Preview: Argentina vs Springboks
24 Aug 2012
RYAN VREDE analyses the key match-ups and picks the winner in Saturday’s Test.
Nothing that happened at Newlands was a surprise – not even the fact that the Springboks were patchy on attack and failed to bag the bonus-point. I don’t think that is going to be as decisive in the final analysis. That school of thought assumes that the Springboks will be close to New Zealand points-wise going into the final Test of the tournament in Soweto. This won’t be the case. The Blacks will already have bagged the title by then.
The Pumas will undoubtedly be buoyed by passionate home support and you can expect a reasonably strong challenge from their forwards. Their heavies would, however, have to make an exponential improvement in this facet of play to stand a chance of victory. That level of improvement is beyond them in a seven-day turnaround. One can also reasonably confidently assume the Springboks’ forwards would have made gains towards greater synergy.
Defence will be the root of their success, with their dominance there in general play ensuring consistently poor ball for a backline shorn of their most potent attacking weapon, Juan Martin Hernandez. Furthermore, the Springboks defied expectations that they would struggle at the set pieces and I don’t believe the Pumas will improve markedly in this regard. Halting the rolling maul will be a priority and much of this responsibility rests with Andries Bekker, whose reading of the defensive lineouts made the Pumas’ hookers resemble tanked-up darts players at times last week.
On attack, the inclusion of Jacques Potgieter at blindside flank will amplify the Springboks’ punch at the gainline, an area they dominated in Cape Town. This is important in light of what they lose in this regard with the absence of Bismarck du Plessis. The likes of Marcell Coetzee, Eben Etzebeth, Beast Mtawarira, Willem Alberts and Frans Steyn will be central to getting the Springboks the momentum they need in the collisions to ensure the back division has the space and time to execute the course of action they deem most appropriate. That said, the ball protection at the breakdown was inconsistent at Newlands and they must remedy this shortcoming.
The Springboks’ halfback pair played well in their opener and Francois Hougaard in particular must replicate his largely accurate tactical kicking for the Springboks’ game plan to work as envisioned. I think it will, and while this victory won’t be as comfortable as what they achieved last week in terms of the physical examination they face, the scoreline will reflect the Springboks’ superiority.
VREDE’S CALL: Springboks by 12

369 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All
24 Aug 2012, 17:45 pm
@wnbb-196: @Dusky-200:
If you simply grab onto another player, that is illegal binding.
In fact, as I argued earlier, it is sometimes better strategy not to bind at all (ie not entering the ruck at all), and just loiter behind the last man’s feet.
Depending on the ref(s), of course.
24 Aug 2012, 18:10 pm
Does anybody know what time(SA) the match is being played.?
Thankyou.
24 Aug 2012, 18:12 pm
@ryecatcher-202: 21:00 I believe.
24 Aug 2012, 18:36 pm
Pops
I’ve looked at the Chilli photo.
Chilli is binding (ie he did enter the ruck), but he did not bind correctly. So I agree with you.
However, there are two other infringements committed by the Bulls here:
(a) J.Kruger is off his feet (knee on the ground). Should be a penalty.
(b) Also, Greyling is not binding correctly.
W.Kruger is binding correctly onto Greyling, and D.Potgieter onto Chilliboy, but in this case it is not a legal ruck.
But for argument’s sake, let’s say J.Kruger was on his feet, with Greyling and W.Kruger binding correctly with their whole arms. If Chilli did NOT bind (ie not touching Kruger), but stayed in the same position, he would be onside. However, the ruck would end at the feet of Greyling and W.Kruger, but technically Chilli is still part of the centipede protection (but not the ruck).
Kirchner could still move forward, offering protection legally provided he is behind Hougaard’s feet, and still act as a chaser.
Is that clear?
24 Aug 2012, 18:37 pm
It’s a great opportunity for the player and Jacobie and his wife are very excited about the move. The Lions losing Super Rugby status certainly influenced the players decision but Jacobie was very keen on the move before the Lions knew their fate. There will definitely be a few more moving so watch this space
24 Aug 2012, 18:38 pm
Exodus starts….
24 Aug 2012, 18:39 pm
jacobie to Scarlets in Wales
24 Aug 2012, 18:48 pm
Blik @ 54.Brilliant analysis by Dwyer.AB supporters here just say that it
is the normal whinge/whine from Saffa,s when we complain
about the institutionalised cheating that goes on.Open the other eye guys.
If the AB,s are better we usually acknowledge it.They are a brilliant team and
have no reason to lower themselves to this standard.
Perhaps if the unbiased Kiwis complain rugby will once again
become the game we all love,without bitter after match invective.They can then
be truly proud of their team.At present it is a case of “my serial cheat is better than yours.”
God may this happen before I shuffle off this mortal coil.Not much optimism
though.When Dagg (brilliant player)scored his try did these Kiwis
notice their player taking out the Oz centre without the ball?Or the jersey tugging
at the rucks?
Maybe it is time for 2 refs.One to only look at issues of cheating.AB victory
in WC raised a lot of sardonic laughter around the world.Your team and
your nation do not deserve this.
24 Aug 2012, 19:00 pm
I see Lance Armstrong has been stripped of his 7 Tour De France titles and has been banned from anything related to cycling for life….
Hectic…..
24 Aug 2012, 19:06 pm
Did the Welsh want to do a Morris Dance.Handkerchiefs tucked into
cuffs nogal.How intimidating.
24 Aug 2012, 19:18 pm
Alberts at 8 could be a master-stroke.
24 Aug 2012, 19:27 pm
@ryecatcher-210:
no, they simply requested that the kiwis do their dance before the singing of the national anthems. the reasoning was that the kiwis have the opportunity for making a psychologicaly intimidating for the opporsition type gesture which also serves to mentally encourage them in turn.
the welsh said this is unfair, which to be fair, is unfair and asked politely if they would do their dance (as it is enjoyed as a spectacle) and thereafter the national anthems would be sung thus allowing both sides to gain some advantage ‘psycholgically’, if you will.
the kiwi threw a moer of a sulk about the whole thing and moaned that the dance was something they did ‘for their own enjoyment really’ (i know, can you believe that clanger) and owed it to nobody to do it for them at a time when and where they (everyone else) chooses.
so therefore elected to do it in the toilets instead. which they did.
24 Aug 2012, 19:34 pm
i mean seriously, how precious can you be to force your wishes on your hosts at their own farking home ground..?.. i would understand it if wales were playing nz away in nz.
your a visitor and a guest so you have to shut up and respect your hosts customs and traditions, however quaint, outdated or odd they may be.
but try telling your guests in turn what you consider respectable behaviour and you get ‘hissy fit rants and storming off to lock themselves in the toilets’ type repsponses… i mean really…. (rolling eyes smiley).
24 Aug 2012, 19:37 pm
@Jeraldjay-209:
good!
now if we can just have nz sorted out in the same way.
nothing more nothing less… just the laws, as they are, applied and if needs be a retroactive aplication for the last 10 or 15 years in light of the severity of the transgressions.
24 Aug 2012, 19:49 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-213:
Did they dance in the toilets?
Toilet Haka?
Sounds like the Village People Convention?
Kamate YMCA?
24 Aug 2012, 20:01 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-212:
Bakkies, ek weet nie hoekom hulle nog die haka toelaat nie, en as hulle doen hoekom die ander span vir hulle MOET kyk nie, jy mag ook nie nader loop of op hulle afstorm nie want dit is ook teen die reëls
Alweer die Anglo’s se “do as we say not as we do” reël
Die snaakste van alles is die bleekbene wat saam Haka, ek kan verstaan dat dit tradisioneel vir die Maoris is
Maar die Bleekbene?
Toe hulle die haka tweehonderjaar terug gedoen het was die Bleekbene se oupagrootjies ook daar, maar hulle het nie saamgeskrou en gedans nie, nee Boet hulle was op die menu
24 Aug 2012, 20:03 pm
Twnsaver 2 ply haka.Remembering Jerry Collins comfort break
kills a couple of birds with a single stone
Had to admire him for the gesture.Ultimate
contempt.Said more than the Haka ever could.
24 Aug 2012, 20:06 pm
@Puma-26: Thank your lucky stars, he is again.
I have read in planetrugby (have not verified myself though) Boks have won 11 from 12 Tests with him in charge.
24 Aug 2012, 20:16 pm
@victoriabok-215:
ja, hulle het die haka in die kaka gedoen
kan jy dit glo
24 Aug 2012, 20:24 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-219:
Kaal soos in die ou dae?
Ritchie was seker bly?
Het hulle handsakke saamgevat, jy onthou mos hoe Umanga en een van die ander AB’s mekaar ,met in ‘n kroeg met ‘n handsak gem oer het?
24 Aug 2012, 20:31 pm
@victoriabok-216:
nee vic, dit maak sin as jy oorweeg dat die bleekbene n hele ****** eiland in omruiling gekry het. al wat hulle doen is om so nou en dan saam met hulle te dans, n paar woorde in maori te sing en om vir hulle te vertel hulle is ‘equal’.
kak man.
ek bied vir jou aan dat tot die elke fokkenn laaste p/eilander, maori, samoan, tongaan (of wat ookal) wie vir die all blacks speel word ver minder as die bleekbene vir hulle dienste betaal.
wie die laaste lag…
24 Aug 2012, 20:40 pm
@victoriabok-220:
miskien ja, wie sal weet.
nee nie handsakke daardie keer nie, seker grimeer sakkies met lipstiek houers liewers
24 Aug 2012, 20:50 pm
ka mate, mate! ka ora!
grimeer sakkies en lipstiek houers wie het die swartste knaters en mooiste boude!
ka mate, mate! ka ora!
silly kiwis
24 Aug 2012, 20:59 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-223:
Bakkies you gesuip.
We only beat them once doing that “Throat Slitting Megamix Haka”… when Frans landed those 60m kicks.
Hopefully they’ll do that version at Soccercity.
24 Aug 2012, 21:00 pm
@Blitzbok-45:
the “fkin gaggle of headless chooks” have beaten the Springboks 6 times out of the last 7 whilst the “average” ABs have collected 7 of the previous 10 TriNs and a RWC.
Best you concentrate on simple targets for now, like avoiding the Wooden Spoon. Again.
24 Aug 2012, 21:09 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-223:
Hoekom skree die leier dit in die begin?
Miskien is dit hoekom hulle dit in die kleinhuisie doen?
Ringa pakia!
Slap the hands against the thighs!
(Kannie waggie)
Uma tiraha!
)
Puff out the chest.
(Minder krapmerke op die bors agterna
Turi whatia!
)
Bend the knees!
(Dat Ritchie kan bykom
Hope whai ake!
Let the hip follow!
(Onstpan die boude?)
Waewae takahia kia kino!
Stomp the feet as hard as you can!
(Carter het die Vaseline in Auckland vergeet?)
24 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
@The Donkeys Egg-225:
Thank you for putting us straight Donkey’s Balls
As you were
Stand down and return to Silver Fern
Hurry, you’re missing the daily discussion if the average Kiwi fan would prdefer to rather suck off Rithcie or fondle Dan’s balls
I know you’re the star contributor
24 Aug 2012, 21:17 pm
look at all the ignorants pouring scorn on anothers culture… where oh where have we seen that in SA before?
I guess not much has changed since the end of apartheid…
mores the pity…
24 Aug 2012, 21:22 pm
Victoriabok
Shut your gob before you choke on your foot
It their culture stop making fun of it
24 Aug 2012, 21:23 pm
@victoriabok-226: VB, you fcked in your head man
24 Aug 2012, 21:24 pm
@Heavens Game-230:
Better fcuked in the head, than “handbags” in the mens toilets eh?
24 Aug 2012, 21:26 pm
Best farken “respect” I heard for the Haka was an Italian business colleague…
They do-a that-a if I’m-a on the Field-a,
I turn-a my back-a, pull-a down-a my pants-a,
And I sh.it-a on the field-a…
24 Aug 2012, 21:27 pm
@victoriabok-231: A beaut… no doubt
24 Aug 2012, 21:29 pm
@Jeraldjay-224:
blegh i hope they lose
@victoriabok-226:

lmao
baie snaaks
24 Aug 2012, 21:30 pm
@Dawn-229:
Die Maori’s ja, die whitey’s dans maar net saam in die Mensvreter Tango
Hulle eintlike doel tydens die Haka was kos vir die paartie agterna
24 Aug 2012, 21:33 pm
@victoriabok-235: Fark me
That truly would have dunnit….
WW3 if the sheepshaggers had a translator…
24 Aug 2012, 21:33 pm
@poppa69-228:
come on pops, its just a return of service.
where’s the love
its your game, cant we play?
24 Aug 2012, 21:34 pm
@poppa69-228:
> I guess not much has changed since the end of apartheid…
How’s the Land Claims going in Kiwi?
Have the Whiteys returned some of it yet?
24 Aug 2012, 21:36 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-237: its no worries to me bakkies, I understand how much youre hurting and that you have to take swipes at anything you can to appease the vast emptiness you feel because of your bokkes lack of superiority..
Im just surprised that you havent done the same to the Fijian/Samoan/ Tonga hakas?
I mean, surely if you oppose one then you should oppose all?
or is it only the team that you guys lose 3 out of 4 tests to?
24 Aug 2012, 21:39 pm
@poppa69-239: Its because the LongPig Macarena has a special place in the hearts of Saffas…
Thats why.
24 Aug 2012, 21:41 pm
@Heavens Game-240: yawn, what rancid bait..
surely you can do better than that HG?
24 Aug 2012, 21:44 pm
@poppa69-239:
I guess the crowd is going to give the prodigal son a hard time tomorrow again? The aussies seem very vulnerable at the moment also missing many key players. I will be surprised if it’s not a bonus point win for the AB’s although I expect the Aussies to score a few tries as well in what probably will be a high scoring match.
What’s your take?
@victoriabok-235:
kamate , mate ka ora (kom, on is honger!)
kamate , mate ka ora (kom, ons is honger!)
Turi whatia! (roer jy die pot!)
kia pakeha oha! (voeg die bleekbene by!)
#240 Not cool man, the Haka is part of the game, makes rugby unique, what does it gain us to deface NZ? Will only make us seem more pathetic should they beat us, I am all for inilateral rrespect…
24 Aug 2012, 21:45 pm
@poppa69-241: Bait…? Come now Fatty… You dont need bait… But granted it was farken weak compared 20 Vic’s 235 Classic…
Fark, even I was offended
24 Aug 2012, 21:46 pm
Unilateral…farken iphone
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-243: Whoo ha! Hellsteeth
@poppa69-241:
Fark, its 05:00 in the morning on a Saturday, what you doing up.
24 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@poppa69-239:
to their credit pops, the pi’s only go in for the regular ‘fruity’ tackle and have nothing on you guys dishonesty wise.
but to answer your question, do i like it that we lose to you guys in such underhand circumstances so often..?.. no, of course not.
24 Aug 2012, 21:48 pm
@thesaint-244: Not cool you say? Farkoff man…
In the words of my Eyetie mate…
“I piss-a on-a the silverfern-a…”
Howzat for defacing
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 » Show All