What Bismarck’s loss means
21 Aug 2012
RYAN VREDE writes that Bismarck du Plessis is the most significant of all the Springboks’ injuries to date and further erodes the hope of them winning the Rugby Championship.
I wrote at the time that I didn’t believe the absence of Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez (who was courted for a Test return) among a clutch of uncapped players (Duane Vermeulen and Johan Goosen for example) would be terminal to the Springboks’ cause against England. There were competent replacements available who subsequently got the job done. Neither did I feel it would hinder them against Argentina last week, even with Pierre Spies and JP Pietersen added to that injury list.
It was their unavailability against Australia and New Zealand that most concerned me, although I still believed the depth was sufficient to beat the former and mount an appreciable challenge against the Blacks. But Du Plessis’ loss is a hammer blow. To understand it’s significance you have to take into account the tangible and non-tangible impact.
Technically he is the most complete hooker in the game. He is a brutal defender who has also grown as a breakdown scavenger in recent years. Indeed Heyneke Meyer highlighted this as amplifying his value, especially in light of the absence of a specialist openside flank. On attack he is a force at the gainline, a constant source of go-forward. His work-rate in both these facets of play is unmatched by any hooker on the planet (I know this because I’ve seen the Springboks’ analysis of all their competitors in this regard). Furthermore, his set piece work is excellent.
Away from the technical competencies, his game intelligence and temperament under pressure has improved markedly, as has his discipline, which was a point of concern early in his career. He has also become an accomplished leader. Meyer’s estimation of him in this regard has grown to the point where he had considered him for the captaincy. Finally, his experience will be sorely missed. Forty six caps into his Test career, Du Plessis’s presence at crunch times would have been a boon for a youthful and largely inexperienced Springbok pack.
Seldom will one player’s absence be decisive to the outcome, and I’m not suggesting Du Plessis holds such sway at this point in his career. He was, however, the heart and soul of the side and embodied every quality Meyer sought in his players. He has the capacity to galvanise those around him through the standard he sets. He is a match winner.
His replacement, Adriaan Strauss, is a fine player but he isn’t in Du Plessis’s class. That said, Strauss faces a decisive phase in his Test career, where his success or failure will have a significant bearing on the Springboks’ fortunes. In the context of their game plan he is an important cog. His lineout feeds will come under the microscope and with the Springboks’ rolling maul being one of their primary weapons, Strauss’s accuracy will be central to their ability to set this in motion. It is also a facet of play where the Springboks have traditionally had the edge over the Wallabies and Blacks.
In addition Strauss will have to rein in his fondness for lurking in the loose. It is a strategy that suits the Cheetahs’ approach but the Springboks will need him to get stuck in at ground zero in the coming Tests.
In Monday’s press conference in Mendoza Meyer described Strauss as world-class. That offering and other examples of his professed faith in him is not lip service. He has an extremely high regard for the player, whom he brought to the Bulls as a youngster and whose loss he deeply lamented when he returned to the Cheetahs. Strauss owes it to himself and Meyer to take the opportunity that now presents itself.

579 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All
21 Aug 2012, 13:48 pm
So, does HM have enough dark players in his squad (with Habana) out, to start with his customary 4 POC’s?
Beast
Mvovo
Kirchner
Who else?
21 Aug 2012, 13:48 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-96: The problem is at lock more so that at loosie, Lets take a good example, the best loose trio as we saw in the 2nd half of the super15 was Kanko,Daniel,coetzee, now no real biggies there right?
Things is the tight 5 hit the rucks, Yes i know the Sharks dont have the b est Locks in the country and so we keep hearing, but they do the hard wok of hitting rucks and collusion points, Bekker and Etsebeth didnt quite do that, not did Strauss for Bissy, our actual break down point master,
If noone is clearing out over the ball come ruck time you have problems, it’s that simple
21 Aug 2012, 13:49 pm
@sharks_lover-102: Amen to that.
21 Aug 2012, 13:50 pm
@willievz-97:
willy, stop being so obtuse.
it is hardly my fault the lions have been relegated.
….and they played with a fetcher.
In fact, I’d consider minnie ahead of brussow give the current grouping.
21 Aug 2012, 13:53 pm
@sharks_lover-102:
I agree 100%
watch our 2009 games and bakkies had a huge season.
so what you want to do…..drop bekker and etsbeth call back bakkies so we can make everyone happy and call up brussouw?
21 Aug 2012, 13:53 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-104: If you say so.
21 Aug 2012, 13:57 pm
@grant10-92: I don’t think one could start Louw at this point, maybe have him on the bench but I accept HM could have him in the mix. I do think player release could have been a problem, not now under the test window but back then in preparation.
@nama1-101: If true, it’s sad that he has to work his selection around that, international coaches should be given a free hand. I guess you could see a Kolisi debut with Alberts to 8 now.
Is Habana actually ruled out?
21 Aug 2012, 13:58 pm
@katman-98: Oops, wrong thread.
21 Aug 2012, 13:58 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-105: would call up Brussow if he wasnt injured
21 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
Very few loose forwards in SA hits rucks like they should, thats why teams playing against us win so many turnover balls,
We tend to just go stand at the breakdowns points with a few attemps to win the ball, many of those teams protect the ball with their backline players, our backline players many times get driven off the ball.
21 Aug 2012, 14:03 pm
@sharks_lover-102:
Agree.
If you look back at the seasons where the Boks were most succesful, they had a fit Bakkies and/or Juan Smith hitting the rucks all the time.
We lack that currently.
21 Aug 2012, 14:08 pm
@nama1-101:
A real shame indeed
Such a wealth of Test quality players in Chilibooi, Maku, Johnson, Kolisie, Aplon, JdJ to name just a few
Would be great to see Kolisie and Aplon against the Gauchos!
21 Aug 2012, 14:08 pm
@Big Hit-107:
I’m just going by the selection of the teams so far under HM.I don’t think it is prescribed. It is probably how HM wants to prove his commitment to transformation in the Bok team.
May be totally wrong of course.
PS: Tac started with the 4 POC’s being the “magic number.”
@sharks_lover-110:
Once again, I have to agree with you.
21 Aug 2012, 14:10 pm
@nama1-113: I just had a look at the 26 man squad, the 4 you mention are the only 4 POCs in the squad. If Habana is out he would have to fly an alternative in.
21 Aug 2012, 14:11 pm
@nama1-111: Agreed Nama, and either HM must get bekker and Etsebeth to get stuck into the Rucks?? or he has to change his lock combo
21 Aug 2012, 14:12 pm
@sharks_lover-110:
and I would point out that that is why jaque potgieter is in the mix, you or anyone else may not rate him but he flys into rucks and contact in general like a scud missle.
if he could channel his aggression with more accuracy I’d suggest he’d could become awesome.
21 Aug 2012, 14:14 pm
Johan Goosen is back, will play for Cheetahs this weekend.
21 Aug 2012, 14:16 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-116: Mate if you want a flank to hit rucks you choose someone with more all rounded skills, a deysel?? who tackles properly and hits the rucks hard, he is not a fethcer yet wins many balls that way, and he is a demon in strength as a ball carrier. I am not saying he is the answer or our only answer,
Potgieter needs to be recoached , he flies into tackles in a bad way same a rucks, you have to stay on your feet, NOT saying he does not have the potential, he does, but he has a lot of rough edges to his game
21 Aug 2012, 14:17 pm
@PissAnt-117: great news
So now the useless Lambie can come back to the Sharks
21 Aug 2012, 14:19 pm
@PissAnt-117: Was not referring to you by the way, but as you know ? the most in here consider Lambie to be useless, Now we can make do with his useless player at the Sharks, imagine if we keep winning with this useless player at 10 ??
21 Aug 2012, 14:23 pm
@sharks_lover-115:
With Strauss not known for hitting the rucks as well, things may be a bit more difficult against the Argies than expected.
The combo of Coetzee and Alberts at flank, both being ball carriers and defensively orientated, will further prohibits us from “dominating the collisions.”
21 Aug 2012, 14:23 pm
@sharks_lover-120:
I know – no probs.
21 Aug 2012, 14:32 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-116:
“if he could channel his aggression with more accuracy I’d suggest he’d could become awesome.”
…and until he can do that, he should not be in the Bok team. The Bok team is not a place for apprentices. Ask Tac.
Let Potgieter complete his apprenticeship at the Bulls, get more accurate, then he can maybe stake a claim for a spot the Bok team.
21 Aug 2012, 14:33 pm
Just to keep myself busy, here is next years Springbok team, OOPS i mean Sharks team
15 Ludick
14 JPP
13 Jordaan
12 F Steyn
11 Mvovo
10 The Useless Lambie
09 Mcleod/Reinach
08 Kanko
07 Alberts
06 Coetzee
05 Bresler
04 PSDT
03 Jannie
02 Bismark
01 Beast
Reserves:
16 Burden, 17 Herbst, 18 Sykes, 19 Deysel, 20 Daniel, 21 WHitehead, 22 Reinach/Mcleod, 23 Bosman, 24 Odwa, 25 Viljoen, 26 Sbura, 27 Chadwick, Jandre Mare, 28, Peet Mare, 29 Cooper, Kleinhans, 30 Zeilinga, 31 Heimer Williams, 32 Gouws Prinsloo, 33 Mthembu, 34 Hadebe, 35 hoffmann, 36 Redelinghuys
Damn running out of names here, so many lol, and then Talks of one or 2 ex sharks playuers returning from the Lions
Cillier and one other
21 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
@nama1-123:
Well said. The Bok team is no place to learn your trade.
Potgieter should be no where near the Bok setup. Hell, he was hurt for half the year.
21 Aug 2012, 14:35 pm
@nama1-121: I agree, this is why a Deysel should have been there with Brussouw injured, or a Minnie, Its about combo’s, or seriously for now HM should think of bringing back Bakkies, i know some wont like me saying that but that was part of his job, Sykes does it for the Sharks with Bissy
21 Aug 2012, 14:36 pm
@PissAnt-122: YOU well mate??
21 Aug 2012, 14:36 pm
@nama1-121:
The sooner the Boks start hunting as a pack at the ruck-zone on both their own ball and counter-rucking as a unit on opposition ball… the sooner guys like Pocock/McCaw/Cane/Hooper will be less of a factor…
All this X player should be doing this and Y player should be doing that around the paddock is beyond ludicrous it’s a 22 man game…
21 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
Parlement discussing the Marikana tragedy.
Lonmin not looking good.
This bucket will get passed around and around … Nobody will take responsibility for the happenings and the poor families, left behind, will be the real victims.
Of course, Apartheid is also mentioned as a cause for this tragedy.
@londonshark-125: really? someone should tell your backs, they look like they are still learning what it is they are supposed to do..
one only need look at the 1/4 final last year, they couldnt catch a pass with the tryline open… eish..
@sharks_lover-118:
Spot on.
Potgieter reminds me of Krige. Tons of heart, but nothing else to offer.
I’m sure he’ll grow as a player. But he must do that with the Bulls, not the Boks.
Eish forgot about Botes in my squad
21 Aug 2012, 14:39 pm
@poppa69-130:
Easy now big boy. No need to push buttons. Don’t make me bring Suzi into this
21 Aug 2012, 14:42 pm
@poppa69-130: Always knocking someone elses team makes you feel proud and good about urself huh??
IS it a New Zealand thing?
21 Aug 2012, 14:43 pm
@londonshark-133: Suzie? hehehe Ive never ever prescribed to that theory, just so you know..
21 Aug 2012, 14:45 pm
@sharks_lover-134: someone seems a bit precious huh? shame, you werent here from 2007 to 2011? boy, did so many have to knock someone elses team to feel better about themselves then..
are you one of these saffa supporters who cant handle the mud being thrown back?
ag shampies
21 Aug 2012, 14:47 pm
@nama1-123: NO! when it comes to bulls players heyneke can “coach them back to form” HIMSELF! the likes of Brussow are UN-coachable and must prove that they can play to heyneke’s gameplan in the Currie Cup. Brig van Zyl says de Jongh has been “pants” the whole season and that’s why Engelbrecht is there as cover, then you ask yourself what the hell did JJ do that was soooo wonderful to warrant Bok selection, even as cover, ditto JANO VERMAAK!
21 Aug 2012, 14:49 pm
I would just like to say that Jaque Potgieter has already staked a claim for the boks, that is why he is there. skalk burger was an even more reckless player in the beginning albeit a very special one. I cannot understand this abuse that potgieter gets, I can only imagine that it is the fact that he is a bull.He played a very decent cameo this past weekend.
I also rate Deysel but is he not just recently back from another injury? I cannot remember but he has not set the scene alight the way he was doing in 2009? certainly he has had no more significant contributions for the sharks than what potgieter has had with the bulls in his first season.
the sharks are winning games with a fullback at 10, that they would still keep winning with lambie at 10 proves nothing.
however, imagine the sharks start losing games with Lambie at 10…what would that mean on your I-told-you-so barometer?
21 Aug 2012, 14:51 pm
Bok backs looked bloody clueless against Argies…..truly second rate….Have to improve in that area…..
and perhaps with Goosen coming back for Cheetahs is a step in the right direcion…
HM should start with Ruan Pienaar at 9 as well….
21 Aug 2012, 14:55 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-138:
No way boet.
Schalk was class, as well as being a lunatic.
You CAN’T compare the 2. Burger was the best player in the world in 2004 (his 2nd year with Boks), do you honestly put Potgieter in that category??
21 Aug 2012, 14:55 pm
@Transformation-137:
what did jj do that warrants selection?
well, as the coach and jean devilliers said…..he covers13 and wing as well.
12 was covered by frans steyn, devilliers himself and lambie.
dejong covers 12 and 13.
don’t try and be too smart. You know why jj is there.
dejong is still pants. maybe the magic number of 4 will see him get selected,who knows?
21 Aug 2012, 14:56 pm
@poppa69-135:
Good to hear.
21 Aug 2012, 14:57 pm
@londonshark-140:
I’ve already said skalk was special….but as if not more reckless. He got a few yellows in 2005/2006 if i remember.
PS:Transie, pull out your apple app and let me know for sure
thks
21 Aug 2012, 14:59 pm
@Transformation-137:
Ja boet.
The sad thing is, they actually believe it when they say it.
21 Aug 2012, 15:00 pm
@londonshark-142: after watching Invictus I knew it wasnt some waitress, it was an executive decision
21 Aug 2012, 15:00 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl-141:
Yep, got no problem with JJ.
He’s a class player and one for the future.
21 Aug 2012, 15:02 pm
@grant10-139: even with goosen taking the ball flat, he will probably have to skip pass fransie to the outside backs to exploit overlaps…
@Brigadier Van Zyl-141: JdV can cover wing too and JdJ 13, 12. JdJ is much better than JJ and is a proven international player. I’d be delighted if he was included in the next squad. JJ’s time will come but not against the big boys yet.
Potgieter is one of the worst brain-dead players I have ever seen.
@poppa69-145:
LOL. On that movie. The rugby scenes were aweful!! Very disapointed. It really isn’t hard to create really rugby scenes with real rugby players (some of course were).
Joel was played by Clint Eastwood’s grandson!!! And Lomu was waaaay to small.
21 Aug 2012, 15:06 pm
@mikeybrass-148: jdv can no longer cover wing, he’s not the same pace as 2004 when he could outstrip nz wingers. jdj cannot pass and outside of side stepping props…and only off the left foot what exactly makes him so fearsome.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 … 12 » Show All