Shocking Springboks must break shackles

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan and playing philosophy is simply not good enough.

The All Blacks lacked accuracy in attack against the Wallabies, but that was all that was missing from a New Zealand display that made South Africa’s match against Argentina look like something from the Dark Ages.

If what the All Blacks produced in Auckland was high octane, then in Mendoza there was nothing more than grunt and growl. It was a shocker and the Springboks were the most shocking of the two teams.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has spoken of the need to win every weekend. He has spoken of mental toughness and the search for excellence. He has spoken of the potential greatness of players. Actions have always been more significant than words and the player actions in Mendoza, just like in Port Elizabeth in the third Test against England, were a contradiction on everything being said. The 20 minutes we saw against England in Johannesburg’s second Test was a hint of the potential within our rugby, but even that 20 minutes looks a decade ago when compared to the intensity and pace of the effort from New Zealand, the current world champions and without doubt the team setting the standards.

I thought the Australians were woeful as an attacking unit and there was no threat they’d get five points let alone a victory. They defended bravely and showed a desire for the scrap but they were simply beaten up in the collisions and given a rugby lesson.

This is a very good All Blacks team, stronger now than when they edged France to win the World Cup last October. Richie McCaw and Dan Carter will be managed carefully through to the next World Cup but the succession plan of Sam Cane and Aaron Cruden is already in motion. Very little else will change from now to 2015 so those who talk of the All Blacks being a side in decline in 2015 think again. The back three will be at their peak and so too a midfield that will include Sonny Bill Williams. The All Blacks have integrated as many players new players into the system as the Boks have. Two new locks, a new loose forward, a new scrumhalf and variations on the wing. The only position where there is no definitive answer in relation to 2015 is at hooker. They’re in a healthy position and they’re not making any excuses about World Cup hangovers, lack of desire, retirements, inexperience or players coming to terms with the demands of international rugby. They’ve set standards, especially on defence, and to keep two sides of the standing of Ireland and Australia scoreless this year is the kind of action that accompanies any talk of excellence.

The All Blacks were not precise in their attack in Auckland, but that will always be a possibility with the type of high risk, high tempo and absolutely enthralling game they play. In Auckland they offloaded in the tackle 30 times and most of the offloads were effective in advancing the play, sustaining flow, continuity and ensuring momentum. If you tuned in at 9:35am to Auckland and happened to be watching the same rugby channel 12 hours later you could excused for thinking that what was on offer from Mendoza was part of the ESPN Classic packages. My god it was awful.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen, on reflection, spoke of the physicality of South Africa and Argentina, whom the All Blacks play next in Wellington. He said it was like watching two rhinos go at each other all afternoon.

His reference to rhino reminded me of former Wallabies coach Rod Macqueen’s rhino reference to the then Springbok coach Harry Viljoen. Macqueen and Viljoen are good mates and they were on a Safari outing when they saw Rhino. Macqueen said: ‘Look Harry there’s your team … big, strong and f**king dumb’.

The Boks certainly moved on from the dummy tag in 2007 thanks to the approach and thinking of some very special players, but the limited quality of player on display in Mendoza is no excuse for the kind of rugby produced.

Meyer, as coach, picks the side and determines game strategy and playing philosophy. What we saw in Port Elizabeth and Mendoza is simply not good enough, in intent, in ambition and in principle.

No player picks himself and not one Springbok in Mendoza would make a current World XV. That’s a reality but it is no excuse to draw to Argentina because no Pumas player would make a World XV either.

Mendoza should be a watershed moment for Meyer, who doesn’t want for rugby intellect but needs to be challenged to break his own shackles of conservatism.

The obvious reaction is to take fire at the players, but that would be misguided. Meyer is the one in charge and a team is a reflection of a coach. If the coach expected more of his players in Mendoza then I – like every South African rugby supporter – expected more of Meyer at this juncture.

860 Comments

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1318 » Show All

• 351.Sandman8: Reply to this comment

Bryan Habana must come off the bench now – I’m just not convinced he deserves to start

and Morne Steyn needs to stop stupidly kicking the ball away instead of playing it in hands. his kicks are not that tactical unless he is kicking for touch.

and replace Zane Kirchener with a more exciting and insightful fullback

• 352.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-349:
    Lol @ zen :)

• 353.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-342: You didn’t think, did you? Since 1927, SA has had 49 world titles in boxing between 35 fighters. I can find only two for NZ, and both back in the 1890′s. So don’t lift your leg where you have no intention to piss.

• 354.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Monty15-348:
    :lol: :lol:

• 355.katman: Reply to this comment

@katman-353: Make that only one. A featherweight called Torpedo Billy Murphy in 1890.

• 356.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@Sandman8-351:
    Morne Steyn is finished, he needs to be dropped. Zane is not a Boks backside.
    Meyer is in for one hell of a shock

• 357.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-352:
    at zen you are mmmm :grin:

• 358.greegs: Reply to this comment

@ all the so called rugby column writers at Keo. You guys change your stories from one article to another. It has been clear from the first team selected for England that there was a problem with selections. We could also see exaclty what his (HM) strategy or game plan was….and most people disagreed with it. It’s now come back to bite him and all of you so called rugby kenners. Firstly Morne Steyn should be there, then he shoudn’t be there, then he should be there etc etc etc. Wake the eff up Ryan…it has been proven since the last RWC that Steyn should not be there. How many more tests do we have to lose before you actually buy into it? HM’s record is played 5 and won 3 with 4 of those games at home….an absolute disgrace given the competition. Rugby has evolved but the Boks haven’t! Keo calls a spade a spade and its about time you did too. The Boks are cr@p at the moment thru bad game plan. The coach should be sacked….simple!

• 359.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-353: actually you didnt think… did you not notice the smiley? or is it fact that every thing I post is serious?

hahaha but keep going, Im glad youve found something to make you feel better, have I got into your psyche that much?

• 360.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-353: it doesnt surprise though, what with boxing being just as corrupt as cricket..

how many of those titles were brought? :D

• 361.Sandman8: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-350:

yep Meye is such a putz.
    the South African public can see that this is too big a task for him to handle.
    at provincial level he would do just fine , but at national he has no idea what he is doing. i have a feeling we will be the laughing stock of international rugby this year.

• 362.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Sandman8-351:
    The game plan does not make provision for “exiting and insightful” rugby. Why do you need an
    “exiting and insightful” FB?

• 363.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-357:
    i like mmmm :P

• 364.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-359:

Stop winding up the Saffas Poppa – we are very sensitive today!

• 365.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@nama1-362:
    What game plan? Smash and grab

• 366.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@Sandman8-361:
    Meyer had Matfield and Bakkies at the Bulls, they ran the show

• 367.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-360: Fukkoff pal. You wanted to go down the “I didn’t know SA boxed road”. So here it is, Your list of world champs followed by ours:

New Zealand:

Thomas William Murphy – featherweight (1890)

South Africa:

Willie Smith – bantamweight, British version (1927)
    Vic Toweel – bantamweight, Universal (1950)
    Arnold Taylor – WBA bantamweight (1973)
    Peter Mathebula – WBA flyweight (1980)
    Gerrie Coetzee – WBA heavyweight (1983)
    Piet Crous – WBA junior heavyweight (1984)
    Brian Mitchell – WBA junior lightweight (1986)
    Welcome Ncita – WBA & IBF junior featherweight (1990)
    Dingaan Thobela – WBO lightweight (1990)
    Brian Mitchell – IBF junior lightweight (1991)
    Ditau Molefyane – WBF junior lightweight (1993)
    Jacob Matlala – WBO flyweight (1993)
    Dingaan Thobela – WBA lightweight (1993)
    Vuyani Bungu – IBF junior featherweight (1994)
    Mbulelo Botile – IBF bantamweight (1995)
    Phillip Holliday – IBF lightweight (1995)
    Gary Murray – WBU welterweight (1995)
    Jacob Matlala – WBO junior flyweight (1995)
    November Ntshingila – IBC featherweight (1995)
    Francois Botha – IBF heavyweight (1995)
    Thulani Malinga – WBC super middleweight (1996)
    Sakhumzi Magxwalisa – WBU super flyweight (1996)
    Mzukisi Sikali – WBU junior flyweight (1996)
    Cassius Baloyi – WBU junior featherweight (1996)
    Lehlohonolo Ledwaba – WBU bantamweight (1996)
    Jacob Matlala – IBA junior flyweight (1997)
    Peter Malinga – WBU welterweight (1997)
    Patrick Quka – WBU bantamweight (1997)
    Corrie Sanders – WBU heavyweight (1997)
    Thulani Malinga – WBC super middleweight (1997)
    Zolani Petelo – IBF mini flyweight (1997)
    Cassius Baloyi – WBU featherweight (1998)
    Thulani Malinga – WBF super middleweight (1998)
    Mzukisi Sikali – WBU junior bantamweight (1998)
    Simon Ramoni – IBO super bantamweight (1998)
    Mpush Makambi – IBO middleweight (1998)
    Jacob Mofokeng – WBU cruiserweight (1998)
    Lindi Memani – WBU strawweight (1998)
    Masibulele Makepula – WBU junior flyweight (1998)
    Lehlohonolo Ledwaba – IBF junior featherweight (1999)
    Sebastiaan Rothmann – WBU cruiserweight (1999)
    Wele Maqolo – WBF mini flyweight (1999)
    Zolile Mbityi – IBO flyweight (1999)
    Peter Malinga – IBO welterweight (1999)
    Masibulele Makepula – WBO junior flyweight (2000)
    Mike Barnardo – WBF heavyweight (2000)
    Dingaan Thobela – WBC super middleweight (2000)
    Mbulelo Botile – IBF featherweight (2000)
    Jacob Matlala – WBU junior flyweight (2001)
    Corrie Sanders – WBO heavyweight (2003)

• 368.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

I really cant support this Bok team sorry.
    World rugby is the weakest it has been in decades

• 369.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt-364: I would be appalled if you guys werent Morne…

but the circus hasnt changed , just the ring master :D

@katman-367: again, the smiley was there for a reason… but you go on, its beautiful to watch… must have been all those punching bags they had for practice you think?

• 370.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

I read that Sonny Williams will be boxing the South African Afrikaaner who destroyed Simba’s career, in november

• 371.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-369:

Yup thats what I tried to say earlier, Meyer, PDV, White, Straueli – all the same…

• 372.Sandman8: Reply to this comment

This is so frustrating – we have world class talent in South Africa, but one idiot coach does not think so for a fact our South African rugby is strong , but the wrong combinations selected could ruin us.

can someone please tell that fool HM to open his eyes

• 373.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-369:
    take it like a man, pops

he’s nailed you there.

looks like a head to head of sports across the board will leave the kiwis squrming.

• 374.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-367: gees katman, not many there before apartheid ended…??? strange….also, the sudden vast leap also seems to coincide with the advances in chemistry??

• 375.capebull: Reply to this comment

15 Zane Kirchner
    Joined the line well and solid under the high ball.
    6/10

14 Bryan Habana
    Chased kicks well and looked threatening with ball in hand before being taken off as a precautionary.
    6/10

13 Jean de Villiers
    One clean break aside, the Bok captain was much too lateral on attack.
    5.5/10

12 Frans Steyn
    The best Bok by a country mile and he missed two penalties. He saved the day with his charge-down and showed good composure to scoop up the ball and score.
    7/10

11 Lwazi Mvovo
    His chasing wasn’t up to standard, which in the context of the Boks’ game plan, is his primary job.
    5/10

10 Morné Steyn
    Didn’t kick his penalties and didn’t take authority. With everyone from Frans Steyn to Adriaan Strauss acting as first receiver, he needed to step up and take control.
    4/10

9 Francois Hougaard
    Still too slow to the breakdown and clearing from the base.
    5/10

8 Willem Alberts
    Bit late to arrive at the rucks but once there he cleaned out with reckless abandon.
    5/10

7 Jacques Potgieter
    Ironically one of his better Tests. Committed and high workrate. His 12 tackles were the most by any Springbok.
    6/10

6 Marcell Coetzee
    Struggled to provide the go-forward he’s become renowned for.
    5.5/10

5 Andries Bekker
    Described by Nick Mallett as ‘disgraceful’ and rightly so. Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe outsmarted him in the line-outs and he couldn’t stomach it. His body language when substituted said it all.
    4/10

4 Eben Etzebeth
    A physical force but his inexperience showed in the manner he lost his cool by the off-the-ball tactics of the wily Argentine.
    6/10

3 Jannie du Plessis
    Hit the rucks with velocity and really gave his all in the tight loose.
    6/10

2 Adriaan Strauss
    Shirked responsibility in the tight loose by constantly standing off.
    5/10

1 Tendai Mtawarira
    Was outgrafted by a 35-year-old.
    5/10

• 376.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@Sandman8-372:
    Thats always the case with Bok rugby, idiot coaches and quotas, yep nothing has changed

• 377.katman: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-370: Ja, Francois Botha. I hope he get’s himself in shape for this one.

• 378.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@374.poppa69 I would have pointed to advances in opportunity, not chemistry.

• 379.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-373: barbarians good at barbaric sports..

quelle surprise :wink:

@PissAnt-371: they all seem to have a very rigid idea of what and how their teams should play… not good, because as Im sure you are aware, you have to keep evolving and innovating your rugby… not sure why but you guys cant seem to come together at the top level for the benefit of your rugby, it truly is sad to see… said it many times, we need SA to be strong to keep pushing us..

• 380.Sandman8: Reply to this comment

@nama1-362:

What i mean is that for instance compare Kirchener to the Sharks fullback (Viljoen) or the Stormers fullback

you can see that they are more tactical and run better lines than Kirchener and have overall better insight to play a better game on the field when required.

• 381.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

WOW!! have seen some knee jerk reactions before but this is embarrassing, as Springbok fans we come out looking worse than the Italian football fans, have never seen such tearing of shirts and bemoaning of fate and the universe. The Boks had a shocker fact, can they play better of course they can, fact, has HM lost a test yet? no, fact………………..gentleman pull your skirts down and grow a set!!!!

• 382.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Monty15-378: advances in the opportunity for chemistry or advances in the availability of chemistry? :D

• 383.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-368: Must say I havent felt that kak about a Bok team in a lonnnnnggggg time. Hate watching the Boks lose but its the way we lost on Sat that really got to me

• 384.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-379: Because the ozzies sure as hell won’t.

• 385.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-365:
    Precisely.

What do we need an “exiting and insightful” FB for if that is our game plan.

• 386.katman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-374: Are you high? You make about as much sense as one who has just nicked his granny’s car radio to buy and smoke some crack.

• 387.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-373: theres only one sport that counts boet, this you know..

• 388.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@katman-377:
    Thanks Francois Botha. Sonny Williams has guts but i reckon he is going to get his head knocked off, not going to miss that one.

• 389.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-382:
    dont taint us with your brush, old sport.

• 390.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-381: Barring a fortuitous Frans Steyn charge down try, the Boks would have lost.

• 391.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

The fact is that HM has not coached competitive rugby in the last two years, evedently it is also the period that SA’s type of rugby (first reciever rugby/ kick and chase) did not result in success. HM’s gameplan is three years to late to create any success!

If HM persists with his current strat and selections then he won’t make it to the end of 2013!

• 392.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring-390: but they didn’t did they………………………..? coulda shoulda woulda……………………bar for the Golden Bryce we would have been……………….

• 393.WP-Forever: Reply to this comment

What a rollercoaster ride it’s been on this site for the last two weeks:

13 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s Boks aim to be ready by 2015 so don’t expect too much from them now.”

14 Aug 2012: “Heyneke Meyer says while tactical advances are being made, it is mental toughness that will be at the heart of the Springboks’ success in the Rugby Championship.”

16 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE says the Pumas’ inclusion in the Rugby Championship will have significant benefits for the Springboks, but stresses that from a playing perspective they need time to settle.”

17 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE don’t believe Francois Hougaard is the answer as a starting scrumhalf. That man is in Japan and will still play a crucial role for the Springboks.”

18 Aug 2012: “Heyneke Meyer was satisfied with a winning start to the Rugby Championship, but admitted his disappointment in missing out on a four-try bonus point against Argentina.”

20 Aug 2012: “RYAN VREDE writes there is cause for optimism around the Springboks but there are also areas of concern that could be terminal to their Rugby Championship cause if not decisively addressed.”

20 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day column, said the Springboks did what was expected of them at Newlands.”

22 Aug 2012: “RYAN VREDE writes the Springboks’ defensive excellence against Argentina is a greater cause for optimism than their failure to score a bonus point is cause for concern.”

24 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE predict another miserable weekend for Robbie Deans against an All Blacks side who will only be tested by the Springboks.”

24 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE and RYAN VREDE agree that Morne Steyn is the best flyhalf we have in the context of what Heyneke Meyer wants to achieve with his game plan.”

25 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE writes Australia were woeful in Auckland and the All Blacks will at least get a contest when they play the Springboks.”

26 Aug 2012: “Springbok head coach Heyneke Meyer says his players let themselves and the nation down with their disappointing performance against Argentina in Mendoza.”

26 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE writes South Africa’s lack of leadership in the forwards was exposed in Mendoza, as was the naievety of a pack that is unfortunately a shadow of the bests who have worn the jersey in the past five years.”

27 Aug 2012: “RYAN VREDE writes that the Springboks’ performance in Mendoza was woeful but it is premature to make absolute judgements about Heyneke Meyer’s aptitude.”

27 Aug 2012: “MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan and playing philosophy is simply not good enough.”

• 394.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@katman-386: if you cared to look katman, it was bakkies that brought up the boxing, not me… but you seem to have a bee in your bonnet whenever I post, and the fact I included a smiley to show I was joking got lost on you in your undoubted rage to try and “get me”

but youve been gunning for me for a while now, it really is delightful to me that you care so much..

thank you..

• 395.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-387:
    if only we’d get a fair go at it and be allowed to play an even game, meaning- whats good for the goose… *sigh*

(as if)

• 396.trupisero: Reply to this comment

@nama1-385: as long as Krusty is exiting stage left pronto…

@Bok fan-383: we actually drew :)

• 397.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-383:
    I feel your pain but i really enjoyed watching Meyers pain, that goofball

• 398.goodstuff: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-381: Wake up and smell the coffie, the writing is on the wall and you aren’t reading it.

• 399.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-395: you werent a boxer in your youth were you? you seem like the grizzled old pro who has had one too many knocks to the head and continually mutters to himself “I couldve been a contender bro”

• 400.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 382 Unfairly smearing sportsmen with a smile on your face is still a smear. They worked hard for many years to win those titles yet you make your accusations without proof. First you suggest they won because the bouts were rigged, then you suggest they were drug cheats. Both claims are baseless. I think that’s shameful.

Pages: « 13 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 1318 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.