Spies blow for Boks

Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.

The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.

According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.

‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.

‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 1.trupisero: Reply to this comment

No blow dragon

• 2.lightie: Reply to this comment

Bummer, now Potgieter might actually start. Albert’s to 8?

• 3.trupisero: Reply to this comment

What about Daniel, Coetzee, Alberts?

Or even Siya?

• 4.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Glory Hallelujah !!I started to question the existence of God,but I am a believer again. :D

• 5.pierre: Reply to this comment

How is that a “blow”? It’s a blessing from heaven. Spies is mediocre at best. But don’t feel to sorry for the little diddum. I’m sure his husband Tacitus will kiss it better and bring him chicken soup.

• 6.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Awesome !
    Assuming Brussow is unavailable for the Puma’s I’ll go with the ball carrying backrow of Kolisi, Coetzee, Alberts
    or Coetzee, Alberts, Kankowski if Meyer can lure him for a game or two.

• 7.pierre: Reply to this comment

@pierre-5: *too

• 8.ufo: Reply to this comment

well now we know…

god is not a bull…!!

:evil:

• 9.gecko: Reply to this comment

Heading should read ‘Spies blow for Pumas/Wallabies/All Blacks’

• 10.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

On a serious note,I just wanna wish Britney a speedy recovery.

• 11.ufo: Reply to this comment

tough luck pierre… never good when a player gets injured…

• 12.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

All Blacks and Aussie coaches will have to put their game plans through the shredder machine now I guess.Back to the drawing boards gents.

• 13.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

So Duane could be fast tracked a little quicker than expected, but I would still
    hope he gets 2 full Currie Cup games in before joining the Boks.

Can do without Duane for the Argie tests, while he gets some playing time.

I do wish Pierre well in his recovery though…..Kak 8th man, very nice fellow.

• 14.PoPe: Reply to this comment

Bad luck to Pierre. But hopefully he can go get some form back in the CC.

In current squad, Keegan Daniels is the only player who has played no 8 recently and should get the nod. Assuming he is over his spider bite.

Highly unlikely, but if Vermeulen has a cracker this weekend, he might even come into the mix for the 2nd test off the bench. Don’t see it happening tho. I haven’t seen Alberts play no 8 since World Cup. I know he made an impact, but will he be able to play 8 against AB and Woblies?

• 15.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Hopefully Fat Albert to eight.No Daniel please or I will have to go on my knees to pray that the Cape spider comes back and finishes him off. :D

• 16.willievz: Reply to this comment

Good luck Pierre.

• 17.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Bad luck P!erre. Take your t!me, you don’t have to rush back.

• 18.willievz: Reply to this comment

Arno Botha to get an early taste of test rugby? ;)

• 19.super_pippo: Reply to this comment

It’s a big blow. Haters.

• 20.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@PoPe-14: Now why would he be playing CC rugby with a broken finger when the injury ruled him out of the four nations tournament?

• 21.Slappes: Reply to this comment

@Gecko, lol! Pierre should stick to making gospel cds.

• 22.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@super_pippo-19: Big blow indeed….for the okes on voelmyhoring!That place must be turning into a funeral wake as we type.

• 23.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Sorry to hear! But Yes!!!! Finally someone new at 8, what a relieve.

• 24.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Hope you have a loooonggg successful recovery.

• 25.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

The ball is in your court now Duane Vermeulen.Two good performances from you over the the next two weeks and the Bok eight position is yours.

• 26.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

I know he’s a nice guy but this is the best news I’ve heard in a while. With a Kolisi , coetzee and Alberts combo we stand a chance again.

Last wish – Meyer pls make the call and drop morne if he’s anything

• 27.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Tacitus will be heartbroken.I think that’s end of Tacitus’ support for the Boks….for now.

• 28.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

If he’s anything but perfect against the argies

• 29.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Aglberts, kolisi and marcell for back row

• 30.Gazelle: Reply to this comment

Alberts*

• 31.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Gazelle-29: HM will be looking for some additional bulk now, and will play Potgieter at 7 and Alberts at 8.

• 32.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Brussow to replace Coetzee would make the Boks loose- forward combination extremely potent.Coetzee is a bit of a glory boy,not really playing as part of a combination.

• 33.David: Reply to this comment

I reckon we’ll see Alberts, Coetzee and Daniels loose trio with Kolisi on the bench, as he covers more positions than Pottie. Which position they’ll start in is another story.

• 34.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

great news, lets get Brussouw back in the mix then

• 35.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-22:

A moment of silence please… have you no heart?
    “stomer for life 1″?
    What are you gonna be in your next life junior?

• 36.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

How will Meyer respond now?Will he be bold and select Kolisi or simply retreat back into his laager mentality and select Potgieter.

• 37.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

I wonder how this even happened?
    More jokes about breaking things off with sufficient violence and nailpolish remover please…

• 38.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-35: Let us light a candle for a miraculous recovery for Spies if it’s going to make you happy….ok.I feel your pain but life goes on as they say.

• 39.puff: Reply to this comment

Meyer will go for the established Sharks combo of Coetzee, Alberts and Daniel.
    Front row, second row, and last row of pack plus halfbacks are all established franchise combinations.
    I hope Meyer will include Kolisi in the 22 for Newlands, but I wouldn’t be surprised if he places Potgieter on the bench.

• 40.David: Reply to this comment

This is a tragedy. Spies ring finger is the one he tackles with! :lol:

• 41.BokkeYouBeauties: Reply to this comment

Perhaps another loosie that can also provide cover at lock, like Deysel can come into the frame, but yarr ..this is hardly blow. I’m feeling betta about Saturday already.

• 42.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daar is n geween en n gekners van tande in Danville vanaand!Lock yourselves in tonight women, because no matter what meal you have prepared ,it’s not going to be well received.

• 43.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-38:

Geen pyne nie ou tjom ;)

I dont really care that much. Spies has turned in some heartless performances actually, even though he does get through quite a bit of work with his fitness, it’s often half-arsed work, so no thanks.
    Also, he gets around quite well at times, then arrives as support and does nothing of use.

I don’t like the idea of J Potgieter there either, I would much rather prefer Duane Vermeulen.
    But there you have it.

• 44.puff: Reply to this comment

Come on Meyer, pull some strings and get Kanko back.

• 45.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Agile T*t-Tyrant-37:

Maybe it was meisiekind giving him a manicure and was rougher than usual.

There has been a lot of criticism about Spies including from HM himself. But seriously, never nice to see a guy lose his place due to injury.

But then one man’s misfortune is another man’s opportunity. HM likes Alberts as an 8 although the Sharks don’t play him there.

• 46.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

They’re probably lining up as follows;
    6. Coetsee
    7. Potgieter
    8. Alberts
    With Kolisi off the bench, earning his debut cap. at Newlands

• 47.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged by Mad Eye Productions.: Reply to this comment

@David-40: OK. I am choking with laughter at that comment. :)

• 48.Agile T*t-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@puff-39:

Most likely yes.

• 49.Stiff-arm: Reply to this comment

You come home after a long, hot, sweaty day at the office, spent an hour in the traffic, thinking what a **** day it’s been… And then you get the best news ever. Never wishing misfortune on any one, but let’s hope that’s the end of one sorry chapter in Bok history

• 50.CT Shark: Reply to this comment

This is certainly NO blow to the Springboks and just forces Meyers hand to rid the Boks of a passenger that has been clinging to the side like an old droll for almost 2 seasons now!

Spies stopped being useful two years ago…..and all he has done is deprive a more worthy player of a position in the Bok side.

Can Vermeulen be fast tracked into the Bok side with just one or two Currie Cup appearances under the belt? I don’t know…….

What I do know is that I don’t rate Vermeulen in the least.

1. He’s a carthorse with little or no pace to speak of.
    2. He does not have good distribution skills that a really great 8th man has to join the backline and add another player or dimension to it.
    3. His tackle count last season was well below the top loosies in SA….so he’s not a stalwart on defense.

So what does he actually bring? Not a whole lot from where I stand. He’s just another mediocre player that for some or other reason the Newlands faithful have fallen in love with….because of his “abrasive” personality. (his greatest asset)

Right now Kanko and Keegan Daniel have outplayed, out paced, out smarted and out tackled almost every other loose forward in South Africa…..except for Marcelle Coetzee…..and quite frankly if Meyer was serious about his speech regarding combinations that he delivered before the England test…..then the Sharks loosies should have been imported man for man into the Bok side. Just a pity Kanko had already decided to go play with the little slant eyes.

Good riddance to Spies…..may his convalescence be a verrrrrry long but successful one…….but in the meantime……will a REAL 8th man please stand up!!!!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.