Spies blow for Boks
14 Aug 2012
Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.
The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.
According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.
‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.
‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
15 Aug 2012, 11:17 am
@Stormerforlife1-393: Then you need a lock to cover for Bankie after 50 min
15 Aug 2012, 11:22 am
@capebull-401: Kruger move to the bankie and midget boy hops into Kruger’s space.
15 Aug 2012, 11:24 am
@capebull-389:
Kruger can move from 7 to lock in Bekker’s place with Keegan coming on. Alberts can move to 7 then….
15 Aug 2012, 11:26 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-398:
Potgieter IS the crowd that needs controlling.
@the artist formerly known as gunther-400:
That’s what I thought as well. He would have to move to 5 when Bekker goes off, which means that Alberts would have to last the full 80 otherwise we’d need to do some more juggling.
15 Aug 2012, 11:26 am
@the artist formerly known as gunther-398:
Agree.
Your other two forward reserves?
Prop and hooker, I presume.
15 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
So consensus by most exept SL and Capebull.
Forwards should look like this:
1. Beast
2. Bissie
3. Jannie
4. Etzebeth
5. Bekker
6. Coetzee
7. Kruger
8. Alberts
15 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@capebull-399:
Good point.
Easy to forget someone like Juan Smith was a lock at u21 level.
The 2007 line-out with Bakkies , Matfield , Smith , Rossouw and Burger must surely be the best lineout the game has ever seen.
15 Aug 2012, 11:32 am
@David-404:
I agree.
if there was an injury Alberts or Kruger could move to lock.
Daniels and Kolisi could be huge in the last 40 as the game opens up.
@nama1-405:
yes.
although against the argies one might be tempted to go for a 5-2 bench.
15 Aug 2012, 11:36 am
@David-404:
“which means that Alberts would have to last the full 80″
That’s the other problem HM has. Two front line forwards (Bekker and Alberts) who can’t last 80 minutes.
I guess that means a 5/2 split on the bench which leaves the door open for the “crowd controller” to join Keegan, Kolisi, Liebenberg and Cilliers on the bench.
15 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
@nama1-409:
Make that Strauss ahead of Liebenberg.
15 Aug 2012, 11:41 am
@CT Shark-50: you have a VERY short memory my friend – but judging from your nickname, you are biased towards the Sharks anyway…
1. No pace? Should I remind you of him covering, chasing and catching Mvovo? (And Mvovo is a Shark, so you cant insult him). Watch www . rugbydump.com/2010/10/1659/duane-vermeulen-smashed-boot-less-but-still-catches-lwazi-mvovo
2. I will agree that Kanko and Keegan are better offloaders than Duane, but Duane brings other assets, and his distribution is still great
3. Im not sure about his tackle count stats, but 2 points to consider:
- Alberts (another Shark) also had cr@p stats in this year’s S15. However he was still picked for the Boks and performed brilliantly. So are stats always the whole story?
- the importance of tackles he makes (refer to clip above).
15 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
@wp_boytjie-407: Ja – by far! Especially with Smit throwing in! Ahhh those were the days
15 Aug 2012, 11:47 am
Sorry i just dont think experimenting with a lock at flack right now would be wise, specially as you have a new lock pair and not the most experienced loosies in that trio, Coetzee is still young
Alberts does not have that many tests behind him, SO you guys want to experiment when you have 5 out of your pack that are not the most experienced???
I dont buy for one minute that Alberts cannot be used at 8 where he played for most of his career up in Guateng, Surely you play a Kolisi or Daniel at 6 then where atleast they know exactly what to do, Then have you big ball carrier at 8
Nee man, If Daniel is not good enough and Kolisi is not good enough and POtgieter is not good enough call up a Strauss and play him 8
Luckily i cant See HM being that stupid
15 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
YOu okes are clutcing at straws
15 Aug 2012, 11:51 am
everyone can have a laugh at spies expense but I happened to watch both 2009 tests vs all blacks on espn last night.
spies when on form is by far and away the best 8 we have and I’d even say on the planet when playing well. Watching those games in hindsight, the standout forwards on both occassion were bakkies and Pierre. Funnily enough, watching again, Brussouw got smashed out the game most of the time but for some reason got plenty of applause when I think back.
Personally, I find it a sad state of affairs in south african rugby when we are even considering starting a 5 foot pigmy as a springbok 8. I do not deny his heart or intelligence….but fck guys?
now, I ask you…..would we seriously consider Brussow,Alberts and Daniels as a starting combo?
15 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415: Stuttering there Big??
15 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
@sharks_lover-413:
The problem is 7, not 6 or 8 if Alberts plays 8. Potgieter is still there for a reason, though why I’ve no idea.
The problem for me, is that HM wants a big ball carrying loose trio to enforce his game plan, which means a limited choice of starting players left in his squad. It’s noticeable that he hasn’t called for any Spies replacement so I assume that Pottie will take the 7 spot and Alberts 8.
15 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@David-417: He would then be better off with Kolisi at 6 and Coetzee at 7
Coetzee have been huge as a ball carrier link and offloader etc
POttie is just gonna go flying all over the place like a rag doll on roids
15 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415:
The same argument was made against Bedford and Tiaan.
15 Aug 2012, 12:00 pm
@nama1-409:
yes, I mentioned that yesterday.
that must be a huge headache for the coaching staff.
dammit but we are missing danie roussow. never fully appreciated when we had him.
Isn’t that always the way.
I’d go as far as to hypothesize that we’ll only appreciate Spies’ value when he is not there.
15 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
I know how he hurt his finger. He told Potgieter, pull my finger, as we all know, Potgieter only know one way and that is to go all the way. Potgieter took a mighty pull. Piere wanted to make a **** but end up shiting himself after Potgieter pulled so hard and broke his finger.
15 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@sharks_lover-418:
Or even Coetzee at 8. His distribution and awareness are ahead of Alberts and would be wasted at 7, IMO.
15 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@David-417: If DAniel AND Kolisi is ther whats the point of them being called up??
These 2 have been brilliant all season against whatever the rest of SA, KIwi or Aussies has had to offer, Sorry boet We all going over the top here with this whole size thing, Sharks actually was most succesful this season when they used their smallest loose trio, reason being better skill sets, and even though they not these huge gorrillas they pack far abaover their weight, same with Kolisi, good whole season .
15 Aug 2012, 12:04 pm
@David-422: DAvid, MArcel was 8thman all his life till this year when Kanko, Alberts and Deysel were injured, So because of his raw young power and skills they moved him to 7
15 Aug 2012, 12:05 pm
Katman @ 301 Thank you.
15 Aug 2012, 12:06 pm
@David-422: DAvid, like i said many posts ago, YOU can shitf the loose forwards around during the match, depending on the needs, is it attacking ball, or defensive?? etc
15 Aug 2012, 12:09 pm
@sharks_lover-423:
I agree. It’s HM who insists on size. I reckon his fantasy trio would be 8 Duane, 7 Alberts, 6 Coetzee.
15 Aug 2012, 12:15 pm
@sharks_lover-413:
You did not have a problem with the inexperience of the pack when we played against England, did you?
Two locks on debut. A flank on debut with the other flank less than 10 test matches. Chuck in an 8th man who has been out of form for 3-5 years now.
You did not complain much back then. Why all of a sardientjie does it bother you now.
If you look closely, everybody has Alberts at 8.
15 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
You guys can call Daniel a pigmy,but he is a bloody great pigmy.I hope Heyneke gives him a chance on Saturday .
15 Aug 2012, 12:20 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-415: I think everyone here would agree that Spies on form is awesome. But he has not shown form in a Bok jersey in a loooong time. It is a backhand compliment to the player that we expect so much from him.
The fact that he has still played for so long speaks of the faith shown in him and the time he has been given to reach his potential.
I feel it is similar to the case with Habana – every time he scores a try, there are articles and exclamations of “Bryan’s back!” because we WANT him to be back.
But he has not shown that form again, and as such should not be a Bok at the moment.
And I agree we need big ball carrying boys.
Possibly in 2009, by the time we played the ABs and theyd watched the Lions series, the opposition focused so much on Brussow, and this gave Spies more space to operate in?
15 Aug 2012, 12:21 pm
@sharks_lover-423: I hear you, but remember Test rugby is not Super Rugby
15 Aug 2012, 12:27 pm
@nama1-406: The only reason why I have doubts of your team is cause both Bekker and Alberts will have to be replaced after 50min , with Eben also a worry injured, you could find yourself short- Keegan
Apart from that Kruger could work at 7, but then why not pick Kruger at lock and fire Bankie untill he takes all the ball he should and get fit for 80min
15 Aug 2012, 12:29 pm
@David-427: No thats yours , you need speed as well
15 Aug 2012, 12:32 pm
Brigadier @ 420. I thought he played very well against England.
15 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
@capebull-432:
…and who then, will take Bekkers place?
Flip vd Merwe?
15 Aug 2012, 12:56 pm
@capebull-433:
No, it isn’t. I’d go with Brussouw at 6.
15 Aug 2012, 13:02 pm
@nama1-435: Flip and Eben compete, Bekker and Kruger,
We are thin on locks at moment, Bresler from Sharks looks OK , in the group there’s no one
15 Aug 2012, 13:03 pm
@David-436: I rate him as well but he is injured. Two tall guys at 7/8 with him at 6
15 Aug 2012, 15:34 pm
Katman and trupi got the backrow spot-on
I see el presidente SL is making some controversial non-sharks calls too – Strauss should def be ahead of potgieter spot on
but I hope heyneke ain’t sidelining kolisi – that bugger could be a revelation if motivated correctly – can meyer only motivate the boertjies or the Bantu buggers mos ook?
15 Aug 2012, 15:36 pm
Daniel is a pigmy but potentially a v good pigmy – brussow is also a pigmy but sometimes pigmys are too good too leave out – besides u can chick them a moerse long way to catch tge lineout ball.
15 Aug 2012, 15:51 pm
Back, betsen, these are all great pigmies
dalton cockerill were mofo aggro pigmies
sometimes a pigmy can be a handful – fourie is best hooker after bismark for his sheer agression and ballcarrying nit to mention mobility and fetching.
16 Aug 2012, 08:07 am
Okay KEO/Mark…
Yesterday you pointedly ignored several requests that you address the issue of people using the identities or nics to impersonate other posters to post inflammatory and derogatory comments which not only kick the hornet’s nest but make life on the site pretty uncomfortable for the real owner of the abused identity.
What happened to the old system of posting the original sign-on nic with whatever new nic is used?
Why was it changed?
It seems it was obviously a conscious decision your part.
Your silence and Nikita’s comment the other day about it being a democracy… whatever that means… leaves little room but to accept the conspiracy theorists that this change was a management decision to empower the trouble-makers in an effort to drive up your decreasing monthly hits.
Some have speculated that your staff members are in fact guilty of this ‘crime’. I dismissed this as passing the buck, but perhaps they have a point after all.
There is also the problem of people registering several nics about which I appreciate there is little you can do but that is not half as annoying as people using the current identities of current members to stir up controversy.
This is not right or fair or ‘democratic’. In real life democracies it is illegal to impersonate anyone else. Surely the most basic of your responsibilities is to protect the identities/nics/personas of your members.
What a pity that you have decided to appeal to the lowest common denominator. I have always defended the fact that you have allowed full and robust debate with little censorship but this new low (even for you) low-road approach you seem to have adopted (in the absence of any comment or effort to sort the problem by you) leave me very disappointed in the site in general and you in particular.
This approach may attract hits in the short-term but you are underestimating the ill-feeling it is causing and you will lose hits and members in the long-term.
It seems you do not appreciate that while you created this site and facilitate the discussion on it… it is the many members who participate upon it that MAKE the site what it is.
I signed up with your site when you started it but I am no longer willing to tolerate the implied arrogance your position suggests, or participate any longer in this farce, so will vote with my feet. I will post this comment several times to ensure you can’t say you did not see it and then withdraw from the site. I may reconsider if and when such time as you have addressed the issue and returned the posting protocol to what it used to be with someone’s original identity always being visible to all. I know I am only one person and you may well ridicule my stance but hey… so what.
Cheers to all the decent people on this site, many of whom are very knowledgeable, intelligent, humourous and entertaining. I would suggest that everyone who disagrees with KEO’s low-life approach also leave the site but obviously you must all do what you feel is right for you.
ufo…
over and out…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All