Daniel out, Potgieter in
22 Aug 2012
Willem Alberts will start at No 8 against Argentina in Mendoza with Jacques Potgieter at blindside flank.
Keegan Daniel was the Bok eighthman at Newlands but was substituted shortly after half-time and has been relegated to the bench. Adriaan Strauss, as expected, replaces the injured Bismarck du Plessis at hooker, while Tiaan Liebenberg has beaten Craig Burden to jersey No 16.
‘It was a difficult decision between Jacques and Keegan, but we have gone with horses for courses this time,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer. ‘We’re expecting it will be very physical early in the game and it might open up later, which perfectly suits the strongpoints of both Jacques and Keegan.
‘The Pumas also mauled quite well in Cape Town and we were not happy with the defence of their mauls, so with the extra weight Jacques brings, we will have to ensure we stop their drives.’
Bryan Habana injured his left ankle against Argentina in Cape Town and passed a fitness test on Wednesday morning.
‘Having Bryan is obviously a big boost as we’ve lost a number of players with lots of experience after JP Pietersen, Pierre Spies and Bismarck du Plessis already had to withdraw from our squad,’ said Meyer.
South Africa – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

427 Comments
22 Aug 2012, 18:42 pm
Uhm…..
22 Aug 2012, 18:42 pm
At last. Someone who understands no. 8 play. Been calling for Willem at 8 for a while.
22 Aug 2012, 18:44 pm
What now Siya. Picked with great fanfare for the “squad” now chucked back to CC.
Am so befuck.
Don’t care about keegan or the greaseball.
22 Aug 2012, 18:44 pm
@willievz-1:
Not so Potgieter.
I had a funny feeling that he would start this trio as they finished last Saturday.
Would rather have Keegan at 6, and Coetzee at 7 and Potgieter back in the hotel.
22 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
Good to see Daniel out. He was never going to be a long term Bok. His ceiling is SR and all his strengths there are totally nullified at test level.
Very annoying that Sideshow Bob accumaltes yet another test cap- after his try last weekend he could be a starter for many games to come. The very defintion of mediocre that chap.
Would hav preferred Pienaar starting and Hougaard taking Mvovo’s place on the wing too.
22 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
> Tiaan Liebenberg has beaten Craig Burden to the bench
Tiaan wouldn’t even be able to beat his Ouma WITH the bench
22 Aug 2012, 18:49 pm
Potgieter? Hel, too early to long for Snor?
22 Aug 2012, 18:54 pm
Bekker & Habana found an african witchdoctor in Arg; miracle recovery
HM punishing keegan for being marched backwards in the air in that maul like it was a dance stunt
22 Aug 2012, 18:55 pm
Better backrow for this game makes more sence for mr having keegan off the bench albeit i think we are short another loosie on the bench and would have preffered a 5-2 split
22 Aug 2012, 18:57 pm
@gecko-7
Will Tarzan Potgieter be better than Daniel?
22 Aug 2012, 18:57 pm
Potgieter is freaking useless anyone can do what he does run around with his head missing . Slipping tackles twat !!talk about giving out free caps
22 Aug 2012, 19:00 pm
Damn. Daniel could have kept his spot, but Hougaard should feel lucky. It this point he’s the weakest link….
22 Aug 2012, 19:01 pm
@Dawn – Kolisi’s is a demon tackler but his ball carrying not to HM’s liking, not when he has daredevil Potgieter there
22 Aug 2012, 19:05 pm
Keegan Daniel uses matter on the rugby field, as opposed to brute force! That is the problem right there. Last week Meyers game-plan revolved around 3 players, Alberts, Steyn and Steyn. Twas always going to be impossible for KD to shine! There is no way Potgieter is better than Keegan Daniel. Not in his wildest dreams! My personal preference is Fourie over Liebenberg as well! But I guess everyone has their preferences. Too bad some are way better than other (No offense to HM)!
22 Aug 2012, 19:08 pm
Potgieter is a walking concussion candidate
22 Aug 2012, 19:08 pm
Blah blah blah
22 Aug 2012, 19:11 pm
@viewer-8:
i think he made it worse for himself when he remonstrated with the ref afterwards and said “but if i get lifted up, there’s nothing i can do” …
i do not dislike him and in fact have come to respect him for punching above his weight, but at the end of the day he is just not big enough. this pack is short on out and out physicality.
22 Aug 2012, 19:13 pm
blah blah blah
22 Aug 2012, 19:18 pm
Bakkies – great to see you safely nestled on “this side” of the blog
22 Aug 2012, 19:19 pm
@viewer-8: My word, it is remarkable, in Habana’s case especially..a report in last night’s paper said Habana was seen in Argentina wearing a moonboot and walking on crutches…
As for the greaseball, the less said the better.
22 Aug 2012, 19:20 pm
All this means is HM does not see any backline moves as a possibillity, Kicking will be the 80 min option
22 Aug 2012, 19:22 pm
@16 Oh Dom, what now?
22 Aug 2012, 19:23 pm
i personally thought poty stood out more than Daniels on sat, broke a few takles made some meters and cleared some rucks. He looks like someone who wants to shine rather than keegan who looks rather shell shocked on the big stage. i detect a lot of hatred for any bulls players selected which i can only put down to jelousy.
I have no provincial bias being born and living out of s.a. We know HM wants a big strong 7 who runs hard and breaks tackles, Alberts and potty fit the mould so it was inevitable that with spies and kanko unavailable that daniels would get his chance to prove his inability to shine, hence alberts moving to 8 and potty to seven. Kolisi would take over from coetzee if he proved better or marcell was injured. I personally would of gone for josh strauss as i rate him highly and think he deserves a chance over potty, however i dont think potty is as useless as some make out and may just make you eat your words with a blinder. At his age with lots of loosies returning from injury and young guns growing in stature i reakon he wont get too many shots to cement his place. i wish him all the best.
22 Aug 2012, 19:24 pm
Replacing a super rugby ceiling player with a currie cup ceiling rugby player.Crazy!Only in South Africa you get rewarded for mediocrity. LMAO
22 Aug 2012, 19:27 pm
Lambie being put to use as a bench ornament
22 Aug 2012, 19:27 pm
@viewer-19:
22 Aug 2012, 19:30 pm
Keegan definitely peaks @ S15, and no higher. Would also prefer Maverick Potties and Kolisi above him..
Add Burden over Liebenberg, and Juandre ahead of Flip and the bench shapes up nicely (injuries considered).
22 Aug 2012, 19:30 pm
@rvanaardt-23: Nope what it proves it at that HM has only one playing style, and if people thought they kicked a lot last week?? watch this week lol
22 Aug 2012, 19:31 pm
@23 the Bok cancer are out again wanting Snor back and HM to fail
22 Aug 2012, 19:32 pm
The hatred displayed on this site is something to behold indeed.
Potgieter the right choice given the players we have available.
Hougaard is lucky, but probably being given the benefit of the doubt.
Liebenberg the next best hooker, so he is the right guy to have on the bench.
All so very logical, with Heyneke in charge. Nice.
22 Aug 2012, 19:35 pm
At least Keegan is still on the bench. But I have no idea what the bloody hell Meyer sees in Potgieter. Also Pienaar should be starting and Hougard should be on the bench.
Another crash ball kick and chase game this. If we don’t pick up the 5 points here that we SHOULD have gotten last week on our home turf then I really don’t see us winning this RC. ABs and probably Wallabies will both get 5 points home and away against Arg. Well ABs will for sure make no mistake about that.
22 Aug 2012, 19:35 pm
@Tacitus-30: Wait until HM looses a game the Bok Cancer will spew cr ap non stop
22 Aug 2012, 19:36 pm
@Airwell-29:
not so, but seriously POtgieter?? nee man, and i am stirring a bit
well i cant speak for the others
prolly expected that team anyhow, i know there was speculation re Hougaard? but i knew HM was not going to making changes where he didnt need to
22 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@Puma-31: Puma boet thing is POtgieter is the only other bif loose forward there, i knew he was going to select him
Daniel does not fit into HM’s style of play, this is not to say HM does not like Daniel? he does, just with HM he sees his style of play being first and for most
22 Aug 2012, 19:38 pm
@sharks_lover-33:
We needed more beef in the pack, especially with Bismark out. Potgieter addresses that deficiency.
Credit to Keegan, he has heart. But lacks the beef. It does more justice to his skills to have him come on in the last 20 in any case, to wreak havoc with the tired defence.
A win win situation for Meyer, for the Boks and for Daniel.
22 Aug 2012, 19:39 pm
I wish HM would send Daniel and Lambie home, we need them well and Burden lol
@Puma-31:
22 Aug 2012, 19:40 pm
@Tac
That’s a negative ghost rider. Josh Strauss would have been the logical choice.
But yes, heyneke true to form.
Strangely very nervous about this weekend. Argies gonna come out firing.
22 Aug 2012, 19:41 pm
@John Galt-37:
Their flyhalf Hernandez is out with a last minute injury picked up in training.
@Tacitus-35:
Agreed..
@Tacitus-35: I know Tacci, read all my posts, i was stirring a bit, i understand why POttie has been selected, it was always pretty obvious
22 Aug 2012, 19:43 pm
@John Galt-37: True John, but remember Tac did say with the players that are there, i dont think tac is POtties biggest fan, infact cj stander would have been a better call
22 Aug 2012, 19:43 pm
Will everybody just calm down. Nobody hates any player mentioned in the run-on 15. People are just expressing their own opinions and in my case disappointment that Kolisi was given another CC cap instead of a possible test cap. Over a guy who has what – 3 test caps.
All of us will still be 100% behind the Boks.
Especially with Heyneke in charge. Nice.
22 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm
this would have been a damn strong loose trio
8 Stander, and he is big and strong and not injured or over seas lol
7 Alberts
6 Coetzee
22 Aug 2012, 19:44 pm
If history shows that the pressure of defeat caused most Bok coaches to turn conservative, where to for HM? He’s already as low as we can go
22 Aug 2012, 19:45 pm
I dont hate any player, specially someone i dont even know,
People mjusnt be so quick to use the hate word
22 Aug 2012, 19:45 pm
@John Galt-37:
Actually think this Bok team is about 10pts better away @ the Pumas, no disrespect to them.
We’ll come out playing percentages, choking the Argies.
22 Aug 2012, 19:46 pm
agree 37 on first point. not worried about sat though, boks by at least 10. especially with hernandez out. think argies will really struggle with having to deal with so much defeat and lack of depth. scorelines could get ugly in aus and nz
for them.
22 Aug 2012, 19:48 pm
@sharks_lover-43:
Was hoping Meyer caps Stander before he takes up his stint in the Emerald isle..
22 Aug 2012, 19:48 pm
we must not forget the AB’s only just managed a win Argentina not so long ago
22 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar-48: yup
Loom Kanko for me has been the best 8thman this year but he is lost for 6 months, and seeing cj play last week and he too has had a very good super15, he should have been there
22 Aug 2012, 19:50 pm
Expect to see Vermullet in the mix for the next leg.
Back row Coetzee Vermullet Alberts.
Not too shabby.
22 Aug 2012, 19:51 pm
@Tacitus-30: Kolisi, Deysel and Elstadt all better than Potgieter.
22 Aug 2012, 19:53 pm
@gunther-51: If Brussow is over his injury it could be:
Coetzee
Brussow
I have read we may see Kanko for the Oz and Nz away games. Not sure if it will happen.
22 Aug 2012, 19:55 pm
Kanko would be a decent option off the bench instead of Potluck.
Brusselsprout still working his way back.
22 Aug 2012, 20:00 pm
@Puma-52:
I agree. He’s really average. I think he might be exposed as the headless chicken he is in the next couple of games.
22 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
@gunther-51:
You’re just pulling my leg.
22 Aug 2012, 20:04 pm
Oh Lord NO!!!!
HM, why are you like this…WHY!!
22 Aug 2012, 20:05 pm
No man.
It’s time to see what the Vermullet can do.
See what we have been missing.
Put up or shut up.
22 Aug 2012, 20:08 pm
@sharks_lover-34: That is the thing, this game style really does not suite a player with superb skills like Keegan.
Kick and bash it up all game long on Saturday. If anything Deysel would be far, far better than Potgieter. At least he will do some fetching for us seeing we we lost Bissie and were terrible last week at the breakdowns. I know Potgieter is there so has to be selected, but Meyer could have started:
8. Alberts
7. Coetzee
6. Keegan
Keegan played all the last 5 games for Sharks at 6 and was bloody brilliant there. Then we were playing a faster skillful game than this kicking and crash ball stuff that he wants the Boks to play.
22 Aug 2012, 20:08 pm
Herr Messiah is intent on wanting to prove his point.. he gonna try turn this malkuiken into a rugby star come what may, unless Argies got other ideas this Saturday.
Kanko is kak,, Daniel is just as kak, Spies is kakka than kak.. Potgieter is uiters kak… not a bone fide 8th man in the country.. and Herr Meneer die Meyer wanna gooi roks in the closet and pretend otherwise.
22 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm
With Steve Walsh again the referee, HM is treading on a safe ground
So even that ‘full gas in Neutral’ Bull will do, I thought the likes of Deysel or Elstadt would be more appropriate though but I’ll leave it with HM, he has his bag full already
22 Aug 2012, 20:10 pm
@Puma-59: suite = suit
22 Aug 2012, 20:11 pm
Oh dear.
22 Aug 2012, 20:12 pm
@fitz1ella-60:
Hello Skop.
Potgieter is probably about nr. 6 on Heyneke’s current list of potential flanks, after:
Coetzee
Juan Smith
Schalk Burger
Duane Vermeulen.
And in a few years time, probably behind Arno Botha and CJ Stander as well.
He is a stopgap, to play a particular role in the pack.
Stop panicking so much over his inclusion. It is an overreaction.
22 Aug 2012, 20:14 pm
@skopskiet CJ Stander?
22 Aug 2012, 20:15 pm
@lightie-55: There is also CJ Stander from the Bulls better. Could have used him before he heads off to Ireland. Think he is heading there for a year or so to play. Would cap him before he leaves. A top class player.
Josh Strauss another player not looked at. So actually there are 5 better than Potgieter.
Deysel
Kolisi
Elstadt
CJ Stander
Strauss
So why is Potgieter even there? Have no idea.
22 Aug 2012, 20:16 pm
Heyneke’s rankings of the no. 8′s in SA are when all are ready to go:
1 Vermeulen
2 Alberts
3 Kanko.
Did I leave anyone out?
22 Aug 2012, 20:19 pm
@Puma-66:
These statements of fact that you are making are entertaining, but are in truth simply your opinion.
I don’t think Deysel, Elstadt or Strauss are better than Potgieter.
I think Stander is possibly better than him, but he is not as big, is still young, is not a line out option, and is heading over to Ireland.
I get the feeling that Heyneke wants some hardened mongrel in that position, rather than a youngster with potential. He wants a battering ram to soak up punishment from opposition tacklers. Not a youngster who may well be more skillfull but less battle hardened.
Once we have Burger and Vermullet in the mix, they can fill that role nicely, and Potgieter will probably be moved down the pecking order.
22 Aug 2012, 20:20 pm
PSDT would be brilliant, but still getting over his ankle op. Not sure when he will be ready. It has been 5 weeks back he had his op. Brilliant player and think Meyer will definitely have him in mind. Can play 7 or 4 as well.
22 Aug 2012, 20:20 pm
@I am a stormer-67: Nope
his rankings are
Spies
Vermeulen
Kanko
Not sure CJ is in his radar
cant understand why
22 Aug 2012, 20:21 pm
I am as much a Daniel the Lionheart man as anyone but cant most of you blaady fools actually see what Meyer is trying to do here… He wants Slinky Potgieter and Coetzee to do nothing but hit the rucks and mauls – cleaning up, and tackling anything with VISA written on them – while loosening up Alberts to be able to stand off and run like a scud off Frans Steyn and Hougaard… i.e. He wants to increase the frequency of the Bone Collector charge…
Simple.
@Tacitus-64: Howdy Taccy shoes
Heyneke don’t wanna be proven wrong so he’s intent on taking his hunch to the limit and still try make a Schalk Burger out of his latest ‘find’ Potties No.2
The guy tries, I’ll give him that, but he’s no star in the making even though Heyneke still don’t wanna believe that.
If Spies were fit he’d have started at 8 make no mistake.
Daniel been tried and found wanting.. once again.. same as Kanko been found wanting every other time he stepped onto the big bok stage.. and Spies was never the fulfilled promise that so many hoped and dreamed of once upon a time.
The one to play 8 should be Coetsee in a fast pace game and Vermeulen / Josh Strauss in a tough head on encounter.
Kolisi should be on bench or at 6 if Brussow is crocked and Elstadt should start at 4 or cover 4 / 7 off bench with Etsebeth to 5.
@I am a stormer-67:
Not that simple to become HM’s confidant?
@sharks_lover-70:
He is only 1.88m tall. An option at nr.6 flank probably, but not as a Bok no.8, I don’t think.
22 Aug 2012, 20:23 pm
Can anyone please tell me why Heyneke prefers Potgieter over J.Strauss?
22 Aug 2012, 20:23 pm
@Puma-69: PSDT also superb in the lineout. So he brings it all really. I know Meyer rates him as he has said so. For now probably take him on the eoyt. But I have a feeling had he not got injured he may be on this tour. Young or not he is brilliant.
22 Aug 2012, 20:24 pm
@Tacitus-68: Sorry Tacci. Deysel is lightyears better then POtgieter
Go watch the Sharks match last week and watch Deysel clearing out rucks, carrying ball, fetching and Effectively slowing oposition ball down, very strong on defense, Potgieter dives over most tackles, now i aint no hater, but sure as hell he aint as good as Deysel, Strauss or CJ, lemme tell you from what i saw last weekend?? CJ is stronger than POtgieter
@fitz1ella-72:
I think you guys overstate Heyneke’s attachment to Potgieter. He rates him as a physical battering ram. But if Spies was available, he would not be in the starting line up. And if Burger and Vermeulen were available, he would not even be in the matchday 22.
He is simply a shorter, lighter, less powerful version of Danie Rossouw. Filling a gap because there is no one else available.
PSDT is more like a Juan Smith than any of the players really. Pity he got injured.
22 Aug 2012, 20:26 pm
Naa tacci you aint gonna convince me re this POtgieter, your other Porgieter in fact is also a far better player
@willievz-75:
Because Strauss is majorly overrated, and in fact, after he shaved off his beard, his supposed impact on the field is not as overhyped as it used to be.
@sharks_lover-77: Agree. Deysel just way, way better than Potgieter. Meyer just may take him on the Oz, Nz tour. Then our Sharks lose another player.
Kolisi is chucked back to CC
Fecking racists
22 Aug 2012, 20:27 pm
@Tacitus-68:
I don’t see how Potgieter’s experience is any more than that of the youngsters? Was this not his debut Super Rugby season?
22 Aug 2012, 20:28 pm
Well should have seen this coming after Kolisi was sent hone
Un-believable!!
22 Aug 2012, 20:28 pm
@sharks_lover-77: How many tried to hold Deysel off from getting that try? Was about 4 of them and he just went right through them…….haha. Very strong. I rate him up there with Alberts and maybe a bit more so that he can do some fetching too.
22 Aug 2012, 20:29 pm
@sharks_lover-70:
Not so. Heyneke has stated that Spies had to up his game and didn’t like the way he shied away from the heavy stuff.
When asked about his choices of loosies and eightmen, first name out was Vermeulen – couldn’t believe it either. And bemoaned the fact that the Sharks were playing Alberts at 7 and not at 8. And he rates Kanko highly – just peed off with the Sharks for allowing him to go to Japan.
Now, in summary, all these rank higher than Spies in Heyneke’s world – and that’s the world that counts.
22 Aug 2012, 20:30 pm
Anyhows i have said my say re this, i see it is now being made a racist thread, how sad
22 Aug 2012, 20:31 pm
Hougaard too should be on the bench. Ruan is better as we all saw last week and in the England tests Ruan was better.
This was the game to try out Ruan starting. No use trying it out against Oz in Perth next.
Hougaard is more a wing, though I would still start Mvovo everytime before Hougaard, simply because he is way better under the high ball which we need in this daft kick and chase game Meyer wants us to play.
@Hondo-73:
You just have to listen. That’s all.
@I am a stormer-87: BOet saying something and actually doing something about it is another thing, we have not seen Spies dropped, remember he is out injured, lets wait and see before making judgement on that one
22 Aug 2012, 20:32 pm
Arno Botha and Marcel Coetsee or Siya Kolisi should be earmarked for No. 8
Kolisi can cover 6, 7 or 8
7 should be a big bruiser.. Alberts, Elstadt, PSDT
Coetsee should settle at 8 that where his talents would be best suited not 6.
Kanko should stay in Japan
Spies and Daniels can swap tutu’s on Sunday river boat dance club
22 Aug 2012, 20:34 pm
@Dawn-83: @papaown-85: Whine all you want… Kolisi is good… But not as good as you fools think he is… Thats why Coetzee is there – he does everything Kolis does – except better, faster and more often. Vorsprung durch technik – the Coetzee Audi vs the Kolisi Kia.
@Dawn-83:
Correct!
he also left behind Jantjies, Chiliboy, JdJ, Aplon and few other Test quality players
He is full of prejudice that coach
@I am a stormer-87: If Meyer wanted Kanko he could have negotiated with his club from Japan. The ABs did just that for SBW. So easy for Meyer to say he rates Kanko and would have started him, but does nothing to get him released for some games in this RC. So it could all be talk coming from Meyer. Unless we see Kanko in the Oz and ABs game we play away, which I read just might happen. That could just be journo talking though.
22 Aug 2012, 20:35 pm
@Tacitus-81: Is that your view, or Heyneke’s?
Because I want to ascertain the view of our coach.
22 Aug 2012, 20:35 pm
@Heavens Game-93:
exfawkingactly
22 Aug 2012, 20:36 pm
@sharks_lover-91:
Vermeulen had just got injured. And Heyneke expressed his disappointment. And was once again forced to play Spies in the first test against England.
22 Aug 2012, 20:36 pm
HM should look at Gerhard Mostert and Anton van Zyl as well, we need experienced locks to back up Bekker
22 Aug 2012, 20:37 pm
@I am a stormer-98: MAybe ur right boet, lets wait and see, i am not so sure about that
22 Aug 2012, 20:37 pm
@willievz-96:
Fair enough.
22 Aug 2012, 20:38 pm
@Heavens Game-93: HAve ya heard skoppies version of SA’s best hooker is off to Toulon later on in the year??? the man will go into a state of shock
22 Aug 2012, 20:39 pm
@fitz1ella-92: I think Coetzee would be a brilliant 8 with PSDT at 7.
Coetzee has played 8 before. He has very good skills too also strong and fast. I prefer a faster 8. Albets is very good but a little slow like Vermeulen is good but slow. Coetzee could be our way forward for a 8.
Kanko was superb in the last 5 games for Sharks. Once he started our loosies were magnificent. You have to give credit where it is due. Kanko played sublime rugby when he eventually got a start. Was rated best 8 of the S15 season by Planet Rugby. And Kanko only played 5 full games. So that does say a lot.
22 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
Heyneke….Boks better win well….you have made your bed with this selection….s hit storm coming if Boks lose…..
For me…
Ruan at 9
Lambie at 10
Kolisi at 6
M Coetsee at 7….
Hougaard supersub….
22 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
@Puma-86: Relax Pooms… You gonna palpitate soon… Deysel only been back for a few full games. The guy has been injured constantly over the past few seasons. Last week was his first real game at full force and form in a long while. I can almost guarantee that he will be in the squad against the Anzacs before the championship is over.
22 Aug 2012, 20:42 pm
@willievz-96:
Unfortunately, Heyneke does not rate Josh as highly as people around here. He rated Deysel, Coetzee, Potgieter, Kolisi higher than him. I was in the fortunate position to hear this first hand from Heyneke at a sports breakfast – and this was before the squad had been announced – not from a journo. That is why I was not surprised to see Brussouw’s name omitted.
22 Aug 2012, 20:43 pm
@sharks_lover-102: The froggies will eat him and spit him out. Strues bob, no jokes. Fourie has made a stupid decision.
Anyway every Tommy Gun Dicky Bird and Harry Potter reckons their choice of player is correct
I say Boks should look like this now
Coetsee
Kolisi
Etsebeth
Elstadt
Cilliers
Fourie
Beast
Greyling, Strauss, JdP, Kruger, Arno Botha
There was a time when Deysel and Alberts were pretty much synonymous as big, bruising wrecking ball players.
But then Deysel proved all hype and no substance, while Alberts just became more and more awesome.
I just never see Deysel making the kind of yards that Alberts does. He might bump a defender, but doesn’t seem to have the leg power to drive through tackles the way Alberts does.
22 Aug 2012, 20:44 pm
@Heavens Game-105: hahaha. I know just pointing out something there…. lol.
Deysel was superb last week. I feel he may make the away tour to Oz and Nz. Only thing then Sharks lose another top class player for CC.
22 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
Rubbish
Kolisi can cover whatever loosie position you want
What if something happens to your precious Alberts?
Racists
22 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
How the fark HM left Brussow out a squad of 40 only he knows…..biggest shock of my rugby involvement since 1976….still farken speechless…
22 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
@grant10-112:
22 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
@grant10-104: Yip agree.
With Ruan and Lambie our half backs then our centres and wings will see some good ball. Then that is not the Meyer game style Grant. Pity.
I feel if we don’t pick up the 5 points in this game ABs will win this RC. They will beat us on their turf and definitely pick up 5 points from ARG home and away. The only way for us would be to win all our games which I doubt we will do OR beat Oz on their turf with 5 points. Which I doubt we will do playing the crash ball kick and chase game.
22 Aug 2012, 20:48 pm
when we play the big guns we better catch a wake up….
Hooper and Mc Caw gonna feast at bteakdown…..just like G Smith and MC Caw did for farken years…
22 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
@grant10-112:
Most definitely thought of you when he left out Brussel Sprout…………..hahaha.
Yip a little daft to leave him out. But for now he is injured. Think he should be back for our away tour to Oz and Nz. Without Bissie we do now need Brussow.
Then it should be:
Coetzee
Brussow.
I would shift that around though:
Coetzee
Brussow
22 Aug 2012, 20:52 pm
@fitz1ella-108:
Hello Oom Skop,
what do you have to say about your Bok hooker prospect Neon Deon leaving the Conference Cup holders to chase Euros in the land of frogs legs, cheese and unshaved chicks?
22 Aug 2012, 20:53 pm
@Dawn-111: Alberts… Precious? Naah, precious is Coetzee… A farken priceless emerald in green and Gold.
22 Aug 2012, 20:53 pm
@victoriabok-117:
22 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
@victoriabok-117:
Conference Cup holders!
Classic.
22 Aug 2012, 20:56 pm
Deysel was tried at Boks never made the impact that Alberts made straight off the bat.. in short Deysel wasn’t a real success. Deysel is middle of the road bruiser not the same ton of bone crunch adrenalin that Alberts or Elstadt is…
Deon Fourie has gone to Toulon to make bucks because its clear that SA rugby aficionado’s are fck’d in the head through and through.. when talent stares them in the face they rather pick bloated teddy bears like john Smit or Adriaan Strauss over true grit fire and brimstone hay-maker hookers.
@Puma-116: Nope and I know I will be accused of being partial here but:
The best loosie combo money can buy in SA is this:
6 Coetzee
7 Alberts
8 Kanko
With Daniel and Deysel the replacements.
Harmonised. Balanced.
Schooled by an ex top class loosie too as their coach. This bunch of loosies are the foundation upon which the Super rugby trophy will be won. I actaully would not pick anyone else if all these bunch of savages are fit and raring to go.
I reckon HM knows this too.
@Puma-116: yes…I could live with that…also feel M Coetsee may be long term answer at 8…..great young prospect….machine …..
Kolisi should be on bench….he can cover all the loose forward spots….
should of been in Mendoza now…..
HM is ostracising and polarising the rugby public…..for his sake he better be sure in his mind he is doing the right things……because I am not convinced , at this stage, that he is good for SA Rugby…..
It pains me to say but what I saw from the Sharks the last 5 weeks of the Super 15 campaign is the blueprint ….it proves SA teams can play ‘ total ‘ rugby….all this talk of traditional strengths and skop en jag is a cop out….and will blow up in our faces just like it did with Stormers…..matter of time….then HM gonna feel blowtorch heat from the Public….like he never experienced before….
22 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
Arg is without their flyhalf. So our chances of picking up the 5 points should not even be a question. We have too do just that this week to have a chance to win this damn thing.
We will beat ABs at FNB. Even with our kick and chase crash ball game plan. We home playing Oz at Loftus and they in Argentina that day playing them. We play on the Saturday they play on the Sunday. We have a extra day to rest and prepare while they are travelling here. (Reminds me of my Sharks and Chiefs who had played a day earlier than us, and Sharks to travel) also FNB game will be at altitude. Don’t think we will beat them in NZ though.
22 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@Heavens Game-122: would be mine too
deydel bench, 30 min to go move Alberts to lock and bring on Deysel
@victoriabok-117: LOL… Hey Vic, bru – I think you may be confusing Munich with Montpelier though…. Those French mesdemoiselles – although they can have a decent bit of bush on the pudenda, they do shave…. Its the fraulein that have the wild armpits…
Saffa rugby coaches are blinder than blindfolded mice
Thats how it goes in this land of dumber and dumber rugby coaching acumen…
they got Kolisi, Elstadt, Fourie sitting on the dock of the bay watching the tide roll away while they play morons like Potgieter, Deysel, Kankowski, Daniel, Spies, Vd Merwe, Strauss, Liebenberg, Burden
22 Aug 2012, 21:01 pm
Kanko was massive last few games….gotta give it to the oke….brought a hard edge to his game and was a master in lineouts….pity he got away…also heard he may be back for the Anzacs though…
22 Aug 2012, 21:01 pm
@sharks_lover-119:
They love to brag about it
Stormers should go into the software business, shows lots of promise beforehand but the final version never quite delivers
22 Aug 2012, 21:02 pm
@grant10-123: Now Now Grant you know full well only luck gave Sharks victories specially those over the Stormers
22 Aug 2012, 21:03 pm
Just dont get it….all the loosie talent on the planet and we sitting with a Chabal clone that I can hardly criticise cause I have hardly ever seen the oke play 1 st class rugby…
He must be farken good to crack the nod???
22 Aug 2012, 21:06 pm
@grant10-123: I feel the same Grant. Why Kolisi is back at Province is a damn shame really. He should be with the team right now. Would be great on the bench for sure. Covers covers 8/7/6 good to have a player like that on the bench.
Yip think Coetzee is the way for us to go at 8. Great player with superb skills too not just a crash ball player. Thinks which is important. Makes more tackles too than most players. Has speed for a 8 as well.
I agree that we should be playing ‘total rugby’ like the Sharks done in the last 5 games. We should be moving to that kind of style. If we could do it with so many Boks in our side we could do it at Test level.
Hate to see the Sharks players playing this style of crash ball rugby after seeing them with their brilliant off-loading game.
Did you see PSDT this year? I think he is more like Juan Smith than any player. Also he covers 4. Superb player. Pity he is injured right now. We could have a loose trio of:
Coetzee
PSDT
Brussow
22 Aug 2012, 21:07 pm
@Puma-132: With Alberts on the bench then. Imagine him coming on with fresh legs later?????
22 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
@grant10-123:
In the minds of many, Heyneke might be ostracising people with his selections. But he is his own and will make his own decisions. He will live and die by that.
If you suddenly start listening to too many opinions you will soon be living in the live of compromise. It is still early days in his Bok tenure. He has said that he make mistakes along the way – hell we all do.
I have said this a couple of times – the guy needs space and does not want to be easily influenced. He wants to do it his way. The guy needs our support.
The alternative is too ghastly to contemplate seeing Pdiv is still basically unemployed.
22 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
when the tragic fark up of 2011 finally died its inevitable death I was looking forward to a bright new era….
Instead they drop my favorite Bok Brussow….
Retain M skop en jag Steyn….
Retain Spies…..[ fark me that was hard to swallow]
Make a 12 a 13 and sommer capitano as well…..
Drop Aplon and JDJ…..
Find this Chabal lite oke…..
Make a 11 a bok 13 [ JJ Engelbrecht ]….
And send our brightest prospect in Kolisi back to the CC…..
Ai ….
Hope HM knows his stuff….because I am more than a little confused….
22 Aug 2012, 21:11 pm
@grant10-128: Kanko surprised everyone that never rated him. He was sublime when he started for Sharks. Our whole game just changed when he came along. Our lineouts was superb with him there. That was one of our weak points at the start this season and sometimes during as well. Not when he was there it worked very well. He is also super fast and his skills are great. Fitted out off-loading game very well. Our loosies then were well balanced. Kanko, Coetzee and Keegan. Fast, fast loosies with great skill all of them. With Bissie doing the fetching. Jeez that was a brilliant spell from the Sharks those last games. Beautiful to watch that kinda rugby. Our centres too were awesome. Timmy had been great for us this year Grant. A huge loss from Stormers. Also Jordaan was brilliant. Fransie was great too against Bulls.
22 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
@sharks_lover-125: You know what SL, the journey to top class is not a curve – often it is a series of “quantum” steps of bursting through a series of ceilings…. We all saw Kanko break through in the games after the England series… We saw Alberts do this on the EOYT the year before last… I reckon we may be seeing Deysel do this soon… there are glimpses albeit at a much lower level in the CC.
@grant10-131: seeing you as a Sharks fan right now?? lol, you see they have 2 fetchers comming through the academy??
one is playing for them on saturday, Francois Kleinhans, and the other one is Chris Cloete, now he is good, strong as an ox ,shortish with tree stump legs
@Puma-132: PSDT …saw him in games at Newlands for semi and final of JWC…great youngster….those 2 locks were also damn good….
watch the cheetahs wing Rhule….fark me that oke is classy as well….
Pollard also got big boot…..but I saw JL Du Plessis play for paarl Boys against Gym….class act too..
22 Aug 2012, 21:13 pm
@fitz1ella-121:
> Deon Fourie has gone to Toulon to make bucks because its clear that SA rugby aficionado’s are fck’d in the head through and through
Nee nee nee wag ‘n bietjie, hoe’s jou hart nou?
When Jaque Fourie and CJ Stander said they were leaving you we’re all f****ng good riddance and we’ve got tons of players let them f**** off, f*** mercenaries
Now that it’s your blue-eyed albeit red headed boy it’s all hunky dory?
Double standards anyone ??
22 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
@grant10-135: hahahahahahaha. ‘Chabal lite oke’ hahahaha. Laughed out loud there………hahaha.
22 Aug 2012, 21:15 pm
@grant10-139:
Who is PSDT?
22 Aug 2012, 21:15 pm
@Heavens Game-137: yup remember Deysel went through serious injuries,
but he was given a long time to recover, watch him go as he gets more match fit
22 Aug 2012, 21:16 pm
@victoriabok-140: nothing new lol
22 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
I tell you what makes a top rugby player.. or any top sportsman from a mediocre one..
It is not all the God given talent or attributes they were born with.. that just gets showcased as the cherry on top of the icing..
The real marrow that makes one sportsman stand out from another is actually his character.. that counts more than talent or physical attributes in the end.
And those that got character in current SA circles are
A. Coetsee / W. Le Roux, Taute
JPP,
Serfontein, Jordaan
De Jongh
Rhule, Engelbrecht
Goosen, A. Coetsee, R. Smit
Hougaard, Pretorius
Vermeulen, Coetsee, Botha
Alberts, Elstadt, PSDT
Kolisi, Brussow
Etsebeth, Kruger
Elstadt, Bressler, Willemse
Cilliers,
Bismark, Fourie
Beast, Kitschoff
22 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
@victoriabok-142: mark my words, the best young up and comming lock in SA, and he plays flank too, big boy very fast
22 Aug 2012, 21:19 pm
@sharks_lover-146:
Name?
22 Aug 2012, 21:19 pm
@grant10-139: Watched the JWC bud. Rhule must be the fastest wing we have right now. He is superb.
Most of that junior team were outstanding. Only the scrummie was not that great. The rest top class.
Since PSDT has played for Sharks but got injured. Had a ankle op after the Cheetahs game. This will be 6 weeks coming up now. Think he will be getting over that op now. Think they said about 6 to 8 weeks he would be out. He is like a Juan Smith. Awesome and he is only 20. How is Jordaan too? Absolutely brilliant at 13. Can’t wait to see Jordaan, Fransie and Lambie all playing in the same Sharks team next year. Then we have Timmy too that is superb. Ludik too came from no where I think to play awesome at fb. He was playing on the wing for awhile and I was not sure of him there. Then Viljoen never played well at fb. Pat got injured and so Ludik had a chance. I thought he was top class at fb for Sharks.
Sharks will have a excellent team next year. PSDT will be there too. Just a pity Bissie will probably only be available around April.
22 Aug 2012, 21:20 pm
@victoriabok-147: pieter stef du toit
22 Aug 2012, 21:20 pm
@Heavens Game-93:
Seriously? Referring to Kolisi as a Kia??
I never mentioned anything about playing Siya ahead of Coetzee. Coetzee’s better suited for 6 currently than Kolisi…however Brussel sprouts the best 6 by FAR.
Kolisi for me offers more as a 7 than Pottie since HM’s gameplan requires a lot on defense as we DEFintely won’t play ball in hand. There’s now loosie more devasting in defence this year than Kolisi!
22 Aug 2012, 21:21 pm
@Puma-148: we need to lure Cilliers back home
@sharks_lover-149:
Dankie
@I am a stormer-134: I am trying to give HM the benefit of the doubt….as I did with PDV….
However , he and I seem to differ on quite a few matters….
1. The Spies conondrum……
2..The M Steyn issue
3 the lack of a fetcher…..
Not sure I will ever be happy as long as we are playing this stampkar rugby I have seen for everything bit the frst 40 of the Pom test at Ellis Park…
For my sins I drove all the way to PE with mates to see the 3rd Test….
I am still pissed off at that waste of time….bloody disgusting display…
and last saturday was not much better….that Newlands crowd were muttering away after the game….people leaving with 12 minutes to go already,…thats the reality ….
so far HM has, in my opinion, not delivered…..and leaves me rather sceptical..
22 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
@grant10-139: Jeez Grant, Not sure how Province lost two of their best school boy fhs? Pollard to Bulls and JL du Plessis to the Sharks academy next year.
Who do Province have left?
22 Aug 2012, 21:23 pm
@victoriabok-152: he is 19 years old
http://www.google.co.za/imgres?imgurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/PICTURES/CMS/25200/25246.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/southafrica/rugby/image/165639.html&h=810&w=900&sz=140&tbnid=GRiCBgiofWnv3M:&tbnh=92&tbnw=102&zoom=1&usg=__aTeV1RcWi760f61VdASxEvmOIbU=&docid=uOkK2xgS3Fx3fM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=ODE1UJukFIW7hAeBvIGwDg&sqi=2&ved=0CG8Q9QEwBg&dur=1142
22 Aug 2012, 21:24 pm
@sharks_lover-138: i rate Chris Cloete….dont know the other guy
22 Aug 2012, 21:25 pm
@grant10-135: Brussouws omission for the England series was the most perplexing, stubborn call of the lot. I still remember his last game for the Boks vs the AB’s, a MOM performance in their win against the Blacks in PE and Meyer still had the gall to leave him out of the squad entirely. Hopefully he recovers from injury soon and Meyer drafts him in sharpish- he’s an absolutely vital player for the Boks .
Agree with Puma about the backrow
8-Alberts
7-Coetzee
6-Brussouw
Seems nicely balanced and complementary.
22 Aug 2012, 21:25 pm
@grant10-156: Kleinhans played in the same junior bok team that Kolisi did, 6 flank
22 Aug 2012, 21:26 pm
@grant10-156: sorry just to add, kleinhans is playing for us this weekend against the Bulls
22 Aug 2012, 21:26 pm
@sharks_lover-151: YES spot on. I really hope we can get Cilliers back. Then we sorted. Sharks should be working on that right now. I read when Cilliers was in training with the Boks while Sharks were playing the Chiefs, then once the players flew back and joined the Boks, he said he felt so great to see his them all. As they all got on so well. So we need to get our player back home.
22 Aug 2012, 21:28 pm
@Puma-160: yeah read that too
22 Aug 2012, 21:29 pm
@fitz1ella-145: I give you one player in world rugger currently has real character and courage – Aaron Cruden…
This little sheepshagger has actually got no ballas from cancer… Scared of nothing because he has stared death in the eye and won the first round… He is understudy only to DC and not for long. He is the benchmark for character in an International player…
Most of our players do no have character – they are not mentally tough enough because they have been spoilt rotten by hero worship – via 1st XV to age groups to open rugger… Heyneke Meyer has recognised this and has pinpointed it.
@victoriabok-140: Show me where I said that about Fourie or Stander.. in Stander’s case i said good for him because he now shows Heyneke what he go get a second grade Potgieter from EP and put him straight into Boks while Stander cut his teeth through Bulls junior programs.
Fourie has shown his worth for 2 whole seasons and if the SA rugby coaches are too dumbfck blind to recognize it and promote Liebenberg and Burden and Strauss and wie nog then he got little choice but vamoose and fck off and make some tom while he can.. because leaving all that raw talent at Stormers and Boks to go unnoticed and unappreciated shows that Saffa rugby coaches have got sh’t for brains… plural…
Quin Roux, CJ Stander and now Deon Fourie is gone.. who’s next?
Who is PSDT?
@grant10-153:
1. He had no choice but to pick Spies as the guys he wanted to play were injured
If he had all the players he wanted we would have played Burger, Juan Smit and Vermeulen and it would have been back to the gym for Spies.
Potgieter would’nt have made the team either
2. Morne was the incumbent, he would have blooded Goosen against the Poms but he was injured
3. He said Bismarck plays the role of a fetcher, he’d rather have three big guys hitting the rucks
However now that Bismarck’s injured he might need to revisit his fetcher decision but guess what, Brussouw’s also injured
22 Aug 2012, 21:33 pm
@papaown-164: He played 7 for the Junior WC Boks. Playes for the Sharks. Is getting over a op right now. Brilliant player in the Juan Smith mold.
Check post 155.
@Heavens Game-162: Also Nathan Charles, Western Force hooker, a guy with alot of character who has overcome daunting odds.
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/rugby-gold/western-force-hooker-nathan-charles-has-cystic-fibrosis-but-is-in-line-for-a-wallabies-jumper/story-fn8ti7yn-1226362852443
@papaown-150: brussow best 6 by country mile…..showed that by murdering stormers loose trio in the rain in bloem and killing sharks first 40 in durbs….made the other loosies look 2 nd rate
22 Aug 2012, 21:35 pm
@victoriabok-165: that’s just political speak man.
From what I’ve seen from HM I doubt that would’ve happened. He’s a skilled communicator esp. In knowing how to lead the public on when there’s debate around his selections.
It takes a politician to recognise 1
@papaown-164:
http://www.google.co.za/imgres?imgurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/PICTURES/CMS/25200/25246.jpg&imgrefurl=http://www.espnscrum.com/southafrica/rugby/image/165639.html&h=810&w=900&sz=140&tbnid=GRiCBgiofWnv3M:&tbnh=92&tbnw=102&zoom=1&usg=__aTeV1RcWi760f61VdASxEvmOIbU=&docid=uOkK2xgS3Fx3fM&hl=en&sa=X&ei=ODE1UJukFIW7hAeBvIGwDg&sqi=2&ved=0CG8Q9QEwBg&dur=1142
Full name
Pieter Stephanus du Toit
Date of birth
20 August 1992 (age 19)
Place of birth
Cape Town, South Africa
Height
2.00m (6 ft 8 in)
Weight
114 kg (17 st 13 lb)
School Swartland
@Puma-154: Watch Swiel…..and we got that Eksteen kid from Bulle…..but Swiel may prove to be the best of them all….
22 Aug 2012, 21:36 pm
@papaown-150: I dont agree that Ratel is the best 6 by far… Here’s an internet analogy – Ratel is broadband… But Coetzee is next generation… He is fibre optic.
What Coetzee can do at his age and this early stage of his career is farken off the charts, nearly unprecedented other than for a certain AB Captain.
And yes there was a loosie more devastating in defence this year than Kolisi, whether statistically or anecdotally – His name is Marcell Coetzee.
22 Aug 2012, 21:37 pm
@sharks_lover-170: It would be a huge luxury (no pun intended) to have a 2m blindside in addition to the two 2m+ locks.
22 Aug 2012, 21:38 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-167: Yeah…. Heard of him too… Awesome article though, thanks – now that is character.
22 Aug 2012, 21:38 pm
@willievz-173: for sure, and he is skillfull , fast and strong, rare breed
22 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm
@grant10-171: I have seen a youtube clip of Swiel somone put up here a few months back. He looks very good.
What about Jantjies? You think Stormers may get him? That might solve your problem straight away. There are rumours he may go to Province. Also heard rumours about Sarel might go to Stormers. Then you know you read these things and it never happens. So have no idea. But if Stormers got Sarela and Jantjies your team would be definitely a whole lot better and will score more tries for sure. Sarel’s defence will improve too at Stormers.
@fitz1ella-163:
If we were in their shoes we’d probably have done the same
You only have a few years to make good money, and staying in SA means you’d have to play the brutal S15 week in week out with all the travel it entails.
You can (will) get injured and might lose the ability to “retire” at a European club with a big paycheque, like Juan Smit and maybe Schalk as well
Rather go while you still can, cash in and come back later to try for the Boks, the Boks spot isn’t going anywhere and the rate of attrition is such you’re bound to get your Bok opportunity sooner rather than later with money for retirement already in the bank
@grant10-168: chris cloete will be the next Brussow, strong as an ox that boy
22 Aug 2012, 21:40 pm
@Heavens Game-162:
Our players by and large are spoiled molly coddled little daddies blue eyed boytjies… by and large.. many of them but not all of them.. your little Daniel has got character which is what allows him to punch above his weight.. Brussow got character… but so has Kolisi.. and Meyer can’t or won’t recognize it.. he recognized it in Etsebeth and Coetsee then goes about giving the kid a big ego.. in short undermining the character by heaping too much praise too soon… this Tarzan Potgieter dude I can’t somehow see much of that something special in him.. far too much a ladies boy breeker… very little of what I would look for in a rugby player emanating from there.
A. Coetsee at Lions has got character. W. Le Roux at Cheetahs got character
Serfontein and PSDT and Jordaan got some character
of which some like Spies are lacking in that commodity
Deon Fourie has got oodles of character but the dumb fck coaches here want big fat bloated teddy bears for hooker.. that why we lose the WC in the 1/4 final.. because all our players with character were riding bench and all our overrated fat bloated hero worshiped molly coddled heroes were starting… like FdP, Spies, and John the bloated bomb Smit…
22 Aug 2012, 21:41 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-157: ja bud…farken insanity….I just hope that is not ‘ personal ‘ …..Brussow must of pissed in HM cornflakes or something….its just plain farken insane !!!!@sharks_lover-158: will watch out for him…..@victoriabok-165: Excuses…..I wouldnt have Spies in the Wynberg Girls team…..and Lambie at 10 …fark even Peter pop gun Grant a far better bet than bloody M Steyn, especially with F Steyn next to him to provide some relief with the boot….no man…we want to find excuses for HM we will….
22 Aug 2012, 21:41 pm
@sharks_lover-175: Awesome player. Was one of the standout players in that JWC. SOOOOOO pleased he is with our Sharks.
22 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
@Puma-166: there you guys go again.
A youngster has 3 good game and we elevate him to Bok status…seriously??
You see players like Messam?? That’s who I respect!! They dominate S15 3 years in a row before getting a starting berth for All Blacks. That’s character!!
That’s why I don’t understand Meyer leaving out the likes of Brussouw and JdJ. Players who’ve proved themselves and worked hard to continously show their worth! Then some young kid with flash in the pan performances dislodge them from even being looked into for a touring squad???
Disgraceful!!
22 Aug 2012, 21:42 pm
Its done and dusted… Meyer did the expected…
Few pointers…
1) Only way to see if potgieters promotion will pay off is when he is playing
2) Morne will be there till he goes overseas… And that is end of 2013… When his contract expires
3) Goosen will be the second choice flyhalf cause meyer rates him very high…
4) Sya will not be playing championship this year but well eoyt…
5)Lambie will be chosen as a fullback only
6) Ruan will always be second choice scrummie because of his ulster commitments…
7)Adriaan will be co-captain with bissy come next year
22 Aug 2012, 21:43 pm
@Heavens Game-172: I also rate M Coetsee…..but he aint no 6 HG…not a fark….that oke is a born 7 or 8….
Go watch that 1 st half in Durbs again….Brussow murdered him….really owned the oke…..
Brussow is miles ahead of him….as a 6….
But why we want to leave the sprout out for marcelle?
Fark that…play them both!!
22 Aug 2012, 21:46 pm
@sharks_lover-178: Who does Chris Cloete play for?
22 Aug 2012, 21:46 pm
@Puma-176: Sarel signed for cheetahs 2013…..Stormers suits are a crime against humanity….a farken more useless bunch of twats you will not find…..useless….I cant see us getting anyone…..unless Sharks/ Bulls dont want them
Amateurs here in CT….seriously farken useless…
22 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@Heavens Game-172:
Brussow will chow Coetsee at the breakdown.. mince him up for afternoon stew…
Coetsee is not a classic open side.. he is a FAR better ball carry 8th man / No.7 though too lightweight for the big boys on the big stage, he can mix it in flurries at the coal face but can’t cut it at the hard as nails collision and breakdown.. where Brussow, Kolisi, Alberts, Vermeulen, couple others can.
That why Argies had a free lunch with Coetsee, Alberts and Daniel.. all standing off waiting to be the big hero with the big ball carry and get noticed and NOBODY mixing it in the trenches…like Brussow, Kolisi and Vermeulen will.
22 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@Puma-185: Sharks
google him
22 Aug 2012, 21:50 pm
@grant10-184:
You have to remember that Bissie never started that game when Brussow played. Once Bissie and Alberts came on we were just too good for Cheetahs. Brussow then never just got his own way once Bissie was on. Though all of them were only on for about 8 min. Brussow never came on in the 2nd half. Bissie and Alberts came on around 32min in the first half.
But you right I would play both Coetzee and Brussow. For the future. Think Coetzee at 8 PSDT 7 and Brussow 6. That would be a brilliant loose trio.
22 Aug 2012, 21:51 pm
@sharks_lover-188: Okay then that is brilliant. Will google and look.
22 Aug 2012, 21:51 pm
@Puma-185: http://www.galloimages.co.za/image/chris-cloete-vodacom-cup-sharks-eagles/1263312/1
Check that out Pooms, he is not tall but bulit like a brick shithouse lol
22 Aug 2012, 21:52 pm
Elstadt should have been called by Meyer for the steel he is short of.. Etsebeth is not the right man for the enforcer role..neither is Vd Merwe or Kruger or Bekker
Elstadt and then PS du Toit to follow should be the guys earmarked for enforcer / along with Alberts.
And that lightie Willemse can become the next Kobus Wiese.
22 Aug 2012, 21:53 pm
@sharks_lover-188: Did Brussow not play for Cheetahs when we played them in Bloem just before we played Stormers at the tank? Just don’t remember now. Because if he did then he never got it all his own way that day. Then in that game Bissie played the full 80min.
22 Aug 2012, 21:54 pm
reality is Brussow drilled Kolisi in Bloem and Marcelle in Durbs for 40 min….
Put him in a big Bok pack?
No brainer Mr HM……
Brussow starts 4 tests vs Kiwis….wins 4….
and gets dropped out a 40 man squad….??????
Farking hell man…
@sharks_lover-191: Okay checking it out now.
@grant10-184: I actually see more than a few similarities in the play and workrate of Coetzee and a certain Reechie McAwe. Coetzee can actually play all 3 positions – the kid is a farken prodigy… You also forget that in Durbs Coetzee was playing a different role… Keegan was openside and yes, Ratel was farken good – but Ratel eventually got fckedup while the rest were still farken like duracell bunnies in the second half.
@Puma-193: yes he did
22 Aug 2012, 21:55 pm
@Puma-195:
http://www.google.co.za/imgres?hl=en&sa=X&biw=1366&bih=626&tbm=isch&prmd=imvnso&tbnid=ibO11qUXupsi6M:&imgrefurl=http://www.galloimages.co.za/image/chris-cloete-absa-sharks-blue-bulls/1138013/1&docid=mSkgcRVbC6-mrM&imgurl=http://www.galloimages.co.za/Preview/1138013/TL_901338.JPG&w=450&h=327&ei=5Dc1UI3mCZCQhQeK94DwCA&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=903&vpy=147&dur=1604&hovh=191&hovw=263&tx=155&ty=91&sig=115286841712887539652&page=1&tbnh=131&tbnw=175&start=0&ndsp=22&ved=1t:429,r:5,s:0,i:87
22 Aug 2012, 21:56 pm
I will be watching the game a little closer this weekend, as I have always missed the fascination with Coetsee.
22 Aug 2012, 21:57 pm
@Puma-189: Brussow went off injured at half time which is when Plumtree called up Bismark and Alberts..
Up till that point Brussow, with Vd Walt and Viljoen OWNED your sharkshit bokkies like Kanko and Coetsee.. he OWNED all of them SOLO..for an entire 40 minutes…
Only when Brussow went OFF and Bismark and Alberts came ON did Sharks get the upper hand.. till Brussow was injured there was only one team in it and it wasn’t Sharks playing at HOME..!
22 Aug 2012, 21:58 pm
@sharks_lover-191: Yes just checked. He is stocky and built similar to Brussow.
@sharks_lover-197: Yes I thought he did. In that game Brussow never got it all his own way. Could have been because owe had Bissie playing. In that first 32min at the Tank against Cheetahs Bissie was on the bench.
Actually I would like to see how Marcell goes at 8. I think he would be great there with PSDT at 7 for Sharks. Well with Kanko playing the way he did then Kanko at 8. But think Marcell would be a top class 8 really.
22 Aug 2012, 21:59 pm
@Puma-201: owe = we
22 Aug 2012, 22:04 pm
@fitz1ella-200: I was at the game Skop. Bissie came on around the 32min mark. Wondered why he brought him on then and not after the break. But I can tell you in that 8min Bissie was on Brussow never got it his own way. NOT saying he must not be selected for Boks because I think he must, just saying if there is another quality fetcher then sometimes he does not always win the fight at the breakdowns. Brussow played against us in Bloem with Bissie on the whole game and he never owned us that day Skop. Then also Marcell at the tank against Cheetahs played at 7 with Keegan at 6 with Kanko at 8. But definitely when Bissie came on the whole game changed. I know Brussow went off after the half but there was about 8min with Bissie and Brussow on in the last bit of the first half.
22 Aug 2012, 22:04 pm
@Heavens Game-196: Coetsee is blind side or 8th man.. not open side… he cannot compete with Pocock, Brussow, or Messam, even Kolisi at the crunch game.. only in the open fast lane is where you notice him.. in the trenches he goes AWOL like Daniel, Spies and Kankowski do .. he’s not in McCaw’s league .. he’s a ball carrier, that’s his better role, fast and furious but a little short on power and tenacity in the big crunch game… which is why Brussow owned both him and Kanko for 40 minutes in Durban all on his own.
22 Aug 2012, 22:05 pm
@Heavens Game-196: I am Marcelles biggest fan….awesome work rate, destructive tackler and skills getting better and better….briliant youngster, and deserves a spot on form in bo0k loose trio….
But this HM hybrid stuff leaves me cold…..and I dont see it being fair on Marcelle…..he is built like a 7 / 8….
That Hooper oke is gonna give him loads of pain…….and MC Caw is a magician on the deck….
Why the fark HM would contemplate going into battle against those okes without brussow is very confusing for me….
22 Aug 2012, 22:06 pm
coetzee is too small too be a modern looseforward superstar. I think he;s going to be short-lived, once the hype tapers off. Daniels is faster and has got a bigger workrate. I think coetzee, daniel and kanko are good super rugby players, but the Boks ABs and Oz have better looseforwards.
22 Aug 2012, 22:07 pm
@Puma-203: Brussow was already injured by then because he ran your entire loose trio ragged on his own for half an hour there was only one loose forward on the field and it wasn’t Kanko or Daniel or Coetsee it was Brussow with some help from his sublieutenants Vd Walt and Viljoen.
22 Aug 2012, 22:07 pm
Anyhow for the future I think Meyer should try Coetzee at 8.
8. Coetzee
7. PSDT
6. Brussow
That I feel would be our best loose trio. PSDT is also brilliant in the lineouts. So we miss nothing with Brussow being shorter at 6.
22 Aug 2012, 22:08 pm
he is not a fetcher, or a too-the-ball player, brussow is a fetcher.
i see meyer is nervous about sat and has brought potgieter in – if alberts goes down there’s going to be a pomping on the cards, but i still reckon the argies might take them close.
2 best fetchers we have is Brussow……gap……F Louw……
Kolisi is more a 7 / 8 as well in my opinion…..
I see Steggmann is playing again…on form he is brilliant as well….
PSDT also hits the rucks. Like a enforcer type player and also has very good skills.
22 Aug 2012, 22:10 pm
Coetzee’s position is 8 – nowhere else – he’s not a fetcher and def not a blindside flanker – no way in hell, 102kgs, no chance.
22 Aug 2012, 22:11 pm
@cab-206: Ag come now CAb , Kolisi is smaller than Coetzee, I never took you for one that didnt know how to give credit where its due,
Coetzee has been the most consistent Loose forward in sa and top most of the stats along with Daniel.
and please dont come with this it is just because its super 15, its the same for all the loose forwards , that includes the majority of the best in the world
22 Aug 2012, 22:11 pm
Now without Bissie for the Oz and Nz tour we need to bring in Brussow.
There Meyer will have to play:
Either Coetzee at 8 or Alberts.
8. Alberts
7. Coetzee
6. Brussow.
We sorted then. Or:
8. Coetzee
7. Alberts
6. Brussow
Either way it will work. Though next year with PSDT he should start at 7 and Coetzee at 8. Just my opinion.
22 Aug 2012, 22:12 pm
@fitz1ella-187: Bullshit man! Ratel is an outstanding player… World Class even. But he is at the very peak of his abilities. Coetzee however is better in some spheres of the game already – frequency of carries and frequency of tackles to name just 2… Most of his carries are effective and they wear down the opposition.
But you know what is scary – he is still learning the short cuts and cheats that Brussouw knows and yet he is not far off Ratel… Coetzee also has an offload game already that Brussouw can only dream of.
He also hardly makes mistakes – and not from hiding – because by most stat measures he consistently has the highest work rate in the Green and Gold.
In short Marcell is probably at about half of his full potential – but that half is more than most at 100%, including Ratel.
22 Aug 2012, 22:13 pm
yip Kolisi is more 7 / 8 but he’s much harder than Coetsee.. he’ll smack Coetsee sideways in a head on one on one…. maybe less frenetic and less activity but Kolisi hits hard and way above his weight.. Kolisi got big ball character.. pity that dumb doos Meyer can’t recognize it and plays softcock moron’s like Tarzan swinging ball breakers instead.
22 Aug 2012, 22:14 pm
Kolisi can play blinsider cos he’s got that momentum-stopping hitting power and leg-drive – despite being just over 100kgs himself, kolisi is lean muscle not gym muscle, but its essential to have Alberts or Vermeulen in at least one of the posis and brussow in the other – the third spot i;d give to kolisi with coetzee off the bench when it becomes looser and he can use his speed to exploit the half-gaps.
22 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
@cab-212: The kiwi presenter on Reunion Tony said that Coetzee was like a Schalk Burger only BETTER because he had skills and don’t just go to ground and also don’t just hog the ball. They said, Coetzee’s off-loads is one of the best for Sharks with Keegan.
Coetzee makes more tackles than any of the players for the Boks or Sharks.
Give credit Cabbie.
22 Aug 2012, 22:15 pm
@fitz1ella-204: AWOL you say? Well then I say you lost your marbles with that last sip of absinthe you must be farken drinking like Koolaid… Mad!
22 Aug 2012, 22:16 pm
@fitz1ella-216: Oh ffs go sober up, only in Kolisi’s dreams, yeah we know all things powerfull come form the cAPE, thats why the Sharks for the most fark up your foul winds
22 Aug 2012, 22:17 pm
Thats right Coetsee must go to 8 and stay there he will be far better than Kanko or Spies at 8 until Arno Botha challenges him for that spot… he is not an open sides backside as Brussow showed him in no uncertain terms…
Kolisi also a bit small for 7 and 8 but Kolisi punches way harder than Coetsee pound for pound.. Kolisi smacks big locks and props into reverse gear.. while Coetsee is seeking out the limelight in the fast lane.
@Puma-218: Puma thats not the Cab we know, he never used to suck up to the likes of Skop, now his whole head stick up Skops ***
@Puma-218:
Coetzee is about half the size of schalk, he;s a completely differnt player, schalk in his youth was a moerse battering ram that smashed ppl back in the tackle – coetzee is a pacey rangey ballrunner with an offload game as you say and gets through alot of tackles that are not big hits.
22 Aug 2012, 22:19 pm
@fitz1ella-221: NO doubt ur Flucking totally dillusional
@fitz1ella-207: Yes brussow had done just that but what I was SAYING was he never done that when Bissie came on. Also never done that when Bissie played in the Bloem game.
I rate Brussow Skop so you don’t have to rant and rave at me. I want him selected. Just saying if there is aonther world class player he is playing against, then he may need help from his loosies or other players like Bissie (when back fit) to help.
@sharks_lover-222:
ou doos talks alot of ****, but he;s right here about various wp players that are better than their sharks counterparts. just because i dont agree with you on these points, does not mean im sucking up to anyone, i call my own tune, i dont care if you like it or not.
@cab-223: Firstly Cooetzee is in excess of 106 kg’s get your facts straight
22 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
@grant10-205: Actually Coetzee has similar stature to McCaw but with Guns like Pocock… You reckon Hooper will give Marcell “loads of pain”…. HOOPER!??!? Come now… Dont be farken absurd… Coetzee will eat him, Chinese Water Torture style – Death by a thousand cuts before he or you even know its happened…
22 Aug 2012, 22:20 pm
@cab-226: Well i dont agree . but dont make false statements about a player to enhance a player you prefer
anyhows i’ll give you the full player stats soon
22 Aug 2012, 22:22 pm
@cab-223: That is what the kiwis said. He was just a battering ram. With Marcell they said you get that but a player with skills that can think and run around the player too and off-load in the tackle and not just go to ground. THEY said it not me. I am telling you how much they rate Marcell. Saying he would be in the AB team if he was a kiwi. The find of the season they thought. They thought very highly of him.
got a feeling HM has issues other than rugby with Brussow…
anyhow..got to run
@sharks_lover-213:
SL, you rate him and many others including HM do, I am merely giving my opinion, it could be completely wrong, but I maintain despite all the kenners knowledge that after 1 Bok season, coetzee is going to struggle imo to maintain his position in the Bok team – and sat could be a big eye-opener allround.
22 Aug 2012, 22:24 pm
@Heavens Game-228: not on the deck….Hooper will sort him out quick sticks….so will that Gill oke….
but outta here now…
22 Aug 2012, 22:24 pm
@sharks_lover-229:
ill make whatever statement i want, who is to what is false and what is true – stats schmats, according to the stats matfield make an extraordinary number of tackles, completely useless as tits on a buffalo in terms of tight 5 dominance and getting go-forward momentum.
22 Aug 2012, 22:26 pm
@sharks_lover-222: Ja I have no idea. Think it is Cab just changes his tune every few years…………hahahaha. Well it seems like that to me.
@grant10-233: I disagree. Cheers
Sharks site has Coetzee at 106 kg’s and 191m
Kolisi 1.86m and 101 kg
Burger 1.93m and 114 kg’s
I wish Kolisi was given a chance. I really do. That Potgieter creature makes amateur mistakes and acts without thinking. Kolisi at least has some composure and a brain to go with it.
22 Aug 2012, 22:27 pm
@grant10-231: so long nice to see you back
@grant10-231: I think he will bring him back Grant. I hope he does.
Cheers bud. Good to catch up and chat again.
@cab-234: fair enough, just i used to value your opinion,
22 Aug 2012, 22:28 pm
@pattyfries-238: Well I wish he had a chance too this weekend instead of Potgieter. Feel for Kolisi just dropped like that while we have Potgieter instead.
22 Aug 2012, 22:29 pm
i’ve seen coetzee dumped and do a prima special – that says it all – plenty talent but no ways a blinsider – gdam are u lot blind – the Boks have had some of the toughest best blindsiders of alltime – Andre Venter did not huil and had a frame twice the size of coetzee.
22 Aug 2012, 22:31 pm
Pogieter is as bad as Spies – big mistake we will never see loose ball
Coach has lost his marbles
22 Aug 2012, 22:33 pm
@sharks_lover-241:
well i still value your opinion, just wheneve a sharks player is concerned i take it with two bagfuls of salt – SL you got B&W blinkers on def no question.
22 Aug 2012, 22:34 pm
@fitz1ella-221: Do you ever go back and read the sht you post? You must blush bright ****** red.
22 Aug 2012, 22:35 pm
@cab-245: Cab , go check out all the stats for the year, i have also seen Kolilsi dumped numerous times
You cant compare Marcell to Andre Venter, hell theres hardly a loose forward ever you can compare to him
22 Aug 2012, 22:36 pm
@cab-245: I have also never said MArcel is a 6, he is a 8/7
It is HM thats playing him at 6, he never plays there for the Sharks
22 Aug 2012, 22:36 pm
@fitz1ella-221: @cab-226: Only one thing I can agree with you comedy club fools abou this whole loosie argument is that the further Spies stays away from the Boks the better.
He has a distinct lack of ballas and what finally did for me (in the playoff Bulls vs Saders) was him rapidly chasing down Freuan on a break, followed by running slightly ahead of big Robbie – dont know WTF kind of side on tackle he was trying to achieve – only to do a literal somersault after Freuen gave him a half hearted hand off.
Naah. Spies has cooked his goose.
22 Aug 2012, 22:37 pm
@cab-243: That Dean Mum hand-off was a freak incident with Coetzee being off his feet at the moment of impact. Won’t happen again.
22 Aug 2012, 22:38 pm
@Puma-235:
Puma – it is you guys who are wrong – your tune is only consistent so long as it involves a banaboy. Coetzee might be the best thing since sliced bread, i will wait to see, so far i dont think so, and imo in a tight test match he is not going to help the Bok cause imo just the same as Potgieter, Kanko and Spies.
22 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
@cab-245: No it has nothing to do with Blinkers, in every match he plays no matter in SA, Aussie or Kiwi they rate him extremely high , and he lives up to that,
Yet in here you have a few that tries to tell us someone else who coetzee outplays 95% of the time is better than him?? seriously
22 Aug 2012, 22:39 pm
Okay for this weekend we need the 5 points that is all I know. If we don’t get it we can kiss the RC good bye. We should have got it last week on Cape Town. Now they without their fh and we really should get stuck in and get the 4 tires. This not like the England tour here where you only had to win. Here we need to pick up bonus points on the way like the ABs will be doing against Arg.
See the weather will be dry for Mendoza so hopefully we can play more than just the kick and chase and crash ball style.
22 Aug 2012, 22:40 pm
@Puma-253: I am tired think I will go to bed too……hahaha.
meant – in Cape Town
tires = tries
22 Aug 2012, 22:41 pm
This wouldn’t be so bad if Potgieter wasn’t so KAK.
22 Aug 2012, 22:42 pm
@sharks_lover-247:
getting dumped is one thing, but staying down harping on the injury is completely different – maybe it was a once off spear that he thought had injured him worse than it had but i never seen the real ysters however injured do that unless they literally had to be stretchered off.
@katman-250:
was it mum? i thought he got speared and i just remember him carrying on a bit – probably overly harsh but all im saying is no blindsider mentality would allow that – alberts was smashed by elstadt and he came back for seconds and thirds…
22 Aug 2012, 22:43 pm
@cab-243: Ag wind your neck in…. You flip flopping like a politician now… First Coetzee not an openside, then he’s not a blindside, next he’s not an 8 and finally maybe not even a rugby player… Fark you been in pie eating country too long and actually I reckon you sounding more and more like a Pom – say one thing, and then say another thing completely the opposite – while believing both…. Fcked in the head.
Potgieter is a crash ball merchant.
too predictable. dies with the ball. easy to defend against, just like SA’s whole gameplan. ozzies and kiwis are going to outsmart us again.
@Puma-254: Cheers Pooms , i am off too
22 Aug 2012, 22:45 pm
@katman-246: what kind little dumbfck moron idiot are you.. another one of these HM moronic cork suckers
I’m 100% right.. and dumb morons like you and SL here are 100% wrong..
Kolisi will smack Coetsee out his socks .. and Coetsee is playing out of position .. Open side is NOT his forte… little dumb dweeb that needs a smack to your opinionated ignorant peanut butter unenlightened arrogance.
and all the showmanship in the world will not make up for hard as nails guts and character that Kolisi has in spades.. way more than Coetsee in a one on one comparison.
22 Aug 2012, 22:45 pm
@cab-256: No it was a badly executed flying tackle that got halted mid-air. And he didn’t carry on about it. He actually tried to get up and realised he was half knocked out. See here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tla5Wm3nKUM
22 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
@katman-250: I seen Schalf Burger cop a similar hand off from none other than…. Lambie – on his way to scoring under the poles.
Yup, it happens to the best of them.
22 Aug 2012, 22:46 pm
@cab-251: I will have him in my side everytime Cabbie. Makes more tackles than any other player. That is enough for me.
Think you must be the only one that does not rate Marcell Coetzee Cabbie.
Just remember with the Boks he plays the way Meyer wants him to play. With the Sharks he was not only just tackling every player in sight but also taking the tackle and off-loading and putting his support runner away. He is a superb player. He has good speed too. I agree not a opensider but more a 8 or 7. BUT I would have him start in my team every time.
Then that is just my opinion. That all it is a opinion we all have one. It what Meyer wants in the end not us. We can just share our thoughts here and that is all.
22 Aug 2012, 22:48 pm
@Heavens Game-262: Yip and that was a beaut…..hehe. How much smaller is Lambie to Schalk? Made it even more impressive……lol.
22 Aug 2012, 22:49 pm
anyone who claims he is 100% right and someone else 100% wrong with so much conviction must possess some delusions of grandeur or is just a bell end.
22 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@sharks_lover-259: Yip I am off to bed. Cheers bro. Catch up tomorrow.
Cheers everyone.
22 Aug 2012, 22:50 pm
@fitz1ella-260: No, you are certainly not right. In fact, it’s been a long time since you’ve been right about anything. At best, you’re mildly entertaining in your senile dementia. But it doesn’t feel right to chuckle about that.
22 Aug 2012, 22:52 pm
@Puma-264: A beaut it truly was. Thought Pat was going to get crunched…. But no, not to be.
22 Aug 2012, 22:52 pm
@katman-261: poor little mommy’s boy realized he weren’t half as invincible as he thought he was.. Mumm dumped him like a flying sack of overrated potatoes… HM’s little blue eyed darling.. HM gonna convert all these new age darlings into the next batch of Pierre Spies.. starting with Coetsee and Etsebeth… feed them melk tert and over aggrandized darling soup and next they’ll actually believe they’re the best little darlings in the whole wide world…
while the real ysters like Elstadt and Kolisi play nitty gritty Currie cup rugby and get rid of their pent up frustrations that way.
22 Aug 2012, 22:53 pm
@Puma-266: Cheers
22 Aug 2012, 22:54 pm
@Heavens Game-257:
i told you what he is imo, an 8, thats all, he;s too light for a blinsider and not a fecther – cant u read of iets.
@sharks_lover-252:
look my boet agrees with you, as does 95% of SA, but imo, and we shall see if this turns out to be right, which is that he will be exposed in tighter test matches = england picked an incredibly light backrow, why i have no real idea, but that was not a big test and even they blunted him when alberts was not there – will be a completely different EOY tour, if he performs I will freely admit i was wrong.
@katman-261:
let me have a look maybe u right
@Puma-263:
but pumes i dont mind if you have an opinion and we disagree, surely thats the point – i think he could be good, but my opinion (which is in the minority) is that kolisi might make a better test match player and it will be interesting to see how both their careers unfold then we can see who is right. Right now Coetzee is getting all the opportunities, lets see what happens when we start losing.
22 Aug 2012, 22:55 pm
@fitz1ella-145: on what basis (or how) are you determining which players have character?
22 Aug 2012, 22:56 pm
@fitz1ella-269: All we hear is blah blah fcking blah…
22 Aug 2012, 22:57 pm
@cab-271: You go shove that read right up your McCaw…. fool
22 Aug 2012, 22:57 pm
@Big Hit-272: He reads it in his early morning pee foam. Quite a gift our Skoppie has.
22 Aug 2012, 22:58 pm
@katman-267: what you know between right and not right peanut buttered unenlightened rock around the glockenspiel moronic little imbecile who thinks he may be intelligent ?
Kolisi is a more robust rugby player than Coetsee by some distance.. unbeknownst to you little googoo golly gumdrop idiot and all the Sharkie hero worshipers as well as the national coach…
22 Aug 2012, 23:00 pm
@fitz1ella-179: “Tarzan Potgieter”
22 Aug 2012, 23:01 pm
@katman-261:
no, that was a bad injury, he was playing hard there, there was another incident it was a night match, he got picked up in a spear and put down gently and curled into a ball not sure if playing for penatly or doing an fdp or habana special when they become too precious – def not on for a Bok blindsider if thats what some are suggesting.
22 Aug 2012, 23:02 pm
@Big Hit-272: I actually reckon that a prime Skop driver for character is: the propensity a player has to eating Tofu or green beans… or something along those lines.
@Heavens Game-274:
wtf are u going on about now – relax rambo.
@fitz1ella-276: Listen, pampoen, I like Kolisi too. I think he’s got Bok written all over him. But that doesn’t make you less of a self-inflated, opinionated, deluded tosskop, does it? You know very little and you think you can make up for this with bluster. Works on some people, but not on the katman. I see through you like a glass plate washed in my dishwasher with new Sunlight.
22 Aug 2012, 23:04 pm
@cab-278: Ah, didn’t see that one. I still reckon he’s a tough bugger. Anyone with bak ore like that can’t be a sissy. Ask Wahl Bartman.
22 Aug 2012, 23:05 pm
Over and out before I do some character building right through my computer screen onto farken Punch and Judy here.
22 Aug 2012, 23:06 pm
@Big Hit-272: you blind or something… character is plainly legible just like this dumb peanut brained idiot here katmankunt has zero character actually to speak of.. yet he thinks he does.. same kind of rocky induced ignorance that breeds idiots who think they’re marginally intelligent when truth is they’re not… even though they might think they been endowed with some enlightened superiority bred genetic strains of human intelligence .. fact of the real matter is they are thicker than pea soup through their imbecilic non intelligent brains.
22 Aug 2012, 23:09 pm
@fitz1ella-284: I don’t need to be a MENSA genius to win this one. It’s like the two guys running away from the lion. I just need to be faster than you. Which I am by several country miles, you bumpkin.
22 Aug 2012, 23:10 pm
@katman-282:
yeah he’s good, and plays hard, but i think kolisi is going to make a stronger Bok test side, just my opinion.
22 Aug 2012, 23:12 pm
@cab-286: Ja, I’m a big Kolisi fan too. Despite what people say about the combined size/hight, I reckon a trio of Kolisi, Coetzee and Alberts would be potent.
And watch Arno Botha from the Bulls in a year or so.
22 Aug 2012, 23:14 pm
Anyway, I’m out. I have better things to do than become penpals with Skoppie at 11pm on a school night.
22 Aug 2012, 23:16 pm
@katman-287:
yip thats the way to go with brussow and vermeulen out.
22 Aug 2012, 23:16 pm
@katman-281: what you need is one fat lesson in wake up fast… personified fukwit idiot…
what you actually need is someone to teach you how absolutely THICK you actually are you numb skull little imbecilic insignificant dweeb…
What I tell you here above that you went and picked out as you big arrogance above attitude ‘do I ever read what I post’ kind of garbage… that Kolisi will smack Coetsee sideways in a head on one on one… how many times you like I should repeat it for it to SINK into you dumb thick rocky induced ignorant self infatuated brain.?. moron idiot personified…
22 Aug 2012, 23:19 pm
@fitz1ella-284: I only asked, skop
Most rugby players have character imo otherwise they wouldn’t take the field, it’s not a sport for sissies. The only players I can’t abide are those who only tackle when they feel like it, or sometimes not at all (e.g. Cipriani).
22 Aug 2012, 23:20 pm
fk me some of these pommies are funny, some **** on bbc3 where this bugger is running with the ‘hippies’ protesting about the banking system- says they quite fast animals and sweaty too like an attenborough biopic.
22 Aug 2012, 23:21 pm
@katman-285: no you are a moron through and through.. that is precisely who and what you are… a supreme moron who thinks he’s not.. that is the real fact of the matter.. you are a moron who thinks he’s clever… and idiots like you are the biggest morons in the universe…….without a doubt.
@katman-288: who invited you fuckwit.?..next time you invite yourself get another lesson in manners… moronic little backwater idiot…
22 Aug 2012, 23:22 pm
oj fk this is too much – this is great show ..
22 Aug 2012, 23:25 pm
@cab-294: it’s not bad is it. lol @ free scotland & free mandela
22 Aug 2012, 23:29 pm
@Big Hit-295:
LMAO – this is perhaps the greatest show ive ever seen – raif the dutch raver trying to break into MI6.
22 Aug 2012, 23:32 pm
@Big Hit-291: yeah sorry I let you have it when its these pompous little idiots like that pissarse squirt katmancant who reckon they so well endowed with brains who are aiming for a smack to their over aggrandized pompous arrogant attitudes…..
Its those that think they so well endowed who got the least of it actually.
I reckon one needs character to play rugby I guess, either character or else stupidity because it is quite a dumb barbarous kind of brainless sport …
But one can generally pick out those players with a little more character than others.. it shows in how they handle situations on the field of play.. Cipriani may have plenty talent but perhaps lacks character and courage.. where Jonny Wilkinson is almost the reverse.. Spies another example of someone who may be blessed with physical attributes but lacks something that is required to really step up.. only description I can give is character.. .. A good coach will recognize character before he recognizes talent.. and work with that.
22 Aug 2012, 23:46 pm
Sorry Skop, but two out of three times this year Coetzee and co cleaned up Kolisi and co – and one of those times they did so after traveling halfway around the world. That doesn’t make Kolisi a bad player – but it definitely makes it seem unlikely that Coetzee is a bad player. Get over your provincial bias.
22 Aug 2012, 23:57 pm
@kaksioek-298: you reading a Sharks win over Stormers as an indication that Coetsee is a better or harder player than Kolisi … wrong deduction…
Perhaps a better coached side or a better planned strategy or a more together developed belief in the team cohesive but don’t equate to Coetsee got more guts or more ability or is tougher one on one or more able to step up to international rigorous rugby than Kolisi …
All it shows is the national coach got some favoritism oozing through his brain…and it also shows that AC didn’t know how to put a team strategy together for a Stormers side who played well below their potential while Sharks played above theirs.
Coetsee got plenty of the right stuff I’m not knocking him out the setup I would play Coetsee at 8.. I’ve said it all along.. and he is a vital cog in Sharks and Boks loosie setup .. but in a collision trench war Kolisi and someone like Elstadt more valuable where its down to hard nose battle hardened guts that win the war.
23 Aug 2012, 00:07 am
@fitz1ella-299: You’re sounding more reasonable now, but Kolisi and Elstadt are both unproven at the highest level. Coetzee has Wayne Smith, among others, impressed. Kolisi (6), Alberts (7) and Coetzee (8) could play together. Elstadt is a 4 – has been nowhere this year as a 7.
23 Aug 2012, 00:17 am
@kaksioek-300: go sell it to the national coach…. he’s the moron that plays Spies or Kankowski at 8 and Etsebeth at 4 enforcer and Potgieter as his barnstorming paratrooper gone wrong….
Its not that difficult to put a team together.. its simple as ABC .. I been singing Coetsee to 8 with Kolisi and Alberts 6 & 7 for a LONG time already .. and Elstadt into the mix as the steel in the pack either of bench to cover for Alberts or starting 4 and if Brussow was fit he would start at 6 and Kolisi probably off bench.
But fact remains in a one on one collision encounter Kolisi is harder and tougher than Coetsee… sing it any way you wanna do but those the facts.. no matter what that dumb little imbecile prickface katmancant or you or HG or SL or HM may think.. those are the facts.
23 Aug 2012, 00:19 am
Get some sleep Skop. Goodnight.
23 Aug 2012, 00:23 am
Oh well……I may as well join in here.
Lets see…..I was banned from the Rugby365 site for calling Heyneke Meyer a “PLANK”. This was apparently akin to “hate speech” and “racialism” no less……and the chief chirrup Jan De Koning banned me…..for the third and last time…..after calling Dumbtree Dumbtree…..and for some other obscure reason….I forget now.
Anyhow…..with HM bringing in a brain dead missile with a busted guided system in the shape of Potgieter I believe that HM is showing himself yet again to be a plank of note.
I cannot believe that a bash it up moron like Potgieter is being touted as the “next best thing”? He has no brains, no finesse, no distribution skills….and loses the ball in contact half the time he carries it. His defense is rubbish as he slips off tackles frequently….and the only positive thing about him is that he’s BIG. WOW….what a recommendation?
Sorry…..but I am fast losing all respect for HM…..he really is nothing more than a plank with a hard on for his own Bulls players. Siya Kolisi should have been given his first cap about 10 times before Potgieter was even allowed to BUY a Bok jersey from a Mall!!
Right…..I’ve now referred to HM as a “plank” on 4 different occasions in this comment……I’m wondering if it’ll get me banned from this site to?
23 Aug 2012, 00:34 am
@CT Shark-303: don’t be silly, you don’t get banned from Keo unless you are skopskiet aka fitz1ella.
Anything goes here, insults are the name of the game. Do your worst.
23 Aug 2012, 00:43 am
@CT Shark-303:
Naw, the worst that will happen here if you call him a plank is that one of his groupies (the head groupie is a bloke called Tacitus) will threaten to hit you with a plank or ask you to take the plank out of your own eye. But you will certainly not be banned .
23 Aug 2012, 01:06 am
@CT Shark-303: Make peace with the fact that every coach has his favorites that won’t make sense to anyone but himself. PDivvy got a hard on every time Fourie DuPreez made eye contact even more so when Fourie was well past his prime. And the mere mention of Adi Jacobs made him come in his pants. Same with Heyneke – he selects his caveman lookalike from the Bulls because he can. Not because it should make sense to everyone.
23 Aug 2012, 01:53 am
@CT Shark-303: I wont go a far as to call HM names however i agree 100 % about your assessment of Potgieter
Basically he does the same thing over and over again
Takes the ball up and flops tot eh ground when any opposition player is near him
He has no clue how to off load and I dont believe he can pass a rugby ball at all
Often when he does dive the ground he loses the ball or its stolen from him,
His defense is very suspect. He runs around like a headless chicken often falling off tackles.
At least Daniels is smart and can off load and can tackle and has great speed (handicapped by HM)
I do like Alberts at 8, but Kolisi should be there
Potgieter is another Spies
23 Aug 2012, 04:21 am
Deysel is the best momentum stopper not in the squad. Potgieter will be gone soon and the Cape can rejoice in unison when Kolisi is called up to the big leagues. Coetzee at 8 sounds like a good idea but it’s not a move you pull in Mendoza, it’s something you try a little lower down first.
23 Aug 2012, 06:44 am
Amazing how SA coaches picks a squad with their provincial glasses on. Nz will put 30 past this team and even Aus will beat this mob. This team lacks direction ,skill and will rely on mistakes to score points. Kick and chase and lets hope the ball bounce our way. At least the bokke cant finish last
23 Aug 2012, 07:21 am
Rubbish team morne steyn useless jacques potgieter useless zane kircher useless keegan daniel useless flip van der merwe useless, boks will be thumped in aus abd nz heyneke is becoming an embarassment like de villiers,
23 Aug 2012, 07:23 am
Soringboks suck with this team
23 Aug 2012, 07:24 am
@fitz1ella-301: I ask again. Is your rugby knowledge better that your music knowledge?? I think you are a fake. A pretender. Kindly give us your background in coaching and/or refereeing. You are inventing your own facts. Loser.
23 Aug 2012, 07:26 am
@Robzim-305: Lol
23 Aug 2012, 07:39 am
@optiplay-312:
Skopshite has one of the worst track records of predictions on Keo… so take anything the old toothless Chihuahua says with a pinch or seven of salt… he’s here for entertainment value and even that has worn thin with his disgusting vitriol and temple-throbbing cursing… typical Bakkie-bouer…
As for this X player MUST be in the team to neutralise Hooper or Y player MUST be in the team to neutralise McCaw nonsense… 90% of this thread miss the point…
Until the ENTIRE pack are hunting as a unit and clearing out opposition on their own ball and counter-rucking en-masse on opposition ball… it won’t make a single difference who X and Y are…
Boks are still not hitting the rucks and clearing out with zeal in twos or threes (min) nor are they counter-rucking like Malaka’s on opposition ball… free reign for opposition pilferers (and players slowing the ball down) and handing them quick ball from their own rucks…
But alas… muppets still think playing X player will negate all the above single-handedly…
23 Aug 2012, 07:43 am
@CT Shark-303:
snaaks
23 Aug 2012, 07:44 am
@lightie-308:
With Deysel finally finding his feet again after injury (albeit only in the CC)… he’s already capped and I’d have him in the side over Potgieter any time of the day… but I reckon he’s there as another LO option with their 2nd go-to man (nope not a lock) but Spies is out…
23 Aug 2012, 07:46 am
@CT Shark-303: Nothing wrong with what you said.
Freedom of Speech is what I call it and everybody should be entitled to voice their own opinion (within reason of course).
I was also just trying to think who the two most successful coaches in SA Rugby history were, can anybody help me?…
23 Aug 2012, 07:55 am
@BrumbiesBoy-317:
Kitch Christie – 100% record and a WC.
Nick Mallet with his almost record wins in a row, ended up above 80% I think.
23 Aug 2012, 08:06 am
@Slartibartfast-318: more Koos
23 Aug 2012, 08:09 am
@Slartibartfast-318: Kitch and Felix Dup both have 100%. Then its Cecil Moss and Nelie Smith, (83 & 80), Izak van Heerdern, Danie Craven and then Mallet at 71%
23 Aug 2012, 08:17 am
Boks need to protect the ball more we all saw it so did McCaw and Co! Agree to start Potgieter for this 1 he may even hurt a few players then bring Daniels on when there may be some tired legs. Argies will def look to get that mall going again. Boks should reply with a few of their own!
23 Aug 2012, 08:19 am
@trupisero-320:
No point adding anyone from pre-95… it’s an entirely different ball-game in the modern game.
23 Aug 2012, 08:21 am
@trupisero-319:
More Trup.
23 Aug 2012, 08:23 am
@bryce_in_oz-322:
Probably true and Kitch slips in because for all intends and purposes he coached a professional team…in the amateur era mind you!
23 Aug 2012, 08:32 am
Hopefully the locks will pull their wight as well, and do not leave all the cleaning work for props and loosies.
23 Aug 2012, 08:33 am
@Slartibartfast-324:
Agreed… just slips in… or probably best we no longer used his short reign as a benchmark the way the game has changed… Mallet with his 17 streak record is the benchmark for mine…
23 Aug 2012, 08:34 am
@bryce_in_oz-326: Until he got Mad Coach disease
23 Aug 2012, 08:44 am
@capebull-327: and SARFU got dumbfck disease which they are still struggling to overcome.
23 Aug 2012, 08:54 am
@trupisero-328:
Bwhahaha must be contagious, I know a few people who got it!
23 Aug 2012, 09:04 am
@Slartibartfast-318: mallet 71%
23 Aug 2012, 09:19 am
@capebull-327: @trupisero-328:
Yes indeed on both accounts…
23 Aug 2012, 09:32 am
Heineken should have been coach instead of PdV, his tenure would have been either marginally better or marginally worse, and Mallet would have been our natural progression. Now we’re stuck with an ordinary coach for (perhaps) 4 year with a worse group of players than PdV had.
23 Aug 2012, 10:18 am
@Slartibartfast-324:
Kitch never played NZ, Aus, France or Eng AWAY from home. One should always keep that in mind when talking about his 100% winning record as coach.
23 Aug 2012, 10:32 am
@Spiesisworthless1-332: How can you judge so quickly ?
23 Aug 2012, 10:43 am
‘It was a difficult decision between Jacques and Keegan, but we have gone with horses for courses this time,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer.
-That must be the biggest load of bulldust I have ever heard. Tell me, Mr Meyer, what course suits Pierre Spoes? And must you really lose a game before seeing what all of us have been saying since the first test against England. Hougaard is no scrumhalf, and you are probably sitting with the most in form scrumhalf and place kicker on the bench. take off your blue glasses you chop.
23 Aug 2012, 10:44 am
@capebull-334: His sentiment’s. He’s publicly stated that he believes in execution over innovation. He’ll stick to the kick and chase game-plan terrified of moving out of his comfort zone. That inherently limited game-plan will yield the 60 + % win rate we’ve come to expect over the years.
Some of his selections have also been baffling, notably the omission of Brussouw for the England squad. Almost like he was stubbornly trying to prove a point about the breakdown expecting all his forwards to have a hybrid fetching ability- well those views have also fallen flat and the Boks didnt even have to come up against Warburton, Pocock and McCaw to disprove them.
23 Aug 2012, 11:07 am
@Spiesisworthless1-336: So which coach in South Africa believe different, look Stormers ???
Brussow got injured and still is. For any fetcher to be effective your T5 must work , thats where we lacking at moment.
23 Aug 2012, 11:08 am
@coma-335: Just go back into your coma , its very piecefull there
23 Aug 2012, 11:20 am
@capebull-337: Yes, most of our coaches in this country are k ak and it’s probably our achilles heel. Meyer isn’t worse than most of the other candidates but a guy like Nick Mallet is, by far, the best of the lot and was available.
Besides him, there are so many international (read ANZAC) assistant or backline coaches that could have added significant value to the Boks. Remember the effect Louden and Campese had on the Bulls and Sharks fortunes in Super Rugby? Eddie Jones in the 2007 RWC? Mitchell and Plum in the Currie Cup? It’s not only Meyer but our whole coaching team that will keep us pegged at a certain level below where we could be.
Brussouw wasn’t injured before the England tour but Meyer still didn’t consider him.
It’s not all doom and gloom, as long as Meyer adapts and learns from the knocks he will surely take. So far he seems to think he knows it all and will stick to what he knows. That’s what we should be concerned about.
23 Aug 2012, 11:21 am
@fitz1ella-301: And your coaching pedigree is ?????
23 Aug 2012, 11:23 am
A new Guiness World Record attempt started this morning at 8am @ SuperSport Park in Centurion.Braaiboy(Gareth Daniels) is going to try and set a new record of 60hours for braaing non stop.Please pop in at any time and give the oke some support/company.Tell him Chunt du Fernly sent you.
23 Aug 2012, 11:26 am
Su per Sp ort P ark.B raaiB oy(g areth dan iels)
23 Aug 2012, 11:26 am
You know you cant actually compare Kolisi’s season with Potgieters
Potgieter was very good at the start of the season and has been pretty average since his injury
Kolisi on the other hand has been a man on a mission with a massive performance week in and week out, even with a depleted loose trio.
If Meyer hadnt gone with Coetzee and instead senior players only (which I woudnt agree with) I could undertand Kolisi’s ommision. But with Coetzee being selected and doing such a good job and cant see why Kolisi isnt in the starting line-up as well, makes no sense. Alberts, Coetzee and Kolisi would make the AB,s and Aussies nervous, Potgieter as England showed… not so much
23 Aug 2012, 11:28 am
I also believe that Brussouw should be back in the mix, having three ball carriers in your back row is unbalanced.
Of the players that will hopefully be available after the Argie tour this should be the ranking:
8 Vermeulen/ Coetzee
7 Alberts/ Coetzee/ Stander
6 Brussouw/ Kolisi
With these combinations we need Kruger on the bench to sustain our line out dominance.
23 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@Spiesisworthless1-339: The problem is winning , if you what to win play coservative that is the perception.
I am not sure about your take on Brussouw-fetcher role, HM is the one that played Stegman at Bulls.
Rassie was 6 with Mallet , also not a fetcher. I rate Brussouw, he almost won the Sharkies alone.
Rugby is a game that has room for everyone, tall ones, fat ones , slow ones , fast ones, if we lose that and all players look like Alberst , it will be a sad day indeed.
23 Aug 2012, 11:29 am
@goodstuff-344: I doubt that Vermeulen will play this year.
23 Aug 2012, 11:30 am
@capebull-340: snoeky once told nick mallet how to select his team when nick was trying to have a beer with his mates.
nick left soon after for italy saying “i dont feel safe knowing that man with the crazy eyes, massaging his nokia like a string of worry beads, is still out there”
23 Aug 2012, 11:31 am
The Boks will win in Mendoza, Steve Walsh will take care of it,,,,
However, the Argies hit hard, more so at the gaucho country’s back yard which makes the probability of another key forward getting injured pretty high!
Albert and Etzbeth combined took more than 50% of the tackles made by the forwards last Saturday, along with Marcel Coetzee they are the likely ones to limp off because the defensive load at the test not shared by all the forwards!
and then what?
23 Aug 2012, 11:33 am
Help is on the way:
“The Free State Cheetahs are hopeful of seeing big guns Heinrich Brussow, Coenie Oosthuizen and Johan Goosen return from injury in the next two weeks.
All three players are in the final stages of recovery from injury, and have a good chance of being included in the team to face the Sharks next weekend.”
23 Aug 2012, 11:36 am
@capebull-346: Did he not play against Griquas this past weekend?
23 Aug 2012, 11:37 am
@goodstuff-350: He was on the field for 50 min , did he play …no
23 Aug 2012, 11:39 am
Heyneke is taking this team back to pre-1994. The team are becoming whiter by the day. The more tests, the whiter.
The bench used to be the place for non-whites, and its empty.
De Jong and Kolisi are not even good enough for the bench. The minister seems very quiet till we lose against the All Blacks, then heyneke must take ownership.
23 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
@adi-352: But hasn’t it been agreed that the best players must play? Quota’s are a thing of the past. It’s certainly not pre 1994…we currently have JPP, Habana and the beast as players of colour (flip that just sounds wrong) who are clearly the best players in their position. Chilliboy would be knocking on the door if he wasn’t injured and it cannot be long before Kolisi is a bok.
23 Aug 2012, 11:44 am
@adi-352: Adi it would be great if we can get to a Bok team and race is no longer an issue I thought we are there , seems you are still stuck in past.
23 Aug 2012, 11:46 am
@capebull-351: Spies has 50 Bok caps – 1000000000 minutes of international rugby where he was on the field . Did he play? No.
23 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
@adi-352: so you want more black players included?
racist.
23 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-355: Lol, Vermeulen will be back to his best soon.
23 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
I have tom laugh at Tac’s attempts to defend HM’s dodgy selections. Potgieter should be nowhere near the Bok squad.
The horses for courses justification is a load of codswallop. Potgieter has poor contact skills, poor tackle technique and atrocious body position when clearing rucks. Besides, why would you pick another contact playter when trying to improve rucks clearance. Surely a smaller, quicker player, who plays towards the ball would be more suited?
Interesting weekend ahead. Don’t see much improvement from last week.
23 Aug 2012, 12:07 pm
@pompies2-358: sadly you are correct imo.
23 Aug 2012, 12:10 pm
Mbulula must put preasure on Heyneke and re-install quotas.
At least 6 blacks in starting line-up and 3 on bench.
23 Aug 2012, 12:12 pm
@adi-360:
WUM!
23 Aug 2012, 12:13 pm
@adi-352: @Skeppie-353: Crazy thing is that Kolisi is way better than Spies and also better than Potgieter, so unfortunate that hes not there
23 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
My current Bok team would be
1. Beast
2. Strauss
3. WP
4. Eben
5. Adries
6. Kolisi
7. Coetzee
8. Alberts
9. Pienaar
10. Lambie (Extended run, has the class)
11. Hougaard
12. F Steyn
13. Jean
14. Juan de Jongh
15. Wish it could be JPP, (seriously lack 15′s Aplon if he bulked up a bit without losing pace)
23 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
@Bok fan-362: Even Derek Minnie makes a case for inclusion. If Potgieter is just filling the position till Vermeulen, Schalk ot Juan Smith, gets back, does that mean the Boks now play stopgap players? Is this what the green jersey has been demoted to? Surely you want players who will challenge or are as good as, if not better, than the players they are replacing?
23 Aug 2012, 12:17 pm
@adi-360: Are you a troll or are you serious?
Please indicate the players missing from the match 22 besides Kolisi and JDJ?
Current players of colour selected on merrit as described by HM (not Cadre selection):
Beast, Habana, Mvovo and Kirchner.
23 Aug 2012, 12:18 pm
@Bok fan-363: Drop Habana? Lol, your funny.
23 Aug 2012, 12:24 pm
@Bok fan-363: jdj at wing?
no man.
23 Aug 2012, 12:24 pm
@goodstuff-366: Sorry I dont have time for Spies, Habana and Morne
23 Aug 2012, 12:27 pm
@rangerman-367: Just think he has a lot to offer, awesome side step and pace. Mvovo did well and will get better so happy if he played instead. Habana also had one of his better games but I could see in the super 15 he still likes to shoot at the wrong time on defence which will cost us against the ABs, and Aussies as it has done for the last 3 years
23 Aug 2012, 12:28 pm
@adi-360: On what basis?
23 Aug 2012, 12:28 pm
@Bok fan-362: I agree he is better generally but you can’t really compare them all, one is an 8, one is a 6 and the other a 7….
23 Aug 2012, 12:30 pm
@pompies2-364: Must say the stormers lost nothing when Kolisi replaced Schalk and I wouldnt see him as a stop gap like Potgieter. Think hes made for the physicality of test rugby and shocking that hes not higher in the pecking order. Makes no sense
23 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
@Skeppie-371: Well Kolisi can cover all 3, when at 8 he looked way better than Spies has for about 4 years now. What Im saying is with Alberts, Kolisi and Coetzee you have a way better loose trio than with Spies or Coetzee there
23 Aug 2012, 12:37 pm
@Bok fan-372: My argument isn’t in Kolisi’s favor. There are 2 or 3 better players than Potgieter.
23 Aug 2012, 12:40 pm
@Bok fan-368: Why the beef with Habana? He is on very good form now.
Wonder if Mourn Stain and Sideshow Bob will be in the Bok lineup this time next year. Two absolute burdens that need replacing ASAP if we are to evolve.
kolisi will get his shot guys.
and he will excel imo.
23 Aug 2012, 12:42 pm
@Sasuke-375: See my post 369
23 Aug 2012, 12:43 pm
@pompies2-374: Ja agree
23 Aug 2012, 12:43 pm
Habana’s looked like a different player under Meyer to be fair. Already looking far more dangerous on attack than he has over the previous couple of seasons.
23 Aug 2012, 12:44 pm
@Bok fan-363: I like that loose trio. I hope HM goes with it during the Australasian tour. Highly Unlikely though.
Goosen and Vermeulen have 5 Currie Cup games to get ready for when the Blacks and Aus come here. Enough time?
23 Aug 2012, 12:44 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-376: Ja as much as Morne can do, he just doesnt seem to be the answer. I hope Meyer realises this sooner than later
23 Aug 2012, 12:47 pm
@rangerman-377: It shouldn’t be a first come first serve selection policy. The best players have to play. Period!
23 Aug 2012, 12:48 pm
@Sasuke-381: For those last two games I will go with this loose trio
6. Coetzee
7. Alberts
8. Vermeulen
Bench
Kolisi
23 Aug 2012, 12:49 pm
@Bok fan-382: Goosen!
23 Aug 2012, 12:49 pm
@Sasuke-381: Probably enough I would say, depending on how quickly they get over their old injuries. Hope Vermeulen hasnt put on any extra wait, he can be quite slow at times. Goosen is a very exciting prospect, wouldnt rush him but if hes ready after 5 games then why not play him
23 Aug 2012, 12:51 pm
@pompies2-383: huh?
where did i mention first come first served?
i agree fully that the best should play but i am not the coach and maybe meyer feels kolisi needs another season of superrugby?
like i said, siya will get his shot.
23 Aug 2012, 12:53 pm
I was hoping to see Pienaar and Lambie get a run together. Then we can see if that 9/10 axis is better than the current 9/10 axis.
I still think this is probably the strongest 22 available. Maybe Duane Vermuellen should be in once he is fit.
23 Aug 2012, 12:56 pm
@Bok fan-373: Again I don’t 100% disagree but for the Boks I would never play Coetzee and Kolisi in the same loose trio.
23 Aug 2012, 12:56 pm
@Spiesisworthless1-380: Ja true, will have to see his defence against AB and Aussies
23 Aug 2012, 12:57 pm
@rangerman-387: So why do the better players not get their shot now?
Granted selection is subjective, but can so many get it son wrong? Even on the forum there’s at least 3:1 against Potgieter’s selection.
23 Aug 2012, 12:58 pm
@Sasuke-385: Yip or Lambie,both have the class we’ve been looking for IMO
23 Aug 2012, 12:58 pm
@race of tan-388: I would dig to see FdP and Lambie as our halfbacks ideally but if FdP is not available then Pienaar and Lambie
23 Aug 2012, 12:59 pm
@Skeppie-389: Without Brussow I think they can play a hybrid role of left and right instead of blind and open
23 Aug 2012, 13:00 pm
@pompies2-391: look, like you said, its subjective.
one mans hero is anothers villain.
personally i cant fathom potgieter or jj’s selections but i am not the coach and i dont get fired for the results.
and thats what i will judge meyer on, results.
23 Aug 2012, 13:03 pm
Skeppie – Yep FDP/Lambie would have been good to see. You would think HM would atleast try out Pienaar/Lambie as Hougie/Steyn are not exactly setting the world alight. Plus we get to see Hougie at his best on the wing!!
23 Aug 2012, 13:11 pm
@Bok fan-394: Problem is then you have no clear big ball carrier, if Alberts is at 8 then you have you ball carrier but lose that roving, quick and athletic no 8. I think we will lose a lot of balance if we play both. For me I prefer a no 7 or 8 who is a lineout specialist, a no 7 who is a big mean ball carrier, a no 8 who can link with the back, cover tackles well and has a good ability to read the game and then obviously a 6 who can play more to the ball and makes 1000′s of tackles.
23 Aug 2012, 13:12 pm
@race of tan-396: 100% agree, I am a big Hougie fan but as a wing for now. I reckon a backline of FdP, Lambie, Hougie, Frans, JdV, JPP and Taute would be brilliant
23 Aug 2012, 13:20 pm
@rangerman-387: True. Another season of super rugby wont do him no harm. He can establish himself at no 6 next year for the Stormers
Stormers loose trio next year
6. Kolisi
7. Burger
8. Vermeulen
Bench
Koster
23 Aug 2012, 13:21 pm
@Sasuke-399: agreed. anyways, i am out bud cheers.
23 Aug 2012, 13:35 pm
@Sasuke-399: The WP loose forwards this weekend are by far better than those playing for the Boks
23 Aug 2012, 13:40 pm
@garth-401: As a combination yes.
Sharks have a nice mix going on there with lots of depth also.
Cant wait till Elstadt comes back for WP. He must go to no.4 lock and Armand can be flank cover or start at 7.
I would have Elstadt specialise at lock now. He will be great back up to Bekker and Eben next year.
23 Aug 2012, 13:48 pm
@Sasuke-402: Yes, they need to build there lock stocks.
23 Aug 2012, 14:12 pm
@Skeppie-393: Agree, would be awesome with F Steyn at 12
23 Aug 2012, 14:15 pm
@Skeppie-398: Mouth watering prospect. If only Meyer would agree
23 Aug 2012, 14:28 pm
@Skeppie-398:
Won’t happened by the current selection policy, however, several injuries Basson’s type may force things as early as Sunday
FdP?
Pienaar, Lambie, Houg, FS, JdV, JPP and Ludik would be a better choice, remember; someone needs to do some tackles and high ball challanges at 15.
23 Aug 2012, 14:34 pm
@Hondo-406: I still reckon Taute over Ludik and although Pienaar would be my second choice I still reckon Fourie du Preez has a part to play in bok rugby…especially if we bring some new youngsters in
23 Aug 2012, 14:37 pm
@Skeppie-407: If only we could teach taute to pull his socks up when playing. It must be one the most irritating things to see on a rugby field.
23 Aug 2012, 14:40 pm
@TooMuchRugby-408: Oh hell yes! Same goes for Chadwick
23 Aug 2012, 14:58 pm
@TooMuchRugby-408: @Skeppie-409: you two fuddy duddies need to watch the sport for entertainment not for how kwaai the uniform looks…who remembers that being irritated by chris latham’s socks over his exploits on a rugby field…
james o’connor with his socks down is a talented player period.
23 Aug 2012, 15:00 pm
@Skeppie-409: Chadwick is a complete chop, would almost blame him for the loses the sharks suffered in the S15. Missed crucial tackles that led to losing some important early games for the Sharks. Beast was like miracle when he came back.
23 Aug 2012, 15:01 pm
Ok, maybe I should prove read, jykes.
23 Aug 2012, 17:14 pm
Gents, do yourself a favour and have a look at this article and comments…especially from form All Black assistant coach, Wayne Smith http://www.therugbysite.com/blog_posts/236-south-africa-and-argentina-haunted-by-fear-by-wayne-smith
Of particular note is in the comments section where he responds after other users discussed the merits of Morne Steyn standing deep or shallow.
“…I wanted to say it is hard to attack off 9 if the backs are not coming forward across the field. You can’t force defenders to make decisions if it is obvious who the ball carriers are. By bringing the whole attack line forward, you force defenders to mark up, come forward and you can generate an element of fatigue in the defence. It also avoids gang tackles on ball runners as there is more than one threat attacking the line.”
Why do we persist with this game plan when a former All Black assistant coach knows exactly what we are going to do…and is telling the whole world? Why are our Bok coaches so blind to this when most of us can see it and we also have a World Cup winning coach saying similar things. Its actually unacceptable…full stop! The Argies looked good defending because they knew what we were going to do.
23 Aug 2012, 17:24 pm
@Smallzm-413: you think Graham Henry didn’t tell the Argies to gang-tackle one of runners and stiffle our ball?
but this is not rocket science, the argies defence was solid and resolute against the all blacks too (even though they were mostly infringing)
in the 65th minute of last year’s quarter final the score was All Blacks 18 – Argies 10 (all the all blacks points coming from Piri Weepu’s boot), point is, let’s not under estimate the Pumas but yeah our attack is predictable.
23 Aug 2012, 17:25 pm
@Transformation-414: one-off.
23 Aug 2012, 17:26 pm
@Smallzm-413: be careful though, you will be shat on for posting Techno’s comments
23 Aug 2012, 17:46 pm
@Transformation-414: Did not mean to diss the Argies but lets face it, a little variation in attack could have gone a long way to securing that bonus point!
And you right, its not rocket science…which is a really bad statement on our current tactics from the coaches.
Its really weird the way the Boks try and attack (run over opposition) because I cannot understand why they seemingly do not enjoy outwitting defenders as a team. Whats the thrill for our professional coaches and players when they step out onto that pitch these days? The attackers standing around the 9 for the Boks are not arranged to create doubt in defenders. They are battering rams with other forwards pushing them into the contact often. What the coaches are doing with Alberts and Coetzee is gonna make them have frequent injuries and also a bit dom through habit. There has to be a better way and I think the coaches have not thought through playing the spaces next to number 9 at all aside from running in at pace and ramming.
23 Aug 2012, 17:47 pm
@Transformation-416: Who’s Techno?
23 Aug 2012, 18:33 pm
@Smallzm-418: justin marshall calls wayne smith “techno” as his mond works like a computer gobbling up stats, reinterpreting them & forming patterns out of them.
23 Aug 2012, 18:35 pm
@Transformation-419: mind…
23 Aug 2012, 20:04 pm
All time irritating socks down player Chris Latham.
23 Aug 2012, 20:05 pm
@Smallzm-417:
Remember how Gregan used to pick out forwards running different lines in the opponents 25?
23 Aug 2012, 20:09 pm
@gunther-421: But what a player.
Only started playing when 18.
23 Aug 2012, 20:19 pm
Agreed Willie.
The socks down thing with him irritated our boys no end.
Skinner in particular hated it!
24 Aug 2012, 07:38 am
@David-422: Exactly! Either Hougaard is really terrible at finding runners or everybody is playing how they have been told to.
The dissapointing part is that running lines are not something that cannot be learnt or devised before the game. Its a timing issue of a couple of runners being able to arrive at slightly different times on the gainline ready for the pass. Creating doubt every we get good ball at 9. Whats happening now is the opposition (and I mean almost every other rugby playing nation) know exactly where our ball is going and our good ball is being negated by fierce defenders who have no fear of SA physicality any more. So good ball then becomes bad ball when our runners are picked and iced. The Stormers defence also pick runners and make opposition ball bad (gang tackling) but they came undone when the Sharks loosies started offloading in the tackle, getting more ball to players like JPP at crucial times (who can create doubt in any defender) and using the kick chase method effectively when the time was right. These variations kept the Stormers guessing and their defence could not keep up in the semi final. We need these game variations in the Bok team like yesterday.
24 Aug 2012, 07:47 am
@Smallzm-425:
Ruan is much better at player selection than Hougaard, which is quite noticable when he comes on. Gregan had a number of options of forwards running different angles, something I noticed Eddie Jones appeared to bring to the Boks at the RWC, which has since disappeared.
24 Aug 2012, 10:34 am
@David-426: I agree with you on Ruan and I would also started with him on Sat.
What I don’t get though is why our coaches don’t get this facet of play where defenders are kept guessing. Most teams playing SA in Superrugby and tests are adopting a specific tackling style against our runners. Either they literally lie on the deck and our runner (in trying to flatten the defender) just trips over them (ie. Potgieters ridiculous kamikaze style) or they aim higher to dislodge the ball from runners with body positions too upright (also prevents the offload). After the Bulls loss against the Saders Dan Carter mentioned this as a tactic. With the opposition freely giving their tactics out to us, we still don’t adapt? I thought an supposedly astute coach like Heyneke could work on these things but I have seen nothing yet which suggests he has evolved this facet of play. Seems he just wants guys to hit the gainline harder, win more collisions…well guess what…we not winning as many collisions as we used to as opposition have figured out exactly where to apply their defensive hit!