final but doubt it after falling behind in both his runs. Pity. You know he has a full knee replacement? Read that yesterday. Jees hats off to him really. He is only 25.
9 Aug 2012, 16:58 pm
@Puma-147:
Yes we have had a good Olympics for a change. So much better than the one silver last time out.
Yes I forgot about Stander…
You never know we could sqeak one in the 4 x 400 if we are very lucky…
9 Aug 2012, 16:59 pm
@Gumboots-148: Very hectic out there….lol.
9 Aug 2012, 17:00 pm
@Puma-149:
I think the top two of each heat goes through and then the rest fight it out in two runs for the other spots… Not sure though
9 Aug 2012, 17:06 pm
Sifiso not looking good. Now he has to fight it out for the final two spots…
9 Aug 2012, 17:08 pm
Sifisio came 6th again in his 3rd run. Think that is him out now. Pity. He was definitely better in the last Olympics. Don’t know much about this sport, but think you do have to get a good lane to start to have a good chance here.
9 Aug 2012, 17:10 pm
@Gumboots-152: Not sure either. Then he just may have another chance. I watched him in the last Olympics and he was one of the top riders there. Unfortunately he and another rider crashed. Not sure if it was in the semi or final that time. Someone here will know.
Since then read he has had a shoulder op and that knee replacement.
9 Aug 2012, 17:16 pm
@Puma-155: Boet once you have had a knee replacement you will never have the same speed or strength
I am surprised he is still even there, tough kid
9 Aug 2012, 17:21 pm
Cheers guys…
Good luck to all participants…
9 Aug 2012, 17:21 pm
@sharks_lover-156: Very tough kid. Jeez he is only 25! I was told the a knee replacement knee only lasts 15 years or 18 the very most. That is if you look after it. The reason I am still waiting. Feel I am too young for it right now……. Bwaahahaha. Now read Sifiso at 25 has already had one full knee replacment done. Tough young chap for sure.
9 Aug 2012, 17:22 pm
@Gumboots-157: Cheers bud.
9 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@Puma-158:
9 Aug 2012, 17:28 pm
@sharks_lover-160:
As they say you as youngs as you feel………hahaha.
9 Aug 2012, 17:28 pm
Jeez my english is gone to the dogs……..hahaha.
9 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
@Puma-162:
ur only as old as the lady you feel
, so im a young fella hehehe
9 Aug 2012, 17:30 pm
@sharks_lover-160: Really looking forward to see how our CC side go on Saturday. Not a bad side at all if you think how many we have lost to the Boks.
9 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
@sharks_lover-163:
9 Aug 2012, 17:36 pm
@Puma-164: Yeah me too, but still 18 players away from the team of a week ago, thats huge, but hey its a cnace for the fringe players to show their metal and take the chance that has come their way.
9 Aug 2012, 17:38 pm
cnace = chance
9 Aug 2012, 17:53 pm
@sharks_lover-166: Yes will be a different team for sure. Just good to see some getting to start in the CC.
9 Aug 2012, 17:56 pm
Rugby and cricket are way overrated and over played in contrast to what represents ultimate sporting endeavor and achievement in certain rather insulatory induced societies.
Cricket should rate about as interesting or appealing as baseball or croquet as a spectacle, all other bat/racquet ball sports like tennis, badminton, table tennis far exceed cricket in levels of mastery and player technique and discipline.
Rugby has a far greater spectator appeal and athletic attractiveness yet it is fraught with way too many rules and stupid ifs & buts regulations and refereeing idiosyncratic influences to ever be regarded as pure expression of athletic ability.
Rugby could never be classed as pure unadulterated sporting endeavor on the scale that track and field or most other direct participation sports bring out the pure individual excellence that the olympic ratified sports can or do.
So rugby could be accepted as a big brawl of bravado showing off certain ball handling, kicking, athletic enterprising, and physical domination attributes, which gives it the overall spectator interest it generates, but in comparison to olympic or international track and field competition, it pales into insignificance in comparison.
7′s rugby perhaps could step up to showcase some of those attributes which determine the skills and disciplines that rugby portray as aesthetically attractive combinations of ball skill and athletic ability, but 15 man rugby will always simply be barbarism in action under the guise of ‘sport’ much like MMA or cage fighting does.
Skittle sticks on the other hand is just a stupid colonialist throwback to the Victorian era where men try engage in a game devised to keep the gentry occupied on balmy days of boredom in the far flung colonies. No wonder it could never become ratified as an olympics discipline, same as 15 man rugby union could not.
9 Aug 2012, 18:01 pm
@sharks_lover-166: Is Kanko coming back to the Sharks after his six months in Japan? Read Rugby 365 and see what you think. Seems as if Sharks have released him from his contract.
9 Aug 2012, 18:02 pm
If Sharks loss Kanko that would be a huge loss for us in next years S15.
9 Aug 2012, 18:02 pm
@Puma-171: loss = lose
Okay out of here now.
9 Aug 2012, 18:37 pm
@Puma-171: Puma trust me he will be back with the Sharks, when the Sharks players greeted him it was with the see you back for the Super 15, Also he answered it with that fact, He asked for a release of contract for 6 months
9 Aug 2012, 18:42 pm
Yo Pops this one is for you!
“[Warning: this post contains a lot of bad language and shouting. My parents should stop reading now.]
Dear Government (big, small, national and local),
Here’s an idea. Take your pathetic, meaningless, mind-blowingly expensive and stomach-churningly patronising Women’s Day and cancel it. Cancel the entire idea of “women’s month”. Tell me, what is the ******* point?
Trash that ridiculous, pointless, bloated Dept of Women, Children and People with Disabilities (how’s that for neatly categorising us little ladies – not only does possession of a ****** constitute a disability, but ******-owners are as powerless and lacking in agency as children). It’s no more than a particularly sanctimonious event-planning agency. The departmental mission? “Ooh, women and children are getting raped and abused, they bear the brunt of criminally lousy education and brutal poverty: LET THEM EAT CUPCAKES! Plus we’ll throw in some glossy leaflets, and send someone in a designer suit to pat heads and make a speech full of platitudes before we jet off for another shopping trip er international conference.”
So ditch the pointless sodding public holiday (estimated cost to the economy: SEVEN BILLION). Stop bleating about the month of women. It’s PATHETIC, considering it’s open season on South African women 24/7, year in, year out. Our rape stats are a global disgrace (Goddess, how many times do I have to ******* say this, the WORST in the world for a country not at war – the scale is unimaginable, the suffering ditto), black lesbians have “carve me up and smash my brains in” signs stamped on their backs, rural women and children live in relentless, grinding misery and poverty HUGELY exacerbated by patriarchal strictures, which are of course absolutely sacred (and the fact that the Traditional Courts Bill, which would render these women even more helpless and wretched, is actually allowed to pollute national airtime is a bloody disgrace). We are failing, no, betraying, no, ABUSING children by callously pissing away their only shot at an education, their ONLY chance of a life of decent employment, a form of abuse that will affect girls worse than boys; we’re losing ground in terms of infant and maternal mortality; women without cash are being denied C-sections at state hospitals and giving birth to stillborn babies on the floor as a result. SO DON’T TALK TO ME ABOUT ******* WOMEN’S DAY YOU BOZOS.
Here’s a better idea. Instead of the jamborees and a long weekend of more boozing and beatings and rapes, take the money – the obscene piles and piles of it you intend to waste – and use it to fund Rape Crisis, which is having to CLOSE ITS ******* DOORS because you don’t think it’s worth supporting, never mind that it does priceless work, not just in enabling women and their families to pick up their lives after they’ve been blown apart, but in taking an enormous burden off both the public health and criminal justice systems. Fund the Saartjie Baartman Centre for Women and Children, which is literally having bake sales to keep running. All those NGOs that have lost their overseas funding because of the economic crisis – how about funding them, the hundreds that work with the poorest of the poor (which, SURPRISE! equates women and children), which do invaluable work for women with TB or Aids, which support women who are raising grandchildren, running crèches, soup kitchens, micro-employment schemes, food gardens, hospices and all the heroic things that South African women do to keep this country running, NO ******* THANKS TO YOU.
Stop whining about the Lotto (an additional tax on the poor) and big business, and how “they need to come to the party”. International funders have been warning for South African NGOs for years, you’re not a baby democracy any more, YOUR government needs to start picking up the tab for this. And so you bloody well ought. What’s next, asking the Lotto or big business to supply the state with ambulances?
So grow the **** up. Cancel the froth and bubbles. What you have reduced the 1956 Women’s March to is a travesty. That was an occasion of extraordinary dignity and power, and we’d like to remember and honour it without having to use sickbags, please. Lilian Ngoyi and Albertina Sisulu and the thousands of brave women who took part that day are squirming in their graves at your appalling, ongoing, almost CASUAL abandonment of this country’s women, especially the poorest ones. The public spectacle of hypocrisy that is Women’s Day is just rubbing salt into their wounds.
*Never post in a rage. But sometimes rage is appropriate.”
9 Aug 2012, 18:58 pm
@fitz1ella-169: So rugby is kak but sevens is ok because the IOC says so – got it
9 Aug 2012, 19:00 pm
@kaksioek-175:
Rugby is kak till the WP manages to win another game then he will be shouting their praisers
9 Aug 2012, 19:07 pm
@fitz1ella-169:
while i may not agree with you, i will say the following part of your statement:
“Rugby has a far greater spectator appeal and athletic attractiveness yet it is fraught with way too many rules and stupid ifs & buts regulations and refereeing idiosyncratic influences to ever be regarded as pure expression of athletic ability.”
would be closer to correct if you included in it the filthy, outright and blatant cheating, illegal, dishonest and dangerous play which also occures (mostly a result of kiwi participation in the sport).
9 Aug 2012, 19:10 pm
Where is Pops now. I copied and pasted just for him!
9 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
@fitz1ella-169: Still bitter ?
9 Aug 2012, 19:35 pm
Time to clear the room
9 Aug 2012, 19:45 pm
The greatest 800m runner ever? Meet David Rudisha
By Tom Rostance
BBC Sport at the Olympic Park
For the 80,000 fans lucky enough to have tickets for Thursday evening’s athletics session at the Olympic Stadium, there is one stand-out name they are all there to see.
Usain Bolt is a global star who could grab his second gold medal in four days in the 200m final later on – but he is not the only world-beater on display.
David Rudisha
Born: 17 December 1988
Medals: 800m world champion 2011; African 800m champion 2008, 2010; 800m world junior champion 2006
800m PB: 1:41.01 (World Record)
400m PB: 45.50 seconds
At 20:00 BST, David Rudisha will aim to show the world that he is the greatest 800m runner of all time.
The 23-year-old Kenyan may have entered these Games under the radar of many, but there is a good reason why BBC athletics commentator and Olympic medallist Brendan Foster has described him as the star attraction of London 2012.
Speaking before Tuesday’s semi-final – which Rudisha won at a canter ahead of British athlete Andrew Osagie – Foster said: “We are talking about a magnificent athlete. This man could be the star of these Olympic Games.
“We’ve got Usain Bolt winning lots of medals but this man could break the world record if he puts his mind to it.”
Rudisha did that twice within the space of a single week in 2010, lowering the best time over two laps to one minute 41.01 at the age of just 21, and he has recorded six of the 10 fastest 800m ever run, as well as winning gold at last year’s World Championships in South Korea.
Analysis
Seb Coe
Chairman, London 2012
“David Rudisha is the outstanding 800m runner of his generation. And I will say it, probably on paper the most impressive track and field athlete at these Games – I would say that, wouldn’t I?”
It is, historically, not an easy record to break. The time of 1:41.73 set by London Games chief Sebastian Coe in 1981 stood for more than 16 years before it was matched, and then improved, by Kenyan-born Dane Wilson Kipketer. He and Rudisha remain the only men ever to better Coe’s figures, and no-one except the Kenyan has broken the 1:43 barrier this year.
Yet remarkably there are even hopes that Rudisha could become the first man to break 1:40 in the final.
Whatever the time, Foster is in no doubt that he will deliver gold.
He said: “He likes to run from the front. He doesn’t like trouble around him and he is outstanding enough to not have to worry about people around him.
“Nobody can touch him. He’s a beautiful athlete to watch.”
Rudisha’s father, Daniel, was also an athlete and took silver in the 4x400m relay in the 1968 Games in Mexico City.
Rudisha told BBC Sport: “My father is a big inspiration to me – he is the reason why I am here, why I am running.
The fastest 800m ever
David Rudisha: 1:41.01
David Rudisha: 1:41.09
Wilson Kipketer: 1:41.11
Wilson Kipketer: 1:41.24
David Rudisha: 1:41.33
“I understand that billions of people are watching. Doing something special at the Olympics would be an honour.
“Kenya know I am going to bring this gold home. They have no doubt. I want to do it for them.”
And while the eyes of the world will be on a rangy Jamaican and his bid for Olympic greatness, they may just witness this unassuming Kenyan join him.
9 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
@Dawn-180:
uhm, room’s pretty empty…
9 Aug 2012, 19:55 pm
Comparing witnessing Bolt & Blake for the 100 and 200 and Rudisha for the 800 and James for the 400 to say a RWC or a S15 final… pfffftt
No comparison.. not even close… not even remotely close..
I mean who got true appreciation of true sporting excellence compared to a bunch of rugger thugs slugging it out on an uneven playing field?
and that goes for all or any rugby team compared to watching these exhilarating performances of absolute unequaled class.
Out to go check the next spate of drama to unfold on the greatest sporting show on earth.
9 Aug 2012, 20:07 pm
There is no doubt that the Olympics is the greatest sporting show on earth.
The main reason why rugby is not an olympic sport is not because the sport is not good or popular enough but probably because it would be logistically difficult to hold a full fifteen-a-side rugby competition as part of the games over a 2 week period.
We can be flipping glad as well- the players are already overplayed as it is.
9 Aug 2012, 20:15 pm
@Robzim-184: Indeed that alone is the reason. Either there is a rugby tournament with only a few teams involved (if round robin) or straight playoffs, as no way any participant will be able to use full strenght team for more than 3 games during that time.
9 Aug 2012, 20:30 pm
Blooming decathlon is interminable
9 Aug 2012, 20:32 pm
When is Usain on again.
9 Aug 2012, 20:36 pm
I love these games, but how they can have rubbish like dressage and synchronised swimming and air pistol shooting up there on the same stage as the track & field and the swimming is just baffling.
9 Aug 2012, 20:40 pm
Swimming not baffling
You fast you win?
9 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
Caster looking awesome…!!!
You go girl…!!!
9 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
easily into the finals…
1:57:something…!!
9 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
Imperious Caster!!You go …..
9 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
@sharks_lover-176: I know they say people were walking around looking like suicidal zombies in Cape Town on the Sunday after their team was unceremoniously disposed of like a used tissue by the Sharks in the Super 15 semi-final however I didn’t realize it was that bad. Skop just provides an indicator of how badly they have taken it. I guess its no more rugby for Skoppie ?
9 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
She looked indestructible. Gold coming up on Saturday.
9 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
yeah… hardly breathing hard at the end there…
very real chance of a gold…
9 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
It’s also baffling how the Lions are still competing in super rugby after ten years of utter dros.The Olympics are more than just popular sports.
@>^..^< katman-188:
Did you hear the news that the head of the Somali delegation was called aside by the IOC and told in no uncertain terms that shooting and sailing are not part of the same event?
@fitz1ella-183: So you would say that Bolt or Phelps are greater sportsmen than some of the greatest rugby players ? Interesting.
9 Aug 2012, 20:50 pm
@IAAS-197:
9 Aug 2012, 20:50 pm
how about the 35 year old italian donato in the triple jump…!!??
very cool to see an old man mixing it up the kids…!!
9 Aug 2012, 20:51 pm
@ufo-195:
Interesting that all our medals so far have been in watersport.
9 Aug 2012, 20:53 pm
Well done Caster. She looked at ease and in total control in winning her heat. Really do hope Caster can win the gold. She looks as if she can.
9 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
no doubt the olympics is the greatest sporting spectacle on the planet…
and the brits putting on the best ever games…!!
huge respect for the decathletes…!!
they have to be the best all round sportsmen on the planet for all the different disciplines testing their all round ability… surely settling all argument…
willem coertzen doing us proud but not in medal contention…
9 Aug 2012, 20:56 pm
@ufo-200: Jean is 31 – not too far to go
9 Aug 2012, 20:58 pm
yeah rob… for once it’s a positive thing to say they are fair-weather sports people…
sunny skies, braaivleis and chevrolets have to have pay-off sometime…!!
9 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
Jessie Owens,Carl Lewis and soon Usain Bolt are greater athletes and legends than what the rugby world can offer.Rugby is not a true world sport.
dusky…
that’s 4 years…!! plenty time to captain the boks at the next world cup…!!
800m final- now we can witness true greatness- Rudisha is one of the greatest athletes ever over any distance.
9 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@Robzim-194: Hope she takes the Gold on Saturday. She looked like she went for a stroll….lol. Seemed so in control, just looked effortless for her. Also her semi was the toughest. Well done. Truely hope she picks up the gold now.
Superb by Hartley too picking up the bronze. Thought if it was a second longer she would have taken the silver. Came from behind for that bronze. Great race by her. Now for Viljoen to get a medal later tonight. Hope she can get a gold as well. We also have a saffa in the 200m later. Whether he can pick up a medal have no idea. Hope so.
9 Aug 2012, 21:01 pm
rob… do you know what happened with burry stander…?
heard he was racing this afternoon… but was on the mountain… can’t find anything about him…
9 Aug 2012, 21:02 pm
world record!!!!
rudisha doing it for africa in a new world record…!!!
You can add Rudisha to that list now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Tac says Spies has legs like Usain.
9 Aug 2012, 21:03 pm
What a run by Rudisha. Was in total control the whole race.
9 Aug 2012, 21:04 pm
Brilliant absolutely brilliant run by Rudisha. Gets a world record too. Awesome run.
Rudisha is an ATHLETIC GOD!!
rob… what chance caster giving us a world record on saturday…?
don’t be surprised…!
9 Aug 2012, 21:05 pm
@ufo-210:
He is only racing sunday afternoon at 14h30 .
9 Aug 2012, 21:05 pm
@Dawn-174:
which website was that taken from?
it was a bladdy good rant.
expresses what a lot of us think.
9 Aug 2012, 21:06 pm
@ufo-207: I wouldn’t have it any other way.
9 Aug 2012, 21:06 pm
@ufo-218: Would be awesome ufo. Just want her to get gold first though.
9 Aug 2012, 21:07 pm
oh… cool… thanks rob…
was worried i’d missed something…!!
9 Aug 2012, 21:07 pm
Now for Bolt in the 200m final later tonight. Should take gold.
Really hope our man picks up a medal.
9 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
@Robzim-194:
@ufo-195:
i just hope, and i say this sincerely, that she is dutifully taking whatever hormonal treatment medication she is expected to and that if she does win a medal and is subsequently tested for compliance (which she will probably be, considering the whole debacle that came before and any issues competitors may have) that any such tests come up positively, no i mean negatively?) which would be positively, in her favour.
9 Aug 2012, 21:09 pm
Someone posted it on FB.
I thought it rang true.
9 Aug 2012, 21:11 pm
yeah puma bud… of course… first things first…
but she’ll be pushed in the final… she just cruised in this time without even having to engage top gear… astonished the commentators that she’s back to her best…!!
9 Aug 2012, 21:11 pm
@Puma-209:
Hartley did brilliantly indeed. Rowing is a very minority sport in SA- here in CT I have just about never seen anybody doing it- I have no idea where she trained and who trained her as it seems like quite a technical sport and coaching is obviously very important. Seems like a nice sport though, i always watch the Oxford/Campridge race.
9 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
dawn… charo…
yes… excellent article…
9 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-225: ??????Don’t hang yourself now.Rubbish post.
9 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
bakkies…
of course she will…
after what she’s been put through so unfairly of course she’s gonna be clean…
show some faith man…!!
sheesh…
9 Aug 2012, 21:15 pm
i mean it will positively be negative… that she is not taking her medication?
i’m confused
i mean if she is tested, the test must show she is taking whatever medication she’s supposed to.
9 Aug 2012, 21:16 pm
bakkies don’t be churlish man…
9 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
Astronomical 800
fastest 800 Ever !!
New WR 1.40,91 by Rudisha first man under 1.41
and AMOS – BOTSWANA 18 yr old young heir to the throne was not over awed by the big event to pull out the 3rd FASTEST 800 OF ALL TIME
Beating Kipketer and Coe’s old records to go 1.41,33 in his FIRST olympics at 18 yrs of age
Astronomical performance take a bow young AMOS, Rudisha may have bust the world record but Amos bust the old olympics record AND have only run slower time than the WR holder Rudisha himself .. Ever !!
9 Aug 2012, 21:20 pm
@IAAS-197: Ha ha. Don’t joke though. In the winter olympics they manage to put skiing and shooting a shotgun in the same event.
9 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
The 4x100m record still in the hand of the East Germans!That must be one of the last dodgy records still on the record books.
9 Aug 2012, 21:24 pm
This Italian triple jumper is looking pretty good. I mean, he’s almost my age.
9 Aug 2012, 21:25 pm
@ufo-231:
i have faith in her
i do not have faith in the government/sascock people
@ufo-233:
i had to google the word.
i do not believe i am being churlish
honestly, i mean this in the nicest way possible and only with her best interests at heart.
@stormerforlife1-230:
please refer above.
9 Aug 2012, 21:25 pm
Bakkies always confuses himself
9 Aug 2012, 21:26 pm
South African March Fiasconaro (in the colours of Italy at the time) once held the world record for the 800m in a time of 1.43.7. He was more a rugby player and party- animal than a professional athlete- i wonder what he would have achieved if he had to train like these guys?
9 Aug 2012, 21:26 pm
It’s a well-known fact that some of those E-German women…..some would call them men……were loaded to the rafters with testerone drugs.
9 Aug 2012, 21:27 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-238: you are a **** yourself….most of the times.
9 Aug 2012, 21:29 pm
cool bakks… will take your word for it…
9 Aug 2012, 21:32 pm
What happened to our female sprinters?Yvette de Klerk probably the last good one.
9 Aug 2012, 21:33 pm
And why is , Rudisha’s countryman who is only 17yrs.old and ran 3rd. not the heir apparent especially considering the Kenyan history in this distance and longer?
9 Aug 2012, 21:34 pm
go donato go…!!
9 Aug 2012, 21:36 pm
@stormerforlife1-242:
i dont understand? i never called you a doo.s at all?
@ufo-243:
thank you.
would you say the following is a correct usage of the the words little sensitivities? i tried googling it with no success:
29.IAAS: Reply to this comment
8 Aug 2012, 20:07 pm
@pillsbury27-8:
Stormers supporters do have a sense of humour.
Unlike Bulls and Sharks supporters who have little sensitivities.
30.wait for it, wait for it…: Reply to this comment
8 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@IAAS-29:
little sensitivities..?..
i dont even know what that means.
31.IAAS: Reply to this comment
8 Aug 2012, 23:11 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-30:
Little sensitivities means……..
wait for it……
it’s coming………
The Bulls losing at fortress Loftus. hahahahahahaha
You did ask for details.
9 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-247:
i suspect he screwed up there
but i cant be sure
9 Aug 2012, 21:40 pm
don’t ask me to explain what someone else says bakks…
9 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
Bakkies are you dronk
9 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
15 min to more history making for the Jammies so who worries about March when it is August now?
9 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@ufo-249:
ok, never mind then
@Dawn-250:
no
but some days my brain does not work as well as i would like
i dont know why
i would drink coffee or tea, but its too late for that
will not sleep
9 Aug 2012, 21:49 pm
can any sports scientists out there explain something to me…??
i know the highjump ladies are all tall, lean, lithe and ripped…
these are obvious criteria for excelling in the discipline,…
but since when was it written into the rules that model looks are also prescribed requirements for female olympic highjumpers…!!
dang darn it…!!
never seen such a beautiful group of athletes anywhere…any time… ever…!
9 Aug 2012, 21:49 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-247: i called you a c.ock.i would never call a man a d.oos.
9 Aug 2012, 21:50 pm
The Jammies, simply islanders, mock with all their antics(see Bolt in front of the CCTV cams) the big, rich nations. Worse yet despite all their custom-structured steroids they can do nothing about the matter.
9 Aug 2012, 21:51 pm
Amos left the young Kenyan in his wake
Amos was the only 800 athlete anywhere remotely within striking distance of Rudisha.
Amos bust the old olympic record in his FIRST Olympic final obliterated the rest of the field at 1.41,33 which is the THIRD fastest 800 OF ALL time only running slower than Rudisha making him the SECOND fastest 800 runner ever.
That’s why Rudisha is king and Amos is the heir apparent and not the 17 year old Kenyan who was a further full second (approx 8 mts ) behind.
9 Aug 2012, 21:53 pm
donato bronze…
awesome stuff…
well done old man… showing the whippersnappers how to do it…!!
9 Aug 2012, 21:54 pm
@ufo-253:
It’s one of my favourite events.
For that very reason.
9 Aug 2012, 21:55 pm
@wait for it, wait for it…-252:
Is jy bang dat jy as ‘n ware ou boer in jou bed sal pis?
9 Aug 2012, 21:55 pm
Let’s get rrready to rrrrrumble!
9 Aug 2012, 21:56 pm
iaas…
good man..!!
200m bout to start…
9 Aug 2012, 21:56 pm
@ufo-257:
Lol, there was also the 34 year old Felix Sanchez who won gold in the 400 m hurdles. Now where is that spikes…….
9 Aug 2012, 21:57 pm
go jobodwana….!!!
here comes sub 19.2 in the 200
And watch out for Blake he can shock the world tonight
9 Aug 2012, 21:58 pm
Oogle what kuk you talking.
Are you dronk.
9 Aug 2012, 22:00 pm
A triple history-making event and a trifecta for the fun-loving Jammies.
9 Aug 2012, 22:01 pm
What a legend!!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:02 pm
My name is not Dawn.
@fitz1ella-264:
Blake ran like a man possessed – but Bolt is in a league of his own.
First man to have retained the 200m Olympic title. Something Carl Lweis couldn’t do.
So there.
IREE!!!!!!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:03 pm
Fantastic stuff by the islanders.
Now for the javelin. Go Sunette.
9 Aug 2012, 22:04 pm
Nope the sprint King is still the King
Bolt now surpassing Owens, Johnson, Lewis as the greatest sprinter ever
19.32 is Johnson’s Atlanta WR time
Jamaican 1,2;3 clean sweep, when last did that occur? Way back in the Usa heydays
9 Aug 2012, 22:04 pm
Here comes our girl!Go Viljoen!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:05 pm
If Bolt put his back in over the last 10m, he would have beaten the olympic record. Why do they ease up like that? To look cool across the line?
9 Aug 2012, 22:08 pm
Sunette = uMkhonto we Sizwe…!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:10 pm
@stormerforlife1-254:
look, if this is about caster then you misunderstand me. i mean her no ill will.
i have an urge to insult you, but what’s the point then.
@Oerwoudrugbymag-259:
nee, koffie hou my deur die nag wakker as ek dit te laat in die aand drink
dis al wat ek se
ok
i’m going to bed
goodnight all and enjoy your olympics (not a fan) but enjoy it all the same
9 Aug 2012, 22:11 pm
Day off for you lot…!
Yet ANOTHER SA holiday !!
Oh well, at least there was something on the telly!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:12 pm
@>^..^< katman-275:
Blimey, Bolt is milking this for all it is worth……
9 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
The Mens 800m Gold medalist seems a nice bloke…… A Kenyan.
Funny National Anthem, not exactly catchy!
9 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
@fitz1ella-264: @fitz1ella-273:
Praat jy jou hondkop se KAK weer?
Lees jou 264 en dan jou nuwe testament se 273. Hondkak is jy maar altyd.
9 Aug 2012, 22:16 pm
@carol-279: You have a problem with it stormfront trooper?
9 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
Oogle are you extraball?
9 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
@stormerforlife1-282:
He’s not the only athelete who has won a medal today!
9 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
@Oerwoudrugbymag-281: ET…..is that you?
9 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
@stormerforlife1-282:
Oh btw you are a complete p r a t!
Just my opinion!
9 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
Bolt on BBC says he is fast tonight but not fit enough and that is why he did not break a WR like Rudisha did.
9 Aug 2012, 22:26 pm
Bolt is a gentleman.He could easily have smashed the record but refused to to take the shine off his African brother’s night.The night belonged to David Rudisha.
9 Aug 2012, 22:27 pm
@Robzim
Waar is Robzim vanaand? Praat jy altyd met ‘n man as hy slaap(Maandagaand)? Het jy my ook gevoel, jy is mos ‘n Kaapse Stormer? Dit was ****** koud in Kirkwood hierdie laaste klompie dae.
9 Aug 2012, 22:31 pm
I wonder whether BNP members also celebrate team GB’S medals won by black Olympians?
9 Aug 2012, 22:32 pm
@stormerforlife1-288:
He and his Jammie mates stopped the BBC interview while the Kenyan national anthem for Rudisha’s gold was playing(to honour Kenya and Rudisha). They continued it after the anthem.
9 Aug 2012, 22:34 pm
I got it little wrong above, Amos’ silver medal 800 time wasn’t 1.41,33 which is what I thought I heard commentators say, it was 1.41,73 for new world junior record but not the 3rd fastest 800 ever but definitely not far off it..
9 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@oogle-291: That’s respect for you!I missed that.Watching the coverage on Eurosport.
9 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@stormerforlife1-293:
BBC is the best for these things. I do keep an eye on Eurosport(Britain) too.
9 Aug 2012, 22:45 pm
@fitz1ella-292:
Ag man almal weet jy praat pure strond. En niemand neem jou kwalik. Gaan slaap oupa dit is f o k k en laat vir jou.
9 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
@Oerwoudrugbymag-281:
Wie die vok is jy jou onnoselike kont
Ek het voorspel Blake Kan miskien iets oorwonderd uittrek op die aand en dat hy of Bolt onder 19’20 Kan hardloop.
Het nie gebeur, Bolt het 19’32 gekry selle tyd as Johnson’s se ou WR om n par meter voor Blake te eindig.
9 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
9-1 trashing for the Brits in the mens hockey semi against the Netherlands. OUCH!!
9 Aug 2012, 22:59 pm
@fitz1ella-296:
DommemPoppen lees jou woorde van 264 en 273.
(watch out for Blake he can shock the world tonight – 264)- geen miskien daar
En janee jy kan miskien jou broekies ook vuil maak voor jy nou gaan slaap. Nou F O K of net voor jy dit doen.
9 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
@Oerwoudrugbymag-298: sies man ET!
9 Aug 2012, 23:03 pm
@fitz1ella-296:
oorwonderd uittrek – waar?
Miskien uit jou poephol?
Ek mors my tyd met ‘n gemors soos jy. Ek gaan liewers slaap.
9 Aug 2012, 23:04 pm
Bolt ,just now confirmed that he is a living legend.No doubt about that Mr Bolt!!!
9 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
@Oerwoudrugbymag-300: fokkof and good riddance
9 Aug 2012, 23:16 pm
Bolt is the first man(Jammie first country) to win 100m and 200m golds in consecutive Olympics.
Jamaica first country to go 1-2(100m) and 1-2-3(200m)in the same Olympics. They have .won 9/15 sprint medals with relays remaining. And all of this from a very poor, tiny Caribbean nation.
Stunning feats these.
9 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
@oogle-303: Very true.Just listened to an interview with the Jamaican High Commissioner on Sky Sports News.Competitions from Kindergarten stage,30-40 thousand people at their national competitions etc etc.The supply is never going to stop!Scary stuff man!
10 Aug 2012, 03:53 am
Snoekskiet
Hartley the paddling chick thanked sascoc for their financial help.
Stop posting when drugged up!
10 Aug 2012, 09:35 am
@oogle-303:
Uhm, I think you might find that the top sprinters from the Caribean do not train on the poor, tiny islands.
10 Aug 2012, 09:39 am
Does anyone have any idea what the Springbok side would look like if selected purely on who leads each position in stats? I know this is a completely impractical form of selection but would be interesting to see nonetheless.
10 Aug 2012, 09:49 am
My apologies for posting a rugby question on a sprinting thread
10 Aug 2012, 10:26 am
Dawn @ 174.On behalf of the women in my family and of all our female
friends,thank you.Unbelievably good post.
11 Aug 2012, 08:20 am
@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-305:
Stand by for skopshyte to tell us that The Sharks were third time lucky when they hammer the Brokebacks again.