Cheetahs conquer Bulls
17 Aug 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs deliver a commanding performance in their 32-18 victory over the Blue Bulls in Bloemfontein.
Head coach Naka Drotske will be happy with his team’s performance. They weren’t convincing against the Golden Lions last weekend, but they were very impressive in this triumph over the Bulls.
They delivered a great physical performance, which saw them dominate the collisions and breakdown battle for most parts of the match. Their forwards were instrumental in creating go-forward ball during general play, which was key in their two tries scored by lock Andries Ferreira and flank Kabamba Floors.
Wing Riaan Smit was also pivotal as he executed a flawless effort from the kicking tee, slotting all of his seven goal attempts (two conversions and five penalties).
The Bulls struggled early on in their opener against Griquas, before delivering a better second-half performance for a 30-25 comeback victory. The Pretoria union struggled again in the first stanza against the Cheetahs, but this time, there was no improvement as they were errant throughout the match.
The visitors found themselves on the back foot from the first minute, when Ferreira powered over after the Cheetahs poached possession in the opposition’s red zone. Smit added the extras.
The Bulls replied with a try via CJ Stander, with flyhalf Louis Fouche scoring the conversion and a penalty, but Smit continued to punish their ill-discipline with the boot. By the time Floors dived over for the last action of the opening 40, the Cheetahs held a 23-10 lead.
Smit helped seal the win in the second stanza, slotting two penalties, while replacement wing Nico Scheepers also converted a three-pointer from a difficult angle.
The Bulls scored their only points after the break via Stander, who completed his brace.

166 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All
17 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
Ref helped out the Bulls on that occasion,
@RugbyStudent-44: So in summary – the Currie Cup is losing its integrity because it is no longer a strength vs. strength competition.
Although its nice to see streamers after the whistle in the final in a new colour other than black and white or blue…..it really isn’t strength vs. strength. Its Super 15 squads for 2 teams and 2nd and 3rd rate players for the rest.
What really raises the value of a competition is for all teams to be on a fair footing and competitive (able to field their best sides) – another reason why the Kings inclusion in Super 15 is bogus.
CJ Stander is better than Pierre Spies…against the Cheetahs at least.
17 Aug 2012, 20:48 pm
@RugbyStudent-50: I agree on the Super 12 thing. This competition has become ludicrous. In fact if we dropped 3 teams, it would probably improve the competition as a spectacle.
17 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
CJ Stander hurt himself after high tackling the smaller Sarel Pretorius
17 Aug 2012, 20:52 pm
@RugbyStudent-55:
They don’t make them like they use to. I see Cronje has remained injury free for 10 mins
17 Aug 2012, 20:54 pm
Well done Cheetahs, excellent win against the Bulls B aka SA Schools team.
17 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
@RugbyStudent-53: The way to illustrate is by looking at the opposing scenario.
Lets say for some reason, Heyneke Meyer picks NO Sharks for the Springboks, but instead takes a few of the Lions and Cheetahs best players to make up the spaces.
So instead the Sharks play the entire Currie Cup season with this team, building continuity as they go –
15 – Riaan Viljoen, 14 – JP Pietersen, 13 – Paul Jordaan, 12 – Francois Steyn, 11 – Lwazi Mvovo, 10 – Patrick Lambie, 9 – Charl McLeod, 8 – Willem Alberts, 7 – Marcelle Coetzee, 6 – Keegan Daniel, 5 – Steven Sykes, 4 – Anton Bresler, 3 – Jannie Du Plessis, 2 – Bismark Du Plessis, 1 – Beast Mtwarira…..
Would it be fair ?
17 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
@Dusky-58: Sorry bro , Ludik at 15, he has been brilliant, Otherwise great team
17 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
@Dusky-58:
Imagine a Bulls side where most of the players come from Tswane, would that be fair?
17 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@RugbyStudent-60: Or a western province team where they all came from the Cape
17 Aug 2012, 21:03 pm
@sharks_lover-61:
Or a Sharks team with non-Free Staters..hahahaha and a New Zealand coach.
Girls can do it for themselves, Sharks have to outsource to Vrystaat…LOL
17 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
Well….without a doubt….this one of the worst Bulls teams I’ve seen play…..and I’ve been around for a long time.
What was the fuss made about their Midfield of Venter and Beyers? They’re rubbish!!
One bright light…..Jan Serfontein is busy announcing himself to the world. Couple of good runs from him after coming on…..if I was Pine Pienaar I’d be giving this kid more and more time on the field and leaving that useless Beyers riding the plank.
On the subject of coaches…..not in the least bit impressed with Pine Pienaar. The Bulls look poorly coached and totally at sea right now. This changing coaches from Super15 to Currie Cup seems like an almighty dumb move. Why on earth would you do that?
As for their flyhalf’s….well, it’s like watching the movie “Dumb ‘n Dumber”…….Fouche just doesn’t have a clue….poor decision making, aimless kicking and utter rubbish running of their backline. Lionel Cronje came on for his little cameo and proved yet again that he was an age group hero but a senior flop. I wouldn’t give him a contract if my life depended on it.
This was a relatively mediocre Cheetah’s team led by a flyhalf with serious confidence issues……yet they swept the Bulls away as if they were nothing more than a cloud of miggies on a Sunday evening round the braai…….
I see a very long year ahead for this Bulls team……and Griqua’s must be licking their lips while waiting for the second half and crack at them again….this time in Kimberley!
17 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
@RugbyStudent-62: Professional era. The argument of where players come from is silly and will only come full circle if we really had to get into it.
Regardless of whether players come from Bloem or Toronto – fact is the Currie Cup is no longer strength vs. strength. The extending Super rugby and international calendar is killing it off. I hate to say it because I have always tried to look past that – but it is unfortunately true.
17 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
@Dusky-64: The Super15 with it’s stupid “local derbies” is serving to de-value our Currie Cup. A few more years of watching the likes of Sharks Cheetah’s, Stormers and Bulls moer each other stukkend in the Super15 week after week and who will want to watch the Currie Cup?
17 Aug 2012, 21:27 pm
Pine Pienaar will drag the Bulls into a promotion-relegation match at the end of the season. He hasn’t got a clue about coaching.
17 Aug 2012, 21:29 pm
Originally from EP:
Sharks
Frans Steyn
Sibusiso Sithole
Odwa Ndungane
Lwazi Mvovo
Frans Steyn
Tim Whitehead
Conrad Hoffman (Worcester – for Cape Town people that’s Eastern Cape)
Keegan Daniel
Ryan Kankowski
Steven Sykes
Free State
Rocco Jansen
Johan Goosen
Ashely Johnson
WP Nel (Northern Cape)
Stormers
Joe Pietersen
Siya Kolisi
What would happen if guys like these stay in EP?
17 Aug 2012, 21:31 pm
@Lang Giel-66:
Pine Pienaar was shouting like a fan. Why doesn’t he just stand on the field and shout.
17 Aug 2012, 21:37 pm
@CT Shark-65:
It’s becoming total overkill as far as TV viewership is concerned. There is just no interest in the Currie Cup at the moment – even with the strength vs strength line-up. It might pick up a bit as the comp gathers momentum. The Currie Cup is slowly but surely becoming Super Rugby’s ugly sister.
And to think thar SARU in their wisdom sanctioned this – just as they sanctioned the Kings grand entry in Super Rugby.
No one really noticed this state of affairs happening last year because they were shielded by the up coming World Cup.
Talk about being blinded by the light.
17 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
@I am a stormer-69:
What would work is if they had a Super 15 competition but each half is only 20 mins. Like a 20/20 rugby competition. That would draw the crowd. That coupled with more sexy dancers, fireworks and explosives.
17 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
poor Bulletjies they going in turbo reverse at a rate of knots like a runaway steam train in reverse gear. Don’t have a faintly foggy fragmented clue in the world which way is up or down right about now..
Don’t Johann Sadie look like a real prat suddenly, jumping the WP ship only to be left out in the cold in Bulletjies country.. that’s what mercenary non allegiance brings you, Bulls bought so many nonentities they dunno which one is rubbish and which one is class..
17 Aug 2012, 21:45 pm
Hilarious! The pathetic Bulls got arse-raped by a very average Cheetahs team. Where are all the grootbek Bulls supporters?
17 Aug 2012, 21:47 pm
@fitz1ella-71: @fitz1ella-71:
The Bulls are making the pathetic Stormers management team who lets talent go every year look good.
17 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
Fouche should go back to FB
Serfontein and Venter should start. Sadie should play on the wing
They gonna have to blood Pollard straight out of school because they got no other decent fly half right now.
Pretorius is still a first class No.9 and should have been earmarked by Meyer as stand in for Hougaard, he was commanding the troops from the Cheetahs throughout and the real general at back of scrum. Very quick and decisive service and lets his players know exactly which way the next move gonna go, switching around between open and blind side and forwards and backs, he keeps the momentum on the hop. something both Pienaar and Hougaard can learn a hell of a lot from this guy, he would do the Bok jersey proud, and he looks far happier back in a Cheetahs jersey instead of that powder puff NSW goddamn washed out one.
17 Aug 2012, 21:49 pm
@I am a stormer-69:
ja, true.. sad in a way because it is something like 120 years of tradition going down the drain.But the times they are a changin as Bob has said.
17 Aug 2012, 21:53 pm
@Robzim-75:
Hi Rob
17 Aug 2012, 21:55 pm
Super Rugby as it was has been diluted and the product is slowly losing it value
Propose: Super 10
Saders
Chiefs
Canes
Otago
Sharks
Bulls
Stormers
Reds
Brumbies
Tahs
Div 2:
Blues
Rebels
Force
Kings
Lions
Argentinian Team
Pacific Island Team
Japanese Champions
2 teams relegated,2 teams go up(automatic)
1 team promotion/relegation battle
17 Aug 2012, 21:57 pm
You catch Goosen sitting in the stands watching Sias tee up for a 53 mt kick which lands almost on the 22.., Goosen’s kick would have sailed through the uprights from 53 mts …. still climbing..
@RugbyStudent-73: mercenary backroom trading got its drawbacks.. it don’t always work out the way the carrot get dangled.. sometimes it turns out to be a turnip instead… just ask Johann Sadie how sweet the bulletjies brandy and coke tastes after he was gaaning aan about how much more ‘professional’ things are run at Bulls when he first signed up, now he’s looking for a transfer out of Tswane as fast as you can say Pine Pienaar pines for Plumtrees pruime
17 Aug 2012, 21:58 pm
@carol-76:
Hi, what is the feedback from Lords?
Good vibe?
17 Aug 2012, 22:00 pm
@fitz1ella-78:
I hope you have watched the WP versus Free State under 21 game.
Tim Swiel and Pat Howard are the future – no need to worry about losing Pollard, Sadie etc.. Howard was a very good steal from the Sharks.. future bok for sure.
17 Aug 2012, 22:01 pm
@Robzim-79:
Hi, they are not back yet!
I hear your boys are 101 runs ahead of us.
A day at Lords is quite exhausting…….Lots of snoozing and boozing
17 Aug 2012, 22:03 pm
@fitz1ella-78:
A wide awake cameraman. I saw that. And the smile on Goosen’s face.
17 Aug 2012, 22:05 pm
@carol-81:
Not back yet??
Are you worried?
London can be dangerous place after some snoozing and especially some boozing
17 Aug 2012, 22:08 pm
@Robzim-80: Nope didn’t see it.. only saw last 35 minutes of this game but it looked like Cheetahs were all over Bulls like a rash and Bulls supposed to have so much strength in depth.. I didn’t see none of that.
Bulls stars are
Arno Botha,
Jan Serfontein
thats about it…
and perhaps Francoise Venter though he looked scrappy today with no cohesion coming from Fouche or Cronje
Bulls have lost their way bad and its showing..
17 Aug 2012, 22:09 pm
@carol-81:
Boozing at Lords hahaha
A few years ago I met the young lass – a Brit – at a braai in Cape Town who streaked at Lords a few years.
It’s just that some people like to take their clothes off after a couple of drinks. More boozing less snoozing.
17 Aug 2012, 22:13 pm
@I am a stormer-82: That’s the difference between a fly half who was born to be one and another who reckons he’s been hard done by…
————–
I reckon Kings could take this Bulls CC team out.. Saru dropped the wrong team.. Lions are taking shape while Bulls are falling apart.. Lions would smack this Bulls outfit silly.. and Kings would probably give them a go…
will be a mighty laugh if Kings put Bulls out the S15 at the relegation play off next year.
17 Aug 2012, 22:14 pm
@Robzim-83:
Worried, nahhhh…. 4 blokes, of a ‘certain age’ in London.
Dressed for a day at Lords
What could go wrong?
17 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
Now that Heyneke Meyer is gone from the Bulls, Frans Ludeke and Pine Pienaar have showed the ordinary coaches that they are.
Its funny that Allistair Coetzee is given no grace, yet in SA Rugby, coaches like Frans Ludeke (who couldn’t buy a win at the Lions) gets a job at the Bulls, Naka Drotske still has his job and two white foreigners are chosen to coach our sides.
17 Aug 2012, 22:16 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
The Kings currently…no. The Kings with a R50 million rand sponsorship boost…yeah, I think so.
17 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
@I am a stormer-85:
Well we British are not quite as dull as we like to paint ourselves sometimes.
I tend to sing and dance when I am a bit squiffy, never feel the urge to strip off, but you never know!!
Someone might score 6 sixes in an over and I might go a bit mad!!
17 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
@I am a stormer-85:
At least the streakers at Lords and SCG usually have “something to look at”.
In contrast to our own branna and coke streaker who once tackled FC Smith at Bloem while only dressed in Kovsies rugby socks. It was quite a good tackle though and probably cost WP the match.
But that is South Africa
17 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
these dumbfck bonehead brawn over brains mommies boys aint got no clue how to handle the heat since Jakey Fakeys favourites like FDP and Matfield gone swanning off in la la land. these lamentable laager fcks aint got no clue and when WP play them they gonna teach these fcks a thing or two
17 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
Alister Coetsee is a poor coach who been drilled by Plumtree three times in succession for no other reason but pure deer in the headlights incapacity….
SA don’t have decent coaches they are WAY too cowardly and conservative and cannot see the wood for the tree stumps.. even our WC winning side needed an Aussie to set it back on track after the head coach was lost at sea so bad he didn’t know north from south or east from west…
Naka Drotske is one of the most wide awake SA coaches going right now.. that tells you how smart Saffa coaches actually are.
17 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
I don’t quite think it’s going to work out that way. The Kings are going to struggle big time particularly as SARU – in their wisdom – have given them one solitary year to prove themselves.
No player worth his salt is going to sign a 1 year contract with the Kings. Unless they are truly desparate.
The Kings will replace the Lions as the bottom dwellers in Super Rugby.
17 Aug 2012, 22:21 pm
@carol-87:
Dont underestimate them.
They are from the cotswolds after all.
Might have learnt some tricks from new “cotswoldian” Shane W
17 Aug 2012, 22:22 pm
@fitz1ella-93: thats right, SA coaches are thick as fckn planks
17 Aug 2012, 22:24 pm
@Robzim-95:
I am sure we will bump into Shane Warne sooner rather than later, just hope I do not laugh at his rather strange taut skin and funny hairdo!
17 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@fitz1ella-86:
> will be a mighty laugh if Kings put Bulls out the S15 at the relegation play off next year
How exactly is that going to happen?
With all our Boks back?
Nie sommer nie
Daar’s ‘n moerse verskil tussen ons Currie Cup span en die S15
Die Staat en die Lions het omtrent geen Bokke nie so hulle gebruik al die verloorwedstyde in die S15 as voorbereiding vir die CC
Dis hoekom hulle samespel so goed is
O ja en as ek reg onthou het julle julle eerste wedstryd laasweek al verloor?
17 Aug 2012, 22:34 pm
@fitz1ella-93:
I must admit with ball in hand the Cheetahs looked impressive. But they do every year. The way they cross the gain line at ease and seem to have acres of space to move in is impressive. Not sure what it is – Grey College, the biltong, years on the practice field cos there’s vokkol else to do – I dunno.
There is always a support runner who knows where to position himself. SA rugby can learn from Cheetahs backline play. And I’m talking about Super Rugby not just today’s performance.
And without Goosen.
17 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@carol-97:
I dont blame him for pulling out all the tricks.
Liz is HOT.
My favourite cotswoldian used to be the ox
I missed him when Roger and Pete did the final gig at the Olympics closing ceremony party
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 » Show All