What Bismarck’s loss means

RYAN VREDE writes that Bismarck du Plessis is the most significant of all the Springboks’ injuries to date and further erodes the hope of them winning the Rugby Championship.

I wrote at the time that I didn’t believe the absence of Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez (who was courted for a Test return) among a clutch of uncapped players (Duane Vermeulen and Johan Goosen for example) would be terminal to the Springboks’ cause against England. There were competent replacements available who subsequently got the job done. Neither did I feel it would hinder them against Argentina last week, even with Pierre Spies and JP Pietersen added to that injury list.

It was their unavailability against Australia and New Zealand that most concerned me, although I still believed the depth was sufficient to beat the former and mount an appreciable challenge against the Blacks. But Du Plessis’ loss is a hammer blow. To understand it’s significance you have to take into account the tangible and non-tangible impact.

Technically he is the most complete hooker in the game. He is a brutal defender who has also grown as a breakdown scavenger in recent years. Indeed Heyneke Meyer highlighted this as amplifying his value, especially in light of the absence of a specialist openside flank. On attack he is a force at the gainline, a constant source of go-forward. His work-rate in both these facets of play is unmatched by any hooker on the planet (I know this because I’ve seen the Springboks’ analysis of all their competitors in this regard). Furthermore, his set piece work is excellent.

Away from the technical competencies, his game intelligence and temperament under pressure has improved markedly, as has his discipline, which was a point of concern early in his career. He has also become an accomplished leader. Meyer’s estimation of him in this regard has grown to the point where he had considered him for the captaincy. Finally, his experience will be sorely missed. Forty six caps into his Test career, Du Plessis’s presence at crunch times would have been a boon for a youthful and largely inexperienced Springbok pack.

Seldom will one player’s absence be decisive to the outcome, and I’m not suggesting Du Plessis holds such sway at this point in his career. He was, however, the heart and soul of the side and embodied every quality Meyer sought in his players. He has the capacity to galvanise those around him through the standard he sets. He is a match winner.

His replacement, Adriaan Strauss, is a fine player but he isn’t in Du Plessis’s class. That said, Strauss faces a decisive phase in his Test career, where his success or failure will have a significant bearing on the Springboks’ fortunes. In the context of their game plan he is an important cog. His lineout feeds will come under the microscope and with the Springboks’ rolling maul being one of their primary weapons, Strauss’s accuracy will be central to their ability to set this in motion. It is also a facet of play where the Springboks have traditionally had the edge over the Wallabies and Blacks.

In addition Strauss will have to rein in his fondness for lurking in the loose. It is a strategy that suits the Cheetahs’ approach but the Springboks will need him to get stuck in at ground zero in the coming Tests.

In Monday’s press conference in Mendoza Meyer described Strauss as world-class. That offering and other examples of his professed faith in him is not lip service. He has an extremely high regard for the player, whom he brought to the Bulls as a youngster and whose loss he deeply lamented when he returned to the Cheetahs. Strauss owes it to himself and Meyer to take the opportunity that now presents itself.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

579 Comments

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

• 451.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@stew-449:
    Dan will look good in a Blues jersey then.

• 452.rangerman: Reply to this comment

and lets be honest, if we can unlock even more talent from the EC then our rugby will be even healthier.

• 453.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-447:

‘its just not sport’ boet hehehe
    what a way to sink with your ship. he reminds me of the italian captain coward who jumped ship off that cruise liner earlier in the year.

kevin was the captain when the lions ship sailed into rocks… now he wants to get all melodramatic and shift blame.

• 454.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

of course wp’s ‘dirty dealin player stealin’ is not lost on me.

take note pedigree and chums…

• 455.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-448:
    although he should in the first instance accept and be happy with just being the incumbent (morne’s going nowhere soon), thats all. lots of bench warming and if he keeps his head up and sacrifices for the team cause then his chance will come.

• 456.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-455:
    yep….sometimes you have to bide your time, listen and learn, but it would take a massive effort from Morne to keep young Goosen from unseating him at no10, probably the biggest challenge he has had to face in his career.

• 457.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@stew-449: Oh there will be signings…..and good ones at that. A huge playmaker at 10 (they will be searching….) And I reckon they will be looking for ‘old school’ Blues type forwards, back to Blues basics.
    This only bodes well for Blues rugby.

@rangerman-450: Spot on! de Klerk and his fools are looking for pity and respect in all the wrong places. Until now, I have yet to see ONE of them take even the slightest bit of responsibility for the fuckup that is, and has been Lions rugby for years………
    It is always everyone else at fault, Gumede, Sponsors, The Pumas and Valke, Players, coaches, other unions, SARU blah blah blah blah blah.
    Until they man up, and start shouldering at least 80% of the blame for this cockedupabortion – they deserve ZERO respect, and ZERO sympathy. I reserve all my respect for the loyal Lions fans.

• 458.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-454: :) You say this when the Bulls has already taken Hattingg, Willemse and the other kid lock from the Lions? And if rumour is to be believed, quite a few Lions players are already packing their bags for Tshwane :)

WPRFU will be left with the remnants my friend…..

• 459.grant10: Reply to this comment

However it is when you get to back-up that there are problems for the Sharks, and Plumtree has said that he will look for options overseas in his quest to fill the void left by the injury to Du Plessis and subsequent loss of Burden.

Be bold Plumtree….lure Schalk Brits home !

• 460.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-458:
    low profile players with ‘pay as you go’ contracts can hardly be compared to dangling carrots for elton and josh tsk tsk… and the bulls were fishng them before the relegation.

besides, but this is all about ‘respect and etiquette’, my man :grin: there is a good way and a bad way to do business, and wp’s not doing it nicely…. according to kevvie.

dont take cheap shots at wounded lions in public my friend….

• 461.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i see tiaan and burden’s running neck and neck in the poll.

• 462.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-459: Brits can’t scrum to save his life. As for his throwing, maybe he can hit the barn door now.

• 463.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-462:
    my feelings too
    he is a flank masquerading as a hooker

• 464.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-462: Sukkel om n perd se gwar met n beach ball raak te gooi……

• 465.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-463: Agree. Ball in hand he is quite usefull and defence is pretty solid. Any reason why he has.nt been tested there?

• 466.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-459:
    That would be an unbelievable signing.
    But there is one problem and that is that Plumtree is dead set on developing Burden and Kyle Coopere as his future hookers.
    Cooper is injured now but when he is fit and when Burden does return to the Sharks after Chilli returns to the Boks, he’ll be left with trying to rotate 3 classy hookers.(sounds a bit rude I know)

Also, if Brits does return, he’ll be looking for something longer term.
    Methinks Plum will look for someone as a very short term stop gap.

• 467.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-459: Yeah Grant plum does not have more options,

Bismark, Cooper injured, Burden now with Boks and Hadebe getting a start he is having to call up Marais the Junior Bok hooker from our already depleted under 21 squad

• 468.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-462: @i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-463:
    This early in the CC, with all the Boks away, Brits would absolutely dominate.
    But as I said above, it wont happen.

• 469.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-467:
    Oh ya, forgot about Hadebe. Good player.

• 470.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-464: :lol:

• 471.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Big news.

Johan Goosen starting for the Tahs against the Kwas this weekend.

Very happy bout that.

• 472.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-469: Good player, played SA Schools, just he is the last one left lol

we have 4 hookers away with injuries or Bok duty, the 5th one is to start, the 6th one is a junior bok and 19 years old

so yeah we scratchin the barrel here lol

• 473.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-465:
    i suppose age really. he’s over 30 so its a question of teaching an old dog new tricks. that and maybe a bit more meat on the bones at 100kg?

• 474.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-466: Must say I quite like Burden. Always something happening when he gets ball in hand and has left a number of defenders for dead over the first couple of meters to score.

• 475.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-474: Very good impact player

• 476.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-459: @John Galt-466: It will be difficult to find anyone in NH now that their season is about to start. They could make a deal with one of the French clubs for one of their backup hookers who might not get playing time, or send Straeuli to Georgia and find a beast who has not yet been signed up for a French club.

• 477.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-476: Smitty?? :wink: :lol: now that will get the typing fingers wagging :lol:

• 478.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-474:
    Yeah, great with ball in hand.

I must admit, while I was happy for the lad that he got the call up, I do think he needs alot of work on his pure hooking skills. Scrummaging and Throwing etc.
    This watered down CC cup would have been perfect for him to hone his skills.

Now he’s going to travel around holding tackle bags.

• 479.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-477: :lol:

ja, COME BACK SMITTY, ONE LAST CHANCE hahaha.

he will also add some much needed bulk in our front row.

the faithful will be in raptures.

• 480.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-478: Exactly, was hoping he would’nt get called up, kinda selfish of me as every player dreams of playing for his country, but he does need a season playing and not being a bench warmer to improve his skills

• 481.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-479: :lol:

• 482.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-477:
    Oh sh it!

You gone an’ done it now.

• 483.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-468:
    good point, under those circumstances he would too. disruptions to wp and cheetahs at hooker, wepener the only real threat.

• 484.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-482: :mrgreen: :lol:

• 485.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-480: I reckon by now he has perfected the silent fa rt routine on them plastic chairs. Quite a difficult thing to do actually as they normally sound like a 125cc at low revs.

• 486.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

if john smit is playing well i dont see why not
    in fact, i think it would be a smart move

• 487.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-477: Ja. :lol: But I dont think Barney would come back. It wouldn’t be in keeping for a legend who has been there, done that with the Sharks.

Best would be to get Frenchie, Argie or Georgian on a short term one month contract from one of the French Top 14 teams. A player who might not get much playing time initially – Fred Michalak can confirm to the player that Sharks are the place to be and Voila!

• 488.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-486: Nou maak jy kak :lol:

• 489.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-487: lol true,

• 490.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-488: :lol: , the Haters will soon let rip in here :lol:

• 491.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Maybe we should bring John Allen out of retirement? :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 492.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

i have always liked john smit. he is first and foremost a really good person through and through and was a good player throughout his career.
    a shinng example of the qualities and characteristics the captain of a rugby team should have.

kiwis could learn a thing or two from him.

• 493.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@KWAGGA ROBERTSE-488:

• 494.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-492: Amen

• 495.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-460: It won’t be long before we see a loyal Lions fan, named ‘Jan Alleman’ up for assault. Someone is bound to klapthisdeklerkdoos right into the Super 18, whilst at the Rivonia Spur, Cresta Shopping centre etc.
    The temptation will surely be too great to pass…

The Lions are wounded yes, but de Klerk and his crones are the dumbfucks who did the shooting….so unskilled and kak they are, they couldn’t even perfect a killshot. Wounded is all they could deliver.

• 496.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-492: Who doesn’t like John Smit? Just asking, as I can’t see any Bok fan having an issue with him?

• 497.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-495: a friend of mine who works in Jozi wore his Kings jersey to work on friday, needless to say, some of his colleagues didn’t speak to him the whole day :D

dik bek :cry:

• 498.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-492: Beyootiful :lol:

• 499.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-496: yeah we all like Plod :D

• 500.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-499: Liar

Pages: « 12 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.