Spies blow for Boks
14 Aug 2012
Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.
The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.
According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.
‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.
‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
14 Aug 2012, 19:14 pm
Two reasons to believe there might be a God – 1) I fell asleep behind the wheel last week & didn’t crash; 2) The fuckker Spies won’t be seen on a rugby field for a couple of months
14 Aug 2012, 19:14 pm
@Stiff-arm-49:
Amen brother….. LOL
14 Aug 2012, 19:15 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-37:
I’m a Bulls supporter and I’m glad he’s out, he’s been a passenger for far too long
Even Anton Leonard was better than him, at least he played hard
Look at all the loosies of all the SA franchises, all of them got injured during the past season except him
Why?
Because he’s a champion passenger
He probably got a hangnail from opening a new can of USN*
*-Uitstekende Spiere Nagemaak?
14 Aug 2012, 19:16 pm
@CT Shark-50: Jeez,another CT Sharks supporter.Can’t you guys stay in your own fcken province???
14 Aug 2012, 19:17 pm
@viewer-51:
Maybe there is a God that protected an innocent girl from being run over by a “fuckker” like you that fell asleep at the wheel….
just a thought.
14 Aug 2012, 19:18 pm
@victoriabok-53:
I hear you.
It’s been a tough season with regards to injuries.
I’d like to see Duane and then Brussow and Steggies back. There is also space for Schalk Burger I believe.
14 Aug 2012, 19:21 pm
Jeez even more annoyed now that Kanko has gone to Japan. He would have been first choice 8. Was our best 8 in the saffa conference. Anyhow he is in Japan now.
Keegan at 8 Alberts 7 Coetzee 6. Or move Alberts to 8 Coetzee 7 Kolisi 6.
14 Aug 2012, 19:22 pm
@Stormerforlife1-54:
HEY…….I come by the way of Texas…..so I left that province a loooooooong time ago!! Besides…..we lend a bit of class to this hovel you call home!! lol
That wedding ring finger can be pesky
@victoriabok-53: Howzit Vbok?Canada still treating you well?Don’t be too harsh on Pierre now.
14 Aug 2012, 19:25 pm
@Puma-57:
Sharks operated brilliantly with Keegan at 8, Coetzee at 6 and Alberts at 7…..why change a winning combo ?
14 Aug 2012, 19:26 pm
Didn’t Juandre play at blindside for Northants in the UK? He could be a replacement with Alberts moving to 8, plus he provides a lineout option.
14 Aug 2012, 19:28 pm
@CT Shark-50: Meyer should try and get Kanko for our away games for Wallabies and Abs. If SBW is allowed to play two games for ABs why we can’t negotiate to have Kanko for two or 4 games? Hope we can. He was outstanding for Sharks.
I do rate Vermeulen but his is slow and I prefer a faster 8 like Kanko he is also superb in the lineouts.
14 Aug 2012, 19:28 pm
@Agile T*t-Tyrant-56:
The morral of the story is ALL loosies get injured during a season,
it’s because they make so many tackles and take so many hits
Except Spies, who’s a past master at hiding in plain sight on a rugbyfield, he never get’s injured
14 Aug 2012, 19:30 pm
Alberts at eight and Potgieter at seven.Heyneke will play it safe against the Argies.
14 Aug 2012, 19:31 pm
@victoriabok-64:
moral
14 Aug 2012, 19:31 pm
@CT Shark-61: Yes we did. Keegan actually played most of our games at 8 this year. So I would go with all Shark loosies.
Look when Kanko started against the Bulls our loose trio was even better with him there at 8 and Keegan moving to 6. But he is in Japan now and I would definitely go with Keegan now at 8 Alberts 7 Coetzee 6.
14 Aug 2012, 19:34 pm
I see Kolisi making his debut this weekend.
8 Alberts
7 Coetzee
6 Kolisi
14 Aug 2012, 19:35 pm
@David-62:
Juandre’s not slow either and he can go to lock when Bekker goes off
Like Kitch did with Strauli on no 8 in the WC 95 final
14 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm
@59 Dawn. He got hurt spreading a stiff pusssy before a bout of cunningilus
14 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@Puma-63: Totally agree with you….but sadly Kanko was the one that said that he had to honor his contract…..nice to see there are still some who when they give their word…stand by it.
Hopefully he’ll be at no.8 from next season permanently….and Britney will just fade away like a bad dream….? lol
14 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@victoriabok-64:
Maybe.
It cerainly seems that he has developed “techniques” that protect him rather than hurt his opponents.
I remember the very first thing my father taught me about rugby when I was 4 or 5:
You should never hesitate or you will get hurt. Commit fully to everything you do on the field.
I don’t really care if anyone sees that as “laager” mentality, but it served me well despite my own injuries. At the very least I can’t be accused of being a coward.
In my opinion a player never ever gets to the heart of rugby if he or she doesn’t commit fully and become fearless.
They might be brilliant, but they haven’t experience “real” rugby.
Once your body gets tossed about and you are introduced to pain again and again, a type of reality dawns on you and if you are still functioning efficiently and being industrious your whole attitude changes.
This attitude flows over into other areas of your life.
Some old rugby players here will know what I’m talking about.
14 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm
@victoriabok-69: That could be as early as the 10th minute……Bekker ain’t too tough and seems to run home to Mum with the first little bump?
@IAAS-68: Could be, but I think it could be a all Sharks loosies. Keegan was excellent this year whether at 8 or 6 for Sharks. Just that Kanko was really brilliant at 8 and a pity he is in Japan.
I think it will be all Sharks loosies this weekend. That is if Keegan is over that spider bite. Read he was okay today.
@viewer-70:
You’re off limits here. Lift your game.
That’s disgusting.
14 Aug 2012, 19:42 pm
Stormers v griquas
Another loss coming up
14 Aug 2012, 19:43 pm
@Stormerforlife1-65: If Meyer plays that brain dead lump Potgieter instead of using the Sharks loose trio combo then he need some time in a decompression chamber because his brain is obviously deprived of oxygen.
Potgieter should never have even been picked for this side. He offers nothing other than stupidly aggressive running…..which is always at players and never at gaps…..and he doesn’t even understand the concept of “offloading”……
14 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm
By continuously selecting Pierre Spies, regardless of his form, the selectors do him no favours. Hopefully this will give him a chance to “pull finger” and get himself into something resembling some form by the time his finger is ready again.
In the meanwhile, the prospect of having Alberts at 8 must surely be an exciting one.
@IAAS-75: I agreem some stormer supporter comments in here leave a lot to be desired, the player does not choose himself and the hate is pathetic
So well said mate,
@CT Shark-71: This could have been his time to cement that position for himself.
Anyhow I would have Keegan start at 8 now. I much prefer a faster 8. Alberts is a very good 8 but prefer him at 7 to be honest. Keegan too is very good at the back of the scrum. I feel Meyer will go with the Sharks loosies this weekend. Unless that spider bite Keegan got is still bothering him. But I read today he is feeling okay today.
14 Aug 2012, 19:45 pm
@Puma-74:
Could be. I’m all for maintaining combinations and I think that HM recognises that. Team should be released tomorrow. We just have to be patient until then.
But with my combo, I would have Keegan on the bench as the Argies will come at us with a monster pack as usual. I know Keegan punches above his weight but Kolisi might be the best man for the job in the first half.
14 Aug 2012, 19:47 pm
@Puma-74: Hiyas Puma bro, you well?? eish please not a complete Sharks trio, we will never hear the end of it in here
I have no problem with a Alberts, Kolisi, coetzee trio, could be quite good, Daniel as impact off the bench in last 25 min could be useful
14 Aug 2012, 19:47 pm
My o my… 8-alberts,7-coetzee,6-kolisi if heineke is wise?
4 the aus/blacks we need 8-vermeulen,7-alberts,6-kolisi with coetsee benched….
Then I’m also praying brussow get call-up please!!!
14 Aug 2012, 19:48 pm
@CT Shark-61: There’s only one problem with Kanko. I won’t go as far as to call him the poor man’s Spies, but his strenghts and weaknesses are exactly the same: Great in loose open games, Awol in tight games. He was excellent in recent weeks, but only because the whole Sharks pack was. Unfortunately, games against the ABs are never loose and open, at least not from our side, so I just can’t see the point ok Kanko
14 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
@IAAS-81: Although i partly agree, i think Kolisi inj CT in front of his home crowd could be huge,but daniel at 8thman would be far better as that link between forwards and backs, also his pace is so much faster the n Kolisi, but like i said, i will be very happy if Kolisi plays,
14 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
@viewer-70: That’s taking it a bit too far now,buddy.
14 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
@puff-44: Meyer doesn’t have to pull any strings, under IRB regulations Kankowski’s club have to release him.
14 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
@Stiff-arm-84: Kanko never went awol for the Sharks the past 5 weeks. He actually only got a start when we played the Bulls. So he only really had 5 games starting this S15 and was voted the number 8 of the season by Planet Rugby. And that was after only really playing 5 full games. That says a lot. He was a different player this year. He was superb. Keegan has been too, no matter where Sharks have played him 8 or 6 he never lets the team down.
14 Aug 2012, 19:53 pm
@xtremebull-83: Come now mate, Coetzee and daniel in all the stats have been SA’s most prolific loose forwards, kanko only came to the fore after injury, So in what part of loose forward play is Kolisi better that Coetzee??
14 Aug 2012, 19:53 pm
@Stormerforlife1-60:
Good and you?
Nice summer weather
Spies could have been the best no 8 ever, but he was never the same after he returned from his lung problem
Now he’s all show and no go
Like a Kia with a spoiler kit
14 Aug 2012, 19:56 pm
@Stiff-arm-84: Correct.Kanko had numerous opportunities for the Boks but was found not good enough.Heyneke should not even attempt to get him from Japan as that would mean replacing the mediocre with the mediocre.Daniel is way too small and lack the necessary test match temperament and should not be considerd as well.
14 Aug 2012, 19:56 pm
@Big Hit-87: exactly, I am not fooled by HM’s talk of Kanko etc etc etc, I reckon thats just a bit of soft soaping the press and public, Spies was always going to play, and it’s only injury that has halted that plan. Just as Morne was always going to play.
14 Aug 2012, 19:58 pm
@sharks_lover-85: I would be happy if it was Kolisi too, but we have to think what is best for us going into the next week and not worry about home town favourite here. Keegan was very good this year at 8. Also with Sharks off-loading game Keegan was the best at it and off-loaded more than any other player. Also superb at the back of the scrum. I prefer a fast 8. I would now go with all Sharks loose trio.
Will a player come into the squad to replace Spies to make it up to 30? I think only 26 players will tour to Arg though but for the away tour to Oz and Nz think we may have to bring in another player to fill that space Spies has left.
14 Aug 2012, 19:58 pm
Brussow,Kolisi and Vermeulen will be a great combination against the Australasians.
14 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
@sharks_lover-92:
HM rates Kanko highly particularly after the Bok training camp in Durban. And was forthright about Spies’s contributions saying he needs to lift his game. Keo mentioned this in yesterday’s article and I heard HM say it himself.
If Kanko had not gone to Japan, HM would’ve played him.
I stand corrected here, but under IRB regulations clubs only have the June and November window periods to release their players.
14 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
@Puma-93: I am thinking of what to do for an article, but flying on a business trip to Durbs tomorrow,
14 Aug 2012, 20:04 pm
@IAAS-95: you could be right boet, who knows,
14 Aug 2012, 20:04 pm
It’ll be interesting to see who HM considered his best 8 replacement and loose combo without Spies for the series. He knew that Kanko and Duane weren’t available, so let’s wait and hear his justification for his selection.
14 Aug 2012, 20:05 pm
@Stormerforlife1-91: You talking utter rubbish as usual. When did Kanko have so many chances for the Boks? When??????? Please inform us how many games Kanko started and finished for the Boks that he had so many chances as you say? He had so little time ever, mostly coming off the bench. Getting plenty chances is playing for a season or two like Spies that is getting plenty chances. Please man Kanko has never been given that chance. He was our best 8 this season and he only played 5 full games for Sharks because he had been injured.
14 Aug 2012, 20:06 pm
@David-98: to me Alberts, Coetzee POtgieter, Kolisi are very simluar, Daniel is the best link man in the squad for the back of the scrum? will he choose him?? i dont think so
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All