Jean: Pumas Tests are crucial

Jean de Villiers says the first two Tests against Argentina will be the Springboks’ most important with regards to building some early momentum in the Rugby Championship.

The Boks will play Argentina in Cape Town on 18 August before facing the Pumas in Mendoza on 25 August. They’re the easiest fixtures when one considers that the Boks have never lost to Argentina, and that the other two teams in the tournament, Australia and New Zealand, have enjoyed a good record against South Africa in recent times.

But on Wednesday, the Bok captain said that Argentina won’t be easy-beats, and that the first two matches of the campaign are vitally important for reasons beyond results.

‘It [complacency] is a trap we won’t fall into,’ said De Villiers. ‘These two games are the most important in the tournament. Argentina will be psyched up given it’s their first appearance, they will be throwing everything they have at us.

‘For us, it’s important to build on what we achieved in that England series. We were disappointed with the way we ended the series [with a draw in Port Elizabeth]. We have to look at the positives of that series and bring it all together in one 80-minute performance.

‘We see it as a big positive to play against Argentina, and we’re not looking past that.’

The majority of the squad got together on Sunday, while the Sharks’ Boks, who competed in the Super Rugby final in Hamilton, have now joined the team in Cape Town.

The Boks will enjoy two weeks of preparation ahead of that first Test against Argentina, a marked difference to the build up to the England series where they were only afforded a few days together before the first Test.

‘There’s a different mindset knowing you don’t have another tournament to go back to,’ said De Villiers. ‘We played against England knowing we would have to go back to the Super 15. But now all of our focus is on this tournament [the Rugby Championship]. It must also be a positive that we have a whole extra week to prepare compared to that England series.’

The Bok captain defended the game plan, and believes it could bring them success in the coming months. He did concede that the team would need to be more accurate in their implementation of this playing pattern.

‘We didn’t have much time for preparation ahead of that England series, so we stuck to a simple game plan. In saying that, we scored two great tries on the counterattack in the second half of that first Test, and we’ve not seen that side of Bok rugby for awhile.

‘The rugby we played in first half of the second Test was outstanding. There are areas that we can improve but there are also good signs. Hopefully we can evolve, but the more rugby changes the more it stays the same. It’s about getting into the right areas and taking your opportunities.’

De Villiers also defended flyhalf Morné Steyn, who along with the Bok game plan came in for some strong criticism after the third Test against England.

The skipper feels that Steyn is the right man for the Boks and that the only area in Steyn’s game that is below par is his goal-kicking.

‘I tend to disagree with that perception [that Steyn is in a bad space mentally]. His general play in that England series was very good, it was only his kicking at goal that let him down a bit.

‘We’re so used to him kicking at 90 percent, so when he doesn’t there is some concern. But his decision making on attack has been good, and he’s varied his play well.

‘He’s in a good place mentally, and hopefully he can sort out the kicking. We are not too concerned.’

By Jon Cardinelli, in Cape Town

310 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 101.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-95: Well that’s bl00dy good. I think you’ll find many(if not most) Saffas support Kiwis over other nations when competing in events like this. Where this arguement about who’s got the most medals etc came from I can’t comprehend. Our actual expectations a low given the scenario I painted earlier. Anything the government gets involved with over here, is (99 time out of 100) at total kockup. Our medalists have been quite extrodinary under the circumstances.

• 102.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-100: not jealous mate. You’re getting ahead of yourself. I think its great. Just shows what you can do if anything. I think the word “admire” is more appropriate. I’m more interested in the ‘why’.

• 103.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-101: if one reads this site at all regularly thats not the impression one gets mate… .

• 104.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-91:

Very good points

@TASSIES-94:

Howzit Tassies,

It is interesting to note that the cost of an olympic medal to GB is nearly £5 million. They spent an extra £165m in comparison to the Beijing Olympics and got 17 more medals, so that’s a “marginal cost” of about £10m for each extra medal. The money is mainly from their national lottery.

Some sports will always be out of reach for poor countries to win a medal – equestrian, sailing and track cycling are good examples.

• 105.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-91: yup, I buy that. Create role models for others to follow. A fit and achieving nation is a healthy nation. Not like our bunch of drunkards/druggies. Only a tiny minority actually do anything physical. Which is p1ss poor.

• 106.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-105: not just that mate, but an Olympic champion can put a country on the map, creating many revenue streams from tourism through to investment etc..

look at someone like Usain Bolt, what he has done for Jamaica far outweighs any investment they may have spent on him imho

• 107.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-105: All nations have those druggies and drunkards mate

• 108.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-104: yes good points. I’m thinking boxing, judo, weight-lifting, water polo, soccer etc. Low cost entry sports relative to the examples you mention. I mean; not everyone can afford a 50K mountain bike but how much does a pair of boxing gloves cost?
    Just extending the point. I agree intirely.

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-106: This is true, if on a normal society, aint so where we are, here its those in powwer make sure they will always stay in power ,and the money feeding pot will never run dry for them

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-107: they should have an olympics for that :D

• 111.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

to think Gerhard Vd Heever was a SA high hurdler junior champ/record holder with potential to compete at highest international level and some moron convinced him and influenced him to chuck it all up for the chance to play for Northern Transvaal on the wing.

What kind dumb moronic youth development strategically defunct idiocy is THAT?

Any other country and he would have been encouraged to follow his ultimate dream, like Olympic gold, same as Le Clos, which dumb moronic idiot influenced Vd Heever to chuck up his first love for rugby, are they that incessantly stuck in some archaic colonialist driven doer onder die pale sport?

• 112.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-110: :lol:

• 113.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

and high cost applies to swimming too. Chad Le Clos’s father offered some frightening figures he’d had to invest in his son from an early age. Government assistance only came at the end when the finished product was already tangible. Look how the nation benefitted. At minute cost.

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-111: ever thought that he loved both and it was his choice??

Just like AB was a brilliant tennis player, got an invite to do the college thing in the States?? yet HE chose to stay and play cricket?? his choice

• 115.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-107: I refering to scale. Here the scale is huge.

• 116.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Seriously pooper
    Get a life
    Are you a loner that is bitter and twisted?

• 117.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-113: Exactly Tassies, take aussie for example, they have a sports academy where the kids are trained from very young, what ever they decide to take part in is where they get supported

This is not the same here in SA

• 118.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-115: well true

• 119.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-115: Even though true tassies , it all comes back to money or the lack there of, and our GOVT not doing right by the it’s people

• 120.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-116:
    have you finished telling everyone about the dam and building an indoor braai? are you that much of a sad sack that you need validation on a blog for how you think everyone will be impressed because you can have an indoor barbeque?

we have them in Australia and NZ

theyre called stoves here mate..

• 121.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-106: that be exactly right. Well I guess you’re picking up the frustration. Our government can see it/bask in it. But do you think they can get their minds around actually developing a plan and investing in it. Not on your nana mate. These guys are dirty breedy pr1cks personified. Others can do it but not this lot. I don’t have facts to support this but I’d put my thing on a block and say we have the worst governments in the world today, relative to size. Pathetic really.

• 122.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-117: yes. Well Oz is a ‘rich’ country. Kiwi isn’t. But they can get it right with way less. That’s the point. Its how one uses one’s resources. Not how much. We sit somewhere inbetween Oz and Kiwi in terms of resources. We sit about 10 light-years behind Kiwi in terms of leadership nous.

• 123.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-120: very :lol:

• 124.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-122: Can’t argue with that, it be the truth

• 125.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-121: I guess I’ll never really comprehend the situation in SA mate… but also, a lot of NZs success can be attributed to the parents, the unsung heroes who do all the voluntary, unpaid grass roots stuff…

running little athletic carnivals, the coach of the kids hockey team, the school PE teachers who not only organise events for the kids but get them interested at a young age…

just throwing money at a sport isnt the answer either, it takes many dedicated people, a lot who never really receive any recognition for their efforts

• 126.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

now I’m off to my outside ‘stove’ guys. Mine requires sticks, wood and a match. Because I’m bl00dy poor. And its a nice afternoon here in CT before all hell breaks loose over vthe weekend. FYI the weather report claims we are to recieve 9.8m swells/waves off our coast on sunday. Unbelievable. Thats 30 foot guys. I’m off to Kommetjie on sunday(in the rain) to take in the power. Should be quite a sight. I’ve actually paddle-ski’d a 16ft many moons ago and that was mighty large. Imagine double that. ***** that’s big.

• 127.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@120
    A braai room is just a braai inside
    Stuff like bread ovens are a nice add on.
    Ny gf is sleeping now,had a harsh week
    And for yourself?

• 128.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-117:

Kevin Rudd and Julia Gillard put paid to that by cutting massively the funding to the AIS.
    Julia gillard was asked what could have been done to prevent such a poor performance…she dodged ot by saying this is not the time for a review but to support the athletes!
    She is in for another roasting!

• 129.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-125: Understand. I had picked up on that. Over here you are going to see similiar but only at upper middle class upwards. The bulk of the population cannot even afford a car. Totally reliant on taxis and very limited funds. Our government has access to serious money. We’re a large economy. They can easily afford to back this horse but don’t. It all goes into the back shy or wasted on ill-advised projects, like building a city for the pres’s home kia. You wont believe what these folk do. Trust me you wouldn’t.

• 130.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-126: we call that a hangi mate or, depending on where you start it, arson :lol:

enjoy..

• 131.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Vd Heever made a poor choice

Imagine Usain Bolt deciding to play for Jamaican bob sled team..

Or this kid Kerani James being influenced by Grenada youth development program to play soccer because he can one day be bought by man united.

Its mind baffling idiocy for someone with natural athletic or any other high discipline talent to be influenced by societal conditioning to chuck up what they’re GOOD AT, for some inferior melodramatic falsely escalated sporting attention which isn’t even recognized as a true sports discipline on the international IOC stage.

Comes down to comprehensive mentoring and sporting excellence identification. If all the Kenyan and Ethiopian athletes had tried playing soccer or rugby how far in real life would they get? Vd Heever was poorly advised and poorly mentored at youth level, and the real question is how many other Vd Heevers, Seme’nya’s, Moekoenas, Sepengs, Mulaudzi’s etc do we have flying unrecognized under the national radar.

• 132.Golden Boy: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-131:

Stop being so damm melodramatic. People make choices in life. Get over it.

• 133.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-131: Why do you feel the need to rail against rugby? You’re kicking the underdog here – that doesn’t really fit with your persona.

• 134.Puma: Reply to this comment

Well done to Hartley on getting the bronze. Was a gutsy race by her and near the end thought she might even pick up the silver. She was catching up really fast there. Still great for her to pick up the bronze.

Pleased we are in the final of the 4X400m relay. After our runner was banged out by the Kenyan thought we were gone. Pleased we appealed and in the final. Don’t think we will pick up a medal but great that we are there anyhow.

Go Sifiso in the bmx semi that is coming up right now.

• 135.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

damn bad fall in the BMX

• 136.Puma: Reply to this comment

Who ever said bmx racing is easy hope they were looking at the 3rd quarter final heat. The WHOLE field came crashing down and one big pile up. Only the kiwi rider excaped. Jislaaik! Damn tough those okes riding out there.

Sifiso came 5th in his heat but think they do a 2nd run.

• 137.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Puma-136:

Hey buddy! I think there are three rounds.

You said earlier we are in the 400 x 4 final. That is great especially that they have 9 lanes instead of the normal 8 in other countries… Wow I was wanting to see Oscar run and then…

• 138.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-137: well Oscar will be running tonight Gummybear, :lol: they launched a protest and won it

• 139.Puma: Reply to this comment

Sifiso came 6th in his 2nd run. Doubt he will make it to the semi. Pity.

• 140.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-138:

Great! Just read it on News24! Sifiso not quite up to standard…

• 141.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-137: I don’t know this sport bud. So had no idea. Just heard after the first run they were doing a 2nd. Bloody hard out there……hahaha. Jeez that crash in the 3rd heat of the first run was spectacular! The whole field came crashing down and only the kiwi managed to get through.

• 142.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Puma-141:

For sure! Very tough indeed. Seems like they crash quite regularly…

It was rather spectacular. The spectators seem to enjoy the action and the crashes…

• 143.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-138: Howzit bro, how you doing? Did you see that huge crash in the bmx quarter? Crazy stuff out there…lol.

• 144.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Sunette Viljoen and Caster still medal hopes…

Let’s hope so…

• 145.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-142: They must hurt themselves really bad. Read that Sifiso has already had a full knee replacement, he is only 25 years old! Also listening to the commentators there saying one of the riders had broken a collar bone and the other a spleen. Only for the tough and brave this sport.

• 146.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-143: Good and you bro?? Yeah its very tough, Nhlapo might be up to speed but i dont think he is a street smart when it comes to some of the tactics i have seen being used

• 147.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-144: Yes and Viljoen in the final tonight at 10pm. Hope Caster makes it through to the final as well. Robzim said there is a cross country bike rider that could get a medal. Think he said his name was Stander. Well something like that. We also have a runner into the final of the 200m tonight. But doubt he will pick up a medal. The other heat he was not in was so much faster. Anyhow good to see he made it to the final. Also there is Fourie that has made it to the 110m hurdles final. So who knows we may pick up another few medals.

• 148.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Puma-145:

Ja they look lekker mal… Jeez it is hectic. Check how they fall…

• 149.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-146: He was so much better in the last Olympics. He took a big crash there to put him out that time. Was hoping he would get into the final but doubt it after falling behind in both his runs. Pity. You know he has a full knee replacement? Read that yesterday. Jees hats off to him really. He is only 25.

• 150.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Puma-147:

Yes we have had a good Olympics for a change. So much better than the one silver last time out.

Yes I forgot about Stander…

You never know we could sqeak one in the 4 x 400 if we are very lucky…

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.