Kings in, Lions out
16 Aug 2012
Saru has confirmed that the Kings will play Super Rugby at the Lions’ expense in 2013.
This ends months of speculation about how the Kings – who were promised Super Rugby entry by Saru – would be accommodated in the tournament. After Saru’s hopes of getting a sixth franchise were dashed by Sanzar, the Lions, who finished last on the combined Super Rugby log this year, were always likely to make way for the Eastern Cape franchise.
The Lions will now have to settle for Currie Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby before getting a chance to get back into Super Rugby by playing a two-legged promotion-relegation tie against the team that finishes last in the SA conference next year.
‘All rugby provinces have been consistently in support of the need for an Eastern Cape team in the Super Rugby competition,’ said Saru president Oregan Hoskins. ‘That decision was first taken in 2005 but their inclusion has twice been postponed.
‘We made a commitment to the Kings to include them in 2013 and rugby has delivered on that commitment. The franchise represents more clubs than any other region – apart from the Stormers – and contains numerous leading rugby schools. It has been starved of top-class rugby competition for a decade and a half and now it has the chance to show what it can do.’
Hoskins said that Sanzar’s decision to grant the 15th franchise to Melbourne in 2011 – rather than the Kings – had created a dilemma for them. He said that the organisation and players had wanted a ‘rugby solution’ to accommodate six franchises in five places and this had been delivered, as challenging as it was for the relegated team.
‘The provinces asked for a rugby solution and we believe that this was the fairest and most transparent method to respond to what is undoubtedly a less than ideal situation,’ he said. ‘We also canvassed Super Rugby players before the start of the season, through the Players’ Association, and this was their preferred mechanism.’
Saru CEO Jurie Roux said that the decision to apply a promotion and relegation system from 2013 was standard practice in sport.
‘We operate promotion and relegation in all our Currie Cup competitions, with the bottom-placed team being relegated unless it wins a play-off,’ said Roux. ‘Our strategic goal is to have six strong franchises covering the whole of South Africa and this decision keeps all of them in play on an annual basis.’

342 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All
16 Aug 2012, 16:31 pm
@greegs-194:
I agree bad practices were followed by SARU. Thats why i said we should blame the administrators and not the teams.
Furthermore, did WP have to qualify in order for the Stormers to play Super Rugby?
Why then expect the EP Kings to be representative of the SOUTHERN Kings in Super Rugby?
But actually I agree with SpringbokSarah that there are way too many teams playing and the competition should be drastically altered, but while we have to cope with the current system, the Kings have just as much right to be there as the Lions.
16 Aug 2012, 16:33 pm
I am totally gutted by this decission, SARU have no backbone. How can a team be promote dinto Supaer Rugby when they can’t even play in the CC. The Lions or Transvall back in the day were one of the teams that established Super Rugby and in fact were the first team and South African team to win it.
16 Aug 2012, 16:34 pm
lol what have the kings done, they dont have to have done anything
@greegs
what did the force ever do for Aus rugby
What did the rebels ever do for Aus rugby
if you look at the lay out of all Super rugby teams they are all spread across all three respective countries not by chance but for a purpose
except we have three teams clustered close together
when the Cats slit up to the lions and cheetahs i thought it created an imbalance
now just about all area’s of our country have a super rugby franchise close by
times are changing and for the better at that. you and steve hofmayer need to catch a wake up ”Bru”
the Kings are a breath of fresh air, it makes economical, social, spatial ( and yes greeg i know your gana say political, but its not like we relegated the bulls to make way for the kings
oh and you said someone has to end last, but every flippin season dude, pathetic
I wish the kings the best of luck going forward
16 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
@Jeraldjay-199:
awesome.
I’m thinking like someone who is 1 nil up in the series.
nobody bats first for three days against this attack at Lords.
Lets hope there is still a little something left in the wicket for us.
16 Aug 2012, 16:38 pm
@greegs-181: because the three unions that make up the kings are the ONLY ones in SA Rugby not even remotely involved or benefitting from super rugby & this has been so since 2005.
is that good enough a reason for you?
16 Aug 2012, 16:39 pm
@katman-197: Well said KATMAN, could not agree more..
16 Aug 2012, 16:40 pm
@Transformation-205:
ja boet.
should have stayed with the sharks and not taken the loot.
look how many finals you would have made.
16 Aug 2012, 16:41 pm
@gunther-204:
They don’t have KP and have that “jockey looking” fellow coming in at 5 so we still in the mix.
Lets see if Gary has really instilled “never say die” in the guys.
16 Aug 2012, 16:42 pm
@TooMuchRugby
Please explain how the Kings have just as much right as the Lions to be there? are they not in 1st div cc? are the Lions not CC champions? Did the Kings have to play to get into SR? You have no common sense in this regard. Its like taking Venezuela and putting them in the Cricket World Cup just because there is no South American rep in CWC and then taking Bangladesh out even though Bangladesh has a better/deserved rating!
16 Aug 2012, 16:44 pm
@ Transformation – I don’t need to say anything further. You’ve said it all! Basically, it’s OK to steal if you hungry? You miss the stealing bit and focus on the hunger only. It’s about right and wrong!
16 Aug 2012, 16:48 pm
Ag they will only play for one year man. After next year there will be a promotion/relegation series and the Lions will pump the Kings 3 – 0.
It’s a pacifier until then. Before we end up with Lonmin here…..
Oh well Bulls, Sharks, Stormers, Cheetahs…..now its South Africa that has the easiest conference. So – no excuses – we will all be getting an additional 10 free log points next year. Use it – lets have a SA team win it next year.
16 Aug 2012, 16:48 pm
@katman-197: you forgot a few…fck manie reyneke: fck kevin de klerk, fck winning ways, fck loffie eloff, fck frans ludekak, fck hans coetzee
16 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@greegs-210: Its about the African mentality of entitlement. That’s what it is – full stop.
Never mind that the Kings are made up of riff raff from different provinces including very few players from the Eastern Cape region, or of color for that matter.
So – its probably about some corrupt official somewhere getting another Mercedes S63 – that’s more than likely what it is about.
It will be entertaining – that much is for sure. The Kings will get thrashed badly. Will be a bit like watching a gladiator fighting against 5 hungry Lions. It will have a bit of a ‘sadistic’ component of enjoyment.
16 Aug 2012, 16:52 pm
@greegs-210: all are equal in front of the presidents council’s eyes
the “rich” don’t get special licence to be KAK indefinitely!
16 Aug 2012, 16:53 pm
@Dusky-211:
Lonmin where?
In Norway?
I doubt it.
16 Aug 2012, 16:54 pm
@Dusky-213:
Natuurlik
We must have it
Pay the Lonmin rockdrillers
Pay them!!!
16 Aug 2012, 16:55 pm
@numba4lock i dont want to attack you personally so i will keep from typing crude remarks, except that you must be the dumbest smart person that is writing comments here. The Rebels and Force did not habve to do anything as Aus deserved more teams than they had and it made more competition sense to have 3 x 5 teams and not 2 x 5 and 1 x 4 or 1 x 5, 1 x 4 and 1 x 3 teams, and that is why Aus was given extra teams. The Kings inclusion was 100% political and you and everyone else including Oregan know that. If all was fair then we would have Griquas vs Lions rel;egation/promotion match and not Kings in Lions out without thought. If it was all about actual space between unions like you say 3 of our teams are on top of each other, why not then take out the Blue Bulls and make a new SR team from WitBank/Nelspruit, or even as far as Limpopo, we could then call the The Polokwane Panelbeaters or the Thabazimbi Bushrangers. your comments make no sense!
16 Aug 2012, 16:55 pm
Oh and by the way
Comrade Vavi says it’s OK
I have him on BBM
16 Aug 2012, 16:56 pm
JP vs Swann.
Can he do the impossible.
16 Aug 2012, 16:57 pm
@Jeraldjay-208:
hmmm.
I’m not happy.
16 Aug 2012, 17:01 pm
I think SARU should use the Currie Cup as a promotion relegation competition. Firstly, the Kings should be part of the CC. The team that finishes last in the Super 15 should end above the team that did not participate in the Super rugby comp to retain their Super rugby position. This will add to the Currie Cup as a competition.
Therefore, if the Kings end up last, they should end up above the Lions in the 2013 Currie Cup to play in the 2014 Super 15. The only problem is what should they do with Griquas.
16 Aug 2012, 17:03 pm
Outta here. Looks like nic stealing is a thing of the past.
Bad luck Lions and all the best Kings, you going to need it.
16 Aug 2012, 17:04 pm
@Dylan-209: To be fair, it can be argued that the Lions only have decent players because of Super rugby participation. Now the Kings can get quality players and they will end up better than the Griquas or even the Lions.
16 Aug 2012, 17:04 pm
@Horings-221: Lets go back to the union system, and the top 5 Currie Cup teams qualify to play Super Rugby. The adversities faced by Griquas are no different to those in the Eastern Cape, yet they have put some heart into it and actually been competitive in the Currie Cup.
The Eastern Cape reminds me of the oke standing begging at the traffic light with his hand out because he is too f$%^king lazy or too clueless to find work.
16 Aug 2012, 17:05 pm
@Dawn-215: Have another dop Dawn…
16 Aug 2012, 17:06 pm
@Transformation-214: And that equality is evaluated based on what kind of black German luxury vehicle can be purchased by enforcing said ‘equality’
16 Aug 2012, 17:07 pm
@Dylan-209: Another problem with your example is Venezuela cannot buy players from Bangladesh. The Kings can get better players. It is not as if all the Lions players originate from Johannesburg.
16 Aug 2012, 17:09 pm
@Dusky-224: Problem with that is the Bulls, Sharks and Stormers will resist in helping the national cause, because they do not have their best players to participate in the CC. In this way the last team (they will not have 10 Springboks) will have a fair chance to retain their place.
16 Aug 2012, 17:09 pm
@Dylan-217: The Limpopo Crocodiles are in next. The Cheetahs better watch their backs. In 20 years time we could have all ‘previously disadvantaged’ teams and the South African teams will take up the 5 slots at the bottom of the log.
16 Aug 2012, 17:10 pm
@Dylan-217: you’re barking up the wrong tree dylan. if SARU wanted to restructure their franchises they are at liberty to do it, but do you think they’re in the business of doing the sensible thing like CSA did with the cricket franchises? no.
self-interest & broedebond protectionism still rules, so cry me a river, build a bridge & get over it.
16 Aug 2012, 17:12 pm
UFO Thanks
Meh…
Good luck Kings, it’s going be tough on and off field.
Bad luck my Lions…. Now it’s damage control.
@Dusky-224: Also to be fair, and I am not for or against the Kings inclusion, they did however pick themselves up from being last or just above Border in the Currie Cup 2nd division. They also have a Varsity Cup team that did quite well and they have all these clubs. They therefore have a good system to work from. Their Varsity Cup team also did not have the luxury to get a Shark (Cronje) to play for them.
16 Aug 2012, 17:14 pm
@Horings-228: I dont understand, but I cant believe the Bulls, Sharks, Stormers or Cheetahs are in support of this decision whatsoever – even though it says so in all the articles.
16 Aug 2012, 17:14 pm
The Lions v Kings catfight still ongoing?Give it a break Lions fans and sympathisers .No team has absolute monopoly on mediocrity.Give the Kings a break.
16 Aug 2012, 17:17 pm
@Dusky-234: You said “Lets go back to the union system, and the top 5 Currie Cup teams qualify to play Super Rugby”. If the top 5 in the CC are Lions, Cheetahs, Kings, WP and Bulls becand the Sharks end 6th, because they have 15 Springboks then they will be pissed off and they will not give Heyneke or any future Springbok coach any support as the Currie Cup will be a survival tournament.
16 Aug 2012, 17:18 pm
@Horings-233: Dude – I dont understand what you are trying to say.
Are you being sarcastic ? An improvement from last in the Currie Cup second division buys you a spot in Super rugby ? Having a good varsity cup team buys you a place in Super rugby ?
What about WINNING the Currie Cup ? And all Varsity Cup sides had provincial level players playing for them. Go look at the team sheets again.
16 Aug 2012, 17:19 pm
becand = and
16 Aug 2012, 17:19 pm
@Horings-236: The Kings got hammered 73 – 12 by the Sharks U21 team just a year or two ago. They wouldn’t end up above the Sharks even if the Sharks had 30 Springboks out. Forget that idea.
16 Aug 2012, 17:20 pm
@Hop Hop Spinnekop-232: Lions will win the Currie Cup again this year. And then there will be a lot said.
16 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@Dusky-237: They may argue they do not have the players because they do not play Super rugby. How can you convince a young guy to play for a team where you are 500km from the nearest super rugby team?
Although they have these obvious problems, they did pick themselves up, they did develop their Varsity team and they do have a good supporters base. This gives Saru enough reason to say “You may become successful in the long run if you get the added privilege of super rugby participation.”
16 Aug 2012, 17:26 pm
@Dusky-240: hopefully it will motivate the players to win it again. It would be a nice “*** you” to SARU and will keep us fans happy till 2014.
16 Aug 2012, 17:26 pm
@Dusky-239: Can you please find me the Kings lineup for that game? The Kings also played with a Border team this year against the Lions and got hammered, which maybe was not a good PR move from them.
16 Aug 2012, 17:28 pm
@Dusky-239: u’re talking out of your naught…73 – 12 where was this game?
16 Aug 2012, 17:29 pm
@Horings-241: Ok – so now we have come full circle on this argument. Fact is whether its due to this or that, or the fact that their dad had only one ball or their mom only one t!t – fact is their inclusion is not based on merit. I hope we are on the same page with that.
I dont think EP will get anywhere. Its a purely politically enforced decision and by delineation therefore involves money and corruption at some point. That’s the only reason they are in.
Wait until the Kiwi and Aussie teams realise what it means for them. They just sat and nodded their heads when SARU spoke about this – but they are going to realise just what a big mistake they have made. Wait until next years Super 15. This will be the biggest embarrassment to South African rugby ever.
16 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
@Horings-241: you’re a blogger that likes to make sense but unfortunately for you, you are dealing with with dusky…. goodluck
16 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
@Dusky-245: I do not think you participated or added any value to the argument so you cannot say the argument has come to a full circle.
The Lions also got nowhere in 10 years so it will not be a trainsmash if the Kings go nowhere in 1 year. And I think they have a good chance of beating the Lions in the promotion relegation playoff. The Lions will say “it is unfair as we lost all our players” and the Kings should then say “My point exactly!”
16 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
For all those wishing to use the CC as the basis for S15.
1. Other than the Sharks, Franchises are a group of CC provinces.
2. Even the smaller provinces in a franchise are more likely to attract players. In fact Griquas contribute a significant number of players to the Cheetahs franchise.
3. If the Griquas and Cheetahs end up high on the CC log, as they often do, do you break up the Cheetahs Franchise and give one Griquas and FS Cheetahs for the next season?
The only solution is for SARU to recreate independent franchises that include all the CC provinces and not allow provinces to decide who to partner with.
As it is, if the Lions best players remained with the province and not play S15 rugby, SARU would be contravening the SANZAR agreement with NewsCorp to play the best 150 players in SA.
16 Aug 2012, 17:35 pm
@Transformation-244: In your mielie pap.
16 Aug 2012, 17:37 pm
@Horings-247: Where does that come from ? Were we not speaking like two adults with one another ? Why do you have to become prissy like a little schoolyard girly ?
The argument HAS come full circle. Earlier you were trying to provide some argument on merit reasons to include the Kings, and in your last post you were back to the non-merit reasons to include the Kings. So we have come full circle – I dont have to contribute for that dumbf$%k – you did it all yourself.
They will not beat the Lions in the promotion/relegation playoff, because the Lions will not lose all their players in a year dingbat. Eish….marra….kan tjy verstaan ?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 » Show All