ABs set for Read boost

Kieran Read is confident that he’ll recover from his rib injury in time for the All Blacks’ Rugby Championship opener against the Wallabies next Saturday.

The No 8 missed the Crusaders’ final three matches of their Super Rugby campaign because rib damaged cartilage. However, he confirmed that he should be fit as he joined his All Black team-mates at training in Waitakere on Friday.

‘They’re [the ribs] feeling really good, I haven’t pushed them yet and not a lot of contact, so I’ll just have to see how they pull up next week but feeling really good at the moment,’ Read told the media.

Lock Luke Romano is still an injury concern as he hurt his shoulder in the Super Rugby semi-final. Head coach Steve Hansen will be hoping the second-rower will recover in time as he is the third specialist lock in the squad.

Meanwhile, the All Blacks are yet to confirm Sonny Bill Williams’ availability for selection. The NZRU are trying to sort out a short-term deal with his new Japanese club Panasonic Wild Knights, which will allow him to play in Sydney and the return match against the Wallabies in Auckland a week later.

297 Comments

• 1.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

well he is one filthy dragon

but its hard to say if he’s the filthiest

basically the whole squad is filthy

as per usual

• 2.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Traditionally, the year after a world cup victory is quite often a bad year for the champions. Therefore the AB’s will be very happy to have the world’s best number 8 back in their team.

1. Read
    2. Parisse
    3. Harinordique
    4. Heaslip
    5. Faletau

39. Spies.

• 3.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

spies is nowhere near read’s abiltiy but more important is the need for a flank or lock hard enough to hurt read and romano when the ab’s attempt to go forward, as well when they’re defense.

its still the only effective method for nullifying the ab’s cynical cheating. just hammer it out of them. bok and bulls packs have shown success in this regard in the past.

• 4.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-2:

39?! Must be a whole bunch of injured #8 in the world…

• 5.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-3:
    in this regard a fully fit willem should be primed by heyneke for exactly that.
    and if bakkies is picked then that takes care of the #4 position.
    eztebeth to come off the bench for cameo’s simply because he should be eased into the role of 4 lock.

• 6.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

also the option to unleash the doodpoes would have been nice.
    bismarck to take the slack.

• 7.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

and if the heyneke is serious about our win % then i say
    if the kiwi has tender cartilage, it should be tested
    if he carries a poorly healed injury into the game he should not be there in the first place.

• 8.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-7:
    Ritchie will set the block when our boy Read gets the ball and Messam will inadvertently grab any defenders jersey close to the Great no8s tender cartilage, Abs know how to look after each other including our close friends, the referrees

• 9.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

there is also the question of the refs and how much desire they will show to do something about the kiwis and to a lesser extent the ozzies.
    or will it be another 2010 stitch up.

sa vs arg:

S. Walsh (ARU)
    J. Garces (FFR)
    J. Lacey (IRFU)
    J. Meuwsen (SARU)

arg vs sa:

S. Walsh (ARU)
    J. Garces (FFR)
    J. Lacey (IRFU)
    UAR appt

oz vs sa:

N. Owens (WRU)
    W. Barnes (RFU)
    G. Jackson (NZRU)
    M. Goddard (ARU)

nz vs sa:

G. Clancy (IRFU)
    R. Poite (FFR)
    J. Leckie (ARU)
    V. Munro (NZRU)

sa vs oz:

A. Rolland (IRFU)
    R. Poite (FFR)
    G. Garner (RFU)
    S. Veldsman (SARU)

sa vs nz:

A. Rolland (IRFU)
    R. Poite (FFR)
    G. Garner (RFU)
    S. Veldsman (SARU)

• 10.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-8:
    age is catching up to reechee. he is not as zippy as he used to be and his form is not what it used to be, which is understandable. he was nowhere as influential in the crudsader semi as expected. when a guy like reechee starts to rely on the presence or absence of kieren read, well that says it.

messam on the other hand is looking dangerous and in good form. a big concern for the boks if not nullified too so put him in the list along with read and romano.

• 11.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

vinnie munro, vinnie munro… where have i heard that name before..?…

hmmmm

lets see….

• 12.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-9:
    How did that Vinny Munro get back in, hes a disgrace.
    Jokes aside Houston, I’m just looking towards a fair tussle with the Boks without the shenanigans and heres hoping the Refs stamp down on any sneaky stuff.

• 13.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

glen jackson… glen jackson…hmmm..?…

the name sounds familiar….

• 14.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-12:

Hehehe Vinny is there to balance out Veldsman.

• 15.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-12:
    shocking really rangi, i can only ask when these appointments were made?
    before or after ‘that’ must win game for the crudsaders?

yes, i too would love to see a contest which crowns a deserved and rightful champion. we havn’t had any of those for quite some time now.
    just good, exciting and nailbiting rugby.

• 16.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-10:
    Ritchie will be the difference when Abs meet the Boks…..the refs luv him

• 17.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-12:

PS I agree, how good will it be to pitch here after a match and not a word about the ref. We can live in hope…

• 18.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-15:
    Seems Sanzar are promoting the young guys,have no clue who Veldsman is, but that Monroe chap is hopeless in the Bryse mould.

• 19.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-17:
    Ae Slarti,wouldn’t put money on it……some of these refs court controversy

• 20.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-16:
    true, that is one aspect of his game which has hardly lost its lustre.
    even after all these years, all it takes is vacant, querulous, dibelieving eyes from reechee and a gentle chiding to the ref to ‘do the right thing’….

it still amazes me that joubert nicked him for a penalty right in front of the posts… wow!… wow!

• 21.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-19:

But don’t despair, they have an internal review process to sort them out…just don’t ask what it is.

• 22.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-18:
    yes, he is.
    there’s also the ‘recently’ aquired ozzie citizenship status of of ‘former’ kiwi walsh.
    a ref who i think is just a not too good gatkruipertjie thats all, and nothing to do with his citizenship.

• 23.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-20:
    Yes have to agree, our Captain is the David Copperfield of Rugby, a master illusionist……mesmerises Refs with his incredible aura……still looks like he has a few years left in him….unless those Aussie whipper snappers, Gill,Pocock and Hooper show him up on a consistent basis.

• 24.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-21:
    pffffft!!
    as long as that doos paddy is the irb referee manager and involved with the irb match official selection commitee the refereeing/judicial funcition of sanzar will never work.

why does the irb have a hand in this anyway? why can sanzar not regulate it within sanzar? serious question.

• 25.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-22:
    Oh yes that friendly referee,good ole Walshy, talks too much and there is something about him thats a little bit off putting.
    @Slartibartfast-21:
    I think Ritchie is part of that review panel.

• 26.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-25:

so to sum up;
    ab’s to seal another rugby championship competition series and for a bonus to buck the trend of rwc winning teams having a dip in form the year after.

nice

i’ve given up super rugby but i may have to give up the championship too.

cc and eoyt only at this rate

• 27.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-24:

No I think it works well, mess up big enough and you get extra games to ‘sort it out’.

@Te Rangatira-25:

Chairman?

• 28.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-26:

Hang in there Houston, sometimes things go differently just so they can balance the ledger…

• 29.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-27:
    Life member perhaps.
    @wait for it, wait for it…-26:
    I really can not see the Abs form dipping this year, Houston, so perhaps you maybe saving some coin next year on your reduced pay tv service.

• 30.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-28:
    its hard slarti, its hard. the maths just sucks doesn’t it

‘here’s one for you and three for me, here’s one for you and three for me, here’s one for you and four for me… oh…not happy.?.. alright, alright.. here’s one for you and only two for me….’

whats the point

who goes away feeling good about an empty victory

evidently some do

• 31.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-29:
    @Slartibartfast-28:
    I hope you stick it out Houston…..the Boks will click soon and then will see some frightening rugby from your boys,,,,,don’t think you will want to miss that

• 32.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Massive boost for the AB’s. What a great player the Anti-Spoes is. Hugely physical, smart, superb skill set. Imo, with Kaino out he is currently the next most valuable player to the AB cause.

• 33.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-29:
    no luck there, rangi
    its an all or nothing package the basturds at multichoice are selling. to watch any rugby at all you have to subscribe to the top end premium package and this includes super rugby and 4 nations, as well as all the local rugby.

• 34.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-31:
    thanks rangi, but i’m done.
    you wont be reading any negative, beetching and whineging posts from me from next season. i will ony comment on cc threads and any bok threads (for now).

• 35.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-32:
    by smart and superb skill set you mean vuilgat… right?

• 36.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-33:
    Thats a bit rough, I don’t know what the different packages we have over here off hand, but I think we can mix and match a little with our selections.
    The My Sky is really good though with its recording options and with the Olympics on you get like 13 sports channels.

• 37.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

player who definetely need to perform if boks are to have any chance are:
    alberts
    kruger
    bekker
    du plessis
    eztebeth
    kruger
    flip
    potgieter (question mark)

• 38.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Steve Walsh is making a kill this year scooping SA bucks as if there is no tomorrow, the Argies consider the two Tests are in the bag!
    HM will have no problem winning with the Beast, Chilliboi, Kolisie and Jantjies all in the same line up!

• 39.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

nah fark it

the boks have zero ch

• 40.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

nah fark it

these boks have zero chance on paper

aus and nz to give meyer reasons for introspection

welcome to bok rugby heyneke

• 41.Hondo: Reply to this comment

With Craig Joubert the test ref, the ABs will beat anybody
    How the mighty has fallen, Tiger Woods’ UK odds are 6:1 to pay if he wins the PGA Major at his own back yard,

• 42.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-37: potgieter? why is he even in the team? i would have josh strauss, elstadt or deysel waaaay before kamikaze potgieter in a bok team…blue bulls bias!

• 43.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-40:
    The game plan I would employ for the Abs is a seek and destroy one, anyone in black gets smashed, with or without the ball. Accurate kicking with full on chasers so when they receive the ball they get smashed.You want to be in the position where anyone in black who is getting the ball has a look up to see who is coming, more likely to drop the ball otherwise get taken out.

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-43: easier said than done, that plan needs superior conditioning and can any team sustain if for full 80min…

• 45.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42: Agree 100%

• 46.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-44:
    So right Trans…..superior conditioning and fitness, thats what Meyer should be looking at…….it is achievable if you have the players who are willing to die for the cause.

• 47.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-42:
    i dont know transie. heyneke sees something in him thats why he made the rugby championship squad? will he make the run on team or be on the bench is the question? will he play in the must win games?

he’s got one cap and it certainly wasn’t a good one.

@Te Rangatira-43:
    yes agreed.
    thats basically been the reasons for any bulls and boks success against the ab’s/crudsaders.
    there will lots of off the ball stuff and niggle but the boks have to hammer it out of the ab’s from the first whistle.

and thats the problem, this is not a bok side which can dominate and hammer over 80 min yet.

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

well done C aster Se menya …. for he’s a jolly good fellow … for he’s a jolly good fellow!!!

• 49.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-44:
    @Te Rangatira-46:
    also add size to that formula
    long gone are the days of one ton bok packs
    if the pack and midfield is just that big it becomes a simple question of physics.
    an object with greater mass and weight always wins out in a collision with a smaller one (all thing being equal).

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-47: that’s the things about coaches, for one player they expect FORM to be high during supper rugby, for others it is “something i see in him”

when potgieter is getting out-thought, out-smarted and outplayed by aus & nz we’ll here loads of excuses…the boy is sh,yte qha!!

• 51.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-50:
    heyneke will live and die by his decisions.
    from here on in ‘sa rugby supporters’ historical perspective will judge him.

• 52.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-47:
    Hmmm….with the belief that your team is fitter and better conditioned than the opposition comes the confidence and the knowledge that whatever they throw at you can be withstood and when they tire, thats when you have them.
    @wait for it, wait for it…-49:
    Size is certainly an asset if you use it, but I’m a believer in mental toughness and usually you start to lose it mentally when your body begins to tire.

• 53.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Western Province, already decimated by injuries and national team call-ups, have lost another key player ahead of the opening round of Currie Cup action.

Prop JC Kritzinger, who has had to overcome two serious knee injuries in the last three years that severely limited his game time, has been ruled out of the encounter with the Sharks at Newlands on Saturday.

WP assistant coach Robbie Fleck confirmed to this website that Kritzinger, who was one of two props on the Province bench, injured his ankle at training and once again face a lay-off.

• 54.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

ok so province now hav 11 players out that could have played for them, Sharks 18, the gap narrows :lol:

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

only 18 players? f*ck i’m surprised its not more!!! ek sal my dood skaam om in daai trui te speel —- 37 – 6!!! ffs!

• 56.Transformation: Reply to this comment

no point in counting how many injured players (that’s excuse-making for the lame) the team that takes the field is WP or the Sharks…

• 57.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-55: FArkoff… lol

• 58.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-56: I knew i would hook you, bwahahahaaaaaaaa

But it does help my Sharks as Brok now comes into the team :lol: the man with the very short neck, or is it the man that had his neck shoved up his *** by beast?? :lol:

• 59.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-56: Also just remember your answer if the Stormers just happen to beat the SHarks :winks:

• 60.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-51: i don’t need heyneke to “die” just pick players fairly that’s all :D

• 61.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-58: yeah right, counting injuries is your hobbyhorse tl tl tl ;)

• 62.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-61: Nope, i knew you would take the bait, so easy you have become, on a serious note

I agree that Potgieter should not be there, i have tried to understand his inclusion?? and not one answer comes mind

The 3 loose forwads you mentioned are lightyears better, and i can even name another few.

Like Dewald Potgieter

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-59: my statement applies to both teams and both sets of excuse-makers…we don’t hear cheetahs b.itching about losing juan, heinrich, kabamba, johnson or griquas players.

• 64.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-63: Thats because they never in a position to need to make the excuses :wink:

• 65.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-52:
    well to answer you (i am just speculating of course) i dont believe this bok squad has the fitness and conditioning (yet) necessary to beat oz and nz in the championship. perhaps by next year this time they will?

and they certainly do not have the size in the pack.

@Transformation-60:
    well, come the end of this series a lot of bok supporters will.
    and if he repeats the feat next year i’ll bet they’ll actually mean it when they say ‘die’.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

interesting, one would imagine Toyota would’ve also wanted SARU to pay the insurance for Kanko if Heyneke desperately pushed for his inclusion…

Hansen compared the intense scrutiny levels around the Sonny Bill issue to when All Blacks captain Richie McCaw battled through the World Cup with a debilitating foot injury.

“Everyone is starting to get a bit panicky about it. It is starting to remind me of Richie’s foot really,” Hansen smiled.

“It will depend on the medicals and Panasonic. That’s who he’s got the contract with. Initially, this [two games for the All Blacks] wasn’t on the cards. The playing field for Panasonic has changed and they’re just doing their due diligence, sometimes that takes time.

“He’s not injured, but he’s had a big season and Panasonic want to know what they are getting.

“He’s sore, but all the Chiefs boys are sore. That’s not surprising this time of year. He’s played about 20 games.

“There is always a risk; he’s going to play two games that they didn’t expect him to play. They just want a bit of clarity.”

It is understood the NZRU are attempting to put together a fresh two-week contract for Williams that would include an insurance arrangement with Panasonic.

“Player insurance is always a biggie,” Hansen confirmed

• 67.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

the one positive upside of heyneke’s selection policy is that if the boks do badly, bulls supportesr can always blame the high number of sharks in the squad… or the captain.

reasons for losing number 1 and 2.

• 68.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-66:
    is heyneke desperate for his inclusion?

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-68: he seemed like he was from his utterances last week and on Boots ‘n All gister.

• 70.Transformation: Reply to this comment

kobe into “shielas”

It was the “are they, or aren’t they” Olympic friendship that put Twitter in a spin, and it was the social media tool that set the record straight. Swimmer Stephanie Rice took to Twitter this morning to put the kybosh on a romantic flirtation between her and US basketballer Kobe Bryant.

She tweeted: “FYI yes Kobe and I are friends, but no we are not together and never have been. Can’t guys and girls be just friends..? He’s an amazing athlete and I’ve enjoyed getting to know him and many other great athletes in my Olympic journey.”

go kobe

• 71.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-70:

She is Quade’s ex.

• 72.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-71: is she the one who called the Boks “fa.ggots”? :shock:

• 73.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-70:

…and I’ve enjoyed getting to know him and many other great athletes in my Olympic journey.”

Sounds like a fun girl.

• 74.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72:

That’s her. She is notorious for getting a bit carried away while “tweeting”. Same as Graeme Smith’s wife.

• 75.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The most amazing smile of any olympic gold winner must surely belongs to Shelly-Ann Fraser Pryce. It stretches for miles.

• 76.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-75: She always smiles like that – even straight after the run. Amazing. Makes you instantly like her.

• 77.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-72: That didn’t really happen did it?

• 78.David: Reply to this comment

I have a feeling that HM is one of those coaches who believes he’s the difference between a player being talented and being the complete article.
    This might be fine at Provincial level, I don’t believe it’s part of the role of a national coach. He wanted Pottie for the Bulls in order to develop a new Bulls squad, and that’s where Potgieter should have been left to prove his credentials.

• 79.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-77:

“Suck on that f—-ts,” Rice tweeted after Australia defeated South Africa in a rugby match.

• 80.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-77: it did, in 2010, when the wallabies beat us with a kurtley beale last minute penalty after flip vd merwe went of his feet at a ruck close to halfway…she tweeted “take that you fa.ggots”

she lost sponsorship deals with volvo being the most publicised one.

• 81.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-79: yeah “suck on that”

• 82.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

she lost a sponsorship because of that tweet and ended up making a tearful apology.

• 83.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-81: Fck you too.

• 84.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

forgot the :)

• 85.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-79: Phew….what a cow! Nice and respectful lady, she and Quade must have been ideal for each other!

• 86.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

there once was a swimmer called Rice
    whose foul mouth came at a price
    she went from a star
    to a slag with no car
    so it certainly pays to be nice

• 87.nkqo6: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-2: hahahah Britney Spies can be rated with the women boks

• 88.viewer: Reply to this comment

@2 :-D

• 89.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-80:

Even worse.

It was with Jaguar.

• 90.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-89: yeah, you right it was Jag.

• 91.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-2:
    You rate Spies that high? :lol:

• 92.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-90:

A Volvo wouldn’t gave hurt so much.

• 93.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-92:

Or even have hurt.

• 94.nama1: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait to see Meyer’s team for the 1st test. When will it be announced? Over the weekend or only next week?

Potgieter or Alberts? Who will play at 7?

• 95.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-92: With Tata owning Jag and Geely owning Volvo, that’s kind of hard to be 100% sure of.

• 96.Horings: Reply to this comment

Cannot wait for the Bulls game. First time in a while we won’t play with Spies, Steyn and Kirchner. It is going to be so refreshing.

• 97.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-94: Is Alberts injured?

• 98.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@nama1-94: Alberts plays for the “wrong” province.

• 99.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-98:
    you mean he’s limited his opportunities for trophy and competition glory?
    i suppose to some extent he has
    but at least he gest a shot with the boks

• 100.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

although i cant say he will with this bunch.
    maybe next year.

• 101.Horings: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-98: Interesting that Heyneke picked more Sharks than Bulls before the Sharks got themselves back into the season. That should be an indication that he spots talent and is unbiased in his selections.

Most Province supporters also sadi after the semi that they did well this season considering their lack of talent and some crucial injuries. Well those players are still injured, so why should Meyer pick their talentless backup?

• 102.ufo: Reply to this comment

There was a Reds player called Cooper
    Who’s mind was always a-stupor
    His girlfriend named Rice
    Said she’d seen bigger on mice
    And much preferred Kobe’s big Whooper!!

• 103.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-94:
    Why do you ask that?
    Unless Alberts is injured he’ll definitely start ahead of Potgieter. As he did in the June tests.

HM wont deviate too much from the pack that was chosen back then. With the exception of Bekker who is now fit again.

Beast
    Biz
    Jannie
    Etsebeth
    Bekker
    Coetzee
    Spies

• 104.viewer: Reply to this comment

@74 some of these people have more money than sense. Graeme’s child is named “cadence”. That’s a technical term in cycling & exercise science. Idiots

• 105.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-101:
    10 sharks
    11 bulls

• 106.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-99: Yeah, something like that! :-)

• 107.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-97:
    Not that I know of.

It’s just that HM seems to prefer the man in blue for his Bok team.

• 108.viewer: Reply to this comment

@102 I get it. because he’s black? :-)

• 109.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-103: I think you’re probably correct there, but any half decent back row forward would make a better option then Spies at #8.

• 110.Horings: Reply to this comment

@viewer-104: Jislaaik, the Bulls biasedness is just plain sickening in that pack.

@wait for it, wait for it…-105: Starting 15?

• 111.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Horings-101: Agreed, he does seem to be a good talent spotter but let’s be honest, there are some fine Sharks players in that Springbok team, the likes of Alberts especially.

However I do spot too much provincial bias in some of his selections; a point often raised by bloggers on this site. It’s like the despicable quota system…”Where two players of similar talents are vying for the same position the benefit should go to the previously disadvantaged one”…BullS%&t, it shouldn’t.

And in HM’s case I hope ot doesn’t get down to “Which one plays for my Bulle?”

• 112.nama1: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-103:
    …or he can also go Coetzee, Potgieter, Spies as the back row and bring Alberts on as a supersub. (whatever supersub mean)

In both instances you’ll have a below par, for international rugby, back row.

Some individual talent but not a good combination.

• 113.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@HongKongSlong-109:
    I dont know hey. He was average during the S15 for sure but then probably played his best rugby in 2 or 3 seasons against the Poms.
    There was a definite improvement. Not quite up to where he should be but definitely better.

Whether this was because he was playing under HM again or because he had his pack absolutely dominate the collision remains to be seen. Which allowed him to play a bt more freely.

This Rugby Championship is truly massive for him. With Kanko coming back agian next season and Vermuelen also breathing down his neck he really has to pull it out the bag in the next few weeks.

I have a feeling its the last throw of the dice for him.

• 114.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-110: And he wanted to pick Kankowski, but could not do it. He should have picked the starting 8th man for the Stormers. Sinclair or maybe the hooker Fourie.

• 115.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@viewer-104: Cadence is a female given
    name derived from an English
    word meaning “rhythm, flow.” It
    has risen in popularity in the
    United States, where it ranked at
    No. 214 in popularity for baby
    girls in 2006, having jumped 745
    places up the chart since 2002,
    when it was ranked at No. 959. It
    peaked in 2007, when it reached
    No. 199

• 116.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-112:
    No pal.
    Alberts will start.
    The only way that combo will start is if Alberts is injured or if Etsebeth is injured and HM decides to pull a Plumtree and start Alberts at 4.

• 117.viewer: Reply to this comment

Thanks Trans. Wiki? Where’s WPTID? ;-)

• 118.Horings: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-111: He does pick a lot of Bulls players for his wider group. Players that will probably only play 10% of the tests, but it is players that he knows will back him.

I think this is a strategic move until the starting Sharks and Stormers trust him. He does not want 5 WP guys not starting in the 22 who will bring that choking mentality to the group.

• 119.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-103:

He’s being cuntroversial.

• 120.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-110:
    OK, we get it.

You disagree that Meyer is biased towards BB players. They are all there on merit. :lol:

• 121.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Wow.
    First post really sums it up. Bakkies is a broken record. Calling Read filth, then all the AB are filth followed by the cheating IRB and then refs. Even before the tournament has started.
    PLease Bakkies, just leave the rugby to the real fans as you have promised, not no jumped up bitching twat that constantly says the same thing every post.

• 122.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-120: He is biased in some way as explained in @Horings-118:

• 123.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@viewer-117: yep…wiki :D

• 124.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@Horings-118: OK, let’s see what happens…will watch his selections with interest.

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-121: easy :D

• 126.nama1: Reply to this comment

The fact that there is no thread on Keo, previewing the Currie Cup which starts in about 6 hours time, tell you how low the CC ranks on the rugby ladder nowadays.

Even the Coca Cola Craven week got dedicated threads on Keo.

• 127.viewer: Reply to this comment

“until the starting Sharks and Stormers trust him”

• 128.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-125:

• 129.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-121: You did not see Mallett explaining the American football the Chiefs played in the semi? I know the Sharks would not have won, but these illegal tactics of New Zealand teams has gone on since the start of Henry’s tenure. It is absolutely ridiculous and you should be ashamed of yourself and your fellow countrymen. I know New Zealanders have been given a bad deal by the position of their country as they need to suck up to Australia in the same way Wales sucks up to England, but it is no excuse for being filthy cheats.

• 130.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-119:
    Oh i see.

Im not familiar this particular individual.
    Is he one of these multi nic guys or is he just a cuntry boy?

• 131.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-129:
    Why you attacking NZ for? Who cares we are on the planet.
    What has that seriously have to do with rugby?
    You know nothing about us if you think we need to suck up to OZ.
    If you watched the game carefully, the Sharks were playing their illegal tactics as well.

• 132.Horings: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-124: Things will change once Goosen gets selected. All of a sudden we will have a flyhalf that gives us that extra 10m on every kick and who likes to run the ball from time to time. Lambie can slot in at fullback (although he had a shocker against the Cheating Chiefs) and Vermeulen/ Kankowksi will start ahead of Spies. The WP Supporters will hate him nonetheless as he will select Kruger ahead of Bekker at some stage.

• 133.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-119:
    It’s a legitimate question.

Why do you think I’m trying to be controversial?

@John Galt-130:
    “…is he just a cuntry boy?”

I see what you did there. :wink:

• 134.viewer: Reply to this comment

@126 times have changed. I believe ABSA didn’t organise a launch event for the currie cup this year. The CC Is now basically a duplication of the vodacom cup

• 135.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-131: Do you not suck up to Aus? Let us see. Only 1 oke is favoured by the Super rugby format, but surely you need at least 2 out of 3 guys backing the system to make it happen. Now who is that 2nd guy? I know you hate them, but you need them. We do not.

Regarding the cheating, it is obvious to everyone that NZ has somehow got everyone in the correct position. Every second time the Boks play NZ Allain Rolland is selected as ref. Why? He cannot be the only NH ref. Henry made it public that match fixing is a part of rugby. Since he found it out, a NZ ref got the top IRB job, he started to use these unlawfull tactics and they won the World Cup with several strange games in the tournament. Maybe he decided to also play the game. I mean if there was match fixing in 2007 why would there be no match fixing in 2011.

• 136.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-135:
    lol crack me up this did. So we in favour of a format means we are sucking up to them?
    Childish dont you think?

Cheating, again Sharks did there bit as well, as does ALL teams. If none tried to cheat or do things illegally, there would be no penalties.
    Henry did not say there was match fixing in rugby.
    He said he felt like there was in that game as he could not understand how a ref could miss so much.
    He did not say that match fixing is in rugby, no proof at all. As was Bryce, no proof at all.
    He said it in a Biography which at the time he felt. He told the truth on how he felt. Does not mean he believe it now.
    You should stop mixing up his words to make you post sound better.

• 137.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-122:
    You referal to your p 118.

“…but it is players that he knows will back him” wrt to his selection of fringe player from the Bulls.

“until the starting Sharks and Stormers trust him” wrt players of the provinces mentioned not in the team.

New selection criteria for the Boks?

What happened to “the BEST players will be selected for the Boks?”

@viewer-134:
    The CC is a competition run by SARU. Absa is just the ponsor.

Is it not the responsibility of SARU to create the hype around the CC? I know the sponsors also do it but they do it more to advertise their product.

• 138.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-137: Like I said he shows biasedness in his wider group, but when it comes to a 1st choice Bok and a Bulls player he will ho with the Bok. If it is a 3rd choice SA player vs the Bulls player he will go with the Bulls player to fill in spots in the group.

• 139.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

The Rugby Championship

Pumas squad announced for opener

ESPN Staff

August 8, 2012

Juan Martin Hernandez has been included in the 26-man squad

Argentina coach Santiago Phelan has revealed the 26-man squad that will travel to South Africa for their historic Rugby Championship debut Test on August 18.

This year sees the Tri-Nations expanded to four teams with the Pumas taking their inaugural bow in the tournament. And Phelan has named a squad brimming with players turning out in the Aviva Premiership with the likes of Bath’s Horacio Agulla, Leicester’s Marcos Ayerza and Exeter’s Gonzalo Camacho all included.

The squad will travel to Santa Fe to take on Stade Francais on Friday before then travelling to Cape Town for their match against the Boks. Tigers prop Ayerza has called on his side to improve on their performance against Stade after they were downed 25-21 by the Top 14 Orange side last weekend. Ayerza said: “We know we have to improve from last weekend but we will also learn a lot from our debut in the Rugby Championship.

“I think we lacked maturity as a team to know how to handle the anxiety and also we need to learn not to commit penalties at key moments but we are working hard to correct this and eventually I’m sure we will succeed. Friday will be a new measure of how far we’ve come. We have 80 minutes to make amends and try and reverse where we failed last week. If we put in a good performance then it will give us more confidence.”

Argentina squad:

Horacio Agulla (Bath Rugby), Patricio Albacete (Toulouse), Marcos Ayerza (Leicester Tigers), Marcelo Bosch (Biarritz), Martín Bustos Moyano (Montpellier), Gonzalo Camacho (Exeter Chiefs), Manuel Carizza (Biarritz), Agustín Creevy (Montpellier), Julio Farías (Tucuman Rugby), Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (Toulon), Santiago Fernández (Montpellier), Juan Figallo (Montpellier), Alvaro Galindo (Racing Métro), Lucas González Amorosino (Montpellier), Eusebio Guiñazú (Biarritz), Juan Martín Hernández (Racing Metro), Juan Imhoff (Racing Metro), Martín Landajo (Los Pampas XV), Tomás Leonardi (Los Pampas XV), Juan Pablo Orlandi (Racing Metro), Martín Rodríguez (Stade Francais), Rodrigo Roncero (Stade Francais), Federico Nicolás Sánchez (Bordeaux Begles), Leonardo Senatore (Los Pampas XV), Tomás Vallejos Cinalli (Scarlets), Nicolás Vergallo (Stade Francais)

• 140.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@nama1-137:
    Well sorry Nama but i think the best players have not been picked for the Boks, not just this year but for many years now.
    This is just another reason why some of these guys have a crack at other teams due to the fact they know 3 or 4 better players are sitting at home watching TV.

• 141.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-136: Surely you do not think the tournament suits NZ teams? The Crusaders surely did not think it suited them last year.

There is a big difference between holding players back and literally tackling a player off the ball before Nanai Williams scored compared to coming from the side of a ruck or holding on or any other penalty that is given in rugby. I have never seen the sort of obstruction from any SA side in Vod Cup, CC, Schoolboy or any other level.

• 142.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-110:
    its a long competition and if history is any guide we could assume the coaches will field an a and b team for home and away legs perhaps?

but ja, i get your ponit.
    maybe kruger, spies, morne, kirchener, francois as definate starters
    and any of jj, flip, chilli, greyling, potgieter and vermaak to get bench spots?

• 143.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Horings-138:
    Hopefully you’ll be as understanding if the next coach is from another province, say WP, and he does something similar. :lol:

In any case, the squad is there already. We need to stand behind the team no matter who gets selected for the match 22.

Does not mean we have to agree with HM’s selections.

• 144.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-141:
    We didnt have a stadium in Christchurch for the Saders to play in….. i live in Christchurch.
    That had nothing to do with the format.
    Thing is Stormers or the Chiefs had no problem with the format, and guess why?? Cos they won their games. They didnt lose 6 games.
    But in all fairness i do see the flaw in the format, and i understand that it is too one sided for the teams that are ahead in the table. But its what the big guys agreed on. Not me.

Anyway i trying to understand what you are saying at the end. What have you never seen in all class of Bok rugby?

• 145.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-129:
    i like you.

• 146.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-145:
    Of course you do.
    I have a feeling that Horings is a Bulls supporter.

• 147.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-106:
    absolutely, thats what i mean.

• 148.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-140:
    Agree with you re the selection of the best players for the Bok team.

Different coach, different rugby philosophy, different players and not always the best as can be seen with the current coach as well.

• 149.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-146:
    no, what you mean to say is he is honest and forthright
    that is the feeling you get
    when you are in the company of a good and big hearted person

whoever he supports is incidental… or accidental… or something….

provincialism is a saffa thing, remember

dont we give you kiwis enough?

you want to take that too?

• 150.Horings: Reply to this comment

@nama1-143: Ja, I remember I was not happy with Mallett at one stage.

Some of the things I posted today was for fun (the NZ and WP comments), but I really do think Heyneke is putting his team together strategically to be very successful in the short term (picking players he knows), but also building for a long term success (picking talent such as Etzebeth, Goosen, etc) where in 2 years time there will be no provincial biasedness.

We are all selectors, and some very good at it, but Heyneke knows most players personally and he brought some players to Pretoria because he beliefs in their mental capabilities. Surely it must be very difficult for him to be totally unbiased in the same way Alan Solomons wanted all his Stormers players in the Bok team. It will take time for him to build a new team and be totally unbiased in his selections.

• 151.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-145:
    uhm…uhm…………a bromance on the horizon?

Oppas net vir sy horing. :wink:

• 152.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-135:
    @Horings-141:
    amen brother
    amen

to the blind and ignorant

the truth shall set you free

p.s. but not probably not you poppa
    you are doomed to a life of sad ignorance and hollow validity.

• 153.grant10: Reply to this comment

i see Dan Carter said in the NZ herald that Caster Semenya has a bigger d!ck than Richie McCaw …

• 154.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-144: I am not talking about the travel. That has been part of the comp since way back. I am talking about this conference system where the Reds play weak teams and can only be 6th, but get a home playoff. I promise you the Crusaders would have topped the log last year as they missed two easy games (Rebels and Lions) and had to play 4 of the best teams home and away.

The other drawback (and its biggest) of this conference system is the amount of games that will shorten players careers and will chase some of them overseas. No one in their right mind that is only their to protect the game can support such a competition.

• 155.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-149:
    Do we want that too??
    Depends, does it come with all your women?

• 156.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@nama1-151:
    agter elke man ;)

• 157.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-154:
    I hear you.
    See we can have a decent convo without slagging off my country. I did not
    say anything about SA being a bad country or where it sat on the planet.

I bought this up the other day. How can American ice hockey players play 82 games a season.
    Ice Hockey is every bit as tough as rugby. Are we soft?

• 158.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-152:
    Dude get a room.

• 159.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-150:
    even pdivvy was biased in his selections. the 2007 team was a good team and divvy wanted to take them to the next wc for that reason.
    bias is everywhere, some places less some places more but its still there.

objectivity is for hippies, wp coaches and the birds
    oh, and the wp ondersteuners too.

meanwhile, in the real world subjective coaches (doing their objective best) are getting on with the job of building TROPHY winning teams… not just winning teams.

• 160.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-144: “What have you never seen in all class of Bok rugby?” The constant blatant cheating. It is not part of our rugby culture. Sure there has been incidents of cheating by individuals, but not part of a gameplan or a rugby culture.

• 161.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-155:
    yes, a hockey team full.

but be warned,
    provincialism is like a drug
    it will kill you

• 162.Horings: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-159: Peter de Villiers had a very good short term plan. Give the players power, but he or someone should have seen the lack of longevity of such a plan.

But ja, new era is here and happening and Heyneke will be the Henry (without the cheating gameplan) of Springbok rugby. Goosen will be the Carter of Springbok rugby. We only need a McCaw of Springbok rugby (again without the underhand tactics).

• 163.nama1: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-156:
    :lol: :lol:

• 164.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-80:

You lie much.

Baas katman says – “Suck on that f—-ts,” Rice tweeted
    Transie says – she tweeted “take that you fa.ggots” she lost sponsorship deals with volvo
    Transie admits – yeah “suck on that”
    Gunther says – It was with Jaguar
    Transie admits – yeah, you right it was Jag.

Every 2nd.sentence a Transie porky?

• 165.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Horings-160:
    Ok if you say so.
    But we dont go out put money into hurting someone.Is this more of Bok culture?
    http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport/smiths-dreadlocks-earn-springboks-100/2006/07/12/1152637741562.html

Anyway lets not worry about it.
    You think we cheat all the time. We think you guys are dirty and play the man not the ball.
    But all teams do it…..beside pulling someones hair out…you guys can claim that one :-)

• 166.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Horings-162:
    you need to get involved in rugby, sir.

• 167.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-165:
    honestly now hurri, must we pull the files on umaga’s shoulder hit, or kevvies little head space number or thorn’s after the whistle spear dump or macaw’s lazy knee to the face or that filthy little ranger’s mma submission knee slide or taimefuna’s fruity tackle (cant believe the cunty only got 1 week for that) or money bill’s gregarious no arm charges or..or..or..or…

hmmm..?…

• 168.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-164: nic stealer? :D

• 169.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@ufo-102:

Said she’d seen bigger on mice
    And much preferred Kobe’s big Whooper!!

What happened to Mr. hi/lo ‘morality’?
    Keo is slow today. Just trying to spice it up.
    Too many on long week-end.

• 170.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-168:

More of your guessing? :roll: :smile:

• 171.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-167:
    Are you justifying the hair pulling for money incident?
    As i stated all teams do illegal stuff but not one team put money on hurting people, that is in another class, dont you agree?

• 172.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

fark

its a who’s who of the underworld

a dirty dozen plus three

the filth brigade

the empire striking (from behind the) back

sauron and the minions of mordor

• 173.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

you couldn’t get closer to evil personified than this lot

and yet they still cannot do it fairly

always a stitch up

always a fix

• 174.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-171:
    what do you think taimefuna’s reward was for that stiff arm clothesline to the neck?
    apples and oranges, boet

• 175.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-174:
    answer the question?
    Thats all i ask.
    I know and have said that we do illegal stuff, i just get tired of you saying it every post. Yet when we bring something up you go all out attack and does not acknowledge the amount of dirty stuff you guys do.
    You can alot of apples and oranges for a piece of George Smiths hair, what do you reckon?

• 176.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-175: Us? Illegal stuff? Come on Hurricane, pull the other one….us saffa’s are squeaky I tell ya!

• 177.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-176:
    Hey Skeppie, yeah i know, who am i trying to kid here?
    All i am trying to do is make us look a bit better :-)

• 178.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-175:
    it was not a nice thing to do and would most certainly never have been condoned by the coaches. a few players doing things among themselves they should not be doing.

is it a case of coached cynical play? i dont think so.

can we say the same for nz? no

is sa rightly punished for almost every instance of rule transgressions? yes

is nz largely punished for any instances of rule transgressions? no

is sa even wrongly punished for many instances of supposed transgressions? yes

is nz ever wrongly punished? no

when is the last time a nz has been red carded? honestly, i cant remember?

when is last time a nz player has been yellow carded (i mean before israel dagg’s text book nz style high jump fielding of imaginary ball with knees and body into player routine)? honestly, i cant remember?

the last one’s funny because i remeber macaw doing something similar but completey from behind into an irish players back who wasn’t even close to the ball.

• 179.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-177: I know I know, we will let this one slide! It’s all pretty much moot anyway, all teams go through cycles of “dirty play” based on the players at their disposal. I don’t think there is a coach alive these days who promotes ditry play, it comes down to the individual players abilities to control their tempers….it’s a personal thing and certainly not a team or country thing.

• 180.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

yours is a dirty team hurri

absolute filth

why try to deny the bleeding obvious

thats why you dominate world rugby

pat yourself on the back

you’ve made your history

• 181.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-179:
    total **** talk
    any fool worth his glasses
    can see the crudsaders, chiefs and ab’s are well coached in cynical illegality

• 182.cane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-178:

wait for it, wait for it

Sorry folks it was just another whine.

• 183.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

very much a team
    and to some extent, by coincidence or otherwise, a country thing
    well all these teams are in nz aren’t they

• 184.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-181:

**** = c r a p

• 185.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-181: You are kidding yourself. Yes Kiwi’s seem to have a very good handle on blocking would be tacklers and have always been clever with Jersey Pulling etc but it’s predominant in every country including ours. In terms of dirty play the Kiwi’s are most certainly not a ditry nation, at least not dirtier than SA or any other test playing nation.

• 186.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-183: You have clearly never played rugby to any kind of level.

• 187.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@cane-182:
    you mean the truth telling?
    its coming to an end soon, cane

am busy using up all the spare stock

moving on to a cleaner comp

• 188.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-179:
    Its a professional game. Its big now. So winning is the most important thing. You dont go out there to lose so either try and get away with something or try and soften your opponent up does wonders. :-)

@wait for it, wait for it…-180:
    Yes we have made history as the most feared rugby team on the planet. The team where everyone uses as a bench mark.
    AS for your South African team, i think they play good hard rugby, sometimes beyond the fair play laws but its rugby. But i respect your teams and country. Always have.
    You hate my country and hate the Chiefs, Saders and ABs. Its just a coincidence that those teams that you hate have been sucessful.
    The sooner you stop watching rugby the better.

• 189.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Blah blah blah…

How about some real discussion. Will Caster win gold? Will the Jamaicans klap the world record in the 4 x 100 relay? Will the Kiwis stay ahead of SA on the medals table?

These are the real issues of the day.

• 190.cane: Reply to this comment

wait for it, wait for it…………
    wait damn it.
    wait,
    listen, Kiwi’s listen,
    cup your ear to the West.
    is that the sound of whinging you hear.

Damn Right it is.

• 191.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-185:
    perhaps you should rewatch a few of this seasons super games. the difference in behaviour between nz and sa teams is daylight.
    i really dont know how you can make such a statement with a straight face.
    it beggars belief.

• 192.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I second that Blah :lol:

• 193.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-191: Have a Kit Kat :lol:

• 194.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-191: You are deluded. I am a rabid bok supporter but still have the ability to look through both eyes. The Saders are not squeaky innocent and do indeed push the legal boundaries at times but fair play to them, they play what they see and get away with things where they can….I just wish our teams sometimes played the game as smartly as the Saders do.

• 195.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-189:
    Yes Caster will win, or i hope so.
    Aout us ahead of SA at the end…..its going to be close and both countries have done really good.

@Skeppie-186:
    Anyway Skeppie i have to go, this conversation just keeps popping up when Wait for it, wait for it is blogging. Just never gives up.
    Anyway next time we can have a good ole chat mate.
    Hurricane out.

• 196.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-187: you are proving to be quite a moaner dude!

• 197.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-188:
    hurri, lets be clear
    i will stop watching filthy, cynical unsporting rugby
    but will continue to watch a hard, physical but honest and fair brand of rugby. very enjoyable.
    i will also watch the boks (against any oponent) for now, this may change.
    i might do eoyt only

• 198.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-195: Do you have any more real medal opportunities? I think Caster is our last one.

• 199.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-196: Too much of moaning

• 200.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-194:
    good gawd!

no

you are deluded

ther is nothing enjoyable or entertaining about the type of rugby the crudsaders play.
    besides, for a sa team to attempt the same will only result in them being penalised off the park (to script).

• 201.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-198:
    I think we have a canoeing one, and a couple in BMX. I have missed all todays so i am not sure if these are over or not.
    But we have 4 golds now, won the sailing.

• 202.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-189:

Point 1:
    Only a seriously faulty baton change can cost the Jamaicans Gold.
    So yes, they will…………………………convincingly.

Point 2:
    Casta………………………….depends if she has been taking her medicine.

Point 3;
    NZ is running out of options.
    But Our Girlies won a Yacthing Gold today, so we are on 4 Golds.

• 203.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-198: Can’t beleive our Javelin hopes were dashed.

• 204.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-193:

@Transformation-196:
    i will restrain my annoyance in response, transie
    yes, maybe i do moan a lot. can you blame me.

but rest assured, i am through with super rugby and will not be around this blog much longer.
    except for the cc threads.

• 205.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

I am glad the Ozzies have stepped it up and started to win some golds.
    I was sick and tired of our media giving them a hard time about not winning.
    Embarrasing, i hope the Ozzies rub it back in our faces. Sick of our media making us
    at times look like fools, even though majority of NZ hate what they say and do.

• 206.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane-202: Is four golds good for you guys? How do you usually do int he Olympics?

• 207.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@cane-202:
    well that sucks
    i was hoping we could go one up on you with an extra gold
    so much for that

• 208.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-204: We’ve heard plenty of your moaning about the dirty kiwis. I’d like to hear what you think of the French – are they worse? Even their basketball team enjoy the low blows

http://deadspin.com/5932963/nic-batum-delivered-a-mighty-nutshot-to-juan-carlos-navarro-in-the-closing-moments-of-todays-france+spain-game

• 209.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-194: did you see tanerau latimer peel off a scrum to block both kanko and daniels from tackling kane thompson before the 8th man crashed over for the chiefs 2nd try?

even a youngster like brody retallick is in on the act as seen when he cleanly tackled michalak without the ball @ the ruck before nanai-williams
    try.

the chiefs got away with it as the sharks got away with a lot of their guys standing offside the whole game…

• 210.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-206:
    i understand they have a relatively big olympic squad so i would think no, its not?
    but i dont know their success history

• 211.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@cane-202: Casta’s cool. You need not worry. It’s your girlies that really raise the eyebrows. Beyond medicine, some of them.

What were your 4 golds in?

• 212.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-206:

4 is above average Skeppie.

But the “4″ have only been across two sports.

Without Our Rowers,
    things would not be so grand.

• 213.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-209: Look I have the utmost respect for the kiwi’s, there is just something ingrained in me to respect our old rivals but I must admit it does seem like it’s a coached thing, the whole grab onto “pillar” defenders close to the breakdown etc. I dont for a second think they are dirtier than anyone else but they do seem to have a lot of tricks up their sleeves.

• 214.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cane-212:
    Aotearowers

• 215.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-208:
    if its a player acting individually its bad and should rightly be punished.
    if its a team acting in collective unison under coaching supervision its that mch worse i feel. the punishment should fit the crime.
    if an individual cheats he is punished as an individual, so if a team cheats it should be punished as a collective.

• 216.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-204: we all see it but i don’t think it is worth carrying on about elke fo.kken dag… :D

• 217.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Ah, rowing a boat, sailing a boat and riding a horse.

The shot put bronze the only real sport medal then?

• 218.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane-212: Yeah well in 2008 we only got one medal full stop so right there with you. Although with your small population four golds is brilliant…I can’t help wondering why with our demographic we cannot do better.

• 219.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-214:
    ama waka waka’s

• 220.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-210:
    You have to win other events to get to the Olympics.
    Us having a big squad means we did better than others to get to the Olympics.
    But this has been a good haul for us.

• 221.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-211:

Golds: 3 Rowing and 1 Yachting.

With Silvers and Bronzes in:
    Track and Field,
    Equestrian,
    Rowing,
    Yachting.

• 222.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-219:
    Come on give us more Maori, you must be fluent in 3 languages now

• 223.cane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-218:

RSA doing much better these Olympic’s Skeppie.

I have noticed a lot of Saffas in finals.

• 224.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@cane-223: Yeah we are doing much better than 2008 but still not great bearing our population and sporting culture in mind.

• 225.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-218:
    bear in mind our squad is about 120 in total to nz’s 200.

• 226.gonzo: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-215: Are you are saying you are more comfortable with individual violence that comes naturally to some players than holding jerseys and slowing opposition ball down, which may be coached?

• 227.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

If we didn’t insist on about 3 “administrators” to every athlete, we could also send a proper team over.

But they must have it, of course.

• 228.cane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-217:

My ranking of medals:

1: Athletics. (worth at least twice that any other).
    2: Swimming.
    3:Then the rest.

• 229.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-222:

its vernacular parlance and is a sort of term of endearance type nicknaming convention for south african national teams. to put the ama in front and to double up the name.i.e:

ama boko boko (springboks)
    ama glug glug (u23 football)
    bafana bafana (football national team)
    banyana banyana (women football team)

• 230.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-220:
    really?
    are you sure it works that way?

• 231.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-229:
    aagghh right.
    I like the ama glug glug.
    Sounds like a skulling contest at the local bar.

• 232.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-230:
    Yeah i believe so. If not you might see me in next Olympics :-)
    Sure Cane will back me up.

• 233.cane: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-230:

Hurricane is right Bakkies, (You thick prick).

For example:
    For a Hockey Team to qualify for The Olympic’s, they must be ranked in the top 12 teams on the Planet.

• 234.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@gonzo-226:
    no, either should be punished.

besides, kiwi teams do far more than just hold onto jerseys and slow down opposition ball. there is a lot of dangerous tackle and other type dangerous play which is clearly not dealt with appropriately.

taimefuna to cite but one of many instances.

also laughable is the leniency of punishments meted out. he got a measy one week suspension. on this subject, the mystery of the nothing to cite white card incident in the chiefs semi.

and while we’re on the subject, the despicable cover up of the sharks player bottling incident by the blues stadium management and nzru.

when the same thing happened here we had the perpetrator arrested, sought criminal charges, banned him for life and made a full apology to the team and individual player affected.

your culture around rugby stinks at the moment and you need to fix it.

• 235.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-231: I thought amagluglug was an advert for petrol! maybe they used it for the football team because they’re also going down the tubes…

• 236.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-231:
    so your olympic rowing squad gets to be ‘ama waka waka’

@cane-233:
    in other words, its not rock science..?..
    ok

• 237.David: Reply to this comment

@cane-233:
    I don’t think it’s the same for all events. There’ve been a number of lost causes of Eric the Eel type entrants. Apparently the ***** single scull guy, practised in a rowing boat.

• 238.David: Reply to this comment

That was N I G E R. Damn this censorship software doesn’t even have its own spellchecker. :roll:

• 239.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Fecking nic stealers.

• 240.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@David-238: I think it intuitively counts on most racists to be poor spellers.

• 241.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-239:
    Dawn, just come back from watching the Bob Marley documentry at Cinema Nouveau.
    They redigitised old interviews so the picture and the sound quality is excellent.

Also some unseen footage.

• 242.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-241:

How many stars?

• 243.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-242:
    Haven’t seen any critical reviews yet but I’m a huge fan and thought it was excellent.

They interviewed people close to Bob like his wife and all the living ex- Wailers, so you really got understand who the man behind the legend was.

• 244.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-243:

OK, thanks…

i saw a review in a morning paper today – they gave it 4/5 and thought it was very good as the filmmaker did not “force ” his will on the audience but allow them to come to their own conclusions based on the interviews- very much in line to what you are saying.

I will try and catch it next week- also quite a fan.

• 245.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-244:
    It’s a must see for any Bob fan.

Those Jamaican men really love their women…. Bob had 11 children from 7 different females.

• 246.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-245:

So it is not only raggae and sprinting…..

And then some people in Pretoria think Steve Mofmeyer is a stud, lol.

• 247.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-246:
    Yes, Jamaican men have such atitude coupled with confidence.
    Bob, Chris Gayle, Bolt, etc are perfect examples.

• 248.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Yummie yum yum

• 249.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s movie called?

• 250.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-249:
    Marley.

• 251.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Nouveau in claremont?

• 252.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Yes and Warrefront.

• 253.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Thanks for heads up

• 254.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

In one of the latest books about Marley its revealed that he suffered frequent bouts of depression due to the fact that his father was a white man.

• 255.boogieloo: Reply to this comment

Is that not rude and sexist? – heads up – male?

• 256.IAAS: Reply to this comment

uh-oh. Could be problem for GB in 4 x 100 relay.

• 257.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

hoekom se al die cullerts inie kaap altyd ja meneer en dankie meneer?
    raak fekkin wys man
    wasse khak is dit?

• 258.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-257:
    Hoe moet hulle se.

Ja Baas, dankie Baas.

Wat is jou jou probleem met MENEER?

• 259.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-216:
    Now, you put it really well.

“i don’t think it is worth carrying on about (it) elke fo.kken dag… ‘

These fukkers make us all look like squealers and I don’t think we are all like that. Pity they don’t realise that they are actually portraying a whole country as a bunch of squealers.

Dom etters.

• 260.nama1: Reply to this comment

Can’t see WP beating the Sharkies today. Really, the team that AC and Fleckie selected for this game????

As a WP supporter, I can’t see how we can beat them.

PS: At least it will bring old HG back to this site.

BOOM!!!

• 261.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-245: that or they are serial philanderers that would give zuma a run for his money…

don’t get how one is romanticised and the other deplored – not necessarily by you.

• 262.poppa69: Reply to this comment

well, first page of this thread says it all

wait for it has finally had the mental breakdown, and all he has done is highlight how poor saffas are when they lose. before the super rugby final he admired the chiefs, and now they are cheats?

also, his attacks on Read, imagine if I had. called Saffa players fijlthy scum? without ever.meeting them?

why has no saffa told him to pull his head in? he is more repetitive then me, but it’s ok to call kiwis filthy scum huh?

shall I call all saffas rapists? seems this would be frowned upon, but you all remain silent when Houston has a problem

cool, glad I understand that saffas are the biggest hypocrites ever.

• 263.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-152: the blind and ignorant the truth shall set you free?

and then you attack me you sad, raping mofo?

anytime you want son, you are absolutely pathetic, and colour ALL saffas with the same brush..

seems the conspriacy has combined with your syphillis and is slowly eating away at the little morsel you like to call a brain..

regale us again about filthy scum kiwis, how they cheat etc etc ad nauseam..

seriously, I now understand why Saffas needed black armbands, if this is the level of crying one reaches..

• 264.viewer: Reply to this comment

@260 the idiot HG will be back. The big mouth went missing in action after the lions beat his pet fish. By the way his comrade Fern once vowed to never post here again after being caught out making inappropriate comments about another blogger’s daughters. Needless to say, he was soon seen back in these parts. Spineless

• 265.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

@nama
    Wat is verkerd met jy en jou?
    Meneer en mevrou is net te subserviant
    Irriteer die k ak uit my uit.

• 266.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-262: You are in no position to talk about other people’s breakdowns. You are very much the Alfa Romeo of this site.

• 267.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-266: You are not too far behind as well. BOOM! What is that ??? :D

• 268.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@viewer-264: :D Who will he inform about his indoor barbecue room extension etc etc if he is not part of the keo family?He really doesn’t have any friends away from keo.

• 269.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-266: and you are still an idiot..

but I dont care, we’ve just won our fifth gold medal

• 270.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-269: Congrats Pops.I watch the race.A nice looking girl as well,nowhere close to Fernly’s description of Kiwi chicks.

• 271.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Katman lost his marbles when Xhosakid mentioned the high suicide rate amongst whites in SA.I really would not waste my energy on Katters Pops.

• 272.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

WP jou lekker d?ng?

I th?nk ?ts t?me to start play?ng for the D?sa.

• 273.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Fark Blackberry.

? = eye.

• 274.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-272:

See KP has been a naughty boy. The England team gets announced tomorrow – he might not be in it. But I hope he is.

• 275.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-274:
    Dont know the story. Was he caught w!th another women or was !t late n!ght party?ng and then turn?ng up drunk at pract!ce.

They need h!m. The poms cant afford to drop the!r star player.

• 276.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-269: Was this one for rowing a boat or riding a horse?

How many have you won in real sports?

• 277.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-275: He allegedly sent sms messages to Dale Steyn and another Proteas player moaning about Flower and Strauss. Now the Pom management want to know the content of these sms’s before they announce their team.

• 278.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-276: BOOM!!

• 279.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-278: Every time you post that you end up looking like a dribbling halfwit. It’s not even original.

• 280.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-279: BOOM!!!

• 281.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-279: Do you prefer a gun or a rope Katters?What is the most favourite method amongst your people?Percentages will do.

• 282.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-281: I’d take my chances in the one in 800 000 or whatever the suicide stats are for white males over the stats for your people getting fcked on tik and sodomising the neighbour’s dog. Those odds are pretty unflattering, to say the least.

Do they consider it kinky to do it human style?

• 283.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-275:

Twitter once again. Saw the story on news24.

• 284.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Maybe they do,but please just leave your boy and wife alone buddy.They are innocent ….and your boy love going to Lions matches.OH yeah,afrikaner white males like fcking their own daughters as well as molesting little boys.I guess Herr Fritzl is a a role-model for you okes ne?I hope you don’t have a daughter Katters…i certainly hope so.

• 285.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-282: do you find it kinky fcking your own daughter?

• 286.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Gam scum rearing it’s toothless head here. I guess we couldn’t keep Lavender Hill out forever.

• 287.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-285:

You are a lowlife.

Which gutter did you grow up in?

• 288.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife1-285:
    @>^..^< katman-286:
    C’mon guys theres no need for this kind of talk on here.
    Both of you grow up and stop this racial nonsense

• 289.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

There is no white nation in South Africa, only the Afrikaner nation. …. out on farms, where they drink brandy, torture natives, and practice incest.

Above from a book i am currently reading.

• 290.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-287: Why don’t you go fck yourself!It’s ok for Katters to make derogatory remarks about coloureds but you blow a gasket when i open the door and expose white afrikaners own sick skeletons?

• 291.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

It’s a well-known fact that the Afrikaner race engages into incest as a form of preserving their pure race.What is so wrong about that?The blood of Herr Fritzl also partially runs through their veins.Nothing wrong about that either.

• 292.stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Lavender Hill?Bwaaaah!! I am living the good life here in Europe.Will be on my way to Berlin next weekend to see if the Germans also have this Afrikaner incest affliction :D

• 293.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

what dos the good life in europe entail?
    enlighten me please

• 294.ufo: Reply to this comment

sheesh… people…

there’s really no need for such appalling posts…

you’re both letting down whoever it is you think you represent…

even if it is only yourselves…

• 295.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

That piece of filth is gone. Good riddance.

• 296.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-276:
    Its the Olympics. May not be a sport what you like but it is still in the Olympics.
    Rowing is not an easy sport to do. Dont need to be an idiot cos your team didnt do as good as the Kiwis in the Olympics. But i wont sit here like you and down grade your guys sfforts at the Olympics.
    I thought South Africa did good. Does not matter what sport they won in, mighty effort for individuals to get there. Bit of respect from yourself would be nice, dont think you ever made it in sport let alone those non real sports.

• 297.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-1: Of course you are the wise old twerp of SA rugby, not just one-eyed but blind to boot, I have never seen a Bok Team who could play the game ‘CLEAN’ so go build yourself a bridge and get over it….

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.