Pumas welcome back star flyhalf

Juan Martín Hernández will wear the No 10 jersey for Argentina in their debut Rugby Championship match against the Springboks at Newlands.

Hernández has not played for the Pumas since 2009 after undergoing major back surgery. As revealed in the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, two of his vertebrae had to be tied together and he was fearful of his future. After many months of rehab he returned to the game with Racing Metro only to tear anterior knee ligaments six months before the 2011 World Cup.

Hernández had an outstanding 2007 World Cup campaign with the notable exception of the semi-final against the Springboks when he had a night to forget.

The Pumas will be led into battle by No 8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe, who took over the captaincy from Felipe Contepomi after the veteran opted to play in the June internationals instead of the Rugby Championship.

Argentina – 15 Lucas González Amorosino, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernández, 11 Horacio Agulla, 10 Juan Martín Hernández, 9 Nicolás Vergallo, 8 Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe (c), 7 Álvaro Galindo, 6 Julio Farías Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guiñazú, 1 Rodrigo Roncero. Substitutes: 16 Bruno Postiglioni, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Tomás Leonardi, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Martín Landajo, 22 Martín Rodríguez.