Daniel out, Potgieter in
22 Aug 2012
Willem Alberts will start at No 8 against Argentina in Mendoza with Jacques Potgieter at blindside flank.
Keegan Daniel was the Bok eighthman at Newlands but was substituted shortly after half-time and has been relegated to the bench. Adriaan Strauss, as expected, replaces the injured Bismarck du Plessis at hooker, while Tiaan Liebenberg has beaten Craig Burden to jersey No 16.
‘It was a difficult decision between Jacques and Keegan, but we have gone with horses for courses this time,’ said Bok coach Heyneke Meyer. ‘We’re expecting it will be very physical early in the game and it might open up later, which perfectly suits the strongpoints of both Jacques and Keegan.
‘The Pumas also mauled quite well in Cape Town and we were not happy with the defence of their mauls, so with the extra weight Jacques brings, we will have to ensure we stop their drives.’
Bryan Habana injured his left ankle against Argentina in Cape Town and passed a fitness test on Wednesday morning.
‘Having Bryan is obviously a big boost as we’ve lost a number of players with lots of experience after JP Pietersen, Pierre Spies and Bismarck du Plessis already had to withdraw from our squad,’ said Meyer.
South Africa – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jean de Villiers (c), 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Willem Alberts, 7 Jacques Potgieter, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Pat Cilliers, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Keegan Daniel, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Pat Lambie, 22 JJ Engelbrecht.

427 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
22 Aug 2012, 20:37 pm
@willievz-96:
Fair enough.
22 Aug 2012, 20:38 pm
@Heavens Game-93: HAve ya heard skoppies version of SA’s best hooker is off to Toulon later on in the year??? the man will go into a state of shock
22 Aug 2012, 20:39 pm
@fitz1ella-92: I think Coetzee would be a brilliant 8 with PSDT at 7.
Coetzee has played 8 before. He has very good skills too also strong and fast. I prefer a faster 8. Albets is very good but a little slow like Vermeulen is good but slow. Coetzee could be our way forward for a 8.
Kanko was superb in the last 5 games for Sharks. Once he started our loosies were magnificent. You have to give credit where it is due. Kanko played sublime rugby when he eventually got a start. Was rated best 8 of the S15 season by Planet Rugby. And Kanko only played 5 full games. So that does say a lot.
22 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
Heyneke….Boks better win well….you have made your bed with this selection….s hit storm coming if Boks lose…..
For me…
Ruan at 9
Lambie at 10
Kolisi at 6
M Coetsee at 7….
Hougaard supersub….
22 Aug 2012, 20:41 pm
@Puma-86: Relax Pooms… You gonna palpitate soon… Deysel only been back for a few full games. The guy has been injured constantly over the past few seasons. Last week was his first real game at full force and form in a long while. I can almost guarantee that he will be in the squad against the Anzacs before the championship is over.
22 Aug 2012, 20:42 pm
@willievz-96:
Unfortunately, Heyneke does not rate Josh as highly as people around here. He rated Deysel, Coetzee, Potgieter, Kolisi higher than him. I was in the fortunate position to hear this first hand from Heyneke at a sports breakfast – and this was before the squad had been announced – not from a journo. That is why I was not surprised to see Brussouw’s name omitted.
22 Aug 2012, 20:43 pm
@sharks_lover-102: The froggies will eat him and spit him out. Strues bob, no jokes. Fourie has made a stupid decision.
Anyway every Tommy Gun Dicky Bird and Harry Potter reckons their choice of player is correct
I say Boks should look like this now
Coetsee
Kolisi
Etsebeth
Elstadt
Cilliers
Fourie
Beast
Greyling, Strauss, JdP, Kruger, Arno Botha
There was a time when Deysel and Alberts were pretty much synonymous as big, bruising wrecking ball players.
But then Deysel proved all hype and no substance, while Alberts just became more and more awesome.
I just never see Deysel making the kind of yards that Alberts does. He might bump a defender, but doesn’t seem to have the leg power to drive through tackles the way Alberts does.
22 Aug 2012, 20:44 pm
@Heavens Game-105: hahaha. I know just pointing out something there…. lol.
Deysel was superb last week. I feel he may make the away tour to Oz and Nz. Only thing then Sharks lose another top class player for CC.
22 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
Rubbish
Kolisi can cover whatever loosie position you want
What if something happens to your precious Alberts?
Racists
22 Aug 2012, 20:45 pm
How the fark HM left Brussow out a squad of 40 only he knows…..biggest shock of my rugby involvement since 1976….still farken speechless…
22 Aug 2012, 20:46 pm
@grant10-112:
22 Aug 2012, 20:47 pm
@grant10-104: Yip agree.
With Ruan and Lambie our half backs then our centres and wings will see some good ball. Then that is not the Meyer game style Grant. Pity.
I feel if we don’t pick up the 5 points in this game ABs will win this RC. They will beat us on their turf and definitely pick up 5 points from ARG home and away. The only way for us would be to win all our games which I doubt we will do OR beat Oz on their turf with 5 points. Which I doubt we will do playing the crash ball kick and chase game.
22 Aug 2012, 20:48 pm
when we play the big guns we better catch a wake up….
Hooper and Mc Caw gonna feast at bteakdown…..just like G Smith and MC Caw did for farken years…
22 Aug 2012, 20:49 pm
@grant10-112:
Most definitely thought of you when he left out Brussel Sprout…………..hahaha.
Yip a little daft to leave him out. But for now he is injured. Think he should be back for our away tour to Oz and Nz. Without Bissie we do now need Brussow.
Then it should be:
Coetzee
Brussow.
I would shift that around though:
Coetzee
Brussow
22 Aug 2012, 20:52 pm
@fitz1ella-108:
Hello Oom Skop,
what do you have to say about your Bok hooker prospect Neon Deon leaving the Conference Cup holders to chase Euros in the land of frogs legs, cheese and unshaved chicks?
22 Aug 2012, 20:53 pm
@Dawn-111: Alberts… Precious? Naah, precious is Coetzee… A farken priceless emerald in green and Gold.
22 Aug 2012, 20:53 pm
@victoriabok-117:
22 Aug 2012, 20:55 pm
@victoriabok-117:
Conference Cup holders!
Classic.
22 Aug 2012, 20:56 pm
Deysel was tried at Boks never made the impact that Alberts made straight off the bat.. in short Deysel wasn’t a real success. Deysel is middle of the road bruiser not the same ton of bone crunch adrenalin that Alberts or Elstadt is…
Deon Fourie has gone to Toulon to make bucks because its clear that SA rugby aficionado’s are fck’d in the head through and through.. when talent stares them in the face they rather pick bloated teddy bears like john Smit or Adriaan Strauss over true grit fire and brimstone hay-maker hookers.
@Puma-116: Nope and I know I will be accused of being partial here but:
The best loosie combo money can buy in SA is this:
6 Coetzee
7 Alberts
8 Kanko
With Daniel and Deysel the replacements.
Harmonised. Balanced.
Schooled by an ex top class loosie too as their coach. This bunch of loosies are the foundation upon which the Super rugby trophy will be won. I actaully would not pick anyone else if all these bunch of savages are fit and raring to go.
I reckon HM knows this too.
@Puma-116: yes…I could live with that…also feel M Coetsee may be long term answer at 8…..great young prospect….machine …..
Kolisi should be on bench….he can cover all the loose forward spots….
should of been in Mendoza now…..
HM is ostracising and polarising the rugby public…..for his sake he better be sure in his mind he is doing the right things……because I am not convinced , at this stage, that he is good for SA Rugby…..
It pains me to say but what I saw from the Sharks the last 5 weeks of the Super 15 campaign is the blueprint ….it proves SA teams can play ‘ total ‘ rugby….all this talk of traditional strengths and skop en jag is a cop out….and will blow up in our faces just like it did with Stormers…..matter of time….then HM gonna feel blowtorch heat from the Public….like he never experienced before….
22 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
Arg is without their flyhalf. So our chances of picking up the 5 points should not even be a question. We have too do just that this week to have a chance to win this damn thing.
We will beat ABs at FNB. Even with our kick and chase crash ball game plan. We home playing Oz at Loftus and they in Argentina that day playing them. We play on the Saturday they play on the Sunday. We have a extra day to rest and prepare while they are travelling here. (Reminds me of my Sharks and Chiefs who had played a day earlier than us, and Sharks to travel) also FNB game will be at altitude. Don’t think we will beat them in NZ though.
22 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@Heavens Game-122: would be mine too
deydel bench, 30 min to go move Alberts to lock and bring on Deysel
@victoriabok-117: LOL… Hey Vic, bru – I think you may be confusing Munich with Montpelier though…. Those French mesdemoiselles – although they can have a decent bit of bush on the pudenda, they do shave…. Its the fraulein that have the wild armpits…
Saffa rugby coaches are blinder than blindfolded mice
Thats how it goes in this land of dumber and dumber rugby coaching acumen…
they got Kolisi, Elstadt, Fourie sitting on the dock of the bay watching the tide roll away while they play morons like Potgieter, Deysel, Kankowski, Daniel, Spies, Vd Merwe, Strauss, Liebenberg, Burden
22 Aug 2012, 21:01 pm
Kanko was massive last few games….gotta give it to the oke….brought a hard edge to his game and was a master in lineouts….pity he got away…also heard he may be back for the Anzacs though…
22 Aug 2012, 21:01 pm
@sharks_lover-119:
They love to brag about it
Stormers should go into the software business, shows lots of promise beforehand but the final version never quite delivers
22 Aug 2012, 21:02 pm
@grant10-123: Now Now Grant you know full well only luck gave Sharks victories specially those over the Stormers
22 Aug 2012, 21:03 pm
Just dont get it….all the loosie talent on the planet and we sitting with a Chabal clone that I can hardly criticise cause I have hardly ever seen the oke play 1 st class rugby…
He must be farken good to crack the nod???
22 Aug 2012, 21:06 pm
@grant10-123: I feel the same Grant. Why Kolisi is back at Province is a damn shame really. He should be with the team right now. Would be great on the bench for sure. Covers covers 8/7/6 good to have a player like that on the bench.
Yip think Coetzee is the way for us to go at 8. Great player with superb skills too not just a crash ball player. Thinks which is important. Makes more tackles too than most players. Has speed for a 8 as well.
I agree that we should be playing ‘total rugby’ like the Sharks done in the last 5 games. We should be moving to that kind of style. If we could do it with so many Boks in our side we could do it at Test level.
Hate to see the Sharks players playing this style of crash ball rugby after seeing them with their brilliant off-loading game.
Did you see PSDT this year? I think he is more like Juan Smith than any player. Also he covers 4. Superb player. Pity he is injured right now. We could have a loose trio of:
Coetzee
PSDT
Brussow
22 Aug 2012, 21:07 pm
@Puma-132: With Alberts on the bench then. Imagine him coming on with fresh legs later?????
22 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
@grant10-123:
In the minds of many, Heyneke might be ostracising people with his selections. But he is his own and will make his own decisions. He will live and die by that.
If you suddenly start listening to too many opinions you will soon be living in the live of compromise. It is still early days in his Bok tenure. He has said that he make mistakes along the way – hell we all do.
I have said this a couple of times – the guy needs space and does not want to be easily influenced. He wants to do it his way. The guy needs our support.
The alternative is too ghastly to contemplate seeing Pdiv is still basically unemployed.
22 Aug 2012, 21:08 pm
when the tragic fark up of 2011 finally died its inevitable death I was looking forward to a bright new era….
Instead they drop my favorite Bok Brussow….
Retain M skop en jag Steyn….
Retain Spies…..[ fark me that was hard to swallow]
Make a 12 a 13 and sommer capitano as well…..
Drop Aplon and JDJ…..
Find this Chabal lite oke…..
Make a 11 a bok 13 [ JJ Engelbrecht ]….
And send our brightest prospect in Kolisi back to the CC…..
Ai ….
Hope HM knows his stuff….because I am more than a little confused….
22 Aug 2012, 21:11 pm
@grant10-128: Kanko surprised everyone that never rated him. He was sublime when he started for Sharks. Our whole game just changed when he came along. Our lineouts was superb with him there. That was one of our weak points at the start this season and sometimes during as well. Not when he was there it worked very well. He is also super fast and his skills are great. Fitted out off-loading game very well. Our loosies then were well balanced. Kanko, Coetzee and Keegan. Fast, fast loosies with great skill all of them. With Bissie doing the fetching. Jeez that was a brilliant spell from the Sharks those last games. Beautiful to watch that kinda rugby. Our centres too were awesome. Timmy had been great for us this year Grant. A huge loss from Stormers. Also Jordaan was brilliant. Fransie was great too against Bulls.
22 Aug 2012, 21:12 pm
@sharks_lover-125: You know what SL, the journey to top class is not a curve – often it is a series of “quantum” steps of bursting through a series of ceilings…. We all saw Kanko break through in the games after the England series… We saw Alberts do this on the EOYT the year before last… I reckon we may be seeing Deysel do this soon… there are glimpses albeit at a much lower level in the CC.
@grant10-131: seeing you as a Sharks fan right now?? lol, you see they have 2 fetchers comming through the academy??
one is playing for them on saturday, Francois Kleinhans, and the other one is Chris Cloete, now he is good, strong as an ox ,shortish with tree stump legs
@Puma-132: PSDT …saw him in games at Newlands for semi and final of JWC…great youngster….those 2 locks were also damn good….
watch the cheetahs wing Rhule….fark me that oke is classy as well….
Pollard also got big boot…..but I saw JL Du Plessis play for paarl Boys against Gym….class act too..
22 Aug 2012, 21:13 pm
@fitz1ella-121:
> Deon Fourie has gone to Toulon to make bucks because its clear that SA rugby aficionado’s are fck’d in the head through and through
Nee nee nee wag ‘n bietjie, hoe’s jou hart nou?
When Jaque Fourie and CJ Stander said they were leaving you we’re all f****ng good riddance and we’ve got tons of players let them f**** off, f*** mercenaries
Now that it’s your blue-eyed albeit red headed boy it’s all hunky dory?
Double standards anyone ??
22 Aug 2012, 21:14 pm
@grant10-135: hahahahahahaha. ‘Chabal lite oke’ hahahaha. Laughed out loud there………hahaha.
22 Aug 2012, 21:15 pm
@grant10-139:
Who is PSDT?
22 Aug 2012, 21:15 pm
@Heavens Game-137: yup remember Deysel went through serious injuries,
but he was given a long time to recover, watch him go as he gets more match fit
22 Aug 2012, 21:16 pm
@victoriabok-140: nothing new lol
22 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
I tell you what makes a top rugby player.. or any top sportsman from a mediocre one..
It is not all the God given talent or attributes they were born with.. that just gets showcased as the cherry on top of the icing..
The real marrow that makes one sportsman stand out from another is actually his character.. that counts more than talent or physical attributes in the end.
And those that got character in current SA circles are
A. Coetsee / W. Le Roux, Taute
JPP,
Serfontein, Jordaan
De Jongh
Rhule, Engelbrecht
Goosen, A. Coetsee, R. Smit
Hougaard, Pretorius
Vermeulen, Coetsee, Botha
Alberts, Elstadt, PSDT
Kolisi, Brussow
Etsebeth, Kruger
Elstadt, Bressler, Willemse
Cilliers,
Bismark, Fourie
Beast, Kitschoff
22 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
@victoriabok-142: mark my words, the best young up and comming lock in SA, and he plays flank too, big boy very fast
22 Aug 2012, 21:19 pm
@sharks_lover-146:
Name?
22 Aug 2012, 21:19 pm
@grant10-139: Watched the JWC bud. Rhule must be the fastest wing we have right now. He is superb.
Most of that junior team were outstanding. Only the scrummie was not that great. The rest top class.
Since PSDT has played for Sharks but got injured. Had a ankle op after the Cheetahs game. This will be 6 weeks coming up now. Think he will be getting over that op now. Think they said about 6 to 8 weeks he would be out. He is like a Juan Smith. Awesome and he is only 20. How is Jordaan too? Absolutely brilliant at 13. Can’t wait to see Jordaan, Fransie and Lambie all playing in the same Sharks team next year. Then we have Timmy too that is superb. Ludik too came from no where I think to play awesome at fb. He was playing on the wing for awhile and I was not sure of him there. Then Viljoen never played well at fb. Pat got injured and so Ludik had a chance. I thought he was top class at fb for Sharks.
Sharks will have a excellent team next year. PSDT will be there too. Just a pity Bissie will probably only be available around April.
22 Aug 2012, 21:20 pm
@victoriabok-147: pieter stef du toit
22 Aug 2012, 21:20 pm
@Heavens Game-93:
Seriously? Referring to Kolisi as a Kia??
I never mentioned anything about playing Siya ahead of Coetzee. Coetzee’s better suited for 6 currently than Kolisi…however Brussel sprouts the best 6 by FAR.
Kolisi for me offers more as a 7 than Pottie since HM’s gameplan requires a lot on defense as we DEFintely won’t play ball in hand. There’s now loosie more devasting in defence this year than Kolisi!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All