Kings in, Lions out

Saru has confirmed that the Kings will play Super Rugby at the Lions’ expense in 2013.

This ends months of speculation about how the Kings – who were promised Super Rugby entry by Saru – would be accommodated in the tournament. After Saru’s hopes of getting a sixth franchise were dashed by Sanzar, the Lions, who finished last on the combined Super Rugby log this year, were always likely to make way for the Eastern Cape franchise.

The Lions will now have to settle for Currie Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby before getting a chance to get back into Super Rugby by playing a two-legged promotion-relegation tie against the team that finishes last in the SA conference next year.

‘All rugby provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Super Rugby competition,’ said Saru president Oregan Hoskins. ‘That decision was first taken in 2005 but their inclusion has twice been postponed.

‘We made a commitment to the Kings to include them in 2013 and rugby has delivered on that commitment. The franchise represents more clubs than any other region – apart from the Stormers – and contains numerous leading rugby schools. It has been starved of top-class rugby competition for a decade and a half and now it has the chance to show what it can do.’

Hoskins said that Sanzar’s decision to grant the 15th franchise to Melbourne in 2011 – rather than the Kings – had created a dilemma for them. He said that the organisation and players had wanted a ‘rugby solution’ to accommodate six franchises in five places and this had been delivered, as challenging as it was for the relegated team.

‘The provinces asked for a rugby solution and we believe that this was the fairest and most transparent method to respond to what is undoubtedly a less than ideal situation,’ he said. ‘We also canvassed Super Rugby players before the start of the season, through the Players’ Association, and this was their preferred mechanism.’

Saru CEO Jurie Roux said that the decision to apply a promotion and relegation system from 2013 was standard practice in sport.

‘We operate promotion and relegation in all our Currie Cup competitions, with the bottom-placed team being relegated unless it wins a play-off,’ said Roux. ‘Our strategic goal is to have six strong franchises covering the whole of South Africa and this decision keeps all of them in play on an annual basis.’

342 Comments

• 1.garth: Reply to this comment

Now at least the Bulls can get some decent dragons.

• 2.Transformation: Reply to this comment

yeehaaaaa

• 3.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@garth-1: Jantjes at 10 to replace their mis-firing flyhalf? :)

• 4.Fleckie: Reply to this comment

Stormers please buy Cilliers, Maku, Josh, Elton and Taute. All good players.

Seriously need some depth at hooker, Maku is a big guy who will offer more than Deon at 2. Cilliers , well we need a strong tighthead with experience. He can rotate wit Frans Malherbe.

Josh can cover 7 and 8 esp wit all the injuries in the flank department, ELTON is a must, he’s young and has a experience. We neeed this oak to come if we wanna win the Super 15 next year, can reali punt the ball.

Jaco Taute will be great in the backline, he’s quick and BIG unlike our other guys, he’s also young and has a big future.

• 5.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Fleckie-4:

stormers have no cash.

they’ve just got thelo’s room service bill for the super 15.

• 6.grant100: Reply to this comment

as elton OP Kings toe kom, kak ek in my broek! please japan buy webster!!! EP KINGS ON THE RISE!!!!!

• 7.Fleckie: Reply to this comment

Well we need to find the bucks or we aint winning sh#t

• 8.ali: Reply to this comment

Special Commiserations for all those Lions players currently tied-up in long-term contracts.

• 9.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

So how long will the court case last between SARU and MTN I wonder. This might cost SARU a lot of money.

• 10.Atlas: Reply to this comment

Best for SA teams
    Now we can put 70 to 80 points on the Queens twice
    Bonus points and points for and against will help us for the play offs
    Beat that O’Neil

• 11.JA-JA: Reply to this comment

Bulls need to buy Taute ASAP not just for the sake of the Bulls to have a decent 15 but for Meyer to stop picking Zane for the Boks.

• 12.super_adi: Reply to this comment

@ali-8: Maybe loan moves just for next year’s super rugby?

• 13.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Fleckie-4: The Bulls will buy plensch (already done deals in some cases) as I’m certain Heyneke has told them to get Taute and Cilliers for starters.

Other Lions players will move to the Eastern Cape in order to continue playing Super rugby.

A few to the Cheetahs, Sharks and Stormers = How the fuckwillthey win any promotion/relegation match yo get back into the S15, when they have no quality players left?

Interesting times ahead in SA rugby – as usual :)

• 14.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Fleckie-4: And Andries Coetzee, probably the BEST player at the Lions.

• 15.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

And so the “transformation” of South African sport takes a giant step forward…

What a bunch of you-know-what.

• 16.SamM: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs need locks urgently !

• 17.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

I will continue to be a Lions supporter and will support any South African team against a foreign team. Kings will be k@kking themselves for the playoff game. A year is a very short time and Lions will be back.

• 18.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-5: You are correct. We won’t be able to buy a Taute or a Cilliers in any event. The Bulls already be having them I reckon.

At the very least, I would hope we make a HUGE attempt to get Maku, and Andries Coetzee……
    Damn, when you think of it, there are some quality players on the market.

• 19.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@willievz-14: Yes, he is on my wish list.

• 20.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-2:
    No more fence sitting.

You in for a rough ride.

• 21.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-18:

I think the bulls will be buying Coetzee and Cilliers and either Strauss or Minnie.

Sell Zane to Japan.

Happy days.

• 22.Transformation: Reply to this comment

franco come to the kings boytjie! depth is paramount in super rugby

• 23.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22: The Kings will buy quite a few of the Lions players. Mapoe, Murray, Whiteley (wouldn’t mind the Stormers grabbing him either to be honest….)

And I wouldn’t be surprised if the Kings now manage to sign a few ‘biggish’ names…..I believe negotiations have been underway for some time with certain players.

• 24.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Finally a Decision !! Feel for the Lions players and fans but at the same time I am also looking forward to watching the Kings !! Hopefully now Solly and Co can contract some much needed players for their team !!

I am a little worried though that they only getting one year to prove themselves , thats hardly fair. I feel they need at the very least 3 years to start making real progress

• 25.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

I would like to blame a few people now:

- Hoskins for having no backbone when negotiating anything
    - Mitchell for his kamikazi game plan. Not suited to players with limited skillsets
    - Andries Strauss for taking Wikus (our whole tight 5) out for the season with one spear tackle.
    - The Spears (ag .. Kings) for making the mightly leap from Division 1 to Superrugby without merit.

Thank you

• 26.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Interesting.In all fairness ,lions should have been a gonner three years ago.They brought this on themselves.

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-20: no doubt!!

SOUTHERN KINGS forEVER!

• 28.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-21: Kallie Visagie another good buy at 2. Look, I will be happy with Maku or Visagie, but a half decent hooker is needed down here.

Fuckawicket.Petersen gone.

• 29.Fleckie: Reply to this comment

BULLS just leave us some players please, WHY the hell don’t we have the cash to buy good players??
    1)Kitsie
    2)Maku If not Maku then Callie Visagie
    3)Cilliers/Malherbe

10) Elton

15)Taute

We just need to plug a few holes, get some depth and we’l start winning comps.
    Come Alister time to wake up and get these players

• 30.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@sparticus-24: When it comes to the promotion/relegation game, the Lions will at that stage be without 90% of the players they currently rely on. (All will have moved…). The Kings on the other hand, will be richer in quality players with a S15 squad of 30 (many of the squad members BEING ex-Lions players…).
    The Lions will struggle to win a promo/relegation match.

• 31.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-22:
    Welcome to the BIG league, boet

• 32.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Oh fuckfuckfuckfuck Amla gone as well.

• 33.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

wow!

i honestly did not think it would happen

• 34.gunther: Reply to this comment

fuckpants.

• 35.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Well done Cheeky.

• 36.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27:
    congrats transie
    i cant say its gonna be easy
    in fact i can its gonna be painful
    but congrats all the same

• 37.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

can say its gonna be painful

• 38.grant100: Reply to this comment

King Kallis will have to do everything again … best batsmen the world has ever seen .. and he can bowl aswel

• 39.gunther: Reply to this comment

batting first on a greenish wicket.

perhaps not the best call.

• 40.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Comisserations to all Lions supporters.Keep the chin up lads.

• 41.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

The lions were once the biggest and richest union in SA rugby, what happened? The officials in charge should be held acountable and shown the door. The Kings will not make it past the #15 spot on the log, I predict a record points against for a total season and at least a biggest loss record to be broken at least 4 times.

• 42.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther-39:

Who splitted on KP?
    Any idea?

• 43.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-34: HuckleberryfuckingFINN???? Roids?

• 44.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-39: Exactly why Strauss said, “Not a bad toss 2 lose…” Fok.

• 45.John Galt: Reply to this comment

What happens to the Lions player who still have contracts with the Lions?

Surely they cant just jump ship and play for the Kings?
    Will be interesting to see the backlash from the Lions for loss of revenue etc.

One thing is for sure, the SA pool just got a whole lot easier.

All SA teams will regard their game against the Kings as a guaranteed 5 points and will use the opportunity to rest their big players.

• 46.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

This is still a k@k deal for the Kings, they should have been given time to entrench themselves and be in a position to sign long term deals with players, with this current arranged they are still farked. At least a guaranteed 5 years, then a promotion/relegation game, I see no reason why a team like the Lions which has been milking SANZAR for years can’t be excluded for 5 years.

• 47.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

Kallis given out…..totally wrong call. Ohfuckwhatthefuck.

• 48.greegs: Reply to this comment

What a joke? I can’t believe this has happened? SARU has forgotten who the real fans are. Boycott the stadiums until they reverse the decision. Promo relegation match should have happened first….

• 49.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

What a shocker by the Lords tv official!!!

• 50.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-42:

the british press are accusing the saffers.

but quite frankly they are about as fair as a kiwi ref.

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-43:

dangerman.

he’s their morne morkel.

when he get’s it right he’s like my morning glory.

more than a handful…

• 51.clownface: Reply to this comment

bad news for me who loves going to ellis park and watching the international teams come over and play. i wont be going to loftus…..this is bullshit

• 52.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-47:
    @goodstuff-49:
    its a stitch up.

• 53.gunther: Reply to this comment

Horrible decsion.

Is this the same **** who was the tv ump at headingley?

• 54.grant100: Reply to this comment

Rod Tucker is a d00s …. he has a few pounds on this game…has 2 be … scum!

• 55.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    K@k deal?
    They shouldn’t be there in the first place
    But good luck anyway

• 56.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-45:

Elton Jantjes has a condition in his contract that allows him to leave the Lions if they lose their superrugby status. Maybe the others have the same.

• 57.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    Yes because they have really paid their dues in the Currie Cup.
    Oh wait, they havent even won anything in the VC.

Hoskins at fault here. Big bald pussie that oke.

• 58.greegs: Reply to this comment

Hey Xhosakid – How can a team go from 1st division to Super Rugby? It’s unheard of….only an idiot like you would support something like this. Explain exactly how the Lions have been milking SANZAR? Lions are current CC champs..don’t forget that *******!

• 59.Always a Lion: Reply to this comment

An absolute disgrace. SARU is just an arm of the ANC. How can they claim this is a rugby decison? Like telling Pick n Pay to close up shop to give Spar a chance. The kings must earn their place which they certainly have not and dont deserve one once of support.

• 60.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:

that’s it.

always moaning.

never good enough.

#theymusthaveit.

• 61.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-48: Why would promo/relegation happened first?, when you take into account the amount of money SANZAR has pumped into the Lions disaster?, amazed by “rugby people” who know fokkol about how the game works, you are a disgrace to the game.

• 62.cane: Reply to this comment

In J/burg a venerable old Keo Poster and Lions Fan lay dying in hospital. He was 93, and for years he had faithfully supported the Team he loved.

He knew his end was near, and he motioned for his nurse to come closer.

“Yes, RL?” said the nurse.

“I would really like to see Regan Hoskins and Cheeky Watson before I die,” whispered old RL (a.k.a. as Red Lion).

The hospital authorities sent the request to Cheech and Chong and waited for a response.

Soon word arrived: Hoskins and Cheech would be delighted to visit the aged Lion Man.

As they entered the hospital, followed by a media throng and cameras from all the TV networks, Hoskins commented to Watson, “I don’t know why this old prick wants to see us, but going to see him for a few minutes won’t hurt our image, It might even get me re-elected Chairman of the SARU. After all, I’m IN IT TO WIN IT”.

Cheeky agreed that it was a good thing, as he wanted to remain as Treasurer of the Kings, and play with our money like it was Monopoly or growing on a tree.

When they arrived at his room, the Old RL (god bless him) beamed and clasped Regan’s hand in his right hand and Cheech’s hand in his left.

There was silence and a look of serenity spread over the old RL’s wizened visage.

Finally Watson broke the silence.

“Red, of all the people you could have chosen, why did you want us to be with you as you near the end?”

Old RL slowly replied, “I have always tried to pattern my life after our Lord and Saviour ***** ******.”

“Of course”, said Regan.
    “Amen,” said Cheech.

***** died between two lying thieves; I would like to do the same.” said the RL.

(Sorry if you have seen this post before0.

• 63.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-55: Should the Lions be there?, based on what really, besides you misguided gut-feel.

• 64.Atlas: Reply to this comment

I’ll post it again
    “Best for SA teams
    Now we can put 70 to 80 points on the Queens twice
    Bonus points and points for and against will help us for the play offs
    Beat that O’Neil”

• 65.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    on the up side at least they’ll have a shot to get in the door every year.
    or does promotion/relegation apply to the team on top of the cc table?

no, i suppose not. its probably just going to be a pool of 6 super rugby conteion franchises and theyll play amonst themselves to get the 5 spots available.

• 66.clownface: Reply to this comment

lions franchise is going to suffer massive financial loss…no game days, no fans buying lions clothing etc…. sad really.

• 67.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-57: In modern Super Rugby, which team had to qualify to play there or prove themselves in their provincial league, did the Brumbies?, did the Force? or did the Rebels qualify

• 68.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Thats bullshit.
    Feel sorry for the Lions supporters really. I could not imagine if the Hurricanes were thrown out of Super 15 cos of a muck up that NZRU did.
    For the record i enjoyed watching the Lions play. They were so inconsistent that they would go from horrible to playing excellent rugby with in a week.
    I blame Mitchell, he is a good coach but people skills suck big time.

• 69.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-63:
    C’mon
    They are not even in the CC
    Solomons said they are buying players from overseas and local dudes
    How, and how will that benefit EP?

• 70.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

DAMNIT!

Cannot say this came as a surprise given the revolting smear campaign run by KEO and his buttlicking side kicks ( and other sections of the media). The Lions poor performance in this years tournament, horrendous injury list and coaching issues aside, made the political hatchet job easier.

Going forward, a year off, as opposed to the 3 years originally mooted, seems a compromise IF this is the basis of the system going forward (though i have NO doubt Cheeky and Puke will try another avenue if they get relegated next season) BUT which side in the CC gets to play against the lowest ranked S15 side?? CC winner may be there already so is it the hoghest NON S15 CC side? Could be Griquas next!!!!!! Laughable.

A lot will depend on how the contracts of the Lions players are constituted and handled. If they are mostly on long term contracts and are loaned out to other franchises ala the Euro Football model, then the Lions have a good chance of getting back in, in 2014, with their stars still exposed to S15. If NOT and there is a wholesale pillagin of the team as a result, Lions are gone for a looong time and frankly should sue SARU now for good measure…spineless bunch of political arse creepers that they are.

But credit to KEO et al, mission accomplished and Cheeky’s cheque in the mail no doubt. I will console myself supporting ANY other team that plays the QUEENS in the 2013 S15, and probably puts 70-80 points past them for good measure too. A team that cannot even make it to the Currie Cup has no business being “deployed” to top flight rugby, period

• 71.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-69:
    benefit LOCAL EP players

• 72.grant100: Reply to this comment

Atlas … Stomers scoring more than 4 tries in a match? you must be joking boet

• 73.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-68:
    no
    he is not a good coach

• 74.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The Lions had numerous opportunities and they messed it up big time.Good riddance and welcome to the big league, Kings.

• 75.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hang on.
    Whats happens to the Lions players?
    Do they still stay for CC? and can they move to another team in Super 15?

• 76.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@grant100-72:
    Bwahahahahahahaha

• 77.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Good news.

The Lions Union needs to pull finger, maybe this will be the wakeup call they need. And let’s not mention the Currie Cup; the only time the Lions can win the CC is during a WC year (99 and 2011). The Boks were back for 2011, but they had just been booted out of the WC, and their heads were no where.

Do the Kings deserve to be there, maybe not. Do the Lions, maybe not.

The Lions have been rebuilding for 10 years now, something had to give.

The Kings can now lure good players, something they could have never done without Super Rugby status.

@XhosaKid-63:

I’m not sure the Kings should be given 5 years. Maybe 2. But to be honest, I think they’ll put together a good team. They’ll finish last of the SA sides but will beat the Lions in the promotion match anyway, so don’t stress.

• 78.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oregan Hoskins, YOU’RE A LIAR. How many times did I read about you saying words to the effect of: “The Kings WILL NOT take part in Super Rugby at any of the existing franchises’ expense?”

If you had anything even remotely resembling a spine in your body you would resign.

Now.

• 79.Sghibha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-2: yitsho uphinda

• 80.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-73:
    well when he had the ABs, we man handled Boks and Ozzies. His RWC was ruined by poor selections.
    And his people skills as the reason why he was sacked in NZ is the main problem.

• 81.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-58: Which divisions did Western Force, Rebels and Brumbies win to qualify to play Super Rugby. Its not a trick question, your limited mind might just go into overdrive.

Just answer the question, please. An honest answer to this question will show how poor you have applied yourself to this matter.

• 82.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-67:
    Really? Weak Aussie sides? Thats your argument.

The very problem with Aus rugby is that they have so many weak sides in the comp.

Look, as I said, Im stoked the Kings are in. Guaranteed 5 points for the Sharks and the opportunity to rest and rotate players.
    Only problem is, the other big unions will do the same thing.

• 83.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@gunther-60: Not a moan, just can see it a mile away when been suckered.

• 84.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-17: i tip my hat to you good sir, your attitude is of a good South African, we should have 6 teams in SR instead of Aus with those 3 kak teams.

• 85.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

I’m guessing all the names that I don’t recognise immediately on here are nic stealers / multinics.
    Farken keyboard cowards!

• 86.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-81:
    Didnt it all go down hill when SARU promised the Kings they can play…thinking they would get 6 teams in the comp only to be told no way. Isnt this the outcome to SARU being useless?
    I might have it wrong.

• 87.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-82: Well all these weak Aussie sides, as you call them, finished above the Mighty Lions….

• 88.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-69: The presence or absence of the Kings in the CC is a moot point. Simply, give the Kings all the SANZAR money that Lions has been receiving as part of SR participation, then lets have the CC debate in 2016, taking into account the Lions have been bathing in this money for over a decade.

In 2016, lets have the promo/relegation game, lets see how strong the Lions would be then, its the egg and chicken scenario.

• 89.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The important point that is being missed here, is that this affliction has only been dumped on SA Rugby for 1 year. After which it will be business as usual again.

• 90.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Simon,

There was talk that the Kings were guaranteed something like 3 years in Super Rugby, in which case the Lions would play the next lowest ranked SA side in a promotion relegation playoff (I’m assuming the Kings end last in this example).

Is this still the case?

• 91.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

The lions won’t take this lying down, it has been a complete sham the whole affair. For the lions to lose out on all the players that they have invested in is a dam shame.

The Kings did say that they were in talks with players based abroad. Not sure who will leave there lucrative contracts to come play for them for only on year.

Any names spring to mind?

Brent Russel
    Ernst Joubert
    Brits
    Joe Van Niekerk

If I was the lions I would loan the players out to European and Japanese clubs and give them a chance to make some money abroad and bring them back for the play-off’s to beat the kings back into the first division. I would keep some players locally but loan them to the Cheetahs, Sharks, Bulls, Stormers but not to the kings!!!!

• 92.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-89: Mr Woopaasss, I wouldn’t bet on it.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

oh ffs, same sh.t different year….if SARU had applied their mandate in 2005 the lions would’ve NEVER had 7 seasons of mediocrity, punctuatesd by losing ALL the games in 2010.

lions should’ve been goners in 05 already but nefarious broedebond kak saved them & some of the moaners now kept f.ucking quiet.

it is what it is!

• 94.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:

You should be glad. The Kings now have their chance.

For what it’s worth.

• 95.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-89:

Not sure about that Tac.

The S15 is not a SA benefit match.

• 96.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-80: Howzit Hurricane, it’s a pity because he comes across as someone with a really good rugby brain. I can’t understand why he doesn’t change his people skills a bit, if he did he would be a seriously great coach

• 97.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94:

What confuses me is why the EP Kings deserve it more than Border.

They not a regional franchise anymore, so purely on transformation stats – which is supposedly why the Kings deserve this freebie, Border trumps them.

• 98.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Are we going to see a mass exodus from Ellis Park?

• 99.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn-91: Will they engage in violent service delivery protests? :D

• 100.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-97: Don’t try to be difficult now.

• 101.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

a question we should ask is:

can the lions as a super franchise get any weaker? seriously?
    i think not.

the real danger for them is maintaining a compettitive cc squad.
    which i think is possible

• 102.greegs: Reply to this comment

Hey Xhosakid – Stick to soccer dude! Had the Kings won a promo relagation game against the Lions then nobody would be fighting as it is deserved. Had the Bulls come last this year, do you think they would have been relegated? The answer is NO! It is not ethical or the right thing to do by simply removing a team….the promo relegation match was the correct way to go about it! I forget, this is how things are done in SA? Don’t compare things in Aus or NZ…difference is, things work there and are done in a proper way with procedures! Can’t wait to hear the King’s excuses for poor performances! SARU are a bunch of thugs and should be shot!

• 103.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

…and I do feel for the Lions supporters.

• 104.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-86: The reality is that 5 sides is enough for SA, just like it is enough for NZ and the Aussies should be cut to 3 sides…a S13 would be the trick. Or maybe add in an Agentinian side and make it a S14.

• 105.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-96:
    Yeah dude.
    He just at times has some serious issues.

• 106.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-100: Don’t worry about him, half the time he speaks with his mouth in his arrss, and the other half, with Blue tinted glasses

• 107.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-80:
    whats his record after the ab stint?
    and thats mypoint exactly
    and dont say he had shitt useless teams to work with. look at what mckenzie did with the reds.
    he is a kak coach, end of.

• 108.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-104:
    Yep, 5 sides for NZ is enough. We could do six but it could mean the others may
    lose a couple of players, we dont want that.
    If Oz had only 3 sides they would be in contention for the cup everytime.
    They would have 3 very strong teams.

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94: yeah money to be made…

border Bulldogs, EP Kings & SWD Eagles are the SOUTHERN KINGS, but you knew that already but just playing daft…

• 110.viewer: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus – “affliction” is less than accurate. What term do you use to describe the lions’ performance in the past 11 years since laurie mains left?

• 111.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-108:

Super 12. That’s how it should be.

• 112.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-102: You have a nerve telling me to stick to soccer, here I’m giving you rugby lessons for free, this is not your house where blacks know their place, that’s point 1 out of the way.

Point 2. I simply don’t buy that ” I’m a poor white victim nonsense” or “that’s Africa for you nonsense”, in fact the Lions have been the epitome of this “that’s how things are done in South Africa”.

Point 3. You still haven’t answered, what competition did the Rebels, Force and Brumbies win to qualify for SR and finish above the Mighty Lions.

• 113.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-109:

Nope. The Southern Kings are no more. It is now the EP Kings, based only on EP and excluding Border and SWD. Not?

• 114.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@greegs-102: Are you a white supremacist? Do you actually belief rugby belongs only to a white upper class?
    Seriously dude, it’s talk like this that landed our country in the cesspool it is already.
    Catch a wake up!
    Skud jou kop dat jou ore jou kan wakker klap

• 115.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-107:
    How can you compare 2 coaches looking after 2 different teams?
    So you are saying the Lions and the Western Force are good teams?
    And your end of is not end of, sounds like you are a teacher or something.
    I believe he is a good coach that goes off the rails at times which has
    affected his coaching.
    He did win a CC last year. You told me that was the best tournament in the world and fairest a while back.

• 116.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-108: Yup it would make things a lot more competitive, if anything we could probably put up 4 teams but I think we might just have enough for 5.

• 117.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

re nic theft.A vote of thanks to UFO

• 118.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

oh well all getting late here catch yas all later.
    Bakkies be good ok.
    Skeppie always a pleasure.

• 119.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Any level-headed, fair person can not honestly defend the Lions presence in Super Rugby. Over a decade of good SANZAR money, still the Lions can finish a season win-less like they did in 2010, when Lions haven’t been last, they have been second last.

• 120.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-118: Cheers Hurricane

• 121.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-115:
    he won a depleted cc with his full strength squad. the franchises were holding back for super rugby competitiveness, as well a litany of injuries.

were the reds any good over the last decade?

if i was your teacher i would not spare the rod, i would save the child

• 122.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-119: Dude I can understand where you are coming from but you are staring to be as one-eyed as some of the people you are arguing against. While the Kings deserve a place in super rugby equally the Lions don’t deserve to be relegated. Why? Because there hasn’t been a relegation game yet, the Kings are getting their place on a political platter. I don’t say it’s the wrong call but it’s a tough call certainly not as cut and dry as you are making out.

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-118:
    cheers hurri

• 124.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-103:
    hi boots,
    true, i do feel for the supporters
    but the players, management, admin, coaches, board members, directiors and the rest can go and farking die of ebola flu for all i care.

• 125.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-113: again, you are wrong.

it is the southern kings franchise! stephaan pretorius is the CEO.

• 126.viewer: Reply to this comment

The Lions of the past 11 years are the result of how things are done in south african rugby. No “politician” or “sports administrator” was at the lions to misspend money, let go of laurie mains, turn down a capital injection from potential partners, or led them into technical insolvency

• 127.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

@greegs-102: Whats Wrong with you telling someone to stick to soccer just because their black, like you know everything about rugby no matter what skin colour you are, but i can safely say your Retarded by taking a look at your posts

this is a space for articulating a point of view whatever it may be, not verbal diarrhea

Lions made their bed, now they will have to lye in it

• 128.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124:

Ayoba!

• 129.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Fantastic! Finally some new teams. Can’t wait, Kings don’t deserve to be there, neither the Lions. This will make the mundane Cheetahs vs Kings games so exciting because they are playing for relegation. The Stormers got relegated in 1997 and had their best year ever in 1998. Maybe this is a good thing for the Lions to go back to the drawing board.

• 130.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-125:

…all in all they are just another brick in the wall…

• 131.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-122: I don’t believe in this political platter nonsense, Its simply a smoke screen to solicit sympathy for the Lions or create apathy towards the Kings. When the Force, Brumbies and Rebels were created and put into SR right infront of our eyes, no one said anything about politics.

The Lions have had SANZAR funding for over a decade and are still shyytt, why not give another team a chance to this funding and participation and see what happens, you can call the new team ” The Amazings” if you want, clearly Kings/Spears are not welcome.

• 132.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-124: Agree with you. 90% of the Lions issues and hassles came courtesy of their own inability to do anything right :)

From player contracts, to coaching woes, to financial kak (i.e. **** Muir still being paid in excess of 1 mil a year when he wasn’t even at the union….), to sponsorship nonsense, woeful management and about 5000000000 other things. Hell, they couldn’t OR wouldn’t pay the Pumas and Valke (I think) their cut of the Super rugby pie.
    Donald Trump would have fired the whole lot of ‘em ages ago.

The benefit in this move, is that the Lions will be forced to sort their sh y te out.

In about 4-5 years, I can see fans of WP (myself included) nodding our heads and saying that being kicked out of the S15 will finally force the WPRFU to get their house in order….

May this be a warning to all.

• 133.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-122: when sanzar awarded SA the 5th franchise in 2005 & the lions & cheetahs decided to part ways and form different franchises with new partner unions; which one of the played promotion/relegation games to be in super rugby?

SARU DECIDED to put to the process to tender and said whoever didn’t make it on the tender process will be in automatcally in 2006.

now tell me how did the lions survive relegation in 2006, on merit?

• 134.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-112: Hola baba, allow me to answer for him.

The teams you refer to were created as a result of the most attractive bids at their respective times when Aussie were allowed to increase their number of participating teams.

Much the same as what happened in SA when the Free State submitted the most attractive one back in 2005 which resulted in the Spears playing the race card and running off to their friends in Parliament which resulted in the current fiasco.

There is “nothing for mahala,” I’m sure you’re familiar with that phrase?

• 135.Nikita: Reply to this comment

All’s well that ends well.

• 136.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132:

:shock:

• 137.Sremrots: Reply to this comment

Surely the Stormers will get a 4 try bonus against the Kings.

• 138.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Waar val al die mense uit?

• 139.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

I hope the entire kings team die in an explosion i hope this whol fuked up country gets blown up. this worthless piece of **** country is too ***** clueless for words. and when these subhumans get torn to **** the news will give them a big pat on the back, “shucks we can like to say we arz taking big step forwards for humanity un da kings iz a shining light for uz all.” either that or “theyz dud looze coz white man can like to not believe they arz good not coz the team arz *****”.

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Following the news that the EP
    Kings will be participating in Super
    Rugby in 2013 the first of their
    new signings has been announced,
    WP Currie Cup flyhalf Demitri
    Catrakilis has had his move
    confirmed by Anthony Johnson of
    World Artists.
    While Catrakilis is not exactly a

• 141.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-139:

Repeat that in English! :lol:

• 142.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132: and the kings have their house in order? are you thick? the lions wont exist anymore in case you didnt think a bit. its over for them. but hey at least the kings canz has a chance to say they duz be there 2. what a sad pathetic excuse for a country.

• 143.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-140:

Oh dear! A Cape excodus…

• 144.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-139: go take your meds alucard…

• 145.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@BrumbiesBoy-134: read 133, now would you also kindly explain to him, as to why its not necessary to have CC experience to play SR

• 146.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-144: go take YOUR meds mal-*****.

• 147.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-125:

Thanks for clearing that up. I thought the Southern Kings died a quiet death with the creation of the EP Kings, of the same name.

• 148.gunther: Reply to this comment

Dimitri?

That’s a blow for WP.

• 149.phil72: Reply to this comment

Rugby in PE!!!!!

• 150.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-136: Imagine…… (horrifiedfacesmiley)

But, one wonders sometimes what it will take to sort out the deepening management woes at a union such as ours…..

• 151.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@phil72-149: luke watson and big thumpings oh how the crowds are going to flock to see that!

• 152.Amerifikaner: Reply to this comment

Yes the SARU news article clearly states that the Southern Kings with take part NOT the EP Kings. Keo just mentions the Kings (unclear and confused as usual).

• 153.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-150:

Totally agree!

• 154.phil72: Reply to this comment

Will be a brand new team running out for the Kings next season …

• 155.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Who is who in the zoo?

Now I have to get used to these nics all over again…

Not easy for a pensioner… :lol:

• 156.phil72: Reply to this comment

Good wake up call for the kitties, at-least they cant finish last next year…..

• 157.gunther: Reply to this comment

AB de Bieber putting the poms to the sword.

• 158.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ Xhosakid – Those Aussie teams were not put in at the expense of another team. You have completely missed the point. What you saying is…promo relagation does not work and the last placed team should simply be replaced by another team. Why were Griquas, Leopards and Pumas not considered? How did the Kings get in above them? The rules have been broken but to you its OK. It’s also OK to get a hiding every weekend as long as the Kings are playing Super Rugby. That’s the wrong attitude to have…FFS Wake up! If the Kings deserved it by way of promo relagtion game them even I would support them in their campaign. But this is wrong…!!

• 159.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-157:

Score Gunts?

• 160.David: Reply to this comment

Hasn’t anyone here worried about the effect this will have on the Pumas and Leopards? Not only have the Lions screwed them financially in the past, they’ve now left them without a franchise. So, for all those Golden Lions fans, it’s not just your CC province that’s affected.

• 161.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-145: So that is your belief?

Boy, am I glad you’re not involved in the running of my team…

• 162.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-132:
    amen

its pretty clear nothing sincere or serious was ever going to be done by those filthy lions execs.

the union died a long time ago and this super rugby franchise was just a shell maintained for the upkeep of year end bonuses, company sponsored overseas and local travel holidays, gravy train’ing, 14th cheques, free losies with comlimentary booze and cocktails snacks, late ‘company sponsored’ lunches at touchdown restuarant, free tickets to springbok games for family and friends, free tickets to super rugby games for family and friends…

and sweetheart deals and contracts for friends and family to either play rugby or to coach it or to be speel speel technical advisers and video analysts….

if al qaeda targeted ellis park with a boeing full of c4 tomorow the sa rugby world would be the better. fark, then at least we could refer to it as ‘ground zero’…run by a right bunch of zero’s…

• 163.Big Jack: Reply to this comment

Good thing that Kings get a chance. Good for Eastern Cape rugby. It will also give the Lions time to build a team in the CC without thinking about the Super 15.

As for the number of teams in the S15 and Argentina’s involvement in the future. I would allow each franchise to sign 1 or 2 Argentine players for the next two years. After that, Argentina should start competing in the comp.
    I would go:
    NZ – 5 teams
    SA – 4 teams
    Aus – 4 teams
    Arg – 2 teams

• 164.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-142: Calm down to a mild panic Romeo. Accountability is the key word here. Whether in govt, or in Sporting unions, it has been decidedly absent for many years.
    Why reward incompetence just because it has SUPPORT?

Now we can’t do anything about govt. But, the threat of relegation and losing $$$$$$ might just make provincial rugby unions in SA a little more accountable.

I.e: Kak management in the boardroom, eventually leads to kak on the field, which will eventually lead to a union ending last and having to play to save their S15 spot (and the millions this spot guarantees)

IF SA aren’t given a 6th franchise, so that the Lions and Kings can both play S15, the union in danger of ending last might just pull out all the stops to prevent this from happening.

I feel sorry for the Lions fans, and the loyal servants of the union….but sadly, the circus that was Lions rugby went on long enough. Time for a reality check.

• 165.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-159:

99/4 Omar.

@David-160:

I’m busy worrying about the cricket now.

Will worry about the Puma’s later.

maybe the Bulls can adopt them.

Leopards not so much.

• 166.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-165:

Vielen Dank

• 167.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-158: Before, you start concerning yourself about other teams, why not ask, WTF have the Lions been doing with SANZAR moey for the last decade?

• 168.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

@gunther-165:

The ball moving around? We had a poor start. I hope the middle order can put a few on the board.

• 169.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Jeez guys are we going to have the same arguments over again.
    Let’s just hope the Kings that run out next year will not be quite the same as the one currently playing.

• 170.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Let’s think how the voting went.

Votes in favour of the Lions:

Bulls
    Lions
    Sharks
    Cheetahs

Votes in favour of the Kings:

EP
    SWD
    Border
    Boland
    Griquas (else they’d fall out of the 6 team Currie Cup when the Kings get their place as a consolation prize)
    Pumas
    Leopards (the last two because they hate the Lions guts)

Not sure:

WP (Because they are treacherous political farkers)
    Griffons
    Falcons

Did I leave anyone out?

• 171.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

of course don’t for one minute think we’ll get any better from the kings, no sir.

not gonna happen.

but at least now the bulls have two extra byes (with bonus points) in the season.

nice.

• 172.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@gunther-165: When that dodgy umpire gave Smith out at Leeds, I was p1ssed, but it didn’t affect the outcome, but this Petersen decision really p1sses me off.

BTW, this is an opportunity for all the non-centurions on this tour to get their 100′s, it will be such a strong message for the future, squicky-bum time for the next 3 hours

• 173.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby-169: Let us rather concentrate our comments on the real culprits in this saga – SARU.
    While the kings are there, they should have our support as a SA side.

• 174.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

lol dont do that trasformation, WP fans are gana get pissed if Demitri left for the kings

players that are likely to be on their radar are: Brent Russel, Big Joe, Shuan Sowbry, Any decent Griquas player whose contract is expiring, Maku, Mapoe, either Jantjies brother but not both, Akona or odwa cause odwa likely to be replaced by the highly promising Sithole at the sharks and EP could benefit for his wealth of expierence, expect Ashley johnson to sign there once he comes back, he was there before and players love being a the coast. thats part of why the rebels have so many good players already, their coastline is awesome

heres there current squad, not to bad, there is some dead wood, but they also have quality player like Stick, killian and nokwe.

good luck to them

Name Position DOB Nationality Caps Points Debut
    Kevin Buys Prop (1986-04-26) 26 April 1986 (age 26) South Africa 2 (0) 2012
    Charl du Plessis Prop (1987-04-08) 8 April 1987 (age 25) South Africa 4 (0) 2012
    Jaco Engels Prop (1980-12-17) 17 December 1980 (age 31) Namibia 24 (15) 2011
    Schalk Ferreira Prop (1984-02-09) 9 February 1984 (age 28) South Africa 4 (0) 2012
    Lizo Gqoboka Prop (1990-03-24) 24 March 1990 (age 22) South Africa 4 (5) 2012
    Clint Newland Prop (1980-03-26) 26 March 1980 (age 32) New Zealand 25 (15) 2011
    André Schlechter Prop (1986-10-13) 13 October 1986 (age 25) Namibia 23 (0) 2010
    Wayne Swart Prop (1986-03-10) 10 March 1986 (age 26) South Africa 2 (0) 2012
    Bobby Dyer Hooker (1986-12-04) 4 December 1986 (age 25) South Africa 32 (25) 2008
    Hannes Franklin Hooker (1981-10-06) 6 October 1981 (age 30) South Africa 33 (10) 2011
    Frank Herne Hooker (1989-10-31) 31 October 1989 (age 22) South Africa 29 (20) 2011
    Rynier Bernardo Lock (1991-08-27) 27 August 1991 (age 20) South Africa 8 (0) 2012
    David Bulbring Lock (1989-09-22) 22 September 1989 (age 22) South Africa 14 (5) 2012
    Darron Nell Lock (1980-08-03) 3 August 1980 (age 32) South Africa 34 (35) 2010
    Barend Pieterse Lock (1979-01-23) 23 January 1979 (age 33) South Africa 16 (25) 2011
    Johan Snyman Lock (1986-07-09) 9 July 1986 (age 26) South Africa 4 (0) 2012
    Wayne van Heerden Lock (1979-03-29) 29 March 1979 (age 33) South Africa 21 (10) 2011
    Thembelani Bholi Flanker (1990-01-18) 18 January 1990 (age 22) South Africa 0 (0) —-
    Boetie Britz Flanker (1987-07-28) 28 July 1987 (age 25) South Africa 15 (15) 2011
    Cornell du Preez Flanker (1991-03-23) 23 March 1991 (age 21) South Africa 9 (10) 2012
    Thabo Mamojele Flanker (1986-07-29) 29 July 1986 (age 26) South Africa 4 (5) 2012
    Mpho Mbiyozo Flanker (1983-02-07) 7 February 1983 (age 29) South Africa 27 (5) 2010
    Devin Oosthuizen Flanker (1988-05-28) 28 May 1988 (age 24) South Africa 30 (30) 2010
    Wimpie van der Walt Flanker (1989-01-06) 6 January 1989 (age 23) South Africa 7 (5) 2012
    Jacques Engelbrecht No 8 (1985-06-10) 10 June 1985 (age 27) South Africa 22 (25) 2011
    Luke Watson No 8 (1983-10-26) 26 October 1983 (age 28) South Africa 10 (45) 2011
    Boela Abrahams Scrum-half (1988-07-23) 23 July 1988 (age 24) South Africa 12 (0) 2009
    Danie Faasen Scrum-half (1989-11-11) 11 November 1989 (age 22) South Africa 19 (10) 2011
    Scott Mathie Scrum-half (1983-02-01) 1 February 1983 (age 29) South Africa 0 (0) —-
    Falie Oelschig Scrum-half (1979-01-14) 14 January 1979 (age 33) South Africa 19 (39) 2011
    Reynier van Rooyen Scrum-half (1990-04-25) 25 April 1990 (age 22) South Africa 5 (0) 2012
    Wesley Dunlop Fly-half (1987-05-12) 12 May 1987 (age 25) South Africa 7 (31) 2012
    Shane Gates Fly-half (1992-09-27) 27 September 1992 (age 19) South Africa 5 (5) 2011
    Louis Strydom Fly-half (1980-10-21) 21 October 1980 (age 31) South Africa 11 (88) 2011
    Justin van Staden Fly-half (1990-06-03) 3 June 1990 (age 22) South Africa 7 (66) 2012
    George Whitehead Fly-half (1989-03-17) 17 March 1989 (age 23) South Africa 19 (145) 2011
    Siyanda Grey Centre (1989-08-16) 16 August 1989 (age 23) South Africa 15 (45) 2010
    Tiger Mangweni Centre (1980-06-20) 20 June 1980 (age 32) South Africa 31 (15) 2010
    Lonwabo Ntleki Centre (1992-08-07) 7 August 1992 (age 20) South Africa 1 (0) 2012
    Wayne Stevens Centre (1988-05-17) 17 May 1988 (age 24) South Africa 25 (35) 2010
    Matthew Tayler-Smith Centre (1987-04-22) 22 April 1987 (age 25) South Africa 28 (24) 2010
    Scott van Breda Centre (1991-12-12) 12 December 1991 (age 20) South Africa 14 (43) 2012
    Michael Killian Wing (1983-11-22) 22 November 1983 (age 28) South Africa 6 (5) 2012
    Norman Nelson Wing (1983-08-10) 10 August 1983 (age 29) South Africa 39 (125) 2010
    Jongi Nokwe Wing (1983-08-10) 10 August 1983 (age 29) South Africa 4 (10) 2012
    Paul Perez Wing (1986-07-06) 6 July 1986 (age 26) Samoa 10 (35) 2010
    Marcello Sampson Wing (1987-03-27) 27 March 1987 (age 25) South Africa 25 (70) 2011
    Andile Witbooi Wing (1991-11-17) 17 November 1991 (age 20) South Africa 6 (20) 2011
    SP Marais Full-back (1989-03-16) 16 March 1989 (age 23) South Africa 26 (88) 2011
    Mzwandile Stick Full-back (1984-10-05) 5 October 1984 (age 27) South Africa 14 (14) 2010

Denotes team captain, Denotes that a player is unavailable indefinitely due to injury

• 175.David: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-172:
    Pietersen? What about the diabolical TV umpire giving Kallis out and reversing the onfield umpire? :evil:

• 176.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am gonna enjoy this brawl

• 177.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@David-175: Missed Kallis’s dismissal, ooh!!! shyytt!!, you should have told me, now my day is seriously spoilt

• 178.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-172:

Agreed.

there were actually 2 dodgy ones at Headingley.

If you think Petersen was bad you will hondkak yourself when you see the wicket of ukallees.

• 179.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

The wicket is becoming easier to bat on.

Hopefully JP won’t dissapoint.

• 180.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Gumboots-168:

moving around in the first session.

not sure batting first was the right call there.

• 181.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ Xhosakid – somebody has to come last on the log. Has nothing to do with what has happened to the money? Nobody is asking that! They are also last years CC champs but I guess that also counts for nothing. What you are so carefully avoiding is the question I have been asking……why the Kings? What have they done to get Super Rugby status? Aaaaaah the silence!!! Most people around 95% agree with me….and you still think your 5% holds water! No boet…Kaizer Chiefs for you! Oh and by the way….I’m from the Eastern Cape!!!

• 182.gunther: Reply to this comment

fuckstciks

there goes santas favourite.

• 183.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

Whether they win or lose, it’s certainly going to be refreshing seeing a new SA side after years of:
    Bulls boring us to death
    Stormers choking
    Cheetas faffing about
    Lions embarrasing us
    Sharks promising but not delivering

• 184.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@greegs-181:

Cos they black?

• 185.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-180:
    Was the right call. Headlingly’s 1st innings, 1st session was much harder and they survived.

They had to get the early moment, which thus far has unfortunately backfired.

• 186.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

moment = momentum

• 187.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ Dawn – me thinks so too!

• 188.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-185:

I disagree.

We were put in at Headingley so no comparison.

To bat first on a cloudy day with a greenish wicket at Lords.

Have you seen the english bolwers averages there?

We don’t need to win the game, they do.

And now we have given them the opportunity to do so.

• 189.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@greegs-181:
    Why the Kings?
    1) Because they represent a part of the country rich in rugby tradition that has not been adequately represented.
    2) Because they can’t do worse than the Lions. In fact they might even give some of the Aussie sides a scare.

• 190.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

In all honesty there are far too many teams and too much rugby being played. They neeed to split it like the Currie Cup or we will see more and more players opting to play in Japan rather than the Currie Cup.

• 191.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

I heard from a little bird that the Lions had made agreements between themselves and the existing franchises to loan them their player for next season, this way they do not lose them. The Kings will have to find their own players as they not coming from the Lions. The Pumas, Leopards and Valke are going to be struggling even more as the Lions will not have the money to allow them into the club system which was run by the Lions.

I am going to ask all Lions supporters to boycott the FNB test match, lets see if SARU feels the pinch.

• 192.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-188:
    Our batsmen have dominated this series so the current collapse definitely wasn’t expected.
    Also Lords offers spin on day 4 and 5 so they wanted Swann out of the equation.

• 193.AssassinWP: Reply to this comment

Welcome Kings are they playing their home games at the old Boet Erasmus stadium
    Good old days
    Bye pussycat dolls

• 194.greegs: Reply to this comment

@TOOMUCHRUGBY – What a crock of ****? Do you believe that nonsense? If the Kings deserve to be there then yes I would agree with you. They lost 88-0 to a Lions B side. So for you it’s about representation? It’s not about having a side that can compete? You and the Xhosa kid must have season tickets for Bush Bucks in Umtata. What has happened is not a good example of correct practices followed and will cause more damage to SA rugby in the future!

• 195.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

So, the Stormers side??

15.) Jaco Taute
    14.) Gio Aplon
    13.) Jean de Villiers
    12.) Juan de Jongh
    11.) Bryan Habana
    10.) Elton Jantjies
    9.) Dewald Duvenage
    8.) Duane Vermeulen
    7.) Schalk Burger
    6.) Siya Kolisi
    5.) Andries Bekker
    4.) Eben Etsebeth
    3.) Pat Cilliers
    2.) Tiaan Liebenberg
    1.) Steven Kitchoff

16.) Deon Fourie
    17.) Brok Harries
    18.) Rynhardt Elstad
    20.) Josh Strauss
    21.) Louis Schroeder
    22.) Peter Grant

• 196.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-192:

why?

no boet, we dominated Swan at the oval.

look at the stats for england bowling first at Lords. they love it.

it was madness.

you don’t often win a game by batting first but you can certainly lose it.

• 197.katman: Reply to this comment

Fck SARU, fck the Kings, fck Cheeky Watson and fck the Eastern Cape (minus the three nice people I know there).

May the Kings get snotted, may SARU get sued, may Cheeky suffer from a crippling ulcer and may the Eastern Cape remain under ANCYL rule for the next 100 years.

• 198.gunther: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent-195:

do the stormers automatically get all the Lions players?

is that how it works?

• 199.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-196:
    You thinking like a bowler….. :lol:

The plan was to bat for 3 days at a gentle pace and bat them out the game, which has backfired.

All is not lost JP is at the crease.

• 200.David: Reply to this comment

@umkhonto-191:
    This loan business is a bit questionable as the Lions can’t honour their S15 contracts, for the simple reason that the GLRU and the Lions Franchise are different legal entities. Theoretically, any franchise can contract non franchise players and SARU can also move players to a Franchise.

• 201.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@greegs-194:
    I agree bad practices were followed by SARU. Thats why i said we should blame the administrators and not the teams.
    Furthermore, did WP have to qualify in order for the Stormers to play Super Rugby?
    Why then expect the EP Kings to be representative of the SOUTHERN Kings in Super Rugby?
    But actually I agree with SpringbokSarah that there are way too many teams playing and the competition should be drastically altered, but while we have to cope with the current system, the Kings have just as much right to be there as the Lions.

• 202.Thatnumber2: Reply to this comment

I am totally gutted by this decission, SARU have no backbone. How can a team be promote dinto Supaer Rugby when they can’t even play in the CC. The Lions or Transvall back in the day were one of the teams that established Super Rugby and in fact were the first team and South African team to win it.

• 203.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

lol what have the kings done, they dont have to have done anything
    @greegs
    what did the force ever do for Aus rugby

What did the rebels ever do for Aus rugby

if you look at the lay out of all Super rugby teams they are all spread across all three respective countries not by chance but for a purpose

except we have three teams clustered close together

when the Cats slit up to the lions and cheetahs i thought it created an imbalance

now just about all area’s of our country have a super rugby franchise close by

times are changing and for the better at that. you and steve hofmayer need to catch a wake up ”Bru”

the Kings are a breath of fresh air, it makes economical, social, spatial ( and yes greeg i know your gana say political, but its not like we relegated the bulls to make way for the kings

oh and you said someone has to end last, but every flippin season dude, pathetic

I wish the kings the best of luck going forward

• 204.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-199:

awesome.

I’m thinking like someone who is 1 nil up in the series.

nobody bats first for three days against this attack at Lords.

Lets hope there is still a little something left in the wicket for us.

• 205.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@greegs-181: because the three unions that make up the kings are the ONLY ones in SA Rugby not even remotely involved or benefitting from super rugby & this has been so since 2005.

is that good enough a reason for you?

• 206.Thatnumber2: Reply to this comment

@katman-197: Well said KATMAN, could not agree more..

• 207.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-205:

ja boet.

should have stayed with the sharks and not taken the loot.

look how many finals you would have made.

• 208.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@gunther-204:
    They don’t have KP and have that “jockey looking” fellow coming in at 5 so we still in the mix.

Lets see if Gary has really instilled “never say die” in the guys.

• 209.Dylan: Reply to this comment

@TooMuchRugby

Please explain how the Kings have just as much right as the Lions to be there? are they not in 1st div cc? are the Lions not CC champions? Did the Kings have to play to get into SR? You have no common sense in this regard. Its like taking Venezuela and putting them in the Cricket World Cup just because there is no South American rep in CWC and then taking Bangladesh out even though Bangladesh has a better/deserved rating!

• 210.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ Transformation – I don’t need to say anything further. You’ve said it all! Basically, it’s OK to steal if you hungry? You miss the stealing bit and focus on the hunger only. It’s about right and wrong!

• 211.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Ag they will only play for one year man. After next year there will be a promotion/relegation series and the Lions will pump the Kings 3 – 0.

It’s a pacifier until then. Before we end up with Lonmin here…..

Oh well Bulls, Sharks, Stormers, Cheetahs…..now its South Africa that has the easiest conference. So – no excuses – we will all be getting an additional 10 free log points next year. Use it – lets have a SA team win it next year.

• 212.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@katman-197: you forgot a few…fck manie reyneke: fck kevin de klerk, fck winning ways, fck loffie eloff, fck frans ludekak, fck hans coetzee :-) :lol:

• 213.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@greegs-210: Its about the African mentality of entitlement. That’s what it is – full stop.

Never mind that the Kings are made up of riff raff from different provinces including very few players from the Eastern Cape region, or of color for that matter.

So – its probably about some corrupt official somewhere getting another Mercedes S63 – that’s more than likely what it is about.

It will be entertaining – that much is for sure. The Kings will get thrashed badly. Will be a bit like watching a gladiator fighting against 5 hungry Lions. It will have a bit of a ‘sadistic’ component of enjoyment.

• 214.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@greegs-210: all are equal in front of the presidents council’s eyes :-)

the “rich” don’t get special licence to be KAK indefinitely!

• 215.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-211:

Lonmin where?

In Norway?

I doubt it.

• 216.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-213:

Natuurlik

We must have it

Pay the Lonmin rockdrillers

Pay them!!!

• 217.Dylan: Reply to this comment

@numba4lock i dont want to attack you personally so i will keep from typing crude remarks, except that you must be the dumbest smart person that is writing comments here. The Rebels and Force did not habve to do anything as Aus deserved more teams than they had and it made more competition sense to have 3 x 5 teams and not 2 x 5 and 1 x 4 or 1 x 5, 1 x 4 and 1 x 3 teams, and that is why Aus was given extra teams. The Kings inclusion was 100% political and you and everyone else including Oregan know that. If all was fair then we would have Griquas vs Lions rel;egation/promotion match and not Kings in Lions out without thought. If it was all about actual space between unions like you say 3 of our teams are on top of each other, why not then take out the Blue Bulls and make a new SR team from WitBank/Nelspruit, or even as far as Limpopo, we could then call the The Polokwane Panelbeaters or the Thabazimbi Bushrangers. your comments make no sense!

• 218.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh and by the way

Comrade Vavi says it’s OK

I have him on BBM

• 219.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

JP vs Swann.

Can he do the impossible.

• 220.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-208:

hmmm.

I’m not happy.

• 221.Horings: Reply to this comment

I think SARU should use the Currie Cup as a promotion relegation competition. Firstly, the Kings should be part of the CC. The team that finishes last in the Super 15 should end above the team that did not participate in the Super rugby comp to retain their Super rugby position. This will add to the Currie Cup as a competition.

Therefore, if the Kings end up last, they should end up above the Lions in the 2013 Currie Cup to play in the 2014 Super 15. The only problem is what should they do with Griquas.

• 222.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Outta here. Looks like nic stealing is a thing of the past.

Bad luck Lions and all the best Kings, you going to need it.

• 223.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dylan-209: To be fair, it can be argued that the Lions only have decent players because of Super rugby participation. Now the Kings can get quality players and they will end up better than the Griquas or even the Lions.

• 224.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-221: Lets go back to the union system, and the top 5 Currie Cup teams qualify to play Super Rugby. The adversities faced by Griquas are no different to those in the Eastern Cape, yet they have put some heart into it and actually been competitive in the Currie Cup.

The Eastern Cape reminds me of the oke standing begging at the traffic light with his hand out because he is too f$%^king lazy or too clueless to find work.

• 225.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-215: Have another dop Dawn…

• 226.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-214: And that equality is evaluated based on what kind of black German luxury vehicle can be purchased by enforcing said ‘equality’

• 227.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dylan-209: Another problem with your example is Venezuela cannot buy players from Bangladesh. The Kings can get better players. It is not as if all the Lions players originate from Johannesburg.

• 228.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-224: Problem with that is the Bulls, Sharks and Stormers will resist in helping the national cause, because they do not have their best players to participate in the CC. In this way the last team (they will not have 10 Springboks) will have a fair chance to retain their place.

• 229.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Dylan-217: The Limpopo Crocodiles are in next. The Cheetahs better watch their backs. In 20 years time we could have all ‘previously disadvantaged’ teams and the South African teams will take up the 5 slots at the bottom of the log.

• 230.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dylan-217: you’re barking up the wrong tree dylan. if SARU wanted to restructure their franchises they are at liberty to do it, but do you think they’re in the business of doing the sensible thing like CSA did with the cricket franchises? no.

self-interest & broedebond protectionism still rules, so cry me a river, build a bridge & get over it.

• 231.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

UFO Thanks

• 232.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

Meh…
    Good luck Kings, it’s going be tough on and off field.
    Bad luck my Lions…. Now it’s damage control.

• 233.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-224: Also to be fair, and I am not for or against the Kings inclusion, they did however pick themselves up from being last or just above Border in the Currie Cup 2nd division. They also have a Varsity Cup team that did quite well and they have all these clubs. They therefore have a good system to work from. Their Varsity Cup team also did not have the luxury to get a Shark (Cronje) to play for them.

• 234.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-228: I dont understand, but I cant believe the Bulls, Sharks, Stormers or Cheetahs are in support of this decision whatsoever – even though it says so in all the articles.

• 235.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The Lions v Kings catfight still ongoing?Give it a break Lions fans and sympathisers .No team has absolute monopoly on mediocrity.Give the Kings a break.

• 236.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-234: You said “Lets go back to the union system, and the top 5 Currie Cup teams qualify to play Super Rugby”. If the top 5 in the CC are Lions, Cheetahs, Kings, WP and Bulls becand the Sharks end 6th, because they have 15 Springboks then they will be pissed off and they will not give Heyneke or any future Springbok coach any support as the Currie Cup will be a survival tournament.

• 237.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-233: Dude – I dont understand what you are trying to say.

Are you being sarcastic ? An improvement from last in the Currie Cup second division buys you a spot in Super rugby ? Having a good varsity cup team buys you a place in Super rugby ?

What about WINNING the Currie Cup ? And all Varsity Cup sides had provincial level players playing for them. Go look at the team sheets again.

• 238.Horings: Reply to this comment

becand = and

• 239.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-236: The Kings got hammered 73 – 12 by the Sharks U21 team just a year or two ago. They wouldn’t end up above the Sharks even if the Sharks had 30 Springboks out. Forget that idea.

• 240.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Hop Hop Spinnekop-232: Lions will win the Currie Cup again this year. And then there will be a lot said.

• 241.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-237: They may argue they do not have the players because they do not play Super rugby. How can you convince a young guy to play for a team where you are 500km from the nearest super rugby team?

Although they have these obvious problems, they did pick themselves up, they did develop their Varsity team and they do have a good supporters base. This gives Saru enough reason to say “You may become successful in the long run if you get the added privilege of super rugby participation.”

• 242.Hop Hop Spinnekop: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-240: hopefully it will motivate the players to win it again. It would be a nice “*** you” to SARU and will keep us fans happy till 2014.

• 243.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-239: Can you please find me the Kings lineup for that game? The Kings also played with a Border team this year against the Lions and got hammered, which maybe was not a good PR move from them.

• 244.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-239: u’re talking out of your naught…73 – 12 where was this game? :-)

• 245.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-241: Ok – so now we have come full circle on this argument. Fact is whether its due to this or that, or the fact that their dad had only one ball or their mom only one t!t – fact is their inclusion is not based on merit. I hope we are on the same page with that.

I dont think EP will get anywhere. Its a purely politically enforced decision and by delineation therefore involves money and corruption at some point. That’s the only reason they are in.

Wait until the Kiwi and Aussie teams realise what it means for them. They just sat and nodded their heads when SARU spoke about this – but they are going to realise just what a big mistake they have made. Wait until next years Super 15. This will be the biggest embarrassment to South African rugby ever.

• 246.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-241: you’re a blogger that likes to make sense but unfortunately for you, you are dealing with with dusky…. goodluck

• 247.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-245: I do not think you participated or added any value to the argument so you cannot say the argument has come to a full circle.

The Lions also got nowhere in 10 years so it will not be a trainsmash if the Kings go nowhere in 1 year. And I think they have a good chance of beating the Lions in the promotion relegation playoff. The Lions will say “it is unfair as we lost all our players” and the Kings should then say “My point exactly!”

• 248.David: Reply to this comment

For all those wishing to use the CC as the basis for S15.
    1. Other than the Sharks, Franchises are a group of CC provinces.
    2. Even the smaller provinces in a franchise are more likely to attract players. In fact Griquas contribute a significant number of players to the Cheetahs franchise.
    3. If the Griquas and Cheetahs end up high on the CC log, as they often do, do you break up the Cheetahs Franchise and give one Griquas and FS Cheetahs for the next season?

The only solution is for SARU to recreate independent franchises that include all the CC provinces and not allow provinces to decide who to partner with.
    As it is, if the Lions best players remained with the province and not play S15 rugby, SARU would be contravening the SANZAR agreement with NewsCorp to play the best 150 players in SA.

• 249.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-244: In your mielie pap.

• 250.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-247: Where does that come from ? Were we not speaking like two adults with one another ? Why do you have to become prissy like a little schoolyard girly ?

The argument HAS come full circle. Earlier you were trying to provide some argument on merit reasons to include the Kings, and in your last post you were back to the non-merit reasons to include the Kings. So we have come full circle – I dont have to contribute for that dumbf$%k – you did it all yourself.

They will not beat the Lions in the promotion/relegation playoff, because the Lions will not lose all their players in a year dingbat. Eish….marra….kan tjy verstaan ?

• 251.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-245: the bulls in 2002 were the BIGGEST embarrasment to SA Rugby & the lions in 2010…did you bi.tch & moan about it?

• 252.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@David-248: ‘SARU would be contravening the SANZAR agreement with NewsCorp to play the best 150 players in SA’

So SARU are not already doing this by including the Kings in place of the Currie Cup champions ?

The ONLY fair way of doing this is promotion/relegation playoffs. At best, the Kings should be given a Currie Cup place. The poor useless f#$ks can’t get one themselves.

• 253.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

transie i think dusky is a sharks supporter

• 254.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Horings-241:

> How can you convince a young guy to play for a team where you are 500km from the nearest super rugby team?

Weak argument

If he doesn’t want to leave his hometown he shouldn’t consider playing professional sports

Half the Bulls are from the Cape, a bit more than 500km from home, and there are several Free State boys playing for the Sharks as well

These days you support the team you like even if it’s from a different city or even country like the CapeSaders

• 255.Horings: Reply to this comment

@David-248: Daai Kite gaan nie vlieg nie. Jy se nie vir die WP of die Blou Bulle julle is saam met hulle nie.

I say make the Currie Cup a 7 team tournament with the playoffs on the weekends of the northern hemisphere Bok tour (to prevent the provinces to overplay the Boks), but only 6 teams in SA have the possibility to play Super rugby (Kings, Lions and the other big four). Then you use the Currie Cup as a promotion relegation tournament as I mentioned before.

A good loan system can overcome your last point.

• 256.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-251: I did actually. But the Kings will exceed that level, and set a new level of embarrassment for South African rugby. That is for sure.

Even the useless Bulls that got a big zero log points the one year, would be better than the Kings. I suppose the Kings cant get less than 0 log points, but they can have 500 – 750 odd points racked up against them. That would be embarrassing, but for me very pleasurable to watch.

First South African team that I will not support when playing against foreign opposition. I will officially support ANYONE who plays against the Kings – local or foreign.

• 257.Horings: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-254: Exactly. Because players move in the professional system you need to have convincing power to atract players. The Kings do not have any.

• 258.willievz: Reply to this comment

There are two elephants in the room here:

1. We don’t have 150 Super Rugby players of quality. Closer to 110, I’d say.

2. Of those 110, there are several players u/20 stars who do not get playing time at their franchises. No offense to him, but it is laughable that Deon van Rensburg plays Super Rugby, but Jan Serfontein doesn’t make the Bulls’ CC team.

At current, we will always have at least one team that will struggle in the competition.

• 259.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-257: Now they do!

• 260.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-255: Kings couldn’t even beat the Pumas in a promotion/relegation series man….what chance do you think they have of ending in the top 6 ? They will SUKKEL to beat the Pumas or Leopards and that will not get them enough points to end 6th.

You are delusional. Go have a nap.

• 261.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-250: You are too emotional!

• 262.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-261: No – I just think you have the debating skills of a warthog. I can give as good as I get though – so keep it coming.

• 263.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-260: Pumas are 50 km from Loftus. Leopards 100km from Lions. If the Kings are given a fair chance they will attract good players. The only manner they had was to convince a guy on the promise from SARU. Only desperate guys took on that offer. Now they have some buying power.

• 264.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Oh well, when all is said and done it will be hugely entertaining. I am actually excited to see the Kings take the field in Christchurch or Hamilton…..will be an absolute laugh a minute. We will see some 100 pointers for sure.

Lets see what Newscorp has to say then.

• 265.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-263: We’ll see.

• 266.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i know he is a sharks fan….gives all of you a bad name :-)

• 267.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

i cannot see a good player signing for just a year knowing the side is going to be relegated after the year.

• 268.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

dusky is fine transie,let him be.

• 269.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-262: You do not raise any points. You put up these 73-12 scorelines of some game a year or two or ten ago against some U21 team to argue your point. Not even going through the trouble to even look up who played.

I am not emotionally involved. I do not support the Kings and the Lions are my 2nd team. I am just trying to let all these idiots on this site see the possible logical reasons for this decision.

• 270.numba4lock: Reply to this comment

this constitutes not just change but change for the better. Hows that for making sense @Dylan

• 271.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Horings-269: Actually my tenth team after the Boks, Bulls, Blou Bulle, Blou Bulle U21, Blou Bulle U19, Blou Bulle Amateurs, Tukkies, Affies, Blou Bulle Vroue.

• 272.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-269: Ok – forget 73-12.

Lets look at this years Vodacom Cup. I dont know who the current players are for the Kings, nor do I harbor any interest of that at all.

How did the EP Kings do in that one against the Bulls, Sharks or WPs VODACOM CUP sides ?

There are no logical sport related reasons for this decision. If the EP Kings were a car, they would be slower than the Lions. Would you race them ? No….I have heard the bleeding heart ‘previously disadvantaged’ bullshit at nauseam – give me a sporting reason why the Kings should be included.

• 273.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-266: Talk about bad names…its folks of your kin that give the whole of South Africa a bad name. In international business, people secretly laugh behind your backs at how f$cken dumb you are with your twisted, entitled ideals.

Because of people like you.

• 274.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-271: Shame jirretog….

• 275.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-274: Ten minste is daardie wenners. Tussen al daardie spanne het hulle meer gewen as wie ookal jy skree.

• 276.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-275: Maar is net kak op die oomblik. Die oomblik is al waaroor ek bekommer. Ek worrie fokkoll oor trofees wat 100 jaar of selfs 5 jaar terug gewin was.

En die Bulle suig behoorlik op die oomblik. Ultra uber kak. Hulle moet oppas – of hulle is die volgende uit.

• 277.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

eusky dink net die bulle kom laaste volgende jaar en die leeus klop hulle in die promotion relegation,of die stormers
    bwhahahaha

• 278.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-276: 6de in die Super 15. Jy skree nie vir die Chiefs nie, want hulle is die enigste span wat goed kan voel oor hulleself. Onthou jy wie het in 1997 2de gekom? Ek ook nie, maar ek weet die Blues was daardie tyd bo. Ek onthou ook wie in 2007, 2009 en 2010 bo geeindig het.

• 279.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-278: Nee – ek voel goed oor ‘n finaal. Dit so lekker gewees het om die trofee te wen maar ek wat ‘n plek in die finaal oor ‘n semi-finaal pakslae enige dag.

Ek se mos vir jou dom troep….ek gee nie ‘n fok om wat voor hierdie jaar gebeur het nie. Bulle was hond kak hierdie jaar – feite !

• 280.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-278: Die Blou Bul het van die vloer af ge-eet…veral toe die Sharks hulle behoorlik in Durban bliksem.

• 281.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

“dom troep”
    bwhahaha
    hoe baie het ons dit nie gehoor nie?

• 282.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-279: Ja ek sal ook maar goed voel om net te kan deelneem as ek vir die Sharks geskree het, anders was ek maar n depressiewe ou. Dit is maar seker die verskil tussen ons wenners en julle.

• 283.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-282: Nee – die verskil is julle was hond kak hierdie jaar en ons het in die finaal geval. Dit is nie moelik om te verstaan nie. En moenie depresief raak nie – want die Bulle het nog baie kak jare voor.

• 284.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-282: Eintlik is jy reg – daar is nie veel vir die Sharks om oor gelukkig te wees nie, behalwe die feit dat ons die Bulle 32 – 10 opegefok het. O – en die Stormers in die semi-finaal op Nuweland.

Ek sal daai twee dinge vat.

• 285.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

dusky ek dink horings se bottel brannas is al half,help nie jy redeneer met die ding nie.
    dom soos grond.

• 286.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-283: Is dit ook nou een van jou “feite”. Die Bulle mag miskien maer jare he wat voorle, maar waarop baseer jy dit. Ons het die kampioen O21 Bokspan se kaptein, en 2 beste spelers. Ons het verlede jaar se O21 span se kaptein en ons O21s het julle opgeneuk in verlede jaar se toernooi. So waarop baseer jy jou “feit”.

• 287.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-285: Lig assebielf een van my redenasies uit toe ons nog geredeneer het en nie geskel het nie, en dan wys jy vir my die swak punte uit.

• 288.gunther: Reply to this comment

Big Vern giving the poms fits.

• 289.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-284: Klein vissies meisiekie. Klein vissies!

• 290.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-286: Wel, julle het nie ‘n speler wat so goed soos Bakkies gaan wees nie. Julle het ook nie een wat so goed soos Victor gaan wees nie – ook nie Fourie Du Preez nie, en ook nie Gary Botha of Danie Rossouw nie.

So ek gee nie om of julle Superman het wat besig is om klaar te maak met tiet suig nie – julle gaan sappige honde tril suig vir nog so paar jare. Die spelers wat vir julle deurkom is nie te sleg nie – dit is omtrent waar dit eindig. As jy die hulle ding bymekaar gooi – dan is die Bulle kak op die oomblik. Nie lekker nie – maar waar. 4 goeie spelers in julle span. Basson, Hougaard, Steyn, Spies. Dis al.

• 291.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-289: Ja – dan het julle fokkol vissies gekry.

• 292.Horings: Reply to this comment

@gunther-288: Duminy and the tail to replicate Melbourne heroics? Now that will have the Poms talking. Can you imagine the headlines?

• 293.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Horings-257:

Jou argument maak nie sin nie

Eers sê jy hulle moet ‘n Super span in die streek hê omdat hulle so baie spelers* en klubs het wat geen toegang tot Super rugby het nie

Nou sê jy hulle moet ‘n span hê om spelers na PE toe te laat kom?

Watter een van die twee is dit nou?

*- Ek sal graag die getalle van die sogenaamde baie spelers geoudit wil sien, dit klink weer na struggle accounting syfers vir my

• 294.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-291: Maar ons het al groot visse gekry. En hulle was mooi, meisiekie. Baie baie mooi. Veral daardie ene wat ons in Durban ingekatrol het. Oe, hy was die mooiste. Was jy ook trots op daardie vissie wat julle daardie dag gekry het?

• 295.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

sense of entitlement van die blou bul supporters is ongelooflik

• 296.Horings: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-293: Quality vs Quantity. They lost all their quality throughout the years and they had some. How will you keep that quality throughout the years without super rugby participation?

• 297.Tuna: Reply to this comment

This Hoskins is daft…
    “Relegation is a globally accepted outcome of under performance in world sport”

So how did the Kings get the number 1 spot? Surely Griquas was next in line or the current 2nd Div Champs?
    No wonder this d00s get his arse handed to him in the SANZAR meetings.

• 298.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-294: ‘Het al’ – wat het ek vir jou gese van ‘het al’ ? Het jy klaar vergeet ? Is jy so dom soos ‘n bees ? Julle sal altyd 2007 he, maar op die oomblik het die Sharks laaste in 2011 en 2012 gelag as dit kom by die Bulle. En ons gaan julle weer hard opfok in die Currie Cup – daarvan kan julle seker wees. Wat se die rekord op die oomblik ? Sharks het 13 van hulle laaste 16 Currie Cup games teen die Bulle gewen ? Ons gaan julle weer ons ‘b!tches’ maak.

• 299.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-295: Ek weet ons is ongelooflik. Besef jy dit nou eers?

• 300.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19-295: :-D . No…..with them its ‘delusions of grandeur’ – I actually know a lot of people in Pretoria that suffer from that. Must be something in the water or in that kak blue paint they paint all over themselves.

• 301.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-298: Meisiekie, het al is beter as het nog nooit nie.

• 302.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-299: Ongelooflik kak ja.

• 303.katman: Reply to this comment

@David-248: Nice try, David. The one team you conveniently cite as your example of smaller unions who get to participate in Super Rugby also happens to be the ONLY one. Who else, other than the Griquas, sees any action? Griffons? Valke? Leopards? Eagles? Boland? SWD, before they were dumped by the Stormers? No? Thought not.

• 304.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-301: Hou styf vas aan dit – want dit gaan omtrent al wees wat die Bulle sal he

• 305.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-290:

Ons het Juandre en ‘n paar ander goeie spelers ook, dis ‘n jong span en hulle het die jaar goed begin toe HM nog in beheer was

Toe gaan hy na die Bokke toe en FL neem oor

En FL suig donkie

• 306.Horings: Reply to this comment

@katman-303: Jy stem seker nie saam met my punte nie, maar sien jy darem dat daar ‘n argument kan wees vir die Kings om ingesluit te word.

• 307.Horings: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-305: Stem saam met jou oor FL. Wat dink jy van Pine Pienaar?

• 308.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-305: Ja – ek trek maar meestal Horings se been. Die Bulle het goed gedoen hierdie jaar. Na al die spelers wat hulle verloor het – het niemand vir hulle ‘n kans gegee nie en hulle het die top 6 behaal. Ek is net nie so mal oor die spelers wat julle ouens dink die plek van Bakkies, Victor, Fourie en co. gaan vat nie. Ek dink hulle is maar almal ‘average’. Ek is bevrees die Stormers het die nuwe Bok ‘bloed broers’

• 309.katman: Reply to this comment

@Horings-306: Is jy gerook?

En daar kak Duminy.

• 310.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Jissus JP. What a stupid shot. First over with the new ball. And Graeme smith’s expression said it all.

• 311.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Horings-307: Het Pine al sy Audi R8 gekry ? Gee vir hom een laat hy kan fokoff.

• 312.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Well batted JP.

Fark.

• 313.gunther: Reply to this comment

Forking hell.

Not clever.

• 314.Dawn: Reply to this comment

What’s all this Afrikaans

So “people like” Trans can’t understand

Anyhow. Vok voort vir volk en vadeland.

• 315.charo: Reply to this comment

wonder if the sharks will get their cash back?

• 316.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Skiet polisie…skiet !

• 317.Fern is not a stud,he is merely no19: Reply to this comment

dronkgat is nou ook hier

• 318.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja skiet hulle

• 319.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-314:

> So “people like” Trans can’t understand

Moenie worry nie Dawn, with Transie’s MPD on this site there’s bound to be a nic or personality that’s proficient in Afrikaans

Who knows, miskien is hy ‘n tannie van Brackenfell of Brakpan as die mood hom vang?

• 320.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ja. If you say so chunder. If you say so.

• 321.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@charo-315: Why – did you sell them a fake Rolex or a brass ornament that hasn’t been brasso’d enough ?

• 322.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-319: LOL :-D

• 323.umkhonto: Reply to this comment

I see now Cheeky is complaining and looking for entrenchment in Super Rugby for 4 years, SARU is hoping the lions will disappear, MTN and SARU will have a good meeting and seen how **** SARU is at negotiation,I am sure to see SARU coming out of that meeting with their pants down.

SARU must go to hell and burn.

• 324.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Them’s Dusky’s words.

“People like you with your entitlement”

• 325.Horings: Reply to this comment

Die Bulle se span vir volgende jaar gaan hopelik so lyk: Taute, Basson, Serfontein, Venter, Engelbrecht, Jantjies, Hougaard, Botha, Strauss, Potgieter, Kruger, Willemse, Cilliers, Ralepele, Greyling.@Dusky-308: BTW, ek het nou lekker stront gepraat maar ek stem saam met jou oor ons spelers wat die ou garde moet vervang. Kirchner, Steyn, Spies en Flip moet die pad vat.

• 326.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Horings-307:

Pine is ok, ek dink net nie hy’s ‘n S15 afrigter nie, miskien na ‘n paar jaar van CC

• 327.Horings: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-326: Stem saam. Maar hy volg sy eie kop en ek hou daarvan. Hy bring van sy Grey flair saam.

• 328.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Horings-325:

Ek kan nie vir jou sê hoe bly ek is dat Spies beseer is nie, nou kan iemand wat actually speel ‘n kans kry, tot Cheeky se Devil’s Spawn sal beter wees

Jammer dat Stander weggaan, met hom, die twee Potgieters en Arno sal ons goeie loosies hê

Ons kry ook nou nuwe stutte want Greyling en Kruger kan nie skrum nie.

Dean werk darem in die los, baie harder as Barbie se gespierde useless Ken op agsteman

• 329.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-328: It is so sad that Pierre Spies hasn’t lived up to the talent he showed at schoolboy level. An absolute true athlete. I watched him play as a school boy and he stood head and shoulders as one of the brightest young prospects in South African rugby.

There must be someone that could work a bit more with Pierre to improve those aspects of his game which are questionable.

I cant help but wonder why the shift to loose forward. When I watched him play for Affies he was a right wing, and a flippin awesome one. He was also probably the quickest wing – certainly in Pretoria schools. Can you imagine if Pierre had been brought through the system as a wing – with his physique ?

I dont know whether its mismanagement, or what demons Pierre has running around in his head – but its really a shame that he has turned out to be little more than an average to slightly above average (at best) loose forward.

• 330.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-328: And one cant help but wonder – for his sake, whether Pierre shouldn’t try at a different team. He may suit another teams style better, and his true abilities might surface.

When everything is said and done, he is still a very talented rugby player.

• 331.Horings: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-328: Ek hou van Greyling, want hy dra die bal goed en ek hou ook van Kruger want sy workrate is baie goed, maar ons kan ongelukkig nie soveel strafskoppe afstaan soos wat hulle afstaan nie. Ek is wel beindruk met Dawie Steyn. Hy lyk vir my na n meneer.

Rakende Spies. Ek dink nou al lankal hy speel die vekeerde game. In 2009 se finaal teen die Chiefs dan hardloop hy lyne van Olivier se skouer af en maak baie meters. In 2010 teen Engeland hardloop hy van Francois Steyn se skouer af en maak omtrent die enigste linebreak van die wedstryd. Deesdae probeer hy so naby aan die loskrums as moontlik breek. Dit was Guthro, Bakkies, Danie, Gary Botha, ens se sterk punte.

Arno Botha daarteenoor is vir my ‘n baie opwindende speler.

• 332.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-329:

Maybe he would have been better as a wins, he’s scared of contact and likes to run free, not get involved in the rough stuff like real loosie

That’s why he never got injured in a few season unlike REAL loosies like Dewald, CJ and Arno

• 333.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-332: I was always impressed to watch him tearing down the wing for Affies and with most of the tacklers being half his size it was quite something to see.

He scored a few ‘Jonah Lomu’ type tries for Affies and used to hand off tacklers like he was swatting a fly. And he is such a nice chap.

Perhaps he should go play a season or two overseas in the mud…..it might bring things into his game and work out some of the devils.

• 334.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-330:

No he won’t, look at all the no 8′s, they all play more physical than PS, Vermeulen, Kanko, Baardman etc

Spies should be an impact player, he would be the ultimate impact player, better than Skinstad at his best

• 335.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-334: Have you ever looked at Pierre’s stats ? He is about tall enough to be a lock. I was watching some of the game again of the Bulls vs. Sharks and then Bulls vs. Crusaders and specifically kept my eye on him.

Part of Pierre’s problem with his non-competition in the rucks are his body dimensions and how he enters the rucks. He is so tall – it literally makes it difficult for him to play as a loose forward with the way he is going about things. I am not saying he is the tallest Nr 8 – but someone could help him with his technique a bit.

If you believe Rassie Erasmus, your 8 should be as good a fetcher as your fetcher flank as he often gets to the breakdown first. Hence the fact that Daniel actually makes a pretty decent 8th man. He might not have the bulk to ruck over the ball, but he gets there first and makes the opponents life hell until the big boys arrive behind him. Of course that does bring the occasional penalty.

Perhaps Pierre should be tried at lock.

• 336.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-335:

Nooo never, look how physical a lock has to be like Bakkies, Thorne and the like

They must be more physical than a loosie even and do the hard work at the rucks

Spies hates doing it

He should come up for the last thirty minutes and run at the opposition when they’ve been tired out and he could run at the half gaps at speed

• 337.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-336: I dont necessarily share your view though that Spies is incapable of the physical stuff. There is something wrong in his head and to me at least some credit should be given for the fact that he played in the backline at age group level.

He still has some time….

• 338.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-337:

I’ve read on the Bulls site that there are rumours of him going to play in France

• 339.viewer: Reply to this comment

Dusky you’ve totally lost it. Its really big of you to vent your bigotry on an anonymous blog

• 340.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-329: Never a truer word said. He could well have been the paler version of a Jomo Lomu in pink or the less rare blue. (I joke of course). But .ths battery runs out, I thought I’d get my penny’s worth in. cheers. And I have a decent ticket for saturday. Eat your collective hearts out manne.

• 341.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@victoriabok-334: that or a wing

• 342.victoriabok: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-341:

The Bulls could move both Spies and Hougie to the wing after 50 minutes and bring Arno and Janno on, it might change the whole game especially with Fouche on flyhalf

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.