Spies blow for Boks

Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.

The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.

According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.

‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.

‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

• 101.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-99: Ignore boet, not worth it

• 102.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-53:
    When carried the ball, Leonard usually crossed the advantage line and more often than not remained on his feet, he was slow, true but then how far did that carried Spies?

@IAAS-68:
    Kolisie would be a good selection vs the Argies, look no further than the test at Buenos Aires in 2005 ;)

• 103.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Some serious disrespect going on on this blog tonight. Shown toward someone who has historically been a great player for SA.
    Meyer won’t play kolisi, he’ll at best play off the bench now although I think Potgieter will warm the wood now. Kolisi way too raw. Huge in defence but seriously needs work on his skill level.
    Would have loved to have had Strauss in the bok mix. Think he would have stepped very comfortably into that no 8 role.
    First prize would obviously have been Kanko but alas, tis not possible.

• 104.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-103: Amen john, again again it comes from a certain section of the community, very poor taste to say the least, from wishing he got injured, happy he got injured to even worse, So sad and these people call themselves decent and sports lovers

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-102: explain??

• 106.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-100:
    I agree, but I’d use Daniels at 6 with Coetzee at 7 and Alberts 8. An opensider also needs to be a link man if the role of 8 is to carry the ball up from the back. Unfortunately, as Willie mentioned earlier, HM will probably go with more bulk at 7 with that maniac Potgieter.

• 107.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

Keegan’s cameo performances during the Poms series earlier this season does not inspire confidence I’m afraid. S15 may be his ceiling.
    Moving forward, maybe Arno Botha.
    For now, Alberts.

• 108.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-105:
    There was an incident there when JW pulled out Solly T about 28 minutes from the start saying: we were concerned about his well being, the Argie beasts were mauling him”
    :(

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-106: you could be right

• 110.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-102:

I’m sure Hougie gets more yards over the advantage line than Spies

• 111.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

This is not good for the Boks. I am concerned about Alberts fitness still and he is our only real option at 8 now.

Tough luck Pierre.

• 112.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’d bring Kanko back and go Kanko, Alberts, Coetzee, with Kolisi on the bench.

• 113.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-111:

The voice of reason amidst the collective emotional brainfart that has been this thread thus far.

• 114.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112: NOt sure there is enough time now though

• 115.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

Shouldn’t we ignore Kanko as he’s going to Japan?

• 116.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Hmmmm title of the article is identical to the one on Rugby 365,

• 117.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

Unfortunately Kanko is not an option. Boks need to pray Willem holds up now. Vermeulen back in 2 weeks but his fitness is also in question at this moment.

• 118.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Hondo-108:
    No suprises here..,
    Hondo with another derogatory race based blog.
    Your other trick being biased refereeing.
    2012 china, time to up your game a bit.

• 119.cab: Reply to this comment

Gdam this is good news – I reckon we will now take the ABs.

Pierre will heal up – an injury to the hand is about as good as it gets as rugby injuries go.

Please god no potgieter or kankoski – asb tog

yip watch out kiwis hier kom n moerse ding – now all we need is jannie to pull a hammie to get some bench time for cilliers and I reckon heyneke is heading for a 90% season.

• 120.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-95: my understanding is the test windows were to be moved to suit the RC and ensure the release of Argentina’s players,

In saying that Kanko won’t want to jeopardise his big money deal, the SARU would likely have to compensate his Japanese club and like most unions they would be reluctant.

• 121.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-117:

Deysel?

• 122.wpallday: Reply to this comment

This pack ;
    1.Beast
    2.Bismarck
    3.Jannie
    4.Etzebeth
    5.Bekker
    6.Coetzee
    7.Alberts
    8.Daniel
    -Helluva side ,Daniel is a natural number 8 and can unlock games.
    Some how I know Meyer will play Potgieter and Alberts at 7 and 8 respectively; redundant and predictable, snooze fest .

Spies has been in horrific form and truth be told is not a Springbok anything ,not a wing and definitely not a forward.

Now Goosen or Lambie at 10 and we are styling :)

• 123.Puma: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-115: He is only going for 6 months and will be back. Meyer could negotiate with his club there to get him back.

• 124.SANZ man: Reply to this comment

Anyone here ever heard about an All Black called **** (Red) Conway who toured S.A in 1960?
    He was going to miss the tour because of a injured finger so instead he had it amputated and played. Mad B****td!!

• 125.cab: Reply to this comment

I state categorically we shall bliksem allcomers – all we need now is the kickchase to be cut down to 3 hailmary’s per minute and we back at no 1 before u can say ‘of hoe ekse’.

• 126.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-121:

Deysel is struggling to command a spot in the Sharks team and imo is a 7, not an 8 – it is quite a specialist position.

Most likely combo this weekend will be Marcell, Potgieter, Alberts with Keegan covering from the bench if he recovers from his spider bite – otherwise Kolisi will take up a bench position.

• 127.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: correct Deysel is a 7 and at a push a 6, but not an 8

• 128.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: Surely Kolisi instead of Potgieter?

• 129.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-112:

But Kanko is not coming back. Well not for the next 6 months or so.

Now HM just has to play the hand he has been dealt.

Maybe Alberts at 8. But HM’s only concern is that the Sharks haven’t played him there. So it could well be an all Sharks loose trio with Daniel at 8, Alberts 7 and Coetzee 6. I’m fine with that.

• 130.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126: Ernst Joubert was immaculate in the AP last season, he would not let any test side down.

• 131.cab: Reply to this comment

Ernst joubert a fantastic no 8

play alberts at 8 with kolisi at blinsider – pity brussow not there – all we need now is elstadt added to the mix for bekker and fourie for teddybear and jannie to play leftback – watch this side I reckon. Could be some uitmintende selection keuse – albeit forced.

• 132.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-120:

As far as I know June is when the NH tour the SH and November it is the opposite. Let’s just say that the IRB don’t make rushed decisions.

• 133.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126:
    Have to agree with that.
    Meyer is very consistent, and that is most like for like (if you can call it that) scenario.
    Probably with Kolisi off the bench.

• 134.David: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-130:
    I reckon he should have been in the Bok mix for a while. For some reason though, loosies playing overseas have little chance compared to some other positions.

• 135.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-134:

HM has stated that if there is a 50/50 call he will go with a local player. And we have plenty of loose forward options in this country. Right now we are just talking about the right combinations.

• 136.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Kanko is not the answer and I believe Heyneke thinks so as well hence not negotiating his release for a couple of games like the all blacks did re SBW.There is no disputing that Kanko performed well in a desperate Sharks team at the end of the super15.Super15 is Kanko’s ceiling…and Heyneke knows it .

• 137.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daniel simply is too small for test match rugby and will be manhandled by the big Argentine forwards.Why Heyneke selected him in the squad is a mystery,especially in light of his public statement that he doesn’t believe in small,light rugby players.

• 138.cab: Reply to this comment

124 SANZ
    lol – great story.

• 139.David: Reply to this comment

@IAAS-135:
    I’m talking about the last 3 or 4 years. Ernst and Big Joe were a major loss considering how they’ve both matured. I never understood why the Lions moved Ernst from 8 to 7 to accommodate Alberts at 8.

• 140.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-136:
    Arno Botha, or CJ Stander may well be our future there.
    6′s Coetsee, Kolisi
    7′s Burger, Alberts
    With ample cover in the wings.

• 141.mako: Reply to this comment

YES YES YES!!!!! I just read the article, haven’t even looked at the comments yet, but Wooo Hooo, someone is listening to my prayers. Now for More to get a splinter in his little toe, please, please, pretty please.

I know that sounds awful, but hell, that one ring finger has just added another whole player to the Bok team. Now we can run on the field with 15 rugby players. NZ must be kakking themselves. Its been ages since they faced a full Bok side. Usually 14 plus a spectator running around on the field.

Hell, even Aplon would be 100% improvement at 8th man!!!

Thank you God, thank you, thank you, thank you!

• 142.mako: Reply to this comment

Sorry More = Morne, in my excitement I got carried away. Maybe Kirshner could break a fingernail and also miss ten weeks or so?

• 143.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-126:

I’d blood Kolisi against the Argies

• 144.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Hip Hip Hooray. Get well soon Spies, you’re a good well spoken bloke but it’s about time the new future Bok 8 steps in. Be it Vermuelen, Alberts, Kankowski or even Burger, any of those guys will do just fine.

• 145.IAAS: Reply to this comment

@David-139:

SA has always produced quality loosies and will continue to so. So for a loosie to depart for overseas for an indefinite period is akin to kissing your Bok aspirations goodbye.

Obviously Ernst couldn’t understand the move either and quickly said his goodbyes. But Alberts was impressive at 8 with the Lions then. Sufficiently so for HM to still remember those games he played there. And hoping that the Sharks play him there.

• 146.cab: Reply to this comment

141 mako I could not agree more – there is a blessed one upstairs afterall – so long as meyer does not select kanko or potgieter the Boks are going to field one moerse string team for a change with a full compliment of 15 players.

• 147.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

I would have preferred for Kolisi to have continued his rugby education in the CC this year.He still needs to work on certain aspects of his game.

• 148.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-128:

I am stating what I believe Meyer will do, not my personal choice. I would love to see Siya and Marcell wreck havoc.

@Big Hit-130:

Good to see you again mate! Meyer will only select available overseas based players if there is no-one here to cover.

He will stick with the squad for the two Argie tests and Duane will come in once they go down-under.

• 149.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-143:

He is behind Keegan in the pecking order. Would be great to see him make his debut though, but nothing more than bench I would imagine.

• 150.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am out though folks, have a nice evening.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.