Shocking Springboks must break shackles

MARK KEOHANE, in his weekly Business Day newspaper column, says Heyneke Meyer’s game plan and playing philosophy is simply not good enough.

The All Blacks lacked accuracy in attack against the Wallabies, but that was all that was missing from a New Zealand display that made South Africa’s match against Argentina look like something from the Dark Ages.

If what the All Blacks produced in Auckland was high octane, then in Mendoza there was nothing more than grunt and growl. It was a shocker and the Springboks were the most shocking of the two teams.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer has spoken of the need to win every weekend. He has spoken of mental toughness and the search for excellence. He has spoken of the potential greatness of players. Actions have always been more significant than words and the player actions in Mendoza, just like in Port Elizabeth in the third Test against England, were a contradiction on everything being said. The 20 minutes we saw against England in Johannesburg’s second Test was a hint of the potential within our rugby, but even that 20 minutes looks a decade ago when compared to the intensity and pace of the effort from New Zealand, the current world champions and without doubt the team setting the standards.

I thought the Australians were woeful as an attacking unit and there was no threat they’d get five points let alone a victory. They defended bravely and showed a desire for the scrap but they were simply beaten up in the collisions and given a rugby lesson.

This is a very good All Blacks team, stronger now than when they edged France to win the World Cup last October. Richie McCaw and Dan Carter will be managed carefully through to the next World Cup but the succession plan of Sam Cane and Aaron Cruden is already in motion. Very little else will change from now to 2015 so those who talk of the All Blacks being a side in decline in 2015 think again. The back three will be at their peak and so too a midfield that will include Sonny Bill Williams. The All Blacks have integrated as many players new players into the system as the Boks have. Two new locks, a new loose forward, a new scrumhalf and variations on the wing. The only position where there is no definitive answer in relation to 2015 is at hooker. They’re in a healthy position and they’re not making any excuses about World Cup hangovers, lack of desire, retirements, inexperience or players coming to terms with the demands of international rugby. They’ve set standards, especially on defence, and to keep two sides of the standing of Ireland and Australia scoreless this year is the kind of action that accompanies any talk of excellence.

The All Blacks were not precise in their attack in Auckland, but that will always be a possibility with the type of high risk, high tempo and absolutely enthralling game they play. In Auckland they offloaded in the tackle 30 times and most of the offloads were effective in advancing the play, sustaining flow, continuity and ensuring momentum. If you tuned in at 9:35am to Auckland and happened to be watching the same rugby channel 12 hours later you could excused for thinking that what was on offer from Mendoza was part of the ESPN Classic packages. My god it was awful.

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen, on reflection, spoke of the physicality of South Africa and Argentina, whom the All Blacks play next in Wellington. He said it was like watching two rhinos go at each other all afternoon.

His reference to rhino reminded me of former Wallabies coach Rod Macqueen’s rhino reference to the then Springbok coach Harry Viljoen. Macqueen and Viljoen are good mates and they were on a Safari outing when they saw Rhino. Macqueen said: ‘Look Harry there’s your team … big, strong and f**king dumb’.

The Boks certainly moved on from the dummy tag in 2007 thanks to the approach and thinking of some very special players, but the limited quality of player on display in Mendoza is no excuse for the kind of rugby produced.

Meyer, as coach, picks the side and determines game strategy and playing philosophy. What we saw in Port Elizabeth and Mendoza is simply not good enough, in intent, in ambition and in principle.

No player picks himself and not one Springbok in Mendoza would make a current World XV. That’s a reality but it is no excuse to draw to Argentina because no Pumas player would make a World XV either.

Mendoza should be a watershed moment for Meyer, who doesn’t want for rugby intellect but needs to be challenged to break his own shackles of conservatism.

The obvious reaction is to take fire at the players, but that would be misguided. Meyer is the one in charge and a team is a reflection of a coach. If the coach expected more of his players in Mendoza then I – like every South African rugby supporter – expected more of Meyer at this juncture.

860 Comments

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 1418 » Show All

• 401.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@trupisero-396:
    LOL i never posted that we lost but it sure as hell felt like it :)

• 402.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-397:
    no

its boofball

do your homework…

• 403.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-373: a crabbing crab.

the worst kind.

i nearly tore the sunday times to shreds when i read that lightweigtht liam del carmes opinions and wrap up.

now liam may be a good guy but its clear he is usually as pissed as blades by halftime as there is nothing remotely incisive about his writing. how i miss the good old days of siminikwe, now theres a rugby man and genuine sports journo.

anyways, old liam reckons that JdV was operating on a “different plain” to the rest of the bok backline and the rest “need to come up to his level”??????????

WHAT?

seriously, the oke had a mare only eclipsed by morne in my opinion.

• 404.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Sandman8-380:
    They also play a different game plan inviting them to join the back line at times.

Yhe Boks, under Meyer, don’t.

@capebull-375:
    “12 Frans Steyn
    The best Bok by a country mile and he missed two penalties. He saved the day with his charge-down and showed good composure to scoop up the ball and score.
    7/10″

I knew this would happen. A lucky packet charge down try and he suddenly had a great game.

How blind can you be!!!

Yes, he saved the day for the Boks but he did not play well.

• 405.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Mallet was so upset, he really cares about the Boks. He could not believe how dumb Meyer is. Naas Botha just speaks trash

• 406.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-398: ahhh well I guess time will tell, me I am a die hard Bok fan and I believe we will get better, I stand by what I said earlier…………….isn’t there a famous saying that the Keo scribes love quoting…………”a week is a long time in rugby” but then I remember a certain union saying HM wasn’t up to scratch after he finished a super rugby season in last place………that turned out pretty bad for them in the long run hey ;-)

• 407.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Monty15

havent seen precious levels that high since katman came at me earlier… theyre just jokes boet..

I realise youre probably upset because your rugby gods are mere mortals, but Im just having a laugh…

like no NZ sportsman has ever been vilified here :lol:

• 408.Bokhoring: Reply to this comment

@Captain Sam Vimes-392: I suspect we used our get-out-of-jail card with that one. I hope Meyer uses this opportunity to rethink his whole strategy – at least start working on other arrows in the quiver than predictable kick-and-chase and bash-it-up

• 409.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-399:
    baie snaaks

no, the closest i got to boxing of any professional sort was as a backyard breker.
    i won a lot of my fights and i lost a lot of my fights.. ahh… good times…good times.. :lol:

• 410.capebull: Reply to this comment

@nama1-404: Its not my scores its from Rugby365 , but in saying that was there any back better than Frans ? I agree if he was the best what does it say about the rest?

• 411.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-379:

Indeed, until the national coach is supported by structures at all lower levels of rugby and administration (specifically contracting and the access he has to his top players) absolutely nothing will change.

• 412.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Monty15-400: ag poops is here to wind people up.

his life is s h it.

well thats the only explanation i can come up with.

• 413.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-402: _
    You are a female right? or ***? cos you love bakkies

• 414.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-401:
    ag boet, “there’s little difference between winning and losing, except you feel better after winning”. :grin:

• 415.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Geez g a y is banned on keos :)

• 416.wnbb: Reply to this comment

“Ons moet nou op ons volgende wedstryd fokus. Ons sal waarskynlik nou wegwedstryde moet wen én 10 ligapunte by die huis insamel. Dit gaan nie maklik wees om nou in Nieu-Seeland en Australië te speel nie.”

Die feit dat sy span verskeie vars gesigte en ’n paar jong spelers gehad het, is volgens hom nie ’n verskoning nie.

“Ons moet hieruit leer. Dit is deel van geestelike krag om weg van jou huis af te kan speel. Dan het ons ook nog baie strafskoppe afgestaan.

“Vier strafskoppe in die eerste 10 minute is onaanvaarbaar.

“Maar dissipline is ook deel van geestelike krag. Ons het mos geweet dit gaan ’n harde wedstryd wees, ons gaan onder druk wees en die skare gaan raserig wees,” het Meyer gesê.

• 417.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-404: agreed, he had a poor gamer by his standards but then again, what do you expect with the kind of ball he received?

and you cant downplay a brilliant try because it doesnt fit your agenda pellie, it stands and is basically the reson we arent tearing meyer a completely new one today.

• 418.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring-408: I get the feeling that this week is going to be a hellllllluva long one for the guys in practice, Meyer strikes me as the kind of guy who wont tolerate what the team did on Saturday……..I very much doubt that the Boks will be anything but amped for the test in Perth.

• 419.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-409: :D so you have no teef left boet?

@PissAnt-411: thats where isolation did more damage then many will admit, you guys are still paying for it today.. surely there are enough smart people to look at NZs structures and adapt some of them to fit the SA model?

@rangerman-412:my life would be shi.t if my team needed a lucky packet charge down to draw with Argentina… the fact my team nilled the number 2 ranked side, and is the second time this season they have nilled another nations team, fills me with euphoria… life is schweet..

• 420.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i mean really “lucky packet charge down”? :lol:

could you be more obvious in your squirming need to put fransie down lmao!

ifit was “lucky packet” then why werent other boks doing it left right and center ya knobber? :lol:

• 421.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-414:
    I watch the Boks to win games, i have no joy when they lose.
    I seriously don’t think Meyer has the ability to change his mind or has a another game plan. We are doomed. Brussow should kick his a.s.s

• 422.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-403:

siminkiwe actually reminds me of a young (very young) mark keohane, who was similarly insightful when he started out.

and now that you mention it, i’ve always had a sneeky suspicion transie and siminkiwe might be one and the same person haha

• 423.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-419: :lol:

another “lucky packet” comment haha.

nama and poops, whatta pair.

its awesome that you are happy man, seriously. because we have all seen the polar opposite you sometimes spend time in and it aint pretty.

• 424.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-413:
    no,
    its a straight manly love.
    like the spartans.

• 425.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@ poppa69 407

“I realise youre probably upset because your rugby gods are mere mortals …”

My rugby gods are the ABs and I know they’re mere mortals, you don’t have to tell me that.

A mate of mine was once a Commonwealth champion and I’ve seen up close how hard boxers work to make it to the top and how tough a game it really is, so I get a bit prickly when people can fire off glib one-liners about fixes and drug cheats, whether joking or not. You find it funny, I don’t.

• 426.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

Can’t take the Boks seriously, not worth the pain

• 427.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-422: nah, siminikwe surely isnt transie?

i will have to revise all sorts of ideas then :lol:

• 428.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-420: you have no idea of what “lucky” means… the kick could have rebounded in any direction, it fell nicely for him..

but remain oblivious, Frans was very ordinary as Nama says, but I understand he is a sharkie and you are a fanbooi and so he walks on water..

he was no where in the game though, truth..

• 429.Boksarenumber1: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-424:
    LOL :) cool

• 430.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

and just for the record, someone please remind me what our recent record against France is……………………I mean the Argies are so **** that they only managed to knock off the world cup finalists oh twice ;-)

• 431.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Monty15-425: I suggest you dont use the internet then bro, because strange as it may seem, there are many many people who fire of glib one liners…

• 432.Mustard: Reply to this comment

All blacks and Aussies must be licking their lips. But it’s all not lost. Things can be turned around if hard decisions are made. Inexperience showed on Saturday, and some lack of leadership in terms of changing whats not working on the field. This team will grow from the experience no doubt.

• 433.Transformation: Reply to this comment

‘Look Heyneke there’s your Jacque … big, strong and f**king dumb’.

• 434.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-419:
    absolutely do, they’re my pride and joy.
    i’m pretty sure they’re my most attractive feature too, seriously.
    i’ve got a shrek thing going looks wise, and have earned every bit of female action
    i’ve ever got in my life the hard way.

i can be a charmer and have the greatest personality i’m told :grin:

• 435.nama1: Reply to this comment

@capebull-410:
    I know it is not yours.

Hougie was the best back on the field imo. May even have been the best Bok player even though he went AWOL late in the 2nd half.

True, it does not say much about the performances of the other players.

@rangerman-417:
    A “brilliant try” my arse. It was pure luck. Luck that the Bokke did not deserve at all.

Two games in a row now where he was nowhere, Rangerman. Let’s see what he does in the four games to come. That will be against the top two sides in the world, you know.

Not Namibia, Samoa, Fidji and the likes.

• 436.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-405: I really am enjoying Mallet in the SS studio. Wears his heart on his sleeve and says it like it is. Very refreshing instead of hearing excuses.

• 437.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-428: i also said he didnt have a great game poops :lol:

“lucky packet” is simply an attempt to denigrate an individual effort, you know it, i know it.

yes, it did bounce correctly but that could be froma charge down, an up and under, a grubber or any other time a rugby ball bounces.

the important thing you and nama overlook is that he had to BE IN POSITION to make the charge down, he had to STAY CALM and regather and he also had to outdistance the argies chasing him.

all in all, a fine effort.

in an otherwise average display.

with poor ball the order of the day.

happy my precious little kiwibird :lol:

• 438.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber1-421:
    ja, i know
    i was quoting pdivvy

• 439.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1-404: Once a hater always a hater, :wink:

• 440.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@Bok fan-383: A draw I know, but felt like a loss as we were out played in every facet of the game

• 441.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@i_love_u_bakkiesbotha-434: :lol: a shrek look?

okay Fiona, I beieve you :D

• 442.Monty15: Reply to this comment

@poppa69 431

I think it might be a better idea if you don’t use the internet. Seeing there’s so many, many people like you, surely it won’t hurt if one of you disappear?

• 443.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Bokhoring-408: how i wish i could see a try scored from first phase with a classy back line move. If we are going to move on and play more dynamically so to speak, Meyer has to incorporate some innovation along with practicing the execution of his game plan.

• 444.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@nama1-435: ok.

you swallowed it hook line and sinker.

taste good?

you see you say “lucky packet” and i say “brilliant” and then we find common ground.

a great individual effort that spare us blushes, what do you say?

p.s. he was good in the first argie game but with ball like we had on sat and morne inside of him, i feel for the guy because he is simply awesome dont you agree?

• 445.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@poppa69-441:
    unlike you kiwis, i have no problem being honest about myself :lol:

• 446.Captain Sam Vimes: Reply to this comment

Oh and for the record I remember everyone’s view on how fantastic Genia is “The worlds greatest” Fourie average …………………….and now Willie G also got a nice big fat to duck against his name………………explanation please?

• 447.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

@goodstuff-391: Agreed, he has the ability as a coach so lets hope he starts making the necessary adjustments and fast

• 448.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-437: cmon Ranger, how often do players attempt charge downs? all the time, the law of statistics will ensure that eventually you will manage to knock one down..

Im still not sure he was he onside though :wink:

• 449.i_love_u_bakkiesbotha: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-427:
    every man has a dark side :lol:

• 450.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman-444: Nope Ranger bro he wont agree, If JDJ scored that try on Saturday OLd Nyama would be screaming it from the top of the clouds as brilliant.

He aint never had 1 good word to say about Fransie, so dont expect him to agree. aint ever gonna happen :wink:

Pages: « 14 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 1418 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.