Deans sticks with tried and tested

The Wallabies have named Scott Higginbotham at No 8 and Anthony Fainga’a at inside centre for their opening match of the Rugby Championship against the All Blacks in Sydney.

Mike Harris lost out to Reds team-mate Fainga’a as the replacement for the injured Pat McCabe, while Higginbotham, who started at blindside flanker during the third Test win over Wales, takes over from the injured Wycliff Palu at eighthman.

Berrick Barnes retains the No 10 jersey with Quade Cooper not in the match 22. The latter played just five Super Rugby matches upon his return from injury, which has been deemed insufficient preparation for Test rugby by coach Robbie Deans.

Wallabies – 15 Kurtley Beale, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Anthony Fainga’a, 11 Digby Ioane, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Will Genia, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 David Pocock (c), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Sitaleki Timani,  3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Tatafu Polota Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Radike Samo, 20 Michael Hooper, 21 Nick Phipps, 22 Drew Mitchell.