Nothing to learn
20 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, said the Springboks did what was expected of them at Newlands.
Expected win. Great win. Not a ‘good enough’ win. Just a win?
Why don’t we deal in reality?
Does it scare us? Does it make us think? Does it make us responsible? Does it confuse the escapism of sport because it forces us to be satisfied? And if we are satisfied, does it mean we can’t feel a different sense of satisfaction a week later?
The Springboks don’t lose against Argentina in South Africa. Traditionally they win by 20 points. There was one occasion when they won by a point. There was another when they won by 54. On balance it is 20.
They also don’t lose in Argentina. There was one occasion they nearly did but that was because Springbok coach Harry Viljoen in 2000 did the unthinkable. He challenged a mindset. He told his players they were not allowed to kick the ball and they produced rugby for 40 minutes never played by a Springbok team.
It was a masterstroke, but the point had been made at half-time. And instead of applying logic so the point could be made the next time, he refused to believe in the reality of the situation. The Boks were not conditioned enough to play a match of rugby for 80 minutes without kicking the ball. Mentally no one was conditioned to accept it was possible.
Argentina, who wouldn’t come out of their change room after half-time because of exhaustion in being forced to tackle for 40 minutes, defied the IRB rules and stayed there for 20 minutes instead of 10.
They knew the game could not be called off. They knew they couldn’t play without legs. We forget that. We call it a lucky win. The day the Boks kicked the ball for the first time on 73 minutes and Braam van Straaten kicked a 78th-minute penalty to win the game 37-33. The day it all nearly went so horribly wrong. The day Harry showed he belonged in business and not rugby, apparently. The day Braam’s kick restored sanity, stereotype and allowed our minds to rest.
We won. We should have lost. So South Africans said.
One British newspaper columnist wrote that it was the day the Boks defied the accepted norms about kicking and not keeping the ball; that it was about possession and not field position; and that it was about what we wanted to make it and not what others wanted us to believe it to be.
But he said it would never be remembered for how it all could have changed forever; it would be used as an example of why it should never change. Apparently we nearly lost when the story should have been about a victory of the evolution of the game and the mind of the player.
The Boks, 12 years later, beat Argentina with the tested formula of giving us what we have always had. Now it isn’t good enough. The social networks are a reflection of the comfort in what has always been done and not what can be done. A day before the Test, some feared the Boks could lose. Some said they just had to win. Some said it should be 20 points. And when they won 27-6 some said they failed because they did not score a bonus point.
Argentina said they were happy. They had been competitive. South African coaches were not happy but at kick-off they would have taken a 20-point win. Why not now?
The All Blacks, having beaten the Wallabies 12 out of the past 15 times, won for a 13th time in 16. They apparently had not won; it was the Wallabies that had lost.
Wallabies coach Robbie Deans said his team were not where they wanted to be but they would be there next week. They will be in Auckland, where they haven’t won since Moses parted the Red Sea, but there will be condemnation in Australia when they lose on Saturday and outrage in New Zealand if the All Blacks don’t score the four-try bonus point.
What can we learn from Sydney and Cape Town? Nothing. What should we have expected to learn? Nothing?
The big guy simply strangled the little guy. Why dissect it? Unlike 2000, nothing was produced that shocked, surprised or made us think. And we remember 2000 for the day the Boks nearly lost, when it was the day rugby came so close to winning forever.
Mendoza and Auckland respectively will provide no new insight because it is still a big guy strangling the little guy and applying a formula that allows for the minds to be comforted and not challenged.
This weekend it will be 10 to the Boks in Mendoza and possibly 20 to the All Blacks in Auckland. It is expected, but it will not be good enough.
Rugby, as we want to know it, isn’t ready for the unexpected although too many are never satisfied with the obvious.

653 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All
20 Aug 2012, 13:54 pm
@goyougoodthing2-198:
Cyril Ramaphosa is the founder and chairman of the Shanduka Group. Shanduka is a black-owned investment holding company (i.e. Ramaphosa is one of the shareholders in this company).
Shanduka in turn owns 50.03% of Incwala Resources (Pty) Ltd.
Incwala has an 18% interest in Lonmin plc’s two principal operating subsidiaries, Western Platinum Limited and Eastern Platinum Limited.
Shanduka Group as a whole therefore owns slight more than 9% of Western Platinum Limited (which includes the Marikana mine).
Even assuming Ramaphosa owns all the shareholding in Shanduka – 9% of a company does not mean you “own” it.
Do some research.
20 Aug 2012, 13:55 pm
@goyougoodthing2-198: Yes… One of Uncle Cyril’s B(insert another one, two Bs) E(Insert one, two Es) enrichment vehicles has a stake… Juju had some schweet things to say about that.
And the conspiracy deepens… while the pace of the march to Mangaung quickens.
20 Aug 2012, 13:56 pm
@WP-Forever-201: Not the point and you know it… what an unfortunate glitch to the story that it’s not owned by the Blue Bulls company
20 Aug 2012, 13:56 pm
@137 platinum
20 Aug 2012, 14:01 pm
@WP-Forever-201:
Oh, ande goyougoodthing2, you might not have noticed this, but Shanduka Group had contributed R2 million to the funeral costs of those who died at Marikana.
In fact, the major shareholder of Lonmin is Xstrata, with 24.9%.
Who is the major shareholders of Xstrata, you ask?
Glencore International AG, Zug (33.65%), that’s who.
So are we going to rail against the “dodgy Europeans” now as well?
20 Aug 2012, 14:02 pm
With Prior still to come, I reckon its game on at Lords.
The wicket is flat as fark.
20 Aug 2012, 14:04 pm
@Jeraldjay-206:
Gutsy showing by the English (well, Trott and Bairstow), but I think it will be a bridge too far.
20 Aug 2012, 14:04 pm
@viewer-199: listen kunty, you dont know what you are talking about.
the last undemocratic vote in sa was the referendum in which whites overwhelmingly voted for change sonny.
the events in bop had nothing to do with the vast majority of whites pal and at that time, if the sadf had been unleashed it would have made the congo look like a picnic.
at that time, the military might was held by whites and tahsts why umkhonto weuseless NEVER had an open battle with the sadf.
the transition was peaceful, largely accepted and embraced by whites and a miracle to the world. people like yourself who want to rewrite this are as useless as the anc govt you probably support whilst blaming everyone else for teh countries issues.
wake up.
20 Aug 2012, 14:05 pm
@WP-Forever-201: It seems wiki may have let you down, my “banker” cuzzie.
I think you left out something there. Akanani
20 Aug 2012, 14:08 pm
@WP-Forever-205: So, Glencore is now “European”… like SABMiller, Old Mutual, Anglo Am
Eish, careful … Wiki might start hurting your Captaincy rating.
According to the Sunday Times, the class of worker at the centre of the labour action is rock drillers, a specialised & very dangerous occupation. The demand for suitably competent rock drillers outstrips supply, which I assume is an aggravating factor for Lonmin as it seems they cannot very easily replace these men. The stakes are beyod high as lost production is measured in the millions of pounds per day.
All round a bad situation for labour, the industry, the country’s image in the eyes of investors, & public order in future protests.
ok, maybe kunty was a bit strong viewer.
apologies.
but seriously bud, referring to events in bop as a catalyst for change is a bit rich.
you are talking about a time when the sadf had spent decades fighting in angola and nam and you reckon the killing of a fat racist in bop had anything to do with anything?
please man.
20 Aug 2012, 14:09 pm
@WP-Forever-205: So I’m confused: they are the bad guys for not paying more, which started all the mess (to some) but they are great for paying towards the funeral costs?
My point… is not an argument with you, it is that it is the elite doing this to the people… the elite – the ANC elite in particular.
20 Aug 2012, 14:10 pm
@Jeraldjay-206: I hate it when Smith lets the game move fast, he should have slowed it down, let the adrenalin out, bowlers should keep it outside off stump, take forever to bowl an over, that’s how its done.
20 Aug 2012, 14:14 pm
@goyougoodthing2-213:
OK, that I will agree with.
There is massive inequality in this country, and it has actually worsened, not improved, since 1994.
The masses are ripe with revolution; to an extent, this (as much as some politicians are still trying to make it out to be the case, notwithstanding) no longer has to do about a racial struggle but rather about a class struggle.
Tahir bowling too full.
Give the ball time to misbehave.
@Heavens Game-209:
Akanani has nothing to do with Marikana.
Marikana is owned by Western Platinum.
20 Aug 2012, 14:15 pm
whats the score?
stuck on a site but man i enjoyed those two wickets big vern took last night.
20 Aug 2012, 14:17 pm
@Heavens Game-210:
@rangerman-212:
Nope kunty is about right.
20 Aug 2012, 14:17 pm
@WP-Forever-215: Exactly. The same fuel that sparked the French Revolution.
The fatcats are very much saying let them eat cake.
20 Aug 2012, 14:18 pm
@WP-Forever-217: Incwala has a stake in Lonmin Akanani too…
Psst… *Do some research*
20 Aug 2012, 14:19 pm
@rangerman-218: espncricinfo
20 Aug 2012, 14:19 pm
@rangerman-212:
You read it a 2nd time and realised that you totally misunderstood what he was trying to say?
The same Viewer who, over the weekend, said that the men killed in the shooting was justice for all the farm murders. You think he supports the ANC?
Now now Rangerman.
Not to clever there, were you.
20 Aug 2012, 14:22 pm
@Heavens Game-221:
They were talking about owners of the Marikana mine, which is Western Platinum Ltd.
Akanani owns platinum mining activities in Limpopo.
I was only referring to the ownership of the mine in question here.
Psst…*learn to read*
20 Aug 2012, 14:24 pm
@XhosaKid-214:
No need to panic.
We just need to get rid of this two with the old ball.
Vernon will take care of the rest with the new ball.
@gunther-216:
Overrated?
20 Aug 2012, 14:24 pm
@WP-Forever-215: Ahem… It is always about class… It just so happens that in SA, race and class have conveniently for some / inconveniently for others, overlapped… Race is the lazy man’s explanatory factor.
20 Aug 2012, 14:26 pm
@XhosaKid-214:
Trott will bat whole day and Bairstow/Prior will take the risks,
If they can maintain a 4 per over run rate till tea without losing a wicket they’ll go all guns blazing after tea. They have nothing to lose whether it’s 1-0 or 2-0.
20 Aug 2012, 14:27 pm
@WP-Forever-215: its a pure class struggle indeed.
and the unions like cosatu may well find themselves at the epicentre of hatred as they are trapped between big capital and the unemployed because they sure as sh i t dont have the “masses” welfare at heart no matter what they say.
@nama1-223: no, i realised that if i was to engage in a proper debate, insults shouldnt be the starting point.
now now nama, get off your horse pal.
he was merrily quoting that sh ithead malemas rhetoric so i thought i would give him a wake up.
why are you trying to defend the anc nama? they are surely the most useless governing party on our continent? bunch of thieves led by a singing dancing clown.
@XhosaKid-222: ja, i am lazy, just update me please someone.
20 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
@rangerman-228:
Please show me where I defended the ANC.
20 Aug 2012, 14:30 pm
WTF was that? Is Keo on crack?
20 Aug 2012, 14:31 pm
So did Earl Rose farkup again… where is the story… that guy just can’t stay out of trouble can he.
@nama1-225:
Nope.
He is guilty of bowling too full.
He is taking a day 5 wicket out of the equation.
He could still win this for us.
Lower and slower.
@200 g_y_g_t – Noted, nobody’s opinion is the correct one & I don’t wish to be divisive. If we prefer to stick to rugby & the lord’s Test, I’m as happy as a pig in mud. Lord knows Saturday’s Test was like eating ricecakes while the other people @ a braai are enjoying juicy steaks
20 Aug 2012, 14:33 pm
@WP-Forever-224: And thank you. This leads to my next little point, since you were showing such eminent expertise on Uncle Cyril’s ownership…. I was humbly trying to insert the un “researched” snippet that Incwala not only has “18% interest in Lonmin plc’s two principal operating subsidiaries” but also has a slice of Lonmin Akanani.
Which leads me ultimately to the “owns slight more than 9% of Western Platinum Limited”. How do you get to 9%…?
Just ensuring *Research is done* and that it is not all Wiki
20 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
Groot kak at Marikana and all sorts of dodgy interests in play (ANC, NUM, Lonmin, Squirrel Ramaphosa, SAPS, Julius Malemmer et al). Bit like SA Rugby actually. SAPS also like SA Rugby in that they are disorganised, poorly trained and cannot do the basics properly.
That is why keow’s article is silly to me, and I’m surprised Pissant et al think it’s magical, splitting the atom stuff. It’s rubbish. Harry Viljoen, Carel Dup and PdV found out the hard way that you cannot just start “running the ball”. First you must win the ball (duh) in your kickoffs, scrums and lineouts (dese are called “setpieces by da rugby kenners). Den you protect duh ball by committing hard, skilled and dedicated men to da breakdown (not scampering around in da backline waiting for ball to run (double duh); got dis Victor and dat other long WP oke). But best if you first try and disrupt the opposition defensive organisation with a few short runs up da middle etc. When defence is at 6′s and 7′s (ja right!) and you have crafted an overlap or one of your playmakers (who??) has seen a defence player out of position or out numbered; den you go wide, running da ball. Or you do de clevva Naasie kick for da wing, da corner etc. Not do da current idea of mostly kick it up in da air for catching practice or gaining grounds. Dis stupid. Da U16F’s know dis.
Udderwise you just concede turnover ball, which we should know by now, is deadly in da hands of dose naughty All Bleks and Wallybe’s.
It could have worked for PdV in 2008. We weren’t to know that Gold and Muir were actually quite brain dead and maybe not too interested in Bok rugby but themselves. But, like DuP et al it didn’t.
Ekskuus da da’s – it’s written in Bakkies speak.
20 Aug 2012, 14:36 pm
Lots of “us” v “these people” here again today.
20 Aug 2012, 14:36 pm
Personally i dont understand how the rockdrillers can behave like such savages and hack and burn people to death.
I also dont understand why the owners pay such shite salaries for such a dangerous and specialised profession.
we have massive unemployment and our useless govt should be utilising the unemployed to build infrastructure like the yanks did in the 30′s but proper remuneration by the big employers would also allow taxes to be levied on the consequently larger middle class allowing govt to do all they need to if they werent so incompetent and unable to effectively spend the tax revenue they already receive properly.
20 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
So Comrade Cyril is underpaying his works.
Shame.
20 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
Workers!
20 Aug 2012, 14:39 pm
I have to report him to Comrade Vavi.
20 Aug 2012, 14:41 pm
@Heavens Game-234:
OK, pay attention:
Western Platinum Ltd owns the Marikana mine.
Incwala Resources (Pty) Ltd has 18% in Western Platinum Ltd.
Shanduka Group has 50.03% in Incwala Resources (Pty) Ltd in turn.
18%*50.03% = 9.0054%, which is Shanduka’s effective shareholding in Western Platinum Ltd.
And as I said, assuming Cyril owns 100% in Shanduka (which is not the case), the maximum he could own in Western Platinum Ltd would be 9.0054%, wouldn’t it?
20 Aug 2012, 14:42 pm
@rangerman-237:
The ruling class has a vested interest in keeping the masses uneducated.
20 Aug 2012, 14:43 pm
C’mon big Vern lets see your name on the Honours Board.
20 Aug 2012, 14:46 pm
@238 ranger – low pay is a legacy of the migrant labour system that was a cornerstone of the mining industry. In the new “democratic” order the Unions want to supercharge the average wage. The industry not only has entrenched practices relating to remuneration but as a business proposition, tripling wages @ Lonmin Marikana mine will turn the industry upside down
20 Aug 2012, 14:47 pm
Game on at Lords.
Can go either way IMO.
20 Aug 2012, 14:49 pm
Overrated.
@nama1-229: ah so you are also anti anc?
thats great, the more of us there are the sooner we can hold them to account!
nice one nama!
Imran’s bowled him!
20 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
Excellent excellent article!!!
Bravo! I loved the spin you put on it.
Very insightful.
20 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
@viewer-244: Spare me the ‘legacy’ nonsense.
If Uncle Cyril really was about transformation, he would ensure his business ventures were ship shape and water tight.
No, he is just like the rest of them. Legacy… yawn.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 14 » Show All