Meltdown in Mendoza

MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa’s lack of leadership in the forwards was exposed in Mendoza, as was the naivety of a pack that is unfortunately a shadow of the beasts who have worn the jersey in the past five years.

Individuals will get blamed and given the South African way it will be provincial specific, but this is not a performance of individual blame but of collective calamity in that the newbies to Test rugby were not equipped to deal with an Argentinean side that scrapped, clawed and fought for a historic first draw against the Springboks.

The lack of a specialist opensider was obvious in that there was no counter to the Pumas love for a group gathering around the ball on the floor. Heyneke Meyer said any player can fail once but there isn’t place for a second failure at Test level. His words will be put to the test because certain players are not up to Test standard and when the occasion called for heroes to emerge all we got were imposters in a green jersey.

Perspective is necessary to appreciate the vulnerability of the Bok pack, in terms of experience, impact and influence. Bismarck du Plessis is colossal and Adriaan Strauss will need grander efforts to offer an impersonation. Andries Bekker, forever the next Victor Matfield, has neither the confidence nor the brilliance to match the Bok legend, Jacques Potgieter is no Schalk Burger, Willem Alberts looked out of sorts in that selected loose-trio and for the days of a back five of Bakkies Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith and Danie Rossouw.

There was no calmness in a frenetic opening 30 in which the Pumas were going to deliver the passion of a nation’s rugby history, given the occasion. The limitations of the Pumas meant they could only lead by 10 points at half-time despite the majority of the ball, the rub of the green and the home ground advantage.

The Boks did not deserve anything from this match, but they got plenty when it comes to a reality check. I will never understand the nonsense about not selecting foreign based players because they are not playing Super Rugby or in a development Currie Cup competition.

This match cried out for the experience of a Botha, a Joe van Niekerk and a few more who on a weekly basis star in Europe.

The pack were intimidated, they were out of their depth and they were bullied. It was embarrassing.

Still the Boks should have sneaked it when Morne Steyn missed a penalty with a few minutes to go. It was England in Port Elizabeth all over again and Steyn obviously will be the target of abuse. His job is to kick goals and when he doesn’t he stands to be judged.

Young players will be wiser and tougher for the experience but I don’t buy an argument that suggests you go to Argentina for a learning experience. Too many kids were grouped with too many provincial players in the guise of a Bok Test pack – and the results were a humiliation.

Meyer picked the side and he takes the pains, as he does the plaudits when it goes right.

The backs can only ever threaten when the Bok forwards rule and the lack of potency made for an ugly 80 minute viewing experience. Too lateral, too isolated and with no momentum. These backs were not going to find any glory in Mendoza.

Frans Steyn, individually, was strong but he was the exception to a performance that is a reminder of the quality of Springboks that went to the World Cup compared to the mediocrity of what was produced in Argentina.

The hosts have beaten Australia previously, beaten France and in recent years been a minute away from beating the All Blacks. The shorter and narrower pitch did not help, but it did expose a team that failed to adapt to the intensity and mongrel of the hosts.

It was a humbling experience for those of us who watched, but it will forever be a humiliating one for those who played. Not so the boys from Argentina.

987 Comments

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1520 » Show All

• 451.garth: Reply to this comment

Not one of our forwards today can pass a ball. Both our nines take 15 steps sideways and then pass. Our 10 kicks everything away, no matter wtf is going on around him. Our 12 and 13s crash every ball up. Our back 3 never see the ball because of the other 12 players. Pointless gameplan that is not going to beat many teams in the top 8. We won’t be in the top 6 teams by end of the year.

• 452.willievz: Reply to this comment

@grant10-444: It was.

And Heyneke has completely f*ckedup any possible working relationship with him.

Behind Burger, Coetzee and Kolisi in the pecking order? Cringeworthy.

• 453.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@garth-450: does that not happen because of pre planned instructions?? and coaching??

• 454.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

432…come now, if it was up to the public you,d have a different match 22 every week even after games we win.

I truely believe that a team has to earn the right to go wide. In fact…..that is rule 1 withregards to any tactic on the day. Laughable are those that point to nz as an example completely ignoring the fact that they always have their fair share of go forward ball and recycled ball quickly. In fact the only times they really only lose a game is when the boks are at their best and match them physically at the gain line and setpiece….in those games their backline variation never looks to flash because of….rule 1, in my opinion.

Much is being made of having no out and out fetcher. My opinion varies in this regard, yes..it is good to have one, yes…everyone should be able to steal ball. In fact, it was the only interesting fact highlighted on reunion this past week when it was mentioned that whomever arrives first at the breakdown for the all blacks is the fetcher and not the perceived mccaw or messam. If there was a very physical fetcher in sa in the wikus vanheerden mould, he would be in the team tomorrow but given our current lineout jokes i do not feel we can currently accomodate a 5.8 fetcher/not a valid lineout option.

• 455.garth: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-453: Those players are selected with that plan in mind, big guys bashing it up. Has that ever worked at international level?

• 456.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@cab-447:

good in theory Cabbie and an easy line to throw out there but the reality is very very different

• 457.grant10: Reply to this comment

@willievz-452: That is my concern Willie….Brussow may well be feeling complete apathy for HM…..I wonder what went down at the 1 on 1 they had? Something went badle awry…. In the latest SA Illustrated Mallet has an article explaining why Brussows inclusion a neccessity.

How i would love to have Mallet back…

• 458.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

433…..twakkie lost us 2 scotland with a vastly superior bok side. Fact.

• 459.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@garth-455: Thats my point, Many are blamming the players, i think the coach is responsible for how they are playing

• 460.garth: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-454: So to get this straight, after watching the game you’d still not pick Brussouw because our 2m+ locks cannot catch a ball?

• 461.cab: Reply to this comment

@NZINCHINA-456:
    I’ll let u know whether i think we can win as soon as the team is announced – this team will not win a single remaining match in the RC imo.

• 462.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-446: No sir. I want to catch up with me auld mates HG and KK. Are they still sure of the genetic superiority of the Bokke, or not?

• 463.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-457: That same coach cost us a WC

• 464.wnbb: Reply to this comment

I totally agree with you G10.Brusow is way better than the current loosies that we have at the moment.Hopefully Vermeulen’s improved fitness and performances will see him claim the number eight berth as well.Alberts was woeful yesterday.Brusow at 6,Kolisi at 7 and Vermeulen at 8 should be the way forward.

• 465.NZINCHINA: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-454:

if it was up to the KEO punters you’d have 137 different loose forward combinations, I think that says it all about Bokke rugby at present, absolutely no idea

• 466.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Seriously though, have the Bokke gone backwards since firing PDV? Seems that way to me. ABs to rape them in SA and NZ. Here, first.

• 467.garth: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-459: I blame them all. The players are not executing the gameplan, but it’s a sh1tty gameplan.

• 468.grant10: Reply to this comment

Keegan made a difference in a cameo last night….

Lambie was not afforded an opportunity, not even 5 minutes, despite M Steyn playing so damn poorly.

Surely that is goodnight nurse for MS…..surely…

• 469.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Scotland got a greater rugby history and pedigree than Argentina.Fact.

• 470.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@grant10-468: Yep. Morne Steyn is like Honiball’s retarded cousin. Get rid of him.

• 471.grant10: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-464: Vermeulen just a game or 2 away and he should be Bok 8…

That trio of yours is a decent 1….

Maybe Alberts at 7 with Kolisi to play last 30…

Marcelle is being done a disservice by Heyneke by trying to convert him to 6….he is a classy player with loads of potential , but he will never be an opensider…

• 472.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-468: Nope MOrne Steyn will be 10 for the next 4 years :lol:

• 473.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Kobus Kitty. Where are you?

• 474.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Heavens Game. Where are you?

• 475.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

465….imagine if we had the wishy washy twakkie muir and gould at the helm now?

It the one great positive at the minute that we have a coaching unit that has experience and will stay consistent as possible. Correct me if wrong but the 2nd test against the english has been the only game so far when they have been able to field the same starting 15? And that first half looked very good to me.

• 476.grant10: Reply to this comment

anyway…gym here I come …got to work off the frustrations…

thought things would improve post the 3 Stooges and The Fat Boys Club…

If anything it is as bad if not worse….

cant farken believe it man….

• 477.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Scotland are shite, fact.

• 478.wnbb: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn should go now!!!The ice has left his veins and he has become a major hindrance to this Bok team now.

• 479.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-475: LOL

I would love to have seen your posts if PDV had coasched Boks to that shambles last night….

but anyway…geniet u dag Korporal

• 480.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10-476: Go pump the irons Grant , its good for all that stress you harbour :lol:

• 481.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

Fck me but ANYONE STILL saying that Potgieter is our answer at 7 gotta have outright rocks in their heads.. and these the same people STILL calling for Spies at 8

Steenkamp
    Fourie
    Cilliers
    Elstadt
    Etsebeth
    Kolisi ( Brussow / Stegman )
    Alberts (Stander)
    Coetsee (Vermeulen / A. Botha)

would have MURDERED that starting Bok front 8 yesterday.. Murdered them with change to spare… and taken care of the Argies in Mendoza

Stander signed with Munster (or Leinster) as a result of HM putting this Potgieter idiot over his head… Brussow should feel just as aggrieved or FAR worse… even Dewalt Potgieter is FAR and away a better linking and distributing – working loose forward than this one dimensional useless one little touch and its all fall down deficient doos.

• 482.garth: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-477: Are we any better than Scotland at the moment, I’m not convinced.

• 483.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Didn’t see the game. It was on at a ****** time for me in NZ. Why can’t you Saffas sort that out FFS? I’m picking that the 16-16 result is an indicator of how the Boks will travel this year. They’ll miss their mummies while on the road as usual and then blame the travel schedule as usual even though every team has to travel the same distance.

• 484.cab: Reply to this comment

players and committment (not execution) are the only real criteria

The less the gameplan the better, by structure i mean the way teams and especially packs are drilled, like the ABs with their body position techniques and muscle-memory learning in training for piling into the breakdown points en masse, the coaches main role is to select the best and to motivate them to perform and play committed for 80mins, instilling confidence in those who need it and encouraging all to have a go. Trying to straight-jacket players on field is ridiculous and confusing. Correct defensive techniques and systems are fine, but let the players create on attack and encourage them to do so as individuals.

• 485.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@fitz1ella-481: **** we would not have won 1 lineout to start with

• 486.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

479…..bladdy hell,where have you been this past 4 years.
    Twakkie devilliers did coach us to a shambles with possibly the most talented and already experienced side ever put onto a pitch.

That oke couldnt organize a shagging in a ***** house.

• 487.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@wnbb-478: I agree. M Steyn has lost the plot and his agent should be trying for a Saracens contract, quick smart. That’s all he’s good for now.

• 488.garth: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird-483: It was on at 7am. What’s the problem.

• 489.cab: Reply to this comment

yip off for a bit of gym and a splash with ducky..

• 490.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

481…not that you care for stats, but potgieter led the bok tackle count yesterday. Rate him or not…he was one of the few that put their hands up yesteray.

• 491.slavedriver: Reply to this comment

Do we have the most useless fullback in world rugby,i think so.I cant believe he is still in the team.Quite a few other players going to move on when injured players come back.And M coetzee is no where near Brussouw,clearly evident on todays performance.

• 492.willievz: Reply to this comment

Can someone please explain the term “ball carrying loosie” to me.

Some people say every player should be able to fetch.

In the same vein, shouldn’t all players be able to carry the ball?

• 493.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Anyway,i slept well knowin that my bully boy lighties drilled the sharkies yesterday and louis fouche will be the next bok flyhalf.
    Go heyneke.
    And sampie mastriet or was clayton blommetjies, i confuse those 2, is awesome as is young venter,and….ah buggerit, they are all awesome.

• 494.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl-424:
    absolutely right.
    meyer should draft bakkies and gurthro into the squad asap.

for one we need their the abrasive, no holds (yet very effective) physicality and for another it would send a message to the non performing passangers by giving them a good shock (you’re so bad we dropped you hot).

• 495.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover-485: Etsebeth took about 70% of our line out ball yesterday.. Etsebeth is a 5 lock trying to be converted into a No.4 enforcer… which is Elstadts job..

we would have won as many line out balls as yesterday and most likely the ones we missed also.

@Brigadier Van Zyl-486: Your Heyneke going to BLOW.. watch.. your worst nightmare gonna come to pass.. PdV by FAR more amicable to variety and variation.. only problem is PdV handed ALL the reigns to Smit – Matfield – FdP.. to fck it up by themselves… this poor doos thinks he’s the great f’ng messiah who going to read all his ja broer kuikens the riot act when they don’t perform STRICTLY to his one dimensional brainlessfart.. watch him blow and walk before he gets past go.

• 496.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@garth-488: So it was! I don’t have pay TV, that’s the problem.

• 497.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

and considering we have lost bissy i’d say getting guthro in the squad is all the more importat.

• 498.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

Do any Jaap fans think that their 2012 campaign is shot without that thug BDP playing?

• 499.saru1983: Reply to this comment

my unbeatable bok team

15 Aplon
    14 Aplon
    13 Aplon
    12 Aplon
    11 Aplon
    10 Jantjies
    9 Aplon
    8 Burger
    7 Burger
    6 Burger
    5 Burger
    4.Burger
    3. Burger
    2 Burger
    1 Burger
    unfuckinbeatable

• 500.cab: Reply to this comment

@willievz-492:
    i think the only one we really got is Alberts, the Irish got Ferris, the English Brown, the ABs Kaino – they take it up in the heavy traffic and get you over the adv line giving you go-forward – i think spies, kanko, potgieter, coetsee and daniels are ball-runners, which means they cant really operate in heavy traffic or get over the adv line, which is what the ball-carrier does for them, only when its a bit looser, can the ball-running lipozano’s look better – i dont think they are well suited for test rugby, maybe one of them at most in the pack, with a ballcarrier (tho i’d go with 2 ballcarriers if picking two no 5 locks) and a fetcher if worldclass.

Pages: « 15 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 1520 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.