ABs duo key in Wallabies drubbing
25 Aug 2012
GARETH DUNCAN watched Dan Carter and Sonny Bill Williams make telling contributions in the All Blacks’ 22-0 victory over the Wallabies at Eden Park.
On the back of an errant first-half performance, the All Blacks dominated the second stanza to clinch a comfortable win and the Bledisloe Cup for a 10th consecutive year.
The victors didn’t have the forwards dominance they enjoyed in Sydney last week, but they were the better team in general play and they capitalised on the Wallabies’ ill-discipline.
Carter and Williams should take most of the credit for this triumph, with the flyhalf starring with the boot and the latter playing a key role on attack.
Carter slotted six of his seven goal attempts, for a personal tally of 17 points (five penalties and one conversion). He also formed a dangerous combination with Williams, who troubled the Aussie defence regularly.
The All Blacks No 12 carried the ball strongly and offloaded superbly, and created most of his team’s try-scoring opportunities. While New Zealand failed to capitalise on these chances in the opening 40, Israel Dagg finished off a move started by the inside centre after the break.
It was Williams’ last Test before his move to Japan. He will be sorely missed as he’s grown into one of the best inside centres in world rugby. He’s become an important cog in the All Blacks line-up, especially with ball in hand. The experienced Conrad Smith should recover from an eye injury ahead of the Kiwis’ next Rugby Championship fixture against Argentina and is a quality player to fill in the midfield. But New Zealand rugby will poorer during Williams’ absence.
The Wallabies started well in the first quarter, with Michael Hooper a menace at the breakdowns, and the Australian heavies fronting up on attack and defence. But the visitors failed to convert this ascendancy into points.
The All Blacks then started controlling matters after a shaky showing in the first quarter. Williams starred on this platform and his fellow backs exposed the gaps in the opposition’s guard. However, they fell short on every occasion. Carter eventually opened the scoring with a 25th minute penalty.
The Wallabies suffered a major blow when Will Genia was yellow-carded for cynical play moments later. But despite having a one-man advantage, the All Blacks still couldn’t reach the whitewash. Instead, they scored two more penalties, which was enough for a 9-0 lead at half-time.
The All Blacks then sealed the match early in the second half. Dagg touched down five minutes after the restart, while Carter added the extras and kicked two penalties for a commanding advantage.
Game over.
The Wallabies were never going to score 20-plus points in the final quarter. They lacked creativity with possession, even with Quade Cooper’s inclusion, and their ploy to turn down kickable penalties to pursue the try saw them finish the match without any points on the scoreboard.
The winning margin could’ve been greater if the All Blacks had more composure during the dying stages. They made poor decisions and spilled the pill near the tryline. But nevertheless, the mission was accomplished in Auckland and this will be remembered as one of the Wallabies’ most embarrassing defeats.

403 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All
25 Aug 2012, 11:47 am
@Blitzbok-242:
Yeah, rebuilding here in Christchurch is going good.
Its not nice with the bunch of crosses still in cordoned off streets but if you find that funny then good on you.
25 Aug 2012, 11:47 am
Rugby-1 is such a modest name.
Check it out. Last year the Wobblies beat the Bokke three times and destroyed them at the RWC lottery.
The ab’s have thumped dingo’s cattle three times in a row. Mathematical prediction = Bokke in big big trouble. High degree of confidence that they will be metaphorically, destroyed
After today the Pumas must be a good bet to beat the wobblies at least once.
25 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
@poppa69-245:
SBW’s departure is massive. He worries me every time he get’s the ball.
I’m glad he’s going
25 Aug 2012, 11:48 am
@Blitzbok-248: run out of tik bru?
or are you on your second glass of whine?
25 Aug 2012, 11:49 am
Stupid decision making today from the Wobblies. Deans isn’t half the coach he was behind an offiside Crusaders pack. When he actually has to play within the rules it goes to pieces
@Rugby-1-247:

mate those Pumas seem to be able to pull the odd good game out against us.
They have been close a few times. we struggled here in NZ last meeting.
@Hondo-250: nah new zealand have a kak front row and no locks only one good loosies and one good half back no good centres and two average wings with one okay fullback. they have more to worry about in a fair fight but it wont ever be fair. all black set pieces are bullsh!t
25 Aug 2012, 11:50 am
Wow!!! 22-0… Haven’t ever picture the ozzies gettin a zero… Its done and dusted… Monday its going to be the sacking of deans and co… Only positive out it was for that hooper lad… What a briliant replacement for pocky… O connor is being missed so is horwill… Timani was outstanding but the worlds most devestating brilliant marvelous best team is will and always going to be the allblacks… Their execution is the best in all aspects of their game… I see my boks coming second best already!!! (Stressed face)
@Hurricane-251: bwahahahahahaahha!!! stupid kiwi *** mule
@londonshark-253: yeah, really disappointed we are losing him, has started to put the promise together and doing the basics right.. but think he will be back after his stint for the roosters
you can tell we miss the influence of Conrad in the backline, think we may have scored a few more tries if he was playing..
25 Aug 2012, 11:51 am
@AiDoc-252:
WTF? Modest name – think maybe you are reading a little more into my Nic try lighten up a bit its the weekend ffs
Yeah the Wobblies really destroyed us at the WC – maybe destroy means something different in your language. But hey lets wait and see what happens, everything else is BS until then
25 Aug 2012, 11:51 am
@londonshark-253: $onny bill will.i.arent aint a worry that stupid fool isnt half te player nonu is. we’ll ffuk his **** right up.
25 Aug 2012, 11:53 am
@londonshark-253:
Glad he is going too, just seems to be getting better & better. Don;t understand his logic though (apart from $$$ obviously) – he could achieve so much in Union and surely the endorsements from that alosn would be worth more than anything he can earn elsewhere.Good luck to him though, nice to have such a talent that you can go wherever you want with it
25 Aug 2012, 11:54 am
Australian media is Back line happy as well. Those daisy pickers should only be a side note of what the forwards achieve up front. Mental application is lacking and the fire and brimstone start fizzles out after the initial how’s your fathers. When they kick, it seems like it’s the only option. Rather than chance their luck, but then again, when your pack is M.I.A. then it’s the only option.
25 Aug 2012, 11:55 am
@londonshark-253:
haha i bet.
I dont think he is glad though, but i am sure his bank balance well change his mind on that one.
25 Aug 2012, 11:55 am
Oh and Deans must surely be in the last chance saloon now – Aus seem to have regressed badly although they have a serious mental block against NZ so maybe not fair to judge them too soon
25 Aug 2012, 11:56 am
Why are the jaapies so angry? I saw more calm at londonderry.
25 Aug 2012, 11:57 am
where is my mate HG? shame he wouldnt take the bet
he was right though, there was a gold rush happening, but not the type he envision..
25 Aug 2012, 12:00 pm
@kaksioek-244: Probably, but I will not be surprised if it was Jake.
25 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@267 I meant sharpeville not londonderry
25 Aug 2012, 12:02 pm
@poppa69-268:
He was just trolling dude, we knew it
Reasons as to why when you called his bluff he didnt take the bet
25 Aug 2012, 12:03 pm
Looked for blatant cheating first 20 minutes.Saw none so settled
down to watch a brilliant team.
Read gave a masterclass in 8th man play.
Well played All Blacks .
25 Aug 2012, 12:03 pm
@Puma-269:
I think Deans has ruined it for the foreigners
25 Aug 2012, 12:04 pm
@Hurricane-271: I know mate, just found it funny… do you think hes in Nice or Paris at this moment
25 Aug 2012, 12:04 pm
yep the wallabies dont seem to have a clue … i dont know whats more shocking the fact that they are currently ranked number 2 or that the boks are somehow ranked below them at 3.
Deans was doing the business with the Crusaders because of the personnel he had at his disposal . man for man the Aussies cant match the the ABs.Hopefully the boks can.
Is Maa nonu even still interested in playing rugby he’s not the force he used to be ,that and SBW’s departure are good news for the boks but now on the downside they’ll have to contend with combo
10 Cruden
12 Carter
13 Nonu *smith
25 Aug 2012, 12:07 pm
@boktillzero-275: I’d like to see the Cruden/Carter/Smith option, but dont think Shag will opt that way when we meet the boks..
can just piture Alberts and co running at Crudens channel all day..
thought Vito looked good when he came on, agree with ryecatcher re Read, best 8 man in the World at the moment imo.. also thought Messam had a good game
25 Aug 2012, 12:10 pm
@poppa69-274:
25 Aug 2012, 12:13 pm
Well played ABs. Methinks Deans will have his 1st and last RC in one.
25 Aug 2012, 12:14 pm
Is keo writing SBW’s autobiography? Because the last time one player got such praise on this site, Butch James’ bio saw the light and was excessively marketed months after its publication… I remember the articles… Butch is the man who will win us the WC, reliable sources close to the bok camp suggest that Butch has been promised the starting flyhalve berth at the WC…
25 Aug 2012, 12:15 pm
Why would you play the world’s best 10 and 12 out of position? When Snake comes back we will see a very different backline. The Pumas will wish SBW was still playing. SBW had a good game today and snake/ma’a is a far superior combination.
the forwards were good today but my man of the match was the kiwi no 7 He gave genius a lesson; and not just in manners.
Interesting also was that last week sbw was tackled to the ground so dingo dropped the tackler. This week the tackles were higher and less effective.
25 Aug 2012, 12:16 pm
@thesaint-279: Damn those reliable sources, damn them to hell!!!!
25 Aug 2012, 12:17 pm
well done AB’s not a great game?? but did what they had to.
Aussies option taking is woeful, Yeah this will shock some and even though he has his moments of brilliance??? Genia makes a huge amount of mistakes and many times is at the head of those poor options taken
25 Aug 2012, 12:20 pm
Genia is getting too big for the game, especially in his own mind. A lot of arrogance from the Queenslanders these days…
25 Aug 2012, 12:21 pm
@sharks_lover-282: Have to agree. Not taking points in a test match is criminal. You will hardly EVER see the ABs take the other option, unless they are miles ahead or in search of a bonus point etc. Kicks win matches.
To score 0 is tragic.
25 Aug 2012, 12:23 pm
@londonshark-236: We should beat them on at FNB. That is if we don’t pick up any big injuries from here on. Also we have a slight advantage there. They still in Arg the previous week playing on the Sunday and we here home playing at Loftus against Oz on the Saturday. We have the extra day to recover and they only 6 days until they play us and still have to travel from Arg to Joburg. Also FNB at altitude. So yip I think that we could beat them there. Even with our kicking crash ball game plan.
25 Aug 2012, 12:29 pm
@goyougoodthing2-284: exactly, but not only the Going for poles, just in general , holding on when he should be sending out a fast ball, not kicking when he should etc
25 Aug 2012, 12:29 pm
ABs actually weren’t that impressive…
The truth is, the Wobblies were utter and unmitigated shy.te…
They look confused and demoralised… a rabble.
Boks and even Pumas are better, more disciplined sides than the Golden boys.
But well done to the ABs… They can only play whats in front of them. And a win is a win…
But my goodness, if the Boks dont slaughter these Ozzie fools then Heyneke and JdV need to hand up the boots and take up knitting.
25 Aug 2012, 12:30 pm
I would be a whole lot more confident if Bissie was not out injured when we face the Blacks in Dunedin. Strauss is very good but not in the same class as Bissie.
Just hope that Alberts stays injury free.
Wonder if Meyer might bring back Brussow? I know he is injured but think by the time we travel to Oz he will be over that injury.
Coetzee
Brussow
Sounds good to me that loose trio. Without Bissie last week we struggled at the breakdowns against Arg. Hope we protect our ball better there tonight.
25 Aug 2012, 12:31 pm
@ 283.thesaint
Hard to be humble when you are heavenly one day perfect the next. Top state in cricket, state of origin, rugby, and percentage of nazis in parliament. Our premier also used to run duntroon which it is said, has gone to bug.g.ery and leads the country in mindless sexism.
25 Aug 2012, 12:31 pm
@Puma-285:
Puma where exactly will you better on the park when you play the Ab’s at FNB?
25 Aug 2012, 12:32 pm
Actually when Keegan went off and Potgieter came on think we struggled more so at the breakdowns.
If Keegan comes on for Pogieter later in the game today, think Meyer should play him at openside.
25 Aug 2012, 12:33 pm
aaron smith outplayed genia…straight up
25 Aug 2012, 12:34 pm
@Puma-288: Brussow is a must, HM must surely start getting his locks to hit rucks which would loosen up his loose forwards to a degree, Specially Bekker
Sharks were succesful with a far smaller loose trio because the locks giy the collusion points etc
Thus Daniel is the player he is, Bekker and Etsebeth cannot afford to play as loose as they tend to do, not with the HM game plan
25 Aug 2012, 12:35 pm
@NZINCHINA-290: With our kicking game…….. bwaaaaaaaaaaahaaaaaaaaaaaa. Even I have to laugh at that. Sad man, hope we can play better than just kick and kick and crash ball it up.
Look your guys will be tired and have a day less to recover than us. Blacks have to travel here from Arg and we already here at home. Altitude too. Think we could beat your boys at FNB. Even if we kick most of the game. Remember our kicking game is way, way better than what Oz were trying to do today, they were totally clueless. Anyhow think that could be our chance to beat ABs.
25 Aug 2012, 12:35 pm
If you th!nk that Bjorn Basson strength !s pluck?ng the h!gh out of m!d a!r then Dagg and Jane are Jed!-Kn!ghts at th!s art.
The k!ck chase w!ll not work aga!nst these guys they thr!ve under those cond!t!ons. Even !f the k!ck !s accurate a metre outs!de the!r 22,
SKOP EN JAG WILL NOT WORK.
25 Aug 2012, 12:36 pm
Sorry forgot to add, also people musnt forget the role bissy plays as a fetcher and how he hits rucks etc,
25 Aug 2012, 12:38 pm
@Jeraldjay-295: No we need to keep ball in hand, it matters not if its for 50 phases, but at the same time you dont do that in your 22, so get position and keep the damn ball
25 Aug 2012, 12:39 pm
Well done All Blacks, Once again clinical and ruthless, not sure about the sin binn for Genia or some of the other penalty decisions. Having said that I’m proud of the effort out there today, make no mistake Saffas this is one damm talented all black team, your books will have to play at their very best to even have a chance and even then it might not be enough, some good players coming through for us, once again the world champs are looking the goods
25 Aug 2012, 12:41 pm
I love how confident you guys are, I just hope your team matches your mouths
25 Aug 2012, 12:44 pm
@SAussie/QldRed-299: hard luck mate, your team tried hard but they seem to lack real direction on attack at the moment… time for Deans to go you think?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 » Show All