What Bismarck’s loss means

RYAN VREDE writes that Bismarck du Plessis is the most significant of all the Springboks’ injuries to date and further erodes the hope of them winning the Rugby Championship.

I wrote at the time that I didn’t believe the absence of Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez (who was courted for a Test return) among a clutch of uncapped players (Duane Vermeulen and Johan Goosen for example) would be terminal to the Springboks’ cause against England. There were competent replacements available who subsequently got the job done. Neither did I feel it would hinder them against Argentina last week, even with Pierre Spies and JP Pietersen added to that injury list.

It was their unavailability against Australia and New Zealand that most concerned me, although I still believed the depth was sufficient to beat the former and mount an appreciable challenge against the Blacks. But Du Plessis’ loss is a hammer blow. To understand it’s significance you have to take into account the tangible and non-tangible impact.

Technically he is the most complete hooker in the game. He is a brutal defender who has also grown as a breakdown scavenger in recent years. Indeed Heyneke Meyer highlighted this as amplifying his value, especially in light of the absence of a specialist openside flank. On attack he is a force at the gainline, a constant source of go-forward. His work-rate in both these facets of play is unmatched by any hooker on the planet (I know this because I’ve seen the Springboks’ analysis of all their competitors in this regard). Furthermore, his set piece work is excellent.

Away from the technical competencies, his game intelligence and temperament under pressure has improved markedly, as has his discipline, which was a point of concern early in his career. He has also become an accomplished leader. Meyer’s estimation of him in this regard has grown to the point where he had considered him for the captaincy. Finally, his experience will be sorely missed. Forty six caps into his Test career, Du Plessis’s presence at crunch times would have been a boon for a youthful and largely inexperienced Springbok pack.

Seldom will one player’s absence be decisive to the outcome, and I’m not suggesting Du Plessis holds such sway at this point in his career. He was, however, the heart and soul of the side and embodied every quality Meyer sought in his players. He has the capacity to galvanise those around him through the standard he sets. He is a match winner.

His replacement, Adriaan Strauss, is a fine player but he isn’t in Du Plessis’s class. That said, Strauss faces a decisive phase in his Test career, where his success or failure will have a significant bearing on the Springboks’ fortunes. In the context of their game plan he is an important cog. His lineout feeds will come under the microscope and with the Springboks’ rolling maul being one of their primary weapons, Strauss’s accuracy will be central to their ability to set this in motion. It is also a facet of play where the Springboks have traditionally had the edge over the Wallabies and Blacks.

In addition Strauss will have to rein in his fondness for lurking in the loose. It is a strategy that suits the Cheetahs’ approach but the Springboks will need him to get stuck in at ground zero in the coming Tests.

In Monday’s press conference in Mendoza Meyer described Strauss as world-class. That offering and other examples of his professed faith in him is not lip service. He has an extremely high regard for the player, whom he brought to the Bulls as a youngster and whose loss he deeply lamented when he returned to the Cheetahs. Strauss owes it to himself and Meyer to take the opportunity that now presents itself.

Follow Ryan on Twitter
Follow SA Rugby magazine on Twitter

579 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

• 251.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

” who must have thought he was back in Wellington in the World Cup under a ref who wasn’t prepared to penalise anything”…??……???…

i cant farking believe it…!!..

i cant….

• 252.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-239: you sound ever more girly.

a big maori wahine.

wake up.

@Dawn-240: :lol:

@poppa69-242: silly girl jy klink so lam soos jou coach by die blues.

translation: chaila

• 253.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-248:

Mallet set apples back years.

Called him the human speedbump.

******* coaches.

• 254.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-233:
    i larfed when keegan said to the ref afterwards “but if they lift me up, there’s nothing i can do” hehehe

eat your porridge, keegy… eat your porridge…

• 255.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-252: you mean the Blues that have 3 super titles? that one? hahaha how many do the guppiegirls have? none you say? :lol:

keep going ranger, youve sure shown me today…

• 256.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther-250: i watched a show where these “maoris” in nz were allowed to catch fish the “indigenous” way.

in boardshorts and with a bucket to lug their catch made with a spear and some gillnets made in china.

i think poops thinks i have invaded his ancestral fishing grounds or something.

• 257.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-255: you looking for a scrap?

at least when you are fighting you arent whining so its a start.

now lets work on your manners.

Type:

i apologise for the millionth time for being myself, i will try harder to let this blog be an inspiration to me and my fellow rugby lovers.

repeat 1000 times.

i will check on your progress in the morning.

• 258.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-256: I think you worry to much about what poppa thinks..

shampies, I seem to have you wanting so much to get one over me? hahahaha classic, you can join gunther and katman as those who are compelled to teach me a lesson..

pure poetry it is, provides me with so many laughs..

• 259.W.P: Reply to this comment

Bissie is a major loss. Good enough ball carrier and a real menace at the breakdown. Strauss doesn’t relish the tight stuff. He’s more willing to stand off rucks to take the ball up. This worries me. Who’s gonna do the dirty work? Strauss needs to play tighter. Bissie is class!

• 260.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-258: oh i am laughing too buddy.

your joy is so much better than your tears admittedly :lol:

the tears were sad (sadface).

i have to go and drink beer with my mates and have a laugh now.

get typing.

• 261.gunther: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-256:

Poep also like to fish uses the front cannon on his waka.

• 262.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-260: thanks for proving my point..

you have mates?

sure you do…

• 263.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-204: Yep, I am the only one on this blog who thinks Potgieter is a waste of loosie space of course……
    Everyone else thinks he is fuckingmarvellous….

• 264.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-223:
    i’m still blow away by that.statement
    is this on the herald?

• 265.willievz: Reply to this comment

You gotta love Poppa.

In full pukana glory.

Now he just needs some tattoos and a tongue ring, and he is the complete article.

• 266.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-265: ohhh look, another fish ready to bite..

this really is too easy…

• 267.poppa69: Reply to this comment

if only you guys were as passionate on the rugby field as you all seem to be in trying to “get one over me”, your team might actually be half decent.. :D

• 268.greatest13gerber: Reply to this comment

Strauss will not let us down.

He will be hungry for action.

Better Strauss there then Chilli, Maku or that Burden

Tiaan off the bench is an able replacement

• 269.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@capebull-228: The 238kg ‘special needs’ fellow I spotted in the newspaper last week can run, tackle and defend as well.
    He, like Jaques, would have a problem trying to put all those ‘things’ together, and make them count……as the most imporant skill of them all:The thought that goes behind when to run, tackle, defend or offload is where both of them come up short….
    The grey stuff…

• 270.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-251: :D

Article By: Tony, Johnson
    Monday, 20 August 2012

• 271.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-223:

heheh i took a look at the herald to see for the article you mention and these are some of the comments made to an article on the nz-oz game:

Wolfman (Christchurch)
    01:39 PM Monday, 20 Aug 2012
    One day the whistleblowers will all be reading from the same rule book. At the moment they all seem to have their own version and stick to that, maybe it’s time for the useless referee’s boss Paddy O’Brien did something like resign. Ever since he has been the boss the standards have been garbage.

Ian (Kerikeri)
    01:39 PM Monday, 20 Aug 2012
    Can we not change this from “whistle blowing dominates test” to “players’ infractions dominate test”. The referee is there to keep the game within the rules. If the players decide to play so marginally that they regularly step over the line, don’t blame the ref, just play fair.

chris (New Zealand)
    03:45 PM Monday, 20 Aug 2012
    Good stats .now let the masters of this heavenly game count how much time is lost with 26 penalties! Lets see 26 @ 30secs each =13 minutues.Value for money I’m sure.
    Then lets add the time for scrums at 40 secs each scrum.say 15 scrums per game? wow another 10 minutes lost! The game they play in heaven!

Rob ()
    03:48 PM Monday, 20 Aug 2012

Wolfman
    One day the whistleblowers will all be reading from the same rule book. At the moment they all seem to have their own version and stick to that, maybe it’s time for the useless referee’s boss Paddy O’Brien did something like resign. Ever since he has been the boss the standards have been garbage.
    show more

Hi, I think you will find Paddy is or already has gone. Re the whistleblowers all reading from the same book, they are it is just the money providers dictating what they want from the media spectacle. If the Refs applied the Law to the letter you would have seen a lot more penalties especially at the ruck, if you can call it that. How to fix it, simplify the laws e.g.if you are on the ground leave the pill alone. And yes I am a ref with over 10 years experience at the grass roots level.

Gareth Scourfield ()
    03:51 PM Monday, 20 Aug 2012
    One of the problems is the blatant disregard for the rules by the players and referees during the Super competition to.”keep the game flowing”. The players then think what they are doing is OK as they are not being penalised in the super 15.One of the worst things now creeping into the game now is the “taking out” of players beyond the rucks.

Graham (Howick)
    11:42 AM Tuesday, 21 Aug 2012

Usually they just give it alternatley to each side as they are only guessing most of the time. What really annoys me is this euphamistically called “cleaning out”. It is nothing but cheating. There is no intention of playing the ball. It is done with the clear intention of playing the man. Cheating full stop.

Yet all teams seem to be coached this way and the refs allow it as with the b/s sentinels standing on the side and to the front of rucks/malls to block the opposing players. Apparently as long as they are holding on to the ruck/mall they are onside and not being obstructive. B/s.

• 272.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-270:
    are you shitting me, transie..?..

get the fark out of here..?

wow

wow

farken wow

• 273.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-272:

easy now.

go and sit in the chillout room with poops.

• 274.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

mikey z (Auckland Central)
    11:49 AM Tuesday, 21 Aug 2012

Dont ***** about the ref- he has a law book, and must blow to it. Blame the players for not knowing the rules. Why should he let teams get away with infirngements? It will disadvantage the other team! Perhaps the AB supporters have forgotten that both teams should have an equal chance to win?

Dave (Northland)
    The rule book (when I last read it) says that the ref WILL play advantage ,not “may” or “should”. Didn’t see much of it on Sat night anyhow!

mikey z (Auckland Central)

Gareth Scourfield
    One of the problems is the blatant disregard for the rules by the players and referees during the Super competition to.”keep the game flowing”. The players then think what they are doing is OK as they are not being penalised in the super 15.One of the worst things now creeping into the game now is the “taking out” of players beyond the rucks.
    show more

I agree – it is cheating plain and simple. Another thing that is creeping in is pre-determined moves where players move into an obstructing position (especially around scrums) to take out opposing loosies to create gaps (like the Chiefs v Sharks try from the scrum in the final- completely predetermined and trained hard into the Chiefs).

Dibby Auckland (Blockhouse Bay)
    11:51 AM Tuesday, 21 Aug 2012

Probably for the same reason the Chiefs Kerr Barlow as not sighted for stomping on Fruen when asst refs were right on the spot. There was an awful lot of off side by both sides and what about the forward passes that the ABs got away with. I know refs are not perfect but Sat nights was appalling.

• 275.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-273:
    you’re right

of course tony johnson would’ve said that

• 276.Transformation: Reply to this comment

in the EP Herald today:

Cheeky confirms they are talking to a number of Lions players, won’t mention names but Elton jantjies is highly sought after and price is no issue.

yoh!

• 277.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-276:

Of course price is no issue.

They must have it.

If they were willing to offer Bash 3 bars jantjes must be worth at least 5.

• 278.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-277: ;)

• 279.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-276:
    two questions:
    1. where is the money coming from? (serious question)
    2. do the lions have any chance of rebuilding in a years time?

• 280.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-278:

Let me be your supersuper hero.

• 281.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279: sponsors, duh :D

where do the bulls get the money to buy every schoolboy in the country?

• 282.gunther: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-279:

Robert Gumede’s tender pipeline has re-opened.

They be having it.

• 283.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-281:
    ok, big sponsors then.

the bulls historically have never paid big wages to players, transie. it did not matter your reputation. you are lucky to play for the bulls rather than the buls are lucky to have you play for them.

that and the firm belief in the legal sanctity of a lawfully agreed and signed contract. bakkies found out the hard way.

but recent times they have become wealthier through astute and honest hard work and business practise (coupled with low wage bills). no gravytraining and no dead wood. this gives them leg room to expand.

• 284.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@gunther-282: the bulls should get Patrice Motsepe on board, he supports them in any case.

• 285.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-203: He thinks he can mould Potgieter. Alan Solomons wanted him to stay and he rates him highly as well. Other unions have talented flankers as well. The timing was right and players can get overlooked easily enough. I have no problem with age – 26 is most certainly not old – and Meyer believes Potgieter can become a very valuable player. My problem is that he is not Bok material YET, imho. Meyer obviously thinks otherwise.

• 286.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-208: Like the Crusaders (what an unfortunate name imo).

• 287.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-284:

We need the gravy train to pull into our station.

• 288.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-283: they gleefully take millions from BEE asset management firm Oasis – no gravytraining :D

“(coupled with low wage bills).” – putting Sadie on 1.4bar a year is considered “low wages” in pretoria heh?

• 289.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@gunther-282:
    fark
    not another IT tender contract?
    this country cannot sustain this level of cheekiness by the business community.

how did the first one go again? he basically sold the SAPS a few cd’s with software on it for a few hundered mill?

• 290.Transformation: Reply to this comment

gym calls…

later mense

• 291.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@gunther-253: That was Paulse and not Aplon.

• 292.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

or was it billion?

• 293.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-286:
    please, dont get me started on the crusaders.

@Transformation-288:
    a overly high estimation which has since been hastily corrected. i would think they have performance clauses written in. :grin:

• 294.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-290:
    yip, i’m out too.
    cheers folks

• 295.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@gunther-277: This means the Stormers won’t be getting Jantjies. We don’t have that class of $$$$$.
    We are more the Checkers ‘Oddbins’ type shopper.
    If money is no issue, I expect quite a trek to the EC…..

• 296.gunther: Reply to this comment

@mikeybrass-291:

No it was Aplon.

Whilst Mallet was DOR at Province.

Didn’t rate him at all.

• 297.gunther: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-295:

Don’t worry.

Bash turned them down.

Someone like Elstadt will be a target though.

• 298.mikeybrass: Reply to this comment

@gunther-296: One would have thought Mallett would have learnt his lesson with Paulse before Aplon. Embarassed by two midgets with heart :-)

• 299.gunther: Reply to this comment

Indeed Mikey.

It’s seems not only Bulls coaches are obsessed with size.

• 300.papaown: Reply to this comment

Just read abt the 1st roughly 130 comments.

For people to refer to Lambie as useless reflects once again how temperamental supporters are and 1 good game by a 17 year old in Currie Cup and I bet ya’ll be baying for him to start in the rest of the the RC!! So naive

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 1112 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.