Kings in, Lions out

Saru has confirmed that the Kings will play Super Rugby at the Lions’ expense in 2013.

This ends months of speculation about how the Kings – who were promised Super Rugby entry by Saru – would be accommodated in the tournament. After Saru’s hopes of getting a sixth franchise were dashed by Sanzar, the Lions, who finished last on the combined Super Rugby log this year, were always likely to make way for the Eastern Cape franchise.

The Lions will now have to settle for Currie Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby before getting a chance to get back into Super Rugby by playing a two-legged promotion-relegation tie against the team that finishes last in the SA conference next year.

‘All rugby provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Super Rugby competition,’ said Saru president Oregan Hoskins. ‘That decision was first taken in 2005 but their inclusion has twice been postponed.

‘We made a commitment to the Kings to include them in 2013 and rugby has delivered on that commitment. The franchise represents more clubs than any other region – apart from the Stormers – and contains numerous leading rugby schools. It has been starved of top-class rugby competition for a decade and a half and now it has the chance to show what it can do.’

Hoskins said that Sanzar’s decision to grant the 15th franchise to Melbourne in 2011 – rather than the Kings – had created a dilemma for them. He said that the organisation and players had wanted a ‘rugby solution’ to accommodate six franchises in five places and this had been delivered, as challenging as it was for the relegated team.

‘The provinces asked for a rugby solution and we believe that this was the fairest and most transparent method to respond to what is undoubtedly a less than ideal situation,’ he said. ‘We also canvassed Super Rugby players before the start of the season, through the Players’ Association, and this was their preferred mechanism.’

Saru CEO Jurie Roux said that the decision to apply a promotion and relegation system from 2013 was standard practice in sport.

‘We operate promotion and relegation in all our Currie Cup competitions, with the bottom-placed team being relegated unless it wins a play-off,’ said Roux. ‘Our strategic goal is to have six strong franchises covering the whole of South Africa and this decision keeps all of them in play on an annual basis.’

342 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

• 51.clownface: Reply to this comment

bad news for me who loves going to ellis park and watching the international teams come over and play. i wont be going to loftus…..this is bullshit

• 52.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-47:
    @goodstuff-49:
    its a stitch up.

• 53.gunther: Reply to this comment

Horrible decsion.

Is this the same **** who was the tv ump at headingley?

• 54.grant100: Reply to this comment

Rod Tucker is a d00s …. he has a few pounds on this game…has 2 be … scum!

• 55.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    K@k deal?
    They shouldn’t be there in the first place
    But good luck anyway

• 56.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-45:

Elton Jantjes has a condition in his contract that allows him to leave the Lions if they lose their superrugby status. Maybe the others have the same.

• 57.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    Yes because they have really paid their dues in the Currie Cup.
    Oh wait, they havent even won anything in the VC.

Hoskins at fault here. Big bald pussie that oke.

• 58.greegs: Reply to this comment

Hey Xhosakid – How can a team go from 1st division to Super Rugby? It’s unheard of….only an idiot like you would support something like this. Explain exactly how the Lions have been milking SANZAR? Lions are current CC champs..don’t forget that *******!

• 59.Always a Lion: Reply to this comment

An absolute disgrace. SARU is just an arm of the ANC. How can they claim this is a rugby decison? Like telling Pick n Pay to close up shop to give Spar a chance. The kings must earn their place which they certainly have not and dont deserve one once of support.

• 60.gunther: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:

that’s it.

always moaning.

never good enough.

#theymusthaveit.

• 61.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-48: Why would promo/relegation happened first?, when you take into account the amount of money SANZAR has pumped into the Lions disaster?, amazed by “rugby people” who know fokkol about how the game works, you are a disgrace to the game.

• 62.cane: Reply to this comment

In J/burg a venerable old Keo Poster and Lions Fan lay dying in hospital. He was 93, and for years he had faithfully supported the Team he loved.

He knew his end was near, and he motioned for his nurse to come closer.

“Yes, RL?” said the nurse.

“I would really like to see Regan Hoskins and Cheeky Watson before I die,” whispered old RL (a.k.a. as Red Lion).

The hospital authorities sent the request to Cheech and Chong and waited for a response.

Soon word arrived: Hoskins and Cheech would be delighted to visit the aged Lion Man.

As they entered the hospital, followed by a media throng and cameras from all the TV networks, Hoskins commented to Watson, “I don’t know why this old prick wants to see us, but going to see him for a few minutes won’t hurt our image, It might even get me re-elected Chairman of the SARU. After all, I’m IN IT TO WIN IT”.

Cheeky agreed that it was a good thing, as he wanted to remain as Treasurer of the Kings, and play with our money like it was Monopoly or growing on a tree.

When they arrived at his room, the Old RL (god bless him) beamed and clasped Regan’s hand in his right hand and Cheech’s hand in his left.

There was silence and a look of serenity spread over the old RL’s wizened visage.

Finally Watson broke the silence.

“Red, of all the people you could have chosen, why did you want us to be with you as you near the end?”

Old RL slowly replied, “I have always tried to pattern my life after our Lord and Saviour ***** ******.”

“Of course”, said Regan.
    “Amen,” said Cheech.

***** died between two lying thieves; I would like to do the same.” said the RL.

(Sorry if you have seen this post before0.

• 63.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-55: Should the Lions be there?, based on what really, besides you misguided gut-feel.

• 64.Atlas: Reply to this comment

I’ll post it again
    “Best for SA teams
    Now we can put 70 to 80 points on the Queens twice
    Bonus points and points for and against will help us for the play offs
    Beat that O’Neil”

• 65.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-46:
    on the up side at least they’ll have a shot to get in the door every year.
    or does promotion/relegation apply to the team on top of the cc table?

no, i suppose not. its probably just going to be a pool of 6 super rugby conteion franchises and theyll play amonst themselves to get the 5 spots available.

• 66.clownface: Reply to this comment

lions franchise is going to suffer massive financial loss…no game days, no fans buying lions clothing etc…. sad really.

• 67.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-57: In modern Super Rugby, which team had to qualify to play there or prove themselves in their provincial league, did the Brumbies?, did the Force? or did the Rebels qualify

• 68.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Thats bullshit.
    Feel sorry for the Lions supporters really. I could not imagine if the Hurricanes were thrown out of Super 15 cos of a muck up that NZRU did.
    For the record i enjoyed watching the Lions play. They were so inconsistent that they would go from horrible to playing excellent rugby with in a week.
    I blame Mitchell, he is a good coach but people skills suck big time.

• 69.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-63:
    C’mon
    They are not even in the CC
    Solomons said they are buying players from overseas and local dudes
    How, and how will that benefit EP?

• 70.Rooibaard2000: Reply to this comment

DAMNIT!

Cannot say this came as a surprise given the revolting smear campaign run by KEO and his buttlicking side kicks ( and other sections of the media). The Lions poor performance in this years tournament, horrendous injury list and coaching issues aside, made the political hatchet job easier.

Going forward, a year off, as opposed to the 3 years originally mooted, seems a compromise IF this is the basis of the system going forward (though i have NO doubt Cheeky and Puke will try another avenue if they get relegated next season) BUT which side in the CC gets to play against the lowest ranked S15 side?? CC winner may be there already so is it the hoghest NON S15 CC side? Could be Griquas next!!!!!! Laughable.

A lot will depend on how the contracts of the Lions players are constituted and handled. If they are mostly on long term contracts and are loaned out to other franchises ala the Euro Football model, then the Lions have a good chance of getting back in, in 2014, with their stars still exposed to S15. If NOT and there is a wholesale pillagin of the team as a result, Lions are gone for a looong time and frankly should sue SARU now for good measure…spineless bunch of political arse creepers that they are.

But credit to KEO et al, mission accomplished and Cheeky’s cheque in the mail no doubt. I will console myself supporting ANY other team that plays the QUEENS in the 2013 S15, and probably puts 70-80 points past them for good measure too. A team that cannot even make it to the Currie Cup has no business being “deployed” to top flight rugby, period

• 71.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-69:
    benefit LOCAL EP players

• 72.grant100: Reply to this comment

Atlas … Stomers scoring more than 4 tries in a match? you must be joking boet

• 73.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-68:
    no
    he is not a good coach

• 74.wnbb: Reply to this comment

The Lions had numerous opportunities and they messed it up big time.Good riddance and welcome to the big league, Kings.

• 75.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

Hang on.
    Whats happens to the Lions players?
    Do they still stay for CC? and can they move to another team in Super 15?

• 76.Atlas: Reply to this comment

@grant100-72:
    Bwahahahahahahaha

• 77.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Good news.

The Lions Union needs to pull finger, maybe this will be the wakeup call they need. And let’s not mention the Currie Cup; the only time the Lions can win the CC is during a WC year (99 and 2011). The Boks were back for 2011, but they had just been booted out of the WC, and their heads were no where.

Do the Kings deserve to be there, maybe not. Do the Lions, maybe not.

The Lions have been rebuilding for 10 years now, something had to give.

The Kings can now lure good players, something they could have never done without Super Rugby status.

@XhosaKid-63:

I’m not sure the Kings should be given 5 years. Maybe 2. But to be honest, I think they’ll put together a good team. They’ll finish last of the SA sides but will beat the Lions in the promotion match anyway, so don’t stress.

• 78.BrumbiesBoy: Reply to this comment

Oregan Hoskins, YOU’RE A LIAR. How many times did I read about you saying words to the effect of: “The Kings WILL NOT take part in Super Rugby at any of the existing franchises’ expense?”

If you had anything even remotely resembling a spine in your body you would resign.

Now.

• 79.Sghibha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-2: yitsho uphinda

• 80.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-73:
    well when he had the ABs, we man handled Boks and Ozzies. His RWC was ruined by poor selections.
    And his people skills as the reason why he was sacked in NZ is the main problem.

• 81.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@greegs-58: Which divisions did Western Force, Rebels and Brumbies win to qualify to play Super Rugby. Its not a trick question, your limited mind might just go into overdrive.

Just answer the question, please. An honest answer to this question will show how poor you have applied yourself to this matter.

• 82.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-67:
    Really? Weak Aussie sides? Thats your argument.

The very problem with Aus rugby is that they have so many weak sides in the comp.

Look, as I said, Im stoked the Kings are in. Guaranteed 5 points for the Sharks and the opportunity to rest and rotate players.
    Only problem is, the other big unions will do the same thing.

• 83.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@gunther-60: Not a moan, just can see it a mile away when been suckered.

• 84.MacToogie: Reply to this comment

@Lions_Soutie-17: i tip my hat to you good sir, your attitude is of a good South African, we should have 6 teams in SR instead of Aus with those 3 kak teams.

• 85.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

I’m guessing all the names that I don’t recognise immediately on here are nic stealers / multinics.
    Farken keyboard cowards!

• 86.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid-81:
    Didnt it all go down hill when SARU promised the Kings they can play…thinking they would get 6 teams in the comp only to be told no way. Isnt this the outcome to SARU being useless?
    I might have it wrong.

• 87.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-82: Well all these weak Aussie sides, as you call them, finished above the Mighty Lions….

• 88.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Atlas-69: The presence or absence of the Kings in the CC is a moot point. Simply, give the Kings all the SANZAR money that Lions has been receiving as part of SR participation, then lets have the CC debate in 2016, taking into account the Lions have been bathing in this money for over a decade.

In 2016, lets have the promo/relegation game, lets see how strong the Lions would be then, its the egg and chicken scenario.

• 89.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The important point that is being missed here, is that this affliction has only been dumped on SA Rugby for 1 year. After which it will be business as usual again.

• 90.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

Simon,

There was talk that the Kings were guaranteed something like 3 years in Super Rugby, in which case the Lions would play the next lowest ranked SA side in a promotion relegation playoff (I’m assuming the Kings end last in this example).

Is this still the case?

• 91.kingcorn: Reply to this comment

The lions won’t take this lying down, it has been a complete sham the whole affair. For the lions to lose out on all the players that they have invested in is a dam shame.

The Kings did say that they were in talks with players based abroad. Not sure who will leave there lucrative contracts to come play for them for only on year.

Any names spring to mind?

Brent Russel
    Ernst Joubert
    Brits
    Joe Van Niekerk

If I was the lions I would loan the players out to European and Japanese clubs and give them a chance to make some money abroad and bring them back for the play-off’s to beat the kings back into the first division. I would keep some players locally but loan them to the Cheetahs, Sharks, Bulls, Stormers but not to the kings!!!!

• 92.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-89: Mr Woopaasss, I wouldn’t bet on it.

• 93.Transformation: Reply to this comment

oh ffs, same sh.t different year….if SARU had applied their mandate in 2005 the lions would’ve NEVER had 7 seasons of mediocrity, punctuatesd by losing ALL the games in 2010.

lions should’ve been goners in 05 already but nefarious broedebond kak saved them & some of the moaners now kept f.ucking quiet.

it is what it is!

• 94.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-93:

You should be glad. The Kings now have their chance.

For what it’s worth.

• 95.cane: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-89:

Not sure about that Tac.

The S15 is not a SA benefit match.

• 96.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-80: Howzit Hurricane, it’s a pity because he comes across as someone with a really good rugby brain. I can’t understand why he doesn’t change his people skills a bit, if he did he would be a seriously great coach

• 97.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-94:

What confuses me is why the EP Kings deserve it more than Border.

They not a regional franchise anymore, so purely on transformation stats – which is supposedly why the Kings deserve this freebie, Border trumps them.

• 98.Gumboots: Reply to this comment

Are we going to see a mass exodus from Ellis Park?

• 99.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@kingcorn-91: Will they engage in violent service delivery protests? :D

• 100.wnbb: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-97: Don’t try to be difficult now.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.