Shocking Springboks must break shackles
27 Aug 2012
MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan and playing philosophy is simply not good enough.
The All Blacks lacked accuracy in attack against the Wallabies, but that was all that was missing from a New Zealand display that made South Africa’s match against Argentina look like something from the Dark Ages.
If what the All Blacks produced in Auckland was high octane, then in Mendoza there was nothing more than grunt and growl. It was a shocker and the Springboks were the most shocking of the two teams.
Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has spoken of the need to win every weekend. He has spoken of mental toughness and the search for excellence. He has spoken of the potential greatness of players. Actions have always been more significant than words and the player actions in Mendoza, just like in Port Elizabeth in the third Test against England, were a contradiction on everything being said. The 20 minutes we saw against England in Johannesburg’s second Test was a hint of the potential within our rugby, but even that 20 minutes looks a decade ago when compared to the intensity and pace of the effort from New Zealand, the current world champions and without doubt the team setting the standards.
I thought the Australians were woeful as an attacking unit and there was no threat they’d get five points let alone a victory. They defended bravely and showed a desire for the scrap but they were simply beaten up in the collisions and given a rugby lesson.
This is a very good All Blacks team, stronger now than when they edged France to win the World Cup last October. Richie McCaw and Dan Carter will be managed carefully through to the next World Cup but the succession plan of Sam Cane and Aaron Cruden is already in motion. Very little else will change from now to 2015 so those who talk of the All Blacks being a side in decline in 2015 think again. The back three will be at their peak and so too a midfield that will include Sonny Bill Williams. The All Blacks have integrated as many players new players into the system as the Boks have. Two new locks, a new loose forward, a new scrumhalf and variations on the wing. The only position where there is no definitive answer in relation to 2015 is at hooker. They’re in a healthy position and they’re not making any excuses about World Cup hangovers, lack of desire, retirements, inexperience or players coming to terms with the demands of international rugby. They’ve set standards, especially on defence, and to keep two sides of the standing of Ireland and Australia scoreless this year is the kind of action that accompanies any talk of excellence.
The All Blacks were not precise in their attack in Auckland, but that will always be a possibility with the type of high risk, high tempo and absolutely enthralling game they play. In Auckland they offloaded in the tackle 30 times and most of the offloads were effective in advancing the play, sustaining flow, continuity and ensuring momentum. If you tuned in at 9:35am to Auckland and happened to be watching the same rugby channel 12 hours later you could excused for thinking that what was on offer from Mendoza was part of the ESPN Classic packages. My god it was awful.
All Blacks coach Steve Hansen, on reflection, spoke of the physicality of South Africa and Argentina, whom the All Blacks play next in Wellington. He said it was like watching two rhinos go at each other all afternoon.
His reference to rhino reminded me of former Wallabies coach Rod Macqueen’s rhino reference to the then Springbok coach Harry Viljoen. Macqueen and Viljoen are good mates and they were on a Safari outing when they saw Rhino. Macqueen said: ‘Look Harry there’s your team … big, strong and f**king dumb’.
The Boks certainly moved on from the dummy tag in 2007 thanks to the approach and thinking of some very special players, but the limited quality of player on display in Mendoza is no excuse for the kind of rugby produced.
Meyer, as coach, picks the side and determines game strategy and playing philosophy. What we saw in Port Elizabeth and Mendoza is simply not good enough, in intent, in ambition and in principle.
No player picks himself and not one Springbok in Mendoza would make a current World XV. That’s a reality but it is no excuse to draw to Argentina because no Pumas player would make a World XV either.
Mendoza should be a watershed moment for Meyer, who doesn’t want for rugby intellect but needs to be challenged to break his own shackles of conservatism.
The obvious reaction is to take fire at the players, but that would be misguided. Meyer is the one in charge and a team is a reflection of a coach. If the coach expected more of his players in Mendoza then I – like every South African rugby supporter – expected more of Meyer at this juncture.

860 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All
27 Aug 2012, 16:18 pm
@Boksarenumber1-489: haha, i also like tantamount.
as in:
his temerity is tantamount to wilful ignorance.
@Mustard-495: just passing to bekker was frikken dof.
27 Aug 2012, 16:20 pm
@Big Hit-480: relax BigHit we know you’re a guppy too
the low trajectory of the clearance is something that fransie could not have anticipated…”right place at the right time” and good on him!
in SA we believe in a lot of things but “manufactured charge downs” not a fark”
@poppa69-485:
see pops… honesty becomes you..
@rangerman-486:
look, we all have our opinions but i really think the boy has possibly everything to offer the boks. if morne’s missing kicks then maybe shock him into form by selecting fouche who is big, a ball carrier, a good distributor, has a great sense of when its on and even coordinates calls to and from 9 and finally has a moster of a boot (a la frans steyn) that can do no wrong.
seriously
why he hasn’t gotten a callup yet is beyond me
Bookies must be a mess after two rounds. And if we go on to beat Australia in Perth, and the Argies run NZ closer than the Aussies, no one’s going to have a clue what odds to give on anything. Potential to make some money.
27 Aug 2012, 16:21 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-479: Nee man? Die kind het omtrent 160 minute rugby agter die rug, en dit in die Curriebeker?
Hulle het hom hoeveel keer in die S15 gebruik? Elke week het hy daar gesit op die bank soos Forest Gump en geduldig gewag vir sy 2 minute speel tyd elke 4de wedstryd.
Hy het potensiaal ja, maar liewefok, praat van iemand vir die wolwe gooi na ‘n paar minute se Curriebeker rugby.
Goosen is elk geval ver voor hom, glo ek?
27 Aug 2012, 16:21 pm
@nama1-499: bullshit.
go sell that somewhere else.
you have had a hard on for the kid for years buddy.
its actually quite pathetic considering all that he has achieved.
games fransie won:
2009 3n decider
boks vs aus at newlands
two that stand out without any thought.
27 Aug 2012, 16:22 pm
Mustard
he is a talent, but too often for me anyways he seems to play selfishly… Israel dagg did the same thing in the test versus the Wallabies, got tryline fever when a simple pass would have resulted in a try..
against the best teams you cant really afford those mistakes, it can be the difference between winning and losing.
27 Aug 2012, 16:23 pm
@poppa69-492
I may be a dumb fish but even so I don’t stink as much as your “wit”. That reeked the place out. As soon as you sent that, 200 people logged off. And, yes, of course I responded, you embarrassed yourself and I don’t want you to do so again. Have some pride man. (And please don’t respond to that comment with something lame about *** pride, rattle your braincell about and come up with something a bit more original. Go on, push yourself out of your comfort zone.)
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-503: are you seriously proposing that fouche be fast tracked into the boks to replace morne?
i will not grace any further discussion along these lines with a reply.
i believe you are trying to wind people up
@Transformation-498:
fair enough but he did play a lot more than just two games at 10 transie.
27 Aug 2012, 16:24 pm
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-505: and goosen is surely behind pat?
because if he isnt then we are farked.
27 Aug 2012, 16:25 pm
anyways crackers and crackeads (poops) i am out.
have a goodie.
27 Aug 2012, 16:27 pm
@Monty15-508: mate, youre the one who got all upset because I suggested that some boxers may take drugs..
but do go on, I find it refreshing that someone could be so naive about the possibility of sports people using drugs to enhance their performance..
27 Aug 2012, 16:27 pm
@Monty15-508: I’m afraid you’re trying to tell a little kid not to pick his nose. Not going to work. He will continue to embarrass himself week in and week out, adding little chuckles and smileys as if to imply that everyone finds him hilarious. It’s hard to watch.
27 Aug 2012, 16:31 pm
@katman-514: I really own your thoughts dont i katman, you just cant help yourself…
love it… ..
27 Aug 2012, 16:31 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-510: goosen is in front of pat, in meyer’s estimation!
meyer sees pat as a fullback who can play 10 BUT has to work on his tactical kicking to be good enough for Test rugby!
27 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
@Transformation-433:
‘Look Heyneke there’s your Siya … small, fragile and NOT f**king dumb’.
27 Aug 2012, 16:35 pm
@poppa69-513
Yes I got annoyed that you accused what, 50? 100? SA boxing world champions of being drug cheats. But how did that lead to your suggestion that I may have a boxing boyfriend? Where did that come from? Puerile, pal, totally juvenile BS. I like a debate but when you come out with imbecilic garbage like that you just make yourself look silly and make the whole conflab a waste of time. If I’d wanted the sort of dribble I expect from teenagers I’d be at a BMX site, not here.
27 Aug 2012, 16:37 pm
@Transformation-516: Well Meyer also sees POttie as the big cheese power bomb loose forward and MOrne as the savior of 10′s and we saw how that panned out
27 Aug 2012, 16:38 pm
@RL-517: Luyt tears into Lions’ bosses
CRAIG RAY | 27 August, 2012 08:190 Comments
FORMER Golden Lions Rugby Union president Louis Luyt has hit out at the management of the once-proud union after the Lions were relegated from Super rugby for 2013.
Lions battle in the boardroom Luyt, who retired from the GLRU in 2000, left Ellis Park with the Lions in rude financial health. They had “R85-million in cash reserves and no debt”, yet today they are technically bankrupt.
“It’s not a question of what’s happened to the GLRU but rather a question of why people allowed it to happen,” Luyt told internet radio station Ballz radio.
“The brand was fantastic and in 1996 when we signed the Murdoch agreement (which funded Super rugby and the Tri-Nations), according to the people I dealt with the finest union in the world was the Transvaal Rugby Union, which is now the GLRU.
“With all due respect, how can you let a fantastic union like the Lions go down the drain like they did? I can only assume that people who were in charge didn’t know what they were doing and what rugby was about.
“The money was there. But somehow or other the decision was made to use the money for junior rugby and other poor business decisions.
“There was no plan, no bloody plan. What the hell did they do all that time?
“Where is the money? How the hell can you lose that much money? It’s there to be invested and earn more money. You lose it only if you’re stupid enough to lose it,” he said.
The former Sarfu boss was fearful for the union’s prospects: “I’ll tell you one thing, if the GLRU owes more money than it can pay, it will have to go into liquidation.
“It’s painful for me to contemplate that it could be sequestrated and closed down because it was the finest and strongest union in the world not so long ago.”
Luyt said there was some hope: “This crisis can be solved but it will require clear heads and no egos. I would find good investors and they could rebuild the Lions to its former glory. No one’s asked me to help and I don’t know if I could, but there are people out there who can help.”
Adding insult to their Super rugby ejection injury, the Lions were told by an independent arbitrator that they have to cough up R2.565-million in unpaid franchise fees to the Leopards, with the possibility of another R6.6-million due to be paid to the Mpumalanga Pumas and the Leopards.
Luyt took a dim view of the crisis: “I don’t know how they are going to pay that money because they don’t have it.”
@katman-514
Well he can pick his nose if he must but he can smear it over the front of his own shirt, not mine.
@poppa69-515: I think the list of things that you do indeed own is embarrassingly short. Why don’t you start with a place to stay and clean underwear and we’ll take it from there.
27 Aug 2012, 16:39 pm
@RL-517: oh really? potgieter is never injured huh?
@Monty15-518: someone thinks too much of themselves methinks… I made a joke about chemistry in a conversation with someone else and you took offense? seriously, get a fcken grip…
@Transformation-516: The question one should ask is this???
If he chose Goosen, would he allow him to play like he does for the Cheetahs?? or because he has a bigger boot than Steyn would he convert him into a bigger MOrne Steyn clone??? higher up and unders???
27 Aug 2012, 16:40 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-510: yes, and every time it was either because pat was injured or coming back from injury.
@katman-514: the worst and weird thing is… he is aaaalllways here. day morning or night. What else can he find time for? and 90% of his posts are shallow insults or more rhetoric about SA. Addicted to a blog – attention seeking individual (troll) – probably with agoraphobia to boot.
@rangerman-511: HM will fast track Goosen into he Bok squad and play him at FH above Lambie. Lambie would have to settle for an impact role.
@rangerman-506: ‘The kid”
27 Aug 2012, 16:41 pm
@Big Hit-480:
He is selfish. Always wants the glory to be his. Look at how many times he will cut back inside when close to the goal line only to be tackled even though the players on his outside have a much better chance to score the try.
Rugby is a team sport.
I’m not blinded by his long drops/penalties/clearances like some other people.
@rangerman-486:
If you can’t see that that is exactly my point, than I’m sorry.
Morne won’t get the kind of ball that he got against Namibia. Fransie will have to show his magic with the ball that he gets. Can’t now blame Morne if he does not perform.
Still fishing.
PS: Ricky January chipped and chase after making a break. Regathered the ball and dived over to give SA their first victory in NZ in 10 years.
Some people said he was lucky that the ball bounced just right for him.
@rangerman-497:
You like that, don’t you?
Making assumptions and think it is the truth.
Ever thought that maybe I just don’t rate him as high as you okes do.
I wonder what “more deserving player” you think I think Potgieter is keeping out…or Flip…
27 Aug 2012, 16:41 pm
@katman-522: hahaha gees. dont try too hard bro…
27 Aug 2012, 16:42 pm
@Transformation-523: he gets hurt, nine of of ten times that Neanderthal hurts himself
27 Aug 2012, 16:44 pm
@XhosaKid-493: Me neither. HM seems nervous about playing rugby away from home. Must be a Blue Bulls trait. The Aussie walkie talkie’s better be fully charged at Perth.
27 Aug 2012, 16:44 pm
@shooter-527: and yet so many of you feel compelled to respond…
27 Aug 2012, 16:46 pm
@poppa69-524
Interesting the way you dance around with your replies rather than answer a direct question. But that’s okay, it tells me a lot. I have a job to go to today and it’s getting on for 3am so I’m out. Spot ya, pilgrim.
27 Aug 2012, 16:48 pm
If we analyse the flyahlfs in this country it doesnt really matter who is the pecking order. It depends on the game plan you are going to play and then select the best man for the job. If HM persists with the current game plan it clear that he will go with a Derick Hougaard/ Morne Steyn type flyhalf.
If HM goes with Goosen or Lambie i believe we may move in the right direction as i would imagine the game plan involve some variety.
Elton Jantjies seems to be improving but i dont believe he is ready for top flight yet, maybe in a year or 2.
Grant kicking out of hand is sub standard and i dont believe will get a look in.
27 Aug 2012, 16:48 pm
@sharks_lover-525: same applies to the lambster who is just not versatile enough to play Meyers game. Goosen can play any style you ask him to player.
27 Aug 2012, 16:50 pm
@Monty15-535: the boxer boyfriend? you felt compelled to tell me that you have a boxer mate? why? because I made a joke about the advances of chemistry in a totally unrelated conversation that you werent even a part of..
@The Sharks rugby pedigree is packaged as dog food-505:
het jy vir fouche dop gehou in die bulls-sharks wedstryd oor die naweek? eerlik waar belowe ek hier en nou vir jou hierdie outjie is uit en uit n losskakel en verder het hy springbok losskakel al oor hom gepluister.
se jy nou vir my hoeveel wedstryde het patrick gespeel voordat hy n bok trui oor sy kop getrek het..?.. selde vir bryan…?..
dis meer as net potensiaal wat hy het en in my opinie bied hy n bietjie meer as goosen aan. hy skop min of meer net so ver en is defintief meer fisies.
maar die teleurstelling omtrent hierdie die saak is dat hy nie as losskakel gekies sal word omdat mense presies soos jy nou doen, heeltemal bevok sal raak.
en alle soorte kak van bo af dai fokkenn berg sal skreeu oor die saak.
@rossoneri-533: geez hey, even kiwis are talking about his near-meltdowns in the coaching boxes…
27 Aug 2012, 16:51 pm
@poppa69-534: you are the compelled one.
You’re the best at all you do – and all you do is pssing people off.
That’s a fact – go check it up. Something to be proud of?
27 Aug 2012, 16:52 pm
@Mustard-536: Meyer doesnt believe the flyhalf is your general, hence his persistence with Hougard at 9..
85 million rand in the year 2000.Now that was a ‘moerse klomp geld’!Seriously,what the fck happened to all of that money??
Keo that’s your best article yet! It was so damning, it made Nick Mallett look skittish.
27 Aug 2012, 16:54 pm
@rangerman-506:
So that’s two.
One in 2006 and another in 2009. In more than 50 tests that’s what he did?
Oh my goodness. Let’s honour him for that by selecting him forever even if he plays kak for the rest of his career.
@Transformation-540: Who’s he shouting at?
@rangerman-497:
I wonder indeed.
27 Aug 2012, 16:55 pm
@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-539: im not convinced with fouche, has potential but first has to prove himself away from home and the melktert in the super 15 consistently before he should be even mentioned as a potential bok
27 Aug 2012, 16:56 pm
@shooter-541: sorry chop, you have me confused with someone else…Ive never professed to be the best at all I do…far from it..
poeple like Katman think they are the greatest, its evident in every post he makes to me..
and hey, the fact I throw rubbish at you guys is a direct response to the many rubbish things said on this very site about kiwis, so if you dont like it I dont care..
is the big bad saffa upset that the kiwi is dishing up the saffas own medicine? how very sad..
27 Aug 2012, 16:56 pm
@Transformation-540: its hilarious
stressed eric
Pages: « 1 … 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 … 18 » Show All