KeoTV: Stop Steyn bashing

MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE agree that Morne Steyn is the best flyhalf we have in the context of what Heyneke Meyer wants to achieve with his game plan.

416 Comments

• 1.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Ah, but now they will blame the ‘context’ or the game plan…

• 2.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Have to agree with you Keo. Although I have never been the greatest fan of M Steyn, I do think he is the best for what HM wants to achieve.

What always amazes me is how people mock M Steyn for his ultra conservative approach.

Sure, he isnt a Dan Carter or Quade Cooper but the Bulls not only won their 3 SR titles, but won them whilst also being in the top 3 try scoring teams in each year. (correct me if Im wrong here)

He had to have been doing something right. (I realise D Hougaard was the 10 in the SR final that shall not be mentioned.)

• 3.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Further to my comment above, i do think teams have become wiser to the old box kick and up and under game plan by picking wingers and full backs who are great under the high ball. Corey Jame for example.

In this regard, M Sten does need to add another arrow to his quiver if SA is going to beat these guys in the coming tests and seasons.

Looking forward to how Goosen performs in the next few weeks as well. Perhaps a call up for the latter stages of the RC?

• 4.Bouts: Reply to this comment

Funny thing is still that Morne was actually a running flyhalf before he had to change for the Bulls.

Do they still have those ‘ditches’ around the Argies fields? Maybe they added Piranhas since the boks last game there.

• 5.viewer: Reply to this comment

Before the start of last week’s match, Morne “Toilet” Stain was sitting on 77% with his Test place kicks. I always thought he was at least 80%

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

people can bash away all they want

i’m sure he doesn’t give a damn

• 7.gunther: Reply to this comment

Joumasetoilet.

• 8.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@Bouts-4: Hmmm… that makes me wonder. Will Jean possibly have a target on his back after that incident.

• 9.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Again, this article repeats my position on this issue almost perfectly.

Looks like sense is returning to the world.

• 10.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-9:

Article = Random conversation that happened to be recorded on camera.

• 11.Transformation: Reply to this comment

when i have nothing good to say i prefer to keep quiet :D

• 12.grant10: Reply to this comment

since 2010 we have been out thought, out played and out strategised by Aussies and Kiwis….

Hope we have a plan B to counter them this year under Meyer…..surely we must look at evolving a more attacking game? The backs against ARgies were dismal.

Read a good article in Sports Illustrated last night by Mallet about bringing back Brussow and dropping Spies [ obviously written before the Spies injury ] …Interesting stuff…

• 13.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-11:
    well, thats new…

• 14.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grant10-12:

We are in Step 1 of the Process this year.

Be patient.

The nice thing is, Step 1 involves us still moving up the rankings from where we ended after the PDivvy era.

• 15.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-13:

Hehe.

• 16.grant10: Reply to this comment

The man who comes into the mix, Jacques Potgieter, is the one under pressure to vindicate Meyer’s faith in him, a faith that does not appear to be shared by that many critics, as Duane Vermeuelen is fit again and may well be poised to be introduced to the loose-forward mix for the Australasian leg of the Championship.

Indeed, even if the Western Province No 8 doesn’t make the progress in his comeback from injury that is needed for him to be selected to tour, there is a chance that Meyer will have Ryan Kankowski available for that trip.

When he made the squad selection in Worcester a few weeks ago, the Bok coach hinted that Kankowski would be back once he had been given a chance to settle at his Japanese club.

It’s also not beyond the realms of possibility that Fourie du Preez will be back too, so there is plenty for Francois Hougaard to play for too

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

Post 16 from super rugby

• 18.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grant10-16:

That is a good news allround.

Jacques Potgieter is a stopgap, and is not intended to be the long term answer in the starting line up.

I would prefer a team with Alberts back at flank and Kanko in at 8.

Then we can choose between Potgieter and Daniel as the impact player, depending on the opposition.

But for this game, Potgieter is the right choice. It is going to be brutal, over there in Argentina.

• 19.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-14: Right now I am feeling rather under impressed with Heyneke…the omission of a recognised fetcher form the squad leaves me concerned….and I am no M Steyn fan as you know….

Anyway….lets see what happens….

Between the boring boks and even more boring Stormers 2012 has been a rather dismal rugby year for me so far…

• 20.blik: Reply to this comment

The best props in SA:

LH: Beast, Coenie, Kitshoff, Cilliers
    TH: J DuPlesis, Coenie, Malherbe

Coenie has the potential to be really world class. He should focus on TH.

For the future:
    LH: Kitshoff
    TH: Marcel vd Merwe, Malherbe
    Report as inappropriate .

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-18: Truth be told I know very little about J Potgieter and have seen him play only a handfull of times….

He must be damn good to have made team ahead of players like Kolisi, Elstaht, Minnie, F Louw, etc….

will watch him closely tomorrow….will be a tough game for sure, but Boks will come through I reckon…

• 22.johan kotze: Reply to this comment

how can we be the beat in the world with this guy.when percy played bad he got booed at loftus sp why should we let go of morne.and for how long have we cried foul about kwotas that should not be there now we have a good flank who is there o merrit and he is not even in the team???

• 23.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Grant10

Ah, I see the source of your misplaced frustration then. It is based not on an underestimation of the ability of Potgieter, but on an overestimation of the abilities of the alternative names on your list.

• 24.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-18:
    If Potgieter is just a stopgap, who in your opinion is HM’s preferred 2nd flank at no. 7 behind Alberts?

To me it looks as if Alberts is the stopgap at 8 and that Potgieter will always be part of HM’s plans.

• 25.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Nama

Juan Smith. Perhaps Burger. Perhaps Duane. Probably CJ Stander and Arno Botha also feature there, in the medium term.

• 26.blik: Reply to this comment

@nama1-24: If fully fit, I think this would be HM order of preference:

8. Vermeelen, Kanko, Spies, Daniel
    7. Smith, Alberts, Potgieter, Steph du Toit
    6. Burger, Coetsee, Kolisi, Broussow

• 27.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@johan kotze-22: siya will get his chance or he might not, heyneke is still building something here, let’s have the patience to see where it ends up.

• 28.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@blik-26:
    i think daniel too is just a stopgap for hm.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-23: An over estimation of Brussows ability?? Started 4 tests versus Kiwis won 4 !

M Steyn is the hand brake of the Boks backs….closely followed by JDV at 13….

J Potgieter I cannot make any informed comment on….just have not seen enough of him to make any meaningful contribution….as I say he must be a helleva player to keep those I mentioned out the mix…all proven top class players…

• 30.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

@blik-20:

Cheetahs apparently planning on using Coenie at TH in the Currie Cup.

I like it.

• 31.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-27:
    true, people should also consider that at the end of the day only so many players can make the bok team and there will always be one or two stand out players in every era who’s selection by coaches at the time have been decried.

some guys will just be unluckiest players never to have made the bok side.

• 32.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29: Well grant here is my opnion on Potgieter. You will not like what you see :lol:

• 33.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29:

Potgieter is playing at 7. Brussouw is a 6. Keep up with the latest developments, Grant.

• 34.grant10: Reply to this comment

I am not seeing too much difference between Jake White and HM at this point….

waiting patiently…..

• 35.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-2: What I don’t understanf is how the “knowledgeable” supporters here seem to be completely blind to Steyn’s distribution/passing skills…. The chokepoint for Bok distribution sits with one man at the moment… and that aint Steyn… Its our dear Cappie, I’m afraid.

• 36.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29:
    perhaps meyer doesn’t trust his health and fitness? maybe he sees him as an injury concern who he cannot build a unit around or with?

• 37.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-25: @blik-26:
    Smith won’t be coming back any time soon, if ever. Not to international rugby at least.

That leaves Potgieter 2nd behind Alberts, who we know is very prone to injury. No gents, Potgieter is no stopgap. He is there for the long haul.

• 38.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@blik-20: @Kietzphat-30: every time coenie plays tighthead he hurts his neck, same injury as smit…remember this post.

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-33:

I am well aware of who is playing where .

For this Test I would have played Marcelle Coetsee at 8…left Alberts at 7 and Kolisi at 6….

• 40.Hondo: Reply to this comment

An exercise in futility this argument
    Very seldom lately did the Boks win or lost fair and square, it’s either a Bryce Lawrence swindled them or the likes of Rolland or Walsh given them Tests on a plate, Styen’s role in both the cases is a minor one.

• 41.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-31:
    True that.

The problem at the moment though is that some stand out players are kept out of the team by players with inferior ability.

• 42.blik: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-30: Agree, J Duplesis is actually playing quite well these days, but if Coenie can develop as a TH a lot of the Boks problems are solved. It has been an area of concern, but I think with the following THs coming through, we are looking good.

JDuplesis, Coenie, Marcel vd Merwe, Malherbe

Marcel vd Merwe is a beast of a man. He is a powerfull ball carrier, but seems to struggle in the scrums, but is still young and needs to learn. The Freestate seem to produce good props over the years.

I don’t rate the current Bulls props.

Need to get replacements for M Steyn (hopefully Goosen comes through), Spies (anyone is better), and sorry to say it JDV (he has no hands, like the look of Paul Jordaan)

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-36: You may be right there …..

But I would still have that type of player in the squad mix if Brussoew cant be there….

F Louw would tick a lot of HM boxes….

Steggmann needs to regain full fitness and form….

I remain unconvinced of these’ Hybrids….’..

Prefer speciailists…..

Hybrids best used on bench…

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-35:
    to be fair, its a little unfair to blame jdv for distribution failures. he’s all the way at 13? distribution as i’m sure you well know is really from 9,10 or 12, no?

• 45.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-35:
    At outside centre?

• 46.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-39: Why… Because Skop says so? You are aware that Marcell hasn’t played 8 all season? The guy is a farken prodigy, granted, but sheez even as a died in the wool Sharkie I reckon that’s taking it too far for the youngster…

Meyer wants to loosen up Alberts… get a higher frequency of Bone Collector runs. Thats his tactic. SImple

• 47.nama1: Reply to this comment

@blik-42:
    Jordaan looks good but some people will tell you that he is a “dwarf” hence no place in the Bok team. :lol:

JJ Engelbrecht be the man.

• 48.grant10: Reply to this comment

my ideal bok loose trio….fitness permitting…

Kanko….8

Alberts 7

Brussow 6

Either Marcelle or Kolisi on bench….

• 49.blik: Reply to this comment

@nama1-47: JJ Engelbrecht does look good, he has pace and agility, have not seen what his ball skills are like yet. True, HM does like them big.

• 50.blik: Reply to this comment

@grant10-48: My ideal:

8. Burger
    7. Smith (but doubt he will be back so Alberts)
    6. Broussow (vs NZ & Aus), Coetsee (vs all others)

• 51.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-46: Why….?

Well I reckon Marcelle is a good couple of yards quicker than Alberts, who appears to me to be very happy at 7….

and Kolisi played well at 6 for Stormers the entire season ….

That is the why…in a nutshell.

I am sure Skop has his reasons….have not seen his preferred loose trio…

• 52.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-43:
    fair enough.
    we’ve had mixed results with louw and stegmann, though. something they both could refine is the ability not to give penalties away in the ‘wrong’ areas of the field.

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-41:
    i still think its too early to make such calls.
    lets sum by the end of the eoyt.

• 54.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@grant10-29: Completely agree with your points re Brussow and Morne

Potgieter was like a young Schalk at the start of the season but shown very little impact since returning from injury

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

@blik-50: Worried about Schalk getting back !!

• 56.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-48:
    kanko’s had one quater of a good super season, that’s all.
    not convinced he wont fold at test level again.

@blik-50:
    bracket kolisi at 6 as well.

• 57.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat-30: Awesome, we’ve needed a solid tight head for years

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-54: Well that Chabal Lite has had a meteoric rise to the top so he must have some positive attributes….

Maybe he shuts all the detractors up tomorrow night….

Personally I am more concerned about the lack of a recognised fetcher in the entire aquad….

• 59.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-51: But Marcell a good couple of yards quicker than Kolisi and has a higher work rate which makes him a better 6 too…

Kolisi too farken small for blindside too… so, unlucky…

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: Yes….but to be fair Kanko was the 1 player that was farked around more than most….always off bench or out of position at 7…..never allowed an extended run like Spies was….

and in that 6 or 7 games showed more class and ability than Spies showed n last 4 years!

• 61.blik: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: Kolisi is good, punches above his weight. I also like CJ Stander, hope he will be back

• 62.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@nama1-37: As backup to Alberts I would rather have Johnson, Vermeulen, Deysel, wow we suddenly lacking hardmean in SA rugby, scary. Juan is badly missed. Greatest blindside flank of all time

• 63.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Bok are 2:7 to win in Mendoza, away from home, deep into the gauchos’ heartland AND with Morne Styen at the key position of flyhalf!
    That’s straight from those who put their money where their mouth is ;)

• 64.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59: For this Test I would have chosen Kolisi at 6….not blindside…

Marcelle 8
    Alberts 7
    Kolisi 6…..

But HM seems to havehis reasons….so I am reserving judgement as I certainly have no real knowledge of Potgieters capabilities…

• 65.blik: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59: Agree, Coetsee is beeter than Kolisi. Both have massive heart.

• 66.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@grant10-58: Yip, we always get away with it (only just) against normal team, but when it comes to the ABs and Aussies, its the height of frustration watching the likes of Mccaw and Pocock having field days. Opposite feeling when Brussow nullifies them however

• 67.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

If SA finishes 2nd in the RC they will have done well.

• 68.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59: this will get the tongues wagging HG but this loose trio would be naaice

Alerts,Deysel, Coetzee :wink:

• 69.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-60:
    thats the beauty of being an armchair coach. everybody and his dog has got ‘the best’ players in ‘the best’ combinations selected.

who’s to say how it woulda turned out.

• 70.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@blik-61:
    oh he will be back
    he will indeed

• 71.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@grant10-43: I dont mind 2 hybrids playing together, Schalk and Flo did it well and I think Coetzee and Kolisi could do the job but yes ideally it should be Brussow and Alberts (dont think Juan will be back any time soon) with Schalk/Coetzee/Duane at 8

• 72.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-68:
    Not Deysel.

Too one dimensional. Alberts and Deysel in the same side would be a disaster.

• 73.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

If we end this year in 2nd spot behind the All Blacks, it is mission accomplished.

Next year we build on this base to charge for top spot. By then we’ll have:

Johan Goosen
    Clarity on the Du Preez situation
    Clarity on the Juan Smith and Burger situations
    Bismark back
    Coenie back
    JP Pietersen back
    Coetzee will be in his second season of test rugby
    Heyneke will have a test season behind him as coach.

This year will be very good. Next year is going to be awesome.

• 74.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-64: Well, then thank goodness you aint coach….

Coetzee has played 8 before but not this season… he is young…. and what do you want him to do – just as he settles as Bok openside you want to move him to 8, for the first Bok game on foreign soil… Come now.

Best loosie trio for this game would be:

8. Kanko
    7. Alberts
    6. Coetzee

Simple. And if you want Coetzee to make way for an openside then you move him to blindside and put Daniel at 6…

• 75.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-67:
    if you finished your noodles in time for a rub n tug before the game, you will have done well.

• 76.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-67:

There is no trophy for second place.

But sure, many South Africans will be (are) happy with playing second fiddle.

• 77.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-66: check latest Sports Illustrated….Mallet article…good stuff

• 78.katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-59: Kolisi is not slow at all. Not sure where this rumour started. In fact, he must be one of the quickest loosies in SA, but someone started posting something about him being sluggish, and now it seems to have become a keofact. Luckily we all know that what goes down as fact in the keoverse, seldom stands up to scrutiny in the big world.

• 79.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@blik-65: These are the competitors for positions

8. Spies, Kanko, Fatty Vermeulen, Alberts (I supect Vermeulen will be found out shortly)
    7. Alberts, Potgieter, Schalk
    6. Coetzee, Daniel, Kolisi, Brussouw

Like it or not Coetzee is no 1 for openside… Alberts is no 1 for blindside (and dont even mention Juan Smith – bless him – the great man wont play another international).

• 80.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73:

Next year there might be injuries too. It is part of the game.

You cannot guarantee that those players will all be fit and ready for test rugby next year.

The time is now. We have to win, now. And – contrary to what you believe – we can win, now.

• 81.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-78:

Keofact. I like that term. And there are a lot of those indeed. Like the one about Morne Steyn not being able to distribute the ball to his backline.

• 82.nama1: Reply to this comment

@grant10-58:
    Chabal lite is just plain kak. No other word to describe him.

Coetzee, Potgieter, Alberts all of them ball carriers *** defenders. Not one of them known to do some work on the ground. The Boks will look like proper fools if the Argies outplay them in the rucks this weekend.

• 83.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73: Next year we should also see the likes of Paul Jordaan, Jan Serfontein, Arno Botha and Siya Kolisi beginning to stake their claims.

• 84.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@katman-78: I never said he was slow… I am sure he is not… whoever heard of a slow black man?

I just reckoned Marcel Coetzee was faster… and bigger, stronger, fitter, higher workrate…

• 85.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@willievz-80:
    you’re no more or less right in thinking that way, than tac is in thinking his.

• 86.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-83:

Yes. I have not even speculated on any star youngsters, other than Johan Goosen, who has delivered at Super rugby level.

But the new generation is coming through, certainly.

• 87.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-68: Eish. SL, you going to causekak… :lol:

In all seriousness I reckon Deysel needs to prove himself more – with less injuries – then he will come into contention behind Alberts…

• 88.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

a 19 year old pollard shutting the ab’s up would be a dream.

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-71: F Louw is the 1 player I have seen that can play like a fetcher but also has the other attributes….can carry, lineout skills good, etc….

HM is trying to convert Marcelle Coetsee, who I rate very highly, brilliant young player ….

Not at this stage convinced he is a 6 though….will have to see how he develops there….

the breakdown is of such paramount importance…if the opposition gets the upper hand there the knock on effects are huge…..so cant really understand why we dont play the best breakdown exponents we have…

• 90.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@grant10-89:

F Louw, Brussouw and co can go an fetch me some beers from the fridge.

• 91.katman: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-81: Indeed. And another keofact is the inevitable reversal of the Eastern Cape rugby diaspora thanks to the cheeky pied piper of Watsonia.

• 92.katman: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-84: No, that’s Steve Austin you’re thinking of.

• 93.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-74: yes….indeed…I am not coach….so dont stress at my wish list…

• 94.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-91:

Oh yes, forgot about that one.

That’s a biggie.

• 95.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz-76:

nobody should ever be happy with second place but there is only one team that is going to take it this year

• 96.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44: Heard of “put the man in the gap” or “draw and pass”… ever since the QF last year when JdV did actually pass the ball, while on the outside… what happened… the ball went forward to Lambie… Now Jean just does not pass… he also does not stay on his feet, i.e. he goes to ground, and he also farken cannot offload.

Two of the best outside centres in the world are two of the best distributors… and JdV aint one of them: Smith and O’Driscoll

• 97.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@katman-92:

Hehe. Some of his episodes are on youtube now, in 10 minute sections.

I checked one out the other day. He leapt over a 20 foot fence, with the customary sound effects.

That was my favourite TV series, growing up. Although I was so young, I only remember a few episodes.

Lovely stuff.

• 98.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@grant10-93: Not stressing… Just dont agree with Coetzee at 8… yet.

In another universe and reality, would enjoy a mix and match of 3 rabid dogs such as Coetzee, Kolisi and Ratel as a loosie trio just to break the mould a bit, with Daniel coming off the bench… Go big (or small in this case) or go home… But it aint ever going to happen.

• 99.grant10: Reply to this comment

@nama1-82: Hi Nama

I am very concerned about a specialist deck player…

I see Aussies have Hooper starting tomorrow with Gil on bench….

Mc Caw. Todd.

Fark…we sommer dont have 1 deck specialist in 40 man extended squad…..jeepers !!

• 100.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@katman-92: Coetzee owns Steve Austin too…

• 101.theOracle: Reply to this comment

passing, distributing… distributing, passing… which one can Morne do and which one can he not do… I’m getting confused :roll:

• 102.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-95: A faint heart has never won over a fair maiden.

Call me the ever optimist.

Never underestimate the Boks.

• 103.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@katman-92:
    You look naked without the Snor

• 104.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-98: yes….always interesting the loose trio selection….

I was excited at the Schalk at 7 and Brussow at 6 at WC….thought those 2 had great potential there, especially if a proper [ not Spies ] 8 was selected….

sadly not to be…

• 105.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-100:

Steve Austin can do all that stuff, while still wearing bell bottom trousers all the while. That takes some doing.

Which brings me to another question:

What’s up with TJ and his crowd wearing these dodgy eighties style sports jackets on their Reunion show, with the top button of their shirt undone?

It gives a very weird vibe. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something just seems off.

• 106.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73:
    “Mission acomplished,” you say. Coming second will be mission accomplished because Meyer is “building”. Is that our aim this year?

What happens if we don’t win it next year? Will Meyer resign or what excuse are we going to use then?

• 107.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-72: :lol: you were not meant to take the bait

• 108.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz-102:

never would, but you don’t have the personnel to win it this year

• 109.willievz: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-101: All players at the top level can (should) be able to pass [passing].

But not all of them can create space or attacking opportunities with their passes [distribution].

• 110.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

I am as excited as **** about the prospect which is Johan Goosen. But how on god’s green earth is he talked up as a Bok 10 certainty already without having completed one Super Rugby season yet?

• 111.willievz: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-108: Sure, I won’t bet my house on it.

But I can’t wait for the AB games!

• 112.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110:

desperation?

• 113.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-101: Both… He just aint too partial to a bit of tackle… But then again there is a long line of 10s from the light blue with a proud heritage of “avoiding contact” stretching right back to the Bucktoothed legend… This is no new thing.

But whatever Morne cant do, he definitely can kick… and he has a farken decent pass…

• 114.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@nama1-106:

Depends on his winning record.

For the record, I would have fired White when his win record dropped in the middle of his reign. I’m not into sacrificing short term results for long term goals.

And neither is Meyer. He is trying to win every single game.

• 115.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@willievz-111:

under cover in NZ this year so should be a cracker

• 116.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110: I have never seen a better 10 prospect ever than J Goosen…since 1976….never farekn ever…

My kinda 10 that….

• 117.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@nama1-106: the bar has been lowered… we are building… we need a few more soft wins before the big guns…

• 118.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-105: Lol… Haven’t seen reunion lately… But it sounds like a bit of a Capetown “vibe” there now?

• 119.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-116:

Who did you see in 1976?

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

I would drop M Steyn as soon as J Goosen is proven fit….

Play Goosen and decide once and for all who is seen as the next best, either Jantjes or Lambie….

• 121.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-119:

Elvis. Although, that was in 1978.

• 122.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-119: meant in context of when I started watching rugby….

• 123.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-114:
    After the Stroooli era, it was all that White could do.

he was left with nada, an empty ship sailing on stormy seas.

The side that he built should have been taken over by HM and then we would have seen real results.

• 124.blik: Reply to this comment

@grant10-116: Who did you se in 76?

• 125.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-123:

No, no. In the middle of White’s era he lost the plot, with his talk of building for the World Cup and all that nonsense.

• 126.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110: how was that different from lambie and jantjies?

• 127.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-121: BWAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAA

• 128.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-121:

Thought he died in 1977?

@grant10-122:

Lad looks promising no doubt, but I would actually like to see him complete a full senior season or competition – at least Elton and Lambie has.

• 129.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110:

Us Saffas are quick to cotton wool a player in order to prevent Gaffieing.

But there are a lot of points to consider here.

Sure, Goosen’s experience is limited. But he is also an unknown factor and there is limited footage available of him. The opposition will have a tough time planning against him. He is also, well, young, and has the confidence of youth.

Etzebeth and Coetzee (similar ages) have done well in the G&G so far, and they are not much more experienced than Goosen.

Schalk Burger was 21 when he won the IRB player of the year.

My advice? Throw him into the deep end.

• 130.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-128:

Exactly.

• 131.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-125:
    Ah I see. 2006. annus horibilus.

• 132.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@blik-61: Ja Stander impressed me at the start of the season, loads of potential

• 133.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-115: Why do you the ABs always seem to have fewer injuries than ths Boks?

NZ also play a very attritional game, play just as much rugby. Do you think the training techniques are better? Player management? Alsthough look at John Mitchells Lions, he basically lost his whole squd to injury, and he learnt his rugby in NZ.

• 134.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Lotsa people stating opinions as if they facts

Kolisi is better tough guy and better at 6 or 7 than Marcel Coetsee
    Coetsee best position woulb be 8

Contenders for 8
    Vermeulen, Coetsee, Kolisi, A. Botha, Daniel, Kankowski, Spies

Contenders for 7
    Alberts, Elstadt, Burger, Coetsee, Kolisi, Du Toit, Potgieter, Stander

Contenders for 6
    Brussow, Daniel, Coetsee, Kolisi, Stegmann, Minnie, Fourie

Best scenario in current clime and condition

8 Vermeulen, Coetsee, Botha
    7 Alberts, Elstadt, Du Toit, Stander
    6 Brussow, Kolisi

Deysel don’t even get a mention, like neither Spies nor Kankowski should

• 135.willievz: Reply to this comment

@blik-133:

They have injuries too, but have the quality of depth to fill in for the first choices.

• 136.nama1: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-117:
    Jip.

It’s just the beginning. Wait until we lose against the European sides on the EOYT.

@Tacitus-121:
    You’re in a good mood this morning. This is your 2nd joke of the day. :lol:

• 137.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110: Then they say Sharks supporters Hype up players?? :lol:

Lambie might not be as skillful as as Goosen, but he sure as hell has bigger Kahooneras then most rugby players in this country, and yes he does most things right, and yes he has had one or 2 bad games things year after returning from injuries etc.

But like you see mate, Lambie is now said to be rubbish :lol:

• 138.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@nama1-136:

Indeed I am.

• 139.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-117: @nama1-106: when do the kiwis ever “build”?

i can’t seem to recall a time where they “accepted” losing to us because their coach was “building”.

• 140.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-136:

Tac has been drinking all those beers we’ve fetched for him from the fridge.

• 141.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

White was a disaster that got saved by an Aussie and a very lucky run of events in a non contested WC.
    Hope Meyer shows he got more kopf than that.

• 142.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@blik-133:
    Maybe us SAFFAS are not so tough as we think we are?

• 143.blik: Reply to this comment

@willievz-135: Not true, not the same amount of injuries.

• 144.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-134: because you say so?? like you know anything, fark for a 100 year old pensioner you truely have no clue, but in your own arrogant way you think you a professor of rugby :lol:

Stick to plastering those manholes dude, im sure after 60 years service to that industry you pretty clued up

• 145.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-134: “Kolisi is better tough guy and better at 6 or 7 than Marcel Coetsee”… No, I disagree… and so do the numbers.

Kanko our best option at 8… Simple.

Alberts and Schalk to fight out 7… But I have a funny feeling Schalk might not make it back.

Kolisi not a bad understudy to Coetsee but he will have to joing the queue for 6 behind Coetzee, Daniel, Brussouw… And then who knows.

• 146.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@willievz-129: look at beauden barrett, 1st season of super rugby and already an all black…came on against the irish in the 3rd test and played solidly…nobody questioning whether he’s finished a season or not.

how many season you think aaron smith has played?

• 147.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-129:

Coaches will not push players to levels they don’t have an aptitude for. Of course I am not suggesting Goosen does not have it, but why should he leapfrog Steyn (veteran), Lambie (capped Bok) or Jantjies (Bok tourist & 2 Super Rugby seasons)?

• 148.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-141:

No. White was a fairly good coach, whose ego exploded once he went from schoolteacher to Bok coach, and whose arrogance led to some very stupid decisionmaking by the 3rd year of his tenure.

In 2007, he was saved by the Bulls and Sharks, who played in the first ever all South African Super Rugby final, and whose star players won the world cup for him with a very simple gameplan.

All in all, White is not this villain he is made out to be by some, but neither is he this super coach that his supporters think he is.

Mallet and Meyer are both better coaches than him. Straulie and Viljoen are worse coaches than him.

He falls somewhere in the middle along with Carel du Plessis, perhaps.

• 149.willievz: Reply to this comment

@blik-143: Fair enough.

But I get the impression that they (NZ) are more streetwise in their physical approach.

Our big men simply fokmaarvoort with little regard for their physical wellbeing. They, on the other hand, play with a measured physicality.

• 150.nama1: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-119: @blik-124:
    He started watching/following rugby in 1976.

• 151.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-141: White was a RWC Winner… and I’m sure he would rather be that than be the “MohammedAli of Rugby”…

Meyer will also be a RWC winner too… and proud owner of a +75% win ratio by the time he is finished with the Boks…

• 152.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-128: yes…that would be ideal….I have seen enough though….brilliant player….worth a gamble, especially as M Steyn is really no more than a journeyman 10 imo…

• 153.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-146:

Does the AB’s have a Lambie and Jantjies who was already part of their national setup?

• 154.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

the lions also thought Deysel was rubbish last weekend, he farked them up good, that inclused Minnie and Strauss , and baywatch ,

Justsayingyouwhouldtrythinkingonceinyourlifebeforespeaking :wink:

• 155.blik: Reply to this comment

@willievz-135: Let’s just take this weekends line ups for an example:

15 Israel Dagg,
    14 Cory Jane,
    13 Ma’a Nonu,
    12 Sonny Bill Williams,
    11 Hosea Gear,
    10 Dan Carter,
    9 Aaron Smith,
    8 Kieran Read,
    7 Richie McCaw (c),
    6 Liam Messam,
    5 Sam Whitelock,
    4 Luke Romano,
    3 Owen Franks,
    2 Keven Mealamu,
    1 Wyatt Crockett.

Apart from Conrad Smith and Tony Wooddick, who would make the 22?

15 Zane Kirchner,
    14 Bryan Habana,
    13 Jean de Villiers (c),
    12 Frans Steyn,
    11 Lwazi Mvovo,
    10 Morné Steyn,
    9 Francois Hougaard,
    8 Willem Alberts,
    7 Jacques Potgieter,
    6 Marcell Coetzee,
    5 Andries Bekker,
    4 Eben Etzebeth,
    3 Jannie du Plessis,
    2 Adriaan Strauss,
    1 Beast Mtawarira.

Missing:
    2. Bismark
    3. Coenie
    7. Smth
    6. Burger, Broussow
    8. Spies, Kankowski, Vermmelen
    10 Goosen
    14. JP

• 156.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-134: “Kolisi is better tough guy”…do you mean tougher/better than Coetzee in the no6 jersey?

• 157.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@blik-133:

we get our fair share, 2009 was the last time we got hit badly and the results reflected that although we still finished the number 1 side in the world that year

• 158.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-152:

I am not the biggest Steyn fan but he has been around since 2009, has broken just about every record imaginable for a flyhalf and point scorer, I don’t call that journeyman status personally.

• 159.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-146: It’s weird…..the AB’s are definitley able to blooe their youngsters quicker than we are…..or are we just too conservative? It’s something aboutt heir youngsters, they seem to be more mature at a younger age. Or at least more comfortable mentally with top flight rugby

• 160.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@willievz-111: Then I do I agree that, according to your explaination, Morne is a passer…. I’ve seldom ever seen him distribute…

Cruden, Carter, young chappie from the Canes, Elton & Lambie are distributors..

• 161.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-157: No you did not… Sheepshaggers were no higher than 3 that year…

• 162.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-129:
    It was the same argument people used to “unleash” Derick Hougaard in the RWC in 2003, after his heroics for the Blue Bulls the year before.

That did not pay off. In fact Derrick probably still have nightmares about a certain Chiropractor.

No man, let Goosen complete a season or two in the CC and S15.

@Transformation-139:
    So true Transie. They never seem to “build.”

Their transition periods always seem to go smoothly, enen unnoticed.

• 163.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-147: Because he is better than them???

• 164.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@blik-155:

think you need to put Smith out to pasture he’s gone

• 165.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-163:

I don’t think so. What do you base that on? 4 Super Rugby games against 30?

• 166.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-161:

no we finished the number 1 side in the world that year

• 167.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@theOracle-160: Morne has all the skills for a good distribution game, he actually has a good pass off both hands…the problem is his peripheral vision in terms of identifying space as well as his unwillingness (whether personal or under orders from the coach) to play close to the gainline.

• 168.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-159: Hit the nail on head… Mental strength… Our youngsters on the whole are a bit woolly upstairs… Spoilt little farkers…

• 169.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-157: Yeah I agree, every team gets injuries, like DC in the RWC too. But for some reason the NZ teams seem to do better than SA and Aus on that front with SA the worst of the 3.

I think it’s a compliment to the structures in NZ. I think most people would agree, NZ rugby is run a lot more professionally than SA rugby. I think that’s a huge factor for the AB success since professionalism.

I actually think SA has marginally more player depth and talent in the forwards as a whole, and NZ has more in the backs. But overall the player resources are pretty simillar. What is done with those resources, I think that’s where NZ is better than SA.

• 170.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-166: You are wrong.

• 171.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-158: he is a journeyman imo….average defence, avarage tactical kicker, average distributor, in the pocket artisan with a 77% kick rate….

Poses very little threat ball in hand….

I can think of quite a few local 10 s I would play instead of him…

• 172.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-147: One main reason: He is better than those players.

And I think Meyer recognises this.

• 173.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-153: no they don’t but they sure have scrumhalfs that have test experience and plenty super rugby seasons yet chose a rookie as their starting 9.

• 174.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-162: Derick played in a kuk team.

And received a kuk pass from Joost.

• 175.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-139: it is in our genetic make up to build…. Meyer’s reign at the Bulls is an example….

• 176.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@blik-169:

too much rugby this year and they are dropping like flies, Bismark will hurt you this year

• 177.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-173:

If the rest of your team consists of some of the best players in the world, you have an established coaching team and the most successful captain in the history of the game, well, then you can afford to try out a rookie in a few positions, I reckon..

• 178.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-170:

show me the money then

• 179.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-165: I saw him play 7 superrugby games….

and play starring roles in virtually all of them…

made more of an impact than anyone I have seen at 10….absolutely sublime….

now that is a player we can build around….great distributor, takes it flat, can mix it up, quick …

and a boot like a mule….

A ferrari compared to a Mada [ M Steyn ]…

I would give an arm and a leg to have him at Stormers….

• 180.willievz: Reply to this comment

@nama1-162:

How many games did Schalk play before he became a Bok?

How many CC games have Etzebeth played?

Goosen was outstanding – in fact, often the best player on the park – against every team he played against this year, at Super rugby level.

• 181.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@willievz-180:

Look, there is no set formula here.

Some players will sink, others will swim. How you determine which is which, well, that’s an art, not a science.

• 182.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@willievz-180: So was LAmbie yet he is being cASt aside Willie, and yes LAmbie proved how good he was in the Test scene, even having to play different positions, so why does he not get the same acknowledgement??

• 183.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

The coveted top spot was occupied by New Zealand at the turn of the year, just as it had been going into 2009. However the All Blacks had slipped to second after suffering the first of three Tri Nations losses to South Africa in late July, ending their 11-month reign as the number one side in the world.

South Africa sat proudly atop the rankings for 16 weeks, following up their series victory over the British & Irish Lions with five wins to lift the Tri Nations title and seemed set to end a successful year in that position. However, defeat by France in Toulouse saw them surrender it to the All Blacks and another loss to Ireland means South Africa now lie 3.08 points behind the top side.

• 184.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

and we have been there ever since

• 185.blik: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-176: But NZ play just as much rugby. Agree Bismark is the best 2 around at the moment. We are lucky that Strauss is a quality player (not as all round as Bismark). If we loos Strauss too, then the next one (Liebenberg, Chilli, Burden) is far behind.

• 186.grant10: Reply to this comment

imo…the first 2 names on a bok team sheet…

Brussow

J Goosen…

• 187.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-181:

But based on the splashes in the pool so far, against top opposition, would you agree that Goosen has a better chance of swimming than sinking?

Remember that Gaffie did not play S12 or CC before he became a Bok.

Goosen has done both.

• 188.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@nama1-162: you ask yourself when did the all blacks “build” while introducing read, kaino, whitelock, jane, dagg, franks, franks, sbw, conrad smith, vito?

that’s 10 players who didn’t play in the 2007 world cup but they never accepted coming 2nd to us at any point…

• 189.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-161:
    hahahaha **** me do some research at least.
    We were #1 in the world beginning 2009, moved to second half way through only to take apart the europeons at the end to reclaim #1 spot.

• 190.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-182: Lambie is an awesome talent….he should have been playing at 10 this whole Bok season already….personally I prefer Goosen….but Lambie far more a threat at 10 than M Steyn …imo

• 191.willievz: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-182:

Some people like Black Label. Others like Castle. I like both, but I like Black Label better.

I rate Lambie, highly. But not as high as Goosen.

• 192.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-170:
    wow you are so pigheaded.
    http://www.irb.com/rankings/archive/year=2009.html

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-177: is hansen now the “established coaching team” by himself?

• 194.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-110: Says a lot about the incumbent dont you think

• 195.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-167:

Nothing wrong with Morne’s distribution, our Bok centres is where it falls flat in their pod-plays.

@Transformation-173:

Please man NZ has had a bunch of palookas for scrummies since Marshall left.

@grant10-171:

He is the best tactical kicker we have in SA. He has broken all sorts of records kicking for poles, and as I said, I don’t see much wrong with his distribution. Tries by Bulls outside backs in Super Rugby sort of makes a mockery of that assertion.

So his tactical kicking has dipped just under 80% in 2012 (which seemed to be rectified last weekend) and we want to slot a 8-game Super Rugby rookie into his position? Ahead of two other players that has been part of the Bok squad, has 2 or 3 full Super Rugby seasons behind them and has done very little wrong in fact?

I am sorry, I see no logic in that.

• 196.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@willievz-187: Whatever the case Goosen is more ready now than Gaffie was back then. Goosen seems to be a more complete player than Gaffie to start with and he seems to have a stronger temprament

• 197.nama1: Reply to this comment

@willievz-174:
    True.

Goosen was very, very good before his injury but to chuck him into the Bok fold right now, would be a mistake imo.

This current team, how would you describe it? Now imagine Gossen being selected for it…then imagine his SH partner…the one who is regarded as the no. 1 currently…it will be more detrimental to his career expecting him to make all the magic amongst the palookas he has to play with.

@willievz-180:
    Yes, but Schalk came into a team with some established forwards and started playing from the bench. Also, his position is not as pivotal as that of a FH.

Etzebeth is selected due to a serious lack of quality locks with experience.

• 198.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-180:

Analysis done by Super Sport showed Goosen and Jantjies neck-and-neck before he got injured actually…

• 199.grant10: Reply to this comment

seems us saffas happy to come second….look for lots of excuses ….probably why we are 2 nd…or is it third…?

Glad our cricketers are doing us proud…

• 200.shooter: Reply to this comment

I say give that guy Lappies Senekal a chance. Really outstanding talent. Really really.

• 201.shooter: Reply to this comment

200! and when I try the 1000.

• 202.Sasuke: Reply to this comment

@grant10-186: agree

• 203.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-198: In that case, I prefer the player who can kick 65m penalties.

• 204.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-203:

Frans Steyn.

• 205.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-189: BWAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHA…. Hurri Satriani is back…

Thought I’d flush you fckers out eventually… What, you okes all quiet and smug now, with no need to defend the honour of your precious ABs and Shakey Nation, huh…

Twat!

• 206.shooter: Reply to this comment

Keo TV is off in my valley. Luckily.
    But Morne is stiilll king. :)
    Grant you slanderer. All you do is critisize a select few guys. What are you the woodchopper?

• 207.John Galt: Reply to this comment

Speaking of our Cricketers.

Can anyone tell me how, on gods green earth is Peterson picked ahead of Botha as our premier spinners in ODI’s?

Easily the most annoying player in the lineup.

Big time air puncher.

• 208.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-204: Can’t kick it that far.

• 209.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-195: okay…lets see what happens against Aussies and Kiwis with M Steyn at 10….we chat afterwards again…@PissAnt-198:
    Jantjes also far better than M Steyn imo

• 210.poppa69: Reply to this comment

love it..

SA’s already setting Goosen up to fail…

Should be blooded on the EOYT and not before…

You guys are so quick to label a player who bursts onto the scene as the next greatest etc… reason ABs seem to do it seamlessly is because of the structures inherent in the AB camp, the exposure to the wider training groups, and the intent of the coaches to give those players things to work on in their game to bring them up to AB standard… sometimes, you get a situation where you have to introduce an Isaac Ross due to reasons beyond your control..

but to introduce Goosen before the EOYT is a 50/50 risk that could backfire disastrously… and ruin what looks to be a genuine talent..

• 211.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-205:
    well i left a link for you. It will help you and maybe stop your false claims :-)
    Dont say i dont try and help you

• 212.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-199: Grant most of us like what we see in Goosen, noone is doubting the talent, Fact though is Lambie is not being given that same chance and the same will be said as is the Case with Kanko

Kanko has never really gotten a chance besides a few minutes here or there, i see in here daily how people are saying he is ****, now same as Deysel, yet in the local matches these same so called **** players rip the so call super stars a new @sshole

Lambie will now go the same way, he will get played in other positions besides his natural position, but then he will for example get compared to goosed when they are playing 2 different positions

• 213.shooter: Reply to this comment

Everyone and their 2 year old niece know, by now, that Goossen is going to become the next Bok great. The man foreva for nr 10. So debate for another month or two of 10. We have all seen him. There is no credit anymore to have talent spotted him. Patience :)

• 214.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-205:

to be fair you were the number 1 side for 16 weeks

• 215.shooter: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-210: stuck record. have you sorted out the voices in your head yet? I mean the times when you blog under two names?

• 216.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@willievz-208:

I remember a certain test in Hamilton a few years back…

• 217.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-210:
    Remember KKK saying Spies need to be a bok cos he will be the best # 8 ever…
    This seems to have a familiar ring to it.
    But hey none of us doubt Goosen has the goods. But this guy has time.
    EOTY tours would be a great start for him.

• 218.shooter: Reply to this comment

@grant10-209: and Peter Grant too?

• 219.blik: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-198: Agree Jainties is underrated. People always say he needs more time. Bull, he has been around for a few seasons now and showed he is up to it.

My order at 10 and 15.

10. Goosen, Lambie, Jantjies, Steyn
    15. Taute, Lambie, Kirchner (have not seen enough of Andries Coetzee yet)

• 220.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-210:

What he said. The Kiwi.

• 221.grant10: Reply to this comment

@shooter-206: what is a woodchopper?

• 222.shooter: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-217: Who is KKK?
    You guys should twitter to reunion to what the SAFFAS say and do on here, ok :)

• 223.willievz: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-216: So do I :)

But only one of those penalties were 60m+, at 61m.

Goosen is more accurate from a similar and a longer distance.

But imagine having both in one team!

• 224.grant10: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-210: and not to play him will be like handing the kiwis the cup on a plate….because we sure as hell not going to compete with M Steyn standing deep in the pocket against you guys and aussies

• 225.shooter: Reply to this comment

@grant10-221: saying the What What as to who is now not springboks anymore. or was. Your general analysis of players are disrepectful, like Steyn, for instance.
    Journeyman. phew. with 50 odd caps?? Drop goal king. Respect man.

• 226.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

Just realised Keo is a Bulls supporter. Which will naturally make him an HM and Morne fan.

Wonder how long that love affair will last.

But I doubt whether HM will ever get the “End of an Error” tag.

• 227.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@shooter-222:
    Yeah that would go down a treat.
    KKK was a poster that had issues on here. Cant recall his username but a few on here would remember him.

• 228.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-212: The sharks must play Lambie at 10….

• 229.shooter: Reply to this comment

@blik-219: Nooooo! Willie Roux. Better than Deon v Rensburg :)

• 230.grant10: Reply to this comment

@shooter-218: yes…..for sure….although Peter has a pop gun boot…..

• 231.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-210: But that is what a lot of us are saying…..plan him into the system as opposed to throw him in the deep end. To me that is what Heyneke Meyer is doing and he should be applauded.

• 232.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

You saffers are stupid pieces of dog *****!! dont you fking losers know that new zealand use their forwards over 50% more in attacking play than any other team? thats why they score more ******* tries you morons!! wake the fk up for gods sake!!!! morne is not a exclusive runner but that aint gonna make us a new zealand even if he was. you fking azzholes p!zz me right off. goosen is fking weak defender as hell anyways so stuff that up your holez u wankers. god, i need a fking asprin.

• 233.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10-228:
    They are.

Plum said a few weeks ago that Lambie is going to play 10 and only 10 from now on.

Giving him an extended run there.

• 234.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-188:
    They know when to drop players, if you know what I mean. No emotional attachment will keep you in the team, just your performance on the field. Therefor they don’t need to blood 5, 6 or 7 new players all at once.

In SA, if yoyu have a good relationship with the coach, your place in the team is assured for as long as you want it. Your (lack of) form does not matter that much. That is why we are now in a situation where we have to find replacements for so many players all at once.

@nama1-197:
    Not saying that Etzebeth is not deserving of his place because he is. Just saying that if we had experienced locks, he would maybe have been sub and not a starter giving him more time to get use to international rugby.

• 235.grant10: Reply to this comment

@shooter-225: sorry…dont rate him….

also dont rate Spies….

Not being disrespectful….just honest about how I feel they play compared to some others….

Surely that doesent make me disrespectful? If it does my apologies to them both.

• 236.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-232: You also need to calm down :)

• 237.blik: Reply to this comment

@shooter-229: Willie Roux & Deon v Rensburg are probably the kakk*st defenders ever to play S15

• 238.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@grant10-228: lambie is a fkin pathetic tosser. looks like a fkin deer in headlights in any serious game. the sharks need a real 10 end of. i think the frog is leaving soon but he was past it long ago anyway. lambie coulda been a great fullback but that opportunity is gone hes just average now in any position but a fkin nightmare at 10.

• 239.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-228: they are. remember Lambie has been injured, and freddy was playing brilliant rugby , thats why they kept him at 10

plum has on few occasions this season said Lambie is a 10, and from now on you will see Lambie at 10 specially with Ludik and Viljoen having found form

• 240.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-238: hey cnutplug ur the tosser here you moron

• 241.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-211: False claims befarked… Your so called no 1 side was overwhelmed and shikka’d 3 times by the Boks in just one year in 2009… Boks in Green and Gold twice, followed by Boks in Black and White in foreign lands up North…

I still remember the sour faces, the hooligan behaviour and thrown beer bottles from the Kiwi fans at Twickers that day vividly as if it was yesterday… Also had to clip a fat little misbehaving maori on the short walk to Richmond after the game with mine own hand too… A glorious day.

• 242.grant10: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-233: awesome news that….gotta run

• 243.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-226: he won’t get it, meyer’s super rugby title that took him seven years to get to guarantees him immunity

• 244.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-238: you wanna see tossers look at the fools that raised you

• 245.blik: Reply to this comment

@grant10-235: Agree, don’t rate M Steyn either. Pity Matfield and co talked PDivvy out of continuing with R Pienaar at 10. Far more talented, only question was his pole kickig, but he seems to be fine now.

• 246.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-227: Kobus Kitty, the legend! :D

• 247.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-241:

being number 1 means winning most of the time home and away, hence the Bokke very rarely being number 1 in the world

• 248.shooter: Reply to this comment

Steyn was a nr 12 too. And he coaches 10 000 or something schoolboys in kicking. That has to count.

• 249.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-238: Chrissakes man… Come say that on this side of my computer screen then I show you a deer in headlights. Farken little pimple faced wop.

• 250.katman: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-134: “Lotsa people stating opinions as if they facts”

Is there even space in that little peanut of yours to begin to grasp the terrible irony of YOU, Skopskiet The Self-righteous, posting the above statement? Huh? Do you get it?

Unfukkenbelievable, old toppie.

• 251.nama1: Reply to this comment

@John Galt-207:
    Botha asked to be released from his contract so that he can captain some team in Australia.

Wasn’t it Robbie who kept us in the hunt during the CWC last year?

With his bowling and his batting.

• 252.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-247: Yes… But we were undoubted Numero Uno in 2009… and undoubted World Champs in 2007…

As comparison your ABs are definitely Numero Uno at present, but as deserved World Champs…? definitely doubted. :lol:

• 253.shooter: Reply to this comment

@blik-237: LoL. Didn’t think about that. I’m sure if he can learn then to tackle like a machine…. Or be told to. At least they’re fast in the right way.

• 254.blik: Reply to this comment

Is anyone looking forward to the next SA v Aus game? Revenge is sweet. I think there will be some sore bodies that day.

• 255.blik: Reply to this comment

@shooter-253: I do agree Willie Roux is a talented player. Very good on attack and lots of skill, something we need more of in SA. But eeds to work on his defence if he wants to be spoken of in Springbok terms.

• 256.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-252:

yip you were very good for the first half of 09′ and deserved to be ranked number 1 but that wasn’t the argument was it

• 257.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-241:
    Surely the Sharks played the Crusaders at Twickenham last year (2011).

From memory the Sharks were fucked up royally that day. The term “scrum tsunami” started to make waves (pun intended) around these parts after that match.

• 258.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-241:
    So what happened in 2008, 2010 and 2011??
    Point is you were saying that we were not #1 in 2009. But seems not only me that thinks you are wrong but so does the IRB.
    Dont get all angry dude.
    2009 wasnt not all great for the Boks. You seemed to have forgotten you lost to:
    Leicester tigers
    France
    Saracens
    Ireland

Now this is where you lost the short but sweet # 1 ranking.
    Funny you still claim the Barbarians win as South Africas, lol.

• 259.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Grant10

by all means, throw Goosen in against us this year… it could very well scar him to the point of most Bokke players whereby they fear the men in black..

Let him build his confidence in TEST match rugby against the NH teams, talent like his needs to be nurtured and given ample time to develop..

the boy hasnt even played one full season of Super rugby

you run the risk of shattering his confidence and creating another Ruan pienaar

but by all means, play him against the ABs this year, please…

• 260.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-256: What was the argument again?

That the Boks were so goddamned more superior to the ABs in 2009 that the IRB had to change the laws in order for parity to be restored…?

• 261.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-244: hahahhahahah!!! at least i was raised buddy boy. better than being dragged up by ******* like you were XD

• 262.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-246:
    haha thats him. Kobus Kitty…… how could i forget

• 263.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-260: perhaps… the fact NZ lost many experienced players and had to call on someone like Ross seems lost on you..

do you remember the WC’s getting nilled at home in 2008? or then getting whitewashed in 2010?

or losing the last 6 out of 7 games versus the Aussies?

• 264.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-260:
    Argument was that you said the ABs were no higher than # 3 in 2009.
    Thanks to the interent you were way off the mark but now trying to squirm your way out of it.
    Its ok, we proved you were wrong so lets not worry about it.

• 265.blik: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-260: Funny how whenever the Boks do well, there is a law change by the IRB. Remember 95 too.

• 266.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@nama1-251:
    Oh so now you a Robbie P supporter. :lol:

To close to call between the two players. So in terms of “numbers” I’d put Robbie ahead of Botha.

• 267.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-258: Those losses were Bok charity… Gimmes.

Soon after a loss to Leicester, its funny how the Baa Baa Boks were good enough to farken destroy the ABs at Twickenham…

Sheez I still remember puffing, red faced Reechie the “Legend” embarrassingly being left for dead by Habanero running in his hat trick :lol:

• 268.poppa69: Reply to this comment

well, this thread is about to degenerate into another “conspiracy” special..

awesome :lol:

• 269.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-259: its a classic case of overhyping a player. goosen had a good season in a lot of ways but the success of the cheetahs mostly comes to the backline coach and how the whole team were used. they had their forwards play the ball a lot more than other saffer teams and when i say that i mean they werent just bashers. it was more like you see those kiwis doing things. interestingly goosen and robert ebersoh were the two two worst defenders in the backline and i think thats something to be very wary of. but hey every season saffers jump the gun and overhype a player with expectations they can never live up to. he needs to be given a chance but he is never going to be a larkham and even if he was that still isnt enough to create a lot more tries. saffers basically want the boks to play like the 2011 brumbies… have a real flair 10 but everything has to be done by him alone. greeeeeat stuff… NOT!

• 270.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@blik-265:
    So has there only been 3 changes in the last 15 years??
    Not too bad really.

• 271.poppa69: Reply to this comment

heheh Hg, claiming a baabaas game as a SA win..

how desperate can one get, I understand though, only seeing your beloved Bokke win 12 games in the last 20 years against us does that to people..

• 272.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-268: This thread degenerated when it stepped in a pile of you. Looks like one of those shoes you’re better off just throwing away, to be honest.

• 273.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-263: Naah, not so well… But I do remember 2009 vividly… Fark that was a good year… A great year… :lol:

• 274.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-271: or new zealand buying a world cup and calling themselves world champs!!! hahahahaha what a bunch of anal waste.

• 275.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-267:
    Yep, wasnt that when Habana was passed the ball??
    reasons as to why he is and was alwasy wasted in the Bok team.
    And if you think the EOTY games are charity matches, may suggest the #3 placing you are at now.
    Strtange but i cant remember you saying ” Dont worry my feloow Keo bloggers, these were only charity matches, we can lose these “.
    This is the HG i know
    ” WHAT, IRB CHEATS, REFS FAULT…..THATS IT I AM NOT BLOGGING FOR 2 WEEKS NOW ”

HGM
    Heavens Gone Missing

• 276.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-269: I think the boy can really be a good un, but as you say he is no where near the finished article, yet..

he is what 20 years old (dont know so asking?) , he still has so much time to grow and mature as a player, but some here want to throw him in the deep end and see if he can sink or swim? could be a monumental waste of a raw talent..

I’ll use a diamond as an analogy, they are never found as pure and brilliant, they have to be cut and polished and shaped until they become the finished article, so too it is with Goosen imho..

• 277.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-264: Hey, Hurricunt, dont you tell me what my argument was or wasn’t… You aint ONeill, this aint Sanzar and I aint SARU, yeah?

• 278.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-271:
    One of that 12 (1995 final) is worth another ten.

• 279.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-272: oooooh hilarious, what a wonderful wit you have? too farken funny you are..

i bet even your kids laugh at you…oops. meant with you

• 280.Blitzbok: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-273: it was so good that nw zealand had the laws changed for 2010 and then bought the world cup! bwahahahahaha yep they saw the righting on the wall in 2009.

• 281.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-267:
    “Soon after a loss to Leicester”

hahaha after the Leicester loss came the Saracens, France and Ireland.
    But dont worry about those games, as long as your South African Baabaas did well.

• 282.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-278: and there it is in a nutshell, SA supporter thinking WC is all that matters :wink:

it explains why you guys are always playing catch up with the Australasians :D

• 283.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-271: 3 duck in one year would be pretty farken outstanding if it was only against Wales… But in 2009 it was against the ABs…

Signed
    Sealed
    Delivered

Fckface :lol:

• 284.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-283: Id much prefer the 27 wins to 12 myself..

it has a look of dominance over two decades..

but you be happy with your 3 wins, i know they were so hard to come by and that you got a 1/4 of your wins in 20 years in one year..

must have made for lean times the other 19 years

P.S how is France this time of year? did you have any black and white fizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• 285.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-281: I also remember Bushpig Januarie outsprinting Mascara Nonu to score under the poles in Dunedin… Fark, now that is embarrassing :lol:

• 286.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-277:
    Dichead, you asked what the argument was about.
    I just posted it. I can see you are getting all a bit flustered.

• 287.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-285:
    Yep, he alone won that game for you guys cos no one in your team could do it…… now that is embarrasing.

• 288.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-282:
    That wound will never heal. The greatest AB team ever couldn’t live up to their expectations.

And by the way the Boks won our last encounter…..

• 289.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-284:

so 3 wins in 2009, take that year away, that means you guys averaged 1 win against the ABs every two years? farken hell

its no wonder the younger kiwi generation rate games against the Aussies as the ultimate..

they just have never known SA to be good at rugby :wink:

• 290.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Blitzbok-280:
    “yep they saw the righting on the wall in 2009″

Yep, or was it the lefting on the wall?

• 291.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-284: Not just 3 wins… It was 3 wins to 0… Duck… Maqanda… Zero… Thats the difference.

And then followed by convenient law changes…

Not sure about France now, but even France has been a happier place than Blues country this year…

Sharks country is very happy… Super Rugby finalists this year, only beaten by 120000 km round trip.

• 292.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-288: yeah, but you can have 1995, the 1996 team proved that there was definitely something amiss at that WC.. :mrgreen:

again, like 2007, it seems you guys cant live up to the mantle of WC’s, getting nilled in 2008 and losing a home series in 1996..

• 293.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-287: Nope… wrong… the team gave him space… and he needed much space too… And then he went… and won the game like the good little world champ and no 1 ranked team member he was at the time… :lol:

• 294.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@nama1-251:

Yeah, ‘asked’ to be released.

Not surpirsing because he wasnt getting game time becasue Peterson was there. And we all know why he was there.

Air punchingly average Peterson.

• 295.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-283: Personally, I count it as 4-0 in 2009…

• 296.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-291: so, you guys were first losers this year? how many super titles have you? the blues have 3..

how many super titles have you lost?

5 now is it.

cough cough choke choke..

• 297.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-217: Hurricane, hows things your side?

• 298.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-286: No… It was my argument… Now come closer…

Take a Whiff…
    STFU

• 299.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-291:
    Same Chiefs team beat you at home.
    Oh and the Hurricanes thrashed you at home as well .

• 300.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-295: of course you count it Willie, it makes it 13 wins in 20 years..

• 301.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@willievz-295: I thought I missed one out… It was 4 hey?

3 in 3N and 1 at Twickers… Beyootiful :lol:

• 302.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-293:
    When was the last time habana scored 3 against the ABs?
    How about 2?
    But if you think the Boks give Habana over the years space and ball……lol what game have you really watched?

• 303.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-299: Only because the Chiefs ref conveniently forgot to send off… lets say about 3 or 4 Chiefs players… for offences ranging from high tackles through to GBH and attempted murder…

Farken filthy swines.

Dont worry… 2013 is the year of the Dynamite.

Signed. Sealed and Delivered. :lol:

• 304.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-295:
    So can we count the Ozzies wins as well?? The coach and their best # 10 are kiwis.
    4-0 does not seem that much now does it?

• 305.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-292: pops, if you are pointing out that a year later a team gets beaten means they did not deserve to win the year before. Please can you explain your logic?

If that made sense, the NZ Cavliers got drilled in 86, but the ABs won the WC in 87. Different results. I just don’t get your logic??

• 306.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-301: yep, you enjoy that 4..

but you know what, it is still only half the amount of Wins NZ had a few years previously..

2004 Tri Nations Series
    24 July 2004 Jade Stadium, Christchurch 23 – 21 New Zealand
    9 November 2003 Telstra Dome, Melbourne 29 – 9 New Zealand 2003 Rugby World Cup
    9 August 2003 Carisbrook, Dunedin, 19 – 11 New Zealand 2003 Tri Nations Series
    19 July 2003 Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria 16 – 52 New Zealand
    10 August 2002 Kings Park Stadium, Durban 23 – 30 New Zealand 2002 Tri Nations Series
    20 July 2002 WestpacTrust Stadium, Wellington 41 – 20 New Zealand
    25 August 2001 Eden Park, Auckland 26 – 15 New Zealand 2001 Tri Nations Series
    21 July 2001 Newlands, Cape Town 3 – 12 New Zealand

8 on the trot…

hahahaha and youre getting excited about 4??

vatso katvis..

• 307.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-297:
    Hey Skeppie, all is good over here mate.
    Just listening to a bit of
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dqwv0qZleUA

• 308.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-304:

Your best #10 in the late 90s was from Durban…

• 309.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-305: no, Im saying if 2011 was rigged, so was 95… especially because of how it was for reasons greater than the game…

the proof was when a fully fit AB team in 1996 took the series in SA, really raises concerns about the legitimacy of 95 doesnt it?

• 310.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-302: Yeah… maybe… I suppose its similar to asking when last did Kevvy throw a lineout ball straight, or an AB back not pass the ball forward….

One of the peculiarities of this great game, eh?

• 311.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@blik-305:
    9 players that played in the Final in 1987 RWC were not included in the Cavaliers.
    But another point is that the RWC was in Ozzie and NZ. Dont think the boks could win
    without there refs and at home.

• 312.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-309: add in gold watches, sweeping water off the field so the game could even take place because the host nation would not have progressed, Benazzi etc..

lots of doubts cast…

• 313.willievz: Reply to this comment

@blik-305: No WC in 87.

• 314.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-300:
    I see you excluding the 1981 tour.

That last game was a farce…… fark. Even Bryce would be digusted.

• 315.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-311: We also did not play our talented non-whites in the 80s.

So we did not play our strongest team either.

• 316.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-306: Lies, damn lies and statistics… never confuse numbers with truth, hey… And truth is always relative…

e.g ABs did win RWC 2011, but the truth is that France were better in the final and they had the best player on the planet playing for them… Thierry Dusautoir.

Vatso Mamparra :lol:

• 317.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-308: really clutching now Willie..
    he learnt and played all his rugby in NZ..

Mehrtens’ parents lived in South Africa for four years from 1970 and returned to New Zealand when he was still a young child. Mehrtens grew up in Christchurch, attended Christchurch Boys’ High School, and played Junior Grade Rugby for Kaiapoi. He also represented New Zealand at under-19 and under-21 levels.

• 318.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-308:
    One of the lucky ones to escape.

@Heavens Game-310:
    Yep, you could say that, or last time a bok was not 2 meters offside in the backs, as you say one of the strange things that makes this game.

• 319.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-309: How does that figure? The ABs won the series 2-1, I remember the ABs defeded their line for about 10 to secure the win in a very close match. The 95 RWC final was a very close match too, so not much changed really. Often wins are only by a small margin.

I don’t buy the food poison story, Laurie mains also used the same excuse when Australia won the bledisloe cup the year Greegan tackled Jeff Wilson in the corner going over for the try to win the game. There is only so many times you can call wolf before no one believes it any more.

Granted, NZ have had the best rugby over the past 20 years, I think most people agree. But you have to agree that some of the officiating at the RWC11 was very suspicious.

• 320.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-314: I know, imagine a NEUTRAL REF adding time on for a player being felled by a flour bomb… sickening really, it should only have been a minutes extra time at most, seeing as the game didnt really stop for long :shock:

• 321.blik: Reply to this comment

@willievz-315: Neither did SA ;) 40 million to choose from

• 322.willievz: Reply to this comment

We actually did well on the 81 tour, considering we had to sleep on dressing room floors before games, amongst other things…

• 323.willievz: Reply to this comment

@blik-321: That’s what I said ;)

• 324.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-320:
    Hope you grateful for a Saffa ref handing you the 2011 title.

• 325.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-315:
    And really whose fault is that?
    We didnt tour SA with our strongest teams as well if you want to go down that road.
    But that was not only SARU fault but was also our coward NZRU for listening.
    Such a shame that so much has got in the way of both teams playing their best players in the past.
    Of course these days NZ play our best player….or what the coach thinks is our best players, we all know sometimes they pick in correctly. But SA on the othe hand may never be able to pick their best team….. just awful but i will put my Kiwi glasses on now and i think thats great :-)

• 326.willievz: Reply to this comment

Kiwis tend to forget that we did not pick any non-white players when we played against them.

• 327.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-319: I dont buy the whole Susie story either, but you have to admit the ABs were not right in the final, and still only lost in extra time.. I rate the 96 series as NZs greatest rugby moment, well over any knock out tournament trophy..

your cry wolf theory, please enlighten some of your brethren, because they seem to conitunally cry conspiracy when the ABs win..

do tell me, you thought the officiating in 2011 was bad, what about in 2007? becuase the consensus here is that it was by far the best reffed game in the history of rugby, and that it was only one forward pass..

strange really, because many here comment on NZ offsides and the like, yet the French had less ball and territory then the Aussies did and were only penalised twice the entire game, not once in the second half? man, did so many here dine out on that for four years, now they cry wolf when their team copped something similar..

• 328.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-325: “Such a shame that so much has got in the way of both teams playing their best players in the past.”

Absolutely.

• 329.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-316:
    How many times has the better team lost?
    I know it happens alot.

• 330.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-324: yep, I’d buy Craig a beer any time anywhere..

not often I like Saffas, but he seems to be a genuinely nice one :D

• 331.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-313:
    Correct, not for you South Africans, No RWC for naughty people.

• 332.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-307: Quality quality quality!

• 333.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-330: Aww go on Pops…..secretly you love us saffa’s!

• 334.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-326:
    I dont forget. we know SA is an untapped source for players. But we cant help you wiht that.
    But do you guys realise we could not send some of the best Maoris players that played the game?
    So both unions were to blame……shame on them

• 335.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-314: Norling and Lawrence… Two names for infamy… Two names who will be forever damned in rugby purgatory… Never ever to officiate any great game played in the after life…

Here’s the HG in Heaven two teams playing for eternity when I eventually spread my angelic wings and meet my maker….

15 Juba
    14 JPP
    13 Gerber
    12 Steyn
    11 Mordt
    10 Honiball
    9 Joost
    8. Teich
    7 Venter
    6 Kruger
    5. Matfield
    4. Andrews
    3. Domkrag
    2. Uli
    1 Os

VS

15 Cullen
    14. Kirwan
    13 Bunce
    12 Little
    11 Lomu
    10. DC
    9. Marshall
    8 Buck
    7 Reechie
    6 Jones
    5 Jones
    4. Thorne
    3. Brown
    2. Fitz
    1. Dowd

Reffed by J.esus himself.

Then we see who’s who in the zoo

• 336.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-327: I can’t access youtube because I am at work, but have a quick search for an interview with murray mexted after that game. You know which one I am talking about? I think it was 93 or 94. Close game where goldie lost the ball over the line in a greagen tackle.

Mexted and Mains are saying taht the Aussie team poisoned the ABs.

• 337.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-334: Im just glad all kiwis can get visas to SA these days, it seems to be “honouring” the rivalry :wink:

• 338.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-331: I couldn’t care less, I was 6 years old at the time.

But the NZ public will always live with that chip on the shoulder, and the little voice that says “what if”…

• 339.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-329: In RWCs? Just twice… Last year… once in the QF and once in the final… Never before :lol:

• 340.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-327: I am worried, and I really hope it’s not the case. But I do think there is an element of bias in officiating. I am not talking about the influence a crowed has over a ref, that’s normal and evens out over time. Butthere is sometimes an underhand guiding proceedings. Cricket was found out, some other sports too, why not rugby?

• 341.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-336: I remember the game and the tackle, but if you are going to take Mexteds word for it then i cant help you sorry… I know Saffas seem to gravitate towards the Mex, probably because he married a Saffa lass and all, I guess he just knows how to pander to the republic :wink:

as for Mains, was always a sour git when he lost so no surprises there, its like PDV complaining about “better NZ won becuase they have a WC next year and have to put bums on seats”

still, I think Mr Luyt tops them all though..

• 342.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-341: Yep you get some idiotic officials. It would be nice if things could be ideal.

• 343.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@willievz-338:
    Nope, no chip on my shoulder about the 1987 RWC.
    The best international playing teams in the world were there.
    The chip should be yours mate and the what ifs should be you saying…..what if we as South Africans did things differently.

• 344.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-341: Mex is a Shark… A Legend… Like Plum… Sharkie thru and thru

• 345.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-339:
    I recall 1995 the best team lost the RWC final but we all know what happened there dont we.

• 346.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-340: agreed, I think the tier two nations cop the worst of it… Samoa in 2011 for example? also 99 I think it was when POB screwed Fiji over against France if memories correct..

Look At Rolland, in 2009 he penalised the AB scrumhalf for a crooked feed, how often do we see those penalties in the modern game? the Aussies still probably get pinged unfairly becuase the perception is they have a weak scrum…

• 347.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-332:
    Thought you would like that Skeppie, Alice in Chains just the best.

• 348.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-344:
    Is that the same Plum that was supposed to have been kicked out of the Sharks in the early stages of the Super 15?

• 349.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-344: yeah I know mate, I knew youd come round to us kiwis once they got your team playing proper rugby..

no need to thank us though mate, we can feel the admiration in your words…

claiming kiwis as your own? never thought Id see the day..

vatso koeksuster

• 350.TooMuchRugby: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-341:
    I’m glad you said Mr. Luyt. Be careful he might hear.

• 351.willievz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-341: Yep, we love Mex.

And Plum.

Why can’t all Kiwis be like those two? :lol:

• 352.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-337:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNkJQKT_dOE&feature=bf_prev&list=FL5X-FRqHMGFXoOIzoBqKzyA

This maori girls college choir can sing.
    The harmonies are out of this world.
    From the Movie Boy

• 353.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-348: What you talking about? You farken confused… Plum is legend…

• 354.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-341: Pops, I can see your point about Wayne Barnes in 2007. I only watched the game once, There was that forward pass. I can’t really comment about any bias, I did not really notice, but if there was so much outcry, then I guess there probably was.

PDivvys team did some analysis, and said it’s normal for a ref to make about 6 mistakes in a game. In Bryces QF last year he made something like 55 mistakes (can’t remember the exact figure). Would be iteresting to see the analysis of the Wayne Barnes game.

• 355.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@willievz-351: you know they increased the IQ of both countries when they moved to SA :D

• 356.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-349: It seems you dont understand… Once a Shark, always a Shark… Sharks Forever… And both Plum and Mex were Sharks… What they were before or after counts farkall…

Vatso Mummy’s boy :lol:

• 357.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-353:
    Legend…..course.
    He is Kiwi after all. Nek minute Marmite will be a bloody legend as well.

• 358.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-355: Haha

• 359.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-357: No… Just Plum.

• 360.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-354: look, Lawrence was very popor in that game, but he still didnt drop the ball on more then one occassion with the tryline open… same as the Abs should have found another way in 2007, the really great teams take the ref out of the equation..

but yes, i would like to see an independant analysis done on both games… but is it good for rugby to do that? because then we will start to do it for every game and we will end up without a human in the middle… Both refs for those 1/4s shoudldnt have been due to the fact they both had vested interestsm in the outcome.

Barnes in 2007 because the winner of that game played England, ditto lawrence with NZ..

@Hurricane-352: I know it well Hurri, was played at my Mums service.. brings tears to my eyes every time..

• 361.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-360:
    ohhh Good ole Hurricane, always puts his foot in it. :-(

• 362.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outtahere… before this sentimentality brings tears to my eyes too…

Here’s to a Bokbefok weekend…

WHooHaaaa!

• 363.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-352: actully, wasnt that song… was E Te Atua..

• 364.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-361: all good mate… great movie too…

• 365.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-346: I agree about the reffing. I think it is generally the non-english speakig teams that get it. Whenever SA has an English speaking coach, the refs are better than when we have an Afrikaans one. The 2003 Trinations was really poor reffing. NZ had a superb team then and prob would have won anyway, but the refs just confirmed it. Also the Argies, Fiji, Samoa and French don’t have it easy.

Disagree about Aus though, alsthough letely they have improved, they get away with murder in the scrums.

One thing, my opinion, and you probably won’t like it, but I think NZ usually has it easy when it comes to refs. The Brazil football team of rugby, play so entertaining rugby, they don’t deserve to loose.

• 366.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game-335: To watch Cullen play again would be the best part for me. Who would be your kicker for the Boks?

• 367.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

The 1999 semi-final game between the AB’s and France is my all-time favourite non-Springbok game.
    Remember cuddling up to a beautiful lass during that game.

Yoh…….

• 368.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-363:
    agggh yeah i believe the girls did that as well.
    But Hine E Hine is just so well done, amazing.
    Hayley westerna does a really good version as well.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j6Da4UaxCnQ&feature=related

• 369.blik: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-366: Cullen was a freak, imo more so than Jonah who has that label. Cullen probably the best 15 ever to play the game. He got messed around by John Heart at 13. He was unbeatable in space.

• 370.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-365: I do believe that most refs seem to have perceptions before they go into a game, and as such it influences their decision making…

hey, we are the spiritual guardians of the game, surely we should get some advantage :D

but seriously, I can see the point about the ABs, but I also like to think that they play smart by finding out quickly how the ref is calling it that day and adjust accordingly, other teams dont seem to be that smart….

also like to think that there is also an element of being on top that people want to knock you off any way they can… take last weeks bledisloe, the Aussies were holding players back at the ruck (e.g Higginbottom on McCaw) and there was hardly a mention of these indiscretions..

yet there was a youtube video about the ABs doing it previously, so I often feel people will only see what they want to… the laws need simplifying, that is the biggest problem… every ruck and maul can be penalised…

• 371.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-368: she has a beautiful voice…

also really like Ladi6 voice who featured on Roady by fat freddys drop…

• 372.blik: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-370: Exactly, far to complicated. The ref can almost call both was at each breakdown and justify it. I liked rugby in the 80′s, whoever goes forward gets the scrum. That would also open space for the backs to run, because you would have to commit to the breakdown.

• 373.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@blik-369: Yip, my favourite player of all time by a long shot. Use to say I supported 2 teams, the Boks and Cullen

• 374.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-347: You have taste Hurricane…you have taste…my cap has been doffed!

• 375.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-370: Agreed on all points but I do maintain that the AB’s seem to play things a lot smarter than the Boks of old (I think we are catching up). The whole thing of attacking players in a ruck holding onto pillar defenders and so called attacking cleaners blowing through a ruck and holding onto would be defenders only for a pick and go to follow soon after seems to be the AB’s speciality. Now I am not calling this cheating, it’s just bladdy clever play and I wish the boks were a bit more saavy.

• 376.outrightrugby: Reply to this comment

Geez KEO. Thought you guys were better than that!
    Lambie is the solution…
    1. Best tackling No. 10 in world
    2. Boot has improved dramatically for both poles and touch
    3. Scores tries
    4. Sets up tries
    5. Creates forward momentum even when the pack is struggling
    6. MoM in Currie Cup final – has more gees than Steyn now that Steyn is in the 2nd half of his career.
    Pienaar then Lambie equals Boks to win by 30. Steyn and poser Hougaard equals boks to win by 15.
    Try play the Kiwis without fully testing them with your attack… they’ll hit you harder than the best defensive system in world rugby can handle.

• 377.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@blik-372: the conitnual changes also wouldnt help the refs I think… seems almost every year they are bringing out new interpretations or are supposedly watching for certain things

its the scope of variation you can get from one ref to the next that really causes a lot of problems..

• 378.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@outrightrugby-376: Agree, Pienaar and Lambie are the answer, even to implement Meyers game plan. Hougaard at 11

• 379.Fern: Reply to this comment

o vok ek sien die marabse van nz is al almal weer hier…

• 380.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-375: yep, and it raises the point that with the speed of the game today, the ref cant have his eyes everywhere all the time… so teams will find ways to push the boundaries, I just wish the ARs would have more input, it seems they are too often silent when they should be instructed to watch for certain things such as behind the last feet etc so the ref can concentrate on watching the play around the ball..

this is where the IRB are failing the game imo..

• 381.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Fern-379:
    Not all of us.

• 382.blik: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-378: Yep

9. Pienaar (passing and kicking better thank Hougie)
    10. Much (better than Steyn, can attack the adv line)
    14. Hougie (until JP returns)

• 383.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@blik-382: Would have JP and Hougie, best wings we have by far

• 384.Skeppie: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-380: In my eyes I have no real probem with it, it is gamesmanship afterall and if the Boks are not matching fire with fire then it’s our fault (this is at the heart of our 2011 WC loss). My only real issue is when the refs blow a certain infringement against one team but not the other….while this happens I don’t think it happens a lot. I think most of our problems come in when one team adapts quickly to the ref and ends up getting away with a lot.

• 385.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

This is such a bs article

I hate the phrase: “in the context what Meyer is trying to achieve”
    Like that is supposed to absolve both of them with their limited gameplan at the expense of players who can achieve a more total brand of rugby which is also more sustainable than execution over innovation uber attrictional nonsense employed now.Bismark is just a start injury wise,Alberts will go down as well.too much attriction,not enough variation.

Bjorn Basson is better under the high ball and better boot than Mvovo and JPP.so with what Meyer is trying to achieve Basson is prime candidate thus he would have been ahead of others due to that,and that fine? The same case with Jacques Potgieter-Kolisi/Kankowski/Strauss all better.

Sell this sh*t to some1 else

• 386.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Skeppie-384: agree totally, and we see it in every game….
    with so much video analysis these days, surely there are dossiers on refs and how they are likely to call any given situation

consistency is all we ask for but with so many nuances in any given period of play is it really possible to achieve?

• 387.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-385: Agree, Pienaar, Lambie and Kolisi would implement any gameplan better than Hougie @ 9 (awesome at 11), Morne and Potgieter (or Spies)

• 388.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-385: The moment Meyer’s kicking gameplan fails and SA lose a test it will be called into question, it’s difficult for anyone in the media to criticise if he is winning.

• 389.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit-388:

as if SA has never lost a test……

hell, you make it sound if oz and nz have never lost a game playing their brand….
    bizarre logic.

• 390.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-387:

pienaar and to a lesser extent lambie and kolisi…are already showing themselves to be “nearly” players.

talented players….but if you keep losing the big ones?
    flattrack bullies who play their best games when the pressure is off.

• 391.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-390: Dont know, I would see them as BMT players. Both Pienaar and Lambie have never had the luxury of extended runs in the 9 and 10 jerseys for the Boks, which is actually ridiculous. Pienaar showed real class in the knockout stages overseas for Ulster and Lambie has proven in Currie Cup knockout games what he can do at 10. Kolisi also showed in the Super 15 he has what it takes IMO

• 392.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Hey Brig @ 389;

According to the blogs on this site, SA has never “lost” a test. In the unfortunate times where the Boks happen to score less points than the opposition, it’s usually because the ref or the other team cheated.

Apparently, no Boks team has ever actually “lost”.

• 393.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Not even 49-0

• 394.BillTong: Reply to this comment

PS
    Are you related to Piet?

• 395.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@BillTong-392: No unfortunately there have been a few (think Straulli days) but yes it is almost always the ref :)

in my eyes at least

• 396.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-386:
    you mean with such outright and willful intention to deceive refs on the scale you do is it possible for them to blow it squarely?

no, its farking not.

simple solution: stop farking cheating you miserable filth.

that or the refs just blanket penalise you lot.

• 397.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

SL @ 145.Lets hear it for the Wrinklies.

• 398.BillTong: Reply to this comment

Bakkies luv Child @ 396:

Refer #392

• 399.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

John Galt @ 233.But will always be a utility player in Bok Sqad 10/15

• 400.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@BillTong-398:
    in their case its mostly true.
    seriously

• 401.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

J.Galt.Talking about Lambie here of course.Another Ruan.

• 402.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Skeppie @ 375.What an indicment on Refs-Linesmen

• 403.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami-385: Also hate that “context of the gameplan” rubbish. If Meyers aspring for a 60 % win-rate and to perfect the art of dull, cynical rugby then Mourn Stain is indeed the best man for the job. Not sure the context of the IRB rules favour that approach anymore, 2009 is long gone.

Hell, he can go one better and play without a fetcher like he’s been determined to do so far. That’s been working really well so far against the notorious breakdown scavengers of England and Argentina.

• 404.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn is kak

• 405.maximus1: Reply to this comment

Boring blue bull rugby that worked 7 years ago, the springboks are so predictable, here is the blueprint how to beat them, it’s not rocket science. Slow down the phase play at the rucks, Mr McCaw, Pocock, any fetcher will do this, even the Argentinians did this, run the Morne Steyn channel quick ball to the wings and boom try after try after try, Australia even under rubbish Deans has a 5 from 6 winning ratio against the boks, nothing is going to change, same old again for another 4 years under Meyer. Zane Kircher, why play him, what does he actually do, nothing, what value does he bring to the marketplace.
    South Africa couldn’t even beat England in their own backyard in the final test in PE, I would rather watch a Springbok team that can change the way they play and loose, than watch this nonsense.

• 406.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Dont agree with Steyn being the best… he should have been replaced in the team 2 years ago. Peter Grant should have been given one chance with a full strength bok side to prove his worth as should Elton Jantjes get one this season. Steyn is part of a game plan but remember Peter Grant had the best percentage during super rugby yet still South African rugby supporters complain when the team doesn’t make the World Cup semi…what do you expect when you dont back players on form.

Morne Steyn, Pierre Spies & Bryan Habana are key examples… Spies should have been overtaken in the bok no.8 pecking order by Duane Vermeulen in the 2010 / 2011 season.

Morne Steyn has been off the rails for a few seasons and Bryan Habana kept his place only because of Peter De Villiers not backing Hougaard at wing for the boks and during that time Lwazi Mvovo had hardly played senior rugby.

Now Hougi is struggling at scrum half

Habana is in the best form since 2009

Steyn has had one good game

Spies hasn’t got his mojo back yet – because he’s playing an opposite game to what he should be,

I believe in a coach backing a player but I also believe in a coach picking on form

If the Boks were to pick on FORM this would be the starting XV

15 Louis Ludik
    14 Gio Aplon
    13 JP Pietersen
    12 Francois Steyn
    11 Bryan Habana
    10 Peter Grant
    9 Ruan Pienaar
    8 Willem Alberts
    7 Marcell Coetzee
    6 Siya Kolisi
    5 Juandre Kruger
    4 Eben Estebeth
    3 Jannie du Plessis
    2 Deon Fourie
    1 Tendai Mtawarira

That is why you cannot pick the player on form for every match and you must back some players.
    The problem I think most people have is that Morne Steyn has been inconsistent for so long had he been playing for any other nation he would have been dropped a long time ago.

Now that whats done is done and the boks did not win the WC surely some must think what if they had given Pat Lambie, Elton Jantjes, Butch James or Peter Grant a chance or longer run in the bok 10 jersey.

Now the bok coaches will not care. Steyn is supposedly back on form. We will see over the course of the championship.

One thing that is certain is that Heyneke Meyer will not drop Steyn. He has shown no sign of it and even if Steyn was in the form he showed against England he still wouldn’t have dropped him.

Unlucky for Peter Grant, Elton Jantjes & Pat Lambie

• 407.touch.pause.engage: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-406:

Some vaild points.

• 408.Transformation: Reply to this comment

what exactly is ‘form’?

Can you play one ‘okay’ game after a string of kak ones, then turn around and say you’re on ‘form’? :roll:

low expectations!

• 409.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation-408: watching the Kings at 7? I assume Lukes playing?

• 410.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7-406: good post

• 411.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus-73: pretty optimistic to a) assume all those players will be back from injury and b) assume even more players won’t get injured.

• 412.carol: Reply to this comment

Where is Percy?

I miss his insight on Keo TV. ;-)

• 413.daydreamer: Reply to this comment

Why not bash Morne Steyn? He is one dimensional – all the can do is place kick and drop kick well. His defence is always shown up and he can’t get a backline of SA’s best (in theory) players away to pose any threat to even mediocre opposition. Then when the only thing he has goinf for him – his kicking fails he is retained.

For goodness sakes put Lambie at 10 (he is not a fullback, at least not a good one) and Pienaar at 9. Lets play to our full potential.

• 414.johan kotze: Reply to this comment

Stop talking about players that will not be chosen ie kanko my team 1- beast 2 strauss 3 du plessis 4 ezebeth 5 bekker 6 coetzee 7 kolosi 8 alberts 9 pienaat 10 steyn till goosen is fit 11 mvovo 12 steyn 13 jean 14 hougaars 15 lambie 16 liebenberg 17 cilier 18 jeandre 19 daniels 20 sharks scrummie 21 janjies 22 taute

• 415.xtremebull: Reply to this comment

No joking… All blacks gonna skin us alive!!!
    Taute and goosen need 2 b included in m22 agains them… Vermeulen need 2 b our 8th man… Cilliers have 2 start for penalty being narrowed out… Midfield have to dominate the backline…
    We have to be perfectly balanced in all facets of our play.

• 416.W.P: Reply to this comment

Its difficult to judge the Boks till they play the Wobblies and AB’s.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.