Cheetahs conquer Bulls
17 Aug 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs deliver a commanding performance in their 32-18 victory over the Blue Bulls in Bloemfontein.
Head coach Naka Drotske will be happy with his team’s performance. They weren’t convincing against the Golden Lions last weekend, but they were very impressive in this triumph over the Bulls.
They delivered a great physical performance, which saw them dominate the collisions and breakdown battle for most parts of the match. Their forwards were instrumental in creating go-forward ball during general play, which was key in their two tries scored by lock Andries Ferreira and flank Kabamba Floors.
Wing Riaan Smit was also pivotal as he executed a flawless effort from the kicking tee, slotting all of his seven goal attempts (two conversions and five penalties).
The Bulls struggled early on in their opener against Griquas, before delivering a better second-half performance for a 30-25 comeback victory. The Pretoria union struggled again in the first stanza against the Cheetahs, but this time, there was no improvement as they were errant throughout the match.
The visitors found themselves on the back foot from the first minute, when Ferreira powered over after the Cheetahs poached possession in the opposition’s red zone. Smit added the extras.
The Bulls replied with a try via CJ Stander, with flyhalf Louis Fouche scoring the conversion and a penalty, but Smit continued to punish their ill-discipline with the boot. By the time Floors dived over for the last action of the opening 40, the Cheetahs held a 23-10 lead.
Smit helped seal the win in the second stanza, slotting two penalties, while replacement wing Nico Scheepers also converted a three-pointer from a difficult angle.
The Bulls scored their only points after the break via Stander, who completed his brace.

166 Comments
17 Aug 2012, 17:50 pm
Cheetah Dragons!!!
17 Aug 2012, 18:27 pm
I flippin do not know what so ever why sadie needed 2 b rested for another week… I mean I’d like 2 see what he can bring bare in mind him leaving ?
Loved 2 see
15-visser
14-akona
13-sadie
12-venter
11-beyers
10-cronje
9-snyman
8-stander
7-potgieter
6-steggman
5-steenkamp
4-hatting
3-kirsten
2-wepener
1-steyn
I’m a angry bull today
17 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
Just play Serfontein…
Go the TAHS!
17 Aug 2012, 18:58 pm
@xtremebull-2:
As a WP/Stormer, I’ve stated before that I’d like to see a Venter/Sadie centership combo. I think they would complement each nicely.
But with Serfontein coming along nicely at the Bulls, that combo of ours might still happen.
At the Cheetahs.
17 Aug 2012, 19:00 pm
@xtremebull-2:
We need to get our centre combination to settle, he’s going away
17 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm
@I am a stormer-4:
Did you watch the wp/cheetahs under 20 game on tv.
As usual WP stopped playing and did not get the bonus try but they have some good players in that team in particular flyhalf Tim Swiel and inside centre Pat Howard. The sooner they move them to the senior side the better. Howard is one of those players who has the rare natural ability to straigthen the line and to create space for those on his outside while Swiel is just plain class.
Hopefully Grant’s (very lovely) wive loves Japan
17 Aug 2012, 19:19 pm
@Robzim-6:
Missed that one. But heard a lot about Swiel. Saw the clips on you tube and looks a good prospect. And Pat Howard also impressed me at the IRB U/20 tournie. So it wasn’t all about Serfontein. I hope they both make the step-up.
Will keep an eye on both of them.
17 Aug 2012, 19:39 pm
@Robzim-6: Of course he has rare abillity Rob he is a NAtalian after all
17 Aug 2012, 19:46 pm
Farkit I’m gatvol of these tappit Cheetah planks.
Lazy lying over the tackled player after every ruck, grabbing our guys around the throats, niggling all the time.
Fecking tappit mulletboys the lot of them.
17 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
What kak reffing.
Ball dropped forward by the Cheetahs. Then picked up again and then passed forward and both missed.
17 Aug 2012, 19:51 pm
Tac!
17 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
@Tacitus-9: You offering to go give them hair cuts Tacci??
17 Aug 2012, 19:55 pm
Another forward pass
17 Aug 2012, 19:56 pm
Jeez, Wepener is kak
17 Aug 2012, 19:57 pm
@sharks_lover-8:
We are losing so many players so I guess we must every now and then gain a good one as well. Where is he from? One of those fancy Natal private schools I suppose?
On a serious note, he is pure class- big and strong, tackles like a demon, and has that vision of when and where to pass to- that is something that cannot be coached.
But it is early days, he is still under 20 so lets see how it goes- lets just hope the bulls keep their hands off him.
17 Aug 2012, 19:58 pm
That Rian Smit looks like a cross between Justin Bieber’s uncle and one of the Waltons.
@Robzim-15: Durban born and raosed Rob , went to Glenwood, Same time as Zeilinga
@Tacitus-16:
Probably John-Boy.
I’m always dumbstruk how players like “Brandewyn Wange Wepener” get so many
opportunities.
17 Aug 2012, 19:59 pm
@Tacitus-16:
17 Aug 2012, 20:00 pm
As you can tell, I’m off to grab another Heineken from the fridge.
17 Aug 2012, 20:01 pm
Must say the Bulls have been nailed by the ref, really poor showing so far
17 Aug 2012, 20:02 pm
Where do they find all these highly incompetent officials. The ref doesn’t belong in the third league but then again: it’s from a Jack to a King week.
17 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
As for the Bulls, their problem is it looks like they have two backline coaches and no forward coach.
17 Aug 2012, 20:04 pm
I was amazed today at the comments of the Kings into Super Rugby. Talk about how the Lions to be in the Super 15 and the Kings don’t. As if rugby is some kind of meritocracy. Here’s a thought Lions, if you do not want to be relegated, start winning. Here’s another swirler, get more points than the opposition.
The Kings currently are not playing ’1st division’. Well I say lets see how they fare with a big budget and sponsors. I’m sure they’ll be ok. I like the PE stadium and hate Ellis Park. Hopefully the Boks can play more at FNB Stadium.
I think this promotion/relegation clause will actually make the Super Rugby competition exciting. Games that don’t matter will suddenly have massive exposure from media and fans. I forecast that the attendance next year at games will increase. This will also force franchises to be more professional.
17 Aug 2012, 20:05 pm
@sharks_lover-22:
Which parts?
17 Aug 2012, 20:06 pm
@Tacitus-21:
Dump a calmettes into the beer.
The Bulls are a better 2nd half side. They’ll still win.
17 Aug 2012, 20:08 pm
@sharks_lover-17:
Thanks… I just googled Glenwood and saw they also produced Jordy Smith, Kevin Curran and the arsehole Steven Jack. Not too bad for some little school in Durbs, lol.
17 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm
@I am a stormer-27:
Not so sure. We’re in this “hybrid” style phase. Trying to become an expansive side, but sacrificing our physical dominance with this change of mindset.
So caught in no mans land, instead of focusing on the basics first. Not earning the right to go wide, so to speak.
17 Aug 2012, 20:13 pm
So typical of this wannabe Brumbies style that everyone’s begging for.
Going wide from first phase all the time, but not getting any go forward.
That’s not the way to play expansive rugby. The correct way is Heyneke’s way. Which is to crush them in the collissions first, and then run it wide at your leisure.
17 Aug 2012, 20:16 pm
@RugbyStudent-26: Watch the Game with a fair unbiased view and you will see, I aint gonna repeat everything mate
And i aint a Bulls fan
17 Aug 2012, 20:19 pm
@sharks_lover-31:
Ok but then how do you expect anybody to believe you when you can’t point out a couple of mistakes or have you decided on guilty until proven innocent?
17 Aug 2012, 20:20 pm
@sharks_lover-31:
Am watching the game, the ref’s not the reason for the Bulls kak gameplan.
17 Aug 2012, 20:21 pm
@RugbyStudent-33: no he aint mate but his poor reffing is giving the cheetahs momentum
17 Aug 2012, 20:24 pm
Huh? Yes, he has made one or two mistakes, like most refs but your comment below:
22.sharks_lover said:
17 Aug 2012, 20:01 pm
Must say the Bulls have been nailed by the ref, really poor showing so far
makes it seem like the score is 49-0
17 Aug 2012, 20:26 pm
Wouldn’t it be insanely fun to see a playoff between the Bulls and the Lions next year! Ellis Park would be filled like no other year.
17 Aug 2012, 20:31 pm
Do the Blue Bulls still have a youth academy? If so, I want those guys jobs cause they haven’t done anything.
17 Aug 2012, 20:32 pm
@Tacitus-30: I dont think the Bulls have the personnel at the moment to do much crushing….Very swak so far.
Cant wait for the Sharks/Bulls encounters !
17 Aug 2012, 20:34 pm
Little Kabamba Floors is outplaying big CJ Stander.
17 Aug 2012, 20:34 pm
@RugbyStudent-37: You have to excuse the Bulls for being so kak – they have Ruan Snyman playing scrumhalf !
17 Aug 2012, 20:35 pm
yo yo yo yo….schoolboy rugby….
17 Aug 2012, 20:36 pm
@Tacitus-30: Shame dude…and the Olympics is over….
17 Aug 2012, 20:36 pm
Is it just me or is Kabamba looking blonder than usual?
I put it down to the Free State sun.
17 Aug 2012, 20:37 pm
@Dusky-40:
They don’t look any better than the Lions. Last year the Lions won the Currie Cup while their were no Springboks in the competition. The Bulls should be that good at least, right?
17 Aug 2012, 20:37 pm
@I am a stormer-43:
Blonder? or Darker?
17 Aug 2012, 20:38 pm
Sarel pretorius is not as lively as he used to be. Probably still struggling to adjust to country life after spending some time in the bright lights of one of the best cities in the world.
17 Aug 2012, 20:39 pm
Punch by the dirty playing Bulls props. Bulls can be proud of Brandewyn Wepener and Peakedathighschool Kruger. Kak players.
17 Aug 2012, 20:42 pm
So far the Bulls high profile buys from Cape Town has resulted only in JJ Engelbrecht bringing some sort of return.
17 Aug 2012, 20:43 pm
@RugbyStudent-44: In my opinion it has less to do with the number of Springboks, although that does bring the real issue to the fore which is continuity.
Teams like the Cheetahs and Lions bring that advantage into the Currie Cup. Strangely enough, although it may lead to a trophy for either the Cheetahs or Lions it indirectly builds a huge amount of depth in teams like the Bulls, Sharks and WP because we have a bunch of Vodacom Cup players trying to lift themselves to the level of a Super 15 Lions or Cheetahs outfit.
So – although the Lions and Cheetahs will rightly celebrate their trophies – they might not realize that they are actually indirectly strengthening the other unions and so the vicious cycle of why the Lions and Cheetahs will never be real Super rugby contenders continues. At least while the Boks are made up predominantly of WP, Sharks & Bulls.
Lions deserved their trophy last year, but lets put it this way. If they dont win it again this year, their Super 15 side intact vs. the Sharks, Bulls and WP Vodacom Cup teams….then it kind of vindicates the decision to put them out the Super 15.
Lions have to win this Currie Cup, if their argument for the Super 15 is going to hold any water.
17 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
@Dusky-49:
I thought they should have been out of the Super 15 ages ago. In fact I think it should go back to the Super 12.
17 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
Ref helped out the Bulls on that occasion,
@RugbyStudent-44: So in summary – the Currie Cup is losing its integrity because it is no longer a strength vs. strength competition.
Although its nice to see streamers after the whistle in the final in a new colour other than black and white or blue…..it really isn’t strength vs. strength. Its Super 15 squads for 2 teams and 2nd and 3rd rate players for the rest.
What really raises the value of a competition is for all teams to be on a fair footing and competitive (able to field their best sides) – another reason why the Kings inclusion in Super 15 is bogus.
CJ Stander is better than Pierre Spies…against the Cheetahs at least.
17 Aug 2012, 20:48 pm
@RugbyStudent-50: I agree on the Super 12 thing. This competition has become ludicrous. In fact if we dropped 3 teams, it would probably improve the competition as a spectacle.
17 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
CJ Stander hurt himself after high tackling the smaller Sarel Pretorius
17 Aug 2012, 20:52 pm
@RugbyStudent-55:
They don’t make them like they use to. I see Cronje has remained injury free for 10 mins
17 Aug 2012, 20:54 pm
Well done Cheetahs, excellent win against the Bulls B aka SA Schools team.
17 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
@RugbyStudent-53: The way to illustrate is by looking at the opposing scenario.
Lets say for some reason, Heyneke Meyer picks NO Sharks for the Springboks, but instead takes a few of the Lions and Cheetahs best players to make up the spaces.
So instead the Sharks play the entire Currie Cup season with this team, building continuity as they go –
15 – Riaan Viljoen, 14 – JP Pietersen, 13 – Paul Jordaan, 12 – Francois Steyn, 11 – Lwazi Mvovo, 10 – Patrick Lambie, 9 – Charl McLeod, 8 – Willem Alberts, 7 – Marcelle Coetzee, 6 – Keegan Daniel, 5 – Steven Sykes, 4 – Anton Bresler, 3 – Jannie Du Plessis, 2 – Bismark Du Plessis, 1 – Beast Mtwarira…..
Would it be fair ?
17 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
@Dusky-58: Sorry bro , Ludik at 15, he has been brilliant, Otherwise great team
17 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
@Dusky-58:
Imagine a Bulls side where most of the players come from Tswane, would that be fair?
17 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@RugbyStudent-60: Or a western province team where they all came from the Cape
17 Aug 2012, 21:03 pm
@sharks_lover-61:
Or a Sharks team with non-Free Staters..hahahaha and a New Zealand coach.
Girls can do it for themselves, Sharks have to outsource to Vrystaat…LOL
17 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
Well….without a doubt….this one of the worst Bulls teams I’ve seen play…..and I’ve been around for a long time.
What was the fuss made about their Midfield of Venter and Beyers? They’re rubbish!!
One bright light…..Jan Serfontein is busy announcing himself to the world. Couple of good runs from him after coming on…..if I was Pine Pienaar I’d be giving this kid more and more time on the field and leaving that useless Beyers riding the plank.
On the subject of coaches…..not in the least bit impressed with Pine Pienaar. The Bulls look poorly coached and totally at sea right now. This changing coaches from Super15 to Currie Cup seems like an almighty dumb move. Why on earth would you do that?
As for their flyhalf’s….well, it’s like watching the movie “Dumb ‘n Dumber”…….Fouche just doesn’t have a clue….poor decision making, aimless kicking and utter rubbish running of their backline. Lionel Cronje came on for his little cameo and proved yet again that he was an age group hero but a senior flop. I wouldn’t give him a contract if my life depended on it.
This was a relatively mediocre Cheetah’s team led by a flyhalf with serious confidence issues……yet they swept the Bulls away as if they were nothing more than a cloud of miggies on a Sunday evening round the braai…….
I see a very long year ahead for this Bulls team……and Griqua’s must be licking their lips while waiting for the second half and crack at them again….this time in Kimberley!
17 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
@RugbyStudent-62: Professional era. The argument of where players come from is silly and will only come full circle if we really had to get into it.
Regardless of whether players come from Bloem or Toronto – fact is the Currie Cup is no longer strength vs. strength. The extending Super rugby and international calendar is killing it off. I hate to say it because I have always tried to look past that – but it is unfortunately true.
17 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
@Dusky-64: The Super15 with it’s stupid “local derbies” is serving to de-value our Currie Cup. A few more years of watching the likes of Sharks Cheetah’s, Stormers and Bulls moer each other stukkend in the Super15 week after week and who will want to watch the Currie Cup?
17 Aug 2012, 21:27 pm
Pine Pienaar will drag the Bulls into a promotion-relegation match at the end of the season. He hasn’t got a clue about coaching.
17 Aug 2012, 21:29 pm
Originally from EP:
Sharks
Frans Steyn
Sibusiso Sithole
Odwa Ndungane
Lwazi Mvovo
Frans Steyn
Tim Whitehead
Conrad Hoffman (Worcester – for Cape Town people that’s Eastern Cape)
Keegan Daniel
Ryan Kankowski
Steven Sykes
Free State
Rocco Jansen
Johan Goosen
Ashely Johnson
WP Nel (Northern Cape)
Stormers
Joe Pietersen
Siya Kolisi
What would happen if guys like these stay in EP?
17 Aug 2012, 21:31 pm
@Lang Giel-66:
Pine Pienaar was shouting like a fan. Why doesn’t he just stand on the field and shout.
17 Aug 2012, 21:37 pm
@CT Shark-65:
It’s becoming total overkill as far as TV viewership is concerned. There is just no interest in the Currie Cup at the moment – even with the strength vs strength line-up. It might pick up a bit as the comp gathers momentum. The Currie Cup is slowly but surely becoming Super Rugby’s ugly sister.
And to think thar SARU in their wisdom sanctioned this – just as they sanctioned the Kings grand entry in Super Rugby.
No one really noticed this state of affairs happening last year because they were shielded by the up coming World Cup.
Talk about being blinded by the light.
17 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
@I am a stormer-69:
What would work is if they had a Super 15 competition but each half is only 20 mins. Like a 20/20 rugby competition. That would draw the crowd. That coupled with more sexy dancers, fireworks and explosives.
17 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
poor Bulletjies they going in turbo reverse at a rate of knots like a runaway steam train in reverse gear. Don’t have a faintly foggy fragmented clue in the world which way is up or down right about now..
Don’t Johann Sadie look like a real prat suddenly, jumping the WP ship only to be left out in the cold in Bulletjies country.. that’s what mercenary non allegiance brings you, Bulls bought so many nonentities they dunno which one is rubbish and which one is class..
17 Aug 2012, 21:45 pm
Hilarious! The pathetic Bulls got arse-raped by a very average Cheetahs team. Where are all the grootbek Bulls supporters?
17 Aug 2012, 21:47 pm
@fitz1ella-71: @fitz1ella-71:
The Bulls are making the pathetic Stormers management team who lets talent go every year look good.
17 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
Fouche should go back to FB
Serfontein and Venter should start. Sadie should play on the wing
They gonna have to blood Pollard straight out of school because they got no other decent fly half right now.
Pretorius is still a first class No.9 and should have been earmarked by Meyer as stand in for Hougaard, he was commanding the troops from the Cheetahs throughout and the real general at back of scrum. Very quick and decisive service and lets his players know exactly which way the next move gonna go, switching around between open and blind side and forwards and backs, he keeps the momentum on the hop. something both Pienaar and Hougaard can learn a hell of a lot from this guy, he would do the Bok jersey proud, and he looks far happier back in a Cheetahs jersey instead of that powder puff NSW goddamn washed out one.
17 Aug 2012, 21:49 pm
@I am a stormer-69:
ja, true.. sad in a way because it is something like 120 years of tradition going down the drain.But the times they are a changin as Bob has said.
17 Aug 2012, 21:53 pm
@Robzim-75:
Hi Rob
17 Aug 2012, 21:55 pm
Super Rugby as it was has been diluted and the product is slowly losing it value
Propose: Super 10
Saders
Chiefs
Canes
Otago
Sharks
Bulls
Stormers
Reds
Brumbies
Tahs
Div 2:
Blues
Rebels
Force
Kings
Lions
Argentinian Team
Pacific Island Team
Japanese Champions
2 teams relegated,2 teams go up(automatic)
1 team promotion/relegation battle
17 Aug 2012, 21:57 pm
You catch Goosen sitting in the stands watching Sias tee up for a 53 mt kick which lands almost on the 22.., Goosen’s kick would have sailed through the uprights from 53 mts …. still climbing..
@RugbyStudent-73: mercenary backroom trading got its drawbacks.. it don’t always work out the way the carrot get dangled.. sometimes it turns out to be a turnip instead… just ask Johann Sadie how sweet the bulletjies brandy and coke tastes after he was gaaning aan about how much more ‘professional’ things are run at Bulls when he first signed up, now he’s looking for a transfer out of Tswane as fast as you can say Pine Pienaar pines for Plumtrees pruime
17 Aug 2012, 21:58 pm
@carol-76:
Hi, what is the feedback from Lords?
Good vibe?
17 Aug 2012, 22:00 pm
@fitz1ella-78:
I hope you have watched the WP versus Free State under 21 game.
Tim Swiel and Pat Howard are the future – no need to worry about losing Pollard, Sadie etc.. Howard was a very good steal from the Sharks.. future bok for sure.
17 Aug 2012, 22:01 pm
@Robzim-79:
Hi, they are not back yet!
I hear your boys are 101 runs ahead of us.
A day at Lords is quite exhausting…….Lots of snoozing and boozing
17 Aug 2012, 22:03 pm
@fitz1ella-78:
A wide awake cameraman. I saw that. And the smile on Goosen’s face.
17 Aug 2012, 22:05 pm
@carol-81:
Not back yet??
Are you worried?
London can be dangerous place after some snoozing and especially some boozing
17 Aug 2012, 22:08 pm
@Robzim-80: Nope didn’t see it.. only saw last 35 minutes of this game but it looked like Cheetahs were all over Bulls like a rash and Bulls supposed to have so much strength in depth.. I didn’t see none of that.
Bulls stars are
Arno Botha,
Jan Serfontein
thats about it…
and perhaps Francoise Venter though he looked scrappy today with no cohesion coming from Fouche or Cronje
Bulls have lost their way bad and its showing..
17 Aug 2012, 22:09 pm
@carol-81:
Boozing at Lords hahaha
A few years ago I met the young lass – a Brit – at a braai in Cape Town who streaked at Lords a few years.
It’s just that some people like to take their clothes off after a couple of drinks. More boozing less snoozing.
17 Aug 2012, 22:13 pm
@I am a stormer-82: That’s the difference between a fly half who was born to be one and another who reckons he’s been hard done by…
————–
I reckon Kings could take this Bulls CC team out.. Saru dropped the wrong team.. Lions are taking shape while Bulls are falling apart.. Lions would smack this Bulls outfit silly.. and Kings would probably give them a go…
will be a mighty laugh if Kings put Bulls out the S15 at the relegation play off next year.
17 Aug 2012, 22:14 pm
@Robzim-83:
Worried, nahhhh…. 4 blokes, of a ‘certain age’ in London.
Dressed for a day at Lords
What could go wrong?
17 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
Now that Heyneke Meyer is gone from the Bulls, Frans Ludeke and Pine Pienaar have showed the ordinary coaches that they are.
Its funny that Allistair Coetzee is given no grace, yet in SA Rugby, coaches like Frans Ludeke (who couldn’t buy a win at the Lions) gets a job at the Bulls, Naka Drotske still has his job and two white foreigners are chosen to coach our sides.
17 Aug 2012, 22:16 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
The Kings currently…no. The Kings with a R50 million rand sponsorship boost…yeah, I think so.
17 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
@I am a stormer-85:
Well we British are not quite as dull as we like to paint ourselves sometimes.
I tend to sing and dance when I am a bit squiffy, never feel the urge to strip off, but you never know!!
Someone might score 6 sixes in an over and I might go a bit mad!!
17 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
@I am a stormer-85:
At least the streakers at Lords and SCG usually have “something to look at”.
In contrast to our own branna and coke streaker who once tackled FC Smith at Bloem while only dressed in Kovsies rugby socks. It was quite a good tackle though and probably cost WP the match.
But that is South Africa
17 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
these dumbfck bonehead brawn over brains mommies boys aint got no clue how to handle the heat since Jakey Fakeys favourites like FDP and Matfield gone swanning off in la la land. these lamentable laager fcks aint got no clue and when WP play them they gonna teach these fcks a thing or two
17 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
Alister Coetsee is a poor coach who been drilled by Plumtree three times in succession for no other reason but pure deer in the headlights incapacity….
SA don’t have decent coaches they are WAY too cowardly and conservative and cannot see the wood for the tree stumps.. even our WC winning side needed an Aussie to set it back on track after the head coach was lost at sea so bad he didn’t know north from south or east from west…
Naka Drotske is one of the most wide awake SA coaches going right now.. that tells you how smart Saffa coaches actually are.
17 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
I don’t quite think it’s going to work out that way. The Kings are going to struggle big time particularly as SARU – in their wisdom – have given them one solitary year to prove themselves.
No player worth his salt is going to sign a 1 year contract with the Kings. Unless they are truly desparate.
The Kings will replace the Lions as the bottom dwellers in Super Rugby.
17 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
@carol-87:
Dont underestimate them.
They are from the cotswolds after all.
Might have learnt some tricks from new “cotswoldian” Shane W
17 Aug 2012, 22:22 pm
@fitz1ella-93: thats right, SA coaches are thick as fckn planks
17 Aug 2012, 22:24 pm
@Robzim-95:
I am sure we will bump into Shane Warne sooner rather than later, just hope I do not laugh at his rather strange taut skin and funny hairdo!
17 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
> will be a mighty laugh if Kings put Bulls out the S15 at the relegation play off next year
How exactly is that going to happen?
With all our Boks back?
Nie sommer nie
Daar’s ‘n moerse verskil tussen ons Currie Cup span en die S15
Die Staat en die Lions het omtrent geen Bokke nie so hulle gebruik al die verloorwedstyde in die S15 as voorbereiding vir die CC
Dis hoekom hulle samespel so goed is
O ja en as ek reg onthou het julle julle eerste wedstryd laasweek al verloor?
17 Aug 2012, 22:34 pm
@fitz1ella-93:
I must admit with ball in hand the Cheetahs looked impressive. But they do every year. The way they cross the gain line at ease and seem to have acres of space to move in is impressive. Not sure what it is – Grey College, the biltong, years on the practice field cos there’s vokkol else to do – I dunno.
There is always a support runner who knows where to position himself. SA rugby can learn from Cheetahs backline play. And I’m talking about Super Rugby not just today’s performance.
And without Goosen.
17 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@carol-97:
I dont blame him for pulling out all the tricks.
Liz is HOT.
My favourite cotswoldian used to be the ox
I missed him when Roger and Pete did the final gig at the Olympics closing ceremony party
17 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@I am a stormer-94: more than likely.. but don’t count on them rolling over and playing dead just yet.. that whole saga by Saru is a dead end street for all concerned.. no winners in this scenario.. neither Lions nor Kings come out smiling.. and somebody going down at the end of 2013 so Watson will have to buy some stock to trade with seeing Sharks and Bulls holding most the EP talent stock and one or 2 at WP right now.
@Humphrey-96: SA coaches are thicker than 2 planks on top of 2 bricks .. I ain’t seen one really wide awake SA coach yet.. perhaps a period when Mallet was riding high on Carel Dup’s team and aided by Solomons through 97-98. that was about the only time SA coaching shone.. and when Christie won the WC solo without the aid of an Aussie holding his shivering handies.
Even the heights of 07 were as a result of Australian input through Louden, Lane, Campese and Jones…
17 Aug 2012, 22:37 pm
@Humphrey-96:
Pine isn’t exactly a rocket scientist
And the last face you’d ever want to see before a brain surgery in Frans Ludeke’s…
17 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
@RugbyStudent-67:
Is the other Frans Steyn a centre or a fullback?
17 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@Robzim-100:
Liz is very ‘ordinary’, trust me….!! Make up and high heels really help, I saw her in her wellies.
The ‘Ox, what Entwhistle?
17 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
Isn’t it going to be good with Keegan in the Lions or Pumas dens tomorrow, along with his Sharks mukkas, Alberts and Coetzee doing the job… Fark me, make him Cappie.
17 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@victoriabok-102:
or Straueli’s….
I rather slash my wrists.
17 Aug 2012, 22:44 pm
@Heavens Game-105:
Tomorrow we’re on the same side.
Get with the programme!!
17 Aug 2012, 22:45 pm
@I am a stormer-107: Of course, bru… and you should feel lucky that there’s some dynamite in Green and Gold…
17 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
Kappie Keegan… Go my boy!
17 Aug 2012, 22:48 pm
Wow pine pienaar? Enlight me on his coaching history please!!!
And the players! Wtf? We might aswell start building now so we have 2 blood a new right wing cos akona is over his time now… I know he is the most solid player in the team but that is all!!! Solid!
But ya… Once a bull always a bull( putting my hands on my head with a deep sigh)
17 Aug 2012, 22:49 pm
Nope hurley was a beauty no doubt
but on other matters old Big Hit one fkn knowledgable engelse about tge rugby / I feel myself agreeing with virtually every post -tho he seems to rate heyneken for picking all the sharks – itsca bitclike puma and el presidenti -maal al die sharks bokke – oh yeah they already are – frontrow and backrow.
17 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@Heavens Game-108:
Already organised for Loftus 28 Sept and Soccer City 6 Oct.
Ain’t like great!
17 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@I am a stormer-112:
like = life but still like it.
17 Aug 2012, 22:51 pm
So I hear rumors that WP is trying to sign Rhodes. Screw the Lions and then for good measure take their players too. What a fucked up union that turn out to be, but the wheel turns and from what we hearing from the Cape it’s turning nicely. No wonder there is no decent cup in that cabinet…. clowns.
17 Aug 2012, 22:51 pm
@cab-111: Ja… Sharks for Boks… Dynamite in Big Green and Gold packages
17 Aug 2012, 22:52 pm
@carol-104:
Ja, Entwistle it is… the greatest bassist ever.
And Liz is a moerse beaut- wellies or te not.
17 Aug 2012, 22:53 pm
@I am a stormer-112: Soccer city might be farken damngood… Might have an organize myself there.
17 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
HG – WTF daniel going to do v Argie pac. – nah actual Daniel is a good choice but for bench – they shoulda picked kolisi
17 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
@fitz1ella-74:
On Sarel Pretorius: “Very quick and decisive service and lets his players know exactly which way the next move gonna go, switching around between open and blind side and forwards and backs, he keeps the momentum on the hop.”
Great description of his game tonight Skop. If only WP/Stormers can get a SH with that qualities, we’ll start to win cups,I think.
17 Aug 2012, 22:56 pm
@Robzim-116: Uh uh… aikona… Flea… Coffee shop
17 Aug 2012, 22:56 pm
@I am a stormer-99: Cheetahs aren’t only about back line play.. they smashed the Bulls in the collisions and went storming through the gain line a couple times with their big ball carries Viljoen and Vd Walt sometimes 2 up with a prop or lock and a loosie going into contact together in tandem with a quick release off load in the tackle and with live wire Pretorius running the show from the pick and go breakdown.
If Cheetahs had the depth that Bulls or Sharks possess they’d be a force in the S15
17 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@cab-118: Farkoff man… Best thing that could happen to the Boks now is make Keegan Cappie and then bring Jordaan at 13… Then we see farken explosions of black and white grandeur in Green and Gold
17 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@Robzim-91:
Good old day’s he tackled the WP lock about to score, was it FC Smit?
WP, Free State and Northern Tvl were level with log points
We played Free State the following Saturday and WP the Tuesday, I think Uli scored three tries against WP, and won the 1991 final against Tvl
17 Aug 2012, 22:59 pm
@Robzim-116:
The Who – that’s who.
There’a a fairly new radio staion in this neck of the woods – 93.8.
They have no play list and a few old hands who know their music. Driving listening to The Who, Led Zep, Deep Purple gives driving a different purpose.
I hope they go national at some stage.
17 Aug 2012, 23:00 pm
@Heavens Game-117:
Don’t dilly dally – do it today on computicket.com
17 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
Keegan cappie?! are u fkn mal that piesang kop plays on pure adrenalin – geen grey matter there – nothing wrong but he pigmy and no capitano – he’s just got to go ape .. Still too light I reckon but moerse blitzvinnig – I rather have kolisi mowing the argies down
17 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
@I am a stormer-125: I want box… Getting into the SA entitlement thing….
17 Aug 2012, 23:03 pm
@cab-126: Keegan mows better than Kolisi ever dreamed, cuzzie… And then the offloads… Schweet.
Keegan = courage = Bok Cappie…
You know it makes sense… Soutie Cappie = Bok Success
17 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
@Heavens Game-127:
I think the expensive ones are already gone.
You might have to make friends with some refugee type okes at some stage….
They’ll be happy to entertain you
17 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
Cheetahs too light joker drotske about 10 steps behind Mitchell if u want to play that expansive game – but it’s also not the optimal as much as he likes to lees sun tsu,s art of die poephol – he every really good side needs steel – and only side with that are stormers and sharks bit too little
17 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
If Liz Hurley is ordinary I love to see what true beauty is
Liz Hurley was outright bloody gorgeous last time I slapped eyes on her.. was a while back though must admit.
Some Engelse vroutjies can be very beautiful.. Liz Taylor.. Lis Hurley… all the Dizzy Lizzies
Daniel is too small for Bok 8th man.. ask Jake the Fake he’ll tell you so.. even though he now is a full on fetcher convert with Pocock and Hooper both Luke Watson wannabe’s up Jakeys street.. just like Daniel another Luke Watson clone.. the same the Sharkshits booted to Cape Town because he was just too damn good for John Boy Smittiekins when Sharks were doing the beeswax before their 2007 blow out.
17 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
@Heavens Game-128: And then we got the Wrecking Ball…
And Bone Collector…
All Black and White in Green and Gold…. Fark I’m almost feeling sorry for the Argies.
17 Aug 2012, 23:08 pm
@I am a stormer-129: I WANT box… I will GET box… At the Kalabash for Boks vs ABs… No farken doubt….
I hope
17 Aug 2012, 23:09 pm
@fitz1ella-131:
I’d love to slap Liz Hurley…….
17 Aug 2012, 23:10 pm
@fitz1ella-131: Three words… Luke the Puke… A bad fit for proud and honourable Black and White… Keegan the King Cappie of dynamite… and maybe Green and Gold…. Mark this post for the “I told you so’s in the future”….
17 Aug 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-131: hi skop…how about tofu sarmies tomorrow before the bok game,u pick the place?
17 Aug 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-131: Liz Hurley and that Keira Knightly…. A younger, more tame version of mine own banshee.
17 Aug 2012, 23:13 pm
@Heavens Game-133:
Got taxis organised.
Got the shebeen organised – zamalek x plenty – yes please.
Got the tickets organised.
It promises to be a party – I missed out last year. But then Sharks poepel missed a crucial tackle – probably just as well, I suppose.
128 mate keegan runs better than kolisi – in fact he’s lightning – but he’s no test forward unless u got a pack hanpicked around him which is different to the light pack picked for sat – IRS only tge argies but 2 blitzfoeye in backrow is sane kak tactic plum employed with kanko until the Albets value shows – sharks are alberts, beast, Bismarck – that where their value starts and ends – maybe JP too.
@Heavens Game-137: Dirty, naughty English Roses…
@Heavens Game-132:
And then Tarzan Potgieter….
17 Aug 2012, 23:16 pm
@I am a stormer-138: “Sharks poepel”… WTF?
As for Zamalek…. Terrible beer…. Terrible, I tell ya… Farke me if that excuse forpiss ever got any “international” awards as proclaimed on every draught machine dispensing that farken terrible stuff
17 Aug 2012, 23:17 pm
Boks should have gone
Forwards
Coetsee
Kolisi
Bekker
Etsebeth
Cilliers
Bismark
Beast
Greyling, Fourie, Du Plessis, Kruger, Daniel
Backs
W. Le Roux
Engelbrecht
De Villiers
Steyn
Habana
Jantjies
Hougaard
Pienaar, Lambie
17 Aug 2012, 23:17 pm
@Heavens Game-137:
Wow, really?
17 Aug 2012, 23:18 pm
@victoriabok-141: Ja… Tarzan Boy… Oowa… Oowa, Oowa, Oowa, Oowa… Ooowa
17 Aug 2012, 23:19 pm
@victoriabok-144: Its that smirky, farken naughty English smile… Does me in everytime
17 Aug 2012, 23:20 pm
@Heavens Game-142:
When in Rome………
But beer comes in quarts there – even Amstel — and it makes sense not looking for a barman every 10 minutes.
17 Aug 2012, 23:22 pm
@Heavens Game-146:
How did you hook a girl like that?
Do you have hidden talents we don’t know of?
Or a very LARGE wallet?
17 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
@Heavens Game-145:
Been to Loftus lately?
There is an Afrikaans song on that tune, you’ll probably hear it there
17 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
@I am a stormer-147: Yeah… maybe… Nothing wrong with “bombers”… but fark me if I drink that stuff.
17 Aug 2012, 23:24 pm
@xtremebull-110:
Whenever you see somebody with a name like:
Pine Pienaar
Fires/Vlam van Vuuren
Blackie Swarts
Geldtie Geldenhuys
…and he is your team’s coach, you know you are in trouble.
17 Aug 2012, 23:26 pm
@victoriabok-148: Banshee a more Gypsey version – black hair and bigger rack… plus evil temper. But same goddamn smile… Naah, this HG is just a satisfier extraordinairre
17 Aug 2012, 23:27 pm
@victoriabok-149: Hear it in every forsaken shopping centre here… Drives me up the wall.
17 Aug 2012, 23:28 pm
Ok nama… Now I’m scared! Migthy bulls becomes the mighty fools…
Shucks… I’m gatvol!
17 Aug 2012, 23:28 pm
Nama
Blackie was a relo ekse apparently they gassed the mofo, deserveef nothing less
17 Aug 2012, 23:37 pm
@xtremebull-154:
I feel for you.
We had a vanner Merwe joke for a couple of years at Newlands.
It was no joke, let me tell you.
—————–
Pamela Anderson roasting the Hoff on Comedy Central at the moment.
17 Aug 2012, 23:39 pm
@Heavens Game-153:
I can still remember the original, we danced to it on weekend passes in Pta, at Upstairs at the Assembly Hotel, Jacquelines and Limelight
17 Aug 2012, 23:53 pm
@Heavens Game-137: you got a Liz Hurley / Keira Knightly banshee in your bed then your banshee is a princess amongst women
The English / Welsh got some beautiful Roses even sweet Emma Thompson, Helena Bonham Carter, Kate Beckinsale, Catherine Zeta Jones some true out of this world beauty
But some the French mesdemoiselles Sophie Marceau, Emmanuelle Béart still top the list I reckon
18 Aug 2012, 00:06 am
@Transformation-136:
you in Cape Town?. I’m in Fish Hoek.. that where I hang out.. and likely where I watch the game tomorrow.
the keo social circus not really my bag.. I did it couple times before and met some good people, but I prefer keeping low profile as the low profile person I actually am.. that way familiarity and expectation don’t land up getting to the point of contempt .. which can happen on public spheres.
If you want to meet I’m here in Fish Hoek though I don’t really eat tofu..kinda too Japanese for me.
18 Aug 2012, 01:26 am
@fitz1ella-159:
Luister. Meet me at the Olympia Cafe in Kalk Bay at 10am for brekfis. Then I’ll take you to my uncles flat up the road and well klap some perlemoen and kerrivis before the game. He’s got a kwaai view of the harbour. My kwas and I will be wearing gren and gold t shirts that say: Got Kinders?
18 Aug 2012, 01:36 am
@fitz1ella-159: yeah skop i’m down here, i mentioned tofu cos i thought that us what u like to braai or whatever… but yeah let’s link up squire.
18 Aug 2012, 03:40 am
@KeurboomPark-160:
Hallo Boom, hoe gaan dit?
Hy eetie vleis nie, ek glo ook nie vis nie
Jy moet maar vir my stuur, ek sal wat gee vir lekker Kerrievis.
Kom ons maak ‘n deal, ek sal vir jou Salm en Maple Stroop stuur dan stuur jy daai Kerrievis en lekker sout snoek van Snoekies?
18 Aug 2012, 05:53 am
@victoriabok-162:
Hoesit, Vik. Maak n plan, my blah
Maple stroop is tsappies.
18 Aug 2012, 07:46 am
keurboom het jou sker jou nou terug gevat na sy jou onner die gat geskop het?
Se haar ek en sy sal gaan kuite eet as ek weer in die kaap is ne.
18 Aug 2012, 08:22 am
@RugbyStudent-67: Ur an idiot, stop dreaming up where players are from,
Joe Petersen is bor in Vryheid, he went to high school at Greys college an so one can counter every stupid little arguement you try make, Putting Student does not automatically make you Smart, actually shows you to be a kindergarten student of rugby
18 Aug 2012, 09:44 am
@nama1-151: What about “Pote” Human…..? lol