Meltdown in Mendoza

MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa’s lack of leadership in the forwards was exposed in Mendoza, as was the naivety of a pack that is unfortunately a shadow of the beasts who have worn the jersey in the past five years.

Individuals will get blamed and given the South African way it will be provincial specific, but this is not a performance of individual blame but of collective calamity in that the newbies to Test rugby were not equipped to deal with an Argentinean side that scrapped, clawed and fought for a historic first draw against the Springboks.

The lack of a specialist opensider was obvious in that there was no counter to the Pumas love for a group gathering around the ball on the floor. Heyneke Meyer said any player can fail once but there isn’t place for a second failure at Test level. His words will be put to the test because certain players are not up to Test standard and when the occasion called for heroes to emerge all we got were imposters in a green jersey.

Perspective is necessary to appreciate the vulnerability of the Bok pack, in terms of experience, impact and influence. Bismarck du Plessis is colossal and Adriaan Strauss will need grander efforts to offer an impersonation. Andries Bekker, forever the next Victor Matfield, has neither the confidence nor the brilliance to match the Bok legend, Jacques Potgieter is no Schalk Burger, Willem Alberts looked out of sorts in that selected loose-trio and for the days of a back five of Bakkies Botha, Matfield, Burger, Smith and Danie Rossouw.

There was no calmness in a frenetic opening 30 in which the Pumas were going to deliver the passion of a nation’s rugby history, given the occasion. The limitations of the Pumas meant they could only lead by 10 points at half-time despite the majority of the ball, the rub of the green and the home ground advantage.

The Boks did not deserve anything from this match, but they got plenty when it comes to a reality check. I will never understand the nonsense about not selecting foreign based players because they are not playing Super Rugby or in a development Currie Cup competition.

This match cried out for the experience of a Botha, a Joe van Niekerk and a few more who on a weekly basis star in Europe.

The pack were intimidated, they were out of their depth and they were bullied. It was embarrassing.

Still the Boks should have sneaked it when Morne Steyn missed a penalty with a few minutes to go. It was England in Port Elizabeth all over again and Steyn obviously will be the target of abuse. His job is to kick goals and when he doesn’t he stands to be judged.

Young players will be wiser and tougher for the experience but I don’t buy an argument that suggests you go to Argentina for a learning experience. Too many kids were grouped with too many provincial players in the guise of a Bok Test pack – and the results were a humiliation.

Meyer picked the side and he takes the pains, as he does the plaudits when it goes right.

The backs can only ever threaten when the Bok forwards rule and the lack of potency made for an ugly 80 minute viewing experience. Too lateral, too isolated and with no momentum. These backs were not going to find any glory in Mendoza.

Frans Steyn, individually, was strong but he was the exception to a performance that is a reminder of the quality of Springboks that went to the World Cup compared to the mediocrity of what was produced in Argentina.

The hosts have beaten Australia previously, beaten France and in recent years been a minute away from beating the All Blacks. The shorter and narrower pitch did not help, but it did expose a team that failed to adapt to the intensity and mongrel of the hosts.

It was a humbling experience for those of us who watched, but it will forever be a humiliating one for those who played. Not so the boys from Argentina.

987 Comments

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 » Show All

• 701.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

there is waaaaay too much emotions on display here.

people need to calm down.

act sensibly and rationally.

• 702.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-699: The Ozzies will be smarting from their whitewash as well.

@Robzim-700: Can picture Tac in Dustpatch with his blue Crocs and Judron shorts ;)

• 703.nama1: Reply to this comment

Tac went on record saying that the Boks will beat Arg (h & a), Aus (h & a) but will lose against NZ (h & a). He said that would be mission accomplished.

I guess the mission is in its moer now, after the draw against the Pumas. :lol:

• 704.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@nama1-693: well lets hope he can turn things around…..for all our sake. In the end we support the Boks, so provincialism and everything else goes out the window. What i don’t get is the people that want him to fail just because his is a BB. I am a Stormers supporter (unfortunately :) ) but in the end our National team comes first so i want him succeed. I think people judge too quickly and I don’t think its too late for him to turn things around. It can be done. But he has to improve this squad significantly and along with improving the execution of his game plan….should also encourage innovation as well.

• 705.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

HM is finished :-)

• 706.fitz1ella: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-679: SA coaches got ego’s way too big for their own capacity.. that why they HAVE to get smacked HARD in the face when their stubborn self worth gets shattered to smithereens..

White deserved his 49-0 awakening like he almost welcomed the event.. that’s how WAY out on a limb he was from recognizing his own fraught self inflicted arrogance and inadequacies.. In the end he got given a life line purely as a result of recognizing how OUT of touch he was with reality… and hired someone who had sufficient credibility to enlighten and support him.

PdV suffered less from this ego rampant malady but also had his own set of self worth issues he had to address, ultimately he backed the wrong horses and that what cost him his credibility but he more or less retained his personality intact.

Meyer seems like a good enough person in view of his personal principles and all that, but he strikes me as being a little short on real courage of conviction, seems he needs to cocoon his position with a bevy of yes men to keep his ego and self esteem unblemished.

His only hope from here is that he RECOGNIZE how fraught with lack of insight he actually is and get some professional help.. like White eventually had to do.. if he want’s to bluster on regardless and he loses the faith and buy in of the players and treats some of them like kindergarten kids who have to lump his determination to do it his way or the highway, then he might just burn himself out, before he even gets past year one.

• 707.Humphrey: Reply to this comment

I certainly do not believe that Tac would have suggested the Boks will lose to NZ at home.

Tac’s whole thing is that the Boks should win every home game.

If M Steyn had booted that last penalty over the knives would have been sheathed, or would they still be out?

• 708.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-697: They are without Pocock but they have 2 good number 6 prospects in Hooper and Gill. If we don’t improve our breakdown efficiency either of those 2 will have a field day. the argie loosies were very physical yesterday and their props at the breakdown. If Aus can somehow replicate that i would worried.

• 709.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@Mostofyou-684: Your take on the President’s Council is mostly correct however, and here is the rub… it has always been the smaller unions running the show as their collective weight is more than the big 5.

This past vote on the Kings saw a switch with your beloved WP and the Cheetahs vote with the small guys.

Perhaps TTightarse wants to be the next Hoskins but this is a bad state. Expect more of the same from the Stellenbosh mafia :-)

• 710.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-703:
    no, they’ll just moer the ab’s home and away instead :grin:

• 711.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@Humphrey-707: Still out

• 712.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Humphrey-707:
    I don’t care if you believe it or not.

He called it “being realistic.”

I Morne kicked that penalty, it would’ve been a travesty. The Boks did not deserve to win. In fact, they did not deserve to draw the game.

• 713.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Mustard-708:
    both good but nowhere near as illegal or effective as pocock yet imo.
    but yes, its gona be a tough game for either side to win.

• 714.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@nama1-712: Totally. Even if they had won it would still be tragic on Sunday. One of the worst performances of all time.

Pathetic in all areas.

• 715.nama1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-710:

They’ll need to do that…absolutely.

Can they…….? :lol:

• 716.cab: Reply to this comment

White went thru 4 years of **** and came out bang on top – EJ went along for the ride, that team was well selected and prepared and ready.

• 717.cab: Reply to this comment

The position of bok coach can ruin virually anyone – unless they themeselves think and believe they truly are the medssiah and know the ‘only’ way and surely no-one could be that stupid or hardegat or arrogant – you’d be useless as a coach or person if you couldn’t admit you were wrong, because you simply couldn’t learn as a result.

• 718.cab: Reply to this comment

PdV was in ruins in the end – they all were – only one who perhaps got out easy was kitch cos he never lost – there is a whole psychological side that one prob has to prepare for as bok coach cos virtually whatever you do you will be castigated – even winning a 3N and a RWC

• 719.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-702: So you fellows are saying that the chap who speaks through Meyer’s mouth (oh yes, they are twinned at the mouth and mind) doesn’t even live in Pretoria?
    :) Precious.

• 720.grant10: Reply to this comment

Well unless HM is prepared to be flexible and relook his entire farken gameplan he will end up with 1 win from 6 games in this RC……as night follows day we going down like a lead balloon against Aussies and Kiwis sans a fetcher and with the bloody useless M Steyn at 10…

• 721.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Humphrey-707: Oh not they would be out even more, as we didn’t deserve to win that game, in fact even the draw was flattering. (And the Boks were kak in CT last week, and in the final test against the Poms…Can you honestly tell me you are mightily impressed with what you have seen thus far? In terms of players, selections, game plan, use of the bench and execution :)

• 722.grant10: Reply to this comment

I think I may very well have a heart attack if the only changes HM makes for the trip down under are Kanko and FDP back….that will be like elastoplasting a cancer….

Fundamental changes need to made……the most glaring are at 6 and 10…..

• 723.cab: Reply to this comment

G10 get the defibrillator ready

• 724.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Hire and fire is also not necessarily the solution.No previous Springbok coach has EARNED the job more than Meyer…I will give Heyneke some more time before I judge him too harshly. He has not inherited a side like Pieter Div and is still finding his feet at this level.

The 2003 and 2007 World cup teams were gelled together over a long period of time for first choice combinations and style of play to take shape. They weren’t instant hits.

The Sharks style of play got them further than the conservative Bulls and defense Stormers this year. Total rugby. offloads in the tackle and great attacking play.

Daniel and Juandre Kruger should start the next game.

Something’s got to give

• 725.grant10: Reply to this comment

the ‘Kenners ‘ always talk about the spine of a team being the 2… 8….9 …10….15…

Our 2 is in hospital

our 8 is actually a 7

our 9 is being told to play a game foreign to his DNA

our 10 is the weakest link

And our 15 is a hard trying journeyman….

• 726.BULLET: Reply to this comment

Bok problem positions at the moment:

2 – Bissy injured, nothing we can do at this stage, Adrian is the next best thing.
    3 – We need a tight head who can hold his own (I am not even asking for a dominator anymore), and who does not give away stupid penalties.
    5 – Bekker seems not to be in the right frame of mind for the last 2 years or so
    6 – Balance needed. We cannot have 3 big running loosies. Need that fetcher. Brussouw showed how influential he can be in 2009. How he is overlooked is beyond me,
    7 – Should be Alberts
    8 – Not sure as NOBODY is putting their hands up as a dominator.
    9 – Depends. If we want Hougard, me must be allowed to play his game. He is not FDP.
    10 – Poor Steyn, he should not be in this position.
    11, 12, 13, 14 – all okay when we have a decent half back pairing.
    15 – Im not convinced, but he has not played that badly.

• 727.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab-723: I am not sure what a defribillator is Cab?

• 728.cab: Reply to this comment

Helps with the heart G10 in noodgeval – u may also want to prep ducky for the worst.

Where u been all this time? U missed the best stormers season in history.

• 729.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

Meyer may be hard headed but he’s not stupid. One thing he has said since his appointment and again last night was that there are going to be some hard decisions made. And by that some guys will be playing CC this weekend and won’t be in the departure lounge at OR Tambo.
    He is slowly starting to realise that faith put in certain players is not paying off. He said one poor game you may get away with but not two.

• 730.grant10: Reply to this comment

Vermeulen is the correct call at 8….with Kanko a horses for courses rotation can be followed….

at 6 Brussow/ F Louw / Steggmann

At 7 Alberts / Marcelle / Elstaht….

A Bekker is not remotely the player he was 2 years back….

Also not convinced we did the correct thing making JDV a 13 and captain….I foresee another Smit conondrum developing here…..

• 731.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@729, I really hope so.
    But herein lies the problem. If he drops 4 or 5 players now, he will not do much better in Aus or NZ.
    Right now, you are HM. Who will you drop, and who will you start against the Aussies in 2 weeks time?
    HM’s problem is that he has lost some experienced players through injury (Bissy, Pieterson, Spies to name a few), and although Spies was not on form, the experience that those 3 had in pretty important positions has already unsettled the team.
    Now drop a few more players, and its player panic.

• 732.Spiesisworthless1: Reply to this comment

Somebody shoot Kirtchner! I cant take seeing him in the Bok jersey for another game.

• 733.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@G10 – 730,
    Who was his other options as Captain?

• 734.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab-728: Best Stormers performance in history? Well Cab I went to all the games, left dissapointed and unsure each time…..winning ugly is 1 thing, but that was some damn hideous wins there Cab….no man, must be more to rugby than defending and skopping pennies….That bubble was always going to burst….

Cool to see the Kitshoffs, Etsebeths, Kolisis, etc coming through, but the only standout moments were the wins away in Dunedin, Brisbane and Loftus…..

at newlands we were poor, despite the wins…

the 98 team was better imo

• 735.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@grant10-730:

JDV at 13 is looking that way. HM made it very clear that Frans was his first choice 12 and it’s a way of accomodating JDV because of the captaincy. But JDV woon’t be there forever – this could well be his last season of international rugby before HM decides on a long term captain.

Vermeulen is his first choice 8 but needs more game time – he’s a long way from being match fit.

And HM may have revisit the decision not to go with Brussow.

• 736.cab: Reply to this comment

734 g10
    yeah defense got tge better of them and opted for kick-chase cos of fatigued pack with injuries but when all fit nigh on unbeatable

• 737.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-733: I would have gone with Bissy….

• 738.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@nama1-715:
    ja… why not… :lol:

• 739.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@737 – fair enough.

• 740.Jeraldjay: Reply to this comment

@grant10-730:
    Don’t you th!nk HM should br!ng back Sm!t as a stop unt!l B!smark returns h!s exper!ence !s desperately needed.

• 741.grant10: Reply to this comment

@cab-736: stormers offense looked better when Habana and JDJ partnered at 12 and 13….

• 742.grant10: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer-735: well i hope HM has the balls to reinstate Brussow….with Alberts at 7 and Vermeulen at 8 we are on the right path….Marcelle and Kolisi will have to fight it out for jersey 16 imo….

• 743.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@740 Jeraldjay,
    I am a big Smit fan… – but no!
    Smit is past it, and it will not necessarily help HM, or the Boks.

• 744.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-740: LOL…..You joking right?

If not, then …No …x a farken 1000

• 745.BULLET: Reply to this comment

@742 – G10, agreed
    Our pack weighed 52kgs more than the Pumas with this massive loose forward fascination we have, and we got nailed at the breakdown by a team not reknowned for breakdown play.
    If we dont get Brussouw in, we will get hammered in NZ on the ground. More turnovers than against the Aussies

• 746.BULLET: Reply to this comment

If Smit had to come back, I think that G10 would boycott the site again, and thats not good for the bloggers. I missed him!

• 747.The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food: Reply to this comment

@Jeraldjay-740: ??? There was a huge debate on here the other day re: John Smit. I was a huge fan of the man and all that….but you honestly want to bring him back? Or you are pulling a few legs yes?

• 748.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@BULLET-731:

Bekker needs more game time at CC level before a recall can be considered.

Potgieter can go and play CC for the rest of his career as far as I’m concerned.

HM has had to defend M Steyn publicly – he can’t do that again. Jantjes or Goosen need an opportunity at the highest level. It’s time to sink or swim now for the youngsters.

• 749.pat1: Reply to this comment

What Meyer needs to do is appoint some attack/backline guru to work with our youngsters and our coaches in SA. The RWC quarterfinal exit last year in Aus should have been a major wake up call to any coach coming that our attack leaves a lot to be desired and desperately needs to be overhauled.

Meyer should have appointed a backline guru like Wayne Smith/Jo Schmidt/ or possibly Carlos Spencer now that he is available. That person could then work with the SA schools and SA U20s as well as be at Craven Week. He could work with each franchise on a secondment basis working with SA coaches like Hawies Fourie or Bashford or whoever has been identified while also work with our junior sides. His main role would be to implement attacking systems, give tactical ploys and help bring creative plays to all our teams. We desperately need something like this.

The All Blacks have it best as all their 5 franchises play a running game which means that come All Black training all their players are singing from the same hymn sheet and the coaches can then tweak various things, and adds further layers to the detail.

Until we radically overhaul our attack and learn the lessons from the RWC 11 exit we are going to be stagnant and frustrated.

• 750.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-747:

JS can be recalled for his versatility being able to cover 1 and 3. And also form part of the leadership group until a long term solution is found.

Pages: « 110 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.