New-look SA Schools for Wales

There have been numerous changes made to the SA Schools starting line-up for their clash against Wales U18 in George on Tuesday.

There are only six survivors from the team that beat France U18 17-7 in Wellington last Friday.

Among the forwards, skipper Pierre Schoeman, lock JD Schickerling, flank Thabo Mabuza and No 8 Jano Venter retain their places. In the backline, wing Sergeal Petersen and inside centre Rohan Janse van Rensburg remain.

‘The changes were always part of the plan but we are confident that we will have good combinations,’ said SA Schools coach Chris October. ‘We had a good few sessions since Friday’s match and the boys are looking forward to play at Outeniqua Park which is such a good venue.’

October added that there were lessons learnt after the win over their French counterparts.

‘We missed several scoring opportunities because of a lack of cohesion and our sometimes unwillingness to be more patient at times when the situation demanded it. Our hard work on defence kept the French side at bay for most of the match, but we will have to be much more clinical in our execution and our decision making against Wales.

‘The Welsh showed in the second half what they are capable of and they ran England very close on Friday. Their set pieces are good and they are not afraid to use the width of the field when on the attack, so we will have to be very alert in our defensive approach.’

The SA Schools will tackle Wales U18 at 5pm.

SA Schools – 15 Warrick Gelant (Outeniqua), 14 Sergeal Petersen (Grey PE), 13 Jurie Linde (Affies), 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg (Waterkloof), 11 Matjikinyane Molapo (Ben Vorster), 10 Ryno Eksteen (Affies), 9 Akhona Sihunu (Dale), 8 Jano Venter (HTS Middelburg), 7 Daniël du Preez (Kearsney), 6 Thabo Mabuza (Centurion), 5 JD Schickerling (Paarl Gym), 4 Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg (Affies), 3 Wilco Louw (Drostdy), 2 Chad Solomon (Paul Roos), 1 Pierre Schoeman (Affies, c)
Subs: 16 Francois Esterhuizen (Overberg), 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen (Centurion), 18 Ox Nche (Louis Botha), 19 Abongile Nonkontwana (St Albans), 20 Jean-Luc Du Preez (Kearsney), 21 Justin Philips (Waterkloof), 22 Handré Pollard (Paarl Gym), 23 Jesse Kriel (Maritzburg College).