What Bismarck’s loss means
21 Aug 2012
RYAN VREDE writes that Bismarck du Plessis is the most significant of all the Springboks’ injuries to date and further erodes the hope of them winning the Rugby Championship.
I wrote at the time that I didn’t believe the absence of Schalk Burger, Jaque Fourie, Danie Rossouw, Bakkies Botha and Fourie du Preez (who was courted for a Test return) among a clutch of uncapped players (Duane Vermeulen and Johan Goosen for example) would be terminal to the Springboks’ cause against England. There were competent replacements available who subsequently got the job done. Neither did I feel it would hinder them against Argentina last week, even with Pierre Spies and JP Pietersen added to that injury list.
It was their unavailability against Australia and New Zealand that most concerned me, although I still believed the depth was sufficient to beat the former and mount an appreciable challenge against the Blacks. But Du Plessis’ loss is a hammer blow. To understand it’s significance you have to take into account the tangible and non-tangible impact.
Technically he is the most complete hooker in the game. He is a brutal defender who has also grown as a breakdown scavenger in recent years. Indeed Heyneke Meyer highlighted this as amplifying his value, especially in light of the absence of a specialist openside flank. On attack he is a force at the gainline, a constant source of go-forward. His work-rate in both these facets of play is unmatched by any hooker on the planet (I know this because I’ve seen the Springboks’ analysis of all their competitors in this regard). Furthermore, his set piece work is excellent.
Away from the technical competencies, his game intelligence and temperament under pressure has improved markedly, as has his discipline, which was a point of concern early in his career. He has also become an accomplished leader. Meyer’s estimation of him in this regard has grown to the point where he had considered him for the captaincy. Finally, his experience will be sorely missed. Forty six caps into his Test career, Du Plessis’s presence at crunch times would have been a boon for a youthful and largely inexperienced Springbok pack.
Seldom will one player’s absence be decisive to the outcome, and I’m not suggesting Du Plessis holds such sway at this point in his career. He was, however, the heart and soul of the side and embodied every quality Meyer sought in his players. He has the capacity to galvanise those around him through the standard he sets. He is a match winner.
His replacement, Adriaan Strauss, is a fine player but he isn’t in Du Plessis’s class. That said, Strauss faces a decisive phase in his Test career, where his success or failure will have a significant bearing on the Springboks’ fortunes. In the context of their game plan he is an important cog. His lineout feeds will come under the microscope and with the Springboks’ rolling maul being one of their primary weapons, Strauss’s accuracy will be central to their ability to set this in motion. It is also a facet of play where the Springboks have traditionally had the edge over the Wallabies and Blacks.
In addition Strauss will have to rein in his fondness for lurking in the loose. It is a strategy that suits the Cheetahs’ approach but the Springboks will need him to get stuck in at ground zero in the coming Tests.
In Monday’s press conference in Mendoza Meyer described Strauss as world-class. That offering and other examples of his professed faith in him is not lip service. He has an extremely high regard for the player, whom he brought to the Bulls as a youngster and whose loss he deeply lamented when he returned to the Cheetahs. Strauss owes it to himself and Meyer to take the opportunity that now presents itself.

579 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All
21 Aug 2012, 18:21 pm
Is Brussouw still injured? While Coetzee has done nothing to warrant removal from a starting birth… Brussouw has time and time again shown he is world class by dominating NZ and Aus, amongst others!
21 Aug 2012, 18:27 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-263:
You are NOT the only 1 mate. The selection of Potgieter is really a disgrace as he doesn’t offer much.
Kolisi offers WAY more, especially on defence
I defended Meyer earlier on Sunday for trying out players like Pottie, nt knowing he was watching a different game to what we were,by dropping Kolisi from the touring squad!! What a joke
21 Aug 2012, 18:29 pm
@papaown-301: Out for another 3-4 weeks along with Oosthuizen.
21 Aug 2012, 18:30 pm
What annoys me soo much is…while I appreciate the importance of going into the ruck to slow the opposition recycle what you miss out is that a player like Kolisi is soo strong in the tackle that he drives ball carriers BACK or stops them dead in the tracks.
This allows time for his teammates to come in and form eg a maul of dislodge the ball. But his defence alone definetely slows down the time the opposition would have to recycle the ball as they definetely do NOT go forward!!
21 Aug 2012, 18:37 pm
@gunther-297: No. It is time for the WPRFU to put Andries Bekker out to pasture (wherever he wants). Then play Eben at 5, and Rynhardt at 4, until Quinn Roux reappears. Elstadt really is the Danie Rossouw type fellow – ESSENTIAL. Elstadt also a little injury prone due to his ‘focused and physical aggression’ tendencies, so playing him 80 mins is silly IMHO. He is a 35 minute smasher, basher and enforcer, who can replace a lock or flank. I prefer him at 4 lock, due to his wonderful work in cleaning the floors and taking out the trash at ruck time – which I do believe is a primary task of Numero 4.
No, we have to keep him. I will have to hold a fuckingcakesale to raise the necessary $$$$$. I can’t rely on my union any longer.
21 Aug 2012, 18:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-305: Is his lineout work up to scrath to be a lock, especially if Etzebeth plays at 5. I think Elstadt could be the next Juan Smith if he works on his lineout skills. A season at the Bulls with Matfield will do him good.
21 Aug 2012, 18:53 pm
@301 p_o Are you a ‘Tah? All of the Free State’s “name” players return over the next 3 weeks according to SS dotcom. Goosen (immediately) , Brussow & Coenie
21 Aug 2012, 18:56 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-305:
I noticed that the WP Union has at least succeeded to keep Niehaus in CT untill 2016 although am not sure whether they or the relative quality of life in CT in comparison to Snorcity (who indeed tried to lure him there) should take the credit.
21 Aug 2012, 18:59 pm
@papaown-300:
i was being sarcastic ,mate, you know many in here say he cant kick , he is slow blah blah blah, he has 1 bad game after being injured and all that travelling of the Sharks?? and they tore him to shreds in here
21 Aug 2012, 19:01 pm
@Horings-303: That’s such a pity.
What’s worse than this is Meyer is soo stubborn he wouldn’t pick Brussouw even if he was fit.
There are some selections he is VERY stubborn with and some where he’s flexible eg. Selection of Keegan Daniels.
But non-selection of Kolisi, his low view of some1 like JdJ and selecting Vermaak…sooo ridiculous!!
21 Aug 2012, 19:07 pm
@sharks_lover-309:
Never slate a player unfairly. While I don’t rate Lambie @ALL as a 15 I do rate him as a 10 and am impressed with him as a talent.
His injury not-withstanding, he was shown up quite a few times while playing@15 this season especially!
21 Aug 2012, 19:09 pm
Its a bit sad though that a year after PdV we are still talking about players and selection when the real issue is still gameplan and lack of variety and or options.
How can a national coach publically state he doesn’t believe in a Plan B?
That’s what seperates us from the All Blacks unfortunately!!
21 Aug 2012, 19:12 pm
@Robzim-308: the end result of this saga really leaves me wondering if Nienaber ever planned to leave of was using the Bulls as leverage to be paid his worth?
If his sick dad was making him think of moving to Pta, his dad was in Potch, which is not exactly next door.
The story in the beginning made me think this was a leverage play
21 Aug 2012, 19:14 pm
@papaown-311: YOu obviously not getting it, I am a big Lambie fan, not slating him, being very sarcastic to say the least lol
21 Aug 2012, 19:19 pm
@gunther-297:
Of couse Bash would have turned them down.
He is on a special dispensation at the Stormers.
Don’t have to kick the ball for futher than 30 meters, don’t need to have any tactical sense, don’t have to take the pressure passes in his own 25……and can jet off to Japan whenever he feels in need for good quality sashimi.
EP can’t beat that.
21 Aug 2012, 19:23 pm
@papaown-313:
It’s just that the sad sack jealous jillies in Pretoria like everything Cape Town has to offer.
One needs iron clad contracts these days. The okes in Pretoria think everyone in Cape Town is up for sale.
I think they were just testing the market. And trying their luck.
21 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
@papaown-313:
It did take the Stormers about 4 months to get him to sign so you might have a point. Officially he said something about the job in CT not finished yet and that he would like to continue working with players he started with when they were still in the age group teams.Seems he is originally from Kimberley and came here via Bloemfonteyn.
21 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
Being a big Lambie can sometimes cloud your judgment to his failings,sharks_lover.I have noticed that you get extremely agitated to criticism of Lambie.You exhibit the same defensive mechanism that Bulls fans have for Pierre Spies.
21 Aug 2012, 19:26 pm
@wnbb-318: Lambie fan.
21 Aug 2012, 19:32 pm
@Robzim-308: Niehaus
Would that be Carl? Fuckitman – even the ANC didn’t want him….and he comes with huge debt (webefucked yes indeed)
I’m not sure if Nienaber staying for another 3 years is ‘that’ good a thing for our union (and it is not because I don’t think he is GENIUS, it is because I think he IS). As long as he is around, Fleck and co get to freeload. Until we evolve to a point where Nienaber’s ‘D system’ is not the Alpha and Omega of WP rugby…well….you know what I mean.
Now, if Fleck (or A N other backline coach…) can convince the Stormer’s senior players that ‘D’ is not the only arrow we need in our quiver, I’m not sure much will change.
21 Aug 2012, 19:35 pm
@Horings-306: Elstadt had a pretty good return rate in the lineout last season when he played 4. He is NOT the tallest, and I know many don’t think he is an international 4, but I think he COULD BE, in the scenario I described above (pure enoforcing impact).
Anyways, that is my little wish – doubt it will happen though, or that many here will agree with it.
21 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-320:
Maybe they must broaden Nienaber’s job description and make him defence AND attack coach as he seems to be the only guy they are listening to- the current attack coach can just as well talk to the wind.
21 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm
@I am a stormer-316:
I think you will find Nienaber was using the bulls to get province to pony up.
Sad sacks indeed.
21 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-321:
Agree 100%- according to the official statistics he is a cm taller than Brad Thorne and nobody ever complained that Thorne was too short for an international no 4 lock.
21 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-320:
Nienaber’s influence on the Stormers playing pattern is as clear as daylight. His record is the envy of most – including those pink blouses in Pretoria.
But I’ve yet to see the influence of Fleck on the coaching team – besides the backslapping and ^5′s in that tiny booth when a solitary try is scored. The WP/Stormers backline has pace to burn. And as Robzim has repeatedly stated, a backline without Peter Grant may well prove to be a revelation. The crabbing sideways, slow loopy passes has got to come to an end. It does my head in.
21 Aug 2012, 19:52 pm
@gunther-323:
Yeah, suddenly WPRU realised they had a valuable asset on their books. And weren’t ready for another fallout after the Pollard debacle.
21 Aug 2012, 19:58 pm
@I am a stormer-326: SO as a stormer supporter mate, tell us who got the better flyhalf between Pollard (Bulls) and Jean-luc Du Plessie(Sharks)?
21 Aug 2012, 20:12 pm
@sharks_lover-327:
I didn’t even get the privilege of casting my blue eyes on young Jan-luc in Province colours before those treacherous Sharks snaffled him.
Pollard, I hope, goes from strength to strength at the Bulls. And not like the unfortunate Sadie. And I hope he also comes right.
It just shows the powerbroking stuff happening with our young flyhalves. It is not pleasant losing a player from one’s own union but just illustrates the flyhalf talent coming through generally.
It’s going to be interesting to sit back and watch which guy makes it onto the big stage.
21 Aug 2012, 20:14 pm
@I am a stormer-325: Fleck’s influence can be seen at social gatherings, when the team get to relax a little
@gunther-323: It worked for Hougie
@Robzim-322: He who designs a ‘grantic wall of D’, would be the ideal man to plot the breach of other teams ‘less granitic walls of D’. Fleck can stick to party planning….
@sharks_lover-327: The Bulls did. Jean Luc is simply showing the WPRFU a ‘fuckoff’ for the way in which he was treated and sidelined due to Pollard being here. (Jean Luc, and the rest of the Cape, with the exception of the WPRFU knew Pollard was going yet he was given all the breaks). Jordaan coming to us, and the Bulls Craven week 10, Eksteen (who looked pretty impressive himself) I’m keen to see what Jordaan can do after being stuck in the kakkest Grey team in history this year…..
My fave buy though, is the Bulls Craven week 8, Meiring.
21 Aug 2012, 20:22 pm
I’ve had a problem with Nienabers defensive coaching for a while, which also includes ACs reliance on it. Our whole game seems to revolve around his defensive structures, which would be fine if it was gridiron where a separate defensive side and tactic comes on when possession changes hands. Unfortunately, this is rugby where defense needs to instantly change to offence, and this is where I believe he has his limitations. What is missing is balance and a defensive structure that doesn’t inhibit the ability to turn defence into attack.
21 Aug 2012, 20:23 pm
@sharks_lover-309: “and they tore him to shreds here” bwahhahahahahahahaha
clearly this affected you Sharkie, cos you’ve been trying to be “sarcastic” the whole day
HTFU!
21 Aug 2012, 20:32 pm
@papaown-312: meyer won super rugby in 2007 so you have NO RIGHT to question him!
21 Aug 2012, 20:33 pm
@David-330:
This is what we have been saying. Nienaber’s influence is evident. And involves the whole team when they encroach in our half. Fleck’s influence isn’t evident. I have yet to see any innovative backline move while Fleck has been there. He should be fired. But AC seems just too nice a guy to do the job. Fleck’s job as a top notch backline coach at this level is passed it’s sell-by date.
21 Aug 2012, 20:38 pm
@Transformation-331: Sharks_Lover has fathered 90% of the Shakrs squad. He is a proud and protective pappa, determined to boost his play-sta-SONS reputations where he can. He is the Bert le Clos of Sharks rugby, kak communication skills and all
21 Aug 2012, 20:39 pm
There is no guarantee that 18/19-year-old teenagers will become great players down the line.Why the back-slapping exercises on here by certain bloggers on the signing of these youngsters by their provinces?Rugby provinces are now becoming like professional soccer clubs who simply throw money at prominent youngsters who might simply disappear into the system in a few years time or will become disillusioned with playing time and decides to move on.Pogba,formerly of MU is a great example of this warped sense of buying up every available talent and not being able to fulfill their promises to said youngsters.Some on hear gleefully rejoice at these signings.Why?
21 Aug 2012, 20:42 pm
@David-330: We had it in 2010 though…..or rather we had a better balance. Somewhere post 2010, the coaches and senior players decided to focus purely on the ONE facet of their game in which they were the undisputed champs of the world.
Another example of what Wayne Smith said in the article someone posted here today: something about: when focusing on your strengths and ONLY your strengths, becomes a liability and shoves you backwards…
Stormers….Boks….
21 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
Other than the first couple of pages quite clearly it has been farken idiot day today on this thread… What a lot of hogwash posted here.
21 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
@wnbb-335:
That is the unfortunate sad reality of professional sport at such a young age. They still have to further their education.
I heard this week that a couple of the young Bulls – living in the Blue Bulls house – on junior contracts did not have their contracts renewed for next year. Youngsters must never ever depend solely on making it as a professional sportsman.
21 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
@wnbb-335: Every union needs a few quality 10′s. A super rugby squad alone needs 2/3, never mind age group rugby, Vodacom Cup, Currie Cup etc. No-one knows this better than the WPRFU…..we used 6 I think it was last year in Super rugby alone.
Of the 4/5 young 10′s every union has, 2 might play at ‘senior’ level, or none of them will cut it.
The kids and the unions deserve the opportunity to at least try…..
In fact, with the distribution of young 10′s as it will stand next year, there is every chance that most will get game time, which is good for SA rugby is it not?
21 Aug 2012, 20:51 pm
@Heavens Game-337: And it has just reached new levels of idiocy with your entrance stage left…
G’night – over and out.
21 Aug 2012, 20:54 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-329: OK thanks, i have never seen Young Du Plessis play or the others, only Pollard of course, who is a good player
21 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
@Heavens Game-337: Thats the norm aint it??
21 Aug 2012, 20:56 pm
@Transformation-332: Hey Mgodoyi, you hump elsewhere , ******* Msunu
21 Aug 2012, 20:58 pm
Whats that sound….?
the riffraff and roaches scuttling off….
21 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@sharks_lover-342: Yup… thank goodness I missed today’s new height’s of inane…
Outtahere for now… will be back later
21 Aug 2012, 21:02 pm
@Heavens Game-345: Me too cheers HG
21 Aug 2012, 21:10 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-339: I know,but I just can’t understand the gloating on here by,admittedly,certain short-sighted individuals.
21 Aug 2012, 21:18 pm
I’m starting to hope this dumb idiot Heyneke Meyer gets a very good walloping lesson to his overrated ego pretty much soon… like how about this weekend coming.
This twat is starting to show more and more he got absolutely no clue when it comes to either spotting talent or how to combine it into a winning formula.
1 lucky win vs England at home, 1 lucky draw and a 50-50 return against Argentina at home. That is his credit rating so far.
I reckon this idiot gets a good idea of how far off the real keen aspect of rugby relevancy he is when he meets either of NZ or Aussie pretty soon.
His lack of any real rugby acumen is already started coming screaming to the fore.. and i reckon he’s aiming for a huge smack to his overrated ego and it gonna floor him bad.. and I dunno if he’ll have the low down guts to get over it too easy either.
21 Aug 2012, 21:41 pm
@londonshark-191: Meyer is a goddamn moron and its starting to show.. real bad.
21 Aug 2012, 21:49 pm
PdV is starting to look like an absolute genius next to this thick goddamn idiot Heyneke Meyer
Strange how all the idiots in the world somehow succeed at this thick as two bricks game called rugby.. Jake the Moron Snake White, Clive the Connive Woodward, next up Heyneke the seinige Meyer.
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 » Show All