Striving for perfection

JP Pietersen was in outstanding form for the Sharks and Springboks before getting injured, but he doesn’t believe he’s reached his peak.

A thumb injury obtained in the Super Rugby final ruled him out of the majority of the Boks’ Rugby Championship campaign. He’d had a brilliant series against England and sizzled in Super Rugby with his block-busting breaks, aggressive smother-tackling and timely tries.

BUY THE NEW ISSUE NOW FOR JUST R5.95 (DIGITAL EDITION)

‘It had been an amazing year for me before the thumb injury; I could not have asked for better form,’ he says. ‘Everything was falling into place. My body was feeling amazing and I had learned a lot this season, too.’

Pietersen says he has matured since the 2007 World Cup and now appreciates the value of experience.

‘Look, I’m only 26, I’m hardly saying I know it all, but I’ve been around since I was 19 and while I know that I made mistakes in the past that I won’t repeat in the future, I also like to think that I’m not the complete product. I feel there’s a lot more to come from JP Pietersen. I can get better, I know I can.’

Also in the NEW-LOOK issue:

Super Rugby review: We rate all five South African franchises

– The Springboks were spoiled by the brilliance of Fourie du Preez at scrumhalf. Now, with Du Preez having moved on, Heyneke Meyer is searching for his perfect ‘general’

Dan Carter is refreshed, reinvigorated and refocused as he eyes new goals in the game

Quade Cooper would rather be great than loved

Juan Martin Fernández Lobbe has embraced the challenge of captaining Argentina in their debut Rugby Championship season

– A resurgent Zimbabwe hope to qualify for the World Cup for the first time since 1991

– The European Cup could go up in smoke if English and French clubs withdraw from the tournament

– The Sharks were rewarded for their positive approach to the game during this year’s Super Rugby tournament

– Player movement is a reality in the professional era but contrary to perception Western Province have managed to retain the majority of their stars, as manager director Rob Wagner explains

– The Lions had a disastrous Super Rugby campaign, on and off the field. SA Rugby magazine reveals how things fell apart

– The Blue Bulls dominated the U18 Craven Week in Port Elizabeth

– Joost van der Westhuizen has refused to give up hope after being diagnosed with an incurable disease

Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter
Like SA Rugby magazine on Facebook

Got an iPad? Get SA Rugby mag’s
FREE iPad app from iTunes

45 Comments

• 1.viewer: Reply to this comment

Time to move JPP dragon to 13
    How can the backline progress with JdV @ 13 next year. Had a full year with guaranteed selection, captain’s armband, running slow, spatial awareness to pick running lines deserted him forever

• 2.londonshark: Reply to this comment

@viewer-1:

Problem is JPP will pay 14 for te Sharks (Jordaan at 13).

But ja, not a bad idea. We seriously lacking at 13 in SA.

• 3.Jeez: Reply to this comment

Nah keep JDV for now. Next year the old guys will have to fall to the bench or out of the squad entirely.Jordaan at 13 in 2013. Or bring back Fourie for another year.

Pienaar
    Goosen/Steyn
    Mvovo/Hougaard
    Steyn
    Jordaan/Fourie
    JP
    Taute

• 4.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

You two fools are blinded by your provincial bias, JDV still has a lot to offer, I would not choose C Smit hfor the AB’s team, and I always thought that the yhad better younger talent, but I was wrong every time.

Sorry, but the only #13 that could replace JDV is not available becuase he’d rather play 12 games a year Japan for R10mill.

• 5.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

Also why would you want to play the best wing in world rugby at centre, typical sharks mentality that have screwed over some of the best players in South Africa (See Ruan Pienaar/ Pat Lambie/ F Steyn)

• 6.rangerman: Reply to this comment

jpp.

what a player, a gamebreaker and absolutely immense in everything he does.

my favourite player bar none.

go jpp!

• 7.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-5: dont talk k u k man.

dan carter started as a 12.
    larkham as a 9
    umaga as a wing.

lambie and fransie still sharks and always will be.
    ruan got screwed by pdv who lost his nerve when ruan was the 10 going forward for sa and now we have morne.

wake up.

• 8.Jeez: Reply to this comment

JP at wing. He might be solid at 13 but nothing more. At wing he brings more to the team

• 9.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-8: “He might be solid at 13 but nothing more”…. Sorry?

Did you watch the S15 semi final when the underdog Sharks faced the unbeaten at home Stormers…?

Did you note who played 13 for the Sharks that day…?

Also, did you see that try… is that what you call “solid”?

Fark me,,, most genuine rugga lovers would call it SPECTACULAR.

Solid bullshit. Thats what.

• 10.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-7: Where any of the players you mentioned world class in those positions? The answer is a NOOOOO, Carter became world class at FH, same for Larkham and same for Umanga.

Pieterson is a world class wing and an good centre. His greatest talents are counter attacking from the back,ability when contesting the ball in the air and great defence out wide. Taking him to 13 would minnimize his impact.

Ruan never wanted to play 10 idiot, why do you think he always looked so pissed off? Lambie is a great 10 not and good 15.

“Jack of all trades master of none”!

I never said Fransie or Lambie would leave sharks -_-, please focus.

• 11.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-10: carter was worldclass everywhere he played.

same goes for umaga.

ruan was happy to play 10 if he got continuity pallie, but pdv ruined that didnt he? and after a few missed conversions. how many did morne miss vs the poms and yet he is still there eh?

lambie has been given time to find his best position and thats called management sonny, just because you heard some bs around a braai about the sharks playing players out of position doesnt make it so ok?

think for yourself and ask yourself why the players you mention, ruan fransie JPP and lambie, are still in the bok fold whereas gio (who is played at wing and fullback) are not?

is it maybe BECAUSE they have proved their value in various poisitions?

like i said, wake up.

• 12.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

*Larkham* started at fullback…

Hehehe can you imagine those arms and legs behind a scrum trying to do the dive pass?!

• 13.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-12: :lol:

• 14.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-11: I guess it’s all about opinion, but no Carter is a world class number 10, Umanga a world class 13 and was Larkham a world clas scrum half, no because he never was one, talk about hearing something around a braai mmmm? Your argument is retarded and missplaced. The fact is that those players are better in the positions that fit them better.

To your question in the end of you ‘post’. They are in the fold because HM selects the team he wants, he doesn’t like players with skill, ability and creativity but lacks size (miss guided as he is), he prefers big boys, so again your argument is retarded when using Aplon as a counter argument.

Ever heard of the wisdom of compairing apples with apples and not apples with pears?

• 15.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-12: Something he must have heard around the braai :) )

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Well Umanga WAS a world clss wing before he got slower and moved one spot closer to the fatties, the other two egh, take it or leave it but not world class…

• 17.viewer: Reply to this comment

@2 londonshark, true without jaque Fourie but paul jordaan & JJ engelbrecht are coming along nicely. I was cautious at first but I do believe the hype now :-) , provided they aren’t turned into robots

• 18.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16: I would say that JP is a better wing than Umanga ever was IMO.

• 19.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-16:
    Larkham was a brilliant full back and I bet he could give most half backs a good run for their money. As for Dan….wasted at second five.

• 20.papaown: Reply to this comment

I think most people under-estimate the benefit it had on JP by trialling him out at 13. Really improved his game.

Sometimes you learn more by being forced out your comfort zone, same with Habs, though his form hasn’t shot up to the same degree as JP

• 21.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-18:

Different era and hard to compare but I don’t think so.

@Te Rangatira-19:

Maybe but not world class in the same vein as at 10.

• 22.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-21:
    World class full back and Great 10

• 23.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-22:

;-) I will take your word for it.

• 24.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

with Habs, Mvovo, Basson, Hougie….

Why is JPP not being considered at fullback? I reckon he’s head and shoulders our best bet for 15.

Jordaan and JJ are the future at 13 based on HM’s selection policy and super rugby form. JDV needs to stick around probably till end of next year to provide some experience in the squad but he wont make the next world cup. Although look how long tindall stayed at 12 for England…

• 25.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-9:
    That doesnt prove that he’s a better 13 than a wing. Imo he’s a solid 13 but a special winger. Good to have him as a back up 13. I think Jordaan is the future.Imo. Fourie was and probably still is the best 13 SA has to offer at this point.

And considering that HM has not yet indicated that JP will ever play at 13 for the boks, especially with JDV as captain and JDJ in the squad… Its not very likely.

• 26.coma: Reply to this comment

9. pienaar, 10. goosen, 11. Habana, 12. F Steyn, 13. Jordaan, 14. Hougaard, 15. JPP

I’d prefer Fourie at 13 if he was availalbe

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-9: jpp played 13 in more than ONE game against the Stormers, so looking at his performances at 13 in the season “solid” is about apt.

no need for irrational knee-jerk sharks_loving reactions

• 28.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast-23:
    hehe…..thankyou Slarti…..if I was to pick Aussies greatest xv, I’ld be tempted to put Larkham at full back.

• 29.viewer: Reply to this comment

@24 m_b – now my head will start spinning, but JPP @ 15 will have a domino effect on the selection prospects of lambie & zane (?) with JJE profiting

• 30.coma: Reply to this comment

@viewer-29: Lambie is a bench option as he covers 10, 12 ,15. Zane is average.

JPP’s strengths are best utilized at 15 – needs to work on his kicking though. We need Hougaard on the field, but he is no scrumhalf. Between Frans, Hougaard there is enough kicking power at the back, JPP does not get tackled backwards and he is strong enough to hold the ball up untill the guys fall back.

• 31.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi-24:
    Good point. JDVs caretaker 13 for the next couple of years… If he loses his captaincy or gets injured he’ll probably take a back seat sooner rather than later. With Lambie and Viljoen at the Sharks JP’s probably not going to get a chance at 15.

Fourie if he ever comes back; JJ; Jordaan..Who knows maybe even Sadie can mature at 13 and all of a sudden the depth at 13 is not as shallow as we might think.

15 is a bigger concern…

• 32.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-15: all right, i was mistaken, he made his test debut as a WING, not a scrummie.

from there he went to fullback before eventually settling as a 10.

my point stands, world class players shine wherever they play so you silly comments about the sharks messing up players careers remains as ill informed as ever.

fact is that fransie was playing 12 for the sharks before he left and pdv wanted him at fullback. ruan was playing 9, then 10 and pdv insisted on his permanent move to 10 before unceremoniously dropping him for morne when he got the jitters.

JPP was good at 13 but given time, he could be great. either way, he is all class.

• 33.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@coma-30:
    Imo a fullback should have a big boot. FSteyn and Viljoen are good examples of how this benefits the team- regaining territory and keeping the opposition under pressure. JP doesnt really have the best kicking game….Kirchner nothing special, but solid 15… Unfortunately nobody is knocking on the door…

• 34.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

JJ and Basson have very poor defense, only other wings I would consider for boks selection outised Habs and JP is Mvovo or Aplon.

But JP at 15 would be a master stroke, he’s good under high ball, can kick and great counter attacking threat. He started his career at 15 and only moved too wing because of the gap in that position.

A very strong back three would be Habs, Mvovo and JP. Add some proper kick coaching and then BOOM!

• 35.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Bra-FCKIN-VO!!! Someone else on the cover tham ie: Jean,Schalk,Fourie etc boring others.

JPP should have gotten more covers by now anyways.

He was before he got injured possibly the best wing if not the best player on the planet-his form from England series was just sublime.

In the long run I believe he should move into the midfield.And it should start at the Sharks-Jordaan is good at 13 but he isnt a better 13 than JP neither. Once JP learns the nuances of midfield play -the sky is the limit.With his frame,speed,defensive prowess he could become great.

Another special player coming through Sharks ranks is Sbura Sithole…That boy has Cory Jane written all over him. His ability to beat players 1 on 1 with his feet,speed or fend is a valuable asset.

Pity such skills arent valued in South Africa especially in current Bok climate.Because all as a wing you SHOULD do is chase high balls and shut up…No flair nothing,Just be an Uncle Tom and follow General Meyer and the “Execution over Innovation” stormtroopers

• 36.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Best wing in the country if not the world and now people think he should be playing 13.

He had one extremely good game against the Stormers and the other games at 13 he was solid. Nothing more.
    When he played out on the wing again, he was well nigh impossible to manage and his defence was top draw as well.

Leave the oke at 14 please.

• 37.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-35:
    Sbura needs to work on his hands boet.

Dropped one or two on Saturday and is very shaky under the high ball. Something which Cory Jane excells at.
    He’s farking unbelievable when he does get the ball in his hands though. Should have been drafted in to take over from Ndungane ages ago.

Not sure how you can compare the 2 actually. One is a retreaded fullback and the other is an out and out winger with lots of talent and also lots to learn.

• 38.H: Reply to this comment

As if any rugby player has ever said “I’ve reached my peak”.

• 39.Jeez: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-35:
    Rhule at the Cheetahs have impressed me …

• 40.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-37:

If you look at the ATTACK SKILLSET,the grounds for comparison are there. Jane’s best attribute especially for a wee fella is his balanced running,strength in contact and that AMAZING fend of his. Sbura possesses those very same qualities.

Now I never said Sbura is the finished article. He does need to work on his hands indeed and high ball but those are things that CAN be fixed with coaching and practice.You cant coach what he has as his GOD given ability,the ability beat players 1 on 1 with limited space.

@John Galt-36:

Tana Umaga was a world class winger when he converted to 13 in 2002/2003.He was in fact the incumbent AB winger. But NZ was short at 13 and he indeed possessed qualities of succeding there and ad the fact NZ had a lot of young wingers coming through.Same in SA ie: Sithole,Volminck,Basson,Mvovo,Engelbrecht,Rhule.Add Aplon who is still very capable and should be in squad as well.

And as i said in my post, in the LONG run i see JP moving to 13.possibly 12-18 months from now.

• 41.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Jeez-39:

Rhule
    Sithole
    Volminck

• 42.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-40:
    Agreed. What he already possesses cant be coached.
    What he still needs to learn, can be.

A great position for him to be in. Just hope they start him in every game this CC.
    His learning curve will be that much steeper in actual match situations. Watered down CC is perfect for him.

• 43.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-40: Saw Sbura play in the 7s series… Looks pretty farken dynamic.

What are his Stats…?

• 44.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-43: 1,82m 94kg… This fits with a wing profile… Gain a few kgs of muscle but keep his speed then he’s cooking.

• 45.Tiptackle: Reply to this comment

Does anybody know when JP is expected to return from injury ? Still believe his best pos is at 14. We have plenty of young midfielders coming (Serforntein, Jordaan, JJ, Sadie (?) over the next couple of seasons. If JP was moved to 13 it may serve as a “stop-gap” but that aint gonna happen while JDV is wearing the armband…….

FB remains a concern but only becos ZK is there and he is very average. We haven’t seen enough of Lambie there imho (and probly won’t while HM is driving the Bok bus !!) and then there is Taute as another option…..

So what am I saying ? Fark knows…..

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.