Cheetahs rally past Griquas

GARETH DUNCAN watched the Free State Cheetahs put in a strong second-half performance to beat Griquas 29-16 in Kimberley .

The victors were second best in the opening 40 as Griquas dominated the first half with a stronger forwards display. Flyhalf Johan Goosen opened the scoring on the half-hour mark, converting a penalty on his third attempt. But the Kimberley union crossed the chalk on two occasions thereafter, via and lock Logtoring Landman and wing Rocco Jansen.

Free State levelled matters at 10-10 just before the break as flank Lappies Labuschagne dotted down on the stroke of half-time.

The South African rugby fraternity will be happy that Goosen managed to get in 50 minutes under the belt, in his first appearance since suffering a serious shoulder injury midway through Super Rugby. He missed a few goal attempts and made a few errors, but also showed signs that he’ll be back to his top form sooner than expected.

Following the youngster’s substitution, Free State ran in three tries to seal a useful bonus-point triumph. wing Raymond Rhile, flank Franjs Viljoen and scrumhalf Sarel Pretorius touched down as the Cheetahs surged to victory.

Griquas only added two penalties via flyhalf Francois Brummer.

87 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

Hope J Goosen does enough to get HM attention…

• 2.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@grant10-1:
    here’s to hoping he just gets through a good 40 to 60 minutes injury free.
    dont think they should push him a full 80.

• 3.cane: Reply to this comment

Go the Cheats.

These Griqua’s are the filthiest Team that has ever………………………….EVER…………………..Ever,
    ………… walked the face of this God’s Green Earth.
    .EVER.

• 4.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

stay on your side of the line, caner :grin:
    this is cc rugby… good, honest rugby…

i didnt watch your game but can only assume it went to the usual script, blegh

i will grudgingly accept watching them when the boks play… but only cos its the boks..

• 5.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@cane-3: You watch a lot of CC?

We’re flattered!

I saw Reetchie was his usual, ‘roll away means lie on the ball’ self today :D

But no doubt he’s awesome. Will be a miracle if anyone beats them this year, although it always happens once!

• 6.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

what a bad start to the game, cheetahs
    kak pass to goosen from sarel.

• 7.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-4:

“……..i will grudgingly accept watching them when the boks play…….”.

Don’t bother Bakkies.

It will only cause you much pain and auguish.

AB’s are on a roll.

• 8.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Excited to watch Goosen My Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!

http://www.vipbox.tv/watch/69610/1/griquas-vs-free-state-cheetahs-live-stream-online.html

• 9.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

@Spiesisworthless1-8: My booooooyyyyyyy^

• 10.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

lots of local (those of questionable allegiance probably) corksucking and mutual maturbation of the kiwis on the other thread i see.
    took a quick glance
    just to confirm my disgust

• 11.cane: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-5:

Our Ritchie had a magnifique game Bagel.

The Old Dog still has a few tricks up his sleeve.

I take it from your post that The Griqua’s are still feral.

• 12.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-7:
    this isn’t about the all blacks (spit, hawk, gob, spit, clear throat spit)… caner… this is about the boks…

:cool:

• 13.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-10:
    Hmmm took a look over here and saw nothing but a load of cr@p. Then i read Canes posts which bought the thread back to life, such a truthful person is our Cane…. unlike some ( points at Bakkies )

• 14.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

**** penalty

• 15.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-14:
    is someone cheating?

• 16.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs haven’t caught a ball yet!

• 17.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-13:
    good day to you too caner,
    enjoying your shallow victory? :grin:

stick around there’s some good clean honest rugger on
    goosen’s back from injury, we’ll see how it goes

• 18.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-17:
    sorry, i meant hurricaner and not caner :grin:

• 19.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-15:
    not as far as i can tell
    just poor passes and dropped catches
    a srappy start and first 10 min

• 20.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

forward pass

and blown correctly

as expected

• 21.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-18:

Hey Bakkies,

i think NZ can go through this whole Rugby Championship thingy UNDEFEATED.

How cool would that be.

• 22.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

sarel pretorius underwhelms me

• 23.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-21:
    dont think so cane, think they’ll lose to the boks away. and i’m hopeful meyer will pull off an upset and ping you away too.

• 24.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

goosen just attempted a 68 meter penalty and missed

• 25.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-23:
    lose to the boks at home.

• 26.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

what a great day and night of rugby ahead

griquas – cheetahs

lions – wp

bulls – sharks

pumas – boks

nice :cool:

• 27.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

30 min no score

penalty cheetahs in good positon

• 28.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-24: short or wide?

• 29.Winesy83: Reply to this comment

short

• 30.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

goosen charge down
    too sloppy and slow son

• 31.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-26:

You Saffa’s should get 3 out of 4 there anyway.

Chin up.

• 32.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-28:
    short but it didnt look like he struck it well
    also very windy

• 33.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

try griquas

• 34.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@cane-31: I see what you did there, sharp ne.

• 35.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

mmm, Goosen not playing great missing tackles,

• 36.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

try cheetahs

• 37.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

10-10 half time

• 38.cane: Reply to this comment

These Kimberly Okes will be over confident at half time.

Cheats to win by 12.

• 39.cane: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-34:
    Not really Bagel.
    ‘)

• 40.grant100: Reply to this comment

The wonderkind goosen a bit rusty…. This guy will be the best rugby player ever…. The schumacher, bolt, federer, tendulkar of rugby

• 41.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-31:
    nerver gonna happen, caner

pasop jy byt nie jou stert vas soos jy dit heen en weer waai ou vriend.
    (careful you dont bite your tail as you wag it to and fro old friend).

smugness, if you’re smart comes later

• 42.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant100-40: Rusty my ***, when Lambie came back from injury etc he copped a huge amount of flack

• 43.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

chetahs should press in the 2nd

• 44.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

ja, goosen very rusty

to be fair it was a long layoff

• 45.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant100-40: Goosen is a good player, no denying that, but he is yet to play the big league where one can test his mental strength as well as test like defense etc,

• 46.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

am pooping out for some supplies
    chat later boys

• 47.MADaboutrugby: Reply to this comment

A SPRINGBOK MUST LEARN TO STAND AND WALK BEFORE HE CAN RUN

HI TO MY FELLOW RUGBY GURU’S, LOVERS AND REALISTS, I KNOW THERE ARE MANY OF YOU.

I COULDN’T HELP NOTICING THAT MANY WERE SUPRISED ABOUT AUSTRALIA GETTING HAMMERED IN THIS GAME, ESPECIALLY THE AUSTRALIAN RUGBY EXPERTS. HERE IS A REALITY CHECK, IT’S NOT JUST THE FACT THAT THE ALL BLACKS ARE SO INCREDIBLY GOOD, BUT ALSO A RESULT OF THE AUSSIES BEING SO INCREDIBLY BAD AT THE MOMENT. AUSTRALIAN TEAMS AND MOST PLAYERS WERE TERRIBLE IN THE SUPER15 AND THIS WAS MERELY A CONTINUATION OF THAT FORM, NO ROCKET SCIENCE, JUST PLAINLY OBVIOUS. AFTER WATCHING THE SUPER15, COULD YOU REALLY EXPECT ANYTHING LESS THAN A DRUBBING TODAY? MAYBE IF YOU A DIE HARD AUSSIE SUPPORTER BLINDED BY YOUR SUPPORT FOR YOUR COUNTRY THEN YES. BUT TO ME, IF ANYTHING I WAS SURPRISED THE ALL BLACKS DIDN’T WIN BY MORE. SO, ARE THE ALL BLACKS BEATABLE? OF COURSE THEY ARE. THAT IS IF YOU KNOW WHAT I KNOW. PLEASE NOTE I USE THE WORD KNOW NOT BELIEVE OR BELIEF AS I AM STATING A FACT BASED ON KNOWLEDGE OF OUR PLAYERS AND CURRENT FORM AND THIS IS NOT A MATTER OF OPINION AS IS THE CASE WITH BELIEF.

SO WHAT DOES THE SUPER15 AND THE FORM OF PLAYERS WHO PLAYED IN THE SUPER15 TELL US ABOUT THE REST OF THE RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP? FIRST OF ALL IT TELLS US THAT THERE ARE ONLY 2 TEAMS REALLY COMPETING HERE. THE ALL BLACKS AND THE BOKS. IT TELLS US THAT THE AUSSIES BASED ON CURRENT FORM WILL HAVE TO BE CAREFUL OF NOT ENDING 4TH BEHIND THE PUMAS. IT ALSO TELLS US THAT EVEN THOUGH ROBBIE DEANS IS NOT THE RIGHT COACH FOR THE AUSSIES (ONLY BECAUSE HE IS NOT AUSTRALIAN), THAT IT IS NOT BY ANY MEANS HIS FAULT THAT THE AUSSIES WERE SO POOR IN THEIR OPENING GAMES OF THE CHAMPIONSHIP AS ALL THE AUSSIE TEAMS BAR ONE OR TWO PLAYERS WERE SIMILARLY POOR DURING IN THE SUPER15.

FURTHERMORE, IT TELLS US HOW IMPORTANT HOME GAMES ARE AND EVEN MORE IMPORTANT WINNING AWAY FROM HOME. IF THE BOKS WIN THE GAME AGAINST THE ALL BLACKS ON THE 15TH OF SEPTEMBER IN DUNEDIN, THEY WILL WIN THE FIRST RUGBY CHAMPIONSHIP. THAT’S A CALCULATED PREDICTION BASED ON CURRENT FORM, AND A VERY REAL CHANCE OF IT HAPPENING IF CERTAIN THINGS HAPPEN THE WAY THEY SHOULD BE HAPPENING. BELIEVE ME WHEN I SAY THAT THE BOKS CAN EASILY WIN AGAINST THE ALL BLACKS IN DUNEDIN IF ONLY THEY KNOW WHAT I KNOW. THEY HAVE THE PLAYERS TO DO SO. THE QUESTION OF COURSE IS NOT IF I KNOW IT OR NOT BUT RATHER IF THE BOK PLAYERS DO. AND FOR THOSE WHO WILL ALLOW THEMSELVES TO GO DEEPER INTO THE RABIT HOLE HEAR ME WHEN I SAY THAT IF THE BOKS PLAY FOR 80 MINUTES LIKE THEY PLAYED THAT BRILLIANT FIRST 40 MINUTES IN THAT ONE GAME AGAINST ENGLAND THEN THE BOKS WILL NOT ONLY WIN IN DUNEDIN BUT ACTUALLY HAMMER THE ALL BLACKS BY MORE POINTS THAN THE ALL BLACKS PUT OVER AUSTRALIA TODAY EVEN IF THE ALL BLACKS ARE AT THEIR BEST. TRUST ME. AND, NEVER TRUST SOMEONE THAT SAYS TRUST ME… UNLESS IT’S ME OF COURSE LOL. MORE OF WHAT WE SAW DURING THE SUPPER15 ALSO TELLS US THAT THE BOKS WILL HAVE A MUCH EASIER OPPORTUNITY TO BEAT THE ALL BLACKS NOW AS SONNY BILL WILLIAMS PLAYED HIS LAST GAME FOR THE ALL BLACKS FOR QUITE A WHILE TODAY. THE ONES READING THIS HAVING NO ISSUES WITH PUTTING THE EGO ASIDE WILL AGREE THAT SONNY BILL WILLIAMS IS NOTHING SHORT OF A SUPER STAR. HE IS A ONE IN A LIFETIME PLAYER THAT NO OTHER TEAM CAN MATCH AT THE MOMENT. BUT, AND THIS IS A BIG BUT, HE IS ONLY ONE PLAYER AND A COLLECTIVE TEAM IS OBVIOUSLY ALWAYS BETTER. HAVING SAID THAT THE ALL BLACKS ARE A MUCH WEAKER TEAM WITHOUT HIM PLAYING. MOST OF THE CURRENT ALL BLACK BRILLIANT STATEGY WITH REGARDS SCORING TRIES IS BASED ON SONNY BILL WILLIAMS BRILLIANCE WITH (AND WITHOUT) THE BALL FROM OFF LOADING CREATING EASY TRIES OR ACTING AS A DECOY TO DRAW 2 OR 3 DEFENDERS CREATING TRIES ON THE OUTSIDE AS WAS THE CASE IN THE FIRST ENCOUNTER WITH THE AUSSIES WHICH THE AUSSIES SADLY FELL FOR ON BOTH OCCASIONS IN THE FIRST GAME.

THE PROBLEM FOR THE BOKS NOT WINNING ENOUGH IN NEW ZEALAND, AND EVEN WHEN REACHING FULL POTENTIAL… HAMMERING THE ALL BLACKS IN NEW ZEALAND OVER MANY YEARS HAS NOT BEEN A CASE OF SKILL, FORM, OR QUALITY. THEY HAVE HAD MORE THAN ENOUGH OF THAT. THEY HAVE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM FOR MANY YEARS, AND NOBODY IN THE CURRENT OR PREVIOUS COACHING STAFF HAVE REALISED WHAT EXACTLY THAT PROBLEM WAS AND MORE IMPORTANTLY… HOW TO FIX IT. THE PROBLEM FIRST OF ALL IS A HUGE ONE THAT LIES BETWEEN THE EARS. THE PROBLEM IS IN THEIR HEADS, NOWHERE ELSE BUT BETWEEN THE EARS.

SO, HOW DO THEY FIX IT, HERE’S HOW. INSTEAD OF SPENDING 90% OF THE BOKS TIME COACHING TEAM SKILLS, GAME PLAN OR STRATEGY RATHER TURN THAT AROUND INITIALLY AND SPEND THAT TIME FIXING THE INCORRECT FIRST FEARFUL THOUGHT WHICH IS THAT IT’S HARD WINNING IN NEW ZEALAND. REPLACE THAT INCORRECT THOUGHT WITH THE CORRECT ONE WHICH IS KNOWING THAT WITH THE CURRENT PLAYERS WE HAVE IN SOUTH AFRICA IT’S ACTUALLY HARD TO LOSE IN NEW ZEALAND. AND ONCE EVERY PLAYER KNOWS THIS ADD ANOTHER WHICH IS WITH THE CURRENT PLAYERS WE HAVE IT’S ACTUALLY HARD NOT TO HAMMER THE ALL BLACKS IN NEW ZEALAND AND EVEN HARDER NOT TO DO SO AT HOME. ISN’T THIS WHAT EVERY SPRINGBOK PLAYER SHOULD KNOW? AM I THE ONLY ONE THAT REALISES THE PROBLEM HERE… BEING IN THEIR HEADS? WHY HAVE NOBODY FIXED THIS PROBLEM? WELL IT’S TIME WE DO. FOR THE SAKE OF SPRINGBOK RUGBY GET THE RIGHT HEAD DOCTOR IN, USE MOST THE TIME TO WORK WITH THEIR HEADS NOT THEIR SKILLS, GAME PLAN OR OTHER. OTHERWISE THE SAME WILL HAPPEN OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THE SPRINGBOK RESULTS WILL FOLLOW THE SAME PATTERN AS YEARS GONE BY AND LEGEND AFTER LEGEND WILL COME AND GO WITH THE BOKS CONTINUED FAILING TO DELIVER WHAT I KNOW THEY REALLY CAPABLE OF. WE SAW IT IN THE FIRST 40 MINUTES IN THE ONE GAME AGAINST ENGLAND AND WE CAN SEE IT AGAIN. THE QUESTION IS WILL WE?

SO HOW DO I GET THE BOKS TO BELIEVE WHAT I ALREADY KNOW? QUITE OBVIOUSLY THERE IS NO WAY I CAN MAKE THEM REALISE WHAT I ALREADY KNOW, BUT I CAN ALWAYS HOPE SOMEONE IN THE CURRENT COACHING STAFF REALISES IT, AS I DO AND ACTUALLY FOCUS THEIR ATTENTION AND TIME TO FIRST FIXING THIS PROBLEM WHICH IS A INCORRECT THOUGHT IN THEIR HEADS BEFORE FOCUSSING ON THE CURRENT THINGS BEING STRATEGY, SKILLS ETC.

I CAN ONLY HOPE SOMEONE CLOSELY INVOLVED WITH THE BOKS WILL OPEN THEIR EYES AND SEE THE LIGHT.

FOREVER HOPING…

YOURS TRULY

MADABOUTANDHOPINGSPINGBOKPLAYERSREACHTHEIRFULLPOTENTIAL

• 48.Bagel: Reply to this comment

@MADaboutrugby-47: There this button on your keyboard on the left. It’s called caps lock. Make sure it’s off when you post please, firstly caps is hard to read and secondly it insinuates you’re shouting.

Sincerely,

Bagel

• 49.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@MADaboutrugby-47: you sound like justrubgy????? :lol:

And why you shouting?? or you got eyesight problems?

• 50.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Bagel-48: ditto :lol:

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.