Spies blow for Boks

Pierre Spies has been ruled out of the Rugby Championship because of an injury to his left ring finger.

The No 8 injured his finger in the Super Rugby qualifier against the Crusaders last month.

According to Springbok team doctor Craig Roberts, initial X-rays did not reveal any significant abnormality.

‘However, on review and further investigation, including a CT scan and assessment by a hand specialist in Cape Town, it was found that Pierre had a fracture into the joint,’ said Roberts.

‘Surgical correction is needed in order to prevent permanent damage. The usual rehabilitation time for these kinds of injuries is eight to 12 weeks.’

442 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

• 351.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Sharkslover is the Saffa version of Poppa…..always in an eruptive state.

• 352.Staal: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-346: you have now officially “lost it” :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 353.Puma: Reply to this comment

@capebull-348: I truely hope it is NOT Potgieter at 7.

• 354.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

well, the starting side is starting to look as about as exciting as a 2003 wc side.

all I hope is that the coaching staff have been able to get this mix match into something well drilled and cohesive in the past few weeks.

• 355.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-347: Yes, lets put the Strompie front row in

• 356.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-353: For sure, Keegan is great replcement but, they will go for size , it does matter.

• 357.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Boet even though thats what i would like, if Kolisi was chosen with Alberts and Coetzee i would not be unhappy, I reckon our lineout options are good enough,

Of course playing the ShaRKS LOOSEFORWARDS will give another advantage as they know each others play well, so yeah there are things to consider.

• 358.capebull: Reply to this comment

Youngsters, I rate Arno Botha

• 359.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-356: CApebull sorry with respect but thats hogwash.

Show me any match where Daniel is outplyed because he is smaller?? or cant tackle because of his size etc??

This oke IS in the top 10 for tackles made in the whole super 15
    plus top ten in many of the other catagories of looseforward play,

The Kiwi’s even rated him the best loose forward in the whole super15, dont look at the mans size, look at what he achieves on the field of play

• 360.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

magnificent achievement for graeme smith when he becomes game’s most capped Test captain. Surpasses Allan Border. Massive. Massive. Massive

• 361.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Bulls hooker Chilliboy Ralepelle has had to withdraw from the Springbok Rugby Championship squad as the result of a knee injury sustained in training on Tuesday.

• 362.race of tan: Reply to this comment

What about a Big Joe V Kerk call up? Funny now that Spies is out we are all of a sudden a bit empty of N8s. I wish him a speedy recovery!

• 363.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Keegan is to Small with Bekker/Eben not taking line out ball we need a number 8 for that JOb. Keegan did that 1-2 as a surprize.

• 364.spartan: Reply to this comment

There I was happily cruising along knowing the ABs would be facing a Bok pack handicapped by the inclusion of one Pierre Spies
    Then the nincompoop goes and breaks a finger nail
    invaliding himself out of the RC
    Of all the rotten luck

• 365.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

PLeaseeeee dnt call up Burden as is rumoured, eish, as is it BIssy with Boks, Kyle Cooper out injured till year end?? If Burden goes we Farked lol

• 366.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

@Puma-350: Why don’t you just add the Sharks locks into the mix as well to fulfill your dream of an all Shark Bok pack?Stop turning the Boks into a Sharks project.Some of you guys like Sl and yourself even went so far recently to punt for Jordaan and the scrummie to be selected for the Bok team!!I am not even touching on the bleating for Lambie to replace Steyn at ten.Now,let us see.Yes,that’s just about turning the Sharks team into the Bok team.Have you guys no shame???

• 367.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-363: NOt sure what games you have been watching
    ???? In every game Daniel takes lineout ball,

• 368.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

I got my wish, Red faced Liebenberg got the Bok call up

• 369.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-357: No problems if Kolisi gets selected either. He has been the outstanding player for Stormers this year.

I just think go with combinations here. Our loosies have played all season together. Also like Keegans speed at 8 and his skill level is great.

• 370.capebull: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-359: I like Keegan , he’s all heart , but I think he’s to small we need a lineout option. Alberts, Marcel is not. Bekker and Eben does not take lineout balls where do you think we will get ball from.

• 371.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-368: Jeez really? After Burden was so superb last week… :roll:

• 372.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-365: Okay see you thinking of our CC chances. Then it is okay…hehe. Liebenberg can get a call up…lol.

• 373.Staal: Reply to this comment

Wat v daai kortgat wat AC vir die Stormers op 8 gespeel het. AC ken sy storie! :lol:

• 374.capebull: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-367: Not as a rule ,so did the Beast, so would you call him a line out option ? Sharkies actually used Kanko ,against Bulls , Strompies to great effect.

Eben and Bekker does not take a lot of ball.

• 375.Puma: Reply to this comment

@capebull-363: Keegan took some of Stormers ball when we played them at the Tank. They had both Eben and Bekker that day.

• 376.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@capebull-370: If Bekker and Eben cant take Lineout ball my friend it matters not who you put at the back, we wont win lineouts then, Of the PLayers there not one is a great lineout option accept Daniel, the other was SPies, despite what people saay he is a very good back of the lineout jumper, as is Kanko, Kanko is not available however

• 377.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Daniel is way too short for test match rugby.He is good to have around the squad though and to play the cameo five to ten minutes against teams like Argentina,Scotland etc etc.Heyneke will never play him against the All Blacks

• 378.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-344:
    Maybe you should stop trying to think what I want to hear or what I prefer.

Kolisi is not a line out option so that takes him out of the equation afa I’m concerned. Iif you’ve read my comments you would’ve seen that I mentioned Kruger in my very 1st post as an option at 7 exactly because he is a line out option at the back. Did you not see it?

You really have an unhealthy bias against Stormer supporters. Not good for you.

• 379.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-359: The problem is Kiwi coaches know what they are talking about and HM hasn’t got a plan that looks beyond size.

• 380.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

We don’t need Daniel at the back of the lineout because Bekker and Etzebeth WILL take the lineout ball.No matter which way the Sharkievarkie supporters want to spin this to get their man into the starting 15,i can tell them now that it’s not going to work.

• 381.David: Reply to this comment

@nama1-378:
    I also suggested Kruger last night. I seem to remember him playing at 7 (6) when he was overseas.

• 382.nama1: Reply to this comment

@David-381:
    There we go.

6. Coetzee
    7. Kruger
    8. Alberts

Big, heavy bruisers to “dominate” the collisions.

Why not?

• 383.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

With Bekker, Bismark, Eben, Beast and Alberts there is plenty of size and power. Brussow needs to come back in to the team and Coetzee can do the job at 8 for now.

• 384.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@David-381: Dave, Kruger has not played there for a very long time, Also SH rugby much faster the NH,Add to that If you want to play a heavier LF at the back then you might as well just PLay Alberts there, Kruger is not fast, PLay Daniel or Kolisi, Lineouts can be worked out

• 385.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

Kruger was superb on the blindside for Northampton.

• 386.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Puma-375: Exactly Keegan took some ball.

In the Semi’s Strompies VS Sharks

I could be wrong but general story was as follows,

Strompies 11 Line Outs won

Bekker 2
    Eben 1
    Elstadt 8

Spies took bulk of lineouts against England

Keagan will take some ball , but will he be able to take all the balls

• 387.nama1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382:
    The trio selected from the players in the squad.

Not my preferred trio for the Boks. Everybody knows that I would prefer Brussow ahead of Coetzee every Saturday and twice on a Sunday.

Preferred trio, if everybody is available would be:
    6. Brussow
    7. Schalk
    8. Keegan

• 388.stew: Reply to this comment

You lucky buggers …. well at last time for Alberts to step up

• 389.capebull: Reply to this comment

@nama1-382: Alberts , Marcell , Potgieter,

Bankie will have to be replaced after 50min with Kruger, Eben also playing with an injury after his run in with Bizzy.

• 390.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-380:
    If you take your head out your arsehole for two seconds, you’ll remember that both Kanko and Daniel abused the Stormers lock pairing at linout time in that second S15 clash and the semi.

• 391.stew: Reply to this comment

@Stormerforlife1-377: They did say the same thing about Tiaan Strauss if i am not mistake …. If he has the ability let him play …. But have always liked a big ball carrying no 8

• 392.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Interesting discussion on Daniel

Someone like Danie Rossouw was brilliant at 8 for the Boks , he started at 8 when we won the world cup. He was not the most mobile or skillful.

But I also think of the French game in 2006. SA loose trio was Van Niekerk at 6 , Smith at 7 , Wannenburg at 8. The french had a smaller mobile loose trio that outplayed us that day.

If it’s wet and pouring down I believe size has a better chance for go forward ball than attacking ability or mobility. That’s where Danie Rossouw was brilliant for the Boks. If it’s sunny and dry you want a more attacking mobile 8.

A lot depends on the gameplan too…..

• 393.Stormerforlife1: Reply to this comment

Ai ai Sharkslover !I think most bloggers are giving Kruger the thumbs-up here.Kruger is a good choice with Bekker and Etzebeth at four and five.Great physicality there in that pack.To keep sharkslover happy,put Daniel on the bench as cover in case something happens early on in the game to the three big boys.

• 394.stew: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-390: But maybe he has a point – look back to the final a couple of weeks ago – both Kanko and Daniels got smashed by the Cheifs No8 and let an easy try in … Defensive weakness that everybody will have seen.

• 395.bokfan1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-6: Eish, thats harsh. While I understand some of us might think there are better options at 8 (and I am one of them!) I would not wish an injury on any Bok player, and definitely wouldnt say “awesome” about it.

Even if we dont agree with the coach or the selections, when the Boks take the field we should still support them 100% and hope that the players we doubt will prove us wrong.

• 396.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-384:
    I doubt whether CT will see a fast paced game.

@the artist formerly known as gunther-385:
    That’s what I remember.

• 397.nama1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-389:
    Please, NOT Potgieter.

• 398.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

kruger
    alberts
    coetzee.

kolisi and daniels on the bench.

Potgeiter on crowd control.

• 399.capebull: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie-392: We had locks that took their line out balls , then you can play any midget at 8.

When your locks don’t do their bit in line outs you need a tall 8

Semi’s

Strompies 11 Line Outs won

Bekker 2
    Eben 1
    Elstadt 8

• 400.the artist formerly known as gunther: Reply to this comment

@David-396:

In fact when he returned to SA more of the talk seemed to centre around him playing at 7 than at lock.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.