What Bismarck’s loss means

RYAN VREDE writes that Bismarck du Plessis is the most significant of all the Springboks’ injuries to date and further erodes the hope of them winning the Rugby Championship.

I wrote at the time that I didn’t believe the absence of Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez (who was courted for a Test return) among a clutch of uncapped players (Duane Vermeulen and Johan Goosen for example) would be terminal to the Springboks’ cause against England. There were competent replacements available who subsequently got the job done. Neither did I feel it would hinder them against Argentina last week, even with Pierre Spies and JP Pietersen added to that injury list.

It was their unavailability against Australia and New Zealand that most concerned me, although I still believed the depth was sufficient to beat the former and mount an appreciable challenge against the Blacks. But Du Plessis’ loss is a hammer blow. To understand it’s significance you have to take into account the tangible and non-tangible impact.

Technically he is the most complete hooker in the game. He is a brutal defender who has also grown as a breakdown scavenger in recent years. Indeed Heyneke Meyer highlighted this as amplifying his value, especially in light of the absence of a specialist openside flank. On attack he is a force at the gainline, a constant source of go-forward. His work-rate in both these facets of play is unmatched by any hooker on the planet (I know this because I’ve seen the Springboks’ analysis of all their competitors in this regard). Furthermore, his set piece work is excellent.

Away from the technical competencies, his game intelligence and temperament under pressure has improved markedly, as has his discipline, which was a point of concern early in his career. He has also become an accomplished leader. Meyer’s estimation of him in this regard has grown to the point where he had considered him for the captaincy. Finally, his experience will be sorely missed. Forty six caps into his Test career, Du Plessis’s presence at crunch times would have been a boon for a youthful and largely inexperienced Springbok pack.

Seldom will one player’s absence be decisive to the outcome, and I’m not suggesting Du Plessis holds such sway at this point in his career. He was, however, the heart and soul of the side and embodied every quality Meyer sought in his players. He has the capacity to galvanise those around him through the standard he sets. He is a match winner.

His replacement, Adriaan Strauss, is a fine player but he isn’t in Du Plessis’s class. That said, Strauss faces a decisive phase in his Test career, where his success or failure will have a significant bearing on the Springboks’ fortunes. In the context of their game plan he is an important cog. His lineout feeds will come under the microscope and with the Springboks’ rolling maul being one of their primary weapons, Strauss’s accuracy will be central to their ability to set this in motion. It is also a facet of play where the Springboks have traditionally had the edge over the Wallabies and Blacks.

In addition Strauss will have to rein in his fondness for lurking in the loose. It is a strategy that suits the Cheetahs’ approach but the Springboks will need him to get stuck in at ground zero in the coming Tests.

In Monday’s press conference in Mendoza Meyer described Strauss as world-class. That offering and other examples of his professed faith in him is not lip service. He has an extremely high regard for the player, whom he brought to the Bulls as a youngster and whose loss he deeply lamented when he returned to the Cheetahs. Strauss owes it to himself and Meyer to take the opportunity that now presents itself.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

579 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 51.Horings: Reply to this comment

@stew-43: That is certainly how the refs see him.

• 52.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@stew-43:

Hahaha he is a very good player and more so PROFESSIONAL

Umaga did it 3 times tho…from wing to 13 then to 12…All position he was WORLD CLASS.

Bow down

• 53.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Horings-46: hey, agile-t.its told us that meyer CONVINCED stegmann to come to bulls from grey!

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-45: Agree Mike….I have really enjoyed Kolisi and MarcelleCoetsee emergence this year….

• 55.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@grant10-54: Anyways, there is almost nothing better than seeing Brussel Sprout annoying the cr*p out of those sheep shaggers.

• 56.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-50: No. Our coaches are only watching re-runs of the 2007, 2009 and 2010 Super rugby finals as points of reference.

• 57.Horings: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-53: Probably true. Heyneke did have some fetchers in the junior set up, but he picked Wikus and Kuun as fetchers in 2007 before he left. Before 2007 we had loose trios such as Leonard, Pedrie and Wasserman. Wasserman also had the fetcher skills, but he was also a ball carrier.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-49: Yes…I know …F Louw in same position as R Pienaar….and guess what???

Yes…Ruans there !!

• 59.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@grant10-54:

Kitshoff
    Coenie
    Etzebeth
    Kolisi
    Coetzee
    Goosen
    Rhule
    Jordaan
    Sithole

SA has some young freakish talent coming through

• 60.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Got to run.

If I was God:

With the players we have:

Ruan to 9.
    Hougie to the wing.
    Lambie to 10.
    Coetzee, Alberts and Kolisi as our loose trio.

None of the above will happen though :)

• 61.grant10: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-59: Absolutely….I attended both the semi and final of junior WC…brilliant talent ….we should have no excuses…

• 62.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-59: PSDT :shock: that you forgot him lol

• 63.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I was very mpressedmwith thenargies at the breakdown i think they will cause both the antipoden sides plenty of trouble.

Withregards to meyer…in layman terms he needs to get thisnsidemof mismatch newbies andinjury fillins to crawl and walk before they can run and fly. A simple plan well executed will get more mileageg

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-60: Kolise never went on tour…will be playing for WP weekend…

• 65.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-35:more PORKERS!!!

“People also forget that mccaw and now hooper sre physically large players, also an important consideration and a reason why brussouw may not be in favour. Few can deny that since the laws withregards to riding the tackle and releasing the player have change, brussouw has never been as effective as before.”

1.82m 97kg michael hooper
    1.81m 104kg heinrich brussow
    1.84m 105kg david pocock
    1.87m 106kg richie mccaw

so tell us again, why isn’t heinrich “riding tackles” well anymore, is it his SIZE?

• 66.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-62:

Oops my bad yeah PSDT freakish too

Juan Smith reincarnation

• 67.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-65:

Ungakhohlwa uDusuatoir

• 68.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-58: I would think it is more important for a forward to be battle-hardened and ready than a substitute back.

Meyer would need to see how Louw was playing before selecting him, he can’t make a blind pick in such a key position.

• 69.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-66: :lol: yup with more speed and height, eish

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-68: excuses….Ruan has been in SA for weeks now….F Louw could have been as well….

For me both Brussow and F Louw would be key players in my Bok squad….
    with Brussow first choice…

• 71.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@londonshark-60: For the backs I 100% agree, Hougie is not cutting the mustard at 9 but hell he is a good player! With Pienaar and Lambie as halfbacks, Fransie and JDV as our centres, Hougie and JPP as our wings and possibly a Taute coming through in months to come, we have the makings of a seriously good backine! Throw Goosen and Englebrecht into that mix and the future looks bright

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

Kepu , Aussie 3 , also out injured….

• 73.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-69: He just needs to prove he is as hard! Juan Smith must be one of the hardest men to play for the Boks. If PSDT can apply that mongrel he will be a great

• 74.greegs: Reply to this comment

Very interesting Ryan, I must say! Bizzie is a good hooker but at the same time has a penalty count higher than the empire state building as well as being a walking yellow card. So, having him in the team comes at a cost. Then you mention that though these injuries means SA won’t win the rugby championship. What a crock of ****? We were never going to win it! The strategy adopted by HM is old fashioned and easily read by the competition. The Boks need some centres and a quality fetcher before they can win anything.

• 75.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@greegs-74: Some centres? Presuming by this you do not rate Fransie and JDV?

• 76.willievz: Reply to this comment

Make no mistake – Bismarck is a big loss. But Strauss is a more than capable replacement, as shown on Saturday.

Makes a lot of meters and good technique in protecting and presenting the ball in the tackle.

Good set pieces.

Very good discipline, does not give away penalties.

• 77.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10-70: Flouw played in John Smit’s “Barney’s Army” team, how could he not be available for the Boks?

Barney’s Army:
    15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Brent Russell, 13 Matt Banahan, 12 Marius Joubert, 11 Joe Maddock, 10 Butch James, 9 Mark McMillan, 8 Shaun Sowerby, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Julian Salvi, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Jason White, 3 Faan Rautenbach, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Martin Scelzo

16 Pieter Dixon, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Rob Linde, 19 Hottie Louw, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Stephen Donald, 22 Stefan Terblanche, 23 Heimar Williams

• 78.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@willievz-76: Only thing is the loss in terms of breakdown skills…Strauss is a good player and his first phase work and carrying skills are top notch but we will lose something in terms of the breakdown. This will affect the loose trio balance.

• 79.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-35: :lol:

Sien die manne EET jou vandag op hierdie post!

• 80.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-77: yes….this when the damn useless Stormers Suits were unable to sort out a loan deal for F Louw….I was spitting mad!!

• 81.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ Skeppie – I don’t rate either of the centres. We desperately need Jacque Fourie back in the mix and honestly not sure who else at this stage. In my opinion, both now are too slow and only area they OK at is defence… Can’t we bring Danie Gerber back? I’d also play De Jong before Frans….

• 82.Palooka: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-35:

1. Review Brussouw’s last three matches against the Bulls, Stormers and Sharks;
    2. Brussouw MOTM awards in 2 of his 4 matches played against the All Blacks.
    In terms of these perspectives please re-evaluate your statements in terms of physicality and effectiveness.

• 83.willievz: Reply to this comment

F Steyn
    JPP

That is the best Bok centre pairing, if all fit.

• 84.greegs: Reply to this comment

In fact, what we looking for is a Richard Kahui type player…

• 85.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@greegs-81: Phew I agree with Jacque Fourie…he is class but Frans and JDV for me are also great centres. Neither are slow, in fact they are probably two of the quicker centres in world rugby

• 86.Palooka: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-65:

Length and body mass says nothing of a players attributes: Judge a person by his performance on the field.

• 87.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@greegs-84: Minus all the injuries…if possible.

• 88.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-70: a player needs some game time to be test ready (not sure how you can dispute this?) – particularly a forward and Louw wasn’t eligible to play for any SA province.

Moreover since the RFU have to pay for player release the AP are tight about clubs releasing foreign players for test duty, the SARU would have had to pay for any early release.

• 89.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-79: :lol: hy lieg!!!!!

• 90.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Palooka-86: read my post in CONTEXT with what Brig van Zyl was saying which is this: “People also forget that mccaw and now hooper sre physically large players, also an important consideration and a reason why brussouw may not be in favour.”

he uses this rubbish as reasons why brussow is perceived as ineffective by heyneke meyer!

klomp kak if you ask me :D

• 91.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10-72: Wobs are going to get well beaten at the weekend. Just on Brussow as your first choice, isn’t he injured? at least that’s what I read.

• 92.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-88: I accept it would be better if F Louw was actually playing….thats a bit of a no brainer….fact is I would have him in Bok mix, Brussow would be first choice but certainly now with Brussow out I would have F Louw ready to start….not ideal, obviously, but thats the price we pay for losing key staff to overseas clubs….

It is a money problem, for sure….

But that dont mean we [ Boks ] are the poorer for missing out on Louws services……again we are happy to make a plan for R Pienaar but not F Louw….I would try get both in the mix…

• 93.Palooka: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-90:

Agree- sorry for missing the CONTEXT.

• 94.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-89:

apologetically….I don’t carry the latest android app for players height and weight stats on me.

never the less……does mccaw, etc ….not look physically larger to the eye or not?

does brussow still effect as many steals now as he did in 2009?
    what is so difficult to understand? I rate brussouw and carrying an out and out fetcher definately does effect the mental confiedence of your backline in my opinion as I argued for many seasons before steggers at the bulls.

however, the fact that he does not effect as many turnovers (albeit he may well still slow down plenty of ball) added to the fact that not only is he not a viable lineout option but diminutive altogether in the lineup at the lineout and given our inexperienced and limited lineout options and the importance placed on this set piece facet, I hypothesize that the coaches feel that there is more value elsewhere.

not rocket science now is it?

• 95.gunther: Reply to this comment

Barney is available.

• 96.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

I would also ask….who do you replace in the match 22 to accomodate Brussouw.

To my mind, it would then be marcel coetzee who is playing 6. I’m sure everyone will shout Potgieter but that is not a straight replacement. If people were asking for Elstadt …then that would be something to consider.

and what has coetzee done to warrant being dropped/replaced?

and for me, bruossow/coetzee/alberts does not look a great combo. you are short of a heavy hitter somewhere as we saw with daniels last weekend.

also, I haven’t got the android app on me, but did alberts do the full 80 last weekend?

• 97.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-94:

So a fetcher’s role is only to make clean steals?

Ok, got it.

• 98.katman: Reply to this comment

Let them play the ghoulish lovechild of Wyatt Earp and Davey Crockett. I’d pay money to see the way he shakes his head in sheer disbelief every time the whistle goes at the end of a scrum collapse. That’s entertainment.

• 99.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-96:

You’re right. Coetzee has done nothing wrong. He is a very good player.

But Brussow is a world-class player.

There is a big difference between very good, and world-class.

• 100.pokkel: Reply to this comment

@greegs-74:

Rubbish. Bismarck’s discipline this year has been very good. He was antagonised by a lot of teams this year especially with defenders holding on to him around the rucks and he kept his discipline very well compared to other years.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.