Cheetahs conquer Bulls
17 Aug 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs deliver a commanding performance in their 32-18 victory over the Blue Bulls in Bloemfontein.
Head coach Naka Drotske will be happy with his team’s performance. They weren’t convincing against the Golden Lions last weekend, but they were very impressive in this triumph over the Bulls.
They delivered a great physical performance, which saw them dominate the collisions and breakdown battle for most parts of the match. Their forwards were instrumental in creating go-forward ball during general play, which was key in their two tries scored by lock Andries Ferreira and flank Kabamba Floors.
Wing Riaan Smit was also pivotal as he executed a flawless effort from the kicking tee, slotting all of his seven goal attempts (two conversions and five penalties).
The Bulls struggled early on in their opener against Griquas, before delivering a better second-half performance for a 30-25 comeback victory. The Pretoria union struggled again in the first stanza against the Cheetahs, but this time, there was no improvement as they were errant throughout the match.
The visitors found themselves on the back foot from the first minute, when Ferreira powered over after the Cheetahs poached possession in the opposition’s red zone. Smit added the extras.
The Bulls replied with a try via CJ Stander, with flyhalf Louis Fouche scoring the conversion and a penalty, but Smit continued to punish their ill-discipline with the boot. By the time Floors dived over for the last action of the opening 40, the Cheetahs held a 23-10 lead.
Smit helped seal the win in the second stanza, slotting two penalties, while replacement wing Nico Scheepers also converted a three-pointer from a difficult angle.
The Bulls scored their only points after the break via Stander, who completed his brace.

166 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
17 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@I am a stormer-94: more than likely.. but don’t count on them rolling over and playing dead just yet.. that whole saga by Saru is a dead end street for all concerned.. no winners in this scenario.. neither Lions nor Kings come out smiling.. and somebody going down at the end of 2013 so Watson will have to buy some stock to trade with seeing Sharks and Bulls holding most the EP talent stock and one or 2 at WP right now.
@Humphrey-96: SA coaches are thicker than 2 planks on top of 2 bricks .. I ain’t seen one really wide awake SA coach yet.. perhaps a period when Mallet was riding high on Carel Dup’s team and aided by Solomons through 97-98. that was about the only time SA coaching shone.. and when Christie won the WC solo without the aid of an Aussie holding his shivering handies.
Even the heights of 07 were as a result of Australian input through Louden, Lane, Campese and Jones…
17 Aug 2012, 22:37 pm
@Humphrey-96:
Pine isn’t exactly a rocket scientist
And the last face you’d ever want to see before a brain surgery in Frans Ludeke’s…
17 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
@RugbyStudent-67:
Is the other Frans Steyn a centre or a fullback?
17 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@Robzim-100:
Liz is very ‘ordinary’, trust me….!! Make up and high heels really help, I saw her in her wellies.
The ‘Ox, what Entwhistle?
17 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
Isn’t it going to be good with Keegan in the Lions or Pumas dens tomorrow, along with his Sharks mukkas, Alberts and Coetzee doing the job… Fark me, make him Cappie.
17 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@victoriabok-102:
or Straueli’s….
I rather slash my wrists.
17 Aug 2012, 22:44 pm
@Heavens Game-105:
Tomorrow we’re on the same side.
Get with the programme!!
17 Aug 2012, 22:45 pm
@I am a stormer-107: Of course, bru… and you should feel lucky that there’s some dynamite in Green and Gold…
17 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
Kappie Keegan… Go my boy!
17 Aug 2012, 22:48 pm
Wow pine pienaar? Enlight me on his coaching history please!!!
And the players! Wtf? We might aswell start building now so we have 2 blood a new right wing cos akona is over his time now… I know he is the most solid player in the team but that is all!!! Solid!
But ya… Once a bull always a bull( putting my hands on my head with a deep sigh)
17 Aug 2012, 22:49 pm
Nope hurley was a beauty no doubt
but on other matters old Big Hit one fkn knowledgable engelse about tge rugby / I feel myself agreeing with virtually every post -tho he seems to rate heyneken for picking all the sharks – itsca bitclike puma and el presidenti -maal al die sharks bokke – oh yeah they already are – frontrow and backrow.
17 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@Heavens Game-108:
Already organised for Loftus 28 Sept and Soccer City 6 Oct.
Ain’t like great!
17 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@I am a stormer-112:
like = life but still like it.
17 Aug 2012, 22:51 pm
So I hear rumors that WP is trying to sign Rhodes. Screw the Lions and then for good measure take their players too. What a fucked up union that turn out to be, but the wheel turns and from what we hearing from the Cape it’s turning nicely. No wonder there is no decent cup in that cabinet…. clowns.
17 Aug 2012, 22:51 pm
@cab-111: Ja… Sharks for Boks… Dynamite in Big Green and Gold packages
17 Aug 2012, 22:52 pm
@carol-104:
Ja, Entwistle it is… the greatest bassist ever.
And Liz is a moerse beaut- wellies or te not.
17 Aug 2012, 22:53 pm
@I am a stormer-112: Soccer city might be farken damngood… Might have an organize myself there.
17 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
HG – WTF daniel going to do v Argie pac. – nah actual Daniel is a good choice but for bench – they shoulda picked kolisi
17 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
@fitz1ella-74:
On Sarel Pretorius: “Very quick and decisive service and lets his players know exactly which way the next move gonna go, switching around between open and blind side and forwards and backs, he keeps the momentum on the hop.”
Great description of his game tonight Skop. If only WP/Stormers can get a SH with that qualities, we’ll start to win cups,I think.
17 Aug 2012, 22:56 pm
@Robzim-116: Uh uh… aikona… Flea… Coffee shop
17 Aug 2012, 22:56 pm
@I am a stormer-99: Cheetahs aren’t only about back line play.. they smashed the Bulls in the collisions and went storming through the gain line a couple times with their big ball carries Viljoen and Vd Walt sometimes 2 up with a prop or lock and a loosie going into contact together in tandem with a quick release off load in the tackle and with live wire Pretorius running the show from the pick and go breakdown.
If Cheetahs had the depth that Bulls or Sharks possess they’d be a force in the S15
17 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@cab-118: Farkoff man… Best thing that could happen to the Boks now is make Keegan Cappie and then bring Jordaan at 13… Then we see farken explosions of black and white grandeur in Green and Gold
17 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@Robzim-91:
Good old day’s he tackled the WP lock about to score, was it FC Smit?
WP, Free State and Northern Tvl were level with log points
We played Free State the following Saturday and WP the Tuesday, I think Uli scored three tries against WP, and won the 1991 final against Tvl
17 Aug 2012, 22:59 pm
@Robzim-116:
The Who – that’s who.
There’a a fairly new radio staion in this neck of the woods – 93.8.
They have no play list and a few old hands who know their music. Driving listening to The Who, Led Zep, Deep Purple gives driving a different purpose.
I hope they go national at some stage.
17 Aug 2012, 23:00 pm
@Heavens Game-117:
Don’t dilly dally – do it today on computicket.com
17 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
Keegan cappie?! are u fkn mal that piesang kop plays on pure adrenalin – geen grey matter there – nothing wrong but he pigmy and no capitano – he’s just got to go ape .. Still too light I reckon but moerse blitzvinnig – I rather have kolisi mowing the argies down
17 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
@I am a stormer-125: I want box… Getting into the SA entitlement thing….
17 Aug 2012, 23:03 pm
@cab-126: Keegan mows better than Kolisi ever dreamed, cuzzie… And then the offloads… Schweet.
Keegan = courage = Bok Cappie…
You know it makes sense… Soutie Cappie = Bok Success
17 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
@Heavens Game-127:
I think the expensive ones are already gone.
You might have to make friends with some refugee type okes at some stage….
They’ll be happy to entertain you
17 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
Cheetahs too light joker drotske about 10 steps behind Mitchell if u want to play that expansive game – but it’s also not the optimal as much as he likes to lees sun tsu,s art of die poephol – he every really good side needs steel – and only side with that are stormers and sharks bit too little
17 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
If Liz Hurley is ordinary I love to see what true beauty is
Liz Hurley was outright bloody gorgeous last time I slapped eyes on her.. was a while back though must admit.
Some Engelse vroutjies can be very beautiful.. Liz Taylor.. Lis Hurley… all the Dizzy Lizzies
Daniel is too small for Bok 8th man.. ask Jake the Fake he’ll tell you so.. even though he now is a full on fetcher convert with Pocock and Hooper both Luke Watson wannabe’s up Jakeys street.. just like Daniel another Luke Watson clone.. the same the Sharkshits booted to Cape Town because he was just too damn good for John Boy Smittiekins when Sharks were doing the beeswax before their 2007 blow out.
17 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
@Heavens Game-128: And then we got the Wrecking Ball…
And Bone Collector…
All Black and White in Green and Gold…. Fark I’m almost feeling sorry for the Argies.
17 Aug 2012, 23:08 pm
@I am a stormer-129: I WANT box… I will GET box… At the Kalabash for Boks vs ABs… No farken doubt….
I hope
17 Aug 2012, 23:09 pm
@fitz1ella-131:
I’d love to slap Liz Hurley…….
17 Aug 2012, 23:10 pm
@fitz1ella-131: Three words… Luke the Puke… A bad fit for proud and honourable Black and White… Keegan the King Cappie of dynamite… and maybe Green and Gold…. Mark this post for the “I told you so’s in the future”….
17 Aug 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-131: hi skop…how about tofu sarmies tomorrow before the bok game,u pick the place?
17 Aug 2012, 23:12 pm
@fitz1ella-131: Liz Hurley and that Keira Knightly…. A younger, more tame version of mine own banshee.
17 Aug 2012, 23:13 pm
@Heavens Game-133:
Got taxis organised.
Got the shebeen organised – zamalek x plenty – yes please.
Got the tickets organised.
It promises to be a party – I missed out last year. But then Sharks poepel missed a crucial tackle – probably just as well, I suppose.
128 mate keegan runs better than kolisi – in fact he’s lightning – but he’s no test forward unless u got a pack hanpicked around him which is different to the light pack picked for sat – IRS only tge argies but 2 blitzfoeye in backrow is sane kak tactic plum employed with kanko until the Albets value shows – sharks are alberts, beast, Bismarck – that where their value starts and ends – maybe JP too.
@Heavens Game-137: Dirty, naughty English Roses…
@Heavens Game-132:
And then Tarzan Potgieter….
17 Aug 2012, 23:16 pm
@I am a stormer-138: “Sharks poepel”… WTF?
As for Zamalek…. Terrible beer…. Terrible, I tell ya… Farke me if that excuse forpiss ever got any “international” awards as proclaimed on every draught machine dispensing that farken terrible stuff
17 Aug 2012, 23:17 pm
Boks should have gone
Forwards
Coetsee
Kolisi
Bekker
Etsebeth
Cilliers
Bismark
Beast
Greyling, Fourie, Du Plessis, Kruger, Daniel
Backs
W. Le Roux
Engelbrecht
De Villiers
Steyn
Habana
Jantjies
Hougaard
Pienaar, Lambie
17 Aug 2012, 23:17 pm
@Heavens Game-137:
Wow, really?
17 Aug 2012, 23:18 pm
@victoriabok-141: Ja… Tarzan Boy… Oowa… Oowa, Oowa, Oowa, Oowa… Ooowa
17 Aug 2012, 23:19 pm
@victoriabok-144: Its that smirky, farken naughty English smile… Does me in everytime
17 Aug 2012, 23:20 pm
@Heavens Game-142:
When in Rome………
But beer comes in quarts there – even Amstel — and it makes sense not looking for a barman every 10 minutes.
17 Aug 2012, 23:22 pm
@Heavens Game-146:
How did you hook a girl like that?
Do you have hidden talents we don’t know of?
Or a very LARGE wallet?
17 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
@Heavens Game-145:
Been to Loftus lately?
There is an Afrikaans song on that tune, you’ll probably hear it there
17 Aug 2012, 23:23 pm
@I am a stormer-147: Yeah… maybe… Nothing wrong with “bombers”… but fark me if I drink that stuff.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All