Spies blow for Boks

Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.

The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.

According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.

‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.

‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments

• 1.trupisero: Reply to this comment

No blow dragon

• 2.lightie: Reply to this comment

Bummer, now Potgieter might actually start. Albert’s to 8?

• 3.trupisero: Reply to this comment

What about Daniel, Coetzee, Alberts?

Or even Siya?

• 4.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Glory Hallelujah !!I started to question the existence of God,but I am a believer again. :D

• 5.pierre: Reply to this comment

How is that a “blow”? It’s a blessing from heaven. Spies is mediocre at best. But don’t feel to sorry for the little diddum. I’m sure his husband Tacitus will kiss it better and bring him chicken soup.

• 6.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Awesome !
    Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts
    or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.

• 7.pierre: Reply to this comment

@pierre-5: *too

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

well now we know…

god is not a bull…!!

:evil:

• 9.gecko: Reply to this comment

Heading should read ‘Spies blow for Pumas/Wallabies/All Blacks’

• 10.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

On a serious note,I just wanna wish Britney a speedy recovery.

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

tough luck pierre… never good when a player gets injured…

• 12.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

All Blacks and Aussie coaches will have to put their game plans through the shredder machine now I guess.Back to the drawing boards gents.

• 13.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

So Duane could be fast tracked a little quicker than expected, but I would still
    hope he gets 2 full Currie Cup games in before joining the Boks.

Can do without Duane for the Argie tests, while he gets some playing time.

I do wish Pierre well in his recovery though…..Kak 8th man, very nice fellow.

• 14.PoPe: Reply to this comment

Bad luck to Pierre. But hopefully he can go get some form back in the CC.

In current squad, Keegan Daniels is the only player who has played no 8 recently and should get the nod. Assuming he is over his spider bite.

Highly unlikely, but if Vermeulen has a cracker this weekend, he might even come into the mix for the 2nd test off the bench. Don’t see it happening tho. I haven’t seen Alberts play no 8 since World Cup. I know he made an impact, but will he be able to play 8 against AB and Woblies?

• 15.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Hopefully Fat Albert to eight.No Daniel please or I will have to go on my knees to pray that the Cape spider comes back and finishes him off. :D

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

Good luck Pierre.

• 17.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Bad luck P!erre. Take your t!me, you don’t have to rush back.

• 18.willievz: Reply to this comment

Arno Botha to get an early taste of test rugby? ;)

• 19.super_pippo: Reply to this comment

It’s a big blow. Haters.

• 20.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@PoPe-14: Now why would he be playing CC rugby with a broken finger when the injury ruled him out of the four nations tournament?

• 21.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gecko, lol! Pierre should stick to making gospel cds.

• 22.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@super_pippo-19: Big blow indeed….for the okes on voelmyhoring!That place must be turning into a funeral wake as we type.

• 23.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Sorry to hear! But Yes!!!! Finally someone new at 8, what a relieve.

• 24.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Hope you have a loooonggg successful recovery.

• 25.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

The ball is in your court now Duane Vermeulen.Two good performances from you over the the next two weeks and the Bok eight position is yours.

• 26.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

I know he’s a nice guy but this is the best news I’ve heard in a while. With a Kolisi , coetzee and Alberts combo we stand a chance again.

Last wish – Meyer pls make the call and drop morne if he’s anything

• 27.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Tacitus will be heartbroken.I think that’s end of Tacitus’ support for the Boks….for now.

• 28.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

If he’s anything but perfect against the argies

• 29.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Aglberts, kolisi and marcell for back row

• 30.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Alberts*

• 31.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Gazelle-29: HM will be looking for some additional bulk now, and will play Potgieter at 7 and Alberts at 8.

• 32.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Brussow to replace Coetzee would make the Boks loose- forward combination extremely potent.Coetzee is a bit of a glory boy,not really playing as part of a combination.

• 33.David: Reply to this comment

I reckon we’ll see Alberts, Coetzee and Daniels loose trio with Kolisi on the bench, as he covers more positions than Pottie. Which position they’ll start in is another story.

• 34.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

great news, lets get Brussouw back in the mix then

• 35.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-22:

A moment of silence please… have you no heart?
    “stomer for life 1″?
    What are you gonna be in your next life junior?

• 36.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

How will Meyer respond now?Will he be bold and select Kolisi or simply retreat back into his laager mentality and select Potgieter.

• 37.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

I wonder how this even happened?
    More jokes about breaking things off with sufficient violence and nailpolish remover please…

• 38.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-35: Let us light a candle for a miraculous recovery for Spies if it’s going to make you happy….ok.I feel your pain but life goes on as they say.

• 39.puff: Reply to this comment

Meyer will go for the established Sharks combo of Coetzee, Alberts and Daniel.
    Front row, second row, and last row of pack plus halfbacks are all established franchise combinations.
    I hope Meyer will include Kolisi in the 22 for Newlands, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he places Potgieter on the bench.

• 40.David: Reply to this comment

This is a tragedy. Spies ring finger is the one he tackles with! :lol:

• 41.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Perhaps another loosie that can also provide cover at lock, like Deysel can come into the frame, but yarr ..this is hardly blow. I’m feeling betta about Saturday already.

• 42.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daar is n geween en n gekners van tande in Danville vanaand!Lock yourselves in tonight women, because no matter what meal you have prepared ,it’s not going to be well received.

• 43.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-38:

Geen pyne nie ou tjom ;)

I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.
    Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.

I don’t like the idea of J Potgieter there either, I would much rather prefer Duane Vermeulen.
    But there you have it.

• 44.puff: Reply to this comment

Come on Meyer, pull some strings and get Kanko back.

• 45.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-37:

Maybe it was meisiekind giving him a manicure and was rougher than usual.

There has been a lot of criticism about Spies including from HM himself. But seriously, never nice to see a guy lose his place due to injury.

But then one man’s misfortune is another man’s opportunity. HM likes Alberts as an 8 although the Sharks don’t play him there.

• 46.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

They’re probably lining up as follows;
    6. Coetsee
    7. Potgieter
    8. Alberts
    With Kolisi off the bench, earning his debut cap. at Newlands

• 47.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@David-40: OK. I am choking with laughter at that comment. :)

• 48.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@puff-39:

Most likely yes.

• 49.Stiff-arm: Reply to this comment

You come home after a long, hot, sweaty day at the office, spent an hour in the traffic, thinking what a **** day it’s been… And then you get the best news ever. Never wishing misfortune on any one, but let’s hope that’s the end of one sorry chapter in Bok history

• 50.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

This is certainly NO blow to the Springboks and just forces Meyers hand to rid the Boks of a passenger that has been clinging to the side like an old droll for almost 2 seasons now!

Spies stopped being useful two years ago…..and all he has done is deprive a more worthy player of a position in the Bok side.

Can Vermeulen be fast tracked into the Bok side with just one or two Currie Cup appearances under the belt? I don’t know…….

What I do know is that I don’t rate Vermeulen in the least.

1. He’s a carthorse with little or no pace to speak of.
    2. He does not have good distribution skills that a really great 8th man has to join the backline and add another player or dimension to it.
    3. His tackle count last season was well below the top loosies in SA….so he’s not a stalwart on defense.

So what does he actually bring? Not a whole lot from where I stand. He’s just another mediocre player that for some or other reason the Newlands faithful have fallen in love with….because of his “abrasive” personality. (his greatest asset)

Right now Kanko and Keegan Daniel have outplayed, out paced, out smarted and out tackled almost every other loose forward in South Africa…..except for Marcelle Coetzee…..and quite frankly if Meyer was serious about his speech regarding combinations that he delivered before the England test…..then the Sharks loosies should have been imported man for man into the Bok side. Just a pity Kanko had already decided to go play with the little slant eyes.

Good riddance to Spies…..may his convalescence be a verrrrrry long but successful one…….but in the meantime……will a REAL 8th man please stand up!!!!

• 51.viewer: Reply to this comment

Two reasons to believe there might be a God – 1) I fell asleep behind the wheel last week & didn’t crash; 2) The fuckker Spies won’t be seen on a rugby field for a couple of months

• 52.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Stiff-arm-49:

Amen brother….. LOL

• 53.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-37:

I’m a Bulls supporter and I’m glad he’s out, he’s been a passenger for far too long

Even Anton Leonard was better than him, at least he played hard

Look at all the loosies of all the SA franchises, all of them got injured during the past season except him

Why?

Because he’s a champion passenger

He probably got a hangnail from opening a new can of USN*

*-Uitstekende Spiere Nagemaak?

• 54.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-50: Jeez,another CT Sharks supporter.Can’t you guys stay in your own fcken province??? :D

• 55.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@viewer-51:

Maybe there is a God that protected an innocent girl from being run over by a “fuckker” like you that fell asleep at the wheel….
    just a thought.

• 56.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-53:

I hear you.
    It’s been a tough season with regards to injuries.
    I’d like to see Duane and then Brussow and Steggies back. There is also space for Schalk Burger I believe.

• 57.Puma: Reply to this comment

Jeez even more annoyed now that Kanko has gone to Japan. He would have been first choice 8. Was our best 8 in the saffa conference. Anyhow he is in Japan now.

Keegan at 8 Alberts 7 Coetzee 6. Or move Alberts to 8 Coetzee 7 Kolisi 6.

• 58.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-54:

HEY…….I come by the way of Texas…..so I left that province a loooooooong time ago!! Besides…..we lend a bit of class to this hovel you call home!! lol

• 59.Dawn: Reply to this comment

That wedding ring finger can be pesky

• 60.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-53: Howzit Vbok?Canada still treating you well?Don’t be too harsh on Pierre now.

• 61.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-57:

Sharks operated brilliantly with Keegan at 8, Coetzee at 6 and Alberts at 7…..why change a winning combo ?

• 62.David: Reply to this comment

Didn’t Juandre play at blindside for Northants in the UK? He could be a replacement with Alberts moving to 8, plus he provides a lineout option.

• 63.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-50: Meyer should try and get Kanko for our away games for Wallabies and Abs. If SBW is allowed to play two games for ABs why we can’t negotiate to have Kanko for two or 4 games? Hope we can. He was outstanding for Sharks.

I do rate Vermeulen but his is slow and I prefer a faster 8 like Kanko he is also superb in the lineouts.

• 64.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-56:

The morral of the story is ALL loosies get injured during a season,
    it’s because they make so many tackles and take so many hits

Except Spies, who’s a past master at hiding in plain sight on a rugbyfield, he never get’s injured

• 65.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Alberts at eight and Potgieter at seven.Heyneke will play it safe against the Argies.

• 66.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-64:

moral

• 67.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-61: Yes we did. Keegan actually played most of our games at 8 this year. So I would go with all Shark loosies.

Look when Kanko started against the Bulls our loose trio was even better with him there at 8 and Keegan moving to 6. But he is in Japan now and I would definitely go with Keegan now at 8 Alberts 7 Coetzee 6.

• 68.IAAS: Reply to this comment

I see Kolisi making his debut this weekend.

8 Alberts
    7 Coetzee
    6 Kolisi

• 69.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@David-62:

Juandre’s not slow either and he can go to lock when Bekker goes off

Like Kitch did with Strauli on no 8 in the WC 95 final

• 70.viewer: Reply to this comment

@59 Dawn. He got hurt spreading a stiff pusssy before a bout of cunningilus

• 71.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Puma-63: Totally agree with you….but sadly Kanko was the one that said that he had to honor his contract…..nice to see there are still some who when they give their word…stand by it.

Hopefully he’ll be at no.8 from next season permanently….and Britney will just fade away like a bad dream….? lol

• 72.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-64:

Maybe.
    It cerainly seems that he has developed “techniques” that protect him rather than hurt his opponents.

I remember the very first thing my father taught me about rugby when I was 4 or 5:
    You should never hesitate or you will get hurt. Commit fully to everything you do on the field.

I don’t really care if anyone sees that as “laager” mentality, but it served me well despite my own injuries. At the very least I can’t be accused of being a coward.
    In my opinion a player never ever gets to the heart of rugby if he or she doesn’t commit fully and become fearless.
    They might be brilliant, but they haven’t experience “real” rugby.

Once your body gets tossed about and you are introduced to pain again and again, a type of reality dawns on you and if you are still functioning efficiently and being industrious your whole attitude changes.
    This attitude flows over into other areas of your life.

Some old rugby players here will know what I’m talking about.

• 73.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-69: That could be as early as the 10th minute……Bekker ain’t too tough and seems to run home to Mum with the first little bump?

• 74.Puma: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-68: Could be, but I think it could be a all Sharks loosies. Keegan was excellent this year whether at 8 or 6 for Sharks. Just that Kanko was really brilliant at 8 and a pity he is in Japan.

I think it will be all Sharks loosies this weekend. That is if Keegan is over that spider bite. Read he was okay today.

• 75.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@viewer-70:

You’re off limits here. Lift your game.

That’s disgusting.

• 76.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Stormers v griquas

Another loss coming up

• 77.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-65: If Meyer plays that brain dead lump Potgieter instead of using the Sharks loose trio combo then he need some time in a decompression chamber because his brain is obviously deprived of oxygen.

Potgieter should never have even been picked for this side. He offers nothing other than stupidly aggressive running…..which is always at players and never at gaps…..and he doesn’t even understand the concept of “offloading”……

• 78.Doodlebug: Reply to this comment

By continuously selecting Pierre Spies, regardless of his form, the selectors do him no favours. Hopefully this will give him a chance to “pull finger” and get himself into something resembling some form by the time his finger is ready again.

In the meanwhile, the prospect of having Alberts at 8 must surely be an exciting one.

• 79.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-75: I agreem some stormer supporter comments in here leave a lot to be desired, the player does not choose himself and the hate is pathetic

So well said mate,

• 80.Puma: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-71: This could have been his time to cement that position for himself.

Anyhow I would have Keegan start at 8 now. I much prefer a faster 8. Alberts is a very good 8 but prefer him at 7 to be honest. Keegan too is very good at the back of the scrum. I feel Meyer will go with the Sharks loosies this weekend. Unless that spider bite Keegan got is still bothering him. But I read today he is feeling okay today.

• 81.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Puma-74:

Could be. I’m all for maintaining combinations and I think that HM recognises that. Team should be released tomorrow. We just have to be patient until then.

But with my combo, I would have Keegan on the bench as the Argies will come at us with a monster pack as usual. I know Keegan punches above his weight but Kolisi might be the best man for the job in the first half.

• 82.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-74: Hiyas Puma bro, you well?? eish please not a complete Sharks trio, we will never hear the end of it in here :lol:

I have no problem with a Alberts, Kolisi, coetzee trio, could be quite good, Daniel as impact off the bench in last 25 min could be useful

• 83.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

My o my… 8-alberts,7-coetzee,6-kolisi if heineke is wise?
    4 the aus/blacks we need 8-vermeulen,7-alberts,6-kolisi with coetsee benched….
    Then I’m also praying brussow get call-up please!!!

• 84.Stiff-arm: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-61: There’s only one problem with Kanko. I won’t go as far as to call him the poor man’s Spies, but his strenghts and weaknesses are exactly the same: Great in loose open games, Awol in tight games. He was excellent in recent weeks, but only because the whole Sharks pack was. Unfortunately, games against the ABs are never loose and open, at least not from our side, so I just can’t see the point ok Kanko

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-81: Although i partly agree, i think Kolisi inj CT in front of his home crowd could be huge,but daniel at 8thman would be far better as that link between forwards and backs, also his pace is so much faster the n Kolisi, but like i said, i will be very happy if Kolisi plays,

• 86.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@viewer-70: That’s taking it a bit too far now,buddy.

• 87.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@puff-44: Meyer doesn’t have to pull any strings, under IRB regulations Kankowski’s club have to release him.

• 88.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Stiff-arm-84: Kanko never went awol for the Sharks the past 5 weeks. He actually only got a start when we played the Bulls. So he only really had 5 games starting this S15 and was voted the number 8 of the season by Planet Rugby. And that was after only really playing 5 full games. That says a lot. He was a different player this year. He was superb. Keegan has been too, no matter where Sharks have played him 8 or 6 he never lets the team down.

• 89.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@xtremebull-83: Come now mate, Coetzee and daniel in all the stats have been SA’s most prolific loose forwards, kanko only came to the fore after injury, So in what part of loose forward play is Kolisi better that Coetzee??

• 90.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-60:

Good and you?

Nice summer weather

Spies could have been the best no 8 ever, but he was never the same after he returned from his lung problem

Now he’s all show and no go

Like a Kia with a spoiler kit ;-)

• 91.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Stiff-arm-84: Correct.Kanko had numerous opportunities for the Boks but was found not good enough.Heyneke should not even attempt to get him from Japan as that would mean replacing the mediocre with the mediocre.Daniel is way too small and lack the necessary test match temperament and should not be considerd as well.

• 92.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-87: exactly, I am not fooled by HM’s talk of Kanko etc etc etc, I reckon thats just a bit of soft soaping the press and public, Spies was always going to play, and it’s only injury that has halted that plan. Just as Morne was always going to play.

• 93.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-85: I would be happy if it was Kolisi too, but we have to think what is best for us going into the next week and not worry about home town favourite here. Keegan was very good this year at 8. Also with Sharks off-loading game Keegan was the best at it and off-loaded more than any other player. Also superb at the back of the scrum. I prefer a fast 8. I would now go with all Sharks loose trio.

Will a player come into the squad to replace Spies to make it up to 30? I think only 26 players will tour to Arg though but for the away tour to Oz and Nz think we may have to bring in another player to fill that space Spies has left.

• 94.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Brussow,Kolisi and Vermeulen will be a great combination against the Australasians.

• 95.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-92:

HM rates Kanko highly particularly after the Bok training camp in Durban. And was forthright about Spies’s contributions saying he needs to lift his game. Keo mentioned this in yesterday’s article and I heard HM say it himself.

If Kanko had not gone to Japan, HM would’ve played him.

I stand corrected here, but under IRB regulations clubs only have the June and November window periods to release their players.

• 96.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-93: I am thinking of what to do for an article, but flying on a business trip to Durbs tomorrow,

• 97.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-95: you could be right boet, who knows,

• 98.David: Reply to this comment

It’ll be interesting to see who HM considered his best 8 replacement and loose combo without Spies for the series. He knew that Kanko and Duane weren’t available, so let’s wait and hear his justification for his selection.

• 99.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-91: You talking utter rubbish as usual. When did Kanko have so many chances for the Boks? When??????? Please inform us how many games Kanko started and finished for the Boks that he had so many chances as you say? He had so little time ever, mostly coming off the bench. Getting plenty chances is playing for a season or two like Spies that is getting plenty chances. Please man Kanko has never been given that chance. He was our best 8 this season and he only played 5 full games for Sharks because he had been injured.

• 100.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-98: to me Alberts, Coetzee POtgieter, Kolisi are very simluar, Daniel is the best link man in the squad for the back of the scrum? will he choose him?? i dont think so

• 101.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-99: Ignore boet, not worth it

• 102.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-53:
    When carried the ball, Leonard usually crossed the advantage line and more often than not remained on his feet, he was slow, true but then how far did that carried Spies?

@IAAS-68:
    Kolisie would be a good selection vs the Argies, look no further than the test at Buenos Aires in 2005 ;)

• 103.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Some serious disrespect going on on this blog tonight. Shown toward someone who has historically been a great player for SA.
    Meyer won’t play kolisi, he’ll at best play off the bench now although I think Potgieter will warm the wood now. Kolisi way too raw. Huge in defence but seriously needs work on his skill level.
    Would have loved to have had Strauss in the bok mix. Think he would have stepped very comfortably into that no 8 role.
    First prize would obviously have been Kanko but alas, tis not possible.

• 104.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-103: Amen john, again again it comes from a certain section of the community, very poor taste to say the least, from wishing he got injured, happy he got injured to even worse, So sad and these people call themselves decent and sports lovers

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-102: explain??

• 106.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-100:
    I agree, but I’d use Daniels at 6 with Coetzee at 7 and Alberts 8. An opensider also needs to be a link man if the role of 8 is to carry the ball up from the back. Unfortunately, as Willie mentioned earlier, HM will probably go with more bulk at 7 with that maniac Potgieter.

• 107.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Keegan’s cameo performances during the Poms series earlier this season does not inspire confidence I’m afraid. S15 may be his ceiling.
    Moving forward, maybe Arno Botha.
    For now, Alberts.

• 108.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-105:
    There was an incident there when JW pulled out Solly T about 28 minutes from the start saying: we were concerned about his well being, the Argie beasts were mauling him”
    :(

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-106: you could be right

• 110.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-102:

I’m sure Hougie gets more yards over the advantage line than Spies

• 111.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

This is not good for the Boks. I am concerned about Alberts fitness still and he is our only real option at 8 now.

Tough luck Pierre.

• 112.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’d bring Kanko back and go Kanko, Alberts, Coetzee, with Kolisi on the bench.

• 113.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-111:

The voice of reason amidst the collective emotional brainfart that has been this thread thus far.

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112: NOt sure there is enough time now though

• 115.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

Shouldn’t we ignore Kanko as he’s going to Japan?

• 116.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Hmmmm title of the article is identical to the one on Rugby 365,

• 117.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

Unfortunately Kanko is not an option. Boks need to pray Willem holds up now. Vermeulen back in 2 weeks but his fitness is also in question at this moment.

• 118.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-108:
    No suprises here..,
    Hondo with another derogatory race based blog.
    Your other trick being biased refereeing.
    2012 china, time to up your game a bit.

• 119.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam this is good news – I reckon we will now take the ABs.

Pierre will heal up – an injury to the hand is about as good as it gets as rugby injuries go.

Please god no potgieter or kankoski – asb tog

yip watch out kiwis hier kom n moerse ding – now all we need is jannie to pull a hammie to get some bench time for cilliers and I reckon heyneke is heading for a 90% season.

• 120.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-95: my understanding is the test windows were to be moved to suit the RC and ensure the release of Argentina’s players,

In saying that Kanko won’t want to jeopardise his big money deal, the SARU would likely have to compensate his Japanese club and like most unions they would be reluctant.

• 121.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-117:

Deysel?

• 122.wpallday: Reply to this comment

This pack ;
    1.Beast
    2.Bismarck
    3.Jannie
    4.Etzebeth
    5.Bekker
    6.Coetzee
    7.Alberts
    8.Daniel
    -Helluva side ,Daniel is a natural number 8 and can unlock games.
    Some how I know Meyer will play Potgieter and Alberts at 7 and 8 respectively; redundant and predictable, snooze fest .

Spies has been in horrific form and truth be told is not a Springbok anything ,not a wing and definitely not a forward.

Now Goosen or Lambie at 10 and we are styling :)

• 123.Puma: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-115: He is only going for 6 months and will be back. Meyer could negotiate with his club there to get him back.

• 124.SANZ man: Reply to this comment

Anyone here ever heard about an All Black called **** (Red) Conway who toured S.A in 1960?
    He was going to miss the tour because of a injured finger so instead he had it amputated and played. Mad B****td!!

• 125.cab: Reply to this comment

I state categorically we shall bliksem allcomers – all we need now is the kickchase to be cut down to 3 hailmary’s per minute and we back at no 1 before u can say ‘of hoe ekse’.

• 126.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-121:

Deysel is struggling to command a spot in the Sharks team and imo is a 7, not an 8 – it is quite a specialist position.

Most likely combo this weekend will be Marcell, Potgieter, Alberts with Keegan covering from the bench if he recovers from his spider bite – otherwise Kolisi will take up a bench position.

• 127.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: correct Deysel is a 7 and at a push a 6, but not an 8

• 128.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: Surely Kolisi instead of Potgieter?

• 129.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

But Kanko is not coming back. Well not for the next 6 months or so.

Now HM just has to play the hand he has been dealt.

Maybe Alberts at 8. But HM’s only concern is that the Sharks haven’t played him there. So it could well be an all Sharks loose trio with Daniel at 8, Alberts 7 and Coetzee 6. I’m fine with that.

• 130.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: Ernst Joubert was immaculate in the AP last season, he would not let any test side down.

• 131.cab: Reply to this comment

Ernst joubert a fantastic no 8

play alberts at 8 with kolisi at blinsider – pity brussow not there – all we need now is elstadt added to the mix for bekker and fourie for teddybear and jannie to play leftback – watch this side I reckon. Could be some uitmintende selection keuse – albeit forced.

• 132.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-120:

As far as I know June is when the NH tour the SH and November it is the opposite. Let’s just say that the IRB don’t make rushed decisions.

• 133.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126:
    Have to agree with that.
    Meyer is very consistent, and that is most like for like (if you can call it that) scenario.
    Probably with Kolisi off the bench.

• 134.David: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-130:
    I reckon he should have been in the Bok mix for a while. For some reason though, loosies playing overseas have little chance compared to some other positions.

• 135.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-134:

HM has stated that if there is a 50/50 call he will go with a local player. And we have plenty of loose forward options in this country. Right now we are just talking about the right combinations.

• 136.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Kanko is not the answer and I believe Heyneke thinks so as well hence not negotiating his release for a couple of games like the all blacks did re SBW.There is no disputing that Kanko performed well in a desperate Sharks team at the end of the super15.Super15 is Kanko’s ceiling…and Heyneke knows it .

• 137.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daniel simply is too small for test match rugby and will be manhandled by the big Argentine forwards.Why Heyneke selected him in the squad is a mystery,especially in light of his public statement that he doesn’t believe in small,light rugby players.

• 138.cab: Reply to this comment

124 SANZ
    lol – great story.

• 139.David: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-135:
    I’m talking about the last 3 or 4 years. Ernst and Big Joe were a major loss considering how they’ve both matured. I never understood why the Lions moved Ernst from 8 to 7 to accommodate Alberts at 8.

• 140.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-136:
    Arno Botha, or CJ Stander may well be our future there.
    6′s Coetsee, Kolisi
    7′s Burger, Alberts
    With ample cover in the wings.

• 141.mako: Reply to this comment

YES YES YES!!!!! I just read the article, haven’t even looked at the comments yet, but Wooo Hooo, someone is listening to my prayers. Now for More to get a splinter in his little toe, please, please, pretty please.

I know that sounds awful, but hell, that one ring finger has just added another whole player to the Bok team. Now we can run on the field with 15 rugby players. NZ must be kakking themselves. Its been ages since they faced a full Bok side. Usually 14 plus a spectator running around on the field.

Hell, even Aplon would be 100% improvement at 8th man!!!

Thank you God, thank you, thank you, thank you!

• 142.mako: Reply to this comment

Sorry More = Morne, in my excitement I got carried away. Maybe Kirshner could break a fingernail and also miss ten weeks or so?

• 143.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126:

I’d blood Kolisi against the Argies

• 144.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Hip Hip Hooray. Get well soon Spies, you’re a good well spoken bloke but it’s about time the new future Bok 8 steps in. Be it Vermuelen, Alberts, Kankowski or even Burger, any of those guys will do just fine.

• 145.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-139:

SA has always produced quality loosies and will continue to so. So for a loosie to depart for overseas for an indefinite period is akin to kissing your Bok aspirations goodbye.

Obviously Ernst couldn’t understand the move either and quickly said his goodbyes. But Alberts was impressive at 8 with the Lions then. Sufficiently so for HM to still remember those games he played there. And hoping that the Sharks play him there.

• 146.cab: Reply to this comment

141 mako I could not agree more – there is a blessed one upstairs afterall – so long as meyer does not select kanko or potgieter the Boks are going to field one moerse string team for a change with a full compliment of 15 players.

• 147.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

I would have preferred for Kolisi to have continued his rugby education in the CC this year.He still needs to work on certain aspects of his game.

• 148.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-128:

I am stating what I believe Meyer will do, not my personal choice. I would love to see Siya and Marcell wreck havoc.

@Big Hit-130:

Good to see you again mate! Meyer will only select available overseas based players if there is no-one here to cover.

He will stick with the squad for the two Argie tests and Duane will come in once they go down-under.

• 149.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-143:

He is behind Keegan in the pecking order. Would be great to see him make his debut though, but nothing more than bench I would imagine.

• 150.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am out though folks, have a nice evening.

• 151.mako: Reply to this comment

@cab-146: Any loosie playing provincial rugby and I mean Anybody will make it 100% improvement. Spies did nothing, ever. That is why he also never got injured. The guys was a chameleon on the field, trotting from ruck to ruck and standing off in a hulk pose, just blocking space. I am so happy right now I think I might have just shat my pants!

• 152.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Meyer will probably go with
    8- Alberts
    7- Potgieter
    6- Coetzee

which looks pretty good to me; let’s see how Pottie goes this time- he might have his critics but he’s a big, fast unit with a commendable lack of self preservation. Some good points about Daniel’s game in this thread- his offloading, speed etc so maybe Heineken can bring him in later in the match after the big guns have punched some holes in the Argies. Excited for matchday.

• 153.cab: Reply to this comment

Kolisi should def be blooded against argies who will hit it up around the fringes – tge dark destroyer will cut them down kap kap kap – instead we getting greystoke potgieter or lipozano kanko – the argie gauchos will eat them up.

• 154.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@cab-146:
    One more change still required..,
    Give Jantjies a run at against the Argies with Morne as fall back on the bench, should there be a need to revert back to type.
    Unfortunately, won’t happen as Meyer believe in proper execution rather then multple game plans.

• 155.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@mako-151: Spies had a fairly good series against the English.I think you are getting a bit too carried away here now.

• 156.mako: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-155: Pfffft, what did he do? Collect a couple of kick offs and a couple of lineout balls, that’s it. I think I saw him make one tackle. He got credited with a lot of Coetzee’s work due to similar build and headbands, but he did nothing against England. The guy is an out and out passenger.

I reckon HM is throwing back the champagne right now, because this gives him an out.

• 157.cab: Reply to this comment

151 mako yes it’s time to play other loosies – Pierre can rest up a bit and the bulls will be happy cos he will be fresh for next season and he will be happy cos the finger will not impinge on his usn muscle program and the boks will be happy cos as u say there now 8 forwards in tge bok pack which ain’t happened in about 5 years.

Potblou – what about goosen over jantjies?

• 158.mako: Reply to this comment

Any chance of Spies telling us what he was doing with his ring finger when he hurt it, maybe we could get Morne Steyn to do the same thing?

• 159.cab: Reply to this comment

I can’t understand all the negativity – the only ppl that are not happy are the kiwis and ozzies and argies and heineke ( a few wins will change that).

• 160.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@cab-157:
    Let him have a full tilt in the CC, fitness permitting and let him loose on the EOYT, 2012.
    We’ll need his raking punts, and if all goes to plan, instate him as the no.1 pivot as from 2013.
    With Jantjies, we can build depth, as it would seem that Heyneke sees Lambie as a 15.

• 161.mako: Reply to this comment

Whoever the hand specialist is that checked out Pierre’s hand, I would like to say give that man a Bells!!!

It isn’t that I don’t like him as a person. He comes accross as a really nice bloke, actually. But Jeez, we don’t want really nice blokes facing the All Blacks. Give us some Mangy, scabby mongrels, that snarl and bite…

• 162.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@mako-158:

Morne is playing Daddy, you should read his Twitter feed on the Bulls site, all about baby clothes and playing house

And Hougaard is flogging face cream on his :-(

“Long day on the course.. Thank goodness I remembered to apply Dermalogica’s Skin Smoothing Cream with Aloe..killer conditions out there”

WTF?

Where are the real rugby players who don’t sit down to pee?

• 163.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-162:
    No farken way buddy, face cream Hougaard?
    Cape Town is qute “moist” as it is……., :lol:

• 164.cab: Reply to this comment

Pierre is probably a very nice guy, but he’s had a good long run in the no8 bok jumper and led a very charmed bok life if u ask me and it’s purely cos of his physical attributes – waldrom who has a beerpoep and lordosis of the spine whose training program consists of rep lifting Yorkshire puds to mouth height and excessive supplementation of tetleys bitter by the caseload outplayed him handsdown.

• 165.mako: Reply to this comment

This is where we pay the price for having Michalak play for the sharks this season. Lambie should have been playing flyhalf for the sharks all season, he would then be the natural choice for the Boks. I understand that he will be sharks first choice flyhalf next season, but that should’ve been the case this year. He wasn’t done any favours being played at FB. The kid is potentially a great flyhalf and we can’t afford to be tossing that sort of potential away so that we can continue with flyhalves in the Louis Koen, Braam Van Straaten, Jannie Duplessis mould.

• 166.Robzim: Reply to this comment

This is an ideal opportunty for Heincke Meyer to bring Luke Watson back into the squad .

6. Coetzee
    7. Alberts
    8 Watson (VC)

Kolisi on the bench.

Watson can do a bit of fetching, provide leadership, flair, brains and mongrel, Alberts will be the big ball carrier and line-out option while Coetzee will be the tearaway opensider. Kolisi is ideal for the bench as he can cover all 3 positions and is the ideal player to make an impact during the last 30 minues.

Unbeatable.

• 167.mako: Reply to this comment

Jeez did I say Jannie Duplessis? Freudian slip I fear. That’s what comes of over excitement at finding that we are going to have a 15 man bok side again for the first time in years…
    I actually meant Jannie De beer!

• 168.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

Oh SharksLover you silly grizzled old scroat get off your highhorse you are such a dishonest hypocrite.
    Viewer makes this disgusting comment.
    70.viewer:14 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm @59 Dawn. He got hurt spreading a stiff pusssy before a bout of cunningilus
    IAAS admonishes Viewer with this comment.
    75.IAAS:14 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm @viewer-70: You’re off limits here. Lift your game. That’s disgusting.
    SharksLover responds bizarrely with this comment.
    79.sharks_lover:14 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm @IAAS-75: I agreem some stormer supporter comments in here leave a lot to be desired, the player does not choose himself and the hate is pathetic So well said mate,
    JohnGalt makes this comment.
    103.John Galt:14 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm Some serious disrespect going on on this blog tonight. Shown toward someone who has historically been a great player for SA.
    SharksLover continues with this comment.
    104.sharks_lover:14 Aug 2012, 20:12 pm @John Galt-103: Amen john, again again it comes from a certain section of the community, very poor taste to say the least, from wishing he got injured, happy he got injured to even worse, So sad and these people call themselves decent and sports lovers

Continuing from last night once again the dishonest hypocrite SharksLover lays the blame and his venom at the feet of Stormers supporters. While some Stormers supporters did make derogatory comments as a stranger to honesty and truth SharksLover ignores the negative comments made by those who are not Stormers fans.
    1.trupisero:14 Aug 2012, 18:10 pm No blow dragon
    6.Spiesisworthless1:14 Aug 2012, 18:17 pm Awesome !?Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts?or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.
    23.Gazelle:14 Aug 2012, 18:39 pm Sorry to hear! But Yes!!!! Finally someone new at 8, what a relieve.
    26.Bok fan:14 Aug 2012, 18:45 pm I know he’s a nice guy but this is the best news I’ve heard in a while. With a Kolisi , coetzee and Alberts combo we stand a chance again. Last wish – Meyer pls make the call and drop morne if he’s anything
    34.numba4lock:14 Aug 2012, 18:55 pm great news, lets get Brussouw back in the mix then
    43.Agile T*t-Tyrant:14 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm @Stormerforlife1-38: Geen pyne nie ou tjom I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.?Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.
    50.CT Shark:14 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm This is certainly NO blow to the Springboks and just forces Meyers hand to rid the Boks of a passenger that has been clinging to the side like an old droll for almost 2 seasons now!
    53.victoriabok:14 Aug 2012, 19:15 pm @Agile T*t-Tyrant-37: I’m a Bulls supporter and I’m glad he’s out, he’s been a passenger for far too long
    141.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:09 pm YES YES YES!!!!! I just read the article, haven’t even looked at the comments yet, but Wooo Hooo, someone is listening to my prayers. Now for More to get a splinter in his little toe, please, please, pretty please.
    158.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:32 pm Any chance of Spies telling us what he was doing with his ring finger when he hurt it, maybe we could get Morne Steyn to do the same thing?
    161.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm Whoever the hand specialist is that checked out Pierre’s hand, I would like to say give that man a Bells!!!

But SharksLover the bitter drunken old StormerHater riding high on the hogsback in their city has the audacity only criticizes Stormers supporters.

• 169.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

Oh SharksLover you silly grizzled old scroat get off your highhorse you are such a dishonest hypocrite.
    70.viewer:14 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm @59 Dawn. He got hurt spreading a stiff pusssy before a bout of cunningilus
    75.IAAS:14 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm @viewer-70: You’re off limits here. Lift your game. That’s disgusting.
    79.sharks_lover:14 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm @IAAS-75: I agreem some stormer supporter comments in here leave a lot to be desired, the player does not choose himself and the hate is pathetic So well said mate,
    103.John Galt:14 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm Some serious disrespect going on on this blog tonight. Shown toward someone who has historically been a great player for SA.
    104.sharks_lover:14 Aug 2012, 20:12 pm @John Galt-103: Amen john, again again it comes from a certain section of the community, very poor taste to say the least, from wishing he got injured, happy he got injured to even worse, So sad and these people call themselves decent and sports lovers

Continuing from last night once again the dishonest hypocrite SharksLover lays the blame and his venom at the feet of Stormers supporters. While some Stormers supporters did make derogatory comments as a stranger to honesty and truth SharksLover ignores the negative comments made by those who are not Stormers fans.
    6.Spiesisworthless1:14 Aug 2012, 18:17 pm Awesome !?Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts?or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.
    23.Gazelle:14 Aug 2012, 18:39 pm Sorry to hear! But Yes!!!! Finally someone new at 8, what a relieve.
    26.Bok fan:14 Aug 2012, 18:45 pm I know he’s a nice guy but this is the best news I’ve heard in a while. With a Kolisi , coetzee and Alberts combo we stand a chance again. Last wish – Meyer pls make the call and drop morne if he’s anything
    34.numba4lock:14 Aug 2012, 18:55 pm great news, lets get Brussouw back in the mix then
    43.Agile T*t-Tyrant:14 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm @Stormerforlife1-38: Geen pyne nie ou tjom I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.?Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.
    50.CT Shark:14 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm This is certainly NO blow to the Springboks and just forces Meyers hand to rid the Boks of a passenger that has been clinging to the side like an old droll for almost 2 seasons now!
    53.victoriabok:14 Aug 2012, 19:15 pm @Agile T*t-Tyrant-37: I’m a Bulls supporter and I’m glad he’s out, he’s been a passenger for far too long
    141.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:09 pm YES YES YES!!!!! I just read the article, haven’t even looked at the comments yet, but Wooo Hooo, someone is listening to my prayers. Now for More to get a splinter in his little toe, please, please, pretty please.
    158.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:32 pm Any chance of Spies telling us what he was doing with his ring finger when he hurt it, maybe we could get Morne Steyn to do the same thing?
    161.mako:14 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm Whoever the hand specialist is that checked out Pierre’s hand, I would like to say give that man a Bells!!!

But SharksLover the bitter drunken old StormerHater riding high on the hogsback in their city has the audacity only criticizes Stormers supporters.

• 170.mako: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-166: Surely you jest? The nearest Puke Watson should get to a Bok rugby jersey is when the sleeve brushes past his recently punched snout. That jerkoff has caused enough trouble in SA rugby already. Do we want a Kev Pietersen scenario in the Bok changeroom?

• 171.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

70.viewer14 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm @59 Dawn. He got hurt spreading a stiff pusssy before a bout of cunningilus
    75.IAAS14 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm @viewer-70: You’re off limits here. Lift your game. That’s disgusting.
    79.sharks_lover14 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm @IAAS-75: I agreem some stormer supporter comments in here leave a lot to be desired, the player does not choose himself and the hate is pathetic So well said mate,
    103.John Galt14 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm Some serious disrespect going on on this blog tonight. Shown toward someone who has historically been a great player for SA.
    104.sharks_lover14 Aug 2012, 20:12 pm @John Galt-103: Amen john, again again it comes from a certain section of the community, very poor taste to say the least, from wishing he got injured, happy he got injured to even worse, So sad and these people call themselves decent and sports lovers

1.trupisero14 Aug 2012, 18:10 pm No blow dragon
    6.Spiesisworthless114 Aug 2012, 18:17 pm Awesome !?Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts?or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.
    23.Gazelle14 Aug 2012, 18:39 pm Sorry to hear! But Yes!!!! Finally someone new at 8, what a relieve.
    26.Bok fan14 Aug 2012, 18:45 pm I know he’s a nice guy but this is the best news I’ve heard in a while. With a Kolisi , coetzee and Alberts combo we stand a chance again. Last wish – Meyer pls make the call and drop morne if he’s anything
    34.numba4lock14 Aug 2012, 18:55 pm great news, lets get Brussouw back in the mix then
    43.Agile T*t-Tyrant14 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm @Stormerforlife1-38: Geen pyne nie ou tjom I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.?Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.
    50.CT Shark14 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm This is certainly NO blow to the Springboks and just forces Meyers hand to rid the Boks of a passenger that has been clinging to the side like an old droll for almost 2 seasons now!
    53.victoriabok14 Aug 2012, 19:15 pm @Agile T*t-Tyrant-37: I’m a Bulls supporter and I’m glad he’s out, he’s been a passenger for far too long
    141.mako14 Aug 2012, 21:09 pm YES YES YES!!!!! I just read the article, haven’t even looked at the comments yet, but Wooo Hooo, someone is listening to my prayers. Now for More to get a splinter in his little toe, please, please, pretty please.
    158.mako14 Aug 2012, 21:32 pm Any chance of Spies telling us what he was doing with his ring finger when he hurt it, maybe we could get Morne Steyn to do the same thing?
    161.mako14 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm Whoever the hand specialist is that checked out Pierre’s hand, I would like to say give that man a Bells!!!

• 172.mako: Reply to this comment

@Dirty Harry-169: I don’t care who you support when it comes to S15, when it comes to the Bokke we want the best side on the field. Spies hasn’t been a worthy 8th man for years.

• 173.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

6.Spiesisworthless1:14 Aug 2012, 18:17 pm Awesome !
    Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts
    or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.
    43.Agile T*t-Tyrant:14 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm @Stormerforlife1-38: Geen pyne nie ou tjom I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.
    Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.

• 174.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Lookie there the ****** trailer trash clown learnt to copy and paste :lol:

• 175.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-166:

Fortunately he’s been injured and not match fit

• 176.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

And he types in extras to cintue his stupidy, not only trailer trash, Dirty harry crawl back into that bucket you dog

• 177.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-175: Nor has he played any high level rugby in a very long time

• 178.cab: Reply to this comment

Hell I’m excited to see what the boks r going to do this year – this is great news – it’s a minor injury to his vinger so he can always play himself back into the side.

• 179.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

I only hope I didn’t go too far and reveal the hidden secret that is my giant boner for SharksLover. But, if anyone hadn’t already figured this out from my bizarre and slightly creepy posts then they have no hope.

• 180.SpearTackle: Reply to this comment

LOL, its almost an Oxymoron, Spies a blow for the Boks, its a God Send!!!

• 181.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

If we win this thing with another bloke at 8, they might just refer to this intervention as the FInger of God.

I hope Meyer picks Alberts at 8. And I hope he’s done dabbling with Potgieter.

We have the ideal situation of the Argies up first, which means we can play Kolisi without the pressure of an AB test. My ideal loosies combo: Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts. But I think Meyer will be a little more conservative.

• 182.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Just watched the highlights of the WP Sharks game (missed it on the weekend). How good was that Paul Jordaan try? Perfect chip kick from Viljoen, perfect gather and offload from Bosman and fantastic run in by Jordaan.

• 183.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

Spies seems to be a nice guy so have to say unfortunate injury for him, yet it does open the door for someone else to grab the 8th man position. I’ve been a follower of Keegan Daniel’s form since he gave a wonderful display against the Blues in Auckland and he would be my pick as first off the rank. I’m with Puma on this in regards to liking his pace and the ball skills he offers, however physicality is a prerequisite for any forward at test level and if he is unable to deliver in that department will probably see him discarded which would be a shame as there are very few forwards in world rugby that possess his type of game.

• 184.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Sharks bloggers on here are nothing but small minded cyber bullies.They think they are God’s gift to rugby blogging.They laugh at each others jokes and think that the other guy is a great geezer.Sl is so delusional,thinking he is their spokesperson that he even,ala Idi Amin ,awards himself ‘the president of the sharks supporters club’ title.What a sad plonker.

• 185.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

Well, these things happen. Pity Vermeulen is not in the group yet. I think Coetzee, Kolisi, Alberts, and Vermeulen would be fantastic as our match 22 loosies. Hopefully this break will do Pierre good and give him time to look at why his critics feel the way they do; some fair, others just plain stupid and not worth taking seriously. Spies, like Steyn, are over-played.

• 186.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

@Dirty Harry
    So much copy and paste, repeated 3? times, hundreds of words, and yet I fail to get your point.

• 187.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

@Dirty Harry-173: Seriously??? What the Fark are you on about? You’re right….the posts become creepier as the night grows longer…….

• 188.shooter: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-187: nic thief on that post.

• 189.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Seriously Big Jack!Sl is well-known on this blog for his porkies.He blames the Stormers fans for negative comments directed at Spies when it’s clear as daylight that bloggers from all teams…yes,even his own bulls fans taking delight in the fact that he won’t be playing.When Sl don’t get his way he becomes abusive,swearing like a sailor on here.I think that’s basically the point. :D

• 190.Dirty Harry: Reply to this comment

The fool who posted 179 is one of the stupid nicstealers again.
    Its quite funny Keo.co.za software is obviously defective because it gave me error messages that the post was not successful so it obviously thought the point about SharksLover had to be made again.
    SharksLover it does not change the truth that you are a dishonest cowardly twofaced old man who professes to be reasonable but truth be told are a vile cowardly liar.
    You use a post that justifiably criticizes another vile post not to further chastise the poster of the filth but to pour more venom on to Stormers fans. What kind of man are you to get high and mighty about Spies banter but you find perfectly acceptable for Viewer to insult Dawn in such a disgusting manner birds of a feather flock together as they say. How do you even show your face on this site after being proved guilty and nothing more than a shallow conniving sad pathetic old fool and now everyone on Keo.co.za knows just how dishonest you are.
    CT Shark I am on about the dishonesty of SharksLover who on the one side of his face criticizes the Stormers and their fans while at the same time on the other side of his face is one of the main instigators of hatred and bitterness on Keo.co.za. I am on about someone who insults and slanders the Stormers players anonymously on Keo.co.za but grovelingly flatters them to their faces when they visit his restaurant and then boasts about seeing them and then continues to slander them anonymously again on Keo.co.za. I do not know about anyone one else but to me such dishonest behaviour is truly creepy and despicable.
    Treehugger you asked in the other thread for these nicstealers to be named and shamed and so they should be and you will be surprised to see your Sharks brethren names being shamed. My name will not be on any shamed list because I am not a multinic user and I am not a nicstealer either. All Keo.co.za has to do is change back to showing the original login names as well and people will be able to search back through the threads for themselves to see who all the liars really are. I look forward to that day it will be very interesting to see how the guilty the accusers and the innocent each respond.
    Again enough time spent on this old fool but time well spent but I must now get on with my day.

• 191.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

@stormerforlife

Seriously? Why? I don’t know you or Sl? or most people blogging here so I have no idea whats going on. I simply stated that I had no clue what kamma – kamma Dirty Harry was aiming at. Chill your buttocks and rather answer if you have to say something.

• 192.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

@ Stormetforlife
    Oh, I see you did. Sorry, ignore last sentence – my bad.

• 193.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

The point is big boy that Sl is a liar and a hormonal little old man.That’s all you need to know,
    .Now,please relax and take a chill pill. :D

• 194.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Time to hit the sack.Cheers lads.Play nice.

• 195.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I see Cab is talking it up like before the World Cup. unlucky for Spies, never like to see anyone injured.

Cab. the ABs won’t care who you pick, because they concentrate on what they can control and how they wish to play the game.

SA dies not have an 8 man to match Reads all round game.

• 196.whatever: Reply to this comment

Errr why is this a blow to the Boks?? FFS this is good news, at last the useless F uk is out. Now the question is will Meyer go with another of his Bulls chomies or will he pick the best available?

• 197.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-195:

In your f uked up opinion maybe!

• 198.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Read is almost as overrated as Spies.

• 199.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-166:

You are obviously joking of course?

Would not want that divisive imbicile near the Bok jersey!!

• 200.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-198:

Sick note like CJ, just with a worse “come hit my face” smile

• 201.poppa69: Reply to this comment

big hit

yeah Thomas the tank engine is a fine English number 8 huh? do you guys have any homegrown talent?

whatever. hahaha nice comeback idiot, well countered argument. username whatever, password doors. keos lil b.itch

• 202.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@whatever-200:
    You got me thinking about players who have those type of smiles, the hitting kind….ummmm………can only see Read’s irritating smirk……looks like Read takes the crown.

• 203.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-201:
    kia ora Poppa you going to the test this weekend?

• 204.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Kia ora bro. unfortunately not. should be a cracker though.

• 205.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-204:
    Yeah bro,looks like the Aussies looking fresh,so if Abs can get over them in this game will set them right for the rest of the comp….well heres hoping.

• 206.poppa69: Reply to this comment

AB team named tomorrow isnt it? with the chiefs making the final quite a few of ours should be rested too, so think that isn’t really a concern.
    always tough to beat in Aus, but think their midfield is a real weakness. would be nice to be back in NZ with the win, want to be the inaugural winners of TRC. time will tell though

• 207.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-206:
    Most of the Abs basically pick themselves, with Nonu coming in for Smith and Corey Jane slotting in at right wing and Read at no 8.Would like to see Cane picked ahead of Thompson on the bench.
    As for Oz, if they click on the night,and Abs are slightly off their game, then Abs will lose, will be won or lost at the breakdown, Pocock v Ab loose trio.

• 208.whatever: Reply to this comment

password …doors??

Pity you typed so fast in your anger that you f uc ked up your comeback!

Doos!

• 209.poppa69: Reply to this comment

whatever. anger? at you ? bwahahaha. predictive text. we all know what I meant, aye keos b.itch.

• 210.poppa69: Reply to this comment

he’s right though about you being such an intellectual giant. your one of the front seat window lockers aren’t you?

Te Ranga – yep cant understand why Thompson is selected, doesnt make the step up Pocock is a great player, but he doesn’t have the support in the loose. that’s where Aussie fall down and where SA stumbled when Brussouw went off in the WC 1/4 final.

• 211.whatever: Reply to this comment

your anger is well know on this site………………thrown your toys many times and threatened not to come back. If anyone is Keo’s ***** its you………it’s like a drug, you just can’t do without……….ask Keo

Doos!

• 212.poppa69: Reply to this comment

widow lickers. fck predictive text on a phone :lol:

• 213.JohnPierre: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-12: I doubt it mate…Captain Marshmellow never figures in any tactics by the AB’s or Wallabies…they just blow him away…doesnt matter who turns out for your Team…they will get beat…end of story…! Go the Argies

• 214.poppa69: Reply to this comment

whatever. bwahahaha

look at the tough chicken running. meathead d.utchboy neanderthal.

still enjoying the dole in NZ mate? why don’t you contribute more than just the repetitive doooos that you have used in your last couple of comments

• 215.Greenies: Reply to this comment

Well not to sound mean to the chap as he is on a state,
    but not a big loss.
    Think he would perform in the backline better anyways, was orinally a winger who is only medioca at lossie. Who would have the ball to try him at centre?

• 216.poppa69: Reply to this comment

whatever

it’s just fun seeing dckheads like you constantly trying to be the man. it’s hilarious.
    tell me again how you can be s
    o certain of tone and intent on a blog?

lmfao. I’ve been laughing at you for years,, but then, I should show more compassion

you can’t help your condition.

• 217.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-207: is sam cane a lineout option though? thomson @ 1.96m has been a beacon for the landers lineout…

• 218.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-214:

You see, you just get so worked up you froth at the mouth and start sprouting the insults………..classic poppadoos rant.

ps, I don’t have a drop of Dutch blood in my body, not that thats a problem anyway, but just so when you rant, you can rant the truth.

Doos!

I know it gets to you!

• 219.poppa69: Reply to this comment

again whatever

how can you possibly know my state? you think im all frothed up? lmfao you can’t know you dckhead,, you make an assumption thats all wrong, and that’s what’s so funny

but hey, three straight comments you’ve brought out the doooos remark. looks like keo was right.

• 220.poppa69: Reply to this comment

all this because whatever couldn’t handle my comment stating SA doesn’t have an eight man with the all round skills of Read

didn’t counter that with reasons or a name, is it because you couldn’t counter it?

tell me, which SA 8 is as good as Read?

you don’t have one with the all round game Read possesses

but then, we’ve all heard the absolute malarkey of incredible depth saffa retards like whatever continually spout.

• 221.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-220:

Got nothing to do with Read, it’s got to do with your past performance here on Keo.

You are a prize doos, there is no other word for you, deal with it!

• 222.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so my past performances on keo still upset you so that you come out swinging every time? even when my first comment was rugby related? still no rugby counter though? what to expect from a weepee chicken runner.

thanks, that’s made my day. the fact you have to get me for past transgressions says it all

classic

1-0 poppa

bwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

• 223.poppa69: Reply to this comment

so my past performances on keo get you frothing so much you have to put me in my place?

bwahahahahahhahahahaha

• 224.whatever: Reply to this comment

No, just think you are a childish little doos, simple. Nothing more to it really.

Even your posts today evidence this, as I said, deal with it

Doos!

• 225.poppa69: Reply to this comment

you mean your first response to my rugby related comment displayed your adult maturity? the fact you’ve indicated that revenge is your only motive isn’t a display of your childishness?

haha keo was right about you

• 226.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Jy mors jou asem op die knaap, nie die moeite werd om eers te antwoord nie.

As for the hand specialist, I hope he never runs out of beer or whisky or whatever he prefers…

• 227.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-217:
    I can only recall one lineout Sam Cane won in the third Irish test and that kind of fell into his hands,so yes Thompson is a far better lineout exponent than him, I think Hansen should be looking to the future ,whether Cane is the answer has yet to be revealed, only game time will see if he can produce the goods on a consistent basis. As for Thompson,ever since Samo palmed him off last year, the writing has been on the wall regarding his future, and anyways haven’t you bagged him in the past.

• 228.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-226:
    Hey Slarti who would you replace Spies with?

• 229.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-227:

Hoofs for hand Thompson, he gives you 100% every time though, is just not always good enough. How old is Cane, player for the future I am sure.

• 230.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-229:
    Twenty I think. He was eligible to play for the u/20s this year so he has a big future ahead of him.

• 231.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-229:
    Depends what type of hooves you mean….. Angus Bull perhaps, me thinks you mean goat.

• 232.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-228:

Tough one TR, probably Alberts at 8 but he is not the fastest. We actually have a weakness there with Kanko also a possibility (if available) but he seems to suffer when he puts on the G&G.

I am a massive Brussow fan and without him the balance of the backrow is a little skew no matter who you put there. Hopefully the Meyer will pick him when he is well…

• 233.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-231:

The ones without opposing thumbs to catch the ball with…I like him as a player though just because he always gives the 100%.

• 234.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-232:
    I like Keegan Daniel cause he has a skillset that is different to most no8s. Brussow is an excellent player and still has alot to offer test rugby.
    @Slartibartfast-233:
    Thompson does give 100% but I have come to the realization that he is not the one.

• 235.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-234:

The Meyer is obsessed with size, don’t think he will ever go with Daniel.

Yes I know but I still like him as a player.

• 236.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

I lost all my respect for this chick,she is so bitter and full of herself,nearly as bad as pooper.
    Some interesting comments left aswell.
    http://www.stuff.co.nz/sport/olympics/track-field/7482118/Adams-slams-cheat-wants-medal-pronto

• 237.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-236:
    Valerie comes across as very emotional and sorry to say, angry, not a good look.She was robbed however of something she has worked for over four years and she is entitled to be a tad bitter towards the Belarussian, probably milking the angst side of things way too much, but unfortunately that seems to be part of her personality. Usually she is quite pleasant and very straight up.

• 238.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-236: Hiyas Ferny

• 239.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-237: GM mate , ur a busy lad this am i see?? lol

• 240.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

te ranged she came across as a real honey at first and i mentioned it on here aswell
    i say the medal should be presented to her in nz in front of her family,friends and fans
    morning sl

• 241.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

All the signs point that Mt Pooper is close to another eruption.

• 242.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-239:
    hehe…..I am feeling a bit guilty with my productivity today….will work harder tomorrow.

• 243.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-242: lol

• 244.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

holy **** <CT is cold thins morning

• 245.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-240:
    To be honest….kinda over it.

• 246.Staal: Reply to this comment

Eish – what the hellllllll… why all these insults this morning?

• 247.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

thins = this

• 248.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-246: no it was last night Staal, but same usual faggots like stormerforlifeifuckpoodlesasismylife and a few other clowns, then Dirty harriet the *** guzzler trying to make out its not him, easy to do that now, lol

Anyhows who knows in here any more?? my id has been stolen and used in here a few times too, so ya

Anyhows how you been staal??

• 249.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal-246:

Howit Oom Staal, maar net poplap wat aandag soek.

• 250.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

i cannot stand that filthy faced kieran read.

blegh!

• 251.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Staal, whats your thought re the loose trio??

• 252.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@wait for it, wait for it…-250: eish boet?? he is a damn good player

• 253.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-248:
    @Slartibartfast-249:

Going well . The cold weather getting me down – wanna feel some sierieaaaaas sun.

I though the nic-stealing thing has stopped cause your alias also get displayed?

• 254.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-253: nope it’s on going boet,Keo has had this site opened up to the clowns, now its like a free for all lol.

Im flying to Durbs today for a week, gonna be so nice, warm hot weather forcast, CT is freezing this morning

• 255.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Another non event seemingly coming with the odds makers are now 1:9 for a Boks win Saturday!
    The Argies addition to the TriNations seemed a flop already, or it might be that the Bookies smelled a rat?
    It makes the loose forwards combo selection irrelevant at best, a debate to pass the time ;)

• 256.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-252:
    agreed, he is good for ab’s and the crusaders were clearly the poorer without him.
    it’s that face of his and his manners. no integrity no self respect.

• 257.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

Staal
    Hoe kan Spies n Bok trui aanvaar as hy weet hy is nie die beste nie?
    Pla sy gewete hom nie?

• 258.BuckT: Reply to this comment

@Staal-253: hey Staal, pack those long johns away boet, spring has almost sprung. What concerns me about the nic stealing is that the imposter/s manage to get the exact names, they have some sort of check to make sure you don’t duplicate usernames, which makes me think the culprit has some sort of administrator rights?! Or are there spaces in inconvenient places?

• 259.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-254: Must honestly say that i have to permanently move to the coast in the next 2 years.

it’s just time…..

• 260.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Staal-259: Waar gaan jy gaan?

• 261.BuckT: Reply to this comment

Things I would like to see on sat:

Effective territorial kicking
    The ability to spot an overlap out wide and a skip/long pass
    to take the opposition’s forwards out of the move.
    Great handling skills and distribution skills(passing!)
    The players to convey a certain calmness that gives the impression they have more time with the ball in hand,i.e. do not panic and make predetermined moves, without reading the situation in front of you, even if it is just the first paragraph!!
    Solid scrumming.
    Competent passing from the base of the scrum that puts the receiving player on the front foot, not trying to prevent a reach around from the opposition.
    Lose forwards getting over the advantage line and looking to offload to a support runner

Things I do not want to see:

Losing the ball from an opposition kick-off
    Centipedeing at the back of the ruck
    Clearance kicks from our 22 that result in an opposition lineout on our 22
    Backline players drifting towards the touchline on attack
    Heavens Game dong his Evita impersonation

• 262.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-259: which coast??

• 263.wait for it, wait for it...: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-261:
    “not trying to prevent a reach around from the opposition”

please explain?

• 264.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-262: got to be ably do dive there … so KZN.

Definitely will move – just got to get everything in order.

• 265.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

• 266.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-264: Yup cant beat the weather there Staal, If you go diving in Durbs or that region contact Rangerman, he is always diving and maybe he can hook you up with some good peeps for that

• 267.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-264: You know you blood will change to Black and White when you hit the shores of Natal?? :lol:

• 268.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-267: hehehehe… donnow about that!

But i must say the vibe is always great in the Sharktank.

• 269.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-268: lol yup
    well no doubt you will enjoy it boet, Only Stadium left where you can have a cold one whilst watching the match, People there behave, lol they know they have too, dont wanna lose the privelage of being able to drink on the stands

• 270.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-269:

saw 2 incredible games there..

sorry – but 1 was the S14 final…. :lol:

The other when we beat the All Blacks in injury time….

man we went bonkers that day…

i have not missed a test at the Sharkpark for the last 14 years…. we always make it a golftrip/divetrip/rugby trip in one! :lol:

• 271.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-269:

worst game ever at the Park… by a country mile…

BIL while Carel was the coach…. eish we scored the tries -missed all the kicks and they won…

i was gutted!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 272.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-270: :lol: mate atleast you know you have a good time there, and dont be sorry, i have had some fun at loftus too when my Sharks won a final or 2 lol

But yeah parties in the tank are unrivled, It matters not who you supported on the day, they all party together till early hours of the morning

• 273.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-271: lol yeah thats not nice, funny though i reckon give a bit more time Carel could have had quite a lot of success with the Boks

• 274.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-273: Yah i rate him as well.

• 275.cab: Reply to this comment

Poppa

Read? U gotta be kidding – I smile everytime he’s picked for the ABs – he’s v ordinary.

I think we def got the beating of your team like we did at the RWC, provided the right players are picked – how was I too know they’d pick smit over the best player in the world – bismark? And that you’d offered brycie a farm in Auckland – u kiwis are dodgy buggers for sure – but we aim to learn from the best and pick some hometown refs

• 276.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal-271:

Aish Staal, I was there too. 45 minutes after the final whistle and the blerrie pommies were still singing in the stadium…beer tasted very bitter that day!

• 277.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-274: Well let me know when ur settled there, i am sure we can hook up for a few cold beers, on a nice hot Natal day lol

• 278.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-276: :lol:

• 279.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Sharks-Lover @ 96.
    Enjoy.Was there yesterday.Weather wonderful.

• 280.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-274: Argentina: 15 Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino, 14 Gonzalo Camacho, 13 Marcelo Bosch, 12 Santiago Fernandez, 11 Horacio Agulla; 10 Juan Martin Hernandez, 9 Nicolas Vergallo, 8 Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe (captain), 7 Alvaro Galindo, 6 Julio Farias Cabello, 5 Patricio Albacete, 4 Manuel Carizza, 3 Juan Figallo, 2 Eusebio Guinazu, 1 Rodrigo Roncero

Substitutes: 16 Bruno Postiglioni, 17 Marcos Ayerza, 18 Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19 Tomas Leonardi, 20 Leonardo Senatore, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Martin Rodriguez

• 281.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-279: Thanks Rye, yeah really looking forward to spending some time back home

• 282.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Not a bad Argie team, Gonna be a tough match

• 283.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-280: how old is that Hernadez @ 10. He seems to be the Wally Hayward of Argie rugby? :lol:

• 284.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-276: that was a sad day…..

honestly wanted to injure someone….

• 285.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Staal-283: talking about Wally Hayward – he passed me on the up-run one year! :lol:

• 286.Staal: Reply to this comment

Bothas Hill nogal!

• 287.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-283: born August 7, 1982

• 288.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-286: :lol:

• 289.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

Vermuelen is the most overrated player around, so is kolisi
    yes, kolisi is talented but he is nowhere near the test level yet
    vermuelen is just a big guy, thats all, makes minimal tackles and must be the slowest forward in the country with the weakest skill set
    please tell me what he adds aside from size?

• 290.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-289: Oh hell you gonna get the wrath of the Stormer supporters now mate, :lol:

• 291.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Could this be the end of Spies?

HM should tell him that he’ll have to fight for his spot in the squad from now on. No more free passes. No point coming back if he plays the way he’s been playing for the past 3 years!

Vermeulen, Alberts, Burger, Daniel, Stander, Johnson are all far better at 8. Id say Spies is far down the pecking order.

Now Kirchner should take a hike too. Mr Predictable. Im sure when teams analyze his game play they probably give the Video machine a smack because its the same over and over and over. He catches the ball, runs 5 metres, he kicks an up and under. Dont go to the next clip just rewind and watch it over again.

• 292.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-290:
    the stormers fans somehow think these guys are gods gift, when they are lagging so far behind in terms of actual skill level
    it really doesnt make sense
    ive lived in cape town all my life, so i hear this shite all year
    they all walk around with one eye down here

• 293.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-292: lol They will tell us we are the same when it comes to our team though??

• 294.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

BUCKT @ 258 May be on to something there..

• 295.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

KEO KEO KEO
    Personal appeal.Pse name @ shame nic thieves.Cause of too much anger on
    this site.

• 296.Staal: Reply to this comment

@BuckT-258: @Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-257: @trupisero-260:

sorry – missed your posts

• 297.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-293:
    the difference between our teams though, is that we play to win whereas they play not to lose..
    the skill set in the sharks team is far better across the park when compared to all other south african teams, maybe the cheetahs come close..

i think Schalk Burger needs to retire too
    hes been just as useless as spies has been over the past few seasons
    its about time we give players a chance on merit and not name

Marcell coetsee is better now than Schalk ever was
    he only ever got into the team on his fathers name anyways, we all know it..headless chicken
    you cant tell me there arent 1000 other boys the same size and with the same workrate as that donkey around in SA

ok stormers, heres your chance to defend your average players

• 298.rabooby: Reply to this comment

Sorry Pierre, hope you recover soon.
    But I feel there is more to this article – than an injury!!!
    Brussow and Coetzee and Alberts or Daniels at 8 – Daniels should be starting at 8 anyway if the choice was between him and Spiese, Daniels has outplayed him this season by miles. Still think Kancko was a good option he seemed to have picked his game up this year. Would like to see how Coetzee and Brussow play together, that would be electric and have Burger or Alberts smashing them from 8th man… Next hougaard needs to play on the wing only, keep Pienaar at scrumhalf it’s an insult to Pienaar playing him off the bench to allow hougard to prove himself – He is not a touch on Pienaar in my eyes…In fact if he was not moved around and he could have concentrated on the no9 position he would have given FDP a good run for his money…..

• 299.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-297: Nah Boet Schalk was world player of the year, great player, but yeah players also get old and their time is near ending, A lot of young great players coming through now

• 300.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-236: I think Valerie and Pooper are the same person. Also, when did her coach, Tom Seleck, develop such a thick accent?

• 301.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-295: Keo doesn’t read these threads. And neither do his little elves. They just post and run. Best you mail their web guy, Roy.

• 302.jacoshark: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-299:
    schalk is a legend, but the game has moved past him ages ago
    he was the best player in the world in 2004
    its now 2012- he hasnt done much since 2007

• 303.nama1: Reply to this comment

Can’t say I see this as a blow for the Boks.

Also can’t see who amongst the rest of the loosies will be the 3rd line out option. Meyer will definitely want a 3rd line out option now that the golden boy is out. So, what is his options?

Kruger at 7 with Bekker and Etzebeth at lock?

• 304.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-303: Alberts is his third line-out option.

• 305.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-302: Well thats partly true,

As for vermeulen? well some say he will be a great Bok, some dont agree, i guess the only way we will find out is if he is given a chance.

• 306.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-304:

who is the poor basteraud that has to lift Alberts?

• 307.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-304: because the Sharks dont always have the tallest locks they use their loose forwards a lot in lineouts,

Kanko, Daniel, Alberts, Coetzee? they all good lineout options boet, If Daniel is selected you could find him and Alberts changing around at the back of the scrum, example Daniel come scrum time moves to 8 MArcel to 6 and Alberts to 7 and so on

• 308.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-306: Lineout time boet, Daniel at the back, Alberts will lift him very high :lol:

• 309.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-308:

Granny Gunther could lift Keegan very high without spilling a drop of her Dubonnet.

• 310.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-309: :lol: exactly my point, thats why he always does well in lineouts

• 311.nama1: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-304:
    Haven’t seen him done the job for the Sharks.

You think he can jump and catch at the same time? :lol:

• 312.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

jeez even when spies gets injured its a soft injury.

• 313.Staal: Reply to this comment

@jacoshark-297:

“Marcell coetsee is better now than Schalk ever was”
    now that’s what i call “not holding your punches” and “going it out there” … :lol:

That bait will be taken…. :lol:

• 314.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Staal-313: :lol:

• 315.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Where are the days when rugby players played with broken arms/hands. Nowdays if your little finger is hurt then you miss the season ! I remember Corne Krige strapping his fingers before a match cos they were broken and he had trouble catching the ball !

• 316.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-306: No one. That’s the beauty of it. Alberts simply has to strongly urge the bloke opposite him not to jump for this one.

• 317.capebull: Reply to this comment

Move Bankie, from 11 to Number 8

• 318.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-316:

your ball is my ball and my ball is my ball?

• 319.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-315: Sorry just to add , I do wish him a speedy recovery and I am also happy that now at least we will have a better player at 8.

The irony of it all is that he hurt his finger with a tackle !! Thats like a stormers player (anyone of the 22 ) injuring himself scoring a try.

• 320.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-318: @>^..^< katman-316: :lol:

• 321.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-308:

Oh, I see.

You foresee an all Shark back row to go along with an all Shark front row then.

The All Blacks must be licking their lips after the Chiefs’ performance against them in the final.

• 322.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi-312: LOL true , he cant evens injure himself right !!! hee hee

• 323.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-304: theoretically yes, but i can’t say i recall alberts taking even one throw even in the 2 or 3 games he played @ 4 for the sharks. it was all kanko and a wee bit of bresler.

• 324.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321: Im not saying that at all, i am saying and have said if he is selected, who knows what the loose trio will be Nama,

• 325.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-306: Beast certainly won’t be doing tricep extensions with him.

• 326.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321: Actuallt the talk is strong of a , Alberts, Coetzee, Potgieter loose trio, so go figure

• 327.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321:
    Well its definitely going to be 5 out of 6 anyway.

• 328.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-326: How Snotgieter made the squad in the 1st place remains a mystery.

• 329.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-328: This is true, Strauss would have been a far better call, or Deysel, although to be honest Deysel is only getting back nicely after a long injury layoff, So for me Strauss would and should have been that man instead of Potgieter.

But again the man did not select himself

• 330.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321:

they’re selected after what they did to the stormers in the semi.

@trupisero-325:

Is there any truth to the rumour that Beast will be partnering Anton Bresler in next season’s Dancing on Ice?

• 331.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-329: Would go for an all Shark backrow with Keegan @ 8

• 332.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-315: Andre Joubert played with a broken hand during wc 95. Yeah those were tough okes.

Actually not very bright to play with a injury these days. Just far too much rugby and if a player keeps playing with a injury it will become chronic. That could be the end of the rugby career. So the need to rest players more now than they had done years back with injury.

• 333.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

Since we’re playing the Argies first, we have a little leeway to be bold in our selection. I’d strongly urge Meyer to go with a Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts combination.

Where is Tac? Can someone pass this on to him to pass to Heyneke?

• 334.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-333: Not bad either, though I prefer a more mobile 8 with good hands.

• 335.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@>^..^< katman-333: Think Tac is looking for a pressure chamber for Pierre.

Oh wait, he may not handle the pressure :)

• 336.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Staal-283: :lol: “The Wally Hayward of Argie Rugby”……….. bwaahaaaa. Had a good laugh there.

Actually remember Hayward running three hours and six min marathon. In the Jacky Gibson marthon in the South of Joburg. It was one of the toughest marathons up there, very hilly. Wally was 72 at the time. Watched him coming in to finish. He was just Phenomenal at his age. He also ran a 9 hour twenty min Comrades aged 80 he turned 81 a month later. I still have a cap he signed for me when I finished the Pretoria Marathon in 84. He was turely a gifted runner. Age never bothered him he just seemed to run well no matter his age.

• 337.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-326:
    Which will leave us with a bit of a problem wrt a 3rd line out option.

Not one of those three were used by their franchises as a line out option if memory serves me correctly.

I’m just trying to look at the situation the way I think HM will look at it. I’m sure he would like to have a 3rd option at the back of the line out. What are his options in that regard just looking at the players in the squad in other words, forget about Kanko.

• 338.>^..^< katman: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-335: I hope all those bitchy bloggers here who called for Spies to start pulling finger are happy now.

• 339.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Puma-336: yip he had my respect when he “floated” past me on Bothas hill. He was a legend!

• 340.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-329: Agree. Strauss would have been a better call up than Potgieter even Deysel. Though right now want Deysel at the Sharks. We need him for the CC.

• 341.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-334:

leave your Shiatsu requirements out of this.

Stick to rugby.

• 342.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Staal-339: haha. Did he pass you on that up run he ran? You know he was 80 years old running that Comrades? He was magnificent, age never bothered him. A legend for sure. Doubt many will run the times he did at his age.

• 343.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-321: Not long ago Sharks supporters like Sl said that a Sharks win in the Super15 final is important for Bok confidence going into the Rugby Championship.Now they want to turn the Bok team into a Sharks replica.The All Blacks certainly will be smiling.

• 344.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-337: Staal of the loose forwards there Daniel is your best option in lineouts, he plays that role a lot by the Sharks, and even steals a few balls when lifted in the front of lineouts,Coetzee and Alberts do get used but nowhere near as much as Daniel,

I know thats not what you are wanting to hear as you would prefer Kolisi in the team, I have no Problem if Kolisi is chosen, but he is not anywhere near the lineout option Daniel is, even though they prolly the same height

• 345.Puma: Reply to this comment

When will the Bok team be announced? Does anyone know?

I think against the Argies we should just go with the Sharks loosies. Would make sense. They have played all season together.

8. Keegan
    7. Alberts
    6. Coetzee

• 346.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-343: PLease you insignifcunt leghumping leach, please show me where i said that, grow up gutterboy, STOP SEEKING ATTENTION , POODLEfucker

• 347.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

The 24-year-old prop,Juan Figallo,will break the beast in half on Saturday.It will be like Christmas in August for Hondo. :D

• 348.capebull: Reply to this comment

8 alberts
    7 Potgieter
    6 Marcel

• 349.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-345: Good morning old chap lol, I am flying into Durbs later today, hear the weather is nice n warm?

• 350.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-344: Look when we played Stormers at the Tank it was Keegan at 8. We stole some of their ball in their lineouts. So I have faith in Keegan. He will be just fine at 8. Alberts at 7 with Coetzee at 6. Against Arg we should just go with combinations for now. Playt he Sharks loosies.

• 351.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Sharkslover is the Saffa version of Poppa…..always in an eruptive state.

• 352.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-346: you have now officially “lost it” :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 353.Puma: Reply to this comment

@capebull-348: I truely hope it is NOT Potgieter at 7.

• 354.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

well, the starting side is starting to look as about as exciting as a 2003 wc side.

all I hope is that the coaching staff have been able to get this mix match into something well drilled and cohesive in the past few weeks.

• 355.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-347: Yes, lets put the Strompie front row in

• 356.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-353: For sure, Keegan is great replcement but, they will go for size , it does matter.

• 357.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Boet even though thats what i would like, if Kolisi was chosen with Alberts and Coetzee i would not be unhappy, I reckon our lineout options are good enough,

Of course playing the ShaRKS LOOSEFORWARDS will give another advantage as they know each others play well, so yeah there are things to consider.

• 358.capebull: Reply to this comment

Youngsters, I rate Arno Botha

• 359.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-356: CApebull sorry with respect but thats hogwash.

Show me any match where Daniel is outplyed because he is smaller?? or cant tackle because of his size etc??

This oke IS in the top 10 for tackles made in the whole super 15
    plus top ten in many of the other catagories of looseforward play,

The Kiwi’s even rated him the best loose forward in the whole super15, dont look at the mans size, look at what he achieves on the field of play

• 360.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

magnificent achievement for graeme smith when he becomes game’s most capped Test captain. Surpasses Allan Border. Massive. Massive. Massive

• 361.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Bulls hooker Chilliboy Ralepelle has had to withdraw from the Springbok Rugby Championship squad as the result of a knee injury sustained in training on Tuesday.

• 362.race of tan: Reply to this comment

What about a Big Joe V Kerk call up? Funny now that Spies is out we are all of a sudden a bit empty of N8s. I wish him a speedy recovery!

• 363.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Keegan is to Small with Bekker/Eben not taking line out ball we need a number 8 for that JOb. Keegan did that 1-2 as a surprize.

• 364.spartan: Reply to this comment

There I was happily cruising along knowing the ABs would be facing a Bok pack handicapped by the inclusion of one Pierre Spies
    Then the nincompoop goes and breaks a finger nail
    invaliding himself out of the RC
    Of all the rotten luck

• 365.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

PLeaseeeee dnt call up Burden as is rumoured, eish, as is it BIssy with Boks, Kyle Cooper out injured till year end?? If Burden goes we Farked lol

• 366.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Why don’t you just add the Sharks locks into the mix as well to fulfill your dream of an all Shark Bok pack?Stop turning the Boks into a Sharks project.Some of you guys like Sl and yourself even went so far recently to punt for Jordaan and the scrummie to be selected for the Bok team!!I am not even touching on the bleating for Lambie to replace Steyn at ten.Now,let us see.Yes,that’s just about turning the Sharks team into the Bok team.Have you guys no shame???

• 367.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-363: NOt sure what games you have been watching
    ???? In every game Daniel takes lineout ball,

• 368.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I got my wish, Red faced Liebenberg got the Bok call up

• 369.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-357: No problems if Kolisi gets selected either. He has been the outstanding player for Stormers this year.

I just think go with combinations here. Our loosies have played all season together. Also like Keegans speed at 8 and his skill level is great.

• 370.capebull: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-359: I like Keegan , he’s all heart , but I think he’s to small we need a lineout option. Alberts, Marcel is not. Bekker and Eben does not take lineout balls where do you think we will get ball from.

• 371.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-368: Jeez really? After Burden was so superb last week… :roll:

• 372.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-365: Okay see you thinking of our CC chances. Then it is okay…hehe. Liebenberg can get a call up…lol.

• 373.Staal: Reply to this comment

Wat v daai kortgat wat AC vir die Stormers op 8 gespeel het. AC ken sy storie! :lol:

• 374.capebull: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-367: Not as a rule ,so did the Beast, so would you call him a line out option ? Sharkies actually used Kanko ,against Bulls , Strompies to great effect.

Eben and Bekker does not take a lot of ball.

• 375.Puma: Reply to this comment

@capebull-363: Keegan took some of Stormers ball when we played them at the Tank. They had both Eben and Bekker that day.

• 376.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-370: If Bekker and Eben cant take Lineout ball my friend it matters not who you put at the back, we wont win lineouts then, Of the PLayers there not one is a great lineout option accept Daniel, the other was SPies, despite what people saay he is a very good back of the lineout jumper, as is Kanko, Kanko is not available however

• 377.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daniel is way too short for test match rugby.He is good to have around the squad though and to play the cameo five to ten minutes against teams like Argentina,Scotland etc etc.Heyneke will never play him against the All Blacks

• 378.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-344:
    Maybe you should stop trying to think what I want to hear or what I prefer.

Kolisi is not a line out option so that takes him out of the equation afa I’m concerned. Iif you’ve read my comments you would’ve seen that I mentioned Kruger in my very 1st post as an option at 7 exactly because he is a line out option at the back. Did you not see it?

You really have an unhealthy bias against Stormer supporters. Not good for you.

• 379.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-359: The problem is Kiwi coaches know what they are talking about and HM hasn’t got a plan that looks beyond size.

• 380.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

We don’t need Daniel at the back of the lineout because Bekker and Etzebeth WILL take the lineout ball.No matter which way the Sharkievarkie supporters want to spin this to get their man into the starting 15,i can tell them now that it’s not going to work.

• 381.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-378:
    I also suggested Kruger last night. I seem to remember him playing at 7 (6) when he was overseas.

• 382.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-381:
    There we go.

6. Coetzee
    7. Kruger
    8. Alberts

Big, heavy bruisers to “dominate” the collisions.

Why not?

• 383.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

With Bekker, Bismark, Eben, Beast and Alberts there is plenty of size and power. Brussow needs to come back in to the team and Coetzee can do the job at 8 for now.

• 384.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-381: Dave, Kruger has not played there for a very long time, Also SH rugby much faster the NH,Add to that If you want to play a heavier LF at the back then you might as well just PLay Alberts there, Kruger is not fast, PLay Daniel or Kolisi, Lineouts can be worked out

• 385.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Kruger was superb on the blindside for Northampton.

• 386.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-375: Exactly Keegan took some ball.

In the Semi’s Strompies VS Sharks

I could be wrong but general story was as follows,

Strompies 11 Line Outs won

Bekker 2
    Eben 1
    Elstadt 8

Spies took bulk of lineouts against England

Keagan will take some ball , but will he be able to take all the balls

• 387.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382:
    The trio selected from the players in the squad.

Not my preferred trio for the Boks. Everybody knows that I would prefer Brussow ahead of Coetzee every Saturday and twice on a Sunday.

Preferred trio, if everybody is available would be:
    6. Brussow
    7. Schalk
    8. Keegan

• 388.stew: Reply to this comment

You lucky buggers …. well at last time for Alberts to step up

• 389.capebull: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382: Alberts , Marcell , Potgieter,

Bankie will have to be replaced after 50min with Kruger, Eben also playing with an injury after his run in with Bizzy.

• 390.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-380:
    If you take your head out your arsehole for two seconds, you’ll remember that both Kanko and Daniel abused the Stormers lock pairing at linout time in that second S15 clash and the semi.

• 391.stew: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-377: They did say the same thing about Tiaan Strauss if i am not mistake …. If he has the ability let him play …. But have always liked a big ball carrying no 8

• 392.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Interesting discussion on Daniel

Someone like Danie Rossouw was brilliant at 8 for the Boks , he started at 8 when we won the world cup. He was not the most mobile or skillful.

But I also think of the French game in 2006. SA loose trio was Van Niekerk at 6 , Smith at 7 , Wannenburg at 8. The french had a smaller mobile loose trio that outplayed us that day.

If it’s wet and pouring down I believe size has a better chance for go forward ball than attacking ability or mobility. That’s where Danie Rossouw was brilliant for the Boks. If it’s sunny and dry you want a more attacking mobile 8.

A lot depends on the gameplan too…..

• 393.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Ai ai Sharkslover !I think most bloggers are giving Kruger the thumbs-up here.Kruger is a good choice with Bekker and Etzebeth at four and five.Great physicality there in that pack.To keep sharkslover happy,put Daniel on the bench as cover in case something happens early on in the game to the three big boys.

• 394.stew: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-390: But maybe he has a point – look back to the final a couple of weeks ago – both Kanko and Daniels got smashed by the Cheifs No8 and let an easy try in … Defensive weakness that everybody will have seen.

• 395.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-6: Eish, thats harsh. While I understand some of us might think there are better options at 8 (and I am one of them!) I would not wish an injury on any Bok player, and definitely wouldnt say “awesome” about it.

Even if we dont agree with the coach or the selections, when the Boks take the field we should still support them 100% and hope that the players we doubt will prove us wrong.

• 396.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-384:
    I doubt whether CT will see a fast paced game.

@the artist formerly known as gunther-385:
    That’s what I remember.

• 397.nama1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-389:
    Please, NOT Potgieter.

• 398.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

kruger
    alberts
    coetzee.

kolisi and daniels on the bench.

Potgeiter on crowd control.

• 399.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-392: We had locks that took their line out balls , then you can play any midget at 8.

When your locks don’t do their bit in line outs you need a tall 8

Semi’s

Strompies 11 Line Outs won

Bekker 2
    Eben 1
    Elstadt 8

• 400.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-396:

In fact when he returned to SA more of the talk seemed to centre around him playing at 7 than at lock.

• 401.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-393: Then you need a lock to cover for Bankie after 50 min

• 402.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-401: Kruger move to the bankie and midget boy hops into Kruger’s space. :D

• 403.nama1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-389:
    Kruger can move from 7 to lock in Bekker’s place with Keegan coming on. Alberts can move to 7 then….

• 404.David: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-398:
    Potgieter IS the crowd that needs controlling. :lol:

@the artist formerly known as gunther-400:
    That’s what I thought as well. He would have to move to 5 when Bekker goes off, which means that Alberts would have to last the full 80 otherwise we’d need to do some more juggling.

• 405.nama1: Reply to this comment

@the artist formerly known as gunther-398:
    Agree.

Your other two forward reserves?

Prop and hooker, I presume.

• 406.nama1: Reply to this comment

So consensus by most exept SL and Capebull.

Forwards should look like this:
    1. Beast
    2. Bissie
    3. Jannie
    4. Etzebeth
    5. Bekker
    6. Coetzee
    7. Kruger
    8. Alberts

• 407.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@capebull-399:

Good point.

Easy to forget someone like Juan Smith was a lock at u21 level.

The 2007 line-out with Bakkies , Matfield , Smith , Rossouw and Burger must surely be the best lineout the game has ever seen.

• 408.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-404:

I agree.

if there was an injury Alberts or Kruger could move to lock.

Daniels and Kolisi could be huge in the last 40 as the game opens up.

@nama1-405:

yes.

although against the argies one might be tempted to go for a 5-2 bench.

• 409.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-404:
    “which means that Alberts would have to last the full 80″

That’s the other problem HM has. Two front line forwards (Bekker and Alberts) who can’t last 80 minutes.

I guess that means a 5/2 split on the bench which leaves the door open for the “crowd controller” to join Keegan, Kolisi, Liebenberg and Cilliers on the bench.

• 410.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-409:
    Make that Strauss ahead of Liebenberg.

• 411.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@CT Shark-50: you have a VERY short memory my friend – but judging from your nickname, you are biased towards the Sharks anyway…

1. No pace? Should I remind you of him covering, chasing and catching Mvovo? (And Mvovo is a Shark, so you cant insult him). Watch www . rugbydump.com/2010/10/1659/duane-vermeulen-smashed-boot-less-but-still-catches-lwazi-mvovo

2. I will agree that Kanko and Keegan are better offloaders than Duane, but Duane brings other assets, and his distribution is still great

3. Im not sure about his tackle count stats, but 2 points to consider:
    - Alberts (another Shark) also had cr@p stats in this year’s S15. However he was still picked for the Boks and performed brilliantly. So are stats always the whole story?
    - the importance of tackles he makes (refer to clip above).

• 412.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-407: Ja – by far! Especially with Smit throwing in! Ahhh those were the days :-)

• 413.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Sorry i just dont think experimenting with a lock at flack right now would be wise, specially as you have a new lock pair and not the most experienced loosies in that trio, Coetzee is still young

Alberts does not have that many tests behind him, SO you guys want to experiment when you have 5 out of your pack that are not the most experienced??? :shock:

I dont buy for one minute that Alberts cannot be used at 8 where he played for most of his career up in Guateng, Surely you play a Kolisi or Daniel at 6 then where atleast they know exactly what to do, Then have you big ball carrier at 8

Nee man, If Daniel is not good enough and Kolisi is not good enough and POtgieter is not good enough call up a Strauss and play him 8

Luckily i cant See HM being that stupid

• 414.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

YOu okes are clutcing at straws

• 415.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

everyone can have a laugh at spies expense but I happened to watch both 2009 tests vs all blacks on espn last night.

spies when on form is by far and away the best 8 we have and I’d even say on the planet when playing well. Watching those games in hindsight, the standout forwards on both occassion were bakkies and Pierre. Funnily enough, watching again, Brussouw got smashed out the game most of the time but for some reason got plenty of applause when I think back.

Personally, I find it a sad state of affairs in south african rugby when we are even considering starting a 5 foot pigmy as a springbok 8. I do not deny his heart or intelligence….but fck guys?

now, I ask you…..would we seriously consider Brussow,Alberts and Daniels as a starting combo?

• 416.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-415: Stuttering there Big?? :lol:

• 417.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-413:
    The problem is 7, not 6 or 8 if Alberts plays 8. Potgieter is still there for a reason, though why I’ve no idea.
    The problem for me, is that HM wants a big ball carrying loose trio to enforce his game plan, which means a limited choice of starting players left in his squad. It’s noticeable that he hasn’t called for any Spies replacement so I assume that Pottie will take the 7 spot and Alberts 8.

• 418.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-417: He would then be better off with Kolisi at 6 and Coetzee at 7

Coetzee have been huge as a ball carrier link and offloader etc

POttie is just gonna go flying all over the place like a rag doll on roids

• 419.David: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-415:
    The same argument was made against Bedford and Tiaan.

• 420.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@nama1-409:

yes, I mentioned that yesterday.

that must be a huge headache for the coaching staff.

dammit but we are missing danie roussow. never fully appreciated when we had him.
    Isn’t that always the way.
    I’d go as far as to hypothesize that we’ll only appreciate Spies’ value when he is not there.

• 421.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

I know how he hurt his finger. He told Potgieter, pull my finger, as we all know, Potgieter only know one way and that is to go all the way. Potgieter took a mighty pull. Piere wanted to make a **** but end up shiting himself after Potgieter pulled so hard and broke his finger.

• 422.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-418:
    Or even Coetzee at 8. His distribution and awareness are ahead of Alberts and would be wasted at 7, IMO.

• 423.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-417: If DAniel AND Kolisi is ther whats the point of them being called up??

These 2 have been brilliant all season against whatever the rest of SA, KIwi or Aussies has had to offer, Sorry boet We all going over the top here with this whole size thing, Sharks actually was most succesful this season when they used their smallest loose trio, reason being better skill sets, and even though they not these huge gorrillas they pack far abaover their weight, same with Kolisi, good whole season .

• 424.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-422: DAvid, MArcel was 8thman all his life till this year when Kanko, Alberts and Deysel were injured, So because of his raw young power and skills they moved him to 7

• 425.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Katman @ 301 Thank you.

• 426.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-422: DAvid, like i said many posts ago, YOU can shitf the loose forwards around during the match, depending on the needs, is it attacking ball, or defensive?? etc

• 427.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-423:
    I agree. It’s HM who insists on size. I reckon his fantasy trio would be 8 Duane, 7 Alberts, 6 Coetzee.

• 428.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-413:
    You did not have a problem with the inexperience of the pack when we played against England, did you?

Two locks on debut. A flank on debut with the other flank less than 10 test matches. Chuck in an 8th man who has been out of form for 3-5 years now.

You did not complain much back then. Why all of a sardientjie does it bother you now.

If you look closely, everybody has Alberts at 8.

• 429.wnbb: Reply to this comment

You guys can call Daniel a pigmy,but he is a bloody great pigmy.I hope Heyneke gives him a chance on Saturday .

• 430.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-415: I think everyone here would agree that Spies on form is awesome. But he has not shown form in a Bok jersey in a loooong time. It is a backhand compliment to the player that we expect so much from him.

The fact that he has still played for so long speaks of the faith shown in him and the time he has been given to reach his potential.
    I feel it is similar to the case with Habana – every time he scores a try, there are articles and exclamations of “Bryan’s back!” because we WANT him to be back.
    But he has not shown that form again, and as such should not be a Bok at the moment.

And I agree we need big ball carrying boys.

Possibly in 2009, by the time we played the ABs and theyd watched the Lions series, the opposition focused so much on Brussow, and this gave Spies more space to operate in?

• 431.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-423: I hear you, but remember Test rugby is not Super Rugby

• 432.capebull: Reply to this comment

@nama1-406: The only reason why I have doubts of your team is cause both Bekker and Alberts will have to be replaced after 50min , with Eben also a worry injured, you could find yourself short- Keegan

Apart from that Kruger could work at 7, but then why not pick Kruger at lock and fire Bankie untill he takes all the ball he should and get fit for 80min

• 433.capebull: Reply to this comment

@David-427: No thats yours , you need speed as well

• 434.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Brigadier @ 420. I thought he played very well against England.

• 435.nama1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-432:
    …and who then, will take Bekkers place?

Flip vd Merwe?

• 436.David: Reply to this comment

@capebull-433:
    No, it isn’t. I’d go with Brussouw at 6.

• 437.capebull: Reply to this comment

@nama1-435: Flip and Eben compete, Bekker and Kruger,

We are thin on locks at moment, Bresler from Sharks looks OK , in the group there’s no one

• 438.capebull: Reply to this comment

@David-436: I rate him as well but he is injured. Two tall guys at 7/8 with him at 6

• 439.cab: Reply to this comment

Katman and trupi got the backrow spot-on

I see el presidente SL is making some controversial non-sharks calls too – Strauss should def be ahead of potgieter spot on

but I hope heyneke ain’t sidelining kolisi – that bugger could be a revelation if motivated correctly – can meyer only motivate the boertjies or the Bantu buggers mos ook?

• 440.cab: Reply to this comment

Daniel is a pigmy but potentially a v good pigmy – brussow is also a pigmy but sometimes pigmys are too good too leave out – besides u can chick them a moerse long way to catch tge lineout ball.

• 441.cab: Reply to this comment

Back, betsen, these are all great pigmies

dalton cockerill were mofo aggro pigmies

sometimes a pigmy can be a handful – fourie is best hooker after bismark for his sheer agression and ballcarrying nit to mention mobility and fetching.

• 442.ufo: Reply to this comment

Okay KEO/Mark…

Yesterday you pointedly ignored several requests that you address the issue of people using the identities or nics to impersonate other posters to post inflammatory and derogatory comments which not only kick the hornet’s nest but make life on the site pretty uncomfortable for the real owner of the abused identity.

What happened to the old system of posting the original sign-on nic with whatever new nic is used?
    Why was it changed?
    It seems it was obviously a conscious decision your part.

Your silence and Nikita’s comment the other day about it being a democracy… whatever that means… leaves little room but to accept the conspiracy theorists that this change was a management decision to empower the trouble-makers in an effort to drive up your decreasing monthly hits.

Some have speculated that your staff members are in fact guilty of this ‘crime’. I dismissed this as passing the buck, but perhaps they have a point after all.

There is also the problem of people registering several nics about which I appreciate there is little you can do but that is not half as annoying as people using the current identities of current members to stir up controversy.

This is not right or fair or ‘democratic’. In real life democracies it is illegal to impersonate anyone else. Surely the most basic of your responsibilities is to protect the identities/nics/personas of your members.

What a pity that you have decided to appeal to the lowest common denominator. I have always defended the fact that you have allowed full and robust debate with little censorship but this new low (even for you) low-road approach you seem to have adopted (in the absence of any comment or effort to sort the problem by you) leave me very disappointed in the site in general and you in particular.

This approach may attract hits in the short-term but you are underestimating the ill-feeling it is causing and you will lose hits and members in the long-term.

It seems you do not appreciate that while you created this site and facilitate the discussion on it… it is the many members who participate upon it that MAKE the site what it is.

I signed up with your site when you started it but I am no longer willing to tolerate the implied arrogance your position suggests, or participate any longer in this farce, so will vote with my feet. I will post this comment several times to ensure you can’t say you did not see it and then withdraw from the site. I may reconsider if and when such time as you have addressed the issue and returned the posting protocol to what it used to be with someone’s original identity always being visible to all. I know I am only one person and you may well ridicule my stance but hey… so what.

Cheers to all the decent people on this site, many of whom are very knowledgeable, intelligent, humourous and entertaining. I would suggest that everyone who disagrees with KEO’s low-life approach also leave the site but obviously you must all do what you feel is right for you.

ufo…

over and out…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.