Bulls batter Sharks

SIMON BORCHARDT reports on the Blue Bulls’ 42-31 win against the Sharks at Loftus Versfeld.

The Bulls had been badly affected by flu during the week, but the 22 that made it on to the field more than did the job. Flyhalf Louis Fouché contributed 27 points with the boot, with nine successful attempts out of nine, while flanker CJ Stander was impressive with ball in hand. The only disappointment, from the hosts’ point of view, was that they weren’t able to get the bonus point for four tries in the final 10 minutes of the game.

Two penalties from Fouché gave the Bulls a 6-0 lead as they aimed to spread the ball wide in the opening quarter (the Sharks were forced to make 21 tackles, and missed five).

But the visitors edged in front when an up and under from flyhalf Riaan Viljoen saw fullback Louis Ludik regain possession near the Bulls’ 22 and offload to Steven Sykes. The second rower was brought to ground just before the line but gave the try-scoring pass to flanker Jean Deysel.

Fouché made it 9-8 soon after with his third penalty and then slotted a 53m drop goal.

The Sharks then regained the lead when scrumhalf Charl McLeod scored on the stroke of half-time. The TMO ruled that the final pass, from Sykes, had not gone forward, although the Loftus crowd obviously disagreed.

Fouché kicked another two penalties early in the second half and Viljoen one, before the Bulls extended their lead to eight points with a long-range try that saw winger Akona Ndungane put Stander away.

The Sharks struck back immediately through centre Marius Joubert, but Fouché’s sixth penalty and tries to replacement loose forward Arno Botha (after another strong run from Stander) and inside centre Francois Venter put the result beyond doubt.

While the Bulls couldn’t get the bonus-point try the Sharks did, when Akona Ndungane scored after the full-time hooter.

149 Comments

• 1.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Mcleod has been useless so far

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sadie is pants

• 3.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-1: The fullstrength Sharks has some kak players like McCloed and…. That’s it.

Maybe Jannie but by SA standard he’s good. I thought those no-name brand locks would be kak but they work bloody hard.

Oh and of course Pat Bieber is average ;)

• 4.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Sadie is pants?

What does that mean

• 5.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Nice to see Sadie back at this level- he is too good a player to be written off, I have no doubt he will be a contender for higher honours some time in future again.

• 6.nama1: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-1:
    But you Banana boys wanted him in the Bok team just a few weeks ago,

• 7.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

any links? vip only has one and I can’t get it working

• 8.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-6: Not gonna respond to that kinbd of rubbish anymore as i know it aint true, what what ever tickles you fancy

• 9.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Sharks making to many mistakes

• 10.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sadie is still pants

• 11.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-4:
    not good

• 12.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

tryyyyyyy Deysel

• 13.cab: Reply to this comment

Saarks r getting drilled – this could get bad

oops typo

• 14.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-4:
    dont know where i got it.
    think i picked it up here.

• 15.Robzim: Reply to this comment

The Steenkamp brothers are journeymen in the true Cobus Grobbelaar tradition.

• 16.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

I wish I knew what you guys were talking about. I’ll accept the resultant slagging off.

• 17.cab: Reply to this comment

Oh sit – thought I’d managed to piss the racists and non-racists off in equal quantites – saarks back innit

• 18.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-4:
    It means Sponge Bob Square pants

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

mcloed is long pants

• 20.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@cab-13: Ash commentating again?

• 21.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-19:
    Sounds like and Indian Chief Mcloadlongpants

• 22.cab: Reply to this comment

20 tassietas – one of the greatest – pity about his injury that bugger in his peak was the best winger in the world – and jakey was deadright about that

• 23.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@cab-17: its Ashwin

• 24.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Bulls playing much better today. Just the Sharks luck….

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

how very kiwi

• 26.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Winesy83-7:
    Yeah Vip is not working
    Did you find another link?

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

gawd i hope this doesn’t creep into the game locally

• 28.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-26: cricfree.tv/sky-sports-4.php

• 29.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-21:
    haha

• 30.grant100: Reply to this comment

Paul jordaan high on durban poison

• 31.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-28:
    Thanks

• 32.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-26: Sky actually lost their picture but it is back. So VIP is probably working again.

• 33.cab: Reply to this comment

Bakkies se groet koeksister – I hope gawd doesn’t creep into your game lately

• 34.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@cab-22: well I dunno about the greatest but certainly one to remember. I enjoy his new public persona. I think he presents himself bloody well.

• 35.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this is winning rugby

• 36.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-32:
    Ok cause i never did get a picture on your other link
    Where are you?

• 37.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cab-33:
    blocking and obstructive running is cowardly
    why do it?

• 38.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

drop goals from deep is certainly a tactic i hope the boks will utilise in the anzac games.

demoralises

• 39.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-36: Norway. You ?

• 40.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Forward?

• 41.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Republic of California

• 42.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

and this folks is a very poor use of the new tmo extended law regulations.

• 43.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

absolute shameful by the tmo

• 44.cab: Reply to this comment

34 tassies – for 1 year he was the best wing in the world easily

• 45.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Sharks were very lucky- first obstructive running missed by the ref and then a very lucky TMO call on the forward pass. But thats how it goes, if it is your day then it’s your day.

• 46.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

we lucky with that try, surely a forward pass???

• 47.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Robzim-45:
    it disgusts me that they’ve picked up the blocking habit from the kiwis.
    i blame the coach.

• 48.grant100: Reply to this comment

Tmo is correct…. It did NOT go forward out of the hands… Only afterwards…. Saw the same today with nz games…. 4 or 5 times…. Its not forward pass per the rules

• 49.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-46:
    Thought so to

• 50.grant100: Reply to this comment

If they start calling that forward, nz will never score any tries

• 51.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-47:Take off your blue glasses. The pass wasn’t forward gwarra. You’ve been suiping too much of that Pretoria karate water….

• 52.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@grant100-48:
    Often you can tell if the passers hands are angled either back, flat, or forward

• 53.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-51:
    it can be argued either way but i will concede it.

do you have a problem with the obstruction?

• 54.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-47: Rather be disgusted in yourself. Once a proud supporter of a champion quality team. Now a whining little schoolyard b!tch supporting a mid table quality outfit.

• 55.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Even ex shark Joel”I kicked a drop” Stransky said it was forward. Nuff said

• 56.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-53: The obstruction was called wasn’t it ? Stop being such a ****** cry baby. Bulls might still win this game.

• 57.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-55: The Pretoria crowd building a database of excuses ?

• 58.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

fouche’s mental toughness is getting better and better.
    he will be on the bok radar pretty soon no doubt.

• 59.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

I like this new law of the Scrum half having to play the ball quickly at rucks
    England will have to re think their game plan with this new change :)

• 60.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Louis Fouche to have a Bles Bridges or Ge Kotslik song dedicated to him if the Bulls win this game.

• 61.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-56:
    they deserve to
    they are the better side so far

• 62.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-57:
    not at all i really couldnt give a ***** just nursing a beer till the real game starts

• 63.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-61: I agree. BTW – was that penalty kick forward ?

• 64.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-62: Don’t nurse beer. It gets warm and goes flat.

• 65.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-62: pretty much how I feel. Although substitute that beer for something more refinely produced.

• 66.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

brilliant

brilliant

• 67.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

For me the Currie Cup has no partisanship. Its more about looking for future AB killers. Id be just as happy with a Bulls win as a Sharks, but that was a jolly good bulls try

• 68.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-57: spoken too soon it seems

• 69.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-58:
    With all due respect we cant go saying a fly half will be bok potential just because he can kick a rugby ball a mile

• 70.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-57: They sure are. And they are doing a fine job. They seem to have learnt from the best…..’travel, injuries, travel, more injuries, travel, travel, travel, the ref, travel, travel, travel, the ref, travel travel and justforthefuckofit more travel.

Their excuses are actually pretty legit in comparison. Obstruction, forward pass = try. Added to 22 players with flu, who were denied the chance to play when healthy at a later date.

That said, this Bresler fellow looks as though he should be in cage with the likes of you….
    Grrrrrrrrr tiger tiger? MMA muddafuckers with head injuries….

Oooops? The Kung FLU fighting Bulls sneezed their way to a beaut of a score.

• 71.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Nice try Bulls !

• 72.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-59: howzit Pete? Enjoying the summer boet?

• 73.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-65:
    Likewise but already getting daggers from the missus and she is definitely counting the bottle tops.
    Note to self buy bigger bottles

• 74.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sadie you chop!

• 75.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-68: Which Currie Cup team do you support ?

• 76.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-72:
    Howzit yes thanks been busy with work and we have had some hot days
    Have you seen Peter or Rob lately?

• 77.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-63:
    which one? serioiusly, there’s been so many penalties given on both sides.

@CoachPete-69:
    no coach, he’s good… he realy is good. he’s all round game has grown so much this season. clearly has put a lot of work in since last season.

i really think he’s there or there abouts on the bok radar atm.

• 78.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this game is exciting

very good by both sides

still anyone’s game

• 79.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-78:
    decent game of rugby yes
    Dam feed has gone again :(

• 80.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@DEE DAH-73: The missus will ‘count you out’ if given the incentive. And sadly, she wont need a mere bottle top as a catalyst to motivate this option. ;)

• 81.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-79: google ‘sentanta’ live rugby streaming. The game is on Sky 4

• 82.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-81:
    I moved to the 2nd stream and it works ok

• 83.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-79:
    flip sorry man

its a ciffhanger

• 84.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-75: well Dusky you’re placing me on the firing line mate but to be honest, I’ve been a Province supporter since I was first able to wet a nappy.

• 85.carol: Reply to this comment

Come on you Bulls…..

I might even try to find a stream for this! :-)

• 86.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-84:

‘Wet a nappy’, you have a way with words Tassies!

• 87.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

brilliant!
    brilliant
    !

brillliaant!

• 88.carol: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-82:

Hiya Coach, how is it going?

• 89.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

beautiful use of the up under from the base of a ruck
    text book
    graet follow up and contest for the high ball

incredbile passes and offlaobd

brilliabnt

brilliant
    !!!!11!

brilliantr
    Q

• 90.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@carol-88:
    Going well How are you ?

• 91.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

the bulls are beating the sharks with the same style of rugby thet used to beat the liobns

• 92.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-76: Neither Pete. But I might get lucky and crack a ride with Rob one day, in his back yard, the Durbanville hills. In fact, I’ve just packed my kit to do it with a friend first thing tomorrow morning. Rob is a younger and fitter specimen than this aging body but we get to the top and back in good time, beating a lot of kids, which is always encouraging.

• 93.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

bulls have everything wotking for the mtonight

• 94.carol: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-90:
    No complaints, actually that is a lie….but I will not bore you!! :-)

• 95.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol-86: hullo Carol. Good to catch up with an old friend. Are you visiting Keo often or is this just good timing as usual?

• 96.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

bulls need to slow it down and dictate tempo

• 97.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Moer hulle Bulls

• 98.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

oh my gawddddd!!!!!!

beeyooootifu;lQ@@!!!!

rugby!!!!!!!

skitterend!!!

skitterend!!!!!

• 99.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@carol-94:
    You can bore me :)

Bulls have played well and run the ball well Good to see

• 100.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

well that’s about it then. Give away a turnover and expect dammage. Bulls have probably got this one.

• 101.grant100: Reply to this comment

Bok flyhalves……

Goosen
    Steyn
    Lambie
    Fouche
    Webster ….. In that order

• 102.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Am loving this

• 103.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

this is total rugby!!!!!

winning rugby!!!!

• 104.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@grant100-101:
    No Jantjies?

• 105.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The Sharks must be kidding themselves to come to Loftus with that Line up
    Where did they get those guys from?

• 106.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-98: relax Baks. You’ll have a hernia boet. Deep breaths. I know it doesn’t happen often. Enjoy it while you can.

• 107.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-95:

Ha, waiting for guests to arrive for the holiday weekend. So thought as I waited I would see what Keo buddies were about!

• 108.grant100: Reply to this comment

Coachpete… Webster is jantjies…..

• 109.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Moer hulle Blommetjies

• 110.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@grant100-108:
    Ok sorry Nik names dont reach us here in Cali

• 111.carol: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-99:
    Coach it is all weather/harvest/moans…..We farmers really know how to moan!

Scuse me, Robzim calling ‘off line’… :-)

• 112.grant100: Reply to this comment

Hono..i agree… Plum high on durban poison again…

• 113.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No more than their crappy shorkshit supporters deserve.

• 114.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol-107: and then you found out. Waiting in keen anticipation. You guys put on a mighty fine spectacle the other week. You weren’t around for me to pass on my appreciation. Well bloody done you and your fellow Poms. not going to be easily surpassed.
    You planning to visit us again sometime soon?

• 115.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Bulls playing great rugby it must be said.

• 116.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-106:

i’m so fokkenn opgewonde but it was a good game to watch
    mostly positive rugby with a willingness to run
    very entertaining

• 117.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol-111: special treatment then? ;)

• 118.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@carol-111:
    Cant do much about the weather But its not pleasant

• 119.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Dawn?

You having a poppa moment?

• 120.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-116: for a change I have to say. But yes. Bulletjies playing the more enterprising rugby for sure.

• 121.grant100: Reply to this comment

Based on this performance…ep kings will kill this sharks team…..!!!

• 122.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Well done bulls

• 123.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

attack has been sublime

but defence has been monumental

even ‘granitic’ tonight :lol:

• 124.grant100: Reply to this comment

The bulls scrumhalf is more muscular than dale chadwick…..

• 125.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-120:
    Just shows us what they can do when they do play like this

• 126.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-119: Dawn has plenty of moments. Occasionally its a Poppa.

• 127.carol: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-114:
    WRS enjoyed a day at Lords watching your boys play ours. Shame Cardiff was a bit of a washout tho.

I am contemplating a 3rd Argus, I have to convince Robzim that he will cycle with me again, a bit of nightmare for him as he is about 4 times faster than me!! lol :-)

We will see.

• 128.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

no try

• 129.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete-125: huge depth Pete.

• 130.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Nice one odwa

• 131.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

well there you go then. On the final button. Too late Joze.

• 132.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-120:

but yes, its been a great game of rugby.

• 133.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Congrats Bulls, good win, best team on the day won

• 134.rangerman: Reply to this comment

Agreed. A great game.

• 135.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-134: both sides have good youngsters coming through

Happy we got thaT BONUS POINT

• 136.Dawn: Reply to this comment

No Ranger. Nothing against you. Just a few of your “comrades”

Well done Bulls. There is justice.

• 137.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@carol-127: I am about 4 times slower than Rob I’m sure. Wasn’t planning. but can always change than plan for a damsel in distress. I prefer the mountains but the Argus is different.
    I would have given my back legs to have joined WRS at Lords. A special moment. A special place.

• 138.Humphrey: Reply to this comment

At least WP didn’t win this weekend.

• 139.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Dawn-136:

• 140.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Oh and well played Lions

• 141.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ok folks,

time to switch over to the bok game

hope they are bullish tonight :lol:

• 142.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

Eshwin you beauty. Same about the Saaaaks then hey.

• 143.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Humphrey-138: Humphrey go and sit in your corner.

• 144.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Well played Bulle !

• 145.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES-143:

• 146.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dusky-144: Dusky mate, that was a damn nice game of Rugga, no matter we lost, Bulls were deserved winners, thought our youngsters did well to stay in the match and get that 4th try bonus point

• 147.grant100: Reply to this comment

Sharks had 2 many white players….

• 148.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

Really nice of Akona (who plays for the Bulls – Simon) to score a try for the Sharks giving them the bonus point.

• 149.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Bulls played really well. To be honest, I kind of thought the Sharks would take this one with relative ease when comparing the Sharks form in their games against the Lions last week vs. the Bulls form in their game against the Cheetahs.

So – well done Bulls for lifting their game. Sharks will need to think about some more ‘development’ or perhaps opening the cheque book for some new front row forwards and also I never want to see Marius Joubert in a Sharks jersey again. Ever.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.