Nothing to learn
20 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, said the Springboks did what was expected of them at Newlands.
Expected win. Great win. Not a ‘good enough’ win. Just a win?
Why don’t we deal in reality?
Does it scare us? Does it make us think? Does it make us responsible? Does it confuse the escapism of sport because it forces us to be satisfied? And if we are satisfied, does it mean we can’t feel a different sense of satisfaction a week later?
The Springboks don’t lose against Argentina in South Africa. Traditionally they win by 20 points. There was one occasion when they won by a point. There was another when they won by 54. On balance it is 20.
They also don’t lose in Argentina. There was one occasion they nearly did but that was because Springbok coach Harry Viljoen in 2000 did the unthinkable. He challenged a mindset. He told his players they were not allowed to kick the ball and they produced rugby for 40 minutes never played by a Springbok team.
It was a masterstroke, but the point had been made at half-time. And instead of applying logic so the point could be made the next time, he refused to believe in the reality of the situation. The Boks were not conditioned enough to play a match of rugby for 80 minutes without kicking the ball. Mentally no one was conditioned to accept it was possible.
Argentina, who wouldn’t come out of their change room after half-time because of exhaustion in being forced to tackle for 40 minutes, defied the IRB rules and stayed there for 20 minutes instead of 10.
They knew the game could not be called off. They knew they couldn’t play without legs. We forget that. We call it a lucky win. The day the Boks kicked the ball for the first time on 73 minutes and Braam van Straaten kicked a 78th-minute penalty to win the game 37-33. The day it all nearly went so horribly wrong. The day Harry showed he belonged in business and not rugby, apparently. The day Braam’s kick restored sanity, stereotype and allowed our minds to rest.
We won. We should have lost. So South Africans said.
One British newspaper columnist wrote that it was the day the Boks defied the accepted norms about kicking and not keeping the ball; that it was about possession and not field position; and that it was about what we wanted to make it and not what others wanted us to believe it to be.
But he said it would never be remembered for how it all could have changed forever; it would be used as an example of why it should never change. Apparently we nearly lost when the story should have been about a victory of the evolution of the game and the mind of the player.
The Boks, 12 years later, beat Argentina with the tested formula of giving us what we have always had. Now it isn’t good enough. The social networks are a reflection of the comfort in what has always been done and not what can be done. A day before the Test, some feared the Boks could lose. Some said they just had to win. Some said it should be 20 points. And when they won 27-6 some said they failed because they did not score a bonus point.
Argentina said they were happy. They had been competitive. South African coaches were not happy but at kick-off they would have taken a 20-point win. Why not now?
The All Blacks, having beaten the Wallabies 12 out of the past 15 times, won for a 13th time in 16. They apparently had not won; it was the Wallabies that had lost.
Wallabies coach Robbie Deans said his team were not where they wanted to be but they would be there next week. They will be in Auckland, where they haven’t won since Moses parted the Red Sea, but there will be condemnation in Australia when they lose on Saturday and outrage in New Zealand if the All Blacks don’t score the four-try bonus point.
What can we learn from Sydney and Cape Town? Nothing. What should we have expected to learn? Nothing?
The big guy simply strangled the little guy. Why dissect it? Unlike 2000, nothing was produced that shocked, surprised or made us think. And we remember 2000 for the day the Boks nearly lost, when it was the day rugby came so close to winning forever.
Mendoza and Auckland respectively will provide no new insight because it is still a big guy strangling the little guy and applying a formula that allows for the minds to be comforted and not challenged.
This weekend it will be 10 to the Boks in Mendoza and possibly 20 to the All Blacks in Auckland. It is expected, but it will not be good enough.
Rugby, as we want to know it, isn’t ready for the unexpected although too many are never satisfied with the obvious.

653 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All
20 Aug 2012, 19:06 pm
surprised
20 Aug 2012, 19:07 pm
Another moron talks KAK.
Are you referring to this weeks F1 race?
20 Aug 2012, 19:10 pm
CAnt we just celebrate our sportsman for thei achievements?? When we won matches for example because of Jonty? we didnt shout to the world that it was because of a white man.
FCKU i wish people would just grow up and get rid of the Blue Gum tree they carry around on their shoulder
20 Aug 2012, 19:11 pm
@grant10-515:
would the real slim shady grantie please stand up, please stand up…
that sounds like the real deal touching down for a splish splash with ducky wucky to me… welcome back, what happened to the stormers or is still too early to open wounds?
@David-535:
gdam the pommies are funny, they went from utterly useless for decades to blunderbuss grandiose worldbeaters before the series, to shitting all over the team after SA 1st innings, and seem to have levelled off having been beaten soundly – these okes can talk kak til the cows come home – i luv this place, they inevitably put their big toes right in it every single time.
20 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm
Argh ET im not gonna even bother further with you, seriously mate, Ur a lost cause, you and HOndo make a cute couple
20 Aug 2012, 19:13 pm
@W.P-548:
With the way he has progressed, I think Hash now has a calming influence on Kallis. And Jakes can now play with more freedom – he is still enjoying his cricket right now and looking forward to playing in all 3 formats of the game. A true legend!
20 Aug 2012, 19:14 pm
Okay now for the Aussies. Can’t wait…lol.
First the odi against England but heck it really don’t compare to test cricket.
Throughly enjoyed this test series. One of the best ever alongside the series we won in Oz. That series too was awesome and that last game at the MCG with JP and Dale batting like champs to save our butts to win that series. That too will stay in my mind forever. This though has to be the best team we have had ever. One of our greatest.
Bring on the Aussies!!
20 Aug 2012, 19:17 pm
@Puma-557: Hiyas Pooms, lol you ignored me earlier??? you didnt detect the sarcasm in my posts??
20 Aug 2012, 19:17 pm
@David
Are you still smarting, at least until Manure hopefully play?
It’s your new Snoddy midfield that’s the problem. Never use rejects from the Yorkshire Peacocks
20 Aug 2012, 19:18 pm
lol we not so bad in the kak-talking stakes either – best team ever, surely it cant compare to pollock richards barlow and kie..
20 Aug 2012, 19:19 pm
@grant10-420: is it really you? You back bud? Glad to see you back here
20 Aug 2012, 19:20 pm
@WP-Forever-510: For sure. Number one and it feels brilliant.
Hashim the KZN boy, thru and thru… From Sharks miracles to Chad, to Bridgitte and now Hash… Alhamdulillah.
@sharks_lover-553:
There are still sensitivities and resentments about the past that, as whites, it’s easy to dismiss. Just respect and understand them.
20 Aug 2012, 19:21 pm
@Sasuke-561:
as long as he does not start the silly Smit bashing again, other then that?? good to have to camps bay speedo queen back
20 Aug 2012, 19:22 pm
@Heavens Game-563: Its Black and White dynamite in all sports… KZN dominance on the horizon
@sharks_lover-558: I miss a lot of posts because I don’t refresh I think……..hahaha. Just come quick post and back to the tv and miss plenty posts.
How was this win? Bloody brilliant. Had me on the edge of my seat the whole day. Kept think we can then no we will lose, then we will do it, then no Poms will take it, then nah, we will take it. Awesome test when it is like that. A real nail biter and loved it.
@David-564: Boet if it was coming from someone genuine i would respect it, remember who is behind that keyboard
20 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
@Neilanate-559:
ET, I’m worried about the change of manager. Especially now that we’ve got two ex Leeds captains in the squad.
20 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
@Puma-567:
boet, yeah the win was great
20 Aug 2012, 19:26 pm
@Puma-562:
It’s great to be no.1 in the world. Getting there is one thing. Staying there is another. England and Arsetralia are hot on our heels.
@Heavens Game-563:
And the Proteas captained by a proud Stormer supporter.
Just thought I’d mention it.
20 Aug 2012, 19:27 pm
@Heavens Game-566: OUr sportsman doing us proud mate, I am worried though for our match against the Bulls,
So many players out, and of course now out is BUrden too thats been b ig in our first 2 matches
@cab-560: They too were superb Cabbie, but really we have now beaten England twice in a row on their turf. This time taking the number one spot too. Every player in this team are world class. We have a magnificent test side.
Bring on the Aussies! We go there next.
Two countries I just hate losing cricket too is England and Australia. So hope we take them on their turf again. The last time we went there we won that series too.
@David-569:
One Leeds United…….
Jeez.
Seems like everyone is making a comeback today.
20 Aug 2012, 19:28 pm
@I am a stormer-571: Hehe… Mere supporting role… “Lead to Serve”
20 Aug 2012, 19:29 pm
@I am a stormer-571: Well you know we never thought poor Smitty was without fault
the poor fellow might see the light one day
20 Aug 2012, 19:30 pm
@I am a stormer-571: I know staying there will be very tough. But we have the team and we could.
Great to have quite a few countries close on each others heals now. Not one that is so far ahead that it is boring. Now there is:
South Africa
England
Australia
India
Now there is fierce competition and I love it like that.
@sharks_lover-572: Dont worry, bru. That Kyle (forgot the surname) not too shabby and Deysel like a steamtrain now.
@sharks_lover-568:
I hear what you say. It doesn’t change the sentiment though, regardless of the poster. Apartheid still makes me angry, and the way it managed to deprive people of the ability to realise their dreams and exploit their talent. Whether in sport or any other field.
20 Aug 2012, 19:31 pm
Suddenly everyone wants to own Hashim.
Tweegevreet.
20 Aug 2012, 19:32 pm
@sharks_lover-570: Think we gonna miss Burden for the Bulls game. Will be tough to win there I think. Hope we can.
20 Aug 2012, 19:34 pm
@sharks_lover-577:
@Heavens Game-576:
He has played a good supporting role, scored some runs, led from the front and you can see the way the players admire him.
Very impressed the way he paid tribute to the miners who lost their lives at Marikana. The players are not insensintive to these things.
And Jean said the same sort of thing on Saturday.
20 Aug 2012, 19:34 pm
@Dawn-581: Hashim Amla… DHS Old Boy… Durbanite thru and thru… A farken KZN Warrior. Ownership not in doubt….
20 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm
Okay I am out of here.
Cheers everyone.
Proteas you beauties…………………..
Numer one in the world. Sounds top class to me…………………..
20 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@I am a stormer-583: Never really liked him… He has learnt to lead the hard way it seems on a bit of a winding journey. But learnt he has.
@Heavens Game-579: Nope Kyle Cooper is injured boet, out for the season, we only have Monde Hadebe who is still Raw but a good talent, who the back up is now i dont know because Monde is 4th inline
Blah
20 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm
@Heavens Game-584: Correct, Ahmed and Hashim both DHS old boys, born and raised Durban
20 Aug 2012, 19:42 pm
@David-569:
Firstly you dress me in borrowed robes as I am merely the relative that was denied a passport by the racist govt. to participate in table tennis world tournament in Tokyo in the 80s. But I know you from him and reading here. There is another such relative around.
Your loss of your manager will be important but also there is the 2nd. year syndrome of the EPL.
I am an Arsenal follower and the loss of Van Persie(and then to Manure) upsets me immensely.
20 Aug 2012, 19:43 pm
A huge congrats to Graham and the boys. Enjoy it fellas! Have a toot for me.
20 Aug 2012, 19:45 pm
@sharks_lover-587: Take a Rovers boy… it’ll be okay
@sharks_lover-589: Yes…
Splendid victory for the Proteas.So proud of the boys,especially the five Cobras lads in the team.
Well all i can say is !!!
GOOOOOOOO SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
20 Aug 2012, 19:47 pm
Grant’s made an appearance from outa the hot tub – its winter in clifton, i woulda thought he had an indoors tub or an underwater tv so as not to miss any action.
20 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
Graeme Smith will go down in the history of South African cricket as the greatest captain of all time…and he didn’t need leather jackets to achieve that.
20 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
@wnbb-593:
Us Cobras supporters are just little bit more humble than you know who?
20 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
KP is a bit of a ******** and he’s put his foot in it now – rule no 1 u dont **** on your stoep, isnt he a banaboy ex-shark too? poms will never let him live that down, forget all the excuses and apologies, aint he already given a whole lot of apologies before? that bugger’s goose is cooked, might as well hang up the boots and get the laser going for the 3-lions tatoo removal.
20 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
I see Nienaber has signed a 3 year contract with WP, not the Bulls. I actually wonder whether this is a good thing for WP.
20 Aug 2012, 19:55 pm
trott far more sensible, just goes about his business, without all the bluster nonsense – not as good as pietersen tho, who saved their gatte in the 2nd one otherwise clean sweep.
Pages: « 1 … 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 » Show All