Late penalty sinks WP
25 Aug 2012
RYAN VREDE saw the Golden Lions win a tight encounter against Western Province 26-23 thanks to a penalty after the siren had sounded.
WP’s discipline was awful throughout the match and it was fitting that a penalty, which stemmed from a blatantly offside Deon Fourie steal, would be their demise. Elton Jantjies’ sixth successful goal grabbed a much-needed victory for the union that has endured a torrid time off the field in recent weeks.
WP got off to a good start, spraying the ball across the park in a manner some of their supporters have been pleading for. They earned the right to do so through powerful phase play, which created holes in the Lions’ defensive that WP’s hot steppers exploited.
Gerhard van den Heever rounded off a 15-phase move which featured an excellent break from Juan de Jongh. Demetri Catrakilis converted and added a penalty shortly thereafter for a comfortable lead 12 minutes into the contest.
But the Lions regrouped and settled into their game plan, dominating the remainder of the half. Jantjies got them off with a penalty and Josh Strauss crossed the whitewash soon thereafter, finishing a slick attacking move.
Jantjies missed the conversion but banked a penalty just before the break to take his side ahead. WP must have felt comfortable in the opening exchanges, however, having being starved of possession and territory and in the face of an improved defensive effort, they looked decidedly rudderless.
The visitors started more strongly upon resumption of the match, but they butchered a clutch of very good opportunities. Again the Lions survived without too much damage inflicted and rebounded superbly, Jantjies capitalising on WP’s ill-discipline to establish a 20-13 lead going into the last 15 minutes.
Catrakilis set up a tense finish with a penalty nine minutes from full-time, but yet more brainless breakdown play saw Jantjies kick his fifth three pointer of the evening to regain breathing room.
But WP refused to relent and having camped in the Lions’ red zone for much of the closing stages, finally broke through, Brok Harris driving over. Catrakilis levelled to spark hope of a WP win, but the Lions drove into their half and Jantjies cooly slotted the decisive kick.

309 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All
25 Aug 2012, 17:30 pm
Two magic touches by Jantjies lead to a Lion’s try.
Good try.
Problems for Province.
Lots of it.
@nama1-51: I hope Allistair is meeting with him after the game (along with a few others in the Lions crew…)
25 Aug 2012, 17:31 pm
elton is classy. make him a stormer.
25 Aug 2012, 17:31 pm
just to be clear folks,
the entire bulls team has barely recovered from a serious case of h1n1 influenza
this is the seriouly life threatening swine flu which swept the wolrd not to long ago
they requested a postponment but were denied
so being the warriors they are, have decided to not only soldier on
but to moer the sharks six ways from sunday in the process
of course life threatening deadly ebola type flu is no joke
so, it might not go their way
25 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
Why is Schreuder giving us his best Dewald D impression?
25 Aug 2012, 17:32 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-50:
True.
They’re all playing well.
25 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
Tackler not releasing
25 Aug 2012, 17:34 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-55: They shoould have postponed the game.
Believe you me, if it were the Sharks who were ‘ill’ there would be protests, sit-ins and marches…
(Not to mention the 24/7 moaning, whinging and woe be the poor Sharks sniff sniff from fellows like Sharks_lover….)
If the Sharks don’t beat the Bulls by 15 points, the Sharks will have failed tonight.
25 Aug 2012, 17:35 pm
Duane concussed Roodt…..
25 Aug 2012, 17:35 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-56:
He started off well but has been making some mistakes lately.
What a hit by Vermeulen!!!
25 Aug 2012, 17:37 pm
A power tackle by Vermeulen.
25 Aug 2012, 17:37 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-50:
They are playing well.
Makes it a it more noticeable as they are only playing agains the Lions.
I personally dont know what more Josh Strauss has to do to make it into the Boks. Would love to see that oke at 7 behind the Bok pack.
Also, Duanne is an out and out blindsider, not an 8.
25 Aug 2012, 17:38 pm
Bakkies are you joking or what
25 Aug 2012, 17:38 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-60:
Medic: What’s your name?
Roodt: Tuesday.
25 Aug 2012, 17:39 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-59:
I’m sure the Sharks would not like to play against sick players, therefore i declare your post as nonsense.
25 Aug 2012, 17:40 pm
11-10 Lions
Can WP be more hondkuk.
Ai tog
Good kick Jantjies.
He’s having a very good game so far. Might even sink us here.
25 Aug 2012, 17:42 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-59: Rubbish , again all you live for is to make trouble on a blog?? fuggin trailer trash street lamp dweller
25 Aug 2012, 17:42 pm
@nama1-69: WHY AREN’T WE SIGNING HIM FFS!
Sharks have the average Pat Bieber, Bulls Morne/Fouche/Another skop en jag boytjie and Cheetahs have Goosen.
He would solve half our problems if he came to the Cape.
25 Aug 2012, 17:43 pm
@Mr Black-66: Then they should have supported the Bulls request for a re-schedule
Or did they?
@nama1-69: Impressing his future employers, as are a few other Leeulopers…
And dogcnut, just sp you know, even with those 2 sick that have been withdrawn??? Sharks still have 7 more out than them for injuries and Boks etc?? so whats your point clown??
First 20 wp and second 20 Lions.
25 Aug 2012, 17:44 pm
SL hou jou bek man.
@Mr Black-66: Correct mate, that dogshit is merely here to seek attention again, which she obviously cant get at home lol
@Bagel-71:
Yeah, I agree.
Together with a proper scrum half. Pity Sarel is not available anymore.
25 Aug 2012, 17:45 pm
make me toothless cow, you arrogant racist wench
Dawn hou op suip, gemors
So its official!
Lance is a cheat in the dirtiest cheating sport in the world.
25 Aug 2012, 17:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-59:
so if the bulls do beat the sharks, does that say something about the bulls… or rather something about the sharks.
25 Aug 2012, 17:47 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-72:
I hope so.
@Mr Black-74:
Jip.
25 Aug 2012, 17:48 pm
@Bagel-71: Bagel just because you little fairies in the cape act like Moffies all day does not make someone like Pat one, little names like 2 year old you giving a young man that is 1000000 times the man you could ever wish to be..
It’s Patrick Lambie,
@sharks_lover-70: You tanked already? It’s 17:45 for crying in a KFC bucket. What will your excuse be tonight if the Sharks lose to a team of invalids?
PS: why do you still answer me if I upset you so much? Can’t resist?
Toothless racist wench? Gemors?
F@uck you. You white pig. I’m sick of your mysogynist **** here.
You scum.
@Mr Black-80: Pity and sad
25 Aug 2012, 17:49 pm
@sharks_lover-78: @sharks_lover-79:
WOW!!!
Elton and Butch have a very good partnership
@Dawn-85: Ur the scum trailer trash you started so dont cry
white pig??
ahhhhh there she coes with her race things. so typical
ur trash prawn
you wanted attention you got it
25 Aug 2012, 17:50 pm
@Dawn-64:
no, this is the truth dawn
the whols squad is down on their knees and moer sick
they have passed a late fitness test but only just
about three or so players have been ruled out due to not recovering
25 Aug 2012, 17:50 pm
@nama1-87: Nama look where it started dude
loom and then say wow
sick and tired of the same okes in here starting then crying\
25 Aug 2012, 17:51 pm
@sharks_lover-83:
Take a deep breath, SL.
You losing it.
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90: Bakkies not so
there wre 5 sick
they now ok but for 2 players
both reserves that have now been replaced mate
@sharks_lover-73: Classic
You have your excuses lined up like little soldiers….. fuckmeyouaremorepredictablethanacapetownwinter.
Do you know that I have never once seen you give credit to ANY team who has beaten the Sharks since I’ve been here?
It’s always: Injuries…….more injuries…….the ref…….travel….and now conveniently the Bok call ups. When do the Sharks ever lose (in your most humble – yet twisted) opinion, simply because they were kakker than the other team on the day?
@sharks_lover-83: Now you spinning…..Hamster on a wheel at midnight…..fuckit it’s irritating.
25 Aug 2012, 17:52 pm
Fecking racist white KKK pig
A@@shole doesn’t begin to describe it
You are so kuk you give your team a bad name
You call me gemors?????
Who the hell do you think you are?
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-90:
Sad if true, very disruptive to prepare, nevermind play.
Province had a briliant first 10 minutes.
And they slowly but surely it got worse and worse.
Nothing going on in the backline- no penetration- same old….
Schreuder plays like Duvenhage- The Greek like Lance Sherrell- Brache seems clueless against better class opponents than Griquas, de Jong, Aplon vd Heever look ok but do not get enough front foot ball.
Lions should take this match.
Schreuder is average. Groom is better. AC should seriously make an offer for Jantjies.
25 Aug 2012, 17:53 pm
@nama1-92: no im not Nama, just giving it back a bit, as i said read and see where this **** starts everytime
everyone in here was blogging without problems till dog and dawn started their normal ****
Dawn crying racism every third post, come now Nama, unless you condone that????
25 Aug 2012, 17:54 pm
@Dawn-95: you are gemors you trailer tramp
and again you talk about white pig?? you colourd tramp
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 » Show All