KeoTV: Stop Steyn bashing
24 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE agree that Morne Steyn is the best flyhalf we have in the context of what Heyneke Meyer wants to achieve with his game plan.
13 May 2013
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Stormers strong man Duane Vermeulen returned home from the Stormers Super Rugby tour because of injury and conservatively won't play again until July. It could be that he is out for the remainder of the Super Rugby season as well because of knee ligament damage. Stormers loose-forward Rynhardt Elstadt is also out for at least six weeks as the Cape-based franchise's season went from bad to worse in Sydney. Vermeulen, Meyer's first choice No 8, will be nursed back to action for the Rugby Championship in August. His injury means a likely Bok start ... Read Article20 May 2013
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won't break to accommodate an international window. Super Rugby will shift to a March start and won't break for test matches, the June window will be shifted to July and all players will have a 14 to 16-week off-season. Other innovative plans are being discussed, such as building a world series of tests in years that fall between the World Cup and British Lions tours. The revolution that All Black coach Steve Hansen called for last week is coming. The players ... Read Article25 Apr 2013
Jan Serfontein, the player of last year's under 20 World Championship, will head the baby Boks defence in France. Serfontein and Kings wing Sergeal Petersen are two Super Rugby regulars to make Dawie Theron's squad and brilliant flyhalf Handre Pollard is another to play in a second successive tournament. Theron's squad lost a three-match series 2-1 to Argentina in Argentina. Serfontein, Petersen and Western Province's Cheslin Kolbe did not play in those matches. Bulls loose forward Ruan Steenkamp is captain. Serfontein and Pollard are the only two squad members from last year's ... Read Article14 May 2013
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen has selected several uncapped Blues players in his training group. Hansen confirmed 38 names and this included many from the potent Blues backline. The Highlanders, despite only winning one match in this year's Super Rugby competition, have six players in the group. An obvious area of weakness is at hooker where Hansen has selected veterans Andrew Hore and Keven Mealamu and Canes Dane Coles. Options are limited and it certainly is a concern for New Zealanders. No overseas-based players were considered, as it is NZRFU policy. Among the uncapped players ... Read Article15 May 2013
French coach Philipe Saint-Andre has included three South African-born players for the three-Test series against the All Blacks in New Zealand. Racing Metro flank Bernard le Roux and Clermont prop Daniel Kotze join Antonie Claassen in a squad that includes eight new caps. Fijian-born Clermont winger Noa Nakaitaci is among the newcomers. Saint-Andre has rested flyhalf Francois Trinh-Duc, but included Toulon's Frederic Michalak. France play world champions New Zealand on June 8, 15 and 22 in Auckland, Hamilton and New Plymouth respectively. French super club Toulon's foreign dominance ... Read Article5 Mar 2013
MARK KEOHANE writes the Varsity Cup in its first year rocked. Since then it's just another professional tournament. The Varsity Cup may have the innovation of doing a few things differently, but what was supposed to be a celebration of student rugby somehow just seems like another tournament, in which the traditional power houses remain the traditional strengths in the tournament. Much has been made of the Port Elizabeth-based Nelson Mandela University display this season and equally there has been bewilderment at how poor Shimlas have been. But it seems the old one two of Stellenbosch University ... Read Article12 May 2013
Marcus Watson scored in extra time to beat the Blitzbokke in the London World Series Sevens Cup quarter-finals. The teams were level 14-all at full time. Watson's try came four minutes into extra time. England won 19-14. England had the chance to win the match with the last play of the game in normal time. They were awarded a penalty and opted to take a drop kick for goal. It missed. Watson then rounded off a move after England had retained possession for two minutes. South Africa suffered further embarrassment when they lost for a second time in the tournament to the USA and were eliminated ... Read Article8 Jan 2013
Limpopo will play in the Vodacom Cup as a separate side for the first time this year. The region, which is a sub-union of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, has been granted a place in the tournament in its own rights to help foster rugby in South Africa’s far north. They join the 14 provincial unions as well as the returning Pampas XV from Argentina in the tournament, which kicks off in the second week of March and concludes in mid-May. The Polokwane-based Limpopo team will play in the North Section of the competition, along with the Blue Bulls, Golden Lions, Griffons, Leopards, Pumas, Valke ... Read Article24 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE agree that Morne Steyn is the best flyhalf we have in the context of what Heyneke Meyer wants to achieve with his game plan.
Ryan has written 4017 articles.
1 Dec 2012
29 Nov 2012
GREGOR PAUL, in the Herald on Sunday, writes world rugby will get its integrated season after the 2015 World Cup and Super Rugby won’t break to accommodate an international window. Read More
Duane Vermeulen is out of the June Tests. Read More

416 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All
24 Aug 2012, 11:32 am
@Heavens Game-46: Why….?
Well I reckon Marcelle is a good couple of yards quicker than Alberts, who appears to me to be very happy at 7….
and Kolisi played well at 6 for Stormers the entire season ….
That is the why…in a nutshell.
I am sure Skop has his reasons….have not seen his preferred loose trio…
24 Aug 2012, 11:32 am
@grant10-43:
fair enough.
we’ve had mixed results with louw and stegmann, though. something they both could refine is the ability not to give penalties away in the ‘wrong’ areas of the field.
24 Aug 2012, 11:33 am
@nama1-41:
i still think its too early to make such calls.
lets sum by the end of the eoyt.
24 Aug 2012, 11:34 am
@grant10-29: Completely agree with your points re Brussow and Morne
Potgieter was like a young Schalk at the start of the season but shown very little impact since returning from injury
24 Aug 2012, 11:34 am
@blik-50: Worried about Schalk getting back !!
24 Aug 2012, 11:36 am
@grant10-48:
kanko’s had one quater of a good super season, that’s all.
not convinced he wont fold at test level again.
@blik-50:
bracket kolisi at 6 as well.
24 Aug 2012, 11:36 am
@Kietzphat-30: Awesome, we’ve needed a solid tight head for years
24 Aug 2012, 11:37 am
@Bok fan-54: Well that Chabal Lite has had a meteoric rise to the top so he must have some positive attributes….
Maybe he shuts all the detractors up tomorrow night….
Personally I am more concerned about the lack of a recognised fetcher in the entire aquad….
24 Aug 2012, 11:38 am
@grant10-51: But Marcell a good couple of yards quicker than Kolisi and has a higher work rate which makes him a better 6 too…
Kolisi too farken small for blindside too… so, unlucky…
24 Aug 2012, 11:40 am
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: Yes….but to be fair Kanko was the 1 player that was farked around more than most….always off bench or out of position at 7…..never allowed an extended run like Spies was….
and in that 6 or 7 games showed more class and ability than Spies showed n last 4 years!
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-56: Kolisi is good, punches above his weight. I also like CJ Stander, hope he will be back
@nama1-37: As backup to Alberts I would rather have Johnson, Vermeulen, Deysel, wow we suddenly lacking hardmean in SA rugby, scary. Juan is badly missed. Greatest blindside flank of all time
24 Aug 2012, 11:42 am
The Bok are 2:7 to win in Mendoza, away from home, deep into the gauchos’ heartland AND with Morne Styen at the key position of flyhalf!
That’s straight from those who put their money where their mouth is
@Heavens Game-59: For this Test I would have chosen Kolisi at 6….not blindside…
Marcelle 8
Alberts 7
Kolisi 6…..
But HM seems to havehis reasons….so I am reserving judgement as I certainly have no real knowledge of Potgieters capabilities…
@Heavens Game-59: Agree, Coetsee is beeter than Kolisi. Both have massive heart.
24 Aug 2012, 11:43 am
@grant10-58: Yip, we always get away with it (only just) against normal team, but when it comes to the ABs and Aussies, its the height of frustration watching the likes of Mccaw and Pocock having field days. Opposite feeling when Brussow nullifies them however
24 Aug 2012, 11:44 am
If SA finishes 2nd in the RC they will have done well.
24 Aug 2012, 11:45 am
@Heavens Game-59: this will get the tongues wagging HG but this loose trio would be naaice
Alerts,Deysel, Coetzee
24 Aug 2012, 11:45 am
@grant10-60:
thats the beauty of being an armchair coach. everybody and his dog has got ‘the best’ players in ‘the best’ combinations selected.
who’s to say how it woulda turned out.
24 Aug 2012, 11:46 am
@blik-61:
oh he will be back
he will indeed
24 Aug 2012, 11:47 am
@grant10-43: I dont mind 2 hybrids playing together, Schalk and Flo did it well and I think Coetzee and Kolisi could do the job but yes ideally it should be Brussow and Alberts (dont think Juan will be back any time soon) with Schalk/Coetzee/Duane at 8
@sharks_lover-68:
Not Deysel.
Too one dimensional. Alberts and Deysel in the same side would be a disaster.
If we end this year in 2nd spot behind the All Blacks, it is mission accomplished.
Next year we build on this base to charge for top spot. By then we’ll have:
Johan Goosen
Clarity on the Du Preez situation
Clarity on the Juan Smith and Burger situations
Bismark back
Coenie back
JP Pietersen back
Coetzee will be in his second season of test rugby
Heyneke will have a test season behind him as coach.
This year will be very good. Next year is going to be awesome.
24 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
@grant10-64: Well, then thank goodness you aint coach….
Coetzee has played 8 before but not this season… he is young…. and what do you want him to do – just as he settles as Bok openside you want to move him to 8, for the first Bok game on foreign soil… Come now.
Best loosie trio for this game would be:
8. Kanko
7. Alberts
6. Coetzee
Simple. And if you want Coetzee to make way for an openside then you move him to blindside and put Daniel at 6…
24 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
@NZINCHINA-67:
if you finished your noodles in time for a rub n tug before the game, you will have done well.
24 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
@NZINCHINA-67:
There is no trophy for second place.
But sure, many South Africans will be (are) happy with playing second fiddle.
24 Aug 2012, 11:50 am
@Bok fan-66: check latest Sports Illustrated….Mallet article…good stuff
24 Aug 2012, 11:51 am
@Heavens Game-59: Kolisi is not slow at all. Not sure where this rumour started. In fact, he must be one of the quickest loosies in SA, but someone started posting something about him being sluggish, and now it seems to have become a keofact. Luckily we all know that what goes down as fact in the keoverse, seldom stands up to scrutiny in the big world.
24 Aug 2012, 11:52 am
@blik-65: These are the competitors for positions
8. Spies, Kanko, Fatty Vermeulen, Alberts (I supect Vermeulen will be found out shortly)
7. Alberts, Potgieter, Schalk
6. Coetzee, Daniel, Kolisi, Brussouw
Like it or not Coetzee is no 1 for openside… Alberts is no 1 for blindside (and dont even mention Juan Smith – bless him – the great man wont play another international).
@Tacitus-73:
Next year there might be injuries too. It is part of the game.
You cannot guarantee that those players will all be fit and ready for test rugby next year.
The time is now. We have to win, now. And – contrary to what you believe – we can win, now.
@katman-78:
Keofact. I like that term. And there are a lot of those indeed. Like the one about Morne Steyn not being able to distribute the ball to his backline.
@grant10-58:
Chabal lite is just plain kak. No other word to describe him.
Coetzee, Potgieter, Alberts all of them ball carriers *** defenders. Not one of them known to do some work on the ground. The Boks will look like proper fools if the Argies outplay them in the rucks this weekend.
24 Aug 2012, 11:54 am
@Tacitus-73: Next year we should also see the likes of Paul Jordaan, Jan Serfontein, Arno Botha and Siya Kolisi beginning to stake their claims.
@katman-78: I never said he was slow… I am sure he is not… whoever heard of a slow black man?
I just reckoned Marcel Coetzee was faster… and bigger, stronger, fitter, higher workrate…
@willievz-80:
you’re no more or less right in thinking that way, than tac is in thinking his.
24 Aug 2012, 11:55 am
@katman-83:
Yes. I have not even speculated on any star youngsters, other than Johan Goosen, who has delivered at Super rugby level.
But the new generation is coming through, certainly.
24 Aug 2012, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover-68: Eish. SL, you going to causekak…
In all seriousness I reckon Deysel needs to prove himself more – with less injuries – then he will come into contention behind Alberts…
24 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
a 19 year old pollard shutting the ab’s up would be a dream.
24 Aug 2012, 11:58 am
@Bok fan-71: F Louw is the 1 player I have seen that can play like a fetcher but also has the other attributes….can carry, lineout skills good, etc….
HM is trying to convert Marcelle Coetsee, who I rate very highly, brilliant young player ….
Not at this stage convinced he is a 6 though….will have to see how he develops there….
the breakdown is of such paramount importance…if the opposition gets the upper hand there the knock on effects are huge…..so cant really understand why we dont play the best breakdown exponents we have…
24 Aug 2012, 11:59 am
@grant10-89:
F Louw, Brussouw and co can go an fetch me some beers from the fridge.
24 Aug 2012, 12:00 pm
@Tacitus-81: Indeed. And another keofact is the inevitable reversal of the Eastern Cape rugby diaspora thanks to the cheeky pied piper of Watsonia.
24 Aug 2012, 12:00 pm
@Heavens Game-84: No, that’s Steve Austin you’re thinking of.
24 Aug 2012, 12:01 pm
@Heavens Game-74: yes….indeed…I am not coach….so dont stress at my wish list…
@katman-91:
Oh yes, forgot about that one.
That’s a biggie.
@willievz-76:
nobody should ever be happy with second place but there is only one team that is going to take it this year
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-44: Heard of “put the man in the gap” or “draw and pass”… ever since the QF last year when JdV did actually pass the ball, while on the outside… what happened… the ball went forward to Lambie… Now Jean just does not pass… he also does not stay on his feet, i.e. he goes to ground, and he also farken cannot offload.
Two of the best outside centres in the world are two of the best distributors… and JdV aint one of them: Smith and O’Driscoll
24 Aug 2012, 12:03 pm
@katman-92:
Hehe. Some of his episodes are on youtube now, in 10 minute sections.
I checked one out the other day. He leapt over a 20 foot fence, with the customary sound effects.
That was my favourite TV series, growing up. Although I was so young, I only remember a few episodes.
Lovely stuff.
24 Aug 2012, 12:05 pm
@grant10-93: Not stressing… Just dont agree with Coetzee at 8… yet.
In another universe and reality, would enjoy a mix and match of 3 rabid dogs such as Coetzee, Kolisi and Ratel as a loosie trio just to break the mould a bit, with Daniel coming off the bench… Go big (or small in this case) or go home… But it aint ever going to happen.
24 Aug 2012, 12:06 pm
@nama1-82: Hi Nama
I am very concerned about a specialist deck player…
I see Aussies have Hooper starting tomorrow with Gil on bench….
Mc Caw. Todd.
Fark…we sommer dont have 1 deck specialist in 40 man extended squad…..jeepers !!
24 Aug 2012, 12:06 pm
@katman-92: Coetzee owns Steve Austin too…
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 » Show All