KeoTV: Bekker needs a biggie
17 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE fear that if Andries Bekker doesn’t deliver in the Rugby Championship his Test career will never reach the heights it can.
23 May 2013
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. The others are Gio Aplon, Trevor Nyakane, JJ Engelbrecht, Lionel Mapoe, Wiehahn Herbst and Demetri Catrakilis. The group of players will assemble in Durban for the second training camp of the year, before the final squad for the Incoming Tours is selected. Players not considered due to injury include: JP Pietersen, Jaco Taute, Frans Steyn, Johan Goosen, Duane Vermeulen, Pat Cilliers and Frans Malherbe. ... Read Article24 May 2013
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8m3yMKuy8yM Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article17 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE fear that if Andries Bekker doesn’t deliver in the Rugby Championship his Test career will never reach the heights it can.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly KEOtv offering, is picking the Bulls in Durban and another Stormers shambles in Cape Town. Read More
Willie le Roux and Lappies Labuschagne have finally been rewarded with spots in the Springbok training group. They are two of eight that are first timers in Springbok training groups this year. Read More

49 Comments
17 Aug 2012, 16:13 pm
Quick question who’s the next best after Bekker and Kruger? What happens if both get injured?
17 Aug 2012, 16:15 pm
A lot of noise about such a highly injuries prone lock
The Argies are mean and strong, Bekker will find the going too tough for his liking
Competition wise the Test is anon-event if the respected betting house Laderbrokes put the Boks at 1:9, and that’s not because of the combined might of Mvovo, Kirchner, Habana and the Beat, more likely inspite of?
17 Aug 2012, 16:20 pm
@Jeez-1:
PSdT?
17 Aug 2012, 16:48 pm
@TooMuchRugby-3: Jeez he’s still a baby.
17 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
Agggggggg Ryan you can darem talk kuk sometimes and act as if you know eeeeeverything about rugby.,
Matfield wasnt Matfield straight away, Bakkies wasnt Bakkies, Danie wasnt Danie and so on and so on.
Give the oke a chance, he will still be awesome
17 Aug 2012, 19:46 pm
Bekker has been mostly WP hype so far, I can’t recall a single standout test performance from him. He’s 29 this year and injury-prone, time’s running out.
17 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
The Stade Francais lock, what’s his name…Mostert, only has a couple of caps but he went hard at the opposition and came out in credit. Made more of an impression imo than Bekker ever has.
17 Aug 2012, 20:26 pm
@Big Hit-7: Agreed. But there was a time, before he chronically injured his back, that Bekker looked like he would be something special – all of Matfield’s lineout prowess but much more inclined to get involved in general play. Admittedly that was in Super Rugby, but still. In any case, his back is screwed now and he isn’t what he once was. Sad. Bring on Mostert.
17 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
Ke0 & vrede have the answer : convert Luke Watson into a lock
17 Aug 2012, 21:53 pm
Rest in peace to the 34 protesters executed yesterday by the so called police force making an appearance yesterday as an extra-judicial assassination unit deployed by Big Capital to forcefully crush a labour dispute in favour of profits & the share price. May Hell descend upon the “government” & their union gofers , Big Capital & their media whores for putting a price on the life of a man by virtue of the colour of his skin. The Struggle Continue
17 Aug 2012, 22:59 pm
@viewer-10: The police influence incentive has a notion, but strictly a notion, however, the fact that the platinum bearing is experiencing such acute issues makes one pause.
17 Aug 2012, 23:57 pm
@11 mpundulu, indeed I’m going further than that & suggesting that the men were executed to end the protest action, with the police acting as agents of the mine bosses & the wider industry & that they are expendable because they are Black. Imagine the reaction by sectors of the population, the overseas based interests that bankroll the likes of the Democratic Alliance, the media whores, the fascist Afriforum, Solidarity, Lead SA, Business Unity SA, the FW de Klerk Foundation etcetera if just 1 of the deceased was white, let alone 34 white men executed? Remember most of the killers are Black; just imagine the reaction.. But you & I know that will never happen in this country
18 Aug 2012, 06:15 am
@viewer-12: shoo bud, those are some serious claims. No doubt a bad day in the life of SA. Indeed the police were acting on instruction but do I not understand correctly that this came directly from the ‘commander in chief’. This government is looking more and more like the pervious one sad to say. But yes, the mining houses have a lot to answer ofr.
18 Aug 2012, 07:20 am
@viewer-12:
You clearly have no idea about neither the mining industry, the mining FPO markets, nor your own countries ludicrous union wars!
And investors are walking out of RSA in their droves… one does not even get this type of sovereign risk in the darkest pits of Africa yet there it is in modern day South Africa.
This incident had everything to do with just another union faction war… guess who runs them in your country?
This incident had further everything to do with a poorly trained and staffed police force… guess who runs them in your country?
This incident is a further nail in the RSA mining sector from an international investing point… Gold has for long been on a downward spiral… and this is the only commodity where your country was at the top of it’s game… if you think the mining bosses orchestrated this to smash their share price, capitlisation and watch as international hedge funds loaded up on their short-sells… you clearly have no ******* clue (which is evident)…
Delusion at it finest!
18 Aug 2012, 07:22 am
@viewer-12: shame man, it was black police, under a black govt, with a black commander 20 years after apartheid ended and yet you found a way to point a finger at any white organisation you could.
thats pathetic.
its people like you who *** our country up, using tragedy to feed your hate.
you make me sick.
18 Aug 2012, 08:09 am
@ bryce 14
You have only one investor: China. Your greatest resource is people, which they do not need. Your economy is a time bomb. And the fundamentalists still owe you one for your role as George Bush’s lapdog. Good luck
18 Aug 2012, 08:26 am
@bryce_in_oz-14:
“investors are walking out of RSA in their droves”?
“Gold has for long been on a downward spiral”?
Hmmm, that’s news to me.
18 Aug 2012, 08:59 am
Guys wot u think bout end of year tour? Do we blood new stock/prepare for ife beyond 2012?
Eoyt team:
15-taute
14-basson/pietersen
13-engelbrecht
12-fsteyn
11-mvovo
10-goosen
9-hougaard
8-vermeulen
7-coetsee
6-kolisi
5-kruger
4-etzebeth
3-cilliers/oosthuizen
2-ralepelle
1-mtawarira
16-du plessis
17-cilliers/oosthuizen
18-bekker
19-spies/alberts
20-van zyl
21-lambie
22-jordaan
Are y guys with me on this?
18 Aug 2012, 09:16 am
Guys Becker IS a quality player and WILL be an imposing force even vs AUS and NZ. Agreed, his time is short with that spine of his – but if he chooses – for me he’s got that bok jersey nailed until his body gives in
18 Aug 2012, 09:17 am
@18 extremebull…..
If u making a team for the future… lambie has to be starting
18 Aug 2012, 09:40 am
@outrightrugby 20
Plum is talking bout moving lambie permanently to flyhalf as of from next year… You reckon lambie should start ahead of goosen mate? If so then we agree to disagree but for me lambie’s utility value will always make of him a perfect impact player covering 10-12-15 axis… According 2 myself that is u may differ… As of taute I’m a great admirer of him mate and as a bullsfan I’d give him the 15 jearsey any givin day today included mate!!!
18 Aug 2012, 09:47 am
Lambie, Steyn, Jordaan… The 10-12-13 for the future…. Sharkies all, meaning that they actually got some brains.
18 Aug 2012, 09:52 am
@seamus-16:
By ‘me’ are you referring to Australia… the world’s biggest producer and supplier of Iron Ore in the world?
The country that owns 40% of the world’s Uranium as BRIC increase their quest for clean nuclear power over the infinite polluting Coal?
The country that is now the second highest producer of Gold in the world as RSA slips down the world list with their uber-deep finite mines, talk of nationalism, ludicrous BEE % hand-outs, sovereign risk and their major companies floating in alternate markets and moving off-shore?
@Heavens Game-17:
I’m not talking Gold Price mate… it’s been a bonza investment/ trading vehicle the past few years for my company.
But this is no pissing contest… it’s a quick PK for the above douche-bag ‘Viewer’…
18 Aug 2012, 09:56 am
@Heavens Game-22:
Sharks are looking very good for next year… and will look better with Cilliers back… one or two of the Lions Junior Bok locks and Taute…
18 Aug 2012, 10:06 am
@bryce_in_oz-24: Having Cilliers back will be excellent. Not so enamoured as many others are with Taute but he is worth a shout. However he might not make the side with Ludik and Viljoen in the mix playing good rugga.
18 Aug 2012, 10:11 am
@Heavens Game-25: Get Pienaar back and the Sharks backs for next year will look like:
9 Pienaar
10 Lambie
11 Mvovo
12 Steyn
13 Jordaan
14 JPP
15 Ludik
Backup:
McLeod
Whitehead
Viljoen
Reinach
Sithole
Not too shabby.
18 Aug 2012, 10:23 am
At heavens games 22 and 26
I’m clean jealous of ur studded backline(sad face hanging)….
I’d prefer taute to us please… I’m dreaming of a bullsbackline consisting of:
15-taute
14-mapoe
13-engelbrecht
12-venter/serfontein
11-basson
10-pollard/cronje
9-hougaard
I’m wishing on a star
18 Aug 2012, 10:39 am
@viewer-10: I forget……when did Keo turn into a political blog site?
18 Aug 2012, 10:44 am
@xtremebull-18: I like the team….but I don’t JJ at all as a center……both Whithead and Jordaan are WAY better than him……and in a season Serfontein will be making you say……”JJ who”?
18 Aug 2012, 10:48 am
@Heavens Game-25:
Cilliers IMO is a slightly (and only just so far as he needs to prove himself) improved version of Deon Carstens… and what an asset and career he has had in a world where TH/LH hybrids are more valuable than ever…
18 Aug 2012, 10:50 am
@xtremebull-27: I don’t see the hype around Venter? Watching him last night he looked out of sorts and lost…..Beyers looked even worse.
At this stage I’m a big fan of JJ at center….but he does show sparks of potential. I watched all the Junior World Cup games down here in CT…..and I have to say that I’m in AWE of Jan Serfontein!! I think this is name that is going to become household with the Boks very shortly!!
I also don’t think Hougie is a starting scrummie anymore….I think Vermaak is far better than him……those seasons out on the wing have messed him up.
Cronje is rubbish and I wouldn’t have him in your side if you paid me…..the Bulls need Pollard and they need him quickly!! Fouche and Cronje are 3rd rate…..
18 Aug 2012, 10:52 am
@bryce_in_oz-30: To be honest I’ve NEVER rated Cilliers….and I’m a died in the wool Sharks supporter. I have no idea what he’s doing in the Bok side and my fear is that if HM uses him against the AB’s he’s going to folded double and spat out on the sideline.
18 Aug 2012, 10:54 am
@CT Shark-29:
JJ’s prefered position is wing where he was great for WP last season… Sadie’s injuries kept him at 13 for the Bull’s…
I guess we will see how he goes as HM rates him… but the Bok’s are starting to accumulate a few to many wings (yet no real 12 if Franny is injured)… Habana, JPP, Mvovu, Basson, Aplon, JJ, arguably Hougaard… and then there is Willie Le Roux and so on…
18 Aug 2012, 11:07 am
I think serfontein is a prospect for the future but him and small-smith need 2 be the best at age group first and then take the step-up(if we culd keep hold of them)…regarding jj I’d prefer him at 13 with a wingman as a option… Pollard is the same with serfontein/small-smith… They will b the 10-12-13 axis at age group with kriel at 15… Don’t u think that bodes well for the future of bullsrugby….
18 Aug 2012, 11:11 am
@bryce_in_oz-33: I don see JJ as Bok material…..and certainly not at center.
Not sure what you mean when when you no real 12 if Frans is injured? Whitehead was a superb 12 during the Super15 and in fact I believe possesses better distribution skills than Frans….who can be a bit of a ball hog at times.
Willie Le Roux will never make it on the international stage….I honestly think he’s wasted at wing and fullback…..I think he’d make a wonderful attacking 10 for Stormers instead of the 1 dimensional Grant. Le Roux has superb distribution skills and attacks the gain line really well…..if I was a Stormers administrator…..I’d be gunning for Le Roux…..but WP Rugby can’t even hold onto their own players…..let alone make some intelligent purchases. LOL
18 Aug 2012, 11:15 am
@xtremebull-34: It certainly does……as I said I watched all the Junior Boks World Cup games…..and Small-Smith and Serfontein were the best centers on show during the entire world cup.
I was super unimpressed with Tony Jantjies….and Pollard played him right out of the side. If you think that these kids haven’t even finished growing yet….and are still to become bigger and stronger…..WOW……it augurs well for both Bulls and Bok rugby!!
Exciting times ahead……
18 Aug 2012, 11:17 am
@CT Shark-35: Better distribution skills than Frans…?
Aikona
18 Aug 2012, 11:19 am
@CT Shark-32:
Yep I’m kinda in the same book mate on Cilliers… I think it’s more of an indication of how little there is to select at TH in RSA…
@CT Shark-35:
Again it’s difficult to argue that WLR is not exciting… but then again he reminds me of that other Free-stater Burger but to his credit… more rounded so far… and not ‘too scared’ to tackle…
18 Aug 2012, 11:21 am
@bryce_in_oz-30: Sharks letting Cilliers go was a mistake… The Michaelhouse Old boy must get back home in Black and White and fight it out with Doc DuP for the 3 position.
18 Aug 2012, 11:28 am
@Heavens Game-39:
Yeah they had to though… at that time they had Beast, Smit, Carstens, JDP and Cilliers was injured with a dodgy knee for all that time…
18 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@ct sharks and heaven 35 and 37-Jip distribution is one of whiteheads biggest let alone main assets as a player… Its gonna be sad 2 see him on the bench from next year but frans at the moment is the sharks/boks go to man at 12…
And if we lucky enough long term successor 2 fransie need 2 be serfontein… Bare in mind frans is 25 and serfontein 19… He can learn quite enough….
Our loosies stock is exciting as well… Arno botha, marcell coetzee, siamthanda kolisi, pieter steph-du toit ,etzebeth(already a bok)… I’m just searching for a future captain and an exciting hooker aged 19-21 then I think we will conquer the test arena.
18 Aug 2012, 11:34 am
@xtremebull-41:
PSD is more a lock. as is Eben… you’ve got me on hooker as I have not seen anyone yet in that U20 team (but BDP and Strauss are still young)… and yes on captain although the U20 Bok captain showed huge promise in every respect…
http://www.ruggaworld.com/2012/08/18/australia-v-all-blacks-2/comment-page-1/#comment-495888
For rugby only commentary…
18 Aug 2012, 11:41 am
@CT Shark-35: willie le roux played for the Stormers “franchise partners” Boland last year @ fullback & flyhalf, scored 23 tries & was nominated for First Div player of the year, yet AC & co ignored him completely! imo will is much better than anything they have @ the Stormers – van aswegen, francis etc.
@bryce: willie le roux was @ the top of the “missed tackle” stats, you of all people should know that!
18 Aug 2012, 11:53 am
@Transformation-43: So agree with you….but then WP Rugby has never been known for anything vaguely relating to intelligence. Arrogance…..absolutely…..intelligence…..never! lol
However……with the putrid coaching of AC & Fleckie…..how long would it take WP to turn Willie into just another one dimensional defensive moron…..and destroy all his attacking flair and capabilities?
18 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@xtremebull-41: Captain and hooker are some difficult questions…..and I don’t have answers for ya.
I’ve not seen a single youngster in the hooker berth that’s been any inspiration so far…..and those playing Super12 or Currie Cup are just decent….nothing more. Burden does seem to have some spark to him…..but he’s already 27…..so not one really for the future.
As for captain…..I’m very interested to see how Keegan Daniel performs today. If he comes through with flying colors could he take over the mantle of Bok captain? He’s certainly worn it well and led by example for the Sharks……can he do the same for the Boks?
Who knows…..but we’ll find out soon enough……can’t wait!!! Cannot!!!
18 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@CT Shark-44:
In Tim Swiel the WP rugby has a flyhalf who already makes WillieLe Roux look like a novice. Lets see how that one turns out… and hold thumbs they don’t destroy his attacking flair.
18 Aug 2012, 13:03 pm
@Robzim-46: Been keeping an eye on Tim Swiel…..he looks really good….but as one of the other blogger so rightly pointed out…the Currie Cup and Super15 are littered with age group hero’s who couldn’t make the step up to senior rugby.
I watch with anticipation and hope for Tim Swiel…..
18 Aug 2012, 13:35 pm
@ct shark 45- keegan is very underated as a player and 4 him 2 b captain of the national side? I reckon he have 2 establish himself as a certain starter for the boks…. Certain starters in they positions is beast, bissie, alberts, burger(jip I believe heineke has high praises for him) fsteyn and then jp… I don’t know how old schallkie is but it is between him and burger… And that is straight to rwc 2015…. I’d love 4 adriaan strauss 2b in the mix for captain 2… But he need 2 b a certain starter first… In the general group we have plenty captain material but only few of them is starters… I hope heineke will choose his long term captain at the eoyt with the future warriors building up to 2015… Come hell or high waters we need an imminent change sooner rather then later….
18 Aug 2012, 13:37 pm
@Robzim-46: tim swiel sure played nicely when our u21′s beat yours at newlands this week.
naaice.