Meltdown in Mendoza

MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa’s lack of leadership in the forwards was exposed in Mendoza, as was the naivety of a pack that is unfortunately a shadow of the beasts who have worn the jersey in the past five years.

Individuals will get blamed and given the South African way it will be provincial specific, but this is not a performance of individual blame but of collective calamity in that the newbies to Test rugby were not equipped to deal with an Argentinean side that scrapped, clawed and fought for a historic first draw against the Springboks.

The lack of a specialist opensider was obvious in that there was no counter to the Pumas love for a group gathering around the ball on the floor. Heyneke Meyer said any player can fail once but there isn’t place for a second failure at Test level. His words will be put to the test because certain players are not up to Test standard and when the occasion called for heroes to emerge all we got were imposters in a green jersey.

Perspective is necessary to appreciate the vulnerability of the Bok pack, in terms of experience, impact and influence. Bismarck du Plessis is colossal and Adriaan Strauss will need grander efforts to offer an impersonation. Andries Bekker, forever the next Victor Matfield, has neither the confidence nor the brilliance to match the Bok legend, Jacques Potgieter is no Schalk Burger, Willem Alberts looked out of sorts in that selected loose-trio and for the days of a back five of Bakkies Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith and Danie Rossouw.

There was no calmness in a frenetic opening 30 in which the Pumas were going to deliver the passion of a nation’s rugby history, given the occasion. The limitations of the Pumas meant they could only lead by 10 points at half-time despite the majority of the ball, the rub of the green and the home ground advantage.

The Boks did not deserve anything from this match, but they got plenty when it comes to a reality check. I will never understand the nonsense about not selecting foreign based players because they are not playing Super Rugby or in a development Currie Cup competition.

This match cried out for the experience of a Botha, a Joe van Niekerk and a few more who on a weekly basis star in Europe.

The pack were intimidated, they were out of their depth and they were bullied. It was embarrassing.

Still the Boks should have sneaked it when Morne Steyn missed a penalty with a few minutes to go. It was England in Port Elizabeth all over again and Steyn obviously will be the target of abuse. His job is to kick goals and when he doesn’t he stands to be judged.

Young players will be wiser and tougher for the experience but I don’t buy an argument that suggests you go to Argentina for a learning experience. Too many kids were grouped with too many provincial players in the guise of a Bok Test pack – and the results were a humiliation.

Meyer picked the side and he takes the pains, as he does the plaudits when it goes right.

The backs can only ever threaten when the Bok forwards rule and the lack of potency made for an ugly 80 minute viewing experience. Too lateral, too isolated and with no momentum. These backs were not going to find any glory in Mendoza.

Frans Steyn, individually, was strong but he was the exception to a performance that is a reminder of the quality of Springboks that went to the World Cup compared to the mediocrity of what was produced in Argentina.

The hosts have beaten Australia previously, beaten France and in recent years been a minute away from beating the All Blacks. The shorter and narrower pitch did not help, but it did expose a team that failed to adapt to the intensity and mongrel of the hosts.

It was a humbling experience for those of us who watched, but it will forever be a humiliating one for those who played. Not so the boys from Argentina.

987 Comments

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] Show All

• 951.cane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-949:

Is Meyer,
    still da messiah ?

• 952.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-944:
    where’s the love this morning, pops…?…

so you drink a little too much on the weekend
    dont make it a cultural thing bud

• 953.gunther: Reply to this comment

Time for some rape stats from Poeps followed by a few Aids jokes with maybe some new dead miner material that e has been experimenting with.

We know how this story ends.

Kobus Kitty has a lot to answer for.

• 954.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-951:
    morning caner,
    yes, i still believe in him. never said he was the messiah, that’s just the capey’s being paranoid.
    its baptism of fire stuff and no different to his time at the bulls. i think they’ll grow strongly from this experience and kick on.

• 955.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-952: me make it a cultural thing? wasnt it you and your mate making waka jokes? I was just laughing at your countries so called rugby..

it is hilariously funny watching dumb players play dumb rugby..

but they must have been cheated though, being the invincible Saffa male they surely didnt get owned did they? :D

• 956.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@cane-950:
    tititititi
    my point to pops exactly.

• 957.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-955:
    the score was a draw pops ?

bok are still 3 for 0 boet. granted, its not pretty but i think it’ll get better.
    and lets not forget, this is a teamwhich does it the honest way.

• 958.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-957: the scoreboard says it was a draw, but we all know if it wasnt for the Argie kick into fronkenstains fat body it would have been a loss

Hey< i dont understand the hate for Meyer either, he has 3 wins from 5 games, exactly 60%, which coincidentally is the Boks all time win percentage (approximation), and as it has been slipping in a downward spiral since the game went professional I think he is right on target..

• 959.Palooka: Reply to this comment

The main attributes of any “fetcher” are clearly outlined by Nick Mallet in the latest issue of Sports Illustrated. According to Mallet Brussouw’s best skill is to keep numerous players busy at the breakdown areas- something that other players (Potgieter, Coetsee, etc) can only try to emulate but will never achieve. His work rate, tackling ability, ruck attendances (protecting our ball) turn-over ball skills are secondary to this specific skill. He summarises his views by stating that it is DANGEROUS to take on Australia and the All Blacks without Brussouw in the sqaud. The in-depth reasoning in thsi article including the critisism of a single minded game plan approach shows who ought to be the coach at this point in time.

• 960.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-958:
    3 wins and no losses.

i think meyer will lift our percentage and he will do so playing clean rugby.
    unlike you lot.

• 961.Palooka: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-958:
    Three wins from 5 games is said to be one thing: What are the chances that this numerical figure will become 3 wins from 9 matches? That is my worry. The All Blacks and Ausies are going to slaughter us with this one-dimensional and predictable game plan. The problem is not the players but the coaching team as such.

• 962.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-960: hahahaha

must be hard seeing ghosts everywhere Baxxies..

like the Bokke never enter a ruck from the sides, like the bok props never bore in on the opposition hooker, like Habana and the rest of the backs are never in front of the kicker when you guys invariably skop an jag…

these are also all cheating, but it amazes me you think the Bokke dont do any of it..

do you only watch with one eye so the other eye is on alert in case the tokoloshe turns up?

• 963.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Palooka-961: I still think, like Argentina, you guys are a different beast at home… and cant see personally Aussie winning in the republic this year… the ABs maybe

so I think five from nine is reasonable, 6 would be great for you guys imo…

• 964.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-962:
    we’ve got nothing on you guys cheating wise, pops.

but you know this.

what grates me though is the cheap shot filthy hits you take and when we give it back you run crying to the refs and irb to do something about the ‘dirty’ saffas.

cant take it but cowardly enough to give it cheap.

how was that ‘fruity’ tackle by taimefuna hey..?..

lor the take out of players at rucks, around fringes or the blocking… lets not go there…

• 965.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-936: Hey “Poppa zit”, can’t remember myself gloating over AB’s losing any game, one of the things I love about rugby is that two small countries like SA and NZ actually excell in it. I have huge respect for NZ rugby, I have little respect for the current batch of IRB officials that cheapin international rugby with poor reffing and yes this includes Wayne Barnes in the 2007 semi, the AB should have won regardless just like the boks should have won against the woblies.

I was so eager to see SA vs. NZ in those two world cups, but alas the IRB did not want to see it like that. I guess they need a NH team in the final or the TV ratings get too low.

The All Blacks will always be at top of rugby as they have a great rugby culture, great supply of physically superior muari blood and culture that uses logic rather than politics to guide it’s selection and development policies.

South Africa should be the same, but other than NZ we have retarded politcal leaders at the head of our rugby union, poor rugby development and a culture of racial and idilogical prefernce to that of reason and logic. Only thing we have is the great wealth in rugby talent that we possess.

You can keep being an *** if you like, that won’t tarnish my respect for NZ rugby.

• 966.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-964: like you love obsession did with Cowan? or with Aplon?

do you notice the striking similarities between these two players? this big bad hard man takes on two of the smaller players on a field and you speak of kiwi cheap shot merchants? hehehe still only using that one eye boet?

@goodstuff-965: mate, this type of general thing was the norm here for many years, so if I come across as an @rse I dont really care…perhaps a few of the many may see the point in how pathetic it all is, and as such may act diffrently if and when their team is on top, but I doubt it very much…. I guarantee you, once the Bokke beat the ABs again it will all come rushing back..

• 967.Te Rangatira: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-964:
    Howzit Houston
    Not going to get into the cheating business….but what stood out for me regarding the Boks effort on the weekend was how soft they were. Soft as in not hard enough,,,The HM gameplan revolves around Big men doing the hard stuff,smashing into the breakdown,taking no prisoners,dying for the cause. All we saw was the Argies giving the Bok a lesson in manliness…..not good Sir….not good at all.

• 968.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-966: Mate, when the boks were “on top” I don’t remember myself going to a NZ rugby site and spewing spitefull rhetoric such as you are now. And if there were any saffas doing that then they are just as pethetic.

You NZs are so blessed with your current crop of test super stars, you don’t even begin to comprehend the talent you have. I mean to replace an epic player like Mills with a Isreal Dagg, I mean where is the justice? Do you not realise that no country in the world, no sport in the world save the NFL generates so many amazing players such as NZ rugby?

Enjoy it while it lasts, because all good things come to an end.

• 969.cab: Reply to this comment

Bakkies is an angel and a very serious Christian – apparently he might be called back for the ABs in which case the ABs better start saying their prayers.

1. Guthro/Beast
    2. Chilli/fourie
    3. Cilliers/Coenie
    4. Bakkies/elstadt
    5. Etsebeth/Kruger
    6. Brussow/(Coetzee only if B injured)
    7. Alberts
    8. Vermeulen

rallapelle can play fetching role at 2 if Brussow still injured – pity about kolisi but if u think this wend was an upset, the ABs in for a fright.

• 970.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-967:
    morning tr,
    yip it was ugly. not good at all. i trust this was a once off bad day at the office and the team will improve in all aspects especially ‘fronting up’.

have to go into a meeting, will chat when i get back.

• 971.cab: Reply to this comment

Goodstuff – they can def be beaten – Read is distinctly mediocre and Thorne gone – boks can take them. Argies might also give their pack a wake-up call.

• 972.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@cab-971:Read ***** over EVERY SA number 8…

FACT!.

@goodstuff-968: what you mean like, when the iceman retired we had Kronfield/brewer step in, then when they left we had Ritchie Mccaw step in? once he goes Sam Cane will become the next in a long line… its not that we get lucky every so often, as our 80% win ration in almost 100 years of rugby proves… its in our systems and ALL levels of our game, this is why we conitnue to churn out quality player after quality player..

the basis of our success is the fact that the team is greater then its parts, unfortunately SA supporters like Cab believe in individual players, hence his assumption that Read is ordinary..

I guess Cab knows little about rugby, because Read is a wonderful rugby player

• 973.cane: Reply to this comment

@cab-971:

Read is anything but mediocre cab.

He was simply “O” for awesome on saturday. MOM.

• 974.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-968:
    Were 76% win ratio over the enitre time the ABs have played the game.
    Do all good things come to an end, maybe the century??
    I understand what you are saying but the ABs just didnt become good over the last few years.

• 975.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab-971:
    Cab, surely you have a typo in there about Read. If not then tell me, which one of the Boks # 8 are better?

• 976.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-970:
    Watch those people at your meeting.
    They might steal your pen…. that is considered cheating in a meeting.
    Make sure you arrive on time, dont want to cheat anyone out of your awesomeness

• 977.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane-976: :lol: lets not get into which side of the table he has to sit on and if he enters it correctly, because to not do so is also meeting cheating..

• 978.cab: Reply to this comment

AB bacline sat perhaps one if best attacking baclines ever selected – but your pack can be beaten by the Bokke. Sat was a debacle – they selecting terribly at the moment but argie might just be the wake up call needed to claim the real scalp the Bokke yearn for and Bakkies is on the warpath. Heya heya Heya heya …

• 979.cab: Reply to this comment

As naturally gifted as Cheater McCaw is – he is now old, as is the great Mealamu – if Boks hit high intensity game all talk of 17-test record will come to an unceremonious end and the blog and fan wailing will suddenly shift from the African continent to downunder. Let us not forget 2009..

• 980.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Te Rangatira-928: Thought he had a great game, always something on when he gets the ball…..

• 981.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Posts 921 to 929.AB mental masturbation.

• 982.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-966:
    no, rather like when he face planted reechee in the in-goal area.
    that was beeyootiful on so may levels.

@Hurricane-976:
    what wrong buddy, didn’t you get it all this morning?
    (fyi thats a reference to a saffa cereal commercial :grin: )

@ryecatcher-981:
    pretty much, ja
    titi

• 983.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@ryecatcher-981:
    SA mental……..ummm just mental

• 984.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-982:
    Yeah you laughed…i know you did

• 985.jacquesknotter: Reply to this comment

I can only feel ashamed for the South African Supporters and those that placed their high and mighty views and comments on this below par article.Lets just admit Argentina played with a passion uncompared.The ABs also always play with a passion as if it where there last game.We need that back as its not the coach or the players.Most that played last weekend where those that were mentioned in your previous comments etc. It just goes to show that with good defence and bulk you can hold off the best teams in the world.Good for Argentina.I believe the Boks can still do alot .Be prepared.

• 986.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Nama.So now that you have effectively written Frans off,who next.?
    Could it be Bekker?Nah,he is as Stormer.Jean?Bryan?Eben?
    Hope springs eternal.

• 987.ryecatcher: Reply to this comment

Sharks Pedigree @ 774.You continually surprise me.Well said.

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.